The Inn at Folkston Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
34 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful place to stay

4.6 on October 05, 2014

September 13, 2014 The Host and Hostess are a delight. They can give you information about what you can do in the area. The rooms make you feel right at home. I enjoyed our breakfast, too.


A wonderful place

5 on October 01, 2014

A wonderful place to stay! We stopped there on the way back from FL to WV and also because I wanted to do some train watching. We only stayed one night and regretted not having allowed two nights so we could see more of the area and enjoy the B&B a little more. The innkeepers are great people and the breakfast was really good and served with style.


Nice stay

5 on July 13, 2014

We had a great stay for train watching at the Folkston Funnel. This is only a few blocks away from both east & west train observation platforms and museum. Slept great in the Family Room; everything was clean and comfortable. Also had a wonderful breakfast and met 2 very nice couples staying there. Ted & Alease made us feel right at home!


Great Place to Stay!

5 on July 09, 2014

My family and I had a great time at the Inn at Folkston! Lovely place to stay, family room was very clean and spacious and we we'll be back.


An average B&B

3.0 on July 05, 2014

Nicely maintained rooms. Very friendly staff. Breakfasts were rather unremarkable and light on portions. Excellent location for visits to Okefenokee Park.


Southern Hospitality!

4.6 on June 02, 2014

Classic ambiance and feel in a welcoming and comfortable environment.


Very enjoyable stay

4.8 on March 15, 2014

Ted and Alease were very gracious, jus excellent innkeepers. Breakfasts were delicious. We recommend this Inn highly.


Wonderful host, wonderful stay!

5 on October 15, 2013

Despite any negative reviews, Janis is absolutely wonderful! Very nice and accommodating. Her rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Her breakfasts are delicious. And staff are very helpful.


Great stay!

4.6 on September 15, 2013

Great place! The innkeepers, Ted and Alease, are so warm and welcoming. The breakfasts and evening snacks were delicious. Wonderful place to stay.


Wish we could have stayed longer!

5 on April 14, 2013

Spent one night at the inn on our way to St Simons Island. Wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was awesome and made to order! Janis was great ands set the bar high for our future B&B expectations. Our room was better than described, we will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.


Nice Inn and a good location for train watchers

4.4 on April 04, 2012

We received a warm welcome and stayed in a beautiful room. Obviously there was attention to detail for both cleanliness and decor. The Inn is within walking distance of train watching at the Folkston Funnel. We also enjoyed a meal at the Thai Restaurant in town. The Inn is for sale and hopefully new owners will continue to provide an excellent B&B.


Refreshing!

4.0 on February 17, 2012

The room was very nice. The Funnel room had a great bed, slept great. We visited the swamp & watched the trains. Janis, Bill & "Squeak" were very gracious! Our breakfast both days were delightful and filling. Each was made to order, hot & fresh!! The only thing we did not receive was the snacks each day that was listed. We would go back.


Bill,Janis,CSX,Amtrak,Superb Breakfast,Comfy Beds and reasonable rates make this B&B the best Inn around.

5 on January 01, 2011

Janis and Bill treat their guests like family. OH!! And just wait 'til you have breakfast......It's FRESH everything! Have a disability as we do,well not to worry, there is a room for us,and it's comfy too. If you are into swamps,there is one nearby so feel free to hug an alligator or something. TRAINS..you like trains? You'll be up to your neck in them and the track is only about two blocks away and there is a train watching platform with a radio and outlets for fans...like us. We love the Inn at Folkston and so will you.It is the ONLY place to stay when in this area! You will be in good hands. Paul and Kelly


wonderful attention

4.8 on October 24, 2010

Very attentive innkeepers. Provided extra attention to my special dietary needs. Provided much information regarding desired attractions. They went over and above what would have been great service, to provide extraordinary service. Facility was immaculately clean, well appointed. Breakfast was perfect. Would stay here again without hesitation.


8600 mile round trip but well worth the effort!

5 on June 22, 2010

We are (sort of) regulars from 'across the pond'. When we stay here we feel like part of the family, nothing is too much trouble. Janis and Bill have a great sense of humour and we feel like we've known them for years. Their sincerity is genuine and we feel more at ease here than any other similar establishment we've stayed at. Janis and Bill, don't you dare consider retiring anytime soon! We plan to be back soon!


We are regulars

5 on June 21, 2010

My Wife and are regulars at the Inn for the last several years. We love the place so much we spend three to four weekends per year at the Inn.


Delightful!

4.2 on March 25, 2010

Stopped in Folkston during our trip to Charleston & Savannah in the spring of 2009. My husband is a rail fan and had heard of the Folkston Funnel and thought we could include a stop on our trip. The Inn was just wonderful. We had a beautiful room, I think the lighthouse room. It had it's own screened porch. The breakfasts were delightful and the railfanning great. The only negative is that the town of Folkston really doesn't have any decent restaurants.


That Hometown Feeling

4.2 on November 03, 2009

I love staying here because it has that hometown feeling. Janis and Bill are friendly, but let you have your space when you want it. I would highly recommend this Inn to all my friends and family!


like stepping back into the past

4.0 on November 01, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in Folkston. It is a delightful little town with the charm of the old South. Janis was a charming hostess. The inn extremely clean. Breakfast was wonderful. Ask for the pancakes, light as a feather. If you don't like the sound of trains carry some ear plugs, but you shouldn't miss the inn.:)


Wonderful hospitality

4.0 on April 25, 2009

We had a great stay at the Inn at Folkston. But what really stood out was the hospitality of Janis. We had an early morning tour at the Okefenokee. Janis was up early and had a wonderful hot breakfast at 5:45 AM. We had no idea she would go to such an effort at that time of day, but certainly appreciated it. We would definitely recommend the Inn to others.


Friendly,cozy, and convenient

5 on March 29, 2009

We truly enjoyed our stay at The Inn at Folkston. Janis and Bill were welcoming and the house was charming with a delightfully spacious front porch. Beautiful bouquets picked from the yard were placed throughout the house. Our breakfast was well prepared. I loved sleeping in the feather bed. I had no idea they were so comfortable and it didn’t bother my allergies in the least. The location is prime for visiting the Okeefenokee Swamp. It took longer to rent a canoe than it did to drive there from the inn!


Friendly Folkston

5 on March 19, 2009

The innkeepers and inn are just divine. Lovely rooms, great meals and conversation. Can't wait to go back!


Spring get away.

4.0 on March 12, 2009

The Inn is two blocks from down town, easy access to some quaint shops and special train watching platform. It is a quiet area, the inn and its grounds are very clean and welcoming.


A complete stay

5 on January 09, 2009

A very hospitable and genuine as well as relaxing stay. It was enhanced by excellent accommodations and sumptuous breakfasts, very cute and tidy property and welcoming hot tub! The proprietors are really on top of their game!


Wonderful Stay!

4.0 on October 14, 2008

We have stayed here in the past and it just keeps getting better each time. The Inn is beautiful and charming and the Innkeepers are excellent at what they do


Just Like Home

5 on September 24, 2008

Outstanding in every way. One of the best breakfasts we've ever had while staying ni B&B's. Janis, the Innkeeper, was delightful and very entertaining. Loved it!


Train Watchers Delight

5 on August 20, 2008

Like trains? Then this is the place ! There is no place like this place anywhere near. This place CSX, auto train, juice train and moe. great place great food.


The Inn at Folkston

5 on August 20, 2008

A return visit for us, with in laws, just lovely. The porch, the jacuzzi, the rooms, breakfast, PERFECT!! Plus trains and 2 cute kitties.


Worth going out of your way

4.8 on August 16, 2008

Highly recommended! A splendid B&B, in a small town perched on the edge of the sprawling nature reserve of the Okefenokee Swamp - which is very much worth exploring. Also, the location provides an interesting break in the long drive south to Florida from further north. The bedrooms are elegant and comfortable, the front porch broad and with a wonderful swing, and the breakfast ample and delicious.


The Inn at Folkston

5 on August 11, 2008

This Inn is a wonderful place to stay and unwind and watch trains! The breakfast was outstanding as was the coffee and snacks. The Hospitality was a plus.


The Inn at Folkston

3.0 on June 11, 2008

The town is noted for trains going through town. We enjoyed watching them for a little while. We spend time at the National Park.


Idyllic, Southern charm!

5 on April 22, 2008

Lovely, hospitable inn hostess. always accomodating, full of helpful information. Location- the inn is charming, lots of fun antiques, artwork and crafts to enjoy. Large porches, a beautiful yard. Close to the swamp and the trails. Something for everybody.


The Inn at Folkston

4.8 on April 16, 2008

Loved it, Nice people. Great visit to Okekenokee Swamp


Beautiful place but where's the hospitality

2.8 on April 07, 2008

While the home was lovely and impeccably clean, I did not feel welcome here. It was the first time I'd experienced this at any bed and breakfast. The innkeepers were generally not available and when I called with a couple of inquiries shortly after I checked in, I felt as though I was quite an inconvenience. They made no effort to get to know me at all. There was no offer to help with my bags. Just deposited me in my room and disappeared. Overall, a very uncomfortable experience. Also, the lack of quality dining options in the area is quite a problem. If I had it to do over again, I would stay in St. Marys when visiting this area.


The Inn at Folkston

Details

  • Nightly Rate $95 - $160
  • Reviews (34) 4.5
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9124966256
  • Toll free 1-8885096246

Visit Website »

View details

Top