Parkwood at Marble Arch Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room3.7
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
60 Reviews

Write A Review

Outstanding!!!

5 on August 04, 2014

I write this review with a smile on my face because my husband and I had the best time at the Parkwood at Marble Arch B&B! We had the best time walking and riding through London and then being able to come "home" to our room where we slept wonderfully and woke up to the most delicious breakfast served by the sweetest staff. The girls were so delightful as they made sure we received the best service and our food was made just right! The location of the place is stellar as you are walking distance from the metro and shopping areas. Hyde park is right across the street which made for a lovely daily stroll. Gail is the most lovely woman, she has the most infectious smile and seeing her every morning was the perfect way to begin our day! her goal is to make our stay comfortable and she does just that. You can see that the staff enjoy working with her because everyone is smiling and happy. Such a pleasure to be around. Thank you Gail for your fantastic hospitality and we look forward to coming back!!


Perfect location

4.2 on July 07, 2014

perfect location for visiting the concert in Hyde Park, staff very friendly, breakfast outstanding, room good, would stay again.


Perfect Location

4.2 on May 28, 2014

Parkwood Hotel is a lovely B & B situated in the perfect location within easy walking distance to Hyde Park, Oxford Street, many restaurants and Marble Arch subway station. The staff are very helpful and a lovely breakfast is served everyday (including a choice of eggs, bacon, toast, cereal, fruit juices, yoghurt, tea and coffee). We stayed in Room 15, which is located on the top floor up about 5 flights of stairs. We enjoyed this room, however ask if a room on a lower floor if you don't enjoy climbing stairs! We would definitely stay here again. Fantastic value, great location and excellent service!


Nice B&B

4.4 on May 20, 2014

We had a room for 3 with private bathroom. We are very pleased by our stay, - located 1 minute walk from Hyde Park - very nice building - room quiet and silent. No noise from outside (we were located backyard with feeling being in countryside) - Beds and pillows extremely confortable (I want the same at home !) - Room very clean. - Breakfast food: good and copious - Staff: efficient, well-organised, smiling and helpful (reception, breakfast, room clean-up service)


A place to return to!

4.8 on December 09, 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel in a great location. I´ve visited several times, and I´ve never been disappointed. Fantastic and friendly staff. Christine Mohr, Denmark


Another great stay

4.8 on November 28, 2013

Stayed here twice before and wanted stay again for my 40th birthday. E-mailed for availability and received quick reply with a room which was great..Booking was simple and easy. Upon arrival was just like last 2 times, warm and friendly. Room was great, lovely breakfast with always option for more. Booking again for next year...thanks a lot to all at ParkwoodHotel..


What we were looking for

4.4 on August 26, 2013

We had one of our best stays in London: helpful staff, clean room, new furnitures, wi-fi, working TV ect. However the road was quite busy and noisy. We wished we had some cheese for the breakfast, anyway it was not a big problem .The staff kindly accepted to keep the cheese that we bought in the fridge. Thank you Parkwood !!! :)


Reasonably priced B&B

3.0 on August 16, 2013

Positives: Price, location, cleanliness, access to transport, quiet, helpfulness of staff, PC and Internet availability, good English breakfast, safes in room. Negatives: Small rooms, old furnishing and decor, floor creaking noise from other rooms above, some smell in cupboards


One night stay

3.4 on July 07, 2013

Went to a concert in Hyde park. Hotel very near as I was a woman on my own this was great. Only meet the receptionist she was very helpful. Did not eat at hotel so can not comment. I have rated dining because it would not let me carry on until I did. Room was small but clean had everything I needed for one night.The only thing that I would say is that you need somewhere to leave the room keys if you check out before reception opens I did not know what to do with it and there was no one to ask. I left it hanging on the reception door handle hope someone found it.


Amazed and Grateful!! Glad I contacted Parkwood personally!!

5 on June 27, 2013

Had an amazing time at the Parkwood at Marble Arch. Tripadvisor said they were booked and sent me to another site. I still wanted to stay at Parkwood and kept dreaming of the B&B close to Hyde Park. Finally I called Parkwood and emailed them and to my delight they did have availability and are not associated with tripadvisor at all. I had a wonderful time, great breakfasts, with an outstanding location....Thanks!!

Innkeeper Response
I wanted to thank the reviewer for this excellent review and also that we're so pleased the reviewer persevered with his booking and disregarded the continued misinformation about our room availability on Tripadvisor. It pays to go straight to the booking page on the Parkwood website as the prices there are guaranteed to be the cheapest room prices on the internet.


Wonderful!!! Glad I phoned to book a room even though trip advisor said they were full!

5 on June 05, 2013

We wanted to stay at Parkwood but saw there were no vacancies on Tripadvisor. After booking another hotel, still could not get Parkwood out of my mind. Phoned them from states hoping they had a cancellation. We were overjoyed to learn they had openings and tripadvisor is often wrong. So glad I switched and got my perfect trip - terrific location, lovely breakfast and warm staff...


Excellent value for money

4.8 on April 07, 2013

We stayed at the Parkwood for three nights and had a triple and a twin room with ensuite bathrooms. Both rooms were very clean, nicely decorated and well furnished. The staff at the Parkwood is just great. Very friendly and hepful. Taking into account the full English breakfast and the hotel's location in Central London you can't beat the value for money at the Parkwood. I've been to quite a few hotels in the Bayswater area but I never found this level of friendliness and cleanliness in a hotel.


What a gem!

4.6 on September 05, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Parkwood immensely. We had booked 6 months in advance, but still managed to be on the top floor (we will book earlier the next time!) The room was clean, the service was spot-on. We had a minor issue with the shower which we brought to the attention of the front desk. It was fixed by the time we returned that afternoon! The location is perfect to pick up the bus or catch the tube. Even though we were on the street side, our room was quiet. It is located on the edge of Hyde Park and bustling Oxford Street. The cooked breakfast was a lovely way to start our day. I would not hesitate to recommend The Parkwood to anyone interested in value and quality.


The perfect place ?

4.6 on August 09, 2012

Yes, not far from the perfect place: great situation, the staff is really helpful and nice, food is good. There's one little thing which is a little bit disappointing: the size of the room. To be more specific, we had two rooms, a first which was wide enough but the second one was far too small and one our luggage in, there wasn't so much room to even walk. Except that point, I recommand Parkwood and as soon as I can, I'll go there again !


Perfect location

4.0 on April 08, 2012

I stayed with my daughters. B&B staffs always kind and very helpful. Location is perfect to go anywhere. Tube, shopping area, laundry are walking distance. We enjoyed good English breakfast every morning. I want to stay next time.


Top Place Top Staff

4.8 on November 09, 2011

Stayed here with my 2 sisters for one of their 30th birthdays. Had a great time in London and the stay at this charming little b&b help make our time in London more enjoyable. Staff on arrival were lovely and very help full. Room was very clean and as for the full english keep us going well past lunch. If you are planning a visit to London would recommend Parkwood Hotel 100%.


Great service and great price

4.0 on November 07, 2011

My friend and I stayed 4 nights at the Parkwood at Marble Arch. The staff was so helpful and the location was amazing. Right down the street from the tube and buses. The location 1/2 a block from Hyde Park was amazing and it was so quiet. The room was clean and breakfast was very good and fixed to your request. The other people staying there were also very friendly. I would stay again in a heartbeat.


depends on what room you stay in

2.8 on September 22, 2011

Spouse & I stayed 5 nights. Due to double ensuites being booked,we agreed to an itinerary to move rooms 3x (staff moved our luggage room to room). 3 rooms yet very different. 1st room was triple ensuite with soaring high ceilings, large TV, huge window, nice. However a STRONG vinegar smell lingered in the bathroom. 2nd room was triple w/ shared bath on 4th floor- a challenging walk up. 4th floor has an overwhelming smell of MOLD due to the tiny shared bath: shower stall, dim lights, no windows or adequate ventilation, hallway carpeting. Our room had an attic space feel compared to the previous. Dingy closet, smaller TV. Insufficient light over in-room sink mirror. Cramped with excess furniture. Shared bathroom was a nightmare- another guest left 3 soaking towels occupying half the floor and suds in the shower. I called the front desk (noticing the phone was covered in thick dust) to ask if where used towels should be left. She said to do what I like & wet towels left by other guests in the bath will be removed by chambermaid the next morning. Shower runs on a loud pump which was a nuisance since our room shared a wall with it. I had an important conference the next day& used the 2nd floor shared bath w/ better light to apply my makeup. We were glad to move to our final room of our stay, a double ensuite which was GREAT. Breakfast room is cheery, staff very nice & accommodating. I wish they offered potatoes or a veggie alternative to sausages and other types of bread/scones for variation from the toast they had. Another suggestion: our flight had us arrive in the morning and the room check in is 1:30pm. We were able to leave our luggage by the desk but had to occupy ourselves for 3 hours till we could check in. We were exhausted coming from the USA,so letting folks go to their room if it's ready would be nice.Overall, a nice stay if you avoid the 4th floor. Add a hallway laundry bin so guests in shared baths can deposit used towels.


Great Value, location and yummy breakfast

4.6 on September 19, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Parkwood for 8 days in August and we loved it. The location is convenient to buses, the underground, ATM machine, 24 hour grocery store, pharmacy, great pubs, and fast food if you eat that stuff. Hyde park is very close if you need some green and quiet. It is located in an upscale neighborhood (Tony Blair lives nearby). The staff is very friendly and gave us good advice on any questions we asked. The breakfasts are yummy-full English breakfast which includes cereals, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea, followed by eggs, bacon (ham in the US) tomato, beans and toast. Great way to start the day. Only draw backs are the small size of the room, but in a great part of London what can you expect and a "coffin" type shower so if you are really large you may not fit. There is no "lift" or elevator so ask for a lower floor if you can't do a lot of steps with your luggage. Overall I would highly recommend this B&B-great location, value and food.


September 2009 Visit

4.2 on August 31, 2011

My mother and I stayed at the Parkwood Hotel in September 2009 and we both loved everything about it! Value galore, atmosphere, wonderful, friendly service and we will be back as many times as possible!


June 2011 3 nights

3.6 on July 05, 2011

Great location, walked everywhere. Great value, particularly in the upscale neighbourhood this hotel is located in. Breakfast, cant say enough about. If have an issue with stairs, clarify when booking where you are located, as 4th floor could be an issue for some (no elevator). If I were to make any comment for improvement, it would be the outside deck area - it could be so much more with the planting of the pots and keeping it clear, as it is a nice spot to sit and have a glass of wine in the evening. We would definitely use this hotel on a return trip to London.


great value and service

3.4 on April 18, 2011

Had a fantastic stay at the parkwood Hotel on 8th April 2011, Location of Hotel great and the staff were really helpfull. Parked our car at the local NCP car park 10 minutes walk and received a discount with a card issued from the Hotel for its guests, instead of being charged £42.00 we were only charged £13.00 after discount. we look forward to returning there soon. Steve & Gail


Great 5 days march 2011

4.0 on March 22, 2011

Partner and I stayed at the Parkwood last week Monday to Friday.. We found the staff to be very nice and helpful and the breakfast is a joy to behold , We will use this hotel if we visit London again in the near future…. If you want luxury well you will have to pay a lot more but this is a clean and cumfy hotel well placed for tube , Oxford street and Hyde Park. Thanks again for the staff for making our stay very enjoyable.. Robin and Sandra


Excellent for short stay

4.4 on February 21, 2011

Just back from 4 nights at the Parkwood with friend. The location is excellent, for sightseeing, theatre and shopping. Our twin room with en suite was warm, clean and very comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good and kept us going all day! Would use the hotel again if visiting London.


A hidden gem

4.6 on February 05, 2011

If luxury is what your after then this isn't the hotel for you. But if you want a central location, value for money and the nicest, friendliest staff you could ever hope to meet then this is the place. The hotel is a little bit tired but is very clean and comfortable. I will definitely be staying here again and recommending it to as many people as possible.


excellent

4.0 on December 12, 2010

very nice staff,we enjoyed our stay looking forward to go again very close tooxford street.very cozy and good breakfast.


Perfectly located, comfortable and nice hotel

4.0 on October 25, 2010

Excellent location in a quite street just five minutes walking from Oxford Street and Marble Arch tube station. Hyde Park just crossing the street. Interesting historic building, 200 years old, recently refurbished. Very kind and friendly staff, make your stay more pleasant. If I go to London again, I'll stay at Parkwood without doubt.


worth every penny

4.8 on October 24, 2010

The staff was so nice and Parkwood is absolutly worth every penny. the owners must be proud. i would be happy to stay here at my next visit to London. chep and nice at the same time, i did`nt new it existed in London. it is a warm and cosy hotel and staff.


Long Weekend

4.0 on September 21, 2010

We had a very good time in London for my 50th Birthday, staying at the Parkwood made the weekend even better due to the location and value.


Charm and Hospitality at Parkwood Hotel

4.0 on July 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a week in early June and were delighted with both the location and service. While the hotel lacks some of the in-room facilities of a larger hotel such as mini-bar etc., the triple room that we had was large with lofty ceilings, unusual for a London hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful, and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The area too, has plenty to offer in terms of restaurants, atmosphere and easy access to some of the major sights of London, yet is a quiet little oasis once you are off the main streets. We look forward to staying here again, next year, hopefully. We strongly recommend this hotel.


Our London Trip

4.0 on June 04, 2010

Hiya Gail Thanks for the lovely reception that you and your staff gave my wife & I on our arrival in the UK.As per our emails to you we had a very small but nice room close to the dining room,the breakfast were superb and plenty of it and more if you wanted.Your waitress was extremely efficient and very friendly.We will definately visit you again in the future and will recommend your hotel to our friends Best Wishes Dave & Vel Griffiths Canada


Parkwood Hotel is a great hotel!

4.6 on April 07, 2010

Parkwood Hotel is a great hotel. Its close to everything. The staff is helpful. The rooms are very nice.


Great Place to Stay

5 on March 01, 2010

I recently visited London for the first time, and a huge part of my new love for London is due to staying at this charming B&B! For a very reasonable price you get a great location, a comfortable and quiet room, very clean accommodations, friendly staff, and a satisfying breakfast. I will definitely stay here again during my next visit to London!


First time in London

4.2 on February 28, 2010

Parkwood Hotel location is ideal. Just around the corner from Tony Blair's London home. The staff is outstanding and super helpful. Our room was clean and neat. We normally like upper floors but next time we will take 1st floor. The Breakfast was excellent and the girls made things exactly to our liking. Very close to Marble Arch, bus stops, tube and short walk to Paddington Station, however buses a block away will take you directly there. Nice place to stay.


Great Bed and Breakfast Hotel!!

4.0 on January 26, 2010

A great hotel..central location, very clean, excellent breakfast!! We would like to thank all the staff who have been very friendly and helpful!! We highly recommend this hotel to London visitors and to whom like us will go for shopping in Oxford Street!! Thank you once again!! Maria & M'Lou Cutajar


Simply lovely

3.8 on November 19, 2009

I had a lovely stay in October 2009. Although it was a long walk up 4 flights of stairs with heavy luggage, everything else compensated for it. The staff were very friendly & breakfast was great. I am planning to stay here again in April 2010.


Awesome Bed and Breakfast Hotel

5 on November 07, 2009

We stayed for seven days in this bed and breakfast hotel. The location is great only few minutes to the shopping center. The breakfast is good, the staff are very friendly and helpful, our bedroom is great for the value of the money, this place is wonderful. Very good place to stay for people who needs a quiet place to sleep after a whole day traveling around London. I definitely recommend this hotel. Will come back to stay again whenever we are in London.


Our Most Recent Visit To Jolly Old London

5 on November 05, 2009

My wife and I returned home last night from a marvelous seven day stay in London. We had visited London many times in the past and have tended to stay at much larger hotels in the city. This time we chose to try a small, intimate B&B such as the Parkwood Hotel. We couldn't have been more delighted with our choice. The Hotel is located close to Hyde Park, just off Oxford Street and only a 5 minute walk from the Marble Arch Tube Station. The Manager of this establishment is a most gracious and charming lady who oversees a highly professional and courteous staff. The rooms are somewhat small but they are comfortable, clean and well maintained. The full English breakfast served is of ample size and is quite good. You are treated here as if you were a member of a closely knit family. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends, and would certainly stay here again if I were to return to London in the future.


Excellent value in an excellent location

4.8 on October 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in order to explore London. Our room was somewaht small and the four flight climb to it was of Everstrian proportions but we knew we were in for that and after getting the luggage up it was not a big problem. We had to share a bathroom but since most of the other rooms on the floor were occupied by staff who were out of it by the time we got up this was not a problem. What was most outstanding was the helpfulness and cheerfulness of the staff, always smniling and pleasant and ready with great advice. Breakfast was enormous and tasty (great sausages) and made a great start to the day. The location could not be better with a tube station within 5 minutes walk and the tour bus and downtown bus stops even closer. Hyde Park basically across the street and a 20 minute walk to Bukingham Palace...Terrific value and a place I recommend to anyone. From Canada - October 09.


Central, Friendly, Clean

3.6 on June 20, 2009

Great location, right at Marble Arch, across from Hyde Park. Staff very friendly and helpful, room and all facilities cleaned daily.


Friendly stay

3.0 on June 16, 2009

Thank you. We had a good weekend. The family is good value for money and beds comfortable which is so important after a long day walking around.


Charming B&B

4.2 on June 11, 2009

We have spent a few days in the Parkwood Hotel with my husband in May 2009., it was our second stay at the Hotel. In the centre of London there are small, but nice, clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, delicious breakfast! We will certainly will go back to the Hotel!


Great place to stay in central London

4.0 on June 09, 2009

We spent 4 nights at Parkwood Hotel in May/June 2009 and I will definitely recommend it to friends and family if they plan on going to London for a few days.


Great experience.

5 on May 26, 2009

Because of the holiday I had to change hotels and the Parkwood was recommended. I received exceptional service and will call Parkwood as my first choice when I return to London.


Nice Hotel in a quite area.

4.2 on May 25, 2009

I stayed with two friends at the Parkwood Hotel for four nights, we had a nice triple room on the first floor. The staff were very helpful in every way. Lovely breakfast all included . Ideal spot for sightseeing and shoping tube and buses just round the corner . Will stay at this hotel again when I visit London next year .


Very Good Value

3.2 on May 16, 2009

Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location and good value for money.


Comfortable home-away-from-home

4.4 on May 05, 2009

Close to the park. Close to the tube and many restaurants nearby.


Better Value Can't be Found in London

5 on May 04, 2009

Great location, fabulous and tasty full breakfast included each day with top quality supplies. Free internet, close to all attactions and public transport. Great neighborhood - Tony Blair around the corner, Hyde Park across the street. This is our London home away from home when we return! Jim & Max, Western Canada, Aged 57


Great Hotel in an Excellent Location

3.0 on April 28, 2009

We booked a room for 3 adults and stayed for 5 days at the Parkwood. Excellent location, just opposite the HypePark and the end of Oxford street, great breakfast served by friendly staff. The only disadvantage is that there is no lift in this hotel, for us coming from Asia with big luggages, it is tough draging our bags up and down the stairs. Hotel is undergoing some renovation and hope they will improve.


Good value

3.2 on April 14, 2009

A clean, friendly and cosy hotel. Great location and breakfast. Size of the triple room at the top floor was ok with enough storage place and comfortable beds. But nothing to hang the towels to dry and the window could need a clean. Would stay there again.


BOTH HONEST AND FAIR

4.0 on April 14, 2009

I booked last available room, not too large but comfortable and quiet.


a fantasticly situated value gem of a small hotel

3.6 on April 06, 2009

a very well run .clean comfortable well situated gem in the heart of London where you would expect to pay a great deal more than this very good value hotel charges. A FRIENDLY WELCOME AND VERY HELPFUL STAFF . To be recomended indeed as a great little country house style B+B IN THE HEART OF LONDON


A great spot

3.2 on April 01, 2009

Parkwood Hotel is a great spot - close to the shops, cafes, buses and trains. The rooms have basic furnishings but are clean and serviced. Receptionists are very helpful and having an internet service on-hand is a real bonus. Breakfast is great. It is a quiet area and very close to Hyde Park for that morning walk. I would stay there again. Pam from Australia


Viv and Dave from Devon

3.0 on March 22, 2009

This little hotel is in a prime central location for discoverying london and all it has to offer. In a quiet streeet opposite regents park. The rooms are small and simply furnished and decorated but they are clean and have all the amenities needed, eg, tea and coffeee making, television, hair dryer. The breaksfast is hearty and plentiful with more if you want it. A good value for money hotel which we would recommend to anyone having a short break to the capital.


advice from a french customer

4.2 on March 16, 2009

I stayed twice in this hotel..Once in 2007 and last january.I will always come back..The situation is central,the hotel very nice and the english breakfast is included.Rooms a bit small..but eveything in it..bathroom..kettle ,tea coffee..No bad surprise at all.On the contrary,it's a very friendly atmosphere which is in this hotel.I already sent some friends who were delighted too.


Parkwood Hotel

4.8 on March 15, 2009

To Gail, Melissa and all their wonderful staff I would like to say their warmth, friendliness and service far exceeded my expectations. The position of the hotel was also terrific. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone travelling to London. Diane


Great hotel to the price

4.4 on March 15, 2009

Good central location.


My experience at Parkwood Hotel

4.0 on December 29, 2008

The room is pretty good, make me feel comfortable during my stay. Everyday, my room is stay clean with the help of the staff in the hotel. The staff in the Hotel is really nice, they try to do everything to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The address of this hotel is really convenience as well, close to underground station, and close to Oxford street. I will stay there next time I go to London.


Lovely Parkwood

4.6 on May 27, 2008

I'm from Hungary, I stayed in PW two nights. At this price and this location, Parkwood is outstanding in my opinion!


View Hyde Park

3.4 on January 03, 2008

Breakfast was GREAT. Heaps of everything, wonderful for hungry children who have a busy day ahead, and the little breakfast room was tres cute. Another positive was the location - for this price I doubt it could be beaten and I have to say, waking up every morning to a view of Hyde Park and a pretty London street from our little balcony was an experience I will never forget. The Parkwood is close to everything - Marble Arch, Hyde Park, Oxford Street, a cash machine (just beside Sainsbury's and opposite Marble Arch) - you name it & you could walk there if you're fit. The Big Red London Bus tour company sell tickets and leave from Marble Arch, so if you want to do one of those , which I highly recommend especially for children, it's easy to find. Our room was clean enough and the beds were comfortable, and I really liked the free internet access in the lobby. It was a decent sized room as well. Basic info - no lift, but tea, coffee, tv, phone and alarm clock in the rooms.


Parkwood at Marble Arch

Details

  • Nightly Rate £65 - £125
  • Reviews (60) 4.2
  • Rooms 18

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 44-2074022241
  • Fax 44-2074021574

Visit Website »

View details

Top