The Confederate House Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.1
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

A lovely night at the Confederate Inn

5 on September 08, 2013

Loved our stay at the beautiful Confederate Inn. it is directly across from Forsyth Street Park. A wonderful place to walk and experience this historic part of Savannah. The Inn's owner is Colleen Williams a very gracious Southern lady. She makes you feel at home as soon as you come through the front door and into a magnificent ballroom. Our room was very nice with a large attached bath. Colleen had even prepared snacks for us in an upstairs sitting area. Our breakfast in the morning was delicious with French toast, fruit, juice, and coffee all served by candle light and using her fine china, crystal, and silver. Thank you Colleen. Hope to visit again soon.


Superior

5 on July 16, 2013

My fiance' and I stayed at the Confederate Inn for two nights. We arrived on a Thursday and was warmly greeted by Ms. Colleen. When she realized that I was the bride-to-be, she quickly embraced me with the sweetest hug! There was always coffee and cakes out for us, and the breakfast we had both mornings was simply fabulous. I was extremely touched by her hospitality and the fact that she sat down and joined us. She had some very interesting stories to share and was a delightful addition to conversations going on and kept them amusing. Ms. Carolyn, who helped Ms. Colleen out at the inn, was also a delight, very friendly and sweet as well, and she always had a smile on her face. Our second day there was our wedding day, and as we were about to leave for the beach Ms. Colleen came upstairs to see us off. We were going over the traditional something old, new, borrowed and blue and when she realized that I didn't have anything borrowed, she took off her gold bracelet and told me that I could wear it. How very touching and sweet I thought that was. Ms. Colleen was gracious enough to allow me to have packages for the wedding delivered to her beautiful home and I didn't have to worry about whether or not she would be there to receive them. She made all my plans easy and I had peace of mind knowing I was in good hands. Our stay was the best I could have imagined for our wedding and honeymoon night and my husband and I hope to revisit some day soon, maybe even on our 1 year anniversary. Highly recommend this beautiful inn to any couple looking for a spacious room and a relaxing weekend away from home. Love you Ms. Colleen and thanks for all you did for us!!!


A Great Value -- I Want To Visit Again!

4.4 on May 24, 2013

Colleen Williams is a real doll, and a natural at running her bed and breakfast. Breakfast was a wonderful sit down meal with Colleen and other interesting guests who came to visit Savannah. The rooms are large as was the bathroom. I had a great time. The B&B is closely located to the downtown historic district, and I walked back and forth each day with no trouble. (For me, a car was an option that I did not need.) I checked "exceeded my expectations" rather than "outstanding" on the above "rooms" and "cleanliness" categories because this is an old house, and some people will have a problem with uneven floors and other issues that are inherent with an old building. I love the B&B experience because I get to meet local folks and rather than visit an old home for half an hour, I get to stay in it during my vacation. However, others who prefer sleek hotels and granite countertops will not appreciate the B&B experience. With that caveat, I would recommend the Confederate House Inn for anyone staying in Savannah. In my next trip to the city, I will definitely stay there again.


Spacious beautiful home

4.8 on April 27, 2013

We walked into a gorgeous ballroom for the living and dining area, with beautiful wood floors. Our room which looked out onto the sitting area on the grounds was spacious, clean and very pretty with plenty of room to store our things for a couple of days. Breakfast was simple and beautifully prepared. The inn is across the street from the beautiful expanse of Forsythe Park, so we enjoyed evenings on the front porch and the view across the way. There are quite a few steps up to the bedrooms, and on the way you will find coffee and dessert as you enter. Very nice hostess.


Amazing Experience

5 on February 17, 2013

My fiancé took me to Savannah for my birthday last weekend. We stayed at the Confederate House. Lady Colleen (the Owner and very gracious host) made us feel welcome and comfortable from making our reservation until the moment we departed. We stayed for three nights with the Midnight package. We stayed in the most beautiful room with most amazing view of Forsyth Park. Lady Colleen had a wonderful southern breakfast ready for us each morning promptly at 9AM. She assisted us with dinner and city tour plans. We truly enjoyed every moment in the Confederate House and with Lady Colleen. We will definitely be back to Savannah and would not stay anywhere besides the Confederate House. Thank you, Lady Colleen, for everything and being so wonderful to us! You made our first visit to Savannah a memorable one!


Old Southern Charm bringing Savannah to life

4.2 on December 29, 2012

Location is outstanding and cannot be beat. Directly facing beautiful Forsyth Park and has its very own attached, free parking. Free DOT bus stop located one block away...very convenient to get to all the historical sights. Lady Colleen is a gracious host that always had baked treats waiting for us everyday. Also, as a local, she is very well informed and took the time to share everything we wanted to know.


My state at The Confederate

5 on August 08, 2012

I wanted to leave this review for potential visitors to The Confederate B&B. This was my first overnight visit to Savannah along with my girlfriend who's originally from there and we both had a ver wonderful experience. Ms. Colleen is the most gracious host with a wealth of knowledge in so many areas. The pictures only of the Confederate are enhanced tremendously when seen in person. The room (Jackson) was very comfortable, elegant, and accomodating. The view and conveniency of Forsyth Park was one of many great attractions to the Confederate. My girlfriend and I could have sat and talked for hours with Ms. Colleen because of her pleasant mature, thrillful memories, and inviting spirit. I was asked afterwards by co-workers about my experience there as an African-American couple and the first word that came to mind was "Overly-Exceptional!" Class, culture, and respect are words to describe Ms. Colleen and her management of The Confederate. We met a couple from London full of excitement about their travels that only added to the already pleasant breakfast on our first morning there. I will definitely return to the Confederate so that my girlfriend and I can relive our great experience shared there. Thank you Ms. Colleen for being a terrific host and we will definitely endorse the patronage of the Confederate of those from any culture/background. Until next time, take care and much continued success there. Darrien


Elegant, with true southern hospitality

5 on July 30, 2012

We visited Savannah for the first time, wanting to take in the "old city". Our selection of the Confederate House could not have been more perfect! Our hostess, Ms. Colleen was gracious, polite & welcoming, and quite the conversationalist with her years of experiences. She anticipated needs but also checked with her guests for breakfast selections, quietly allowing those with allergies or dislikes to "weigh in" without their being put on the spot, or in the position of leaving food seemingly unappreciated. The food was always fresh, tasty & served elegantly. Our room was spacious & clean, the bed most comfortable. She had much insight into the city offerings & her suggestions were appreciated. While on the outer edge of the old city, the view of Forsythe Park and our regular walks through it were most enjoyable. We parked our car on Thursday & didn't get in it again until Sunday. We look forward to returning to Savannah & to Ms. Colleen and the Confederate House!


Home away from home!

5 on July 18, 2011

Words cannot describe how much we loved staying at the Confederate House. When we decided to celebrate our 2nd anniversary in Savannah, we spent a week looking at different B&B locations. After seeing the photos of the rooms, we were sold. And the photos do not due justice to the beauty of the house and room. Colleen, owner/innkeeper, did a wonderful job making sure our stay was pleasant and comfortable. We stayed in the President Davis room and it was breathtaking. Thank you so much Colleen for making our anniversary weekend a pleasure.

Innkeeper Response
Thank-you for your kind words. It is always nice to meet a couple celebrating their anniversary. It was our pleasure having you stay with us.See you next year for your 3rd anniversary or sooner. Lady Colleen Williams


Honeymoon stay June 2011

4.2 on June 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the last two nights of our honeymoon before we flew back to Texas out of the Savannah airport, and we wanted a couple days to see the city. This place is conveniently located to be able to walk to many historic sites and there is a shuttle that could take you all the way down to River St. if it's too hot/inclement to walk. Rooms are very spacious, and bathrooms good, but not any amenities out of the ordinary. Best things about this place though:1) Breakfast is GREAT; truly southern and you won't go hungry! 2) The hostess/innkeeper, "Lady Williams" as the chef calls her, is very hospitable, and we enjoyed talking with her. She takes time to meet/greet her guests, and gave us plenty of advice on where to visit in the city, since she has lived there 37 yrs. The Pink House was an EXCELLENT recommendation for a fine dining experience! 3) The place is very private, with only three rooms to rent out 4) We got a great price for the value 5) The restoration she has done there is truly amazing, expecially the main ballroom downstairs. Get her to show you a picture of what the place looked like when she bought it (hint: it's in the entryway on the wall). Would stay there again if I was looking for a quiet, relaxing place with some true Southern hospitality!

Innkeeper Response
Thank-you for the very nice review. I have thought about what a perfectly matched couple you are and about your sharing with me how you grew up on a dairy farm. Having you stay here was our pleasure and we look forward to seeing and hearing from you in the future. Lady Colleen Williams


True Southern Hospitality

4.0 on May 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I planned a weekend trip to Savannah (the first visit for both of us). We knew immediately that we wanted to stay in a bed and breakfast one of those nights (who wants to stay in a chain hotel while visiting one of the most charming cities in America?). After much research, I stumbled upon the Confederate House. The pictures were beautiful and the good reviews far outweighed the bad. We decided to give it a try - and we are so glad we did! As we pulled up, I was amazed at the grandeur of the mansion - it was older, but had not lost any of its beauty or charm. As we approached the door, we were met by Ms. Colleen Williams - the owner. She was very friendly and informative - she sat us down to review the rules and would often go off on tangents about her life in Savannah. Truly a fascinating woman. As we brought our luggage into our room, we once again were amazed. The bedroom & private bathroom were HUGE. The room was clean, the furnishings charming, and the bed comfortable. We were thrilled. After spending the rest of the day walking and exploring Savannah, we came back exhausted and fell right into bed. The next morning we went down to the breakfast table to find 6 plates of food. Two couples were already seated at the table. My boyfriend and I joined the other couples for an enjoyable breakfast of french toast, sausage, and watermelon (I didn't eat the sausage - vegetarian - but the french toast was delicious!). Ms. Williams joined us at the end of breakfast for a bit of conversation before everyone departed. Overall, the Confederate House far exceeded my expectations. Originally I had worried that this B&B wouldn't be a good match for a young couple, but I was completely wrong. Ms. Williams opened her beautiful home to us and showed us true Southern hospitality. I will be telling all of my friends and family to stay here if they are ever in Savannah.

Innkeeper Response
Thank-you for your very kind words they are appreciated. You are welcome to come back any time. Lady Colleen Williams


This place needs HELP!!!!4/2/2011

1.2 on April 03, 2011

I should have noticed the reviews were YEARS OLD...bad sign. There were pubic hairs in the sheets! Yes, you read it right. When we discovered it at 10ish (had dinner in town, ghost ride, then Leopolds icecream) we were disgusted! I called Ms. Williams (she lives on the first floor), figured she would come running right up with clean sheets, she said she would change them in the MORNING. "WHAT????" She said she put those sheets on herself and there were no hairs when she made the beds. I told her I did not care how they got there, but there are PUBIC hairs on the sheets! She said she could not do anything about it til morning. She acted as if I was lying and hung up! I pulled several hairs out of the sheets and put them on the white cookie plate so she could clearly see that I was not making this up. In the meantime, there were no other rooms at nearby hotels, ( it was Music Festival weekend), so we were stuck. My son and his wife, slept on the beadspred with ALL THEIR CLOTHES on, as did my daughter in my room, as not to touch the sheets. We left as soon as possible (7am), trying to reach Ms.Williams to no avail. Ms Williams finally answered the phone at 9:15 and accused me and my family of 'trying to get the charges dismissed', "I know your kind of people" were her words... and then said there were "no hairs" and I was just trying to have a free stay, that we were drunk, loud, and disruptive.... then hung up the phone. When I called back to ask for some kind of compensation and explain that I had even left hairs on the plate, she totally denied that they were there...thank goodness I had taken pictures.... she called me back later to say she had received my threating phone message (I said I would write about my trip on trip advisor and call the Savanah Chamber), she said she was going to "call my neighbors and my work place and tell them how my drunk family acted at her place!"

Innkeeper Response
I have read this untruthful review this is the second time she has posted on bed and breakfast .com the 1st was removed when I pointed the places she tripped herself up on her untruthful statements. So I guess she deceided to rewrite it and remove the parts where she tripped herself up. By the way there are 10,000 rooms in the historic district I find it hard to believe every single one was rented. So many people who have stayed with us were so kind to me far out weigh those who are not so nice.


Not as advertised

1.6 on September 20, 2010

Positives were location, comfy bed, big TV, large rooms, French toast & bacon. Negatives far outweigh positives: 22 steps from sidewalk to grand ballroom 22 more steps to bedroom level Taxi drop off and parking in back of house, no sidewalk, just cement stones-hard rolling bag Crude hand lettered signs on front door-no sign Confederate House Upper floor was 90 degrees upon our arrival, were not escorted to our room Thermostat/AC was off-upper floor did cool to 72 by evening Towels old with frayed edges No towel bar, hooks or cabinet in large bathroom-just a small wood TV tray 2 small lamps on bedroom dresser had no bulbs Styrofoam cup on bathroom sink Rough caulking/homemade repair at bathroom sink Pump soap only, a little inconvenient when showering 2 huge windows in bathroom, sheer curtain-no shades King bed high off floor-no step stool Only 2 pillows, unless the pillows with shams count, did not use those Inside stairway was not clean-cobwebs, grass, hairs seen on stairs Inside stairway painted white with a gray runner in center, bad remodel Grand ballroom sparsely furnished, decor unattractive Outside stairway dusty, handrails dusty Porch big, only one wicker chair and table, 3 plants in plastic throw away pots, 2 looked dead I have never stayed in such a huge b&b. I have never had such a poor experience either. Lady Colleen Williams needs to hire better housekeeper and general upkeep staff, if she wants to improve her business.

Innkeeper Response
I know who these two ladies from Texas are they have been harrassing us directly and indirectly wanting a refund after staying here one night. We had discounted their room from $225.00 to $135.00 plus tax. When they came they appeared in my opionto be in a snit with each other and when they left it appeared they were not speaking to each other. Matter of fact the one lady complained to our chief about the other lady. The thrill of being an inkeeper when people get upset with each other we are the only one left to take it out on. Maybe now that they are back in Texas they will be happier.


Confederate House Weekend!

4.0 on July 12, 2010

The Confederate House offers a truely Southern Experience. The innkeeper, Lady Colleen Williams is charming and hospitable. A true souther belle! The Chef is an established gourmet. There are always fresh baked goodies in the lobby, which happens to be a huge antebellum ballroom. Some of the highlights are, private parking, spacious rooms with period furnishings and a modern flat screen television! All of this within walking district to River Street and the historic squares. And don't forget that gourmet breakfast every morning! I highly recommend this Inn! Lisa and Brad


Loved this Place

5 on July 02, 2010

My husband and I just got back from staying at the Confederate house and what a charming place, it is right across from the park. The owner Colleen is the most nicest person you will ever meet we just fell in love with her she is so sweet and caring, I have truly meet a dear friend for life and Dixie her chef is a sweetheart also her whole staff is just great!!!! The rooms are very big and you really get your money's worth they bend over backwards for you here. I highly recommend this place, you won't be sorry that is for sure. Collen and Miss Dixie we love and miss you all, can't wait to go back!!!!!!! Pat and Joe Armet, Palm Bay, Florida


49th Wedding Anniversery

4.0 on April 24, 2010

This stay at 808 Drayton St was a truly relaxing mini vacation. Mrs. Williams and Miss Dixie were both very hospitable and gracious. The location was perfect for walking the park and/or viewing multiple historic buildings. I would recommend this as truly a wonderful experience in staying in someones home.

Innkeeper Response
Thank-you for your kind words. It is always nice to have kind people stay with us. Come for your 50 year anniverary and I will have Dixie do something special. After all not many people make it to 50 years. Colleen Williams


Weekend Getaway

3.6 on March 21, 2010

The food was excellant and the chef was very friendly. The outside needed repairs and the windows needed replacing. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable.

Innkeeper Response
The windows in this house do not need to be replaced. We have chosen windows that are sealed and do not open to help control the heat and air in the building. As for the house needing repairs it does not need repairs outside. It would be nice if the painters we hire would show up and touch up certain parts of the building out side. I can't force people to show up and paint. Painting and repairs are two different things. When this house was restored we brought in union carpenters and they used only the master carpenters and the best materials. This house was restored to last at least another 25 or 30 years. It has not been that long since the house was restored. Perhaps since the windows did not open and this displesed you in the future when you make a reservation ask if their windows open. Yes we do have an excellent chief and yes the beds are comfortable. Peoeple who stay here often have their married children come and stay later and we hear over and over to find out the name of the matteress and box springs for their parents. Yes the house is clean this is our home. We are have a good housekeeper. We are blessed we have a good chief and good housekeeper, and good gardner. We do have good security on call if needed. The chief feeds us, the housekeeper keeps the house clean,the gardner makes the yard pretty to look at and our security man would never let anything happen to our family or our guests. Most of the people we meet are very nice and are thankful we have opened our home to them. Thank-you for your comments. Colleen Williams


Great B&B for a get-away weekend

5 on February 28, 2010

On a spur of the moment, I surprised my wife with a trip to Savannah. I chose the Confederate House and was not disappointed. Great location, great rooms, great everything. We will be coming back yearly. Thank you Colleen for the great time and great conversations.


Southern Hospitality served, Y'all

5 on October 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed in this lovely old mansion on Columbus day 2009 and were very happy to have done so. We have been to a number of B&Bs and this rates very high on our list. Colleen, owner, and Dixie, the chef, served up southern hospitality along with the great breakfast, confederate cake, and various homemade, delicious cookies. We stayed in the General Lee room and were very happy with all aspects of the house and our hostess. Thanks again for your kindness, interesting conversations, advice on the sightseeing in Savannah, etc. We enjoyed a late lunch before we left the area at Clary's diner, a short walk from the Confederate house and enjoyed the food there, ...also a recommend when visiting this B&B. Colleen, and Dixie, keep up the good work, and thanks again for making our stay so enjoyable! We shall return when next in Savannah. Best Regards, Gerald and Beverly Addicott, Palm Bay, FL

Innkeeper Response
Thank-you for the kind words from all of us. We do appreciate them. Looking forward to seeing you'all again.


The most romantic B&B in Savannah!

5 on July 07, 2009

Our hostess coddled us from the moment we arrived. The almond skillet cake, lemon cake and breakfasts were all splendid. We were there to see our son off to Baghdad and we were treated with the most amazing kidness. Thank you, Colleen, for your genuine Southern hospitality! A magical place...

Innkeeper Response
Thank-you for your kind words. Please keep in touch and tell me how your son is doing. Remember I am only a phone call away.


There's a storm a brewing, and the sky is Confederate grey!

4.6 on June 07, 2009

Although it rained most of the time we were there, my husband and I Had a great, relaxing time at the Confederate inn! Colleen was a wonderful host. The house is amazingly beautiful. Would recommend it to anyone!


Underwhelmed

2.0 on April 21, 2009

We always enjoy the company at B&B's, but this is not a winner. Rooms are clean and well kept. Location is ok. Homemade snacks available, and interesting old mansion. We came here to relax, yet we felt like we were being kept to a strict schedule for breakfast...not tasty, cold...and our host was unhappy about us oversleeping(15 to 20 minutes) and wanting to sit together at the table...this turned into a faceoff with the host! Second, I am tired of being lectured by my host at breakfast about edgy social issues. I want to relax and enjoy the coffee with a light, warm meal. Never again.

Innkeeper Response
We have a new chief who has 30 years experience and is excellent. The housekeeper knocks on everyones door each moring to tell them when breakfast is ready all they need to do is come downstairs and sit down the food is on a plate in front of the chairs and when they sit down their coffee is poured for them. We explain to each guest at checkin breakfst is served at 9 o'clock this seemed fine to them they had no objection. All they had to do was get out of bed and come down to eat and the food would not have been cold . We try to do everything we can to make a stay pleasant for our guest but you can not please everyone all the time it's part of being in buisness and dealing with people. As for this couple not staying here again that would be nice.


OK B&B in Savannah

2.6 on March 26, 2009

Clean, adequate B&B. Magnificent house, but sparsely furnished. Innkeeper nice enough, but needs to emphasize things to see and do in Savannah.

Innkeeper Response
I noticed you only gave us two stars for dining this chief is no longer with us and has been replaced. As for more information about where to go we have pamplets here but I can bring more in and I do spend time with each guest telling them about the house museums, the good restraurants, and free shuttle serve all guests can use in the historic district. As for the value I checked the records you were given a deep discount on you room price a very deep discount. I can not help but raise the question was it our house and me or was it the money you spent? I'm sorry and I hope things get better for you.


Birthday Retreat

4.0 on August 22, 2008

I chose this B&B because of the pictures I saw and the write ups I read concerning how wonderful the Confederate House was. Being a Black American, I was a little sceptical about staying in the Confederate House during my fiancé birthday celebration and I guess you can understand why. However, I was pleasingly surprised! The interior was gorgeous and our room was spacious as well as comfortabe. We were pleasantly awakened each morning my Denise (the housekeeper) to a delicious meal. She was polite and certainly knew how to cook. Colleen, the InnKeeper was charming and ready to accommodate us in any way she could. Actually we could not have selected a better place to stay for the service, the special discount, the lovely room and the location. It is centrally located and it was easy for us to tour the city. My fiancé and I say, thank you Colleen. We enjoyed our stay. We wish you well and much success with the special, warmth and unique place to invite your guests to stay. I can honestly say, regardless of your nationality, you will be welcome and certainly have a wonderful stay at the Confederate House. Dee & Pete


King and Queen for a night!

5 on July 20, 2007

This was our first stay in a b&b. My husband and I were the only ones there that night and it was wonderfully quiet and relaxing. Forsyth Park is right across the street and provides a splendid walk to the river front. Breakfast was prepared on time and delicious!


lovely room

4.6 on April 06, 2007

March 07 This was our first bed and breakfast experience. We had the charming pink room shown. I visited Savannah on a mother-daughter trip with my 17 yr old daughter, and staying here was one of the highlights of our trip. Enjoyed the company of our hostess at breakfast.


The Confederate House Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $249
  • Reviews (26) 4.2
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9122349779
  • Toll free 1-8009757457

Visit Website »

View details

Top