Recent Reviews in Galena, Illinois

The BEST vacation I have experienced on so many levels!! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2016

Coming from a busy winter season in Argentina, I was desperately looking for some vacation and time off in nature, peace and beauty. The Inn at Irish Hollow was the perfect "green" setting with the lovely sounds of birds chirping everywhere you set foot. Each meal was not only a work of art, but also made with so much love and incredibly delicious. They especially offer fabulous gluten-free options for all of their dishes that are absolutely spectacular (like the Salmon Eggs Benedict, homemade granola and muffins)! Their organic coffee and teas were the best I have ever tasted and they even sell all of these wonderful products in their lovely boutique. I was fortunate enough to stay in two different cottages, Station House and Gardener's Cottage and oh-my-goodness the design and layouts are gorgeous - each with a precious and spacious patio area! Taking a bath with champagne by the fireplace and then taking a nap in the most comfortable bed every day made this the perfect vacation. The masseuse was also incredible (I fully recommend the 90 minute hot stone massage). The entire staff is absolutely wonderful and one immediately feels like they are a part of the Irish Hollow family upon arrival. Thank you so much Bill and Tony for having created and for sharing this special "oasis" - which is unique to the world! Am feeling vibrant and renewed and am definitely planning on coming back as soon as I have more vacation time :)

View more reviews for this inn


This was our first B&B experience. We will definitely try again. at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Larry and Pam Deardorff

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Bed and Breakfast at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2016

My wife and I recently stayed here for our 1st Anniversary and wow were we impressed! From that first moment when we were greeted by name and given a tour of the house to the rooms we had brought for and the meals that were personally brought up to the room every morning, it was simply magical! We enjoyed everything about the room and we look forward to coming back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekday getaway at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on July 19, 2016

We were looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights while in Galena. This fit our needs. Lorraine and her husband were very gracious hosts and served wonderful breakfasts. They even let me use their freezer for the fresh blueberries we purchased!

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded Expectations at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on July 14, 2016

This B and B has it all---location, quality, friendliness, amazing food, Inkeepers (Don and Susan) who truly want your stay to be memorable and are accommodating in every conceivable way, and just a very warm vibe that makes you feel at home the moment you arrive. Everything is super clean and neat. Every room is unique in a very thoughtful, fun, and inviting way. The breakfast is wonderful, the wine hour is fun and just what one needs after shopping or exploring Galena. There are many restaurants in Galena, and Don and Susan are very helpful in helping you choose one that fits your particular wants and needs. Couldn't do better than the Farmers Guest House. Don't miss this one!

View more reviews for this inn


Girlfriend Getaway at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2016

I received a 3-night stay at Brierwreath with a best friend as a Christmas gift from my husband. Galena was equal distance from our homes and we met there and had a fantastic time. The bed and breakfast is beautiful, conveniently located to all the shops and historical sites. We never used the cars as we could walk everywhere. Joe, the owner, was so hospitable and informative. From the homemade chocolate chip cookies awaiting us upon arrival in our room to the delicious breakfasts served daily we felt welcomed and pampered. The room was comfortable, quiet, and clean and the bathroom so nice. It was nice to be able come back to Brierwreath after a busy day and relax on the front porch and just visit or read before heading out to dinner. There is not one negative thing I can say about it. I would highly recommend staying there to anyone heading to Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday weekend with sister at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We had a great time. Don and Susan were excellent and tended to our every need. This trip made me want to take another bed & breakfast sometime with my husband.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful room and Service at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

3.6 reviewed on July 08, 2016

My husband and I stayed on a Thursday night and checked out on Friday. The room was clean and decorated based on the time period the building was constructed. The service was great and the staff would do their best to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful and the fresh cookies available in the kitchen was an unexpected treat. We would stay at Farmers Guest House again the next time we head to Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Queen Ann ambiance and breakfast at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on July 05, 2016

The breakfast was wonderful as was our host. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Queen Ann.

View more reviews for this inn


Right at home service at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on July 05, 2016

If you want exceptional warm service this is the place to stay. The owners are beautiful people and made us feel right at home. They were willing to do whatever it took to make us comfortable. This is not my first time staying there and the service brought me back. The grounds are beautiful and you feel like you are stepping back in time. GORGEOUS! If you have not stayed there you should...Jan and Lorraine are amazing!

View more reviews for this inn


Another Great Experience at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2016

This was the second time we stayed at Farmers Guest House, and both have been excellent! The service, the food, the amenities, the atmosphere – everything is just wonderful. We will be heading back, and will be taking part in with the cooking classes offered by one of the owners.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway spot outside Galena! at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2016

We stayed in the French Cottage, which was immaculate and equipped with everything needed for a delightful stay. The owners have done a wonderful job, and every request was met with courtesy and promptness. Couldn't ask for a better experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Place to spend your 35th Wedding Anniversary. at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 22, 2016

My wife and I had been to Galena many times. Great little town. We decided to stay at a B & B for the first time. It was great. Robert and Douglas gave us the best service. The food was excellent. I highly recommend staying at the Aldrich House if you are ever in Galena. We will definitely stay again!!!!!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


The best in the area! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Spending a weekend in Galena for a birthday getaway, I booked Aldrich House based on the picture from their website and their promise of "no doilies". We were not disappointed when we arrived. We were greeted at the door by both Robert and Douglas and they gave a tour of the house and took our luggage to our room for us. Upon booking (months prior) I briefly mentioned to Douglas that we would be celebrating a birthday the weekend of our stay. When we arrived in our room after a night out we found chocolate covered strawberries with a happy birthday note for the birthday girl! What a pleasant little treat! I was so shocked he remembered. The room spacious, the house is over 100 years old and the beauty of the architecture is simply amazing. The private bathroom was furnished with the original clawfoot tub and the goat milk soaps smelled like heaven. We both would have loved to spend the entire morning in the comfy robes provided, but the town is so cute we had to explore. The house is a 5 minute walk into downtown, which is vibrant with shops and restaurants. Robert and Douglas really helped make this weekend very special. Breakfast both mornings was simply AMAZING. I can't say enough about how fantastic Aldrich House is. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

My sister and I were very pleased with the accommodations at Brierwreath. I had never stayed at a bed-and-breakfast before because I was uncomfortable with the idea. Boy was I wrong! It was perfect. Joe was a wonderful innkeeper, knowledgeable and available. We have already referred Brierwreath to our friends. Have no doubt, when in Galena, stay here! You'll find an excellent bed & breakfast and the walk to Main Street is right there!

View more reviews for this inn


Would stay again at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 21, 2016

Very nice hosts. We enjoyed the Parlor Party. Galena is a great town for a weekend get away. Thank You Ron & Deb from Bennington NE

View more reviews for this inn


June 2016 Visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better time! The accommodations are fabulous, the living room is so inviting and homey with the many quilts and afgans! The dining room is awesome! Spent our evenings playing games! Also working on a puzzle in the LR. And then there is the breakfast. They are so delicious, they are to die for! Susan, Don & George are there to help make your stay fabulous! We cannot wait until our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice stay at Brierwreath at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on June 20, 2016

Close and convenient to shopping. Joe is a most gracious host. Breakfast was yummy!

View more reviews for this inn


great first time at a bed and breakfast! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 15, 2016

The owners of Farmer Guest House are so wonderful and the place is beautiful! The room was great and the suite worth it with the great bath tub with jets! Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING!!! We will be coming back and staying more than one night next time, that's for sure!!!

View more reviews for this inn


I recommand this for everyone who enjoys a cosy stay in an unique piece of history! at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2016

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful B&B and it was from the first day fantastic! Rooms are very clean (I have a small dust allergy). Joe (the host) was really friendly and made us feel like home. Everything you asked he did with a smile, this is a person who runs his B&B with heart & soul. We had every day a different varied breakfast. (if you wanted a second portion, it was no problem) There were several beverages available at all hours of the day. On our last evening we had a good chat with Joe on the porch; as an European we really enjoyed this.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend with friends at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed Farmers Guest House. Don and Susan made everyones stay so enjoyable. The inn is clean. The hosts friendly. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. We plan on returning and hope to take a cooking class with Susan on our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


About Galena

Eighty-five percent of the town is part of a historic district, so walking the streets of Galena you can feel like a trip back in time. There are historical homes, museums, and a rich architectural legacy to explore. Many of the local inns themselves are historical, allowing you to stay in a rare architectural gem or a beautiful old mansion. Enjoy modern amenities like hot tubs, free Wi-Fi and multi-course breakfasts while drinking in history.

Historic Sites

President Ulysses S. Grant briefly lived in Galena before leaving to lead troops in the Civil War. After the war, President Grant was given a mansion from the people of Galena. This beautiful home is open for tours and gives you a glimpse into the life of an early U.S. President.

Other historic sites to visit include:

Galena was originally a mining town. You can take an underground tour in the Vinegar Hill Lead Mine to experience where the true roots of Galena began.

Events

History isn''t the only attraction in Galena. The town hosts a wide variety of events throughout the year that will appeal to everyone in the family.

Outdoor Activities

Galena, and the surrounding county, is full of outdoor activities to keep you active and provide a good sampling of what Illinois has to offer.

Linmar Gardens

Tour all 3.5 acres of the Linmar Gardens. This handsome collection of gardens is located on a hill overlooking historic Galena. There are natural outcroppings that have been enhanced to allow you to enjoy the full Galena experience. You can take a guided tour our meander at your own pace. You''ll see hostas, viburnums, conifers, grasses, and daylilies arranged in artful designs arrangements. A 20-foot waterfall is one of the stunning water features. It also has a garden built into the ruins of one of the first African-American churches in Illinois.

Mississippi River

Experience the Mississippi River on a yacht, paddle boat, or barge. River cruises allow you to sail the mighty Mississippi, view more historical sites, and take in unique geological formations. You can have dinner and enjoy entertainment as you cruise.

Local Wildlife

Don''t miss the wildlife on a bird watching tour with a local birding expert. Experience the unique sounds and delicate beauty only birds can offer.

Top
}