Recent Reviews in Granada, Nicaragua

Lovely place, Lovely people at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

4.4 reviewed on July 07, 2014

Perfect location - just a couple of blocks from the central park, and quiet! Beautiful, intimate place with a sweet balcony off our room, plus the roof-top garden. Best of all were the owners who were so friendly, and the staff who were incredible. They set us up with everything we needed - from a tour of the area highlights/market to the best place to change money. I will absolutely stay here again if I return to Granada!

View more reviews for this inn


Very Relaxing and Convenient at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on March 04, 2014

Everything it was said to be! Very comfortable beds, huge shower,quiet, great breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


A must-stay destination in Nicaragua. at Orquidea del Sur (San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua)

4.8 reviewed on September 04, 2013

When deciding on a place to stay in the SJDS area, I came across Orquidea del Sur on tripadvisor. The pictures on the website looked stunning but you never know for sure until you see a property in person if the pictures are accurate. I now can say that the pictures not only are accurate but may even fall short of conveying the beauty of this property. During our 5 night stay, we were the only guests for the first 3 nights. We felt as if this was our own private villa with staff waiting to assist us at any moment. I don't think that we've ever met nicer people than those who work here. They were unobtrusive but always available to provide a drink, a meal, a towel, a chat, a hello, and a smile. Each morning we ate a delicious breakfast which was included in the price. We would then let one of the staff know which other meals we would be eating that day. We found the food to be some of the best that we'd eaten in Nicaragua. In five days every meal was fabulous with the exception of one steak dinner which was good but not fabulous. Our room was spacious, quiet, and beautiful, and walking out the patio door to the view of the ocean each morning was wonderful. We were impressed with the fact that hot coffee, with warm milk and sugar magically appeared on our patio at 7 a.m. each morning so no need to walk in your PJs in search of coffee (great idea Joanne!). Although the property is a good 25-30 minutes drive from SJDS, we loved the location and seclusion. Honestly, we only went in SJDS once and felt no need to go again. Robert and Joanne are warm, friendly, interesting and helpful hosts who really want you to luxuriate in your stay. They will do everything humanly possible to make it an unforgetable experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2013

As we arrived to the beautiful hotel, we were greeted by the owners Tim and Andres. They immediately checked us in and showed us to our room. The layout of the room was beautiful. Very, very clean and spotless. We were invited to check out the rooftop. From there we could see "El Mombacho" and "La Catedral". As we checked out the rest of the hotel, we found a refrigerator full of sodas, waters and beers. It was an honor system operation and all had to do what mark it off on the sheet. The breakfast provided was delicious. We ate in the patio with a view of several tropical plants. The ladies who waited on us were on top of things, as we didn't need to ask for anything else. The hotel is located 3 small block from "La Calzada", where all the bars and restaurants are located, not to mention "La Catedral" and "El Parque Central". When checking out four days later, we had to leave to our next destination at 3:00 a.m. As we were headed out, the night desk person had breakfast packed for us and stated "This is compliments of Tim and Andres" They really make you feel at home and I will DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to everyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy hotel off the main tourist street at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

4.8 reviewed on January 04, 2010

La Islita is a comfortable, friendly, small hotel on a residential street off the main tourist street in Granada. It is convenient to everything. The street seemed scary at first, but that should no longer be true since the city should have finished paving it by now. It is quiet and home-like away from the crowds in the Granada Plaza or on Calzada Street. The proprietors are very helpful and can answer any question you have from arranging transportation to Managua to recommending restaurants to laundry services and tour companies. The lobby, where breakfast is served, is beautiful with an indoor courtyard. We stayed there with our grown children and would happily stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden gem of Granada at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2010

This is a lovely little hotel strategically located a few minutes distance from all the major hot spots, including restaurants, clubs, bars and natural attractions. The place itself is amazingly cute, with beautiful architectural components including art deco and mediterranean elements. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, and the common area at the lobby readily becomes a place for all travelers to lounge around and share their stories of sightseeing around the city. Breakfast was outstanding, with an alternation between traditional continental dishes and a taste of local flavors. The Innkeepers and staff are not only very welcoming and friendly, but also incredibly knowledgeable of all the sorroundings. They readily offer excellent advice from what drink to order at the nicest little bar to the best time to visit the nearest active volcano. The free WiFi and U.S. phone line were highly appreciated, and everything contributed to a wonderful stay. I was there for a week with a group of college friends and now I can't wait to show this place to my whole family. Will definitely be visiting again. -Andrea C. Miami, FL

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to stay! at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

4.8 reviewed on January 03, 2010

A trip to Nicaragua wouldn't be complete without visiting Granada - and if you are going, La Islita is really the best place to stay. All the comforts of home (comfortable beds, air conditioning, WiFi, etc...) with the best things Nicaragua has to offer (great coffee, beautiful decorations, great location). Plus, the owners Tim and Andres are incredible hosts, offering to book just about any day trip you can think of. Don't hesitate to book your stay at La Islita. You won't be dissapointed!

View more reviews for this inn


One of the coolest places in Granada- I wish I could have stayed longer at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2009

I stayed at La Islita in August 2009 for a few days. I just wish I could have stayed longer. The place is beautiful, bright and clean. It has a real feeling of luxury- something that is often out of my budget when I travel but totally possible at la Islita- I don't know how they can offer so much at such a low price! Hot water, a.c, flat screen t.v.s and the most comfortable beds I slept in throughout my travels in Nicaragua. The hosts themselves deserve a special call out- so friendly and helpful. I am counting the days until I can go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place, Great Town. Wonderful Hosts at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

4.8 reviewed on June 02, 2009

Loved my stay in La Islita, beautiful room with massive balcony. We spent most of the afternoons enjoying the breeze from the lake and sipping a few drinks. the bathrooms were oversized with charming features, the toiletries are spa quality, surprising for nicaragua. one thing that could have added more to our stay would have been to bring our laptop, they do have access to wireless.

View more reviews for this inn


First Class Hotel and Service at La Islita Boutique Hotel (Granada, Nicaragua)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2009

I stumbled across this place a few months ago. What a gem of a find! La Islita is about 2 blocks off the main drag and I was more than pleasantly surprised when I entered the foyer. The floor tile in itself is a work of art and I'm told produced by local artisans. My room was very comfortable and surprisingly spacious and had all the amenities one would expect; flat screen TV with cable, AC, ceiling fans, hot water and there is WiFi access in the lobby if you have your own laptop. That said, there is an abundance of cyber cafes in Granada if you need to stay connected. Breakfast was included and comprised of fresh fruits, breads and locally produced coffee and oneday I even had giant granola and fresh fruit waffles - so delicious! The owners were incredibly helpful with recommending local tours and eateries. FYI I know that there are plans to open a full restaurant and bar and I'm sure when that happens they too will be outstanding. La Islita is beautifully chic and a must for anyone visiting Granada. You will not find better for your money. 5 STARS...highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. La Islita Boutique Hotel (4.87)
  2. Orquidea del Sur (4.80)
Top
}