Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
56 Reviews

Write A Review

A Marvelous Stay!

5 on September 07, 2011

My wife and I had an absolutely marvelous stay at Amethyst Inn. Rocky, Jane and Chemise are wonderful hosts. Their knowledge of the area is amazing. They were able to help us find places we wanted to explore and even provided maps. They gave us recommendations on where to eat (and where not to eat) and even made reservations for us one night. On the first night we decided to take a chance and eat at a restaurant that was not recommended and we now understand why. Needless to say we cherished their advice for the rest of the trip. The room was clean and well appointed. The food was delicious and it was so nice to be able to chat with Rocky and Jane while Jane was fixing breakfast. She even gave us a couple of recipes for us to try at home. We quickly became fast friends, talking for what seemed like hours on end. This is true southern charm! Some folks run their B&B like a business. Rocky and Jane run theirs like an extended family. What a wonderful concept. We look forward to coming back to Amethyst Inn and next time we hope to bring the rest of the family. Thanks for the memories, Jim & Carol.


A romantic little getaway tucked away on Gaston St

4.6 on June 04, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here while we were in town for a wedding. It was actually one of the last places with a room still available for the weekend we were there so we booked as fast as we could without reading up to much on it. We got really lucky. Jane and Rocky are extremely nice and accommodating and made the stay very comfortable. Breakfast was a very yummy casserole and there were snacks available anytime. If you don't mind staying a few blocks from the riverfront, the Amethyst Inn is a romantic and fun place. Highly recommended!


You will feel at home.

5 on May 03, 2011

The owners and staff will make you feel like you are staying with family. Rocky, Jane and Chemise are wonderful. It will satisfy your expectations whether you are staying for your anniversary or just for the weekend. Great experience.


Entire family loved it

4.6 on October 26, 2010

Our family was absolutely thrilled with our visit. Our daughter, (9) and son (13) can't stop talking about how much fun they had at the inn. We felt totally at home from the second we stepped into the front door. Jane and Rocky were gracious,attentive, and went out of their way to ensure that we totally enjoyed our Savannah experience. We look forward to our next visit. Ty and Diana Tomak


Come as guests, leave as friends!

5 on July 01, 2010

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding. We stayed two nights, and loved every minute of it. Jane and Rocky were absolutely the best, and just talking with them we felt as if we had known them our entire lives. Very helpful, very friendly, very professional. More than just making us feel welcome, they made us feel special. We were on a tight budget this trip and took the smallest room, but were very happy with it. No complaints at all. Loved the old Victorian home with all its warmth and charm. The food was fabulous too. We enjoyed meeting their daughter and friend, who were also made us feel right at home. And we loved Nick-cole, their beautiful dog who really loves people and warmed right up to us. Most of all, Jane and Rocky are simply the best hosts there are, anywhere. We would recommend the Amethyst Inn to anyone, and we will DEFINITELY stay there again. Simply the best. Curt and Heather Baker Naples, Florida


Wonderful, Warm and Welcoming!

5 on June 17, 2010

Everything about our stay was over and above. The inn was beautiful and cozy. The food was delicious, and we can't say enough about how fabulous Rocky and Jane were as our hosts! We definitely hope to get back in the future. We highly recommend this experience! Maureen and George


Great Vacation

5 on May 21, 2010

We were traveling from California - stopping at several states - I will tell you the Amethyst St. Inn was wonderful! Everything was great - the food Jake made was outstanding and Rocky and Sarah were just the cutest.


Dog Friendly

5 on March 11, 2010

What a great find! We just got in our car and headed to Savannah. We called all around, but no one would take our dog - English bulldog. At the Amethyst Inn, Jane was so friendly and nice. She is a great host and a great cook! :)


Magical Holidays

5 on January 05, 2010

The Inn is exquisite during the Holidays. The decorations and food make this Inn magical. Jane and Rocky are excellent host and the food is delicious. I wish I could have stayed longer.


Great Inn!

5 on January 02, 2010

After dining and staying at the Inn, I can say it was one of the best places we have traveled to. I will recommend it to all my friends and family. The food, rooms, town, and company were the best. Thank so much!


Great Reunion

5 on November 13, 2009

5 couples all met at the Amethyst Inn for 4 nights -- after woeking together for 40 years. We had a rgeat time -- Jane & Rocky & Chemise were fabulous! The food was outstanding! Ans their directions and suggestions were the best -- we will be back!


Great stay.great food

5 on November 06, 2009

Coming from Australia, we had a great stay, very relaxing, and what great food Jane makes. Jane & Rocky were very informative in making us reservations for restaurants & tours -- the inn is very beautiful! See you again! Thanks!


Wonderful Savannah B&B

4.6 on October 02, 2009

A lovely old Victorian. Good walking distance to the historic area. A great host and hostess. Wonderful breakfast and wine at 4:00 PM with hors d'hoevres.


SCAD School Visit

5 on September 23, 2009

It was so nice to see you again and thanks for all of your help-with the new year (school). Sorry we had to run out early but we know your breakfasts are great! I know we will be back! Thanks for helping Alex with her car and the dancing.


The view from London

4.0 on September 23, 2009

We had a very friendly stay whilst attending a wedding at the square nearby which in our view is the most appropriate of the 22 squares for weddings. With other guests from Australia we enjoyed many breakfast conversations and there was always an afternoon get together for more friendly debate, over wine and nibbles, which we attended when time allowed. The room was comfortable and clean, we had the Ivy suite which suited us well having family members visit for shorter periods. Overall a very nice visit.


SIMPLY WONDERFUL!

5 on August 31, 2009

Recently, my friend wed in the gazebo in Whitfield Square & had the wedding party and out of town relatives stay at the Amethyst Inn. What a great idea and what a beautiful Inn. The rooms look like something you'd see in a magazine and they're filled with gorgeous real antiques. Our hosts, Jane & Rocky Reed, could not have been nicer and Jane, a gourmet cook prepared meals & appetizers to die for. The cocktail party out by the pool (which is in a flower filled area)could not have set a better mood for the wedding. This Inn is the best!


the best

5 on July 27, 2009

this was the best B&B i have ever been to. They were extremly freindly; fun staff, very clean, great owners. I can't say enough on how great of an experience we had. The breakfasts and snacks were very good. I would stronly recommend this place to anyone. Me and my wife can't wait to go back.


Amethyst Inn

3.6 on February 18, 2009

The workers were very accommodating. The home was simple and sweetly reminiscent of the late 19th Century. We enjoyed our stay very much.


excellent quaint inn!

5 on February 12, 2009

I base this particular inn on experiences I have had at other B&Bs. The innkeepers were amazingly friendly and the accommodations amazing!


nice stay

3.2 on February 12, 2009

nice stay


great hospitality

4.6 on November 05, 2008

very helpful with the local knowledge. clean, comfortable room.


loved it!

3.6 on November 05, 2008

Friendly, helpful- the character of the home added to a Savannah vacation.


delightful

4.8 on November 03, 2008

Beautiful inn. full of antiques. food was great. Staff helpful and accommodating. I will be back.


great time

4.0 on October 31, 2008

wonderful place to stay


Amethyst Inn

5 on October 31, 2008

I was very impressed with the inn. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. It was furnished so nice and it was cozy. Great southern hospitality.


Relaxing Stay

4.2 on October 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed for a week. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. They welcomed and were terrific with our well behaved dachshund. The gernium suite is great if you're going to be visiting with friends because it has it's own sitting room. It's also convenient if you stay with your pet because the room is on the main level of the inn. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious each morning. Location is good too - you can easilly walk to Broughton Street and River Streets within 20-25 minutes if you feel like taking an easy pace.


Southern Hospitality

4.2 on October 19, 2008

This was only our second stay at a B & B and so we are quite new at this. Rocky and Jane and their friendly staff welcomed us as if we were visiting family. The service was warm and personal. The room was authentic down to the steps up to the antique bed. The breakfasts were deliciously southern. The overall feeling


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on October 10, 2008

The most wonderful stay at your Great Inn. We love it there!! We will be back next year, & will tell everyone about the Amethyst Inn. The breakfast was awesome & Pat & Chemise were also very helpful. Thanks


wonderful host and hostess

4.6 on September 22, 2008

We loved the location and decor of the Amethyst Inn. Jane and Rocky could not have been any more helpful or sweet. Their company was delightful but never overbearing. They are perfect in their roles. The breakfasts were delicious. We would return with no question.


Great Time

4.6 on August 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Amethyst Inn in May to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary. The location was great for walking to downtown Savannah. We enjoyed the breakfast time as we were able to socialize with other guests. This was not a place to be a snob. Enjoyed the friendlyness of the employees as well as the owners.


Fantastic Location and Inn

5 on August 05, 2008

Fantatic service, food. Location and rooms. Had a great visit. Thank you.


Beautiful B&B

4.0 on July 16, 2008

Had a great time. Thanks for everything Jane & Rocky.


Great Hospitality

3.8 on July 16, 2008

The Inn was beautiful and the owners were great. Very clean, and good breakfast.


AMETHYST INN

5 on June 30, 2008

Excellent. Felt like being at home. Can't say enough about Pat and Chenise. Sorry we did not meet Jane and Rocky. Will recommend Amethyst without reservations. Great stay.


Beautiful place to stay!

4.2 on June 24, 2008

The people were wonderful - so warm and friendly. They were more than willing to recommend their favorite restaurants and told us of some sights we might enjoy seeing while we were in town. We stayed in the Camelia suite. The room was beautiful - freshly remodeled, crisp linens, gorgeous decor. Breakfast was incredible, my only complaint is that there weren't any grits! The homemade cornbread was amazing though. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Savannah!


pleasent stay

4.2 on June 20, 2008

hosts were the best hosts one could ever expect. breakfasts were great- best home made grits and granola!stayed in both the rose room and the lantana room. like the lantana better


Charm & Comfort

5 on June 11, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Amethyst Inn in Savannah, a lovely historic home. Very comfortable and the food was great.


best place to rest

5 on June 09, 2008

this was one of the nicest places i have ever stayed in. the antiques and decor are beautiful and enhanced by Jane's talent. foos is great and everything is close by. but at the end of the day , after walking , it was about the nicest place to rest and recharge.


excellent experience

3.6 on June 09, 2008

food was great, people were great and the atmosphere was great. felt like family


nice place

4.2 on June 06, 2008

this was my first time at a b&b. after this experience, it will not be my last time. the people , staff, food, and everything was just great!


just great

4.2 on June 06, 2008

for my first time in a b&b it was great. just what i needed.


Amethyst Inn

3.4 on June 06, 2008

Jane & Rockey were so helpful telling us interesting things to do and good plans to eat. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable.


Amazing as always

5 on June 05, 2008

This is the fifth time we've stayed here and will not be the last.We got engaged here, love Rocky and Jane and feel like we have a second home at the Amethyst Inn.


402 EAST GASTON STREET

5 on June 05, 2008

Excellent home, friendly accommodations. Staff available for information needs. Breakfast family style, timely, really relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere.


What a gem!

5 on June 02, 2008

We had a lovely stay. The room, clean and spacious. The staff was attentive and kind. The homemade breakfast was delicious.


Smudge Does Savannah

5 on June 02, 2008

What a jewel of a place! Absolutely great welcome and food. Jane and Rocky were superb hosts with a wealth of information.


Amethyst Inn

4.0 on June 02, 2008

A lovely relaxing beautiful house, wonderfully helpful and welcoming staff - we couldn't have had a better introduction to beautiful Savannah.


May 2008

5 on May 30, 2008

Beautifully renovated rooms, great location-good service and great company.


AMETHYST INN

5 on May 22, 2008

It was very nice place to stay, nice people and we enjoy it very well.


AMETHYST

5 on May 22, 2008

Outstanding


AMETHYST INN

5 on May 22, 2008

The inn is one you always want to return to again and again. One feels at home there and the loving caring atmosphere is so great.


AMETHYST SOUTHERN GARDEN

4.0 on May 22, 2008

Great food, great new friends, great fun. No longer just a stop, soon to be a destination.


Southern Delight

5 on May 22, 2008

Wonderful breakfast. Host and hostess well informed about tours and restaurants. Nice wine and appetizers hour.


Great southern athmosphere

4.2 on May 10, 2008

Coming from Germany and living for a few months in the US we made trips to explore the hottest spots in Georgia, Alabama, Mississipi. Sarahs Garden was an outstanding experience in friendliness and service. Rocky and Jane are wonderful hosts, and it was a pleasure to be with them and the other guests, interesting peaople, with whom to chat during the apetizer-meetings in the living room belongs to our personal treasure chest. Nice rooms - ours was the smallest, but we felt fine with it, although next time we take a bigger one ;)) We always wolud prefer such a personal experience to those super luxurious b&bs, where you don't feel at home.


what a surprise

4.6 on January 15, 2008

what a great surprise on our first trip to savannah ... rocky and jane were wonderful ... we felt like family when we left .. cant wait to go back .. wont stay anywhere else ... they helped us plan our days and were full of info on savannah ..


Wonderful staff and owners

5 on January 13, 2008

Spent 5 days in October and loved every moment. Great care taken to serve the guests. Staff were very frindly, skilled and professional. The peaple and facility make for a very relaxing vacation in a beautiful city.


Amethyst Inn at Sarah's Garden Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $155 - $255
  • Reviews (56) 4.6
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9122347716
  • Mobile 1-9126040719
  • Mobile 1-9126040716
Top