Free gift card up to $250!

Recent Reviews in Galena, Illinois

Fantastic B&B at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2014

The Farmer's Guest House was our first B&B and we loved it! It was very clean and comfortable, the Christmas decor was amazing and the Julia suite we stayed in was very spacious and cozy. The breakfast was amazing and Don and Susan were very helpful. They were extremely nice and inviting and made us feel at home. The inn is within walking distance of Main St. And they also have a spa room on site so you can relax without having to leave. We will definitely stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


A very enjoyable stay. at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on December 17, 2014

Lorraine and Jan are extermely nice people and hosts. They made us feel very comfortable as they open their home to us.

View more reviews for this inn


Makes you feel at home at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on December 17, 2014

The owners were wonderful and they made you feel at home. Perfect location to downtown. Great breakfast. Love the idea of the parlor party. Overall the experience was great.

View more reviews for this inn


Terrific B&B in Galena at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 03, 2014

Great rooms, hospitality and breakfast. The hosts create a warm atmosphere and are very attentive to your needs. Highly recommend, we will visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfort in a big way at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2014

Iwouldn't change a thing. Coffee outside the room, then a gourmet breakfast with good conversation in a beautiful dining room. We had to get ready for reentry into the real world on the way home!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend Stay in Galena at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 26, 2014

We had a wonderful, romantic getaway this past weekend at Brierwreath Manor B&B in Galena, IL. We would definitely stay here again!!! Rooms were comfortable, quiet, and cozy and we had everything we needed and more! Joe was very helpful without being overbearing and made such a wonderful breakfast! He was readily available for directions, restaurant suggestions, and questions regarding Galena history. I am so excited for our next visit!!

View more reviews for this inn


Greatest place to stay in Galena! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2014

My husband and I had such a great time staying here, Dave and Bernadine are the kindest, funniest, and most hospitable people we have ever met & they put together a GREAT breakfast! They made our honeymoon experience amazing and we will definitely be back for future anniversary celebrations ! I highly recommend staying here if you are planning a trip to Galena! ¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in July 2014, our first time at a bed & breakfast. What a wonderful experience we had! Susan and Don made us feel like "old friends" the minute we walked in the door. Don insisted on carrying our bags while Susan gave us a tour of the common rooms. Susan's breakfasts are delicious and Don is the perfect "waiter." Both were so helpful in every way, making reservations, giving helpful hints for activities on Main Street, providing directions, etc. Charles tidied up our room every day. Felt like royalty! We also enjoyed sitting in the living room to read in the evening. It was just like home. I was so impressed with Farmer's Guest House that I returned in November for a Quilt Retreat. Again the same ambience, kind and helpful service and such a good time. (Susan even remembered that my husband had one food allergy! And he wasn't even with this time.) Same wine time in the late afternoon with much comradery. I'm already signed up for the Quilt Retreat next November. I guess you can say that this is my (our) one and only B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Halloween getaway at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on November 16, 2014

We were in Galena for the Halloween parade weekend and stayed at the cabins. It was our first time staying at the cabins and we were NOT disappointed. They are so different than any other place we have stayed at in Galena. Peaceful,romantic with your own fireplace. Loved everything about them! Can't wait to stay there again, we loved our weekend there.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing weekend at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2014

I have stayed at other bed and breakfasts and this was my favorite. Dave is wonderful the inn feels like you are at home. The breakfast will fill you for the day. :) the inn is a great location and you won't be disappointed. Will stay here again next year.

View more reviews for this inn


A+++ Bed & Breakfast, not to be missed at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2014

If you love Galena, and you love B&B's, this is one you should not miss. We had the most wonderful stay over Veterans Day. Our suite was absolutely wonderful, we couldn't have been more comfortable, and the hosts - Don & Susan - were so gracious and welcoming, felt like we were with old friends. So much to see at this wonderful lodging, I couldn't stop taking photos of all the marvelous decor, and even got a photo of our hosts. The food was fabulous, and the wine & cheese hour with all the other veterans and their spouses was a blast, what a perfect touch to the evening. Thank you so much for hosting all of us, you are truly a very special couple. And definitely in the right line of work, such a perfect fit. We definitely look forward to visiting again! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Honeymoon at the Queen Anne Guest House at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2014

We Stayed at the Queen Anne Guest House in late October from Monday through Thursday for our Honeymoon. This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and we will surely do it again! The house was well kept and warm, and Mike was an amazing host. The parlor party was an excellent way to get to know the other guests and the breakfasts were absolutely AMAZING! Everyday brought a new flavored coffee, and all were very tasty! We stayed in the Lady Ashley, which is the smallest room, but the jacuzzi tub and electric fireplace in the bathroom made it well worth it. The walk into town was so easy we did it various time each day, and we aren't exactly walkers in our everyday lives. It was also a part of the Galena Trolley tour which was really cool. We found ourselves homesick for the Queen Anne after returning home, we will definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Cold House and Dated Decor at The Hancock House (Dubuque, Iowa)

2.6 reviewed on November 11, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hancock House for a couple nights. The outside weather was in the 40s-50s, and the inside of the house was VERY cold. The windows in our room were leaky next to the bed. The only supply of heat for the room was a small electric heater which couldn't keep up and made the room dry--resulting in a runny nose for both of us. There was a fireplace with a starer log that we lit but still were cold in the room. The dining room was also cold--I nearly shivered while eating my breakfast. I can't imagine how much colder this house would be in the winter! All of the decorations and furnishings were very dated. The house was spotlessly clean but needs updating. Based on my experience this one time, I wouldn't return again.

View more reviews for this inn


A luxurious home away from home at John and Deb's Place (Shullsburg, WI)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2014

We met the proprietors originally when we stayed at a different bed and breakfast. They were so excellent at the service they gave their guests that when we heard they had opened their own B & B, we knew we had to make a trip to check out their place. It was a delight from the moment we arrived. Nestled among the hills of Wisconsin, this gem sits in a quiet little town surrounded by small shops and restaurants that show off Midwestern cuisine. Even better, though, is dining in at the B & B. For just a little extra, guests can choose to have a romantic dinner for two in their room or dine with the innkeepers. We chose to do a little of both--hors d'oeuvres with the innkeepers while they cooked us dinner, and a wonderful, relaxing and romantic dinner for just the two of us in our room, served in style by the innkeepers, and including even a delicious dessert and coffee. Next, the clawfoot tub in our room (Thoren Room) was beyond luxurious! Plenty of room for two and deep enough to keep you both cozily soaking up the warm water. Soaps, air freshener, lotions--all added to the experience with luxurious scents of cherries. To make the evening even better, robes and snuggly socks are a standard part of the room's accessories. The robe is beyond belief! I have never put on something so comfortable, and the socks just added to the full relaxation experience. At every turn there was luxury. The proprietors have figured out how to bring sophistication, luxury, and Midwestern charm all to this beautifully renovated, charming property. We would highly recommend a stay at this B & B. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay at The Hancock House at The Hancock House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on November 10, 2014

My husband and I had a recent trip to Dubuque, Iowa. It was our first trip to Dubuque and since we love to stay at bed and breakfasts and a friend had recommended The Hancock House. This stunning home and hillside property is well cared for and preserved by the owners, Chuck and Susan. We stayed in Mrs. Hancock's room with marvelous views of the city and river, a fireplace, clawfoot tub, and a step back in time with very comfortable features. Breakfast was amazing and we enjoyed talking with our hosts as well as other guests. We rate each of the review categories as "outstanding" but the system will only allow us to select the exceeds expectations categories. The Hancock House is is a perfect retreat!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Package at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2014

Stayed in the J.E. Squiers Room for our 44th anniversary the first part of Oct. What a great place to stay, the rooms were more than expected and the overall weekend was great. Don't forget the food was excellent just like home can not wait to go back

View more reviews for this inn


Brierwreath Manor B&B at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2014

Innkepper Joe was most hospitable and provided everything we could want to help us celebrate our 4oth wedding anniversary. His breakfast was delicious and he was very accomodating with great recommendatiosn for restaurants, shopping and touring local historical sites. I'm anxious to return some day soon to the Brierwreath Manor B&B to enjoy more time in Galena, IL.

View more reviews for this inn


The PERFECT Experience at The Richards House (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2014

This B&B was absolutely incredible!! I have never felt more at home while away from home! I still can't get over how good Michelle's cooking was, and we saw SO MUCH of it for just an overnight visit! I will definitely be staying here again in the near future!

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet, Romantic at Allen's Log Cabin Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

3.8 reviewed on November 05, 2014

Great atmosphere and an awesome, quiet, romantic place to stay but a bit pricey. The water pressure was pretty low in the shower.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding stay!! at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon and it was our first time and visiting Galena. Mike and Anita were fantastic! The breakfasts were amazing and they were extremely hospitable. We will definitely be going back. Elisa & Mike

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The Queen Anne is beautiful! Mike makes the most wonderful breakfast. Five stars for this Inn!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Queen Anne. Room was clean and comfortable and the house is beautiful. It's in a quiet neighborhood w/in walking distance of downtown. Mike is a gracious host and awesome chef. I don't know if he takes requests, but if you get the Overnight French Toast, you'll be in Heaven! We had a great time; I'd go back in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


About Galena

Galena Travel Ideas
Top Historic Sites in Galena
Most Relaxing Activities in Galena
Galena Staycation Ideas

Top
}