1842 Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
155 Reviews

Write A Review

Charming!

5 on August 04, 2014

Lovely hotel where we wereade to feel like family. We high recommend this hotel. Excellent hotel, wonderful staff, delicious home cooked breakfast, all around fabulous. Must stay! We will be back.


Outstanding experience

5 on July 29, 2014

We stayed at the inn as it was halfway to our destination. We like B&B stays so thought we would try it. It was outstanding. Rooms were perfect and represented a bygone era that we enjoy. Breakfast casserole was perfect. EJ and Eileen (Spelling?) were extremely helpful and I really appreciate them. I highly recommend the 1842 Inn.


FABULOUS EXPERIENCE

5 on July 28, 2014

From the moment of our arrival the service we received was fantastic. Canapes in the parlour, a fresh pot of coffee and advice about restaurant choices were forthcoming minutes after checking in. Our room in the main house was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Indeed the whole place was immaculate. Breakfast in the courtyard was excellent. Gorgeous planting created an oasis which provided the perfect spot for the first meal of the day. We spent one evening sitting on the veranda just taking in the ambiance and watching the world go by. Idyllic. The novelty of a set of steps to get into bed was something else that made this stay stand out. The staff were incredible. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and every service was offered with a smile and willingness. The house itself is wonderful but it is the pride taken by the staff in offering a first rate service that makes a stay in this Inn such a fantastic experience. Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main house to enjoy the full experience of life in the 'big house'.


Our Favorite

4.6 on July 22, 2014

We went while engaged and returned for our anniversary. It is lovely, peaceful and warmhearted. We especailly love the flowers!


Nice Change of Pace!

4.8 on July 03, 2014

From the staff to the room to the breakfast, this place sets the standard for all to follow in Macon! Step back in time and come stay at this wonderful in! Thank you for making my Anniversary so special.


Simply wonderful.

4.8 on June 23, 2014

Simply wonderful from start to finish. Comfortable room, friendly and professional staff, delicious homemade canapés and a tasty breakfast prepared to order served where and when we chose. Sitting on the porch with a glass of wine at the end of the day was very relaxing. I highly recommend this Inn.


Heaven in Macon

5 on May 20, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous. Could have listened to Joanne all night, a great host and we will go there again.


Southern Charm

5 on May 20, 2014

This is the only place we stay in Macon when we come in town for various Allman Brothers related activities. The warm greetings from EJ, Antonio, and Joanne set the tone from the start. They are they whenever we ask for anything and they know so much about the city and surroundings. Our favorite is to have a late day drink and kick back in the dining room. We will be back in a this summer.


1842 Inn Macon, GA

5 on May 20, 2014

my husband and I spent one night at the Inn, it is a beautiful Inn, nicely appointed, the staff greets you like they have known you all along, helpful in guiding you around the town. They put out a nice spread of nibbles for cocktail hour and breakfast is one of the best!! I highly recommend the Inn to anyone visiting the Macon area., you won't be disappointed.


Beautiful historic home

5 on May 17, 2014

We had a wonderful evening and a nice breakfast in the morning.


Eloquent and Charming

5 on May 08, 2014

We come to Macon for many of the Allman Brother related events at The Big House. This is the only place we will stay. Just wonderful and the folks that work there are so very kind. EJ, Joanne, Antonio, you are the best. We will be back soon!


Back in Time

4.6 on May 03, 2014

A great B&B in a great neighborhood


Lovely, historic and welcoming

3.2 on April 30, 2014

The staff of very friendly and will take care of you well. We stayed in the portion that was another historic house moved to the site. The building and our room were very nice. My only issue was the en suite bath did not match the level of the rest of the Inn.


Well Kept Secret!

5 on April 29, 2014

The 1842 Inn is like a well kept secret. Excellent service, beautiful rooms packed with history, Excellent food. Wonderful break from the typical hotel. Will never stay anywhere else in Macon!


Wonderful place to stay!!

5 on April 26, 2014

Wonderful place to stay!! Great ambiance, great food, the best!


1st visit

4.6 on April 24, 2014

we very much enjoyed our stay at the 1842 Inn, although it was too short! I have wanted to stay there for about 15 years and finally got the chance. The staff were very attentive. We were the only guests not with a wedding party staying there at the same time, and they made sure we were taken care of also. I will definitely come back soon!


When traveling to Macon, Ga., don't miss the 1842 Inn.

4.6 on April 18, 2014

The staff at the 1842 Inn pampered us with cheerful service, thoughtful attention to detail and delicious breakfasts. The Inn's rooms were beaufifully apppointed, with comfy four poster beds, thick, soft towels, and warm momogrammed robes. For a more detailed review, go to www.mavierecommence.blogspot.com


Pleasant surprise

5 on April 07, 2014

Wonderful spot. In town mansion restored to its original splendor. Beautiful and the staff is amazing.


Oasis of elegance

5 on April 05, 2014

We loved everything about the 1842 Inn. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The inn's public rooms were lovely and comfortable. The gracious late-afternoon happy hour with wine and house-prepared hors d'oeuvres made us feel welcome and coddled. We appreciated the staff's attentiveness, the Southern breakfast and the inn's setting on a quiet street of other classic homes.


"Epitome of Southern Hospitality"

5 on April 04, 2014

Although we only stayed one night, it was marvelous! We arrived at 4:00pm and had just one hour before we had to leave to meet friends for dinner. When I expressed our sorrow concerning missing the hors'd'oeuvres normally served at 5:30, JoAnne (front desk) said she would serve them at 5:00 so we would not miss the experience. Upon our return that night I climbed into bed and OHHH! I wanted to get back out of bed, lift the sheets to see what make the mattress was! It was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! Although the weather in the morning was a bit too chilly to have breakfast in the courtyard, it also was wonderful! We look forward to returning for an extended stay.


Lovely Inn but in need of some updating

3.0 on April 03, 2014

Lovely home and wonderful, caring staff members. Our room needed updating. The decor was 70's or 80's feeling and the room was in need of a fresh coat of paint.


1842 Inn stay

5 on March 29, 2014

Perfect weekend get a way in a lovely setting for the Cherry Blossom Festival.


On the way

3.0 on March 14, 2014

Nice old Inn with enough remodeling to be very comfortable


Wonderful place

4.6 on March 03, 2014

Great place, wonderful decorated rooms, fantastic service och very good location


New Year's Eve 2013 Night

4.4 on January 16, 2014

We chose to stay here because of it's close location to the Cherry Blossom Drop celebration. We were able to walk to the festivities from the inn. When we arrived, we were cheerfully greeted. The common space was still decked out with holiday decorations, and we were able to enjoy some of the free hor d'oeurvres while relaxing in front of the fireplace. The room we stayed in was very clean and charming. All of the employees of the hotel we met greeted us cheerfully and we really got the feeling they were trying to make our stay as nice as possible. The breakfast included in the room rate was also very good. We chose to have it delivered to the room, which was a fantastic experience! If we ever need to stay in Macon again, we'll definitely be going back to the 1842 Inn!


Southern Charm!!!

5 on January 05, 2014

Upon arriving at the 1842 Inn in Macon we were immediately taken by the inn's presentation both inside and out. All of the Staff ,furnishings were of such unique quality that we were completely taken back to the days of service and details of making everyone welcome that the south is so known for. EJ, George, Keith, Julie, and both Gloria took care of us with absolute grace and attention to our every need and request. We highly recommend the 1842 Inn to anyone liking for a unique B and B experience. The Breakfast was very good and tasty. Then at afternoon before dinner the hour d'oeuvres and drinks was very nice. We had a nice time and very relaxed days for our stay. Our room that we stayed in was the mercer room and it was very nice and big.


Beyond beautiful!

5 on December 25, 2013

The 1842 Inn in Macon exceeded our expectations. What a beautiful inn and the staff was excellent - very professional, courteous, and friendly. We will definitely stay at the 1842 Inn on our next trip through Macon.


Steady Eddie

4.4 on December 14, 2013

Always reliably comfy and top notch


Wonderful Stopover

4.4 on December 04, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Ft. Lauderdale from Springfield, IL. I only wish we could have arrived a few hours earlier to take advantage of the beauty of the Inn. The staff were very accomodating with whatever we needed. The breakfast was delicious. If the opportunity arises that I am able to make it back to Macon - I will stay there again. The price of the stay was a little high, but when you factor in the breakfast it wasn't too bad.


BamaTex

5 on November 18, 2013

A special evening to celebrate my wife's birthday, we were totally enthralled with this lovely Inn. It was quiet, clean and the staff was exceptionally accommodating. Our room was large and beautifully furnished and decorated. The amenities were high quality soaps/lotions, etc. Finger foods in the parlor (with a cash bar) were delightful for the evening and the full southern breakfast the next morning was an experience for the taste buds. We will return and highly recommend this for any get-away.


Really enjoyed it

4.6 on November 15, 2013

The house is very beautiful. Every detail is well managed. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is great. it's a very enjoyable place to stay.


Weekend get away

4.6 on November 09, 2013

Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable about local information. We will be back...


1842 Inn

3.6 on October 29, 2013

Beautiful house, but the bedroom we had was very dark. Canapes served in the evening with a cash bar. Coffee and soft drinks complimentary. Breakfast limited choice but well prepared. Staff very helpful. Unfortunately we stayed on a Sunday and nothing was open except two burger type restaurants and town appeared rather run down.


I want to go back!

4.8 on October 26, 2013

The room was beautiful and clean. The staff was very kind and helpful. Just to sit on the front porch was amazing! The food was wonderful and I really want to go back very soon.


Very enjoyable stay

5 on October 21, 2013

First experience of one of the Inns - only a single night's stay but we'd have been only too pleased to be here longer. A comfortable and interesting room in a pleasant location with attention to detail throughout.


Charming B&B

3.2 on October 13, 2013

Although pricy, the hotel was very charming and the room was fantastic. The whole place was as we could have expected back in the 19 th century. Quiet neighborhood and ver close to Mercer University. Breakfast was very good also. Friendly assitance from the staff.


A Gem in MACON

4.6 on October 07, 2013

sTAYED ONE NIGHT AND WOULD GO BACK AGAIN. WE WERE UPGRADED TO A ROOM IN THE MAIN HOUSE AND NO INCREASE IN PRICE. COCKTAIL HOUR WAS DELIGHTFUL AND FILLING ENOUGH THAT WE JUST HAD A LIGHT DINNER. BREAKFAST WAS SO GOOD I ASKED FOR THE RECIPE. STAFF WAS WARM AND FRIENDLY. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE 1842 INN.


Terrific atmosphere

4.4 on October 07, 2013

Highly recommended B&B in good location


Historic Old Macon

4.4 on September 30, 2013

Always love staying at the 1842. Friendly, beautiful, luxurious. A delight.


Mercer Parents Love this Inn!

4.8 on September 26, 2013

An excellent experience. Friendly and caring staff, a beautiful inn and fabulous breakfast!


A special Inn

5 on September 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the 1842 inn while in Macon. The room, the service were outstanding. We enjoyed the excellent breakfast in the courtyard and the evening reception was very nice. The staff is very helpful and friendly.


Historic.

4.0 on September 18, 2013

Having never visited Macon before I was excited to see all the historic houses and felt very much at home at the 1842. The roominess, location, hosptitality and comfort were exceptional. I loved the porch with its peace and quiet on a Saturday morning. I will return to this B&B.


Macon Gem

4.0 on September 12, 2013

Stayed at 1842 Inn this August. If you travel a lot and like spending a night at place that allows you to sleep well, this is your place. Large rooms and lots of privacy. Very cozy. Would highly recommend this fine B & B if traveling thru Macon.


1842

4.0 on September 07, 2013

Wish we could have spent more time at the Inn. Missed hospitality because of ootball game. Excellent breakfast brought to our room, even tho we left card out past the deadline. Love this place.


The review

5 on August 30, 2013

Absolutely beautiful with warm welcoming hosts and delicious food. Such relaxing atmosphere and the bed was a little slice of Heaven. We can't wait until our next trip to Macon so we can stay at the 1842 Inn once again.


nice stay in 1842 Inn

4.4 on August 21, 2013

We like the house, the breakfast and the situation in college street


If I was dreaming

4.6 on August 14, 2013

Wonderful service


All expectations met and exceeded

5 on August 14, 2013

Never have I stayed at an Inn where I felt totally at home from arrival to departure. Everyone from Gloria who greeted us with a smiling face upon arrival to Joanne giving a Southern hug upon leaving, wonderful experience! John - San Francisco


Macon B&B

4.0 on August 14, 2013

Elegant and quaint; superior customer service


Visitors from Scotland

4.4 on August 10, 2013

We chose this holiday because it had been advertised in the Country Living magazine. It was like stepping back in time. The hotel was very tastefully decorated and the hospitality certainly reflected the reputation of the deep South !


Friendly, very welcoming

3.0 on July 26, 2013

We were welcomed in a very friendly way, felt us comfortable immediately and we would recommend a stay at this inn without hesitation, also as a family


Wedding Night Stay

4.8 on July 25, 2013

I stayed in the Mercer Room the night of my wedding. It was a very very nice room, with a huge comfy bed. My husband and I had a wonderful time, and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in bed! I am so pleased we chose 1842 to spend that special night. It was perfect!


Always a special treat!

4.8 on July 06, 2013

It is always a special treat to spend a night or two at the 1842 Inn. It's a wonderful place to relax and enjoy one's surroundings.


Great little night in Maconga

5 on July 03, 2013

We booked our stay online and somehow managed to book it for the day BEFORE we actually intended to arrive. When I called the day of our intended arrival to update the staff about our check-in time, they were surprised, as they had expected us the night before. Luckily, our room was still available and they made the change with no drama. Whew! We arrived in the early evening, and the host was lovely. She pointed us to the complimentary snacks and beverages and led us to our room. We had a garden room with a private entrance, and it was nicely done. Well decorated without being frilly. We left for dinner reservations and returned without incident. Our bed was cozy, the room was quiet, the bathroom was well-supplied (even a mending kit!) and the robes were decadent. Sadly it was a rainy weekend, so we asked that our breakfast be brought to the room instead of to the garden patio. The staff called ahead so that we had time to make ourselves presentable, and the breakfast itself was delicious. Check-out was a breeze, and I would happily return again. I recommend a stay at the 1842 Inn without hesitation. Enjoy your trip!


Heading South

5 on June 29, 2013

My husband and I were traveling South to visit friends and we stopped at the 1842 Inn. I am not normally a big B&B fan but 1842 has changed the way I view B&B's! Everything about the place was perfect and the folks running the inn went out of their way to do what they could to insure we had a pleasant stay. I am looking forward to going back.


Just one night

5 on June 23, 2013

But we are looking for reasons to go back and stay...staff was wonderful, room was perfect.


A Marvelous Anniversary Treat

5 on June 19, 2013

22 years ago, my husband and I stayed at the 1842 Inn for our wedding night -- returning again was as special as that first time. The service is friendly, the food delicious, and the accommodations sumptuous. Our night on the front porch, watching the moon and rocking while the sky darkened, munching chocolate chip cookies, was as perfect a celebration of our marriage as I could ask for. Thanks to everyone there -- it won't be 22 years before we return.


Outstanding

5 on June 05, 2013

I was simply blown away by the courtesy and attention to detail of the staff. We were treated like special guests. The room was cozy, and, one of my nitpicky requirements was fulfilled, it smelled clean. Beds were dreamy soft. Breakfast in the courtyard was delightful with amiable staff politely and quietly attending to our needs.


Outstanding!!!

5 on June 04, 2013

This is a beautiful Inn. Great southern hospitality. I would recommend this to anyone.


Great place to stay

5 on June 03, 2013

One the best B&Bs we've visited


Lovely, gracious Southern stay

3.6 on June 01, 2013

Who would not love this gracious Southern mansion that you get to make your own for a night or two? The ambiance of the patios and the common rooms made me want to stay all day. There is a lovely happy hour with drinks and appetizers and breakfast is included. Staff hustled and couldn't have been nicer.


1842 Inn review

3.6 on May 27, 2013

I was there the weekend for Wesleyan Graduation. Very friendly staff.


Great Place to Stay

4.6 on May 22, 2013

Fine old home in a great location near to downtown Macon. Loved breakfast in the back garden. Very friendly staff.


Longtime favourite Inn

4.6 on May 22, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at the 1842 many times over the years for business and leisure, and it is always a wonderful experience. The staff are always thoughtful and considerate, and the house and grounds are as comfortable as they are beautiful.


I'll be back!!

4.6 on May 21, 2013

A great time was had by all.


Charming B&B, very nice

3.8 on May 20, 2013

Very friendly staff. Great room, wonderful decor.


Nighly Get Away

4.6 on April 30, 2013

My friends and I wanted a little get away from our college town for a night, so we found this little gem online. When we arrived, it was better than in the pictures online. It was beautiful. We stayed in the Sidney Lanier room, and it was perfect for us. The area is a little sketchy, but the place is perfect. We definitely plan on returning!


Stupendus place

5 on April 30, 2013

Had a wonderful time, staff was very friendly. Staff would make sure we had everything we needed.


Wonderful inn

4.6 on April 28, 2013

My daughter and I always have a lovely visit here. The staff makes us feel at home!


Gone with the wind

5 on April 24, 2013

After 10 years my husband and I came back to Macon just to stay once again in the beautiful house 1842 Inn. This time we brought all our (adult) children and their spouses and we had a great time. The house is that what we Germans love of the Deep South and it gives you a tast of "Gone-with-the-wind! We felt a bit like Scarlett and Rhett..... we are thankful that even in the modern US places like this exist. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality!


Great Stay in Macon

3.6 on April 19, 2013

Had one night stay at the 1842 Inn. Great house, staff very attentive and friendly. Bathroom a bit dated (but so is mine at home). Easy walk to downtown if not pouring rain. Would stay there again


perfect day

5 on April 16, 2013

Service was outstanding. They gave everything we wanted and then asked if they could to more. Wonderful experience


Macon Visit

4.6 on April 16, 2013

Great building, great service. Walking distance to downtown during good weather.


Southern Dream

4.2 on March 30, 2013

The Inn is like living the "Gone With the Wind" dream -- step back into another era. 'Getting slightly frayed around the edges, but in the recent economy that's probably to be expected. Very convenient to the Washington Library and downtown. The staff were all extremely pleasant and eager to be helpful. Breakfast not as sumptuous as at some B&B's, but was tasty and adequate. (Would have been nice to have some fruit on the plate.)


Our wonderful second stay at 1842 Inn

5 on March 05, 2013

We had stayed there before for a wedding in the area, and liked it so much we decided to attend an event in Macon that we could have seen in Atlanta, just so we could stay at the Inn again. This second time we learned much more about the long list of famous people who have stayed there. And we will surely go back. Don't miss the afternoon snacks. They're great!


Our 33rd anniversary!

5 on February 28, 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law treated us to one night at the 1842 Inn to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time. It is a beautiful Inn, and all of the staff were so gracious and kind. The food was DELICIOUS!!! The Hors d'oeuvres served in the late afternoon were such a surprise - such a variety - and everything was scrumptious!! The breakfast was also delicious, and we enjoyed being served in our room. It was the most beautiful B&B we have ever visited. Tom and Donna


Excellent experience!

5 on February 27, 2013

Exceeded my expectations! Looking forward to visiting again soon.


Wonderful experience

5 on February 03, 2013

The 1842 Inn is one of my favorite B&B's in the U.S. Each time I come whether for individual relaxation, or to celebrate a birthday or anniversary, it is always a very special and memoriable experience. The rooms and service are wonderful, and breakfast was delicious. EJ and staff go above and beyond to ensure that all our special requests were met. I recommend the 1842 Inn to anyone who wants to escape and enjoy the serene environment of this wonderful historical antibellum mansion. I will be back!


Wedding Night Stay

4.6 on January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed there on our wedding night. The room was wonderful and the food the next morning was amazing!


Treated like Oprah!

5 on January 17, 2013

It is a beautiful home, the Mercer Room is amazing, and the staff are all wonderful. We are originally from the Macon area but have recently moved to Florida, so we now have an excuse to stay at the 1842 Inn when we come to visit family!


Midweek Retreat

4.2 on January 07, 2013

Staff made dinner reservations


Christmas visit

4.8 on December 29, 2012

Some of the local Christmas events were over this close to Christams. beautiful old homes abound.


Truly lovely old home.

4.4 on November 20, 2012

The 1842 Inn is on a beautiful street lined with grand old homes from a bygone era. We had a great time taking the local architecture tour. We found the self-guiding booklet at the front desk. There's something like 77 homes listed in town. It took us some time to get thought about half of time. At the end we were getting pretty good at identifying the different architectural styles! We also spent time sitting on the big front porch, with a glass of wine. The Inn is lovely & the hospitality outstanding!


My Stay

4.8 on November 19, 2012

This Inn truly takes customer service to a new level, everything was wonderful, genuine southern hospitality at it's finest. We look forward to staying there again


Couldn't ask for anything more!

5 on November 02, 2012

We have stayed at B&Bs all over the country - this is in the top three for warmth, availability, kindness and 24 hour service with a smile.


glad we stayed! will return when in the area.

3.8 on October 29, 2012

we were very please with the Inn. friendly and very help full . even down to the details...they even helped with the walking tour and breakfast was just as ordered and on time. will come back when in the area.


1842 Inn

5 on October 22, 2012

What a wonderful inn. It was quiet and quaint, formal and beautifully decorated in antiques. The breakfast was one of the best we've had. The staff was very attentive and professional. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable. There is nothing lacking here. We would go back again and again. Simply outstanding in every regard.


Almost like home

3.6 on October 22, 2012

Best place to stay in Macon. The rooms are good and the staff is very friendly and helpful. A little on the pricey side but so far I haven't found anything else like it in town


Beautiful property; impeccable service.

4.8 on October 15, 2012

This beautiful B & B was our halfway stop on the way to Highlands, NC. Our host helped us with our luggage and parking was available on the property. We stayed in the main house, which was decorated for the season (Halloween/Fall). I loved going through all the common areas seeing the antiques and beautifully decorated rooms. We arrived in time for cocktail hour. Appetizers were delicious and plentiful. They have a well stocked cash bar, but we brought our own wine and enjoyed it and the appetizers on the lovely front porch. There were several comfortable and cozy seating areas for guest to sit and relax on the porch. The area reminded us of Charleston, with large mansions along the street (Like in Charleston, a few have been converted to apartments). Each home had a historic marker, and all but a very few have well-manicured yards with very old trees and lots of flowers. I wish we had stayed another night or two, so we could have seen more of the area. We chose to have breakfast delivered to our room. We both had the Southern breakfast which was hot and delicious. The staff is friendly, helpful and very professional. We definitely recommend this B & B.


Stopover in small town

4.4 on October 13, 2012

The 1842 Inn was just perfect for my husband and I. It was clean cozy furnished well rom was quite large and I loved the quiet atmosphere and courtyard! Bed was great slept like a baby and was impressed with the inn keepers attention to our needs(gave us directions to downtown area plus other grateful tips regarding the are) would and in fact hácek recommended this place to family and friends.


Best B&B on either side of the Atlantic!

5 on October 01, 2012

Absolutely the best B&B on either side of the Atlantic! We have stayed at several B&B in the States and Europe, our recent stay at 1842 Inn was the most enjoyable. From our initial reservation contact via the Internet and email correspondence through follow-up to send an item left behind, we have never experienced such outstanding customer service. PS the breakfast pecan scones are made in house and cannot be missed!


great place

4.8 on August 28, 2012

For us it was just a stop over, but it was a great place to relax and regroup.


Simply amazing!

4.8 on August 22, 2012

Most amazing place I have ever stayed. The service was incredible. I was actually sad to leave we had such a great time. Everyone should stay at the 1842.


Wonderful stay

5 on August 16, 2012

We stayed for one night with our sixteen year old son and even he enjoyed it. I have nothing negative to say as it is my kind of place. The rooms were outstanding and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food was first rate the tea in the evening was quite nice. It's very home like and a great place to relax. I would definitely go back.


Great place to stay!

4.4 on August 14, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent time. The room was great and the breakfast was fantastic! We will definitely be going back.


Average stay, average value

3.2 on August 03, 2012

Service and personnel were wonderful! Breakfast provided by Inn was on time, served where we requested, and served hot and delicious. However, the room we were given was VERY small and was in the "guest cottage" behind the actual Inn. Bed was small and somewhat uncomfortable. Felt crowded in room and bathroom. Observed larger rooms, so if we stayed there again we would know to request certain requirements as far as room went. Inn was beautiful and very well maintained and very clean.


Wonderful stay!

5 on August 03, 2012

A second wonderful stay at the inn. They go out of their way to be extremely accommodating! Had family in town that came over for brunch and they were happy to accommodate additional people. Will definitely stay again when we are in Macon.


Hard to leave, simply awesome!!

5 on August 01, 2012

We spend 1 Night in the Mercer Room at the 1842INN, and we loved it!! The Service was awesome, and the House absolutely beatifull. Everything was very clean, and the Hors d,oeuvre served at 17.30 just to die for!! We loved the Chicken Salad!! I we ever come to Macon again, we would 100% stay at the 1842Inn again.


Old South in Macon

4.6 on July 19, 2012

A truly beautiful place with great hospitality. Like stepping back in time.


1842 Inn - we'll come back and recommend it to family and friends!

4.8 on July 16, 2012

Gloria and EJ were warm, welcoming and professional at the same time. They treated us as if we were really their own guests. The Jeff Davis room was very clean and comfortable - it was even nicer than the picture on web site. The breakfasts were delicious except for the cheese grits, which seemed a bit too watery. That's OK - we'll come back again and recommend this to all our family and friends!


Deserves the ratings

4.6 on July 13, 2012

It is not by accident that this Inn is included on elite lists of places to stay. The building, both exterior as well as interior, is gorgeous. Our room was extraordinarily spacious and comfortable. The staff was uniformly enthusiastic and friendly. Our breakfast, both in terms of choices as well as quality, was unbeatable. The Inn is a bit pricey, but for those who appreciate Victoriana and a beautiful place to stay, this provides a memorable experience.


Southern hospitality at it's best!

4.8 on July 10, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door until the time we checked out,we were treated with true Southern hospitality! We were made to feel as truly valued guests as well as friends The friendliness and service exceeded all expectations.Without a doubt, we will be back !! I really cannot say enough about the 1842 Inn - you will have to experience it yourself.


1842 Inn is Amazing!

5 on June 28, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here while we were doing college visits. It was on the way home and it seemed like a good place to visit and to take a quick peak at Mercer. Our stay was delightful and their recommendations were excellent. Would definitely stay here again!


Wonderful experience!

5 on June 23, 2012

After a long drive, it was just wonderful to relax at the inn. We especially enjoyed the afternoon "cordial time" that began at 5:30. The room was comfortable leaving us wanting for nothing. Our breakfast was served outside on the patio. What a delightful way to begin another day!


Superb stay

4.2 on June 04, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at the 1842 Inn for only one night unfortunately. The staff were so friendly and helpful and our room (Mercer) was fantastic. There is plenty to do in the local area and there are some good local restaurants (the staff are happy to assist with recommendations and make reservations).


Special attention

5 on May 17, 2012

It was such a wonderful experience. Breakfast on the porch of the cottage was heavenly. Evening tea in the parlor was relaxing. Then chocolate chip cookies before bedtime was a nice finishing touch. The staff paid special attention to every need. There was a laid-back Southern charm that is not found in regular hotels. The Inn is a vacation in and of itself.


One night in Macon - made memorable

4.8 on May 16, 2012

This inn is one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed. My travel buddy and I had a specific requirement for a room with two beds, and we were able to find such a room at the 1842 Inn. The room was beautifully appointed, as were all of the public rooms we visited and ate it. What fun it was to sit with our cocktails and complimentary snacks on the grand front porch. An exceptional experience.


A place brimming with Southern charm

4.2 on May 11, 2012

Staff was friendly and helpful. Without our asking, they upgraded us to a larger room at no additional charge.


At the 1842 Inn

4.6 on May 09, 2012

The 1842 Inn in Macon, GA, is an excellent place to stay, the rooms are large, well furnished, & quite comfortable. The Inn is located close to the downtown Macon area, with all its retaurants, theaters, & attractions. The value is good, & the stay restful. GDB 05/2012


Macon Visit

3.4 on May 01, 2012

It's by far the best place to stay in Macon. Exceptional service, conveniently located and spacious rooms.


Absolutely wonderful

5 on April 17, 2012

One of the best inns we have ever visited. Service was superior.


Love this place...so much I overlook some issues.

4.0 on March 10, 2012

I absolutely love the southern hospitality and the ambience of this place and would highly recommend it. Hanging out in the parlour was such a fun time as was visiting with other folks staying at the Inn. Breakfast in the parlour was wonderful. I loved the decor in the rooms...but in our room the mattresses were pretty bad -- you could feel the springs under the thin mattresses. The noise in the cottage room next to the front door woke us up--every time someone else took a shower or shut the front door or went out on the front porch--it was loud. I recommend staying in the main house or in a cottage room in the back, so you don't have this problem. Even with these issues though, I didn't even feel the need to complain b/c we had such a wonderful time.


1842 House

4.4 on January 27, 2012

What a lovely place! I got to peak into all of the rooms on the second floor when the cleaning crew was there and was amazed to see that each one was as lovely as the one we stayed in - high-quality bedding, comfortable beds, beautiful decor and warm, welcoming service. They made our dinner reservation, offered cold water and cookies. What more can you ask? I would stay there again.


Went for historic reasons, but discovered a treasure!

4.4 on November 29, 2011

As a retired history teacher, I selected the 1842 Inn to experience Georgia's history. We were so delighted by the whole experience. The Inn was exceptional and the walk through the neighborhood was delightful. Truly one of our most memorable experiences traveling and a great impression of the great state of Georgia.


Excellent B&B in the heart of historic Macon, GA

4.6 on November 24, 2011

Macon took us by surprise as did the 1842 Inn. The Inn is wonderfully appointed with period furniture though offers all the comforts and conveniences one would expect. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. The hor O'dourves served on the porch with a glass of wine was pleasant and plentiful. The Inn sits in a beautiful neighborhood right next to the Mercer College campus. A short walk to downtown Macon offers views of many fine old mansions and buildings. The 1842 Inn is an experience we would encourage for anyone.


so impressed!

5 on November 14, 2011

Great location in beautiful district. Walking distance from the law school where we were attending a function with our daughter. Friendly people. Happy to see you. The bed was heavenly. I want to go back soon!


Genuine southern hospitality

4.8 on October 12, 2011

The staff at the 1842 Inn exceed those at all other inns I have tried in being the most warm, friendly, and attentive to the comfort of their guests. They say "this is your home" and mean it. The inn is a beautiful antebellum home filled with history and creature comforts. The porch is perfect for relaxing with your favorite drink after a day spent exploring the area. And the service is impeccable. I will definitely return!!


1842 Review

4.6 on October 03, 2011

Only 1 night, but thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations. The public rooms and the bedrooms are beautifully appointed, the staff extremely hospitable and knowledgable and overall ambience simply charming. The breakfast was a bit disappointing - the souffle was overdone and the french toast a bit soggy. That notwithstanding (I am a 'foodie'), I would highly recommend this Inn for an extremely pleasurable stay.


Amazing!

4.6 on September 24, 2011

This house is amazingly beautifull and the staff and their service is outstanding. They make you feel at home!


Elegant, spacious with comfortable Southern hospitality

3.6 on September 16, 2011

I have stayed at the 1842 several times and always go back to this special place. The building and rooms are beautiful and also very comfortable. Afternoon canapes were delicious, and we loved having breakfast in the courtyard. (You can elect to have it inside, on the porch or in your room if you prefer.) We booked most recently when the Inn had only the Dogwood room left available. I was concerned that it would be too small, but it turned out to be quite comfortable with the added advantage of a virtually private spot just outside for lounging on the porch. I may ask for this room again. We worked out one morning at the Macon Health Club courtesy of the Inn's free guest pass and took advantage of Macon's trolley service when we went out for dinner. The staff is wonderful and will accommodate your every need. The only downside is that closet space is very limited (wardrobes), so if you're bringing a ball gown or lots of hanging clothes, ask the staff for assistance, which they will provide.


A Wonderful Stay

5 on September 07, 2011

We enjoyed the spacious and well-appointed bedroom and bathroom of our stay. The breakfast was delicious and served at a private small table for the two of us. The staff were very welcoming and answered all our questions with great ideas for a dinner restaurant. We would definitely stay here again.


Geheimtipp in Macon. Einzigartig!

4.8 on August 02, 2011

Wie in alte Zeiten versetzt mit dem Standard von heute und einem einmaligen Service!


An enjoyable stay

5 on July 22, 2011

A warm welcome, a lovely room, hors d'ouevres in the parlour, breakfast in the courtyard - what more could you ask? Delightful.


Great place!!

4.0 on June 09, 2011

Charming hotel, wonderful room, excellent service; we had a good time here


A Beautiful Time and Amazing Breakfast

4.8 on June 08, 2011

My wife and I went to 1842 for our Honeymoon. I must say that the room was absolutely gorgeous and the food was outstanding. I want to go back just for the french toast. I recommend this for all couples. A very relaxing time in such a beautiful setting.


1842 Inn

5 on June 06, 2011

A wonderful place to spend your wedding night as well as your 5th anniversary! Thank you for your hospitality.


Wonderful Stay in a Beautiful Setting

4.6 on May 27, 2011

Although we were only in town one evening for a wedding, the 1842 Inn made the quick trip much more pleasant and enjoyable. If anything takes me back to Macon in the future, there is now no question as to where I will stay.


No Place Like "Home . . ."

3.8 on May 10, 2011

Lovely. Steeped in history, this B&B smothers you with Southern charm. The breakfasts are delicious - just wish the decaf coffee had a bit more taste - and the service is unmatched in the north. Rooms are spotless and the pace of life just slows down a bit here among the magnolias and the gardenias. Wouldn't dream of staying elsewhere on my trips to the Macon area.


a very pleasant stay

4.0 on May 09, 2011

We have choosen Macon as the last destination of our trip thru NC, SC and GA and selected The 1842 Inn because of its character. And we were not disappointed! We thoroughly enjouyed our one night stay, the room, in fact the whole house, was just wonderful, the staff very friendly and most helpful. The room, fully equipped, was as clean as one would expect it to be. The apperitive was a wonderful, generous gesture while breakfast was maybe a touch below expectations ... but then we didnt stay for breakfast, did we? All in all: we'll keep best memories of our stay, would certainly return should we be again in the area (and Macon is indeed worth visiting) and can wholeheartedly recommend it.


Great!

5 on May 05, 2011

We (a German couple) enjoyed our stay very much and were happy with everything. The B&B was the one we were looking for. Thank you. We will come back one day!


A Lovely Step Back In Time

4.0 on May 04, 2011

Staying in this beautiful Inn was like a lovely step back in time with beautiful ante bellum architecture, period furniture, and wonderful service.


Nice stay

3.4 on April 29, 2011

Our stay at the 1842 made our visit to Macon very special ! Coming from Germany the 1842 Inn is what I dreamed of to be a historic southern hotel.


Cherry Blossom Weekend

3.8 on April 10, 2011

It's such a beautiful place to stay! The staff is absolutely wonderful. We go every year to the Cherry Blossom Festival and every year we stay at the 1842 Inn.


Georgia Hospitality

3.8 on April 10, 2011

Hospitality, service and food were exceptional. Room and bathroom were small and small TV in closet had to be viewed with all the closet doors open and around a bedpost.


Very welcoming place to stay

4.2 on April 09, 2011

We found the 1842 Inn a very professionally run operation. The staff were very helpful, tea and breakfast excellent. We had a very nice room on first floor (only mild reservation - bed a bit narrow!). The building is very grand and well located for Macon's attractions. We rate this inn very highly.


Hanna Recent Stay

4.2 on April 04, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have only one recommendation that would have made our stay perfect. The bath towels are not absorbent at all. The towels are exceedingly soft, but you can not dry yourself with them. Please change the towels. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.


Exceeded expectations

4.0 on March 29, 2011

As a Yankee, Southern Hospitality never ceases to amaze and delight me. Everything about our stay exceeded my expectations. From the room to the staff, breakfast to warm cookies at night - our weekend was perfect. Don't forget to visit the Hay House while you are in Macon.


1842 Inn Macon GA

3.8 on March 18, 2011

We did not dine at the 1842 in the evening but had breakfast , once in our room and once in the parlour, both very good and plentiful. We thought the service was excellent and genuinely offered. We enjoyed our stay.


Faculty University of Alabama at Birmingham

5 on March 17, 2011

University faculty had work in Macon and we stayed here. The atmosphere is so professional, relaxing and lovely. The rooms are quiet and the schedule for breakfast is good for those who are up early and wish to have room service. Thank you!


A little disappointing

2.8 on March 07, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn for a weekend getaway. Our displeasure of the dilapidated Macon aside, if you are looking for a historical accommodations with a rich history (Oprah has stayed at the inn), then 1842 is it. The Inn has all the decorative charm of a period residence, but with it, some of the needed renovations and upgrades of an older building. On the plus side, the sweeping porch and large columns make for a nice afternoon retreat with some wine. On the down side, we noticed major cracks in the ceilings, water damage, and burnt out light bulbs in the room that needed fixing. For the rooms being decently nice, these discoveries were a true disappointment. The furnishings were nice, and for those who like the look and feel of antiques, that is how the rooms were decorated. The breakfast was good, but not exceptional: french toast, fruit, biscuits and an egg dish. We've both had nicer, more upscale dishes at other comparable Inns or even eating establishments like Atlanta's Flying Biscuit. The service was good, but none of the service staff carried the sophistication we have seen of Inns of similar price value. They were more on par with the service style and feel of Holiday Inn clerks rather than fancy Inns. Still, all the check-in clerks were friendly enough, though some a little too friendly, and wished to chat with us and linger longer than preferred during afternoon hor d'oeurves, which by the way, were more reminiscent of bar food than an elegant inn. Overall, we were expecting a much more elegant experience than we received, and for that reason, felt the rooms overpriced, and our experience a little disappointing. We would recommend 1842 over the other less appealing accommodations of Macon, but would not recommend it on its own.


College Tour 2011

3.8 on February 26, 2011

Was a great way to experience the beauty of the "Old South". Thanks.


The 1842 Inn is a wonderful step back in time!

4.6 on February 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed only one night but it was unforgettable! We were greeted by Emma, who was most helpful and sweet. She even tried to carry both our suitcases until I stopped her! Emma served us cocktails and appetizers in the parlor and lit the fireplace for us to enjoy. She greeted us again on our return from dinner with coffee and warm cookies! In the morning it was Joanne who served us breakfast and told us some interesting stories about the house. The breakfast was expertly prepared and we had the parlor to ourselves at a little table right in front of the fireplace. This Inn is very charming but it was Emma and Joanne that made all the difference. We could tell that they truly loved their jobs as well as the people who stayed in the inn. Great customer service seems to be a rarity these days, but not at the 1842 Inn!


1842 review

4.2 on December 29, 2010

Exceptionally friendly and attentive staff. The location and condition of the Inn are fantastic for a short stay.


Loved the staff!

5 on September 22, 2010

I booked a room for my husbands 40th Birthday...Upon my arrival at the 1842 Inn Ms. Joanne and Ms. Emma greeted me with smiles. They informed me of a bigger room that had become available at no additional cost and took the time to show me the different benefits of both rooms before I made my decision. The room was amazing! They both made sure that everything was perfect and kept us entertained with great stories about Oprah, and the history of the families that had lived there and different details about the building. It was a wonderful experience! We are definately coming back and would recomend this B&B to EVERYONE.


The 1842 Inn in Macon, GA, is the best!

5 on July 26, 2010

My husband and I spent a total of three nights at the 1842 and our stay was the most pleasant experience we've had in ages. The inn itself is gorgeous but it's the staff who create the outstanding ambiance - reason enough for a trip to Macon!


The Perfect Blend of Old and New

4.6 on July 20, 2010

1842 Inn is a peaceful, relaxing home away from home. The staff was superb and the accommodations were the perfect blend of old and new...surrounded by the lavish furnishings and splendor of days gone by mixed with the modern conveniences of today. We loved our time here and hope to return for another stay in the future!


Comfort in an Old Southern Mansion

4.6 on July 14, 2010

Excellent service and the friendliest staff-- esp. Gloria, Antonio, Emma, and JoAnne--they seemed like old friends, so very helpful and kind. The inn and grounds were well maintained and quite lovely. We really liked the feeling of security and the personal attention we received.


Perfect Valentine's getaway

4.2 on February 20, 2009

Wow! Just what we wanted-- A great private room, wonderful staff, a bit of 'deep south' history and charm. Their Marco Italian restaurant was superb, too! 4-stars for both. Will go back soon...


1842 Inn

4.8 on February 20, 2009

A great place!


charming reflection

4.4 on February 18, 2009

The 1842 Inn is a charming reflection of life in Macon in a grand era. Everywhere there are touches of nostalgia and beauty to add to the comfort and service that characterizes the 1842 Inn.


Pefrect weekend

4.6 on February 16, 2009

We went down for a little weekend getaway and were blown away! The service was over the top amazing, they really know how to deliver "southern hospitality". We tend to frequent high end restaurants and we were quite impressed with the food that we ate in Macon, both at Marco's and at the local seafood place (Jim Shaw's). They exceeded out expectations by leaps and bounds. The rooms and parlor were elegant and quite well appointed. We enjoyed meeting very interesting people during the evenings spent in the parlors. We would highly recommend a visit!


great place to go

4.2 on January 14, 2009

Everyone was first class from maid service to desk clerks


1842 Inn

4.2 on September 09, 2008

Outstanding and exceeded my expectations.


Southern Charm

4.4 on September 03, 2008

The 1842 Inn located in Macon, GA is a delightful mixture of southern hospitality and old world charm. The best mint juleps period!


Not to Be Missed Southern Hospitality

5 on January 12, 2008

Loved the huge beautiful home and all the history we found here. A pre civil war jewel in Macon is beautifully preserved and restored to offer Southern charm and comfort at its finest. You will love the breakfast and relax in beautifully done rooms. The parlor and grounds are spectacular. Be sure to inquire about the history and the ghost! Enjoyable and romantic. We are so glad we made a stop here. An exceptional B& B experience.


1842 Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $189 - $230
  • Reviews (155) 4.5
  • Rooms 19
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4787411842
  • Fax 1-4787411842
  • Toll free 1-8003361842

Visit Website »

View details

Top