Stonehurst Place Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
96 Reviews

Write A Review

Stonehurst Place: A Fantastic Getaway

5 on July 17, 2014

Unbelievable rooms and gourmet breakfast. Very close to downtown ATL. We will be visiting again!


Awesome Stay-cation!!!

4.6 on June 28, 2014

Stonehurst was amazing! It was tranquil & relaxing. Paul, Lori, and the staff were so attentive and friendly. We will definitely be going back.


Best Bed & Breakfast in Atlanta

4.8 on June 25, 2014

Stayed here the night of my wedding. Perfect place to unwind from the hectic day and was also very romantic!


A wonderful first anniversary

4.8 on June 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights celebrating our first anniversary of marriage together and we could not have picked a better place! The hosts Paul and Lori were absolutely the best people you can find and the home is gorgeous. A lot of care to detail has been taken in about every aspect from the room (Hinman Suite) to the different sitting areas. Plus, it is right beside Midtown so everything is easily accessible but yet quite enough where you feel as though you are out in a more rural area. Overall a great experience for a first anniversary.


The BEST B&B in the ATL!

5 on June 11, 2014

There really are no words for the beauty contained within Stonehurst Place. Though nestled right in the heart of Midtown, stepping through the doors feels like an immediate escape from the sounds and business of the city. Stonehurst is the epitome of city luxury at its finest. Lori and Paul are two of the most outstanding hosts one could ask for. The rooms are BEAUTIFUL. The food is DELICIOUS. What more could one ask for? We will definitely be back soon!


The perfection

5 on June 01, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights. Paul and his wife are wonderful hosts. Everything was perfect, professional, and warm. The welcome, the food, the bedroom, the environment. We will definitely stay there if we happen to come to Atlanta again!


Amazing inn in midtown Atlanta

5 on February 16, 2014

Saw this listed on your Top Urban Inns and decided to give it a try. Wow! This is a lovely old home that has been beautifully restored with good-looking artwork, antique rugs and lovely furnishings in a very convenient location with many restaurants within walking distance. It was quiet, comfortable and sparkling clean (very important to me). We had a delicious breakfast each morning and also enjoyed the plentiful snacks always available. Paul and Lori were so helpful and made us feel at home. We can't wait to return.


Gorgeous bed and breakfast with incredible service!

5 on December 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stonehurst Place for two nights for my birthday. We couldn't have loved it more! The fireplace was cozy and the decor of our room (and the entire b and b) was in keeping with the period of the house. Paul and Lorie are delightful as well as attentive. Snacks, drinks were plentiful and breakfast was scrumptious and beautifully presented. We did not want to leave and have recommended it to everyone we know! We hope to stay again in the very near future.


Wonderful place

5 on October 18, 2013

We had a great time. Paul and Lorie, the hosts, were fantastic. The place is beautiful and so well kept. My only feedback is that I wish they had embraced the Pride festival and put up a rainbow flag outside like so many other homes did.

Innkeeper Response
Hi there, and thanks for taking the time to write a review and to let us know your feelings about our Gay Pride flag not being put up. You're absolutely right, and it's totally my fault. Paul and Lori started with Stonehurst Place in May, and I didn't think to let them know about our big Gay Pride flag and when we fly it. Rest assured, it will be up on Pride weekends from now on! Thanks for the feedback and for helping us improve! Warm regards, Barb


Truly unique.

5 on September 03, 2013

My Lady and i had a wonderful stay at the Stonehurst. Its a truly unique B&B, clean, beautifully decorated, well preserved. The staff is professional and very friendly. We really felt at home. We cant wait to return to the Stonehurst.


Absolute Heaven!

5 on August 21, 2013

We were expecting a cool new experience staying here, something different from a traditional hotel stay. We got so much more than we expected! The house, gardens, and rooms are absolutely beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious. The snacks were always tempting. And the people were a delight (we miss you Lori, Paul, and Ms. Jackie!). I'm forcing myself not to go into too many details about how warm, inviting, and downright impressive this establishment is, otherwise I'd never be quiet. If you're interested in staying somewhere that feels more like home, somewhere you can treat as part of your trip instead of just the place you happened to sleep, then this place is definitely for you. Give it a try - you'll be joining the chorus of praises for this place in no time.


25th Anniversary

5 on July 01, 2013

Mife and I spent two nights to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Everything was outstanding. Lori and Paul took care of everything! My wife commented on how at luxury hotels, every food and beverage item comes with a steep additional charge. At Stonehurst Place, everything you see is included, and you are encouraged to enjoy them! What a nice change.


Fabulous all around

5 on April 21, 2013

What's not to love? Stonehurst Place is beautiful and the decor impeccable. The staff was extremely hospitable and helpful. Breakfast was delicious - I enjoyed mine on the screened in porch. The short 10 minute walk to Piedmont Park was a nice surprise and great restaurants were only a 2 minute walk away. The rooms were very private and had I not seen the other guests, would never have known they were there. Parking was onsite at no cost. I can't wait to go back to Stonehurst for a longer stay!


Charming B&B

5 on September 02, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful inn on my birthday. There are not words to describe how beautiful and charming this place is. Decor, grounds, breakfast, hospitality - all beyond anything I expected.


Stonhurst Place Rocks!

4.6 on August 21, 2012

The Inn was well-appointed, fabulously restored and meticulously maintained. The Innkeepers were thoughtful and helpful. The rooms were ultra-clean and the public areas were plentiful and thoughtfully laid-out, we never felt like we were imposing on anyone's privacy, and everyone had plenty of space. This is a gem. Put it on your list without hesitation!


The most relaxing and delightful B&B!!

5 on July 04, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful two-night stay at Stonehurst Place. Everything about Stonehurst is just perfect, and we were truly sorry to leave. It is not your typical B&B. We have already booked our next visit!


Stonehurst: None better!

4.8 on June 15, 2012

Our stay at Stonehurst greatly exceeded any expectations we had! The entire house is immaculately decorated and cleaned while feeling cozy and so much like home. Caroline, with her quick-witt and Southern charm, is perfectly suited to Stonehurst. Her food was scrumptious every morning and we enjoyed many great conversations with her. We feel so lucky to have stumbled upon this amazing place tucked away in beautiful Atlanta! KC & Lindsey


Beautiful home and great breakfast!

5 on June 05, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Stonehurst! It was located in a very fun part of Atlanta with a great night life and plenty of restaurants. My husband and I just enjoyed walking through piedmont park which was only a couple of blocks away. The breakfast couldn't have been better and hopefully we can make it back again soon for a longer stay next time. Highly recommend!


Lovely!

5 on June 04, 2012

Excellent rooms, friendly service, and yummy breakfast. Loved the location, the ambience, and the beautiful vintage feel to it. Would DEFINITELY stay here again and again. Worth every penny!


Wonderful Experience

4.4 on May 08, 2012

Stonehurst Place was undoubtedly the best bed and breakfast stay I've ever experienced. The entire home was beautifully and luxuriously furnished. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and the bed felt like laying on a cloud in my imagination. Caroline and Gary were charming and unobtrusive hosts, providing sumptuous Southern-style breakfasts. We enjoyed our stay so much that we intend to return, perhaps the next time we drive to Florida.


Enjoyable

5 on December 22, 2011

The stay were so wonderful. The atmosphere were so relaxing. Very peace and quiet. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were excellent. You would have your own space. If you need a place to getaway from your problems or somewhere just for some peace and quiet, Stonehurst is the place. Can't wait to go back.


A Great Night Away

4.6 on December 06, 2011

My husband and I choose to stay here for a night away the week before Thanksgiving and had a wonderful experience. The attention to detail was outstanding. We were even greeted with hot from the oven lemon bars! I would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Atlanta.


Fell in love stayed in love

5 on December 05, 2011

Our stay at Stonehurst Place was beyond belief! I was warm and inviting. The Inn Keeper and Owner were a delight, I felt like we were visiting with family friends. My husband and I had reservations for dinner and tickets for the Botanical Gardens and had to tear ourselves away from the inn. We can't wait to get back there, this time we won't leave!


By Far The Best B&B!!!

4.8 on October 21, 2011

Loved Loved Loved this B&B!!! My husband and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary here and enjoyed ourselves so much, we plan to go back every year for our special day! Our room, The Master Suite was exquisite, the inkeepers Gary and Caroline were warm and hospitable and the breakfast Caroline prepared was divine! Can't say enough about this excellent and elegant B&B!!!


PURE LUXURY

4.8 on October 06, 2011

I am so glad we decided to stay at Stonehurst Place to celebrate my 70th Birthday. It was so special. The decor in all the rooms was outstanding. We stayed in the Farnsworth Suite which was very nice. The bed was really comfortable. I loved the chandelier in the dining room. We had two excellent gourmet breakfasts cooked by Caroline who is a great cook. She also made some very good hor dourves and a lemon pie. You could have coffee or tea any time and there were always some nuts and granola bars in the front sitting room. Caroline and Gary were very helpful about all our inquiries. They gave some good recommendations on restaurants in the area. I can't wait to go back for a visit. Stonehurst Place is pure luxury.


Oh, boy, where do I begin?

5 on October 06, 2011

My party and I occupied the two suites on the top floor on Oct. 7. Wow. What an incredible experience. The mansion is immaculate, each suite has its own unique, special feel. The bedding is luxurious and I guarantee you'll have a good night's sleep -- even though you're in the heart of Midtown! The property's owner does her best -- at great expense -- to make the inn earth-friendly. Thanks you, Barb, for that! Innkeepers Caroline and Gary are exceptional hosts and Caroline's morning breakfast is to die for. Her meals are all prepared to order, fresh and delicious. You won't stop at just one cup of coffee. There's a sense of sadness when it's time to turn over the room key ... only to smile when driving away, remembering the perfect evening at the perfect urban getaway.


Stunning Stonehurst Place in Atlanta

5 on October 06, 2011

Stayed overnight with friends to celebrate my birthday. Stonehurst, located in mid-town Atlanta, is one of the finest B&Bs I have stayed at in this country. The rooms are really mini-suites complete with warmed floors in the bath, towel warmers and huge showers. The entire property is well cared for and very clean and the service is outstanding. Breakfast was amazing with a variety of dishes available. The Eggs Benedict were delicious!!


Excellent BB in Midtown Atlanta near GT campus

5 on October 04, 2011

I have stayed at several BB's over the last 15 years and this one really stands out for its excellent service and nice furnishings BUT the most important aspect of this BB to me is Carolyn and her husband who go to great lengths to make sure your stay is perfect. My daughter is a student at GT and lives just around the corner from this convenient BB - so suffice to say I have found my home away from home for the next two years!! Can't wait to get back to Atlanta for another of Carolyn's wonderful Breakfast's - and she made my mouth water describing several of her other favorite recipes to cook - and I myself am going to request on one of my future visits the Egg's Benedict which she is a dish that she is apparently highly recognized for. The two rooms that I have stayed in at this beautiful BB have been immaculate and the room amenities have been 2nd to none - all the way to the phone charger device that had an appropriate receptacle for just about any cell phone type known to man. Stay here and I assure YOU will NOT be disappointed. Scott in Silverhill, AL


Beautiful night in the City!

4.2 on July 18, 2011

We were looking for a night in Atlanta to enjoy ourselves. Stonehurst Place was beautiful. We loved the room and the whole house. Caroline was so sweet and her breakfast was amazing!


Not what I expected in a great way!

4.6 on June 12, 2011

This place is nothing like a hotel. The inn keepers show you genuine hospitality. I really could not find anything I didn't like about this house. My girlfriend and I stayed in the gables suite. The bed was soooooo comfortable and the shower is huge with SIX shower heads! This suite even had an extra room which was decorated very well but we didn't have any use for it. We sat in the second room and just read through the books and took ideas for decorating our own home in the future because it was so nice. The house has other rooms to enjoy, but we were glued to out room because it was so cozy. We didn't hear anybody else in the house when we were in our room. My favorite things about my stay were the bed, the shower, and the breakfast! The breakfast was delicious. Home made waffles and sage sausage. We also had this grapefruit with brown sugar and some sort of glaze heated up, o boy. I don't even like grapefruit, but that one was scrumptious. I also don't even write reviews, but for this place I had to. There are a lot more things to appreciate in this house but I like the simple things. Just my opinion


Historical & impeccable, comfortable grandeur.

4.8 on May 16, 2011

Everything was excellent - beautiful inside and out. From the moment you drive up the manicured driveway you are treated to high quality at every turn. Landscaping was inspiring, as was the fact that this home is a historical landmark. The bathroom in my room, the Farnsworth, was just remodelled and pristine. The bed was probably the ...most comfortable I've been in - those SHEETS! I loved the fact that they took care to be as green as possible, but without sacrificing the feeling of luxury. The descriptions of the decor (tidbits about photos on the wall, chandeliers, etc) made you aware of the attention to detail. I loved the gourmet breakfast (crab egg benedict) and the treats available in almost every room. Location was perfect for me. I highly recommend this BnB and hope to stay there again.


Exceptional Service, Great Location & Beautiful Property

5 on April 01, 2011

This is deffinately not you typical B&B. The Inn Keeper is warm and informative and just socialable enough to make you feel welcomed. The amenities are excellent and the food exceeded my expectations. The decore is a well placed balance between modern luxury and classic stylings. I would highly recommend this as the place to stay in midtown!


Incredible

5 on March 20, 2011

This b&b was absolutely breathtaking and words can not describe it properly. My husband and I stayed in the Hinman Suite and it was everything and more. The staff was friendly and very helpful and made the stay even better. The decor was exquisite and every room in the b&b was to perfection. The bedding was beautiful and unbelievably soft especially the sheets which I purchased at a very reasonable price. My husband and I will definitely return to Stonehurst when we visit Atlanta again.


Best bed~n~breakfast we've ever stayed in!

5 on March 12, 2011

I surprised my husband by reserving this place for our 16th anniversity and I'm glad I did! This place is "WOW!"....very relaxing....beautiful! I wish we could stay a little bit longer! All of their suites are beatiful! We stayed in Gable suite...loved it! There are things to do nearby so a perfect place to stay! Breakfast is great too!


Best birthday treat EVER!

5 on January 24, 2011

Our 2-night stay at the Stonehurst was the best birthday treat I could have given myself. The place was gorgeous, comfortable and so convenient to just about anything you want to do in midtown Atlanta. The breakfasts we to die for and the inn keepers were very friendly and beyond helpful. We got the best suggestions for dinner. We highly recommed it and will come back first chance we get.


Absolutely perfect wedding night

4.8 on December 22, 2010

The place is beautiful, the people are friendly, and the breakfast is fantactic. We picked Stonehurst because it was a historic place and hope it will remain standing for years to come so we may return for anniversaries.


atlantas best kept secret

4.6 on December 21, 2010

The place was beautiful.Very tastfully decorated and spaces. The hosts were very friendly and attentive. I will definitley be staying again when I,m in Atlanta


Best Writing Assignment - Ever.

5 on December 17, 2010

Finding the best places in town is my job, literally - I'm Atlanta's City Sleuth. When I got the writing assignment for Stonehurst, I was excited but anticipating the typical florals eco-friendly soaps that would leave my skin more rough than those post-consumer product coffee cup cozies. My my, how wrong was I! The heartwarming, hilarious innkeeper greeted me with a smile and witty banter while I twirled around in awe of the book-bedecked foyer. My room - the master suite - was the perfect blend of contemporary and old soul. It was here that I met my latest crave: 1200 thread-count Egyptian cotton/bamboo blend sheets! It was in the luxurious bathroom that I finally found my holiday spirit. Scrooge himself couldn’t resist my moonlit, Christmas-scented bubble bath in that air jet tub, a little jazz, a glass wine and the toasty towel. Stunningly still, the organic, eco-friendly soaps and lotions left my skin with a pre-Winter smoothness my typical products could never deliver. A favorite facet were the original pieces of artwork found throughout. Authentic Wegmen, Warhol, Chihuly and more are unassumingly placed on seemingly sporadic walls, allowing guests to engage and interact with the works without being overwhelmed. Now for my personal passion, the breakfast. Made-to-order by the innkeeper herself, the menu changes daily, but is always a coursed affair. Greek yogurt and fresh fruit parfaits drizzled in honey was my appetizer, followed by pumpkin-cranberry-pecan waffles and the best bacon known to humankind. To drink, there was juice and organic coffee with fresh cream. She even does gluten-free! Amazingly, Stonehurst is fully EarthCraft-certified. Implementing rainwater harvesting, solar panel hot water heaters and grey water collection proves this B&B has both beauty and brains. Simply put, I'm absolutely smitten with Stonehurst Place Bed & Breakfast! By far, exploring this gem has become my favorite writing assignment of all time.


The BEST bed and breakfast we have ever been to! We will definitely go back.

5 on November 12, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast is perfect for business or leisure. The innskeepers are excellent! Perfect amount of interaction and very informative. The rooms are beautiful, the bed was very comfortable, and not enough words are in the english vocabulary to describe the Bathroom amenities! We had an excellent time and will definitely be going back the next time we visit Atlanta. We would not hesitate to recommend this Bed and Breakfast to everyone we know!


First Time Experience

4.4 on October 26, 2010

Stonehurst Place was my first bed & breakfast experience. It was absolutely amazing! The house was very warm and welcoming, which gave me a very relaxing feel. The room just enhanced that feeling. I literally sank into the bed and pillows. It was really that comfortable and cozy. The hospitality as well as the food exceeded my expectations. I will definitely be visiting again!


Stonehurst

5 on October 19, 2010

The loveliest home with the most charming of hosts. Everything you could want from Southern hospitality. Outstanding breakfast !


An Engagement To Remember...

5 on September 28, 2010

I chose Stonehurst Place as the perfect place to propose to my girlfriend (based on the picture that I've seen of the place). I was not disappointed! My soon-to-be fiancee was immediately greeted by Rebecca (who was the innkeeper on duty at the time) and given a tour of the house and offered cake and/or a beverage. We were led to our room (The Gables) and IMMEDIATELY sunk into the bed (easily one of the most comfortable that I've been on). The room was spacious and beautiful, the decorations were fantastic... it was the perfect place for me to pop the question. After an eventful night, my newly-minted fiancee and I got up for breakfast and the food was great (a quiche, parfait, biscuit, coffee, juice, and sausage). I was served exactly the right amount of food. I loved Stonehurst and can't wait to come back some day!


More than Splendid

5 on September 21, 2010

I thoroughly recommend this if you're looking for somewhere peaceful, relaxing, where you can really enjoy your stay. The property is lovingly maintained and boasts a flourishing, natural landscape. The accommodations are beyond beautiful. The renovations brought back the home’s original architectural fine points with gorgeous decorative touches mixed in throughout the entire property. The artwork, the woodwork, the widows, the fireplaces…everything was splendid to look at and enjoy. The location is within walking distance to shops, dining and Piedmont Park. My husband and I, and our two beagle girls had a lovely 1st floor room. Caroline prepared the most delectable breakfast and we enjoyed the afternoon hors douvers and in the evening delicious home baked yummies. We spent evenings on the screened back porch with nearby family and mornings on the front porch watching the squirrels and bright red cardinals in the lush front yard. I’m relaxed just thinking about Stonehurst Place. We can’t wait to go back.


Just a great place to stay

5 on September 07, 2010

When I travel I prefer staying in B and Bs. Stonehurst Place is by far one of the top three I've ever been a guest in. I used the Gables suite. It was beyond comfortable and the huge, multi-head shower made me wish mightily that I'd brought someone with me to share it with. Along with the shower and the great breakfasts and the wonderful sitting room that was part of the suite, which I used for entertaining a couple of guests, another great attraction of Stonehurst Place was the really interesting and bright people I had breakfast with each morning. If you take the time to just say "hello" and introduce yourself, you'll find people whose company you will enjoy. Add one further point. Your host and hostess at Stonehurst Place make you really feel like a guest rather than a job they have to do.


Highly Recommended

5 on September 03, 2010

I had to be in Atlanta for work on Friday and the following Monday. So I invited my wife along for a mini vacation. Atlanta is a great place to visit with many cultural sights and great restaurants. What made the long weekend though, was staying at Stonehurst Place. The house is charming in and of itself. The attention to details, the service, the personal attention and the scrumptious breakfasts, made by the hostess Caroline made this trip not only memorable but a bargain at that.


Gorgeous, green oasis

5 on August 17, 2010

My husband and I relished our stay in the Gables Suite. The gourmet breakfasts (and snacks!) were filling, the service attentive but not intrusive, the efforts to conserve resources inspiring, and the decor inspired. The setting is park-like, and I imagine it's particularly gorgeous in the fall and spring. Stonehurst Place was the perfect place to spend our first anniversary.


Stonehurst Place

5 on August 12, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay! My husband and I spent 3 lovely days with Trenelle and enjoyed every minute. The decor was classic and elegant with no detail left out. The breakfast was exquisite made fresh every morning-my favorite was the shrimp frittata with fresh spinach! We stayed in the Hinman suite and never slept better! We would have loved to take the room back to our home! Trenelle was a wonderful hostess. Always checking to see if we needed anything and even made us an extra pot of coffee long after breakfast was over. We could have not asked for a more warm, welcoming, and beautiful place to spend in Atlanta! Thanks so much to Barb and her staff! Melanie, Columbus Ohio


great place to stay

4.8 on July 31, 2010

Great place to stay in Atlanta. Very romantic ambiance in the middle of a big city. Nice rooms. Great hospitality. A lot off refreshments, coffee, tea, coockies and a FANTASTIC Chocolatecake. Very nice Innkeepers who can tell you a lot about Altanta. Free parking. We recommend this Inn very very much. We had a wonderfull stay.


An amazin Hotel. An Amazing Experience

4.0 on July 30, 2010

We were driving around Atlanta (Midtown Area) looking for a small and unique hotel to spend the night and we found this beautiful renovated house. We got inside the house and the renovation was wonderful. We looked at the rooms available and we decided to stay at the Master Room on the second floor. It was great! the room, the bathroom, the shower, the tub... everything was just perfect. It is a very nice place to stay at and to visit if you are in the area.


Absolutely outstanding

5 on July 27, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about Stonehurst Place. This was my first stay here and I have stayed at countless B&B's across the country--this is among, if not the best I have ever stayed at. The location is excellent, the individual and common rooms are exquisitely decorated (the attention to detail even goes down to the linens and settings at the breakfast table), the grounds are beautifully designed and kept, the food is excellent (there are goodies and beverages in the common rooms) and everyone is friendly. The free, safe parking in back was a very nice bonus. This will definitely remain my place to stay whenever I'm in Atlanta.


Wonderful B&B

4.4 on June 24, 2010

I stayed at this B&B while in Atlanta for pleasure. The location was great, in the heart of Midtown. There were many great places to eat (dinner) within walking distance. My room was AMAZING and very comfortable. I didn't want to get out of the bed. Breakfast was GREAT!!! I also had good company with the other guest at B&B; it was great that we were all able to be friendly with one another. I will be back again!!!


The Best Kept Secret In Atlanta...

5 on June 24, 2010

Upon arriving to the B&B I was swept away instantly. This sensational craftsmen style home from the 1940's has been completly transformed into a beautiful cross between old beauty and modern flash. You will find stunning wood work, original floors & fire places along with sexy fixtures, chandeleirs and Andy Warhol works of art. Caroline begins your day with a delicious home made breakfast that leaves you excited for tomorrow! End your night with a plate of brie and crackers or a delicious lemon coconut cupcake! It was a dream and I cannot wait to return...If you are lucky you may even get to meet Barb, the owner, whom is a world traveler that is warm and inviting.


Wonderful experience

5 on June 14, 2010

Our stay at this inn was amazing. It is such a peaceful and elegant getaway in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Atlanta.


Ultimate Luxury!

5 on May 24, 2010

What a great find... A little bit of Heaven right in the heart of Midtown! The amenities are beyond what words or even the pictures can portray. What is truly exceptional about this place however, is the Innkeeper Caroline and her amazing culinary skills. The expectations of even the most finicky traveler will be exceeded at Stonehurst place. I almost don't want to write this review in fear that everyone will find out about it and it will be all booked up next time I'm in town.


BEST B&B EVER !!!

5 on April 22, 2010

Stonehurst Place was a fabulous guest experience. I will stay there every time I visit Atlanta. It is more luxurious than any 5 star hotel. The style, the quality, the service, the amenities, the breakfast, the location---it has it all !!!


A Step Back in Time

5 on March 27, 2010

An historic home, restored to its original charm with an "eco-green" twist. Stayed here for our anniversary and will go back again. The common areas were beautiful and our room (we stayed in the Hinman Suite) included a coal-burning fireplace and beautiful antique furniture. Our bathroom had heated marble floors, a towel warming rack, beautiful bathtub and a shower with three heads and more square footage than most bathrooms. The hostess, Caroline, served an outstanding breakfast in the beautifully restored dining room. Her warm southern charm had us laughing and talking with all the guests. This is a place you want to go again.


Absolutely Wonderful

5 on March 21, 2010

Our stay at Stonehurst Place B&B was a wonderful experience! It truly is a historical gem located in Midtown, Atlanta. Homemade refreshments were served all day, and Caroline's gourmet breakfast was completely amazing! I enjoyed the much needed rest on the dreamy ultra-comfortable bed. The weekend was perfectly relaxing and a wonderful memory. I will definitely return for another stay at Stonehurst Place.


Amazing Experience..A Must Stay!

5 on March 09, 2010

I just attended a national conference in Atlanta and wanted to stay someplace away from the hustle and bustle. I am so glad I chose Stonehurst Place. It was amazing. The decor and architecture was beautiful. The rooms were so warm and the beds were beyond comfortable. Caroline was our innkeeper and she was exceptional. She gave me a big hug when I arrived and made us feel like family. The breakfasts were incredible. Watch out Paula Dean! I can't wait to return, it was such a wonderful experience. -Stevie M. Davidson President & CEO Health Informatics Consulting


enjoyed our stay

5 on March 02, 2010

Me and my wife stayed her on the 19th and 20th of February. We stayed in the master suite which was beautiful. It had a small office area, flat screen TV. , an I pod deck, when played it plays trough out the room and bathroom. The bed was comfortable, I didn’t want to get out of it. The best thing about the room is the bathroom which had a deep soaking tub, the very very large shower room, walk in closet, double sink, and heated floors. This is the most luxurious bed and breakfast I’ve been too so far. It’s located in midtown ATL. So it was walking distance to just about everything. Last but not least breakfast was aaaaaaawsome and the inn keeper was very helpful and polite.


Post-Valentine getaway

4.0 on February 19, 2010

It was amazing!!! Thanks Gary and Miss Caroline sooo much for being so nice and fast! The Master suite was beautiful and made us feel like we needed to change our entire bedroom! Bathroom was so relaxing and comfortable I didn't want to leave! We will definitely return and I have recommended your B&B to my sister! Thanks again! Bennecia & Randy


A Southern Paradise

5 on February 18, 2010

Recently my Wife and i spent four nights at the Stonehurst Place. Webster's Dictionary should define "Charm and Southern Hospitality" as the Stonehurst Place. The rooms are extremely comfortable, decorated with period furniture and contain a gas fireplace. The breakfasts are excellent. The location, within downtown Atlanta, close to main attractions and great restaurants, is fabulous. We definitely SHALL return for a Spring visit.


Heaven in midtown Atlanta!

5 on January 24, 2010

I am a very frequent business traveler and happen to thoroughly revel in a great hospitality experience when I have one! Stonehurst Place is an example of impeccable restoration paired with modern convenience and luxury. I was absolutely blown away by the beauty and comfort of the design and furnishings of the common spaces as well as my guest room - not to mention the delicious linens on my bed! The innkeepers are very attentive and exuded the kind of warmth that made me feel like I was visiting an old family friend! Breakfast is not the typical homemade blueberry muffin and coffee that you get at most Inns. It is a 2 course event - for example: fresh fruit salad and mini cinnamon buns followed by eggs benedict! Finally, the location is terrific. There are many great restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance - and a book store. And, listen up Atlanta business travelers - free wireless and parking! How can you beat that!


what a great find!

4.2 on January 14, 2010

Awesome location....great room...love that you can control your own climate...breakfast was off the charts! Thanks...We'll be back.


Home away from home

4.4 on January 08, 2010

Stonehurse Place was fantastic. I was only there for one night with my boyfriend for his Christmas gift, but it was an amazing stay. We stayed in the Hinman which was cozy and warm and really inviting. The staff was ever so helpful, pleasant to be around and very inviting. It was great to have such lovely amenities which allowed us to fully relax and enjoy our evening. I would LOVE to come back when I'm passing through Atlanta again, and would suggest anyone I know looking for a relaxing stay to consider Stonehurst. The only thing I wished for while I was there were plush slippers to go with my soft robe! Other than that, lovely lovely. Warm and inviting, I'd love to move in!


Home Away from Home

5 on November 18, 2009

We decided to do a stay-cation and Stonehurst was perfect! The service was great - from the welcome to the fairwell. The welcome snack and beverage was cute. Our room was perfect and we are definitely going back to experience some of the other rooms. Breakfast was perfect and served with a smile!!! We had a wonderful time all around - it felt like we were away although we were about 20 miles from our home.


A romantic getaway while staying in the city!

5 on August 29, 2009

This was one of the most relaxing and romantic trips of my entire life. The innkeepers catered to my requests without hesitation. The breakfast was absolutely phenomenal. And how can I forget? Stonehurst Place is made to utter perfection!


Great Urban B&B

4.6 on August 24, 2009

Great place. Quiet, relaxing. Walking distance to great restaurants, city park, public transit, as well as the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. Eco-conscious as well, with facilities in place to recycle/filter gray water to toilets, as well as solar panels on the roof. Trenell was super wonderful and friendly too. We had a wonderful stay! Highly recommended.


A First-Class Urban B&B

5 on August 24, 2009

Conveniently located in mid-town Atlanta, Stonehurst Place provides outstanding accommodations and lodging for individuals traveling on business or pleasure. Gracious hospitality, attention to detail,spacious suites with top-notch bathrooms, a bountiful and delicious breakfast, wonderful porches and common areas for relaxing, plus an impressive utilization of “green lodging” initiatives contribute to making Stonehurst Place an upscale bed and breakfast inn that is sure to please the most discerning traveler. I recommend it whole-heartedly! Maxine Pinson Associate Editor, BedandBreakfast.com


Fantastic!

5 on August 11, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. The house is fabulous. You get that warm glow of knowing you've made a great decision when you arrive and see it. The rooms are beautiful (although next time I'd go for one of the fancier upstairs rooms), clean and well equipped (although we had a "noisy" newly engaged couple next door on the third night!). The lounge is luxurious with books, snacks, drinks etc. The breakfast was tremendous.. a real treat every day and kept us going until evening! The location is great too... not far to a MARTA for getting around, and walking distance to lots of great restaurants. Trenell is a gem, and made us extremely welcome. We felt quite attached to her after only a couple of days! Book it!


Atlanta's Midtown Gem

5 on July 30, 2009

Our stay at Stonehurst could only have been improved by extending it. We loved th house. The decor and architectural touches are great. It is obvious that a lot of love has been put into it. Trenell is a gem. She took care of our every need and the breakfasts were wonderful. The house was quiet and comfortable and we felt like it was our private oasis. The neighborhood is wonderful, everything we needed was within walking distance or reachable by MARTA. We did not touch the car while we were there. The Piedmont suite was very elegant and comfortable. It would be a fitting bedroom for Rita Hayworth or Marlene Dietrich. Perhaps christmas with Rita will be our theme for this holiday season.... We will definitely be staying at Stonehurst whenever we visit Atlanta.


Simply Amazing

5 on July 04, 2009

Generally speaking, my wife and I tend to lean towards boutique hotels; however, Stonehurst Place was able to provide our typical boutique experience with the personal feel of staying someone's home. Simply put- wonderful experience. Upon arriving, Ms. Trenell Smith, the inn keeper, presented us with some refreshments and proceeded to give us the grand tour. The photos available on this website are quite nice but really don't do the space justice- the light coming in, the bookshelves of reading material, the historic photos, the art, the design and attention to detail... I could go on and on. To sum up- this is probably the best experience and value I've ever had staying anywhere, and I will be returning to Stonehurst Place every time I visit Atlanta.


Atlanta's gem!!

5 on July 01, 2009

From the moment you walk into Stonehurst it becomes very clear what a special home away from home Barb and Trenell have created. Stonehurst exceeded my expectations - the deatails in architecture, decor and all the extra comforts are amazing - all paralelled by stellar service. It is obvious that both Barb and Trenell love what they do. I truly felt right at home. To have this level of service, and to know that within all of this is a green consciousness makes Stonehurst Place the go to for myself,family and friends. I can't imagine anyone choosing to stay in an Atlanta hotel over staying in Stonehurst Place.


The Best Kept Secret in Atlanta!

4.6 on June 23, 2009

Stonehurst Place infuses old world charm with a contemporary touch. Elegant and stylish decor throughout; welcoming and gracious staff; delectable meals - all created a lasting memory of a beautiful weekend! I will surely return.


Business Trip and more

5 on June 13, 2009

I stayed at Stonehurst Place for a recent business and personal trip to Atlanta. It was one of the most relaxing, enjoyable experiences I have had. I can’t pick one favorite feature - the amazing décor, top of the line…everything (linens, furniture) and Trenell’s amazing breakfasts!! Plus, the inn is “green”: greywater recycling, the solar heated water and irrigation supplied entirely with harvested rainwater. I stayed in the Piedmont room which made me feel like I stepped into Hollywood during the 1940’s. It was deliciously luxurious and I would highly recommend a stay at this gem of an inn – whether it is for business or a special occasion like a proposal or anniversary.


Friendliest intown B&B ever

5 on June 12, 2009

Yes Stonehurst is a beautiful B&B with nice rooms, but what really makes this place special is how warm and friendly this place is. They have a great energy and warmth that will help you smile while you relax.


Great attention to detail

4.4 on June 04, 2009

Great mid-town location, clean, quiet, beautiful.


Wonderful experience!

4.0 on June 03, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Stonehurst. Trennell made us feel very welcome and was a wealth of information on what to see and do. She is also an incredible cook. Our room rivaled one at the best boutique hotels in NYC. Thank you for a wonderful experience.


Love It!

5 on June 01, 2009

Beautiful building, beautiful interior design, clean, quiet, romantic, friendly, excellent location, and great Innkeeper!


A wonderful retreat in mid-town

4.0 on May 27, 2009

Stonehurst Place was a wonderful retreat for my wife's birthday weekend with easy access to mid-town Atlanta, a wonderfully friendly and attentive staff, and a remarkable commitment to the environment. Highly recommended.


ideal- modern, classic, eco-friendly, extremely comfortable

4.6 on May 25, 2009

We spent a few days of our honeymoon here- the best spot we picked by far! The location is great; and we adore the style, architecture, and art the owner used in its restoration; and we greatly appreciate their positive green efforts! The innkeeper was extremely friendly and accommodating, & were happy to meet requests to make our stay special. we'd love to return.


Heaven In Atlanta

5 on May 25, 2009

If you are looking for the quintessential "Atlanta Experience" for your out-of-town guests look no further! In fact, there are few high quality B&Bs in the middle of the city, so this inn is all the more unique. Stonehurst carefully creates a total experience for guests. Rarely have I seen such a calibrated combination of high style, comfort, southern hospitality and delicious food. The location, in the heart of old Midtown (a quick stroll from Peachtree Street and Piedmont Park) is fantastic, and the property is gorgeous. Imagine yourself staying at a fine old mansion set high off the street beneath a canopy of huge trees. Imagine yourself sitting on the large front porch with friends, looking toward the old homes across the street and the skyscrapers beyond. This is Atlanta "intown" accommodation at its finest. If you're looking for a thoroughly cosmopolitan atmosphere, Stonehurst is the "one and only". 6 stars from me.


Best of the Best - Elegant, Beautiful, Eco-friendly, Luxurious, Comfortable.

5 on April 02, 2009

We have stayed at some of the best bed and breakfasts in the country, and Stonehurst is the one by which we compare them all. We loved the shower with multiple heads, the big bath tub, heated floors, soft robes, and comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious and presented beautifully. The whole place is worth spending time walking around and enjoying the way it has been decorated - a unique place that is perfect for someone who wants to stay in a luxurious setting and enjoy great service. So many bed and breakfasts look like grandma's house... which is fine, but not Stonehurst - the elegance of Stonehurst combines such lovely design aspects, both modern and vintage, that both of us felt very comfortable and pampered. This would be a great place to get married! The location is great - in a safe and pretty neighborhood, just off the main drag, so it feels "tucked away" but it is really right in the middle of anywhere you'd want to be in the Atlanta area. As far as bed and breakfasts go, this is our favorite. We love that is has eco-friendly, green aspects, too. That is important to us. For the price, Stonehurst is a great deal. We've stayed at more expensive places that don't compare in the least - this is a much better deal.


Truly a place you can call home!

5 on March 16, 2009

I first found Stonehurst Place when trying to locate accommodations nearby a scheduled meeting I had in Midtown. My second visit...and all future visits will be because there is no place that compares. I travel over 100 days a year; the Stonehurst Place is just like home (and some ways better because everything is done for you!). From the minute I walked into the house, the aromas and ambience encapsulated me. Trenell, the hostess is so gracious and welcoming. Her middle name must be "hospitality" because she is always steps ahead of the guest, exceeding every expectation. And talk about exceeding my expectations...breakfast is a treat; always a fresh, tasty and unique experience. Whether for a full table of guests or just one, you are treated like royalty. The entire house is a showpiece. I call it a combination of classics and contemporary. Each room, which I saw them all, is beautifully appointed with antiques and classic furnishings. But all-the-while modern amenities enhance each room. (like a walk-in shower in one room that has shower heads on three walls and the ceiling!) I love the gas fireplace in each room. Ok...as you can tell, I love this place and tell everyone I can, to stay there while in Atlanta. Staying at the Stonehurst Place is always a treat and look forward to my next visit. Keep up the great job!


Overall Outstanding

4.8 on March 11, 2009

To you Ms. Trenell and Ms. Mona, we absolutely loved our stay at Stonehurst Place. You ladies are extremely professional and are wonderful hosts. It would not have been comparable without you present. We adored The Piedmont room and its 1940's appeal. It gives you that feel of authentic romance and sheer elegance. We still want to take that amazing bed home with us. We will definitely be back to indulge and savor the luxury. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!


Beautiful!

4.0 on February 24, 2009

This was the first time my husand and I had ever stayed in a B&B. I'm a little nervous to stay at another after spending the night at Stonehurst. I'm afraid anywhere else would be just a trip to grandma's house. The house is decorated beautifully. It's contemporary but it has all the character of a home from the late 1800's. The room we stayed in (Hinman Suite) was incredible. The curtains, the bedding, the fireplace, the furnishings, the bathroom (oh the bathroom!) were all beautiful, stylish and romantic. The suite was very well furnished - ipod docking station, heated floors in the bathroom, robes, towel warmer, huge tub, enormous shower...the list goes on and on. The breakfast prepared by Trenell was so good. It was exactly what I'd hoped for! I will certainly recommend this place for any friends or family who are coming to town.


WOW

5 on February 23, 2009

This is not your typical B&B! This is a stellar experience on all levels.It's designed to meet all of your needs -- physically, emotionally and intellectually.It's immaculate, inviting and inspirational.The pictures don't do it justice.Incredibly, it's also eco-friendly.Treat yourself to this -- you will not be disappointed.


An Absolute Must Stay in Atlanta!!

5 on February 23, 2009

I have lived in Atlanta for 25 years, and travel extensively all across the world. I never thought I could stay in the city I live in and feel like I am in a different place. Stonehurst Place is truly a magical getaway that will provide the rest and relaxation you need, as well as unparalleled accomodations and generous hospitality. The historic home bodes both charm and comfort while the amazing upgrades exude modern luxury. We stayed in the Hinman suite which offered a quaint space with authentic hardwoods, a plush canopy bed, a fire place, and a bathroom to kill for. The all marble and Corian bathroom featured heated floors, a large spa tub, double sinks, and a never seen before all white Corian shower with 6, yes 6 shower heads. Fresh flowers were located in the shower and bath and wonderful bath products were offered as well. At check in, Trenell, the inn keeper, greeted us and later treated us to a home cooked breakfast of pancakes and maple syrup, sausage, fresh fruit, and fresh juices and coffee. All around the inn you can find private settings with TV's, books, cocktails, etc. The front and back porch are perfect intimate settings for relaxing or sipping on a cocktail. We were fortunate enough to spend the evening with the owner who has designed almost every aspect of the environmentally green, and incredibly chic B&B. We are so thankful that we found the Stonehurst Inn, even though we only live 20 minutes away from midtown Atlanta. This truly is one of the most precious places I have stayed in all of my extensive travels and it couldn't have been a better place to spend my husband's 30th birthday. We will be back and will cherish our memories there.


A Marvelous Stay at Stonehurst Place

5 on November 03, 2008

This past October (2008) my wife and I had our wedding and reception at Stonehurst, as well as our rehearsal party the preceding evening. I could not have asked for a better location, nor for a better experience. The location is absolutely beautiful, from the gardens outside where we held our ceremony, to each and every room in the house. The decor and art are unique and wonderful, and the substantial group of interior designers on our guest list very much enjoyed going from room to room to take it all in. The gardens around the house provided the perfect spot for us to have our ceremony. The accommodations, from bedrooms to bath, were luxurious. And the innkeeper and staff went above and beyond to make sure that we and our guests, both those staying with us over the weekend at the house as well as those coming for the events over the course of the weekend, were well taken care of, well fed, and that everything with our ceremony and reception went smoothly. It was tremendous for us to have our celebration in such a beautiful, historic establishment, being taken care of as well as we were.


Elegant, Warm & Luxurious

5 on October 29, 2008

My husband & I stayed here for our 1-year anniversary and could not have asked for a more amazing experience. This B&B recently spent $1M on renovations and the final product is absolutely stunning. They spared no expense and left no rock unturned when it came to being environmentally conscious as well as comfortable and stylish. From the inn keeper’s hospitality to the 1000 thread count sheets, Andy Warhol’s, and the mix of contemporary and antique furniture this B&B is very top on my list. I highly recommend the Hinman suite for the antique four post bed, Jacuzzi tub and 6 headed shower. The experience is one that will not be soon forgotten.


A MUST STAY!!!!

5 on October 28, 2008

Stonehurst Place is fabulous! From the moment we walked in, we knew we had arrived at a very special inn. The décor is a feast for the eyes and the soul…beauty and comfort everywhere we looked. We were greeted by the innkeeper, Trenell, who is so warm and friendly, yet knows when to give you your space. Drinks were served every evening with delightful little goodies to eat and then in the morning, more delicious food for breakfast served on lovely china place settings beside the dining room fireplace. And our room was amazing! We stayed in the Master Suite, warmed ourselves by the fire, played in the water (in our bathroom with HUGE shower, multiple shower heads and spa tub), and went to sleep between luxurious sheets on a mattress that felt incredible. I wanted to stay forever! This inn is a MUST STAY place. Give yourself a treat the next time you‘re in Atlanta. I know I’ll be back as much as possible. Jamie


Quite and Luxurious Downtown stay

5 on October 28, 2008

Great choice for a Romantic getaway wonderfully convenient – only a few blocks from the Fox Theatre, and Downtown restaurants. Artwork, stylish décor and attentive service completely dispelled my dislike of B&Bs which in the past was like staying in the guest room at Grandmas. The nice touches such as a carafe of water in the room, and the Innkeeper’s attentiveness in switching the lovely china coffee cups for large stoneware mugs to accommodate our breakfast preferences made the experience delightful. The Staff strikes a perfect balance between the comfort and coziness of a B&B with the luxury and services of a fine hotel. Greeted with a welcoming smile and complimentary wine, and settled on the screened porch to relax among the trees, flowers and water feature creating a calming and serene environment. The two person shower adds an extra element of fun to the stay. Highly recommended.


Our 20th Anniversary

5 on October 28, 2008

We had an overnight stay in Atlanta to celebrate our anniversary. The Stonehurst was so romantic. They had just completed a "green" renovation while maintaining the historical details of the home. The innkeeper,Trenell, was so attentive and even anticipated our needs. Our room,the Himan suite, was impeccable. We arrived to find camebert and wine in our room. We just felt so at home and hope to return soon.


Eco friendly romance

5 on October 26, 2008

Review of Stonehurst Inn, Atlanta, Georgia Tucked in a delightful neighborhood, surrounded by wonderful restaurants, this restored bed and breakfast is enchanting! We do not often go intown for romantic adventures, but our evening at Stonehurst Inn may change that habit. This Inn is remarkable in many ways but most notably because it was restored with modern energy saving techniques. As we enjoyed the six headed shower, we laughed that even in drought stricken Georgia, we did not need to feel guilty. This is because the water is reclaimed rainwater that has been treated to be crystal fresh. The water was heated by solar panels too! Our room was cozy with incredible linens and a superbly comfortable bed. We awoke to a tasty breakfast and truly enjoyed our stay.


16th Anniversary

5 on October 25, 2008

We didn’t get there until 8:00 after depositing the boys for the evening but it was great. We walked to dinner at Nikimotos which was fabulous as always. Seeing the skyline of Atlanta as we walked was almost surreal. It is such a pedestrian friendly neighborhood. The Master Suite is luxurious but then I love all of Stonehurst. The things you have done has created such a warm feeling. And the bed – My wife and I agree is the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The sheets, the pillows, the blankets were delightful. We watched the movie “August Rush” which if you haven’t seen, please do. Saturday morning we actually felt slightly guilty in the shower but only because not many have the opportunity to shower in treated rainwater heated by the sun. The breakfast was fantastic and beautifully served. You and all of your support people have done a great job restoring this wonderful place which we will continually recommend. And Tree is the most warm and gracious hostess/innkeeper you could have ever found. She really explains all of the Solar water heating, greywater recycling, rain harvesting and water filtration features of Stonehurst like an expert. It really shows that she cares deeply about you and Stonehurst. We have a niece getting married in Piedmont Park around memorial day. Stonehurst will be a perfect place for out of town guests before the wedding and possibly for a honeymoon night for our niece and her betroth. We will be in touch with Tree. Warmest regards,


Delicious Breakfasts

3.6 on June 09, 2008

I stayed at this B&B for two nights while in Atlanta for a wedding. It was a large and roomy place. Most memorable were the delicious breakfasts. I still remember them months later!


Great trip!

4.0 on March 02, 2008

We regularly go to Atlanta for the Chastain Park concert series. We had a great time at the Stonehurst. The rooms were unique, the innkeepers were friendly and the breakfast was great. It's a great location for walking to Piedmont Park, the High Museum and the funky little shops and restaurants in the area. The inn is a short, easy drive to the Buckhead area.


Stonehurst Place

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $429
  • Reviews (96) 4.8
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4048810722
  • Fax 1-6783487400
  • Toll free 1-877ATLBBIN

Visit Website »

View details

Top