Recent Reviews in Galena, Illinois

Get away weekend with family at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2016

This inn is a must stay in Galena. The room, the food, Don and Susan, wine hour, just a short walk to down town, and cold Diet Pepsi for me the Pepsi addict. You will miss something great if you don't stay here,

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B in a small town at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on September 22, 2016

My wife chose the Farmer's Guest House for an anniversary getaway. Booking via the internet was easy. About a week prior to our arrival we received a reminder email with some helpful hints, especially about the restaurants that they recommend and those that require reservations. Susan and Don greeted us upon our arrival and Don showed us to our room and gave us a tour of the building. We stayed in the Mary room, it was a bit small, but it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with nice toiletries and soft Turkish towels. There were excellent instructions for using the TV and DVR on laminated cards. In the hallway there was a vast library of DVDs. In the dining room the next day's breakfast was posted and there were also homemade cookies in the cookie jar and soft drinks in the refrigerator. Each evening at 5:00 pm wine and cheese were served in the dining room. Susan and Don made sure that all guests had their dinner plans in order and gave their recommendations for the many attractions in town. Breakfasts each morning of our stay were great. Good coffee, juice, tea, and hot chocolate were serve yourself. Our first breakfast was fresh fruit, pumpkin pancakes, sausage,and lemon poppyseed scones. The next day we were treated to fresh fruit, croissants with ham, scrambled eggs, and cheese, and apple cinnamon muffins. Charles provided great service each morning. Susan and Don were great hosts and went to a lot of effort to see that all of the guests had an enjoyable stay in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


GIRLS GETAWAY at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2016

On September 16th my girlfriend and I took a trip to Galena, IL. She has always stayed at the Brierwreath Manor. It was my first time staying in a B & B and may I say I truly loved it! Joe the owner made me feel like family. I really enjoyed our conversations every morning with the other quests. We shared some great stories. Joe's chocolate cookies were so yummy. I look forward to returning to this place again. I highly recommend the Briarweath it was close to all the shopping and eateries.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Spot for a Getaway! at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2016

Spent an enjoyable weekend evening here. Truly felt welcomed and valued as a guest. The ambiance of this circa 1891 building coupled with the opportunity for conversation and camaraderie with our host and the other guests both at the evening parlor social and breakfast the following morning made for a very enjoyable and memorable experience. The breakfast was a gourmet delight, complete with special accommodations made for my wife's food allergies.

View more reviews for this inn


Girlfriend Get Away at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 21, 2016

My girlfriend and I stayed at Brierwreath this past weekend. It was her first time at a B&B. I have stayed at Brierwreath many many times over the last 8 or 9 years. We stayed in the Heirloom Room which is very spacious with a huge bathroom including a claw bath tub. Brierwreath is in a great location. Once you park, either in their driveway or on the street, you are within walking distance for everything on Main Street. This B&B has a great homey feeling. It always feels like I'm going back home when I stay at Brierwreath. Joe (just has his parents before him) was warm and very friendly. He was able to answer any of our questions whether it was on history or restaurants. The cookies in the room were soft and delicious! Meeting the others who were staying at breakfast was also very enjoyable and the conversation never stopped. We can't wait to stay there again! I would highly recommend Brierwreath! And, I can not say enough good thinks about Joe, the innkeeper.

View more reviews for this inn


Our new tradition! at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 15, 2016

This was our first bed and breakfast stay and we made the best choice! We came here for a little honeymoon getaway and it is now going to be our anniversary tradition every year. The hosts Mike and Anita were so very nice and we enjoyed the amazing breakfasts each morning. The house is just so beautiful and in a very nice, quiet location just a short walk from Galena downtown. I requested the cheese lovers package and the some enchanted evening package to surprise my wife and was not disappointed. We can't wait to come back next year! Michelle, Rockford, IL

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 14, 2016

We loved the Farmers Guest House. Our room was beautiful. Everyone treated us very nicely. We had wine in the evening and our breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for a peaceful get away. at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 14, 2016

The room and place was very clean and the breakfast was amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect B&B Experience at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2016

Joe was the perfect host!! We loved the personal touches in his home. We loved the never empty jar of chocolate chip cookies and great breakfasts. It was a one block walk to main street! Joe had great suggestions of where to eat, he was exactly right. We will definitely go back to Breierwreath the next time we are in Galena. Nothing bad to say!!

View more reviews for this inn


sister's road trip at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on September 11, 2016

We had a great time here. Jan & Lorraine are very gracious hosts and Lorraine is a great cook! Always willing to help us in whatever we needed. One thing that needs to be replaced is the mattresses on the beds. They were not comfortable. If the beds would have been comfortable, the "rooms category" would have gotten a better comment.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded Expectations! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Charming with modern day amenities that made the stay very pleasurable, comfortable and satisfying. Yummy breakfast every morning, fresh coffee, a bottomless cookie jar, wine time with delicious snacks and Optional "extras" available to personalize your experience .... Loved the location! We took advantage of the massage service which was exceptional as well. We will be back !

View more reviews for this inn


Brierwreath Manor B&B August 2016 at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 06, 2016

The rooms were clean quiet and nicely decorated. The house is lovely and has lots of nice antiques. Joe, our inkeeper, was was an extreamly nice and pleasant fellow and the breakfasts were outstanding. Location is quite close to Main St and parking is not bad as there is both on and off street available.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay in Galena at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2016

My friend and I stayed here last weekend. We were welcomed by the host, Joe, and shiwn to our suite. It was spacious, clean and superbly decorated. Breakfast was freshly cooked and served hot. The house is located just a block from the shopping district. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely weekend stay! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2016

Farmer's guesthouse definitely lives up to it's Top Ten rating! From the beautiful period details to the gourmet breakfast, they make sure their guests are well taken care of. Susan and Don take pride in their lovely Inn, and it shows. We stayed in the Aimee room, which was spacious yet cozy. And we loved 5o'clock Wine Time! Can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Galena getaway. at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2016

Excellent bed and breakfast. Location was easy to find upon arrival and plenty of parking. Our room was very nice and the onsite dining was terrific.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on August 25, 2016

We stayed at the Queen Anne and had a very good time. Looking forward to staying again.

View more reviews for this inn


A remarkable property. at Jail Hill Inn (Galena, IL)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

We recently spent an evening at the Jail House Inn. The service is absolutely remarkable. Do not miss out on the breakfast!! It was incredible. Three full course featuring all home made dishes that rival any 5 star hotel. For the price you will not get a better experience anywhere. Be warned once you visit this place once you will certainly find yourself planning a return. I am very much looking forward to a return visit and cannot say enough positive things about my experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Galena at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

My daughter and I just spent the weekend at Belle Aire Mansion with Jan and Lorraine. We had the best weekend ever! The room and private bath were beautiful. Lorraine's breakfast were fresh and delicious. We travel to Galena often and will definately stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


very pleased at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

excellent establishment, very friendly, great service and food, would recommend to anybody

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

We enjoyed our weekend trip to Galena very much and loved staying at Brierwreath B&B! The location is perfect-close to restaurants and historic sites. We didn't use our car at all once we arrived to the B&B (there's convenient on-site parking as well). Rooms were nice and well appointed. Coffee/tea available all day. Joe even baked delicious chocolate chip cookies for the room! Breakfast was good as well. We would absolutely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly People at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on August 20, 2016

Jan and Lorraine knocked themselves out to make sure we were comfortable, and yet they didn't seem to break a sweat. They are a charming husband and wife business partnership and very down-to-earth. Our accommodations were very good, the king bed was firm, and the breakfast was hearty and healthy.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Trip at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

A Very enjoyable and cozy country like setting. A Scrumptious breakfast!! Susan and Don are very gracious innkeepers.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous and comfortable at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on August 09, 2016

The stay at Briarwreath was perfect. The location is perfect, and the service was especially impressive, as all our need were anticipated and met with subtle perfection. The quality of the house and the charm of the decor were really just cherries on top of a luxurious and wonderful stay.

View more reviews for this inn


About Galena

Eighty-five percent of the town is part of a historic district, so walking the streets of Galena you can feel like a trip back in time. There are historical homes, museums, and a rich architectural legacy to explore. Many of the local inns themselves are historical, allowing you to stay in a rare architectural gem or a beautiful old mansion. Enjoy modern amenities like hot tubs, free Wi-Fi and multi-course breakfasts while drinking in history.

Historic Sites

President Ulysses S. Grant briefly lived in Galena before leaving to lead troops in the Civil War. After the war, President Grant was given a mansion from the people of Galena. This beautiful home is open for tours and gives you a glimpse into the life of an early U.S. President.

Other historic sites to visit include:

Galena was originally a mining town. You can take an underground tour in the Vinegar Hill Lead Mine to experience where the true roots of Galena began.

Events

History isn''t the only attraction in Galena. The town hosts a wide variety of events throughout the year that will appeal to everyone in the family.

Outdoor Activities

Galena, and the surrounding county, is full of outdoor activities to keep you active and provide a good sampling of what Illinois has to offer.

Linmar Gardens

Tour all 3.5 acres of the Linmar Gardens. This handsome collection of gardens is located on a hill overlooking historic Galena. There are natural outcroppings that have been enhanced to allow you to enjoy the full Galena experience. You can take a guided tour our meander at your own pace. You''ll see hostas, viburnums, conifers, grasses, and daylilies arranged in artful designs arrangements. A 20-foot waterfall is one of the stunning water features. It also has a garden built into the ruins of one of the first African-American churches in Illinois.

Mississippi River

Experience the Mississippi River on a yacht, paddle boat, or barge. River cruises allow you to sail the mighty Mississippi, view more historical sites, and take in unique geological formations. You can have dinner and enjoy entertainment as you cruise.

Local Wildlife

Don''t miss the wildlife on a bird watching tour with a local birding expert. Experience the unique sounds and delicate beauty only birds can offer.

Top
}