Tea Cakes Bed and Breakfast at Washington Park Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
33 Reviews

Write A Review

Outstanding

5 on June 21, 2012

Wonderful home, wonderful host. An outstanding B&B and will certainly visit again. Thank you very much. Loved it.


Tea cakes

3.4 on June 08, 2012

Warm welcome-lovely host -Nice clean rooms-neighbourhood could improve - subway good connection with center of Atlanta


Enjoyed our time at Tea Cakes

5 on February 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tea Cakes as we were traveling through the area by car. Karcheik's directions helped us find the bed and breakfast easily, and it's very close to downtown activities (we went to the World of Coke and Olympic Park). We didn't know what time we'd be arriving, so she texted back and forth with me and left keys for us in a lockbox. Karcheik was a very good host and breakfast was great. I would highly recommend Tea Cakes.


Good Times!

5 on February 15, 2012

Loved it! Clean spacious good food close to downtown Atlanta everything was perfect


This is an excellent B&B

4.4 on January 11, 2012

The room was excellent, the family was friendly, and we truly enjoyed our stay.


What a happy weekend!!

4.0 on January 10, 2012

My daughter and I spent Christmas weekend 2011 at Tea Cakes. What a delight!! Breakfast was always delicious and Karchiek, the owner was indeed a gem. The rooms were beautiful and in pristine condition. I strongly recommend Tea Cakes if you're looking for a getaway with the warmth and comfort of home.


An excellent place to discover Atlanta

4.0 on January 05, 2012

Tea Cakes B&B is conveniently located near downtown Atlanta. It's very close to the Georgia Dome and the Aquarium which can be accessed by driving or taking the MARTA subway. The train station is 2 blocks from Tea Cakes and I was on the train at 1:30 am on Dec 31 with no problems. My gracious host Karcheik is an excellent conversationalist and she prepares a delicious breakfast for the guests. I stayed in the DuBignon suite which has an in suite bathroom for more privacy. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom has a large bathtub and equally large glass panel shower with perfect water pressure. The neighborhood is very mixed with a large park 1 block away and I was able to drive by a home once lived in by Martin Luther King Jr and his family only a few blocks away. Tea Cakes is a perfect place for those looking for a place off the beaten path and it's a no brainer for anyone attending an event at the Georgia Dome or Phillips Arena. Thank you Karcheik ! The Storyteller ~


Fine

3.0 on October 09, 2011

Our stay was fine, but I chose this b&b based on its advertised breakfast offerings. Breakfast was fine, but the chef was out of town, so we ended up having ordinary fare. Good french toast, but not what I was expecting.


Fun time in Atlanta

4.0 on September 28, 2011

Came to see Wicked! and stayed at Teacakes. It was really great! The breakfast was very good. Parking right at the house. Karcheik the owner was really nice!


Amazing stay in Downtown Atlanta

5 on August 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I just recently celebrated our two year anniversary by staying at the Tea Cakes Bed and Breakfast and it was more than I could have ever expected. The room was beautiful, the service was top of the line, and the food was exceptional. I will be staying again and very soon.


Loved Teacakes!

4.2 on August 12, 2011

Excellent location! We parked our car for the week (free) and took the MARTA everywhere we needed to go.


Tea Cakes

4.2 on May 22, 2011

Karcheik and Joel are a great couple and excellent hosts, we very much enjoyed our conversations with them. The DuBignon Suite is lovely and the second floor porch makes it particularly inviting. Location is good for exploring historic Black Atlanta and Karcheik is ready with good recommendations.


One night enjoyed

4.8 on April 15, 2011

The breakfast was fantastic and the house decor was very beautiful.


An excellent stay

4.6 on March 24, 2011

Tea Cakes is a wonderful surprise close to downtown. The owner is very helpful, enthusiastic and energetic - a wonderful catalyst for the neighborhood and history in the city. She offers a very comfortable and clean place to stay close to MARTA and within walking distance of a nice park.


AWESOME 1st YR ANNIVERSARY

5 on February 13, 2011

How I came about this B&B was nothing less than a serendipitous event. My husband's nickname is actually Teacakes...something he received from his Grandmother. When I saw this online I immediately booked a reservation. The hospitality was hands-down AWESOME. Even thouhg we missed out on Ms Zelda, we shall meet again because this B&B will become a fixture in our annual anniversary celebration. The owner was as delightful as the decor was in the home. We enjoyed the breakfast......SWEET POTATO WAFFLE TO DIE FOR!!!! I am looking forward to recommending this establishment to EVERYONE that I know, if I haven't done it already! Noelle & Teacakes


The To-Go-To B&B

5 on December 20, 2010

Anyone who has not had the pleasure of being a guest at Tea Cakes B&B might want to add this destination establishment to her/his wish list: the accommodations- rise up to welcome you, the decor- on point, the hospitality- 2nd to none & the breakfast- oh so right! Tea Cakes is DEFINITELY now on my list of must-find-a-reason-to-go-back-to B&Bs (this is a very short list). Who wants a hotel room when you can have Tea Cakes?!?!


Lovely Owners/Hosts

3.6 on November 09, 2010

We stayed here to attend a family wedding and needed a lot of flexibility from our hostess at the B&B as our schedule was not our own. She helped us check in early and leave our luggage. She had called us when we originally reserved the room, to let us know that she noticed we had a 2 yr. old and had upgraded our room for free to another larger room that was more remote so our child would have more room to move around freely, if we would like that. We did, and it turned out to be an excellent room for our needs. Karchiek, our hostess, also was very personable and helpful in letting us know options for our child and the grandchildren we would be watching for the evening. She was just wonderful!


A great home away from home in Atlanta

3.2 on November 06, 2010

First of all, these generalized ratings need to be graded on a curve...I have very high expectations in lodging! That being said, my stay at Tea Cakes was perfect for a business trip, and I would recommend it as a good location for any travel if you like to be close, but not in the noise and crowds of a city like Atlanta. The property is very conveniently located near a MARTA (subway) station. The breakfast food outstanding and the coffee above average. The owner and the breakfast chef were so accomodating. There is a wonderful park and bikepath nearby if you need to excercise between the homemade sweet potatoe waffles. Minutes from downtown,tourist attractions, and the airport via MARTA. I did not need a car...which is a very good thing in Atlanta!


Warm and charming family B&B

4.0 on November 01, 2010

The owner is charming and willing to help in any question and wish.


Anniversay night away

3.4 on October 09, 2010

My husband and I stayed at TeaCakes for our one year anniversary. It would be been an outstanding stay if the owner's husband did not scare us by yelling at us as we entered the home. I understand your family lives there, but common courtesy would have been to introduce yourself instead of assuming we're intruders who just HAPPEN to have a key. Also, hearing a screaming child made us nervous, but the owner told us no one else would be in the house except for us. The situation was extremely awkward and we were tempted to waste the money we had already spent on the room and find another hotel. We chose to stay and decided that in the future we would not return to this B&B. The room is gorgeous and very clean, and the home is decorated beautifully! We didn't stay for breakfast the next morning, but I'm sure it was nice.


What a wonderful place to stay!

4.6 on August 31, 2010

My boyfriend's birthday surprise was a stay at this B&B. It was like a homecoming! The grounds were beautiful, the people were fabulous, and it was great to meet the other guests. Everyone was from different backgrounds and states / countries so we got to meet people we would normally not have had a chance to meet in such a relaxed setting. I recommend this urban B&B highly. Cannot say enough how glad I was to have chosen here for his surprise. Thank you for such a great stay!


Excellent Stay!!!

4.8 on August 14, 2010

I loved my stay there. The owner was wonderful, very personable and friendly, and her food was amazing!!! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.


Good to Great all the way

3.4 on September 18, 2009

Everything was anywhere from exactly what we expected to above average. Really felt like we were visiting friends with how friendly and fun everyone was (owner, innkeeper, and cook). The little dog Savannah was a cutie and a great greeter and fun to play with. The location was GREAT! The MARTA took us everywhere. The closeness to Publix supermarket and the restaurant Mr. Everything also made our stay there even sweeter (and yummier). Thanks again to you all!


home away from home

3.6 on March 31, 2009

This B & B was easily accessible to downtown Atlanta in a quiet neighborhood. Marta transportation within walking distance. Staff was very courteous and friendly. The home was clean. You could easily feel at home, although not your home at all.


A Great Place to Stay

5 on March 16, 2009

We highly recommend Tea Cakes Bed and Breakfast. It was excellent. It is close to a MARTA station, the rooms are perfect, the home is so welcoming, the owner and staff are outstanding. We had a great experience and would recommend it to all!


Wonderful place to stay

4.8 on February 22, 2009

We loved our stay at Tea Cakes. It is close enough to the major attractions in Atlanta, but still feels like a secluded getaway. The breakfast was wonderful...(Zelda is great company.) Our bed was made by the time we got back upstairs. The bed was so comfortable and the room was cozy. Everything is beautifully decorated. At night, it was quiet and peaceful. We were often the only ones in the house. I absolutely recommend this bed and breakfast!


The Perfect Rest!

5 on January 25, 2009

Tea Cakes Bed and Breakfast was a perfectly delightful getaway. My husband and I were traveling through Atlanta on our way to Dallas and decided to stop and take a rest. After reviewing several bed and breakfast locations in Atlanta we came across Karcheik (InnKeeper) at Tea Cakes Bed and Breakfast. She was so pleasant and accommodating on the phone we just had to stop. With no reservation, she opened the doors to the most wonderful Inn I have ever crossed. The Inn is beautifully decorated with soulful urban and African artwork. The rooms were softly illuminated with classic neo-soul music. The bedroom was luxurious complemented with soft linens and pillows. The bathrooms were SQUIKY CLEAN! The mornings were topped with a delicious breakfast and tea ensemble. We didn't want to leave and we will defiantly be back. Adiah


Southern hospitality at its best!

5 on January 06, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 18th anniversary at Tea Cakes B&B. We were greeted with a warm welcome after a long drive. Our stay in the DuBignon suite was excellent. The house is warm and welcoming. Zelda is an excellent chef and greets you in the morning with an awsome breakfast and good conversation. Karcheik, you are doing a fine job. We will see ya'll again!


Great Value

4.6 on May 13, 2008

Very nice Inn, situated in a quiet neighbourhood just 3 MARTA stops from downtown Atlanta, just a few more from the airport.We already felt at home and enjoyed our stay with Karcheik very much! The house is nicely decorated, room and bath very clean,complimentary softdrinks and wine. It's a great palce to stay in Atlanta!Thanks, Karcheik!


Like staying with a favourite relative

5 on February 29, 2008

Staying at Tea Cakes was a delightful experience. It was more like staying with a favourite relative than anything else. Breakfast was not just an excellent meal, it was also the occasion for interesting and far-ranging conversation with Karcheik, the hostess. The location is very pleasant and peaceful, but with a MARTA station minutes away, access to downtown Atlanta is quick and easy. I would unhesitatingly recommend Tea Cakes to anyone visiting Atlanta on business or for a holiday.


convient for conventions

5 on September 18, 2007

Great stay if you in town to attend a convention. SO convient Across from train station. Got to my convention in a few minutes. I didn't need my rental car. took the train every where. Great service and amenities at bed and breakfast. Loved the bed. I loved the bed sheets and the bathrobes were a nice touch. I didn't get a change to enjoy the full gourmet breakfast. The other guests raved about it. However, the innkeeper prepared a breakfast bag for me every morning that contained an egg/ cheese burrito, strawberry and yogurt parfait, a protein bar, and box of orange juice. Perfect. Great idea, too.


Loved It

5 on July 24, 2007

This was much more comfortable and personal than staying in a hotel. The breakfast was excellent(loved the strawberries). The robes were very plush and made us feel like a million bucks. My body sank into the bed when I laid on it. I have absolutely no complaints. The neighborhood is very quiet. The house was quiet too even though there were other guests during my stay. It was also very clean. I felt very welcomed; a home away from home. I would definitely stay here again!


Atlanta's Best Kept Secret

5 on July 01, 2007

This is by far, the BEST b&b in Atlanta. NO inn can compare with their amenities(Egyptian linen, high thread count, secluded deck surrounded by bamboo,excellent mattresses and service. I can go on and on. Oh,the french toast topped with whippes cream, pecan, organic peaches, and some sort of maple syrup. It is out of this world. I don't know what's in that sauce, but boy is it good. You also have to try Karcheik's creamy garlic grits and shrimp. If you are in town for a conference in the GWCC, you will love the convience of the MARTA across the street. My husband and I got to the convention center in less than 10 minutes. In fact, we didn't need to rent a car while in Atlanta. Coming from the airport to Tea cakes was a breeze. I have to say, I was a little concern with my surroundings when I first got off the train stop. I had to remind myself that I was in the city. But we walked to the bnb. Just like the website described, it is only a few yards away. And the neighbors, who's been in the community fo over 50 years were so pleasant. They directed me to Tea Cakes. One offered me an umbrella as it began to rain. The community is beautiful. I thought I was in Savannah. Before we departed, I took a swim twice at the indoor natatorium. Gosh, I wish I had brought my tennis shoes to play a game with my husband at the tennis center down the street. You will fall in love with Karcheik and Joel. We've made new friends in Atlanta.


Tea Cakes Bed and Breakfast at Washington Park

Details

  • Nightly Rate $100 - $175
  • Reviews (33) 4.4
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4049322245
  • Mobile 1-4049322245
Top