Recent Reviews in Grand Marais, Minnesota

A Lovely Home Away from Home at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2016

MacArthur house was a peaceful, clean, beautiful place to stay. My husband and I stayed in the Superior Room for four nights, and we were so pleased with the lovely room, delicious breakfasts, and overall ambiance of the bed & breakfast. Max and Sherri are gracious and hospitable hosts: they do everything they can to make their guests feel welcomed and at ease (from supplying forgotten shampoo to making gluten-free waffles). The house is close to downtown Grand Marais, and the rooms are large, airy, quiet, and full of light. Overall, I would highly recommend this B & B as a relaxing vacation destination.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and Inviting at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2016

Max and Sherri are wonderful hosts. Breakfasts were superb! MacArthur House is quiet and peaceful, exactly what we needed for our five night getaway. We enjoyed the short 3 block walk into town with all the great restaurants and shops. We shall definitely return. Thank you Max and Sherri...

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful stay with Max and Sherri at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on June 16, 2016

My husband and I traveled from Naperville, IL and stayed with Max and Sherri for 2 nights while visiting Grand Marais,MN. The Bed and breakfast was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was shared with other guests around a large table and both mornings it was wonderful! Sheri and Max were delightful!

View more reviews for this inn


spacious and quiet at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.0 reviewed on September 01, 2015

Max and Sherri provide a wonderful space to enjoy the Grand Marais area. Our suite was the perfect home away. Very willing to accomodate special dietary needs.

View more reviews for this inn


Cedar Cabin at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

3.8 reviewed on October 21, 2014

This quaint abode was home for the two of us for five nights. All the basic needs were met. The caretaker was very helpful (and quick) when I had trouble turning on the oven.

View more reviews for this inn


a grand stay! at Poplar Creek Guesthouse (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on October 12, 2014

We have visited several other B&B's over the years but the Poplar Creek guesthouse is one of the best stays yet! It is set up as a true bed and breakfast. Its very private for that romantic get away,and yet, offers opportunity to mingle with quests over one of Barbara's amazing breakfasts or a glass of wine in the commons area. The property is secluded, quiet and absolutely the epitome of the North country. True serenity.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend to view Fall colors! at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2014

Max & Sherri were great hosts. Their B&B is in a great location in Grand Marais. Easy walk down to Main St. Wonderful breakfast each day. We'll definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Great spot - especially for the North House Folk School at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.2 reviewed on October 01, 2014

Clean little cottages, no breakfast included but full kitchen. Two bedrooms with twin size comfy beds. If you are going to the North House Folk School you are a two to three block walk down the hill to the school which is right on the water. My wife and I both took courses there; it was great to have a place to walk back to when our courses had different daily schedules. Downtown is a four block walk. Great location!

View more reviews for this inn


Great alternative to a large hotel stay in Grand Marais at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on September 29, 2014

The MacArthur House was an extremely reasonable way to take in Grand Marais. It's within walking distance of downtown and the breakfast and coffee were delicious! I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it to others.

View more reviews for this inn


MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on September 11, 2014

Welcoming environment.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2014

The house was Amazing! Well kept, clean and wonderfully decorated. The owners are very nice and genuinely care about your stay. They want to you be comfortable while you are there! The bed was very comfortable and I slept wonderfully.

View more reviews for this inn


RAM at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2014

very comfortable felt at ease

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice place to stay! at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2014

This was the second time we stayed at MacArthur house and will definitely stay here again. Rooms are very clean and Max and Sherri are wonderful. The food is alway delicious. We enjoyed meeting guests from other parts of the state and country, and even a couple from Canada! I would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone!

View more reviews for this inn


A great stay at a reasonable price at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2014

We stayed at the Aspen cabin and had a wonderful stay. Everything is kept neat and clean and have no complaints, will definitely be coming back. Great location too as donwtown is within walking distance.

View more reviews for this inn


GM Realxation at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

3.8 reviewed on August 17, 2014

Friendly, warm and welcoming....great fireworks viewing and night time music.

View more reviews for this inn


We loved it! at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on August 17, 2014

We are big fans of Bed and Breakfast versus hotel rooms when we are on the road. We were only there one night but we enjoyed every moment of it. Grand Marais is a gem and this place was s.p.o.t.l.e.s.s - a big plus in our opinion.. Max and Sherri were super friendly!

View more reviews for this inn


A fine stay in Grand Marais at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on August 13, 2014

A good location off the busy highway yet a very quick walk to everthing in town, including many nice restaurants. Hosts know the area well and really take pride in their inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Would stay again if in the area. at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

3.8 reviewed on August 12, 2014

Enjoyed the stay. The owners were gracious and helpful. The commons area was very comfortable and the breakfast was good. One thing that we had a problem with was having to take off our shoes as we came in the front door. I do that at home, but I always have slippers at the ready, here we did not and it just felt uncomfortable in a way. Everyone at breakfast was in stocking feet also.

View more reviews for this inn


Dining at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

3.4 reviewed on August 11, 2014

We stay at the MacArthur House Bed and Breakfast whenever we come to Grand Marias. We discovered this lovely residence several years ago and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Max and Sherry are delightful; their hospitality is the best. I have a gluten free diet and they do a great job with that for me.

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem on the Gunflint at Poplar Creek Guesthouse (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2014

All around great stay at the Poplar Creek Guesthouse. The location is a perfect jumping off point for hiking and canoeing in the Boundary Waters, our room was clean and well appointed, and Barb & Ted are some of the most friendly and accommodating hosts we've had. Be sure to take advantage of their exhaustive knowledge of the region!

View more reviews for this inn


Cedar cabin at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.2 reviewed on July 27, 2014

Rented the cedar cabin, nice location within 3 blocks of the downtown area. Quiet and out if the way. I would stay here again. No problems and never even saw the owners, felt like we had the place to ourselves. Disregard my rating if the dining, we didn't eat at the B&B since we rented a cabin.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend in July 2014 at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

2.8 reviewed on July 19, 2014

The cabin that we stayed in this year wasn't as nice as the one last year. The bathroom door didn't work very well and the coffee pot stopped working as well. However, it was clean and the staff was friendly. The location to the waterfront area is great!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Respite! at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2014

We had a lovely three nights in Grand Marais. The MacArthur House is just perfect - an easy walk into town for great food and yet it is in a quiet neighborhood so you can sleep with the windows open - and no noise! We had a beautiful room in the main house, and terrific breakfast each morning. Plenty of good coffee and fine hosts who know a lot about the area. They were the perfect combination of welcoming and friendly without being too much so. We would definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem in Grand Marais at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on July 11, 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at the MacArthur House. Max and Sherri are wonderful hosts. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. My wife's birthday occurred during our stay. Sherri noticed the birthday card on the nightstand and when my wife and I returned that evening a bottle of champagne was waiting for us in our room. It is this kind of unexpected and unsolicited service like sets apart the MacArthur House from other B&B;s. Breakfasts were outstanding and the location of the B&B is great. All the restaurants and shops are just a short walk away. If we return to Grand Marais we would certainly choose the MacArthur House. Max and Sherri are really nice people and run a superb B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

3.8 reviewed on July 07, 2014

Fantastic place. We will book again and have already recommended to friends and family!

View more reviews for this inn


MacAruthur House B&B Crituque at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on July 05, 2014

food was outstanding, people were very friendly. I would definitely stay again

View more reviews for this inn


Beauitful and Relaxing Stay at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 29, 2014

We had a bad experience with another B&B in Two Harbors and called to see if MacArthur had an opening for the next day. Max was very nice and eventhough he could not hear me due to iphone issues told us to come the next day. We were greeted by Sherri who was very down to earth and kind, which made us feel good after the horrible experience the day before. The room was incredible and beauitful-whirlpool, TV with Direct programming, a view that overlooked the lake and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and we are now planning another stay for hopefully next year. We would highly recommend staying two to three days!

View more reviews for this inn


My stay at the MacArthur Cabins at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on June 04, 2014

We rented the Pine cabin, and it was PERFECT! It was just supposed to be me and my two kids, but my Mom ended up staying, and since the cabin had a pull out couch, she also had a bed. Then my dad and sister showed up the last two days of our stay, and my parents took the couch while my sister got the roll away out of the closet. It was quaint, charming and we all had a really great time. Russell was extremely helpful, and we really enjoyed doing s'mores at night around the camp fire area that was right beside our cabin. I would recommend this to anyone. I could not rate the dining, because we had a full kitchen in our cabin, so no one cooked for us except for me. We did go downtown for pie several times and even made it out to Naniboujou Lodge for lunch one day - amazing food and a really cool place to visit. We are looking forward to coming up again next year for another graduation at CCHS.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2014

This was our second stay at the MacArthur House. It was just as we remembered it. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, he breakfasts fantastic, and Max and Sherri wonderful hosts. The house is very easy walking distance to the North House Folk School and downtown Grand Marais making this a perfect place to stay. We will stay there again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


don't miss this place on your stay in Grand Marais at MacArthur House Bed & Breakfast (Grand Marais, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on April 27, 2014

I was the only guest stay there and the owners are very attentive to all my needs I would stay there again

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}