Emma's Cottage House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfection

5 on September 17, 2013

I just returned home after three wonderful nights at Emma's, I stayed in room 402 in the cottage rooms and it was perfect. I had my seven month old with me and it was a dream to be able to put him down for naps and go into the main house and enjoy the company if Angie and Jimmy who are wonderful hosts. The beds are amazing and make you want to sleep in forever which is possible with my room being so quiet, one of my chief complaints at hotels, but not here. The coffee was waiting each early morning and they are so accommodating I will be sure to return again and again.


a Heavenly stay

5 on August 16, 2013

Upon entering this magical home, you are enveloped in the wonderful warmth and gracious hospitality of Angie and Jimmy. This beautiful Bed and Breakfast provided more than a bountiful breakfast; the proprietors invited us to share their magnificent home. They are more than welcoming and the attention to detail in every aspect of the decor and displays was breath-taking. We felt as if we had entered a "Castle" and I was the "Princess" for a day. Every luxury imaginable was provided; from the pristine room accommodations to the immaculate bathing area. The scents perfuming their museum-quality home were so enticing and filled us with happy memories of candles/fragrances shared and enjoyed in our past. The beautiful prints of the draperies and the fabrics throughout their gorgeous, fabulous home reminded us of the designs we had seen in the amazing rooms of the Carnegie mansion at Plum Orchard on Cumberland Island. We were so blessed to have found such a kind and caring couple to spend such an extremely memorable stay with as we were celebrating our re-newal of our wedding vows and my husband's birthday!!!! We truly cannot possibly thank them enough for giving us some more incredible memories to cherish. If you would like to experience such a fantastic stay; we give Emma's Bed and Breakfast the highest accolades available and encourage you to enjoy all the amenities available at their wonderful abode!! Many thanks, Adrienne and Bryan


Hospitality That Spoils

5 on August 11, 2013

This place is right out of Southern Living. Immaculately decorated. Pillow top beds--so comfortable, breakfasts gourmet. Angie and Jimmy are like old friends without being nosey. Hospitality at its Southern best. The perfect place for us. Stanley and Anita


Celebrate Your Anniversary by Staying at Emma's

5 on August 05, 2013

On our 10th year anniversary, we stayed at Emma's Bed and Breakfast in St. Mary's, and we highly recommend it. Upon arrival, the Innkeeper's hospitality made us feel welcome and at home. The house was beautifully decorated, and the room was very relaxing after a day at Cumberland Island and the beach. There was also enough room for our 7 month baby girl to sleep very comfortably. Flowering bushes, such as roses and hibiscus, and large oaks and palm trees surround the property creating beautiful scenery. The breakfast served each morning was amazingly delicious. From Emma's, we enjoyed walking to the River and eating at the restaurants down town. If you're wondering where to stay, take our advice and choose Emma's Bed and Breakfast. -Eric & Malissa


Beautiful and Friendly!

4.8 on June 10, 2013

My family and a few other families stayed at Emma's last weekend, and we were very impressed. The house felt warm and inviting (actually comfortably cool on a warm weekend!) as soon as we walked in. From Angie's hospitality to the comfortable rooms, from the gardens outside to the abundance of curios and nick-hacks inside, and from Jimmy's help to the good food that was available, our stay felt too short! I would love to go back.


First B&B experience was great!

4.8 on April 06, 2013

We stayed in our first B&B at Emmas for a couple of nights during our recent visit to St. Mary's and Cumberland Island. Angie and Jimmy were wonderful hosts. The food was delicious, the rooms quite large, and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. Located near the waterfront, it's a great place from which to bike around the town.


Highly recommend this B&B!

5 on April 05, 2013

Angie and family show true hospitality. The property is beautiful inside and outside! Breakfast was delicious. Great place to visit and enjoy St. Marys, Cumberland Island, and local restaurants. The Market in town has all that you may want for a day trip to the island - plus much more. This was one of the nicest B&B's we've stayed in over the years. The owners are wonderful people! Thanks for sharing your home and allowing us to visit with you!


Love it!

5 on March 28, 2013

So quaint, peaceful & lovely. I would stay there again & again. A delightful get away for peace & quiet. The presentation of breakfast was impressive & rocking on the front porch looking over the nicely kept grounds was a favorite.


Southern Hospitality At It's Best

5 on October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Emma's for a couple of nights and could not have had a better experience. Angie and Jimmy were like old friends. The room was great and the food was delicious! What more could you ask for?


Wonderful place for a family getaway

4.6 on September 26, 2012

We recently stayed at Emmas- 19 or us! and had a wonderful experience. We visited several of the other B&B's in St. Mary's before choosing Emmas. From the beautiful grounds to the details in the house, everything is excellent! The owners are extremely attentive to their guests. We felt as if we were welcome guests in a friend's home. It is close to everything, has great parking and yet you can't hear all the music and loud noises that were evident in the other B&B's closer to the restaurant and bar area of St. Mary's. I highly recommend this B&B.


Warmth and Southern hospitality. A pleasure!

5 on September 01, 2012

We enjoyed so much our recent stay at Emma's B&B. Our hosts were gracious and welcoming. The breakfasts were delicious as well as a delight to behold. Our room was comfortable and spacious. It felt like home. The house and antiques are lovely.


Best one in the area

4.4 on July 23, 2012

My wife & I chose Emma's for our first trip to St Mary's and Cumberland Island, celebrating our wedding anniversary there. We had looked at the other B&B's in this area and chose this one after our conversations with the hosts. What an absolutely wonderful choice! Besides the laid-back feel and privacy provided by the additional well-landscaped acreage that the 'in-town' B&B's did not afford, we were enormously pleased with every apsect of this place-- especially the warm hospitality of our hosts. Choose St Marys and Cumberland Island if you really want a relaxing weekend 'away from it all'. Of course there are things to do and great seafood to eat nearby, but it will not suit you if you like going to malls on vacation! More of a place to sit on a big front porch, read a book, ride a bike around the small town or walk along miles of beach with wild horses as your companions. Yeah, it's just that....


Easy Access, Yet Peaceful Location

4.8 on July 23, 2012

This B&B is located within easy walking distance of the shops and shoreline, yet is in a peaceful setting that is away from the bustle of main street. Also, this B&B is a short and simple drive to and from King's Bay Submarine Base. We were visiting a submariner while staying at Emma's B&B and will again do so if we return to this area! The Innkeepers are gracious. We particularly enjoyed conversation with them in this beautiful and comfortable home.


Like Family

5 on July 18, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Emma's for about 8 Years. We have not missed a year. We are always treated like family. Perfect accomadations and we alwys recieve the privacy we expect. Thank you Angie and Ansley. Chris and Merri


Wonderful Experience!!!

5 on July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and absolutely loved it. Great breakfast, beautiful room and wonderful hosts. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast, it's location to the downtown area is so convenient.


Superior B&B

5 on June 17, 2012

The place is tastefully decorated and located in a lovely area. The breakfast served is beyond what we expected. Highly recommend.


The Best Vacation EVER!!

5 on April 18, 2012

I cannot emphasize enough how much these accommodations felt like "getting away" but with the added comforts of home! Jimmy and Angie were gracious and informative, and the breakfasts and free bike rentals added to the simple pleasures of spending time well. St. Marys is the perfect getaway for anyone wanting to experience small-town hospitality at its finest, and I recommend Emma's Bed and Breakfast as the most peaceful, fragrant, and welcoming place of solitude and comfort. Thank you so much Jimmy and Angie Mock!


Impeccably clean and beautiful!

5 on April 03, 2012

We highly recommend Emma's Bed and Breakfast. The place is impeccably clean and beautiful. The host, Jimmy & Angie are most gracious and have thought of every detail. St. Marys is a great place to vacation with easy access to Cumberland Island, Okefenokee Swamp and Fernandina Beach. Jack & Betty Waters


Emma's is a great place to stay.

5 on March 11, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a week at Emma's while exploring the southern coast of Georgia. Angie and Jimmy were great hosts and made up feel very welcome. They also us great insiders information about the area. We wanted a place that was quiet and secluded while having easy access to all that the area has to offer. Emma's was perfect for that. We did day trips down to St. Augustine over toCumberland Island and the Okefenokee and up to Jekyll and St. Simon Islands. At the end of the day we left the crowds behind returning to St. Marys and Emma's. John & Barb Woodbury, MN


Perfect Getaway!

5 on February 12, 2012

Ran away to this lovely B&B nestled off the main street... the grounds are delightful as are the owners, Angie & Jimmy, friendly Southern hospitality! LOVED the room I stayed in... THE most comfortable chairs to read or lounge in! Breakfast was heavenly with french toast smothered in wonderfully sweet berries of the season!! Enjoyed staying here, very peaceful, lovely guests, enjoyed bicycling around & shopping in St. Marys! Will definitely come back to this B&B!! :-)


Home on the Road

4.6 on December 04, 2011

We fell in love with this homey place, the good food, but especialy the owners who treated us like family. It was great to see happy dogs we could love, as we always miss our animals when we travel. We look forward to returning again.


WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!

5 on October 09, 2011

We had a great time at Emma's. Angie and Jimmy were marvelous! Warm, friendly--true old-fashioned Southern hospitality. They really made us feel welcome. The Inn was immaculate, the food was first rate and served with style and panache. We liked it so much, we stayed for 5 nights. ST Marys is a peaceful little village--we rode around on the bicycles they provided, watched the sunsets from the long boardwalk out into the marsh, and rode the ferry (a minute away) to Cumberland Island (where the wild horses are) for a day. We used the inn as a base camp to explore St Simons, Jekyll Island, and Fernandina Beach. We've already reserved the same room again for next year. My wife especially liked the bath products provided--so much so that she bought a supply of each from Angie's little "store"--apparently we aren't the only ones who liked them that much.


Emma Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this marvelous Bed and Breakfast Friday night to Monday morning. It was our Birthday weekend. Ms. Angie and Mr. Jimmy treated us like family. We arrived late (10 pm), but they had someone waiting up for us. Each morning, we were greeted with the best homemade breakfast and the warmest conversation. It was our first time going away together and the Emma made it a memorable one. I plan on doing this every year for my birthday, now. The rooms are so big!! Cumberland Island was great..I highly recommend the Emma to anyone looking for a getaway..don't forget to try the English muffins with orange marmalade..Enjoy!


Cleanest Bed & Breakfast ever

5 on August 10, 2011

Recently stayed at Emma's as a quick weekend getaway. It was GREAT. The house is immaculate and beautifully decorated. It is the CLEANEST place I have ever been too, there wasn't even dust on the window sills! The back patio is great for relaxing. Very quiet and peaceful. B&B has bikes you can borrow which was a nice addition, we didn't drive anywhere the entire weekend. Innkeepers were great, food was good. Had fresh cupcakes waiting for us upon our arrival (and they were AMAZING!) I would definitely recommend this to anyone, we will for sure be back!


Calm and Restful

5 on June 01, 2011

We wanted a quiet weekend away, I wanted to walk the late 1700 to present beautiful cemetery within walking distance of Emmas. We wanted a great sea food meal at Langs and a wonderful lunch at the Riverside Cafe. I wanted to browse that wonderful shop ( The Golden Pineapple) and the shops of local artists. We did it all! What a great weekend.


Wonderful getaway!

4.8 on May 11, 2011

My husband and I spent an extended weekend in St. Mary's and stayed at Emma's. The weekend could not have been more romantic and wonderful in most part due to Emma's. Angie, Jim, Ansley and Paul are all fantastic. Everyone is welcoming, warm and helpful. They are very knowledgeable about the area as they are from St. Mary's. Angie makes an amazing breakfast. You definitely don't go hungry at Emma's. One of the things that my husband and I really enjoyed was the small touches that the family makes available to the guests. There are bikes to ride around town, there are always cold drinks and wine in the fridge to have at your convenience and Angie will pack picnic lunches for you as well. My husband arranged to have chocolate covered strawberries in the room waiting for us that were homemade by Angie and her granddaughter(can I just say..delicious!). If you are looking for a wonderful getaway, St. Mary's is stuck in time with good restaurants, beautiful parks, Cumberland Island and a gem of a B & B called Emma's. Thank you to Angie, Jim and your family for making our stay so special. We can't wait to return. Kim and Gary Koehler


Rest for weary travelers!

4.0 on June 29, 2010

My teenage daughter and I stayed at Emma's after spending two nights camping on Cumberland Island, a short boat trip from St. Mary's. We were greeted by Angie, the owner, who could not have been nicer and more accomodating. Our room was a charming suite on the second floor with it's own entrance and deck. The lush fabrics, tasteful furnishings, and quality linens were exactly what we needed after being out in the heat of an island campground. We truly appreciated the homey, relaxed atmosphere and the excellent quality of the accomodations and wonderful breakfast the next morning. This is one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever visited, and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the St. Mary's area.


The BEST B&B I have visited

5 on March 17, 2010

Great room, Great food, Great host....Just a great place to stay.


valentine honeymoon

4.8 on February 25, 2010

This was our fist bed and breakfast experience and i was delighted with the southern hospitalty,historic feeling, charming decor and wonderful breakfast this place has. We stayed at a room that had the heart jacuzzi. We feel in love with the place and with each other all over again. My thanks go out to Angie and her Family for all the hard work for making this such a special place. We look forward to many anniversaries coming back to Emma's. Sincerely, Carrie and Paul Tuohy


My most fulfilling stay in a B&B

5 on January 12, 2010

Not only is the House lovely, kept with warmth, style and attention for every detail; not only are the rooms nifty, cozy, spotless and really homey; not only the surroundings are great and totally peaceful and calm (silent night); not only is the dining delightful in a beautiful dining or living room... but the Innkeepers, as a family, are the most welcoming, kind and generous people one can ever hope to meet. There was value and customer-oriented care in every single aspect of our stay. We did not want to leave, so we extended our stay! Thank you so much Angie, Ansley and Jim. It was really wonderful meeting and being with you. Veronique and Christine


Wonderful place!

4.4 on January 11, 2010

My sister and I loved being at Emma's. We were treated like family and felt absolutely at home, in the presence of caring, honest and warm people. We met many family members and liked them all. Everything was made so that we would be comfortable and we were also offered great deals which encouraged us to play twice as long as originally planned. What a treat it was. Thank you! Christine and Veronique


It won't be long and we will be back at Emma's!

5 on January 11, 2010

Tucked just off of the main street in St. Marys Georgia sits a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Emma's was amazing! I have stayed at bed and breakfasts' before and this one goes above and beyond what I have ever experienced. From the gracious innkeepers to the lovely decorated home...it was top-notch! Everyone was very helpful and knowledgeable with all of our "tourist questions"! The breakfast was amazing. I wish I could have someone prepare such a delicious meal for me everyday. I stayed at Emma's with my husband and he keeps telling everyone that "it won't be long and we will be back at Emma's!"


Nice, but some issues

2.6 on December 29, 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend and her family recently. The bed and breakfast is very quaint and the innkeeper was patient while we looked at all of our reserved rooms. Unfortunately, the heat in one of our rooms was not working. In spite of an attempt by the innkeeper to fix it, the heat never really came on, which made for an uncomfortable night. One of the other rooms appeared to have two beds in the photo we saw on the website, but turned out to have only bed in a loft. Also, even though it was not an issue in the rooms that we had, we did look at the honeymoon suite and there was a strange smell. We were glad that we didn't reserve that room. Therefore, the inn was not really worth the price, but the people there were nice and the rooms we stayed in were clean and well decorated. Overall, I give it a score of about 2.5/5.

Innkeeper Response
Room 301 is the guest room being referred to with the heat issue. The room is on the 3rd floor of the main house and is heated and cooled by the same central heat and air unit as the 2nd floor. Since the thermostat is on the 2nd floor, room 301 also has its own personal window unit that the guest can control themselves. We checked the unit today and it is heating properly. Room 403 (located in the cottage building)is the loft bedroom being mentioned. In the photo and the description on our website, it shows a love-seat/sofa downstairs and the bed above. Nowhere in the photo or description does it state or show multiple beds. This is out smallest room therefor our least expensive room. Our honeymoon suite, also located in the cottage building, was the other room commented on. The room had not been rented in several weeks due to our slow season. In an effort to conserve energy in this poor economy, the heat/air had been turned off. We make a point to check our rooms that are rented each day and turn the air on before our guests arrival so that this should not be a problem. Per the guest request upon arrival, they were shown this room and the room had not been prepared in advance. We are a true Bed and Breakfast. The original home was built for a private residence so some rooms are not as traditional as others. We make sure when we take reservations that we explain our more "non traditional" rooms perfectly. We would rather someone know exactly what they are reserving up front than for them to arrive and be unhappy. We did check back on this reviewers paperwork to verify that the loft room and attic room were described accurately. The reservation sheet had been initialed that the rooms were explained.


Saved by Emma's B&B

5 on May 29, 2009

For years I have wanted to visit Cumberland Island and finally my husband and I made arrangements to spend a night in St. Marys and visit Cumberland the next day. We booked a room at the Riverview Hotel since it was inexpensive and right across the street from the ferry dock. The hotel was appalling! I consulted my GPS and called Emma's. Rita immediately accomodated us. Emma's is charming but completely updated and clean. Rita and Natalie were very friendly and made sure we were comfortable. Angie and Jimmy served a wonderful breakfast. The have beautifully restored Emma's and offer a peaceful retreat. Thanks so much for rescuing us! We love your B&B and wish you much continued success!!! Patsy and Jim, Columbus, Ohio


Honeymoon stay

5 on March 13, 2009

My wife and I spent most of our honeymoon in St. Marys. We went there to do some hiking and camping on Cumberland Island. We stayed at Emma's the night before our trip to Cumberland and the two nights following our trip. It was a great place to stay and we would recomend it to anyone. It has a great location, close to a lot of places in St. Marys. They have bikes that you can ride around town on. And the B&B itself is a fun place to relax and enjoy yourself. Like Emma's we recomend going to Cumberland Island and taking a trip with Up the Creek Xpeditions.


Better than we had expected

5 on June 08, 2008

This is a great place to get away! Within walking distance of everything in town. A home away from home atmosphere. We highly recommmend your stay in St. Mary's to be at Emma's B & B :)


"A Little Slice of Heaven"

5 on October 14, 2007

If your looking for that "perfect" weekend get-away, look no further than Emma's Bed and Breakfast in, St. Marys, Georgia. My husband and I booked a two night stay October 8th & 9th, 2007. When we arrived, we were impressed with the location. We loved the fact that it was tucked away on a quiet side street, off of the main drag. Although Emma's is off of the main street, it is easily within walking distance to all of the restaurants, shops, park, etc. We stayed in the main house in the king-sized suite. It was very clean and comfortable. In the evenings, we enjoyed sitting in the library, reading, listening to music, and relaxing. In the morning, it was always nice to wake up to Angie greeting us and eating the delicious breakfasts that she prepares. Fresh strawberries with whipped cream, ham, hot biscuits with orange marmalade, apple juice, and coffee is an example of the care that Angie takes to prepare the morning meal. After a day of sightseeing on Cumberland Island, we were glad to have such a wonderful place to come back to. We truely felt at home. Thanks, Angie, Jimmy, and all of the family for making our stay at Emma's unique! Sincerely, Celeste & Blair Crosby Tallahassee, Florida


Wonderful Southern Hospitality!

5 on September 14, 2007

This elegant,low-country inn is the epitome of Southern hospitality! The owners,Angie and Jimmy have made their inn warm, friendly, and home-like with lots of space for privacy. We have stayed 4 times and are constantlly impressed with Emma's. From the welcoming rocking chairs to the beautifully furnished rooms this inn is excellent! The breakfast is always delightfully delicious and Angie and Ansley always make the meal a wonderful presentation. We have stayed in different rooms each time and have found each room beautiul and spotless. Two large sitting areas downstairs as well as the front and back porch make for plenty of rooms for visiting. (Breakfast can be eaten alone or with other guest) Easy walk to resturants and water front. Can't wait to return with friends.


Best place to stay in St. Marys

5 on September 11, 2007

I've stayed at other bandbs in St. Marys, but none compare to Emmas. It's immaculately clean, room are beautiful, everyone is so friendly and the food delicious. The perfect place for a getaway.


First anniversary

5 on May 07, 2007

My husband and I stayed here, it was our first anniversary and first B&B experience. It is going to be hard to beat! Emma's was perfect! It was very close to town but also tucked away a bit- the grounds were gorgeous, our room was adorable (we had room 401- with the heart shaped jacuzzi tub). It overlooked the beautiful forest and was very private. Angie, Ansley and Jimmy were wonderful...very accomodating. Food was excellent! We will stay here again!


Emma's Cottage House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $149
  • Reviews (40) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9128824199
  • Fax 1-9128823689
  • Toll free 1-8777495974
Top