Sylvan Valley Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.2
  • Service4.3
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Top notch

5 on September 20, 2012

Stayed at SVL last Wednesday and Thursday and could not ask for anything more. Everything was very clean, owners were very accomodating and the breakfast is dynamite. What i like the most was the feel of the lodge. It did not feel like your typical hotel or lodge. It was almost like being in a large home with multiple sitting areas (indoor and outdoor) and all of the furniture were items that you would find in a high end residence. If you are considering a couple different accomodations and this is one of them your search is over, you just found it.


Sylvan Valley Lodge Review

4.8 on August 11, 2012

We loved the Sylvan Valley Lodge. The rooms are spacious and clean. The innkeepers are very personable and love to share their knowledge of the history of the area. We loved the lodge and will definitely return. Helen, GA is 3 miles away and lovely.


Lovely bed & breakfast

4.2 on July 11, 2012

My daughter and I spent the last weekend in June 2012 at Sylvan Valley Lodge. She is vegan, so I emailed ahead of time to ask if they could accommodate her for breakfast. They assured me they could. They prepared a very tasty breakfast with soy milk for my daughter, and my "normal" breakfast was delicious too. The innkeepers were very nice and helpful. The location is great, with an easy drive to Nacoochee Valley and Sautee, as well as Helen. The property is a bit old, but the owners are working hard to update it as they can. We had a great time, and would definitely stay there again.


Lovely Lodge

4.4 on May 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here to get out of Atlanta for a weekend. We came to check out the local vineyards, and relax. This lodge exceeded our expectations. The keepers were very friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the wine tasting and cheese reception was wonderful. The only down fall was the landscaping. I would recommend this lodge, and will stay there again next time I visit the Helen area.


Very Disappointed

1.4 on November 09, 2011

My husband and I returned to the Sylvan Valley Lodge to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary the week of August 19, 2011. We had stayed there 3 or 4 years ago when the German Restaurant was still there. The cabin we stayed in was very out-dated and run-down. There were plastic flowers hanging on the door and over the banister that were dirty and broken, there was yard debris all over the once beautiful grounds, broken lights, gutters full of weeds (and even one had a tree growing out of it). The lighting in the cabin was horrible and there was nothing on TV...no news channels, not even local channels! The sheets on the bed were of such poor quality, they felt like they had sand on them. We were very dissatisfied with our stay and would not recommend this "so-called" lodge to anyone!

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry that this is not the German hotel you you previously visited. We have done all that we can to get Internet listings changed, but the old hotel name still directs to our web site. Finding out upon arrival that our lodge is no longer the German themed inn and restaurant you remembered must have set a disappointing mood for your entire stay. When the management changed and the hotel was rebranded in November of 2010, the grounds had been neglected for a while. We contacted a landscape company to come up with an overall plan and did minor maintenance while the plan was being created. In the three months since you have stayed with us, a good portion of the property's four acres has been re-landscaped including the area around the cabins. We provide Over 100 DirecTV channels including multiple news channels and HBO. Had we been informed of a problem with your television, we would have corrected the issue. We have staff on-site and available 24/7 who are happy to help. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We hope that you will try us again now that you are aware of the changes.


Great times, Great people, Great atmosphere

5 on December 30, 2010

I have stayed on and off at this inn for last few years and I have to say, it is bar none the best place to stay if you visiting this part of Georgia/Appalachians. The staff is exceptional, friendly, courteous and do their best to make you feel at home. The food is top notch, better than anywhere else you are going to get in this area. Everything about this place speaks of class and character, with none of the tourist trappings and cheap amenities you find in this area. Book your stay here, you will not be sorry!!


Girls trip

5 on November 05, 2010

My best friend and I went for a weekend. Staff was exceptional, food was exceptional.


2010 October 22-24

4.0 on November 01, 2010

Clean cabin; comfortable bed. No internet access, which turned into a good thing after withdrawal symptoms! Having eaten at the restaurant in the past, we expected German style food for dinner, but the menu had changed. The dinner was very good. The breakfasts were excellent (really recommend the specialty Benedict, though I do not remember the official name). Thanks for the opportunity to stay.


October Stay 2010

4.0 on October 28, 2010

Great water pressure for a cabin, very neat/clean; enjoyed the stay. Good food


Can't wait to come back to this charming little place next year

4.6 on October 27, 2010

I was a little nervous about staying at the Edelweiss because I read so many bad reviews about other Hotels & Inns in and around Helen, GA. The Edelweiss was lovely and definitely exceeded my expectations. Very quiet and comfortable and very clean. I did a bed bug check and the mattress was clean. I know, I know, I'm weird like that. I didn't get a chance to dine at the Edelweiss. I'm very disappointed about that because I've heard the food is outstanding. We've decided to make an annual trip to Helen and I will definitely stay here again.


Our second stay there

3.0 on October 10, 2010

We had stayed here a few years ago on a weekend night and loved it. That time we got a voucher for a full breakfast in the restaurant. This year we paid more for our stay and were disappointed that on weekdays breakfast consists of a croissant and a yogurt, given in a box the night before. The bed was still comfortable and we like the seclusion we felt, although the room was very warm and the air conditioner made a lot of noise.


our stay at sautee

3.6 on September 27, 2010

our stay was pleasant, but a little pricey.


Edelweiss Beautiful Place

4.2 on September 25, 2010

My wife and I stay here at least two or three times a year just to get away from the city. It is a beautiful place to stay! It is quiet and close to Helen if you want to go there to shop. We love the antiques. John and Ginevra are very nice, laid back people too.


Outstanding Visit

5 on September 23, 2010

We celebrated our 25th Wedding anniversary with a 4 night stay at this quaint little inn tucked away in the valley near Helen. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and the owner was quite helpful. Our room was clean and neat. We decided to try the Tapas menu from the onsite "Vines Restaurant" that is available on Wednesdays and Fridays. That was a wonderful decision. So good in fact, that we chose to eat it again on Friday. What an experience. It was all delicious and unique. We highly recommend it. We dined off the evening menu twice and the Onion Soup was superb, the main courses we selected ( ribeye, petite filet and the venison Streudel)were fabulous! We chose a streudel for dessert on night and the poached pear on the other night. Both were marvellous. The entire staff at the restaurant provided service that was exceptional. We even had a nice visit with the chef. The breakfasts provided each morning were very european and were a great way to start the day. The Sunday Brunch selections of Quiche Lorraine and Stuffed French Toast that we made were a great end to our stay. This inn and restaurant have provided my wife and I with many wonderful memories. Highly recommended for its atmosphere, location and service. You are centrally located as far as all of the sights of interest but you are away from the maddening crowds.


Labor Day Weekend Stay 09/10

3.8 on September 10, 2010

We stayed for labor day weekend for a wine festival visit. The inn is nice. The restaurant is excellent. Nice atmosphere outside - patio, garden, koi pond, path with wooden bridge over pond, gazebo, etc. Nice peaceful place to stay off the well beaten path of Helen.


Under Review

3.4 on September 09, 2010

The property needs some TLC, but with economic climate maybe difficult, although surroundings and gardens need a "gardener". Cabin accommodation needs attention to detail. Main building well laid out, and al fresco dining excellent. New Chef is excellent but do not expect Bavarian food - changing name to reflect food style changes. Good location for vineyards and Helen.


Lovely little romantic retreat for the wine country

4.2 on August 19, 2010

What a great place to stay for a romantic weekend. Located in Saute County, it is close to many N. Ga. wineries and to the Bavarian like town of Helen. They have a great menu for dinner, and Sunday Brunch is delicious. The rooms are well appointed in a victorian manner that each have their own bathrooms.


Just what I was looking for

4.0 on August 02, 2010

Loved the cottage and grounds as did my elementary-age kids. Loved even more that it was just out of Helen and not in the midst of all the traffic and people. Got an early start out the door in the morn and didn't have any traffic to keep us from getting to the river and waterpark. I definitely want to return and next time I want to try the restaurant as the menu looked great.


Going Back

4.0 on July 24, 2010

We ate here on a visit to Helen a few years ago. A local directed us to it for the best original food around, and she was right. We are going back in two weeks and here I am on the internet find the directions to go back. Some of the nicest people and the food, wll, the saying "to die for" comes to mind. It is truly a great place and I am so glad it is still in business. Thank you


3 night stay in June 2010

4.4 on July 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins and loved it! We had no complaints. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. The surroundings were very relaxing. It was close enough to enjoy the sights in Helen without being bothered by the crowds. We had several meals at The Vines restaurant and everything was very good, but a little expensive.


Restaurant is Supurb!!!

4.4 on December 28, 2009

Our stay started off wonderfully. We were graciously welcomed and shown our room. The room is slightly still decorated in the original 1980 decor (light fixtures, bathroom fixtures). However, a new four poster bed and TV Armoire brought the room up a few notches! We had a problem with hot water initially but that was quickly resolved as it was just the pilot light. Everyone on staff is warm, friendly and eager to make your stay wonderful. The food at the restaurant is simply DIVINE. We enjoyed every bite of our meal. The chef came out and greeted us and as we were celebrating an anniversary we were served with a "Vines" tradition, a sweet German Dessert and a poem. Truly delightful! The hotel accomodations are not the most spectacular we have visited however, the homey feel of this B&B outrank the best of the rest!


Amazing Food & Atmosphere

5 on August 20, 2009

My husband and I came to Helen, GA for the first time in August. We had remembered reading about The Vines at Edelweiss German Inn and decided to stop there for dinner. WOW! The food, service and atmosphere were all amazing! My husband had the Chef's special which was a blackened Salmon and I had the Grilled Salmon. Both of our dinners were cooked to perfection and tasted like we were spending twice as much as we did. The wait staff was very attentive, but never annoying. They have a very nice wine list of local and European wines. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the Helen GA area. We will definitely be repeat customers. W.R. from Florida


Best 4th of July Ever!!!!

4.4 on July 14, 2009

We came to Helen for the fourth of July weekend for a nice quiet weekend without our kids. The weekend was perfect! The service was great and the people were super friendly. We really loved the coffee machine! We never got to eat in the restuarant for dinner but we did eat the breakfast and the brunch. The food was outstanding! The french toast was a little slice of heaven! We will definitely be staying there again!!!! Thanks for such an awesome, amazing weekend!


RELAX AT THE INN

4.0 on June 21, 2009

WE STAYED AT THE INN, FOR OCTOBERFEST,2008, AFTER TRAVELING TO GERMANY MANY TIMES WE HAVE FOUND A LITTLE HEAVEN IN GA. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AND THE ROOMS VERY EUROPEAN. WE WILL VISIT AGAIN THIS YEAR..


Edelweiss German Inn Oct 2008

4.2 on October 12, 2008

We just returned from a two night stay at Edelweiss Inn. The rooms were extremely clean and nicely decorated. The dinner experience Satruday night was excellent. Be sure to make reservations in advance during the fall months. Visit the garden setting on the property and enjoy the sounds of rushing water and nature. My only suggestion would be that they install drapes that block out the lights from the parking lot. Our room was on the front side of the inn and was never dark enough for me to sleep well. Enjoyed the jetted tub and having computer access during our stay. Daily we received free brunch tickets as part of our package however due to our sightseeing plans, the 10:00 serving time did fit our schedule. The inn manager was extremely accomodating and packed us a sampling plate of some of their breakfast items to take down the road with us on the morning we departed.


great weekend getaway

4.6 on September 21, 2008

Very relaxing peaceful atmosphere. Extremely courteous staff. Nice grounds. Wife liked the large Jacuzzi for 2. The food in the restaurant downstairs was extremely good German dining. Great jumping off spot for the mountains or Helen. Felt like my mental picture of a European country hotel. Wife and I agreed we would stay there again.


Sylvan Valley Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $145 - $175
  • Reviews (26) 4.2
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7068657371

Visit Website »

View details

Top