Change your search

The Overlook Inn

9420 Hwy 52 , Ellijay, GA 30705 USA (Show map)
4.3
132 Reviews
$159 - $249
per night

Visit Website

About

Located in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Georgia. A mountain Bed and Breakfast with Rustic Elegance. Sraddling Fort Mountain and commanding a breathtaking view of The Chattahoochee National Forest and the Bue Ridge Mountains, the New ( Opened in the Fall of 2002), was designed and situated to take full advantage of it's magnificent surroundings. Its rustic exterior blends into the environment, yet conceals elegant lodge accommodations. Featured in Fodors 2004 Travel Guide " Escape to Nature Without Roughing It".

Rooms & Rates

The Grand Gahutti...

The Grand Gahutti... 12' High Ceilings, elegant furnishings, in room fireplace, and a stately wrought iron king size canopy bed distinguishes this room. With an in-room private bath with double pedestal sinks, the room opens onto a broad screen porch with an outdoor hot tub. Off-Peak: $219 per night Peak: $249 per night

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

The Moon Eye...

The Moon Eye... Designed for comfort and relaxation with its in-room private bath and other features, this room invites its guests to lounge before its open fireplace or on its back porch or in its hot tub. Off-Peak: $199 per night Peak: $229 per night

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

The Fieldstone...

The Fieldstone... Truly different, the room captures the region's outdoors appeal with an unusual rock wall constructed of natural fieldstone. The oversize room has a queen bed and sitting area with a fireplace. * New! (photo coming soon) The Fieldstone now features a in-room jetted corner tub for two. The private bath is just two steps across a small hall from your suite. Off-Peak: $169 per night Peak: $199 per night

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

The Conquistador...

The Conquistador... This cozy room with queen bed and small fireplace, and a private in-room bathroom, the room opens onto a private rocking chair porch, bringing the out-of-doors inside. Off-Peak: $169 per night Peak: $199 per night

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 Queen

Coyote Bluff Cabin

Coyote Bluff has an outdoor hot tub, wood burning stacked stone fireplace. A wall of glass brings the dramatic mountain landscape into every room of this lodge. It’s our most contemporary cabin and has one of the best views on the property. It sits on 6 acres and has two full baths and sleeps up to 5 people with a king bed in the master bedroom and a queen bed and queen daybed upstairs in the unique L-shaped loft...

  • Maximum Capacity: 5
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King , 1 Queen , 1 Twin

Beardancer Cabin

Beardancer ( hot tub, wood burning stacked stone fireplace and on 6.5 acres that joins the wilderness) It sleeps up to five people and has two baths. There is a king bed in the downstairs bedroom and a queen, and twin bed upstairs in the loft. This cabin is very private with an outdoor hot tub on a separate deck off the covered rocking chair back porch...

  • Maximum Capacity: 5
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King , 1 Queen

Grandview Lodge Cabin

Grandview Lodge (hot tub, wood burning stacked stone fireplace and secluded on 9.5 acres)Only “spectacular” can convey the grandeur of this large cabin and its panoramic mountain view. It is spacious and inviting, with all the modern amenities in a mountain environment: four bedrooms, three baths, an outdoor hot tub, an indoor Jacuzzi tub, satellite television, DVD player, automatic dishwasher, and all the latest appliances. Gather around the great native rock fireplace that dominates the large sitting room for food, drinks, and good conversation or challenge a guest to a game of pool.

  • Maximum Capacity: 10
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 2 King , 2 Queen , 1 Double , 1 Twin

Raccoon Lodge Cabin

Raccoon Lodge (hot tub, wood burning stacked stone fireplace) is tucked away on a very private and secluded 6 & ½ acres that directly join the 135,000 acres of the Chattahoochee National Forest. Sleeps four people and features a staircase crafted from mountain laurel, a long bar and table hand built from old beams, and a steam room upstairs in the loft. This cabin sleeps four with a king bed downstairs in the master bedroom and a full Murphy bed upstairs in the loft with a regulation size pool table...

  • Maximum Capacity: 4
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King , 1 Double

Shanty Creek Cabin

Shanty Creek (hot tub, wood burning stacked stone fireplace and on 5 acres)is a cozy cabin for two that overlooks our small pond. It has a king bed in the loft bedroom and a fully equipped kitchen, stacked rock fireplace, and full bath downstairs on the main level...

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

Sassafras Ridge Cabin

Sassafras Ridge - (hot tub, wood burning stacked stone fireplace and on 6 acres)Songbirds and a lush green wilderness view greet you each morning from the porch of this new cabin. As you sit on your wide covered porch, you can hear the soothing sounds of the small stream that runs on the property.

  • Maximum Capacity: 4
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King , 1 Queen

Laurels Rest Cabin

Laurels Rest -(hot tub, wood burning stacked stone fireplace and on 6 acres) Listen to the sounds of a tiny creek’s cold water trickling over time-smoothed stones and a cool breeze whispering through graceful hemlock boughs as you rock thoughtfully on the back porch of this log cabin.

  • Maximum Capacity: 4
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King , 1 Queen

Windrush Cabin

Windrush was designed with a great amount of time and creativity with its high ceilings, tall windows, and skylights that frame a fantastic view of the Blue Ridge Mountains. One of the features that makes this cabin outstanding is the gorgeous view from its hot tub. It also has a wood burning stacked rock fireplace. It sleeps up to four with a king bed downstairs in the master bedroom and a queen bed upstairs in the loft...

  • Maximum Capacity: 4
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King , 1 Queen

The Prince Madoc...

The Prince Madoc... True Luxury! An inviting four-poster king size bed and large stone fireplace spell ease. An in-room spa tub provides therapeutic enhancements. Its private porch affords and eagle's view of the mountainous horizon. The private bath with oversized shower is just 2 steps across a small hall from your suite.(handicapped accessible) Off-Peak: $179 per night Peak: $209 per night

  • Maximum Capacity: 2
  • Bathroom Private Bath
  • Beds 1 King

Visit Website

Reviews

Overall
4.3

Write A Review

  • Guest room4.4
  • Services4.5
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
132 Reviews

Write A Review

Great Stay! Awesome staff!

5 on January 13, 2014

I surprised my girlfriend with the help of Kelly who was so helpful and had such great knowledge of the area. We had an amazing time at the Overlook Inn, the food was good and breakfast in bed was a great treat for both of us. A short hike and amazing views. We had a great time and would recommend and hope to come back very soon.


The Overlook Inn, I will stay again!!!

4.2 on October 31, 2013

My husband and I just stayed this past weekend October 26/27. What a great FALL getaway. I loved the view of the mountains with all the wonderful fall colors. Our room was very warm and inviting with a fireplace and comfortable bedding. Saturday morning we had a wonderful breakfast before we headed out to do some hiking on the nature trails in the area. The staff was great and we met some really nice people during the wine and cheese hour. We really enjoyed our stay and are planning to come back to try one of the cabins.


NOT CLEAN & VERY PRICEY NOT A 4.5 STAR INN

1.8 on October 20, 2013

I know you read reviews & take it with a grain of salt. This is my first review i have written. If i can save one couple from spending their hard earned money , then i have done a good thing.The pictures they have online are of the cabins, not a lot pictures of the Inn. We stayed at the Inn not a cabin. Most of these reviews are of cabins. This was our first & last stay at a B&B. The Inn's accomodations were like staying at a cheap hotel. For 3 nights $500.00 plus . There was cobwebs,mouse traps (comes w/mouse droppings),cheap mini blinds(that did not cover the windows)The floors have not been cleaned. There were no porch w/rocking chairs for our room ( FIELDSTONE) like you see online. The walls are very thin...(that means if your neighbors are talking or doing the dirty, you hear all!!!) NO TV in our room, and the bathroom across the hall has no shower head for shower, just dirty. The trails are overgrown, the building needs major repairs. And if you are spending the $500.00 plus for 3 nights not worth it. We even checked out a day early. If it wasn't for the apple festival & the staff that cooked breakfast on Saturday morning we would have left after 1 day. My husband spoke with the owner voiced his concerns and he said their was nothing he could do. He had no problem taking my money though.. And no refunds....WARNING THROUGHLY CHECK OUT OTHER REVIEWS OF THE INN BEFORE MAKING A BIG MISTAKE!!!!!

Innkeeper Response
The owners and staff at The Overlook Inn, work very hard to provide clean, comfortable, and quality accommodations so that each of our guests has an exceptional and restful stay while here. We are sorry your recent visit was disappointing and we appreciate your no-holes-barred remarks. We truly wish you had let us know, during your stay, that you were unhappy with your accommodations so that we could have addressed them immediately with our housekeeping and maintenance personnel. If we don’t hear of problems until after a guest checks out, we are unable to resolve the problems immediately and to a guest’s satisfaction. Please know that your comments have been taken to heart and addressed with our Innkeeper so that future guests will not experience the same issues. Since your stay was a last minute gift from a relative who also reserved the Fieldstone room for you, you probably did not get a chance to view the room on our website. If you visit our website, you’ll see that the photos are actually that of the Fieldstone Room and that we do not state that it has an in-room television or a rocking chair porch. We do state that the private bathroom is 2 steps across the hall (European style) and bathrobes are provided for your convenience. Our Inn is an old home and, occasionally, you may hear noise from another guest, but had we known of your discomfort, we would have discreetly addressed the noise level with the guests in the other room. Most of our guests love the social aspect of our Inn, the large jetted tub and gas fireplace in the Fieldstone Room, and many guests request a room with no television to truly get away from it all. Again, we apologize for your less than exceptional stay and we’re sorry you could not stay the third night. As we explained on the phone, we did issue a refund to the original purchaser’s credit card.


Coyote bluff cabin for christmas

4.4 on January 06, 2013

Fabulous service. A real getaway with great views of mountain in comfy, modern cabin


Coyote Bluff

3.6 on October 29, 2012

This is a beautiful property, the view is amazing! This is the second trip we have made to the Wilderness View Cabins. The only thing that will keep us from returning is the cost of the rental. It would be nice if there was a small discount for return customers or Facebook followers. We reserved this property after our May visit and it appeared as though there was a price change (increase) and that was of concern. Otherwise, we had a comfortable and beautiful visit.


View More Reviews

Location

Location Type

North Georgia Mountains, Countryside, Mountains

Airport

Atlanta, GA (ATL-Hartsfield Intl.) 90 miles

Area Attractions

Antique Shopping, Aquarium, Historical interests, Lake, National/State parks, Nature area, mountain biking, horseback riding, golfing, Lake Conasauga (Georgia's highest lake), white water rafting, the Chief Vann House, Outlet Stores, Picnic area, Bicycle riding trails, Bird watching, Fishing, Golfing, Hiking trails, Horseback riding, Horseshoes, Mountain Bike trails, Antique Shopping, Massage Services, Spa Services, Hiking Trails on Property, State Park, Sight-seeing, Whitewater Rafting

Inn Details

Establishment type

Bed and Breakfast, Other, Historic Inn

On-site amenities

Air conditioning, Board games, CD player, Computer, Conference Rooms, Copier, Desk, Fax Machine, Library, Piano, Satellite/Cable TV, Secretarial services, TV, Telephone, Videos, Wedding Facilities , Wireless Internet, Fireplace In-Room

Room amenities

Bath robes, Ceiling fans, Coffee/Tea facilities, DVD Player, In-room internet, Fireplace, Fridge, Hairdryer, Hot tub/whirlpool tub, Internet Service, Ironing Board, Private entrance, Radio, Turndown Service, Wi-Fi

On-site activities

Bicycle riding trails, Bird watching, Fishing, Golfing, Hiking trails, Horseback riding, Horseshoes, Mountain Bike trails, Antique Shopping, Massage Services, Spa Services, Hiking Trails on Property, State Park, Sight-seeing, Whitewater Rafting

Visit Website

Policies

  • Check In:: 3:00 pm
  • Check Out:: 11:00 am
  • Open All Year Round: No
  • Smoking Allowed: Limited
  • Drinking Allowed: Yes
  • Guest Pets Allowed: No

Terms and Conditions

  • Minimum Stay: One night minimum on weekdays. Two night minimum on weekends.
  • Deposit Amount Required: First night for deposit. Remaining balance taken 20 day prior to arrival.
  • Cancellations: 21 or more days in advance of stay - Deposit is refundable minus a $50 cancellation fee. 20 days or less in advance - deposit is non-refundable. Will be charged full rental amount unless we are able to re-book the room for the same time period with no discounts.

Innkeepers

Name(s)

Robert & Liz Coleman

Languages spoken

English

Resident Pets

About the innkeepers

Liz and I have a passion for destinations steeped in nature because we love to hike, bike and tour the countryside. We tend toward National Parks, off-the-beaten-path natural attractions, and areas with great biking and hiking paths. Our passion for the great outdoors led us to pursue the American Dream: to work hard doing what we loved and success would follow.

Visit Website

Meals

Breakfast

Full

  • Time Served: 9:00 am
  • Serving Location: Breakfast/dining area, Guest room

Special meal options

Low fat , Restrictive , Vegetarian , Allergies , Gluten Free`


Signature Dish

Banana Walnut Pancakes
Fireside Dinner Basket Includes: A first night pleaser! Includes Homemade Georgia Mountain Caviar, Seasonal Veggies, Buttery Fresh Baked Croissants, Boneless Lemon-Herb Chicken Breast or Blue Ridge Smoked Trout, complimentary bottle of wine, Cold Spring Water & Our Scrumptious Sweet Du Jour. $69.00


Recipes

Deals

Hot Deal

The Overlook Inn Summer Special

Regular Rate: $189 now $150 (21% Savings:)

Stay 2 or more nights at only $159 per night. Guest at The Overlook Inn sleep in richly appointed guest rooms each with a different personality and unique amenities, such as private porches, hot tubs, fireplaces, and each with a spectacular mountain view. Guest are invited for high tea daily. Complimentary Wine & Cheese available each evening. Please visit our web site www.theoverlookinn.com

expires Wednesday


Details

BedandBreakfast.com Diamond Collection

9420 Hwy 52 , Ellijay, GA 30705 USA (Show map)

Property highlights


Get a free $20 gift card with every gift card purchase of $100
Top