Recent Reviews in Grottoes, Virginia

you will love this place at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

if you want quality rest and relaxation, a beautiful view west across the shenandoah valley, a quiet night's sleep in a wonderfully comfortable and clean room, and a delicious breakfast, you have to reserve this place. they only have two rooms, but if you are lucky enough to catch one available, you will thoroughly enjoy it. jim and helen are wonderful hosts and can advise you one eating places and things to do in the area. try it; you will love it. 4 time visitors.

View more reviews for this inn


AMAZING stay with a beautiful view! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for an extended weekend in February. This was our first B&B stay, and it really set the bar high. Both the room and bathroom were very spacious and clean. The room was very private, and it even had it's own porch with a gorgeous view of the valley. The hot tub was perfect after a long day, and they even provide you with a cozy robe in your room. Helen and Jim were extremely friendly and very helpful with directions and places to go. The breakfast every morning was AMAZING! We really enjoyed the wineries and hiking. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


stayed here again! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2015

jim and helen at high laurel in are wonderful hosts, the rooms are always comfortable, clean and in fine order when we arrive. the view is gorgeous and it's the quietest place in the world, other than the natural sounds of the nite. and don't overlook the delicious breakfast every morning. it's a very full breakfast with lots of unique breakfast concoctions. we thoroughly enjoyed out stay once again.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful hideaway at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2015

What a gem tucked away in the mountains!! The rooms were amazing. The views were breathtaking. Breakfast was home cooked and outstanding. We only stayed one night but we felt like we were coming home to relatives. Thank you for such a nice stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity away from home at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on April 16, 2015

Beautiful scenery high up in the Blue Ridge Mtns. Quiet, relexing!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Relaxing Getaway at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 09, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my relaxing night at the High Laurel Inn. The view from the hot tub cant be beat! Breakfast was amazing. Just what I'd hoped for.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Experience at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

3.4 reviewed on November 04, 2014

The Inn was a beautiful location, surrounded by Mountain Laurel (in bloom) and mountains. We had a relaxing time and enjoyed the amenities. Breakfast was sub par through, and the room temperature was impossible to control.

View more reviews for this inn


Great way to celebrate an Anniversary! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights towards the end of October and the views were absolutely fabulous. Each room has its own balcony that looks over the valley and you can get an even better view from the front porch of the main house. In addition to the views, Helen and Jim were great hosts who provided a lot of information about the area and suggestions of places to go and eat and things to do. The breakfasts were delicious and they were accompanied by great conversation. The rooms were large with high ceilings which made the room appear even more spacious. We will definitely go back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing stay and close hikes at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on April 21, 2014

Nice, private rooms with a lot of space to spread out. Enjoyed sunsets on balcony and easy access to hiking. Great conversation over breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2014

We were really only looking for a place to stay for the night and we ended up finding a hidden gem and adding to our list of places to come back to. Jim and Helen were fantastic hosts, informative, and very accommodating. The room was very clean and cozy with a great view. We will be back to enjoy a full weekend and all the area has to offer.

View more reviews for this inn


View from the hot tub- gorgeous! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on December 19, 2013

We loved, every minute of our time at the High Laurel Inn. The hot tub was fantastic, with a lovely view. The room was large, clean & comfortable. The hosts were friendly & knowledgeable. Great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Octogenarian Revival! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2013

With an unmatched mountain view, off the beaten path - what could be better! Made the years fade away!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway to a luxury B&B cabin in the woods at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2013

Thank you Jim and Helen for a wonderful stay at the High Laurel Inn. We're keen walkers and the B&B is situated on the very edge of Shenandoah National Park so we could start our day walks from the front door of the cabin. The room was very comfortable and the views from the balcony were fantastic. Breakfast was delicious and hearty and set us up nicely for the day's walk. We will certainly be back in the future and will recommend to our friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

3.4 reviewed on August 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay with Helen and James. They were the excellent hosts and we really enjoyed chatting with them over breakfast. The room was great and the view of the Shenandoah Valley is the best I've ever seen!

View more reviews for this inn


PERFECT IN EVERY WAY! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2013

If you are looking for a private, peaceful, beautiful, clean, friendly, awesome and affordable place to stay. This is it! You will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Superbness! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2013

All aspects of our stay were truly outstanding - reservation, welcome, friendliness, the room, the view, the food. We were even late getting gone because of visiting with hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on August 10, 2013

Wasn't quite the best fit for out plans -- which had changed recently, so we never got to really take best advantage of this B&B - one of which is outdoor activities. On the other hand the owners are fantastic as are the rooms. Good location if you are going to both Staunton and Harrisonburg as we were on this trip

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2013

Tranquility, Nature, and the Very Best Hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Couple loved our stay! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on July 21, 2013

Great secluded location; Grottoes is a quiet small town. Very easy access to hiking and all sites near the I-81 and I-64 intersection. Hosts Jim and Helen are a delight, and very accommodating. Rooms are very nicely appointed, each with a private "mini-deck". After visiting many small B&B bathrooms, you will find this one modern and perfectly spacious. Hot tub is an ideal way to end the day, and refrigerator stocked with water is a very nice touch. Great place!

View more reviews for this inn


Don't Miss Staying With Jim And Helen at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on March 27, 2013

Tucked away just out of the town of Grottoes, High Laurel is the perfect headquarters for sightseeing, winery-hopping or enjoying the attractions of Staunton or Charlottesville. The rooms are quiet, spacious and secluded, and most of the attractions, Skyline Drive, Staunton restaurants, the Blackfriar, etc., are all within an easy drive. For pilots looking for a fun weekend cross-country, High Laurel is 10 minutes from Shenandoah Regional (SHD). Jim and Helen are gracious and attentive hosts, and were wonderful about adjusting for dietary needs. Visiting High Laurel is like staying with friends, and they made our 27th wedding anniversary a wonderful weekend. Thanks to you both, and we'll be back!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding First Time Experience at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on February 18, 2013

Jim and Helen were wonderful hosts. The location of the High Laurel Inn was amazing, exactly what we were looking for with breath taking views and just the right amount of solitude. We spent several hours hiking through the beautiful mountains surrounding the Inn and were able to wrap up our hike in the Jacuzzi overlooking the valley. Breakfast was great on both days and Jim and Helen provided nice conversation and company. You could tell they really cared about providing their guests with the best experience possible. We had a fantastic time.

View more reviews for this inn


What a Pleasant Surprise! AKA: Who knew living in a barn would be so nice? at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 21, 2013

At the last minute another couple and we booked a night at High Laurel Inn, in Grottoes, VA, sight unseen; knowing only it was a renovated barn we would be sleeping in. The location was isolated for peacefull relaxation; yet, easy to access for no stress travel. We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and visiting with the owner James Madison. All our needs were satisfied and we will definitely return to this slice of heaven.

View more reviews for this inn


Look no further! at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2012

The two of us stayed in the Rose room one night. I have stayed at many B&Bs that fit the typical 'victorian era house' divided into small rooms with a tiny bathroom down the hall. This is nothing of the sort. A rustic building apart from the owner's house is completely outfited as two large guest suites with furnishings in tip top shape. The environment is woodsy. This is a romantic setting, perfect for special occasions. Breakfast was delicious. The host and hostess are delightful.

View more reviews for this inn


Stress-free getaway:) at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2012

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a two night stay at the High Laurel Inn, in the Laurel Room. We loved every minute of it! The room is wonderful, spacious and has a lovely porch overlooking the valley with mountains in the background. We love to hike and you can literally walk down the driveway and into the Shenandoah National Park. We did a 5.5 hr hike one of the days we were there, even hiked over a snowy mountain pass!! That excited us, we are originally from Florida:) We enjoyed the peace and stress-free feeling from being away from the craziness of DC. Jim and Helen were wonderful host and the breakfasts were fantastic. I highly recommend visiting them!!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Place at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on October 29, 2012

Jim and Helen were awesome hosts with great recommendations about the area. The place is very spacious, comfortable and has a beautiful view.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B in a wonderful, secluded location at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2012

Jim and Helen were most welcoming and delightful hosts. High Laurel offers very comfortable accommodation in a great, secluded location with fabulous long views over the Shenandoah valley.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2012

This BnB has everything I think people desire in BnBs. The views, the seculison, the food, the room, the accomdations - everything is absolutely perfect here.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic weekend getaway at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 17, 2011

We've told all of our friends to go to this Inn. It's only a couple of hours from D.C. Our room was warm and spacious and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. The views from the private deck are nothing short of spectacular. Helen and Jim are gracious and friendly hosts and we felt very comfortable. One nice aspect of the rooms is that they are separate from the main house so you don't feel like you are living in someone else's space. After our breakfast, we literally went down the driveway and were in the Shenandoah National Park. If you like to hike and walk in the woods, you really couldn't choose a better B&B. Also, the very quaint town of Staunton is 20 minutes away which we spent a few hours exploring.

View more reviews for this inn


Great mountain view at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on November 13, 2011

Great view from hot tub with great breakfast to start the day

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on October 24, 2011

Stayed three nights in October. Views were amazing. Innkeepers, Jim and Helen were the best. Breakfast was outstanding; you will not go away hungry. There was no way I could eat everything and it was so delicious. I will certainly be returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. High Laurel Inn (4.65)
Top
}