George Hotel Reviews

Overall
3.7

View details

  • Guest room3.3
  • Service3.9
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness3.7
  • Dining3.8

Score Breakdown based on
74 Reviews

Write A Review

Disappointing B + B

1.8 on October 27, 2013

Good location near train stations, tube and buses. Service and staff very pleasant and helpful. Room not to the standard expected; poorly furnished, wardrobe falling apart, unpleasant and strong fusty stale smell to the room (had to have window open all the time), noise from student venue across the square till well into the early hours, breakfast of overcooked eggs, dry bacon and cheap standard coffee. Shared bathroom not made plain when booking. Over priced.


Autumn Holiday

3.6 on October 02, 2013

I arrived to the George for a 6d holiday. Was greeted warmly by receptionist Anita. She was professional and quickly proceeded with check in promptly. Over several days she was working I had several questions about LON and was very accurate for providing information to me. Overall, my stay was pleasant, room was cleaned daily, shared loo was clean. Breakfast was good, but staff perhaps could be a bit more organized on weekend. I would definitely book again for a stay in Lon!


En amoureux

3.6 on August 28, 2013

Venus pour un week-end sans enfant, nous avons pu apprécier le calme et la tranquilité de cet établissement, niché dans un quartier au silence étonnant. Très bonne réactivité de la part de l'accueil avant, le jour de notre arrivée et le jour de notre départ. Le petit-déjeuner est conforme à l'idée qu'on peut se faire d'un petit-déjeuner anglais et le personnel est aux petits soins. Seul petit point noir, la pression des douches laissait parfois à désirer, mais cela n'a en rien entaché notre séjour.


Vraiment bien !!!

4.0 on May 05, 2013

5 nuit avec deux enfants (12-10 ans), chambre triple : Parfait ! Aucun bruit à aucun moment du jour où de la nuit ce qui ns a permis un repos réparateur car nous avons balladé ds tout Londres grace à 3 stations de métro très très proches (la plus proche Russel square à 5mn), sans compter une multitude de pubs traditionnels adorables et de restos pas chers et de très bonne qualité (Indien à 5,95 pounds à volonté !!!!!). Si on veut passer une journée tranquille, on va à pied à la British Library aux nombreux musés ds le coin et tout ça en pouvant rentrer à l'hôtel pr un petit repos (thé et café à volonté dans la chambre)... Bref ns y retournons dès que possible !! Ah j'oubliais... Personnel très très serviable nous réserve le taxi, ns donne la station de métro la plus proche de ce que l'on veut aller voir, nous ressert tant qu'on veut au petit dès... Bref adorable... La seule chose - (qui ns a fait rire mais sans nous gêner) est la taille de la sdb, mais partout une propreté irréprochable... Allez y


Warm and Good Value

3.4 on February 23, 2013

Very good comfort ,


Dec stay

3.0 on February 05, 2013

We stayed for 1 week in a triple bedroom athe George's Hotel in D ec 2012. Although the room was rather small especially the bathroom it suited us fine, aswe used it rather fairly ad accommodation. The thing is that when we lodged in it we experienced a strong foul smell of hydrogen sulphide or foul eggs. Which almost made us sick. Upon enquiring about this,when we entered the room in the afternoon it wad welltaken care of ad we lived happily ever after in the room. Non theless I would still reccommend this hotel: 1. It's very central, 2. Excellent staff, 3. Extremely comfortable pillows & beds! John from Malta


Neet and simple

5 on December 22, 2012

Enjoyed the stay. Everything went well.


Outstanding Value

4.0 on December 21, 2012

All of the staff at the George Hotel could not have been more helpful. The room was exactly what I needed, was warm, comfortable and well appointed. The hotel is ideally situated in a beautiful, quiet part of London, close to all transport links and is very well served by the local shops, cafes, restaurants and bars of artistic and literary Bloomsbury. I shall definitely stay at the George Hotel again as they offer outstanding service and value for money. Recommended! RSW


Home sweet Home

4.8 on December 13, 2012

The George Hotel feels like coming home every time when we stay there. Nice rooms, always a bathroom available and the english breakfasts is wonderfull. The Hotel is in a nice area, little shops and plenty restaurants. We will always go to the George when we are in london.


Excellent Value

4.6 on December 05, 2012

I have stayed at the George on 3 or 4 occasions now, the single rooms are extremely small but since one spends so little time in the room it does not matter. Everything has a high standard of cleanliness and the Staff very helpful. P.Edwards Berlin, Germany


Great stay at George Hotel, London

5 on October 17, 2012

We had a great stay, 1 week, at The George, London. The rooms, service, staff, dining, value, location was outstanding and we thoroughly recommend it. Cheers Shane & Kristine


Welcome to the best hotel in London, folks!

4.0 on March 08, 2012

Looking for the best hotel in London? Look no further as you have found it. I was recommended this hotel by a friend some years ago and have never looked back. I will be staying here for the 8th or 9th time(I can not recall which) and they have very kindly offered me a discount as I am one of "their regulars". It is only 55 minutes from Heathrow Airport and you do not have to change as we are on the Picadilly line here. Just £4 single is all you will need as opposed to £60 for a taxi there. Do not hesitate to book here. I would recommend it to anyone, including the Royal Family. Jonathan Britton (regular guest)


George Hotel Feb 2012

3.6 on March 03, 2012

Well situated, Good value for a triple room with (small) private shower room. Excellent breakfast and friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again


Would stay again in an instant!

4.0 on December 02, 2011

My sister & I stayed for a total of 8 nights (2 x 4 nights), we would highly recommend The George Hotel not only as clean & comfortable and a great, quiet location but more importantly the friendly, courteous and extremely helpful staff. Thanks again to the staff who not only arranged flowers for my birthday from my husband in Australia but also posted valuable items left in the cupboard, greatly appreciated.


London

3.2 on December 02, 2011

The George was just as it was advertised, providing a clean and comfortable place to return to after sightseeing. No aircon or elevators is a drawback that is found in any of the quaint b&bs and was more than compensated for by the great breakfast and fantastic location near transport both bus and underground. Follow up service when I realised that I may have left some jewellery behind and they had kept it safe and mailed it to me on identification was also a great relief.


Great Service

3.6 on November 10, 2011

A very average hotel, except that the staff were amazingly helpful. The receptionist helped us to sort out a booking mistake with late rooms (our fault) and tried their best to track some lost property (which turned out not to be lost after all). The breakfast was pretty good and the dining room service was excellent too. I wouldn't normally be bothered to write a review, but this was better service that I have received recently in 4 star hotels.


I will be back!

3.4 on November 08, 2011

I was here for 10 days in September 2011. I wanted a location near to my daughter's hall as she is in London for her university education. George Hotel is the perfect choice. It is coveniently located near Russell Square Station, which runs the Piccadilly line direct to/fro the Heathrow airport. There are many shops nearby, eateries, pubs, internet cafe, laundry shop, a big shopping centre, Brunswick, HSBC bank, a Post Office and anything you can think of. The staff is friendly, breakfast is generous and room is reasonably clean, bathroom is fine. If there is anything that needs to improve, I would think it is the shared toilet. The toilet is clean, no doubt, but I would suggest installing a wash basin in it. I really can't get over the thought of how many soiled hands have touch the toilet door knob. Also, for the privacy especially for the ladies, the windows in the toilet should not be of transparent glass. A curtain or blind over the windows or changing it to translucent glass would be ideal. So much said, I really enjoy my stay there and will definitely come back again when I visit my daughter.

Innkeeper Response
We wanted to thank the reviewer for the very kind review of the George and also to advise that we agree with the suggestion that there should be a blind on the window and will be installing one straightaway.


Bill the Gringo

4.2 on October 30, 2011

Great stay. While facilities are a bit tattered around the edges, friendly and helpful staff and great service more than make up for any shortcomings in this area. A great value.


unbeatable position and value!

4.4 on October 28, 2011

Wonderful hotel in pretty, quiet and very convenient location, only a short walk to Russell Square station and also Kings Cross St Pancras for journeys further afield. Friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast to get you through the day! Our room had been recently re-decorated and although compact, was perfectly comfortable and very clean. Very comfortable beds!All round, exceptional value. Highly recommended.


Our Stay Sep 21 thru Sep 25

3.4 on September 29, 2011

We were very pleased with our double room on the first floor with the front view looking out on the park with the tennis courst and the large trees. On the breakfast the cooks never seemed to get our order correct on how we liked our eggs, that is our only cirticism. Overall the location was excellent, within walking distance of the Russel Sq tube station and it is located in a very nice neighborhood. We could walk to the British Museum and the British Library. The staff at the desk was very helpful. Jack & Pat Sites, Akron, Ohio, USA


Review of Room 12 at the George hotel

4.2 on September 29, 2011

Our room was nice and spacious. The staff were very freindly and helpful. The dining room was nice and the dining room staff very efficient. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the George. Very clean too.


HAPPY Aussies

3.0 on August 01, 2011

Second place we stayed in the Uk. Much better than the first. Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to the underground and central London. Lots of places to eat and drink.We would recommend.


My stay at the George Hotel

3.4 on July 08, 2011

Had a lovely stay here. I had business in the city and this was just the right distance for me. Loads of interesting places to eat around here as well. The George Hotel was recommended to me by a friend and I will be hapy to recommend it to others. Only think is - make sure you book well in advance. They fill up quickly.


A nice place to stay in London

3.4 on June 14, 2011

Staff was very welcoming and the room was clean and tidy. We will go back there next time we travel to London.


our london stay

3.8 on May 23, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at the george good value for money in a safe enviroment we will return if ever in london again


great location and very English

3.0 on May 22, 2011

Have stayed here before and it was pleasant enough to return to. Great location - leafy, quiet street, lots of shops and food outlets nearby and very close to several tube stations. A bit small and poky but good for the price. Friendly, helpful staff.


Our May Vacation in Bloomsbury

3.4 on May 20, 2011

Fantastic location --all amenities within easy walk including the Underground (we preferred the Russell Square station). Hotel staff were always helpful and responded to our needs promptly. We would stay at the George again with a preference for floors one or two!


great value

4.4 on May 13, 2011

George, tucked along a quiet crescent of Bloomsbury, was a great bargain. My pleasant, modest single room was cozy and well tended, staff was 100% attentive and polite -- but then I wasn't looking for luxury. If old but clean and reasonably priced accommodations in a safe, centrally located neighborhood fit your standards, then book early and take the early shift at breakfast. Computer in the reception area is up-to-date for internet connections.


Happy Stay

4.0 on May 11, 2011

We were very pleased with everything at the George from our arrival until our departure. The room was much bigger than we expected and exceptionally clean and tidy. We were on the ground floor as we had requested which was great not to have to climb stairs with our luggage. The food was plentiful and tasty. We will recommend you to other friends as someone had recommended you to us. Hope you see you again sometime


Filthy Conditions

1.2 on April 25, 2011

We stayed at the George Hotel for eight nights. After researching many B&B's we thought this would be a great choice. What a mistake. The pictures do not accurately portray the conditions of the establishment. We found the facility to be dirty. The toilets do not flush properly. The bedding was soiled. wallpaper dirty and the floors were sticky. Our first room had a private toilet/shower, but was so small a child had difficulty turning around. The second room had a shower, but lacked privacy. There is no guest lounge; just a sofa next to the computer which is in the corner of the breakfast room. We waited 30 minutes to be seated for breakfast. As a result, we did not eat there for the remaining stay; we had better food at a nearby cafe. The shared bathrooms were under renovation (during a holiday weekend!) so it was difficult to have access to them. The only positive experience was the helpfulness of Theresa at the front desk. We would never recommend staying at this hotel; if it wasn't a holiday weekend, we would have found other accommodations rather than enduring such filth.

Innkeeper Response
This review, and particularly its headline, is so at odds with the general responses from our guests that it is puzzling to say the least. In addition, these guests stayed with us for 8 nights and the only complaint throughout the whole of their stay was that the toilet in their room wasn't flushing properly. An immediate check by our maintenance staff showed that there was nothing wrong with the toilet, it was just slow to fill the tank and this was explained to them. The other complaints about their room have been checked and are simply untrue, in particular, the reference to the bedding. Our linen is rented from one of London's largest hotel suppliers and we use the same linen as many higher graded hotels. However, we do understand that busy breakfasts can be a problem at the George, especially if our guests arrive later. It's understandable that guests on holiday want to have a lie-in and we do the best we can when a number of guests arrive late during the breakfast period. If all tables are occupied guests can wait in the reception area or their room and the staff will call them in turn when a table is available. We have taken note of this complaint about having to wait for a table and have moved the guest computer from the dining room to the reception room in order to make extra space for another dining table to help ease the waiting time when busy. We're very sorry that this guest was unhappy but wish that she had mentioned something at the time.


a pleasant stay

4.0 on March 30, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights last November, coming from Canada. The double room I had booked worked out well for the single traveller. Everyone was very pleasant. There was a tube strike on my second evening and third day so the fact I was near KingsCross and within walking distance of several places I had intended to see worked out very well. I would definitely stay again and have told several people about the hotel. When I stay there again I shall get a room on a lower floor as the stairs seemed to grow longer after each busy day!


My place in London

3.2 on February 22, 2011

Being within walking distance from most of the theatres in the Westend the George Hotel is perfect for theatre lovers. Public transport, shops and pubs are nearby, but the hotel is situated in a quiet street. The traditional house offers comfortable accommodation at affordable prices, good value for London, and the house is well looked after. At every stay I noticed some little changes to improve the place, be it an extra table in the dining room, a flat screen TV, or just a bigger variety of tea. The always friendly staff make it easy to feel at home, particularly if you enjoy the excellent English breakfast in the morning over today’s newspaper. I’m looking forward to my next stay.


Great location

4.0 on January 26, 2011

The George is a friendly, well-located B&B in central London. It was very handy being so close to the Russell Square tube and was an easy walk to the British Museum. The breakfast was great. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and the bathroom was very small (a cupboard really), but it was clean and warm (even when snowing outside).


Good Value

3.0 on January 02, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in November 2010. In a short time one gets to feel a part of the place, meeting people in the lobby or breakfast room or at the single internet station. Single room with no bath is tiny. You have to open your suitcase on the bed. Very basic but everything worked, tv, remote, lights, water in sink, wifi. If you just need a place to crash in central London this is great. Sort of youth hostel atmosphere. I would stay here again.


Not again!!!!!!!!!!

1.8 on December 13, 2010

Booked for one night in December, had a room in the basement - underground noise to early hours; people in room above arrived at 3.00a.m. incredibly noisy-flooring creaked, plumbing noisy and could hear occupant(s) snoring. T.V. receiption bad, breakfast lukewarm. What more can I say!.


Disappointed stay

2.4 on December 05, 2010

We travel rather frequently , and have experienced different kinds of accomodation , from basic to luxurious ones. We fully understand that our expectations of services is in accordance with what we choose to pay. After reading all the good reviews of George Hotel, I was expecting a pleasant but not luxurious stay. It turned out that the receptionists were not even friendly enough to make us feel comfortable to make enquiries about travel related issues. Each time we walked through the reception area, we felt we needed to greet them first before one gets some acknowledgement from them.We are not demanding exceptional services, but just basic hotel hospitality.The breakfast was good and the staff were nice. Appreciated the free internet service and the convenient location. There are so many similar hotels nearby, i definitely would not choose this hotel again. CY Chiew

Innkeeper Response
I'd like to thank the guest for his review and for mentioning that he liked the breakfast and the staff, also the location and free internet service. We are at a loss though to understand his comment regarding the "unfriendly receptionists". When we choose our staff their ability to interact with our guests is probably our main consideration and our reviewers tend to often mention the friendliness of the staff as one of our main assets. Unfortunately, we can't trace a guest with the name used in his review so, if he reads this response it would be helpful if he could let me know the dates he stayed so that I can try to find out which receptionists he refers to.


great stay

4.0 on December 01, 2010

stayed end of September in a tripple room, great value and location...


A great place to stay !

5 on October 06, 2010

I took my 2 children here for 2 nights and we had a great time. The hotel is very clean and the people are very friendly. There isn't a lift but carrying your suitcase up the stairs is a small price to pay for an enjoyable and relaxing stay.


Great Value for London

3.6 on September 23, 2010

Stayed here in June with my teenage daughter in a twin room with two beds sharing a bath. Room was in the basement but was larger than I expected, comfortable, and perfectly adequate for us. It was very quiet with the exception of the rumble of the underground which really wasn't annoying once we figured out what it was! The bath (shower and WC) wasn't that great but never had to wait to get in. Breakfast was good but was sometimes crowded with a bit of a wait. The available computer worked well to keep in touch with home. What I also liked about our stay was the neighborhood The George is in - just a few blocks from Russell Square Tube, on a VERY quiet street (as in practically no traffic), safe and clean, with a shopping center between there and the tube. Very good value for a hotel in London - I'll be back!


small room

3.2 on August 24, 2010

We stayed 3 nights. Staff was friendly and helpful. But we had a very small room (we were 2 adults and 1 teenager) above all the bathroom


First Class George

4.4 on July 04, 2010

After staying in many London Hotels & Guest Houses over the years I find the George to be my favourite for single accomodation. Fantastic value for money, very friendly staff in all areas, superb breakfast, clean and well equipt room facilities and central location all help to make this super hotel a joy to visit. I have just enjoyed my third time there.


clean and basic

3.0 on May 17, 2010

Hotel is in an extremely good location, St Pancras, Euston & Russell Square stations nearby and walking access to British Museums, British Library. The rooms are clean and basic. However they're no lifts and the stairs can be a bit daunting for elderly and people with huge luggages. I do wish the rooms doors are oiled some of the room doors .. all i stayed in creaked like crazy everytime they open/close. Bathrooms are clean but a bit drafty - no heating but I think it wouldnt hurt to switch on the heater esp during morning and evenings where guests will be having their showers. Breakfast is great but gets a crowded esp during the peak periods. Management might want to consider seating guests at slots during peak periods.


Fantastic value!

4.0 on April 29, 2010

We stayed in the George on Wednesday 21st April. We'd organised the trip as part of our XL course in school. The hotel was in a very good location - walking distance from Euston, close to the underground and in a lovely crescent setting. The rooms were very good - plenty of tea and coffee provided, plasma TV and the beds were very comfortable. The shared wc/shower was just outside the room - a bit small but ok. Breakfast was very substantial. The students loved the whole experience - and immediately asked to go back! We wouldn't hesitate in using this hotel again for it's convenience and excellent value.


value in these testing times

4.0 on April 28, 2010

excellent location. great value for money. atmosphere among guests at breakfast was friendly. downside small room no elevator/lift


Enjoyed our visit

4.2 on April 11, 2010

Enjoyed the hospitality, friendly atmosphere, and excellent service. A special thanks for the excellent breakfast and wait staff.


Easter Weekend 2010

3.8 on April 08, 2010

I enjoyed my stay with the George Hotel, although I must say that my room was very small - typical for a B&B in London. I booked a single room with shared shower and had no waits to get into the shower each morning, and although I found the bathroom to be quite chilly, it was always clean and re-stocked with towels. The English breakfast was served very efficiently every morning hot & fresh and by a friendly waitstaff. Location of the hotel is PERFECT... simply 4 blocks from Russell Square (when exiting the Tube, walk 4 blocks straight up Marchmont St) The only "negatives" I found with the hotel is that they do not disclose until arrival that although they do have WiFi in the rooms, the coverage can be extremely spotty... but to be fair I must say the computer offered in the commons area is available for free. And finally as for the staff, being it was my first time in London I had many questions and the staff was always willing to answer best they could (PS - it's 62p to mail a postcard back to the US), plus they have MANY helpful leaflets and info cards in the lobby! In conclusion - if you are looking for a clean, well located, no fancy frills hotel for a good value, I cannot reccomend the George highly enough. Billy - Atlanta, GA


A superb Hotel

4.0 on March 29, 2010

Hello. I am Staying at this hotel since years. Before i booked always near the piccadilly circus. i come to london for business since 25 years. what i can say is: the george hotel is my number 1. good price, good hotel, nice staff, i love it. thanks to the george and thanks to the staff. greetings werner switzerland :-))


wonderful hospitality in Cartwright gardens

4.2 on March 18, 2010

Having stayed in all of the Cartwright gardens, I submit that the George is my preferred hotel. The price is reasonable, even by Canadian standards, but when the UK cost of living is factored in, the rates at the George become a real bargain. Like the other hotels in the Cartwright crescent, it shares a great location. Though equidistant to three major tube stations, we also found that almost all of touristy London can be reached on foot within a 30 minute walk. Aside from the price, the George distinguishes itself by the helpfulness of the staff. Minor problems (of the replacing light bulb, repâiring toilet flush variety) were adressed immediately and the staff could always be relied upon for insightful information on just about any matter of transportation, restaurant recommendations etc. The rooms were unusually quiet, clean beyond reproach and quality papers were available at the break of day. The internet connection is good, and, generally speaking, other guests were courteous about sharing the terminal. The George is now my first choice, having superceded, in my view, one of their next door competitors who was formerly my first choice (though I hasten to add that I have never had a bad experience in Cartwright Gardens.) If forced to pick nits, it would be nice to see a little more whole wheat/fruit/healthy fare at the breakfast table, but I do understand the attraction of the full English breakfast, which is indeed copious! Richard Gibson


Location location location

3.8 on March 13, 2010

The rooms may not be outstanding, but I would definitely stay here again primarily due to the location, service, cleanliness, and overall value.


Wonderful Stay

4.6 on March 12, 2010

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the George -two adults and two teenagers in the four bed room on the top floor - very comfortable, cosy, brand new (or seemed so) shared toilet and bath. Russell Square was as magical as I remember as a student in the 1980s. The staff was exceedingly helpful and friendly - and the George Hotel is so close to St. Pancras and the Eurostar train.


George Hotel

4.2 on January 28, 2010

Very enjoyable stay. The hotel is very conveniently located for tube and Euston/St.Pancras/King's Cross stations. Staff were helpful and friendly - we particularly appreciated being able to leave a heavy case at the hotel all day on the day we checked out as we weren't leaving London until that evening. Breakfasts were also good. The only downside was slightly tired room furnishings. The street outside is quiet, however ask for a room that's not in the basement if you're sensitive to noise as tube lines run under the area and there is some rumbling from passing trains.


Great Location

4.2 on December 21, 2009

The George Hotel has as its main attribute a great location for the price. Within easy walking distance of three tube stations, you can be anywhere within the central London area in about fifteen minutes or less. The staff is helpful...and here is a tip...you may take the Heathrow Express in from the airport, but don't buy that round trip ticket, as the taxi deal back is the way to go, especially when you have had to purchase an additional suitcase to haul back all your purchases. We will be back!


SWELL STAY AT THE GEORGE HOTEL

3.4 on December 20, 2009

VERY nice desk staff, always pleasant and helpful. Other than a little bit of bother with the TVs in both of the rooms I occupied, each was comfortable. I now know the number of the room to ask for next visit. I look forward to my next stay at the George Hotel, don't know when it will be, but definitely in 2010! Best holiday wishes to all there! William Langley


Budget Hotel

2.2 on November 21, 2009

Just stayed for two nights at the George Hotel. We were given a baement room which was of a reasonable size with a double and a single bed. The ensuite shower room was small. Staff are friendly and the reception staff made you feel very welcome. Room cleanliness requires attention to detail. Lampshades for the bedside lamps are covered in dust which has been there for quite a while. On inspection in the bathroom there was hair in the sink plug hole and when I continued to remove it, it had been in the sink for some time!!!! Long hair covered in soap residue!!! Not nice. Being in the basement room you could hear the underground trains but they did not run all night!! Breakfast was adequate but not inspiring. All in all a budget hotel within walking distance of central London


Wonderful experience

4.2 on September 30, 2009

For 2 whole years I travelled to London on an almost weekly basis and never stayed anywhere else but at the George. A very convenient location, affordable rooms and superlative service and friendliness from the staff. If there were more than 5 stars for service, I'd tick them all. Thank you Daniela, Meg and all the others for making my weekly stays an unforgettable experience!


The staff was wonderful

3.2 on September 28, 2009

We were only in London 2 1/2 days and wanted to make the most of our stay. The friendly staff was very knowledgeable in where to go and how to get there. We sure appreciate their help.


Good value, good location

3.8 on September 12, 2009

Good basic room with excellent service provided by friendly staff. And a lovely breakfast in the morning!


The George Hotel

4.0 on September 10, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay in the George Hotel, location outstanding, service is excelent and breakfast very very good. I was given a single bedroon, small but confortable, and with a very nice view


Clara

3.8 on September 06, 2009

We really had a great time! The hotel is ok, staff unbelievable!! Just to say that bathroom was really tiny, but we really enjoyed our stay


The George (My hotel in London)

4.2 on August 25, 2009

I've stayed in many hotel in London both large and small but after my stay at The George on my last trip this is my hotel! I took a double for single use and it did truly exceed my expectations. Service was excellent. I had one small problem with the shower drain. I spoke to the front desk about it before heading out for the morning. When I returned it had been fixed. No question this is a great value in London. I only hope it doesn't become TOO popular. Ron Boston, Ma


A great place to stay in London

4.0 on August 09, 2009

We have stayed twice at the George Hotel and have been very pleased with it. The location is good, it's very quiet, the staff are very friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and clean, though fairly basic - this is reflected in the most reasonable price - and we found the beds comfortable. Breakfast was good. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit . Thank you for a lovely stay. John and Roz Nichols


George Hotel

4.2 on July 09, 2009

I would like to express my gratitude for making my stay in London enjoyable. I found the staff consistently very friendly and helpful right from my first contact in making the reservation. The reviews I read prior to booking were very complimentary and I was not dissapointed in the least. My only criticism would be the shower in the third floor bathroom. It did not drain well so a shower unfortunately consisted of standing in ankle deep water. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff compensated for this.


Three nights at The George

3.6 on July 07, 2009

1, Very good location -central and near to two underground stations. 2. Room is clean and has all that is needed. 3. Breakfast is excellent. 4. Staff is friendly and helpful. Jammari


Good Value Small Hotel

4.2 on July 06, 2009

Best neighborhood in London for interesting Pubs and Restaurants - easy to get around all of London from the George. Very helpful Staff. Computer could be better. Had 4 nights, 3 Adults in a Triple - worked out well.


an nice B&B

3.8 on April 15, 2009

The Georges hotel well situated near Pancreas-station(eurostar),an very kind Female Staff,Englisch breakfest (as much you can!)and on top of it ,a good price for a stay in Londen


Personal, comfortable and enjoyable

4.4 on April 06, 2009

We stayed at the George Hotel, after a few days at the huge Royal National. Its personality, service, delicious breakfasts and nice rooms were very welcome!


Hospitality Review-George Hotel

3.8 on April 06, 2009

Being my first time in the UK, i was amazed by the way hotel were being run. My country's experience, made me thing i was going to meet mighty edifice, run as hotels.However, i was satisfied by the size of the rooms, but hoped that more work should be done in lagging the rooms, so that in-guest are not disturbed by what other guest are doing in thier respective rooms.On the service,cleanliness & dinning, i must confess you exceeded my expectation.The front desk & Dinning were wonderful.


Thanks for a great stay

4.4 on April 05, 2009

Stayed at the George as it was close to the UCLH where my father had an appointment the following day. As you can imagine, he was very nervous but the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of the room and the fab breakfast ensured that the visit was a pleasant one. Will stay there again when we have to come to Londin for a future appointment.


staying at the George

4.0 on April 05, 2009

I loved the George and would certainly stay there again. My tiny single room was great.I felt my stay in London was excellent because of it - especially good value and location for walking everywhere. Only thing - there could be a better vegetarian option for breakfast - mushrooms? soy sausages?


Bed and breakfast, worth the money

4.6 on November 09, 2008

This b & b was close to Russell Square and Euston station which was what we needed. It met our expectations. Front Desk Service was excellent and rooms spotless. Although, our room was in the basement, it was adequate and we would definitely stay again.


For central London, well worth it!

4.4 on September 14, 2008

I have to stay the night in centrall London, at least once every 2 months, and I'm now a regular guest at the George. I've tried many London B&B's over the last couple of years and this one, by far, is the best value for money and the one in which I now feel most "at home". All the staff are consistently friendly and there's a very relaxed feel about the place. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is plentiful. On top of this the price is very competitive and generally cheaper than other B&B's that I've checked on. I have no hesitation in giving this place a hignh recommendation.


you might want ear plugs!

2.8 on May 21, 2008

I only stayed for one night. On the plus side, the Australian woman working at reception was friendly and very helpful. Also, my room was large and clean. On the down side, I didn't have a good night sleep due to the amount noise from outside. I could hear voices and footsteps very clearly, until the wee hours of the morning. Double glazing would have greatly enhanced the quality of my stay. In addition, I was unable to enjoy a leisurely breakfast as service started at 8am and I had to check out by 8.15am. Overall, I would recommend this hotel because it is well-situated in Central London and offers good value for money--as long as you bring along ear plugs!


I'll be back

3.4 on October 25, 2007

I stayed here one night. It is close to Earl's Court Station and only a 10 minute walk to the British Museum. Contrary to the other review; I found the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again. The breakfast was good and plentiful, the room was nice and the bed comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
We'll look forward to seeing this reviewer if he comes again and thanking him for the positive review but I wanted to mention that our nearest Tube station is Russell Square, not Earls Court.


okay bed & breakfast

2.8 on July 13, 2007

The daily breakfasts were very good and the selection very good despite it being a small b&b. If the staff were friendlier, it would have greatly improved my opinion.

Innkeeper Response
I'm the owner of the George in London and have seen your review. I appreciate feedback from guests as this is the best way to make sure that we improve the facilities, etc., that guests in our price bracket need. I note your comment about unfriendly staff and wondered if you'd mind giving me a bit more detail about this. I know that, personally, a restarant meal or hotel stay can be ruined for me if the staff are disinterested or unfriendly and my managers are quite clear also about how important this aspect is. A friendly, relaxed atmospere is especially important at our level in the accommodation business where we don't have the facilities of the larger hotel groups. I would appreciate it if you would give me a little more specific detail as to what happened at the George that gave you the impression of unfriendliness there. This email to you is sent from a comment box on the bedandbreakfast.com website so I'm not sure which email address your reply goes to so would you put it for my attention please. Regards, Peter Evans


George Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate £90 - £115
  • Reviews (74) 3.7
  • Rooms 40

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 44-2073878777
  • Fax 44-2073878666

Visit Website »

View details

Top