Recent Reviews in Galena, Illinois

Great B&B at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on August 25, 2016

We stayed at the Queen Anne and had a very good time. Looking forward to staying again.

View more reviews for this inn


A remarkable property. at Jail Hill Inn (Galena, IL)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

We recently spent an evening at the Jail House Inn. The service is absolutely remarkable. Do not miss out on the breakfast!! It was incredible. Three full course featuring all home made dishes that rival any 5 star hotel. For the price you will not get a better experience anywhere. Be warned once you visit this place once you will certainly find yourself planning a return. I am very much looking forward to a return visit and cannot say enough positive things about my experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Galena at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

My daughter and I just spent the weekend at Belle Aire Mansion with Jan and Lorraine. We had the best weekend ever! The room and private bath were beautiful. Lorraine's breakfast were fresh and delicious. We travel to Galena often and will definately stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


very pleased at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

excellent establishment, very friendly, great service and food, would recommend to anybody

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

We enjoyed our weekend trip to Galena very much and loved staying at Brierwreath B&B! The location is perfect-close to restaurants and historic sites. We didn't use our car at all once we arrived to the B&B (there's convenient on-site parking as well). Rooms were nice and well appointed. Coffee/tea available all day. Joe even baked delicious chocolate chip cookies for the room! Breakfast was good as well. We would absolutely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly People at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on August 20, 2016

Jan and Lorraine knocked themselves out to make sure we were comfortable, and yet they didn't seem to break a sweat. They are a charming husband and wife business partnership and very down-to-earth. Our accommodations were very good, the king bed was firm, and the breakfast was hearty and healthy.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Trip at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

A Very enjoyable and cozy country like setting. A Scrumptious breakfast!! Susan and Don are very gracious innkeepers.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous and comfortable at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on August 09, 2016

The stay at Briarwreath was perfect. The location is perfect, and the service was especially impressive, as all our need were anticipated and met with subtle perfection. The quality of the house and the charm of the decor were really just cherries on top of a luxurious and wonderful stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2016

We had the great pleasure to stay at Farmers Guest House in Galena, Illinois last week. It was truly a welcome respite from the daily grind of the work week. Susan and Don were the most welcoming hosts and treated us to a relaxing stay in their lovely inn. Within the first few minutes, we felt as though we had known them for years, as they graciously chatted with us about our upcoming stay. Extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding restaurants, attractions, and amenities, they took it upon themselves to make sure we had a great experience. We would be remiss if we did not mention the scrumptious breakfasts that awaited us each morning...from egg casseroles, to caramel apple pancakes, to farm fresh scrambled eggs, each meal was a culinary delight. The cinnamon rolls, berry coffee cake, and french toast (a special request from my husband) were to-die-for. It is clear that they are passionate about treating each guest to a visit they will remember for years. We highly recommend the Farmers Guest House and most assuredly would not hesitate to return for another wonderful vacation stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 02, 2016

Can not thank Susan and Don enough. We showed up hours before check to get our day started and walked in to find Don at the desk all smiles and ready to help. Gave us all sorts of great tips, and made our dinner reservation. Walked around town for a few hours but of course made it back for wine time. More then generous pours and great conversation. The room the Jennie was perfect for us, we knew we were going to spend more time out and about then in our room but the bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave! Would go back for sure and would highly recommend. I know I will be back since I forgot a cookie on my way out. Oh and how could I forget breakfast, amazing is an understatement!! Thank you again Don and Susan.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

My wife and I couldn't have had a more pleasurable experience at Farmers Guest House. The atmosphere was inviting and relaxing. The breakfast was deliciously prepared with fresh locally grown produce. Don and Susan were incredibly helpful and welcoming. I would highly recommend the Farmers Guest House for any stay in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


The BEST vacation I have experienced on so many levels!! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2016

Coming from a busy winter season in Argentina, I was desperately looking for some vacation and time off in nature, peace and beauty. The Inn at Irish Hollow was the perfect "green" setting with the lovely sounds of birds chirping everywhere you set foot. Each meal was not only a work of art, but also made with so much love and incredibly delicious. They especially offer fabulous gluten-free options for all of their dishes that are absolutely spectacular (like the Salmon Eggs Benedict, homemade granola and muffins)! Their organic coffee and teas were the best I have ever tasted and they even sell all of these wonderful products in their lovely boutique. I was fortunate enough to stay in two different cottages, Station House and Gardener's Cottage and oh-my-goodness the design and layouts are gorgeous - each with a precious and spacious patio area! Taking a bath with champagne by the fireplace and then taking a nap in the most comfortable bed every day made this the perfect vacation. The masseuse was also incredible (I fully recommend the 90 minute hot stone massage). The entire staff is absolutely wonderful and one immediately feels like they are a part of the Irish Hollow family upon arrival. Thank you so much Bill and Tony for having created and for sharing this special "oasis" - which is unique to the world! Am feeling vibrant and renewed and am definitely planning on coming back as soon as I have more vacation time :)

View more reviews for this inn


This was our first B&B experience. We will definitely try again. at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Larry and Pam Deardorff

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Bed and Breakfast at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2016

My wife and I recently stayed here for our 1st Anniversary and wow were we impressed! From that first moment when we were greeted by name and given a tour of the house to the rooms we had brought for and the meals that were personally brought up to the room every morning, it was simply magical! We enjoyed everything about the room and we look forward to coming back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekday getaway at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on July 19, 2016

We were looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights while in Galena. This fit our needs. Lorraine and her husband were very gracious hosts and served wonderful breakfasts. They even let me use their freezer for the fresh blueberries we purchased!

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded Expectations at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on July 14, 2016

This B and B has it all---location, quality, friendliness, amazing food, Inkeepers (Don and Susan) who truly want your stay to be memorable and are accommodating in every conceivable way, and just a very warm vibe that makes you feel at home the moment you arrive. Everything is super clean and neat. Every room is unique in a very thoughtful, fun, and inviting way. The breakfast is wonderful, the wine hour is fun and just what one needs after shopping or exploring Galena. There are many restaurants in Galena, and Don and Susan are very helpful in helping you choose one that fits your particular wants and needs. Couldn't do better than the Farmers Guest House. Don't miss this one!

View more reviews for this inn


Girlfriend Getaway at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2016

I received a 3-night stay at Brierwreath with a best friend as a Christmas gift from my husband. Galena was equal distance from our homes and we met there and had a fantastic time. The bed and breakfast is beautiful, conveniently located to all the shops and historical sites. We never used the cars as we could walk everywhere. Joe, the owner, was so hospitable and informative. From the homemade chocolate chip cookies awaiting us upon arrival in our room to the delicious breakfasts served daily we felt welcomed and pampered. The room was comfortable, quiet, and clean and the bathroom so nice. It was nice to be able come back to Brierwreath after a busy day and relax on the front porch and just visit or read before heading out to dinner. There is not one negative thing I can say about it. I would highly recommend staying there to anyone heading to Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday weekend with sister at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We had a great time. Don and Susan were excellent and tended to our every need. This trip made me want to take another bed & breakfast sometime with my husband.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful room and Service at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

3.6 reviewed on July 08, 2016

My husband and I stayed on a Thursday night and checked out on Friday. The room was clean and decorated based on the time period the building was constructed. The service was great and the staff would do their best to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful and the fresh cookies available in the kitchen was an unexpected treat. We would stay at Farmers Guest House again the next time we head to Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Queen Ann ambiance and breakfast at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on July 05, 2016

The breakfast was wonderful as was our host. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Queen Ann.

View more reviews for this inn


Right at home service at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on July 05, 2016

If you want exceptional warm service this is the place to stay. The owners are beautiful people and made us feel right at home. They were willing to do whatever it took to make us comfortable. This is not my first time staying there and the service brought me back. The grounds are beautiful and you feel like you are stepping back in time. GORGEOUS! If you have not stayed there you should...Jan and Lorraine are amazing!

View more reviews for this inn


Another Great Experience at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2016

This was the second time we stayed at Farmers Guest House, and both have been excellent! The service, the food, the amenities, the atmosphere – everything is just wonderful. We will be heading back, and will be taking part in with the cooking classes offered by one of the owners.

View more reviews for this inn


About Galena

Eighty-five percent of the town is part of a historic district, so walking the streets of Galena you can feel like a trip back in time. There are historical homes, museums, and a rich architectural legacy to explore. Many of the local inns themselves are historical, allowing you to stay in a rare architectural gem or a beautiful old mansion. Enjoy modern amenities like hot tubs, free Wi-Fi and multi-course breakfasts while drinking in history.

Historic Sites

President Ulysses S. Grant briefly lived in Galena before leaving to lead troops in the Civil War. After the war, President Grant was given a mansion from the people of Galena. This beautiful home is open for tours and gives you a glimpse into the life of an early U.S. President.

Other historic sites to visit include:

Galena was originally a mining town. You can take an underground tour in the Vinegar Hill Lead Mine to experience where the true roots of Galena began.

Events

History isn''t the only attraction in Galena. The town hosts a wide variety of events throughout the year that will appeal to everyone in the family.

Outdoor Activities

Galena, and the surrounding county, is full of outdoor activities to keep you active and provide a good sampling of what Illinois has to offer.

Linmar Gardens

Tour all 3.5 acres of the Linmar Gardens. This handsome collection of gardens is located on a hill overlooking historic Galena. There are natural outcroppings that have been enhanced to allow you to enjoy the full Galena experience. You can take a guided tour our meander at your own pace. You''ll see hostas, viburnums, conifers, grasses, and daylilies arranged in artful designs arrangements. A 20-foot waterfall is one of the stunning water features. It also has a garden built into the ruins of one of the first African-American churches in Illinois.

Mississippi River

Experience the Mississippi River on a yacht, paddle boat, or barge. River cruises allow you to sail the mighty Mississippi, view more historical sites, and take in unique geological formations. You can have dinner and enjoy entertainment as you cruise.

Local Wildlife

Don''t miss the wildlife on a bird watching tour with a local birding expert. Experience the unique sounds and delicate beauty only birds can offer.

Top
}