Get a free $60 with a gift card purchase of $300

Recent Reviews in Galena, Illinois

Queen Anne Guest House Review at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2014

This was an outstanding experience! Would recommend to anyone- Mike and Anita were interersting and kind, the food was great, and the rooms were charming!

View more reviews for this inn


Very hospitable at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 11, 2014

Aunt Lorraine, as she calls herself, is so friendly and has the second-mother feel to her. You know, the type you feel you could tell anything too? Which especially makes it extra homey here. For a family room, The Blue Room, there should be more garbage cans and there is an really annoying drip when using the shower. Finding "secure, tight" outlets to charge our cell phones was challenging. We kept forgetting to bring bottled water back with us, to put in the communal fridge in the hallway; otherwise I believe it may be well water. The breakfast each morning was delicious! It's great not having to worrying to about going somewhere for breakfast in the morning. I liked the location; not even 5 minutes away from the shopping in Downtown Galena. Was out of town a bit, but was perfect as it was quite. Miniature Golf is only 2 minutes away; nothing special yet still fun as a date night. Overall, we would stay here again. The only reason we wouldn't is because we wanted to try something new/different.

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly stay at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on August 11, 2014

The owners are very helpful in getting everything you request. The rooms are country decorated, which is not my style, but fits in the part of the country you are in. It is in a nice location to get to downtown Galena very easily for exploring the many shops. Would consider going back and trying one of the other rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic !!! at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

This was our first stay at a B&B. Wendy and Hal were outstanding hosts. Hawk Valley far exceeded our expectations. The house is lovely, clean and very homey. Our room The Woodlands had all the comforts of home and we loved the deck with patio table and chairs to enjoy our coffee and dessert at night. A very special weekend for us, can't wait to go back next year !!!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2014

Fran and Brian are wonderful hosts. Their house is so well kept and welcoming. We had a great time and didn't want to leave!

View more reviews for this inn


Pleased at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on August 10, 2014

Mike was a great host, very acommodating. Gorgeous historic house.

View more reviews for this inn


Mini Cave Vacation at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2014

You think you are just checking in & going off to your room, but not when it comes to staying at the Squiers Manor...you get the history on the house...Our guide was Peggy & she was wonderful! Later that evening we meet Kathy & Virl & they made us feel like family! What a wonderful welcome we received & the conversations were like we knew each other for ever....You wont go hungry with the enormous,elegant & delicious breakfast....also there is Candlelight dessert where we meet some other guest & had wonderful conversations with.....Kathy & Virl really go above & beyond your typical B&B.....hope to visit them again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic breakfasts, beautiful place, wonderful people at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2014

Just got home from a 3-night stay in the Charlotte suite at Farmers Guest House, and it was tough to leave. Every morning there was something homemade and delicious for breakfast. I ate every bite, and I'm not usually much of breakfast person. Don and Susan are so friendly and accommodating, making dinner reservations for guests, and always ready with recommendations for activities and restaurants in town. Also every evening there's a social hour, with wine and cheese. Perfect way to start the evening before heading into town for dinner. This was my first time at the B&B, and I hope to return. Wonderful place, can't recommend highly enough!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Getaway at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2014

While I already had high expectations for my first B&B stay, Mike surpassed them. The Queen Anne is a gorgeous home located on a quiet street in the historic district. Our room, the Sir William, was decorated beautifully. Mike is very knowledgeable about the area and its history. He's also an excellent chef. We were "wowed" with breakfast the next morning. I'd love to return again. Right now, though, I have wonderful memories for my silver anniversary!

View more reviews for this inn


10 Year Anniversary at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on July 30, 2014

Our accommodations were beautiful, affordable, comfortable, and educational. The staff was helpful and kind. We left (reluctantly!) feeling like family. We had a wonderful time at Squire's Manor and would definitely recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Our B&B stay... at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on July 28, 2014

...Joe has taken over his parents place very nicely, and has committed himself to the traditions and values his parents have set for this type of establishment. We had a GREAT stay and will be sharing this info with friends and family for there future visits. R&L...

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable stay and delicious food at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on July 28, 2014

We celebrated our 23rd anniversary with our stay at Squiers Manor and a concert in a town near-by. The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. Virl and Kathy are personable and made us feel at home. They served a delicious breakfast. We would definitely plan to stay there again if we had the opportunity. Tom and Carol

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend! at Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on July 28, 2014

My wife and I just celebrated our wedding anniversary by spending it in the Pines cottage the weekend of July 25-27. Every aspect of the weekend was outstanding. We took advantage of the Romantic Dinner Package and the Traditional Spa Package. Both were very enjoyable. The cottage, with its double whirlpool and king size bed, was very cozy. Wendy and Hal were very gracious hosts. We are letting all of our friends know of the Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages!

View more reviews for this inn


A Real Treat! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2014

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Farmers' Guest House. On our next trip to the Galena area we will definitely stay there again. The food was a gourmet's dream--all homemade and delicious. There was even a cookie jar with yummy treats. The rooms were charming. The lovely garden area and the sitting rooms were spacious and homey. The owners, Susan and Don, helped lodgers with restaurant and entertainment reservations. Definitely a 5 star lodging!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely 1882 Mansion at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on July 25, 2014

Delicious breakfasts and lovely setting in 1882 brick mansion with period furniture.

View more reviews for this inn


renewal ceremony with family at Cloran Mansion Inn (B&B) (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2014

We just celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with our parents and adult children. Everything was awesome. The house and cottage were beautifully decorated. The grounds were impeccable. The food was amazing! And Carmine & Cheryl were incredible hosts! They accomodated all of our wants and needs. The firepit was great entertainment for us each night. The gazebo and pond were very relaxing. Everyone enjoyed the whirlpools in their rooms. We were only there for the weekend but I felt more relaxed and stress-free than I have on a weeklong vacation. We will cherish these memories and look forward to staying with them again.

View more reviews for this inn


Worth the price just for Loraine's company! at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on July 23, 2014

We recently had our first stay at BA. We absolutely lived the charm of the house as well as the innkeepers. Loraine makes you feel at home immediately and goes out of her way to make sure you're happy. Breakfast was delicious, the garden view suite was fantastic! The only improvements I could possible think of would be a flat screen tv in the master suite and adding a DVD collection alongside the VHS one. It would also be so cool to have some hammocks to lay in around the property since it's so beautiful out there. Loved our stay and we can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2014

Went with my husband for our first year wedding anniversary, and Mike was a excellent host and also a great chef. Room was excellent! but the most important thing that Mike made us feel like home, may God bless you always! Hope to see you againg soon :) Byron & Sylvia Mendez Kestler

View more reviews for this inn


Higher expectations based on the web site. at The Richards House (Dubuque, Iowa)

2.0 reviewed on July 22, 2014

We did not expect to be staying in a place under construction. The exterior of the house is scary and our bathroom was still under construction, with unfinished plaster, unfinished fixtures and missing molding. On a scale of 1 to 10, this place is a 2 at best. Oh, and cats everywhere.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best B & B at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed staying here, it is so clean and so must history we loved the house and the meal were awesome and even treats at night and when our plans changed and we had to leave early they worked with us and we got to come back at another and enjoyed more the second time.

View more reviews for this inn


First Class B&B at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on July 16, 2014

Absolutely wonderful and exceeded all expectations!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2014

The hosts were very friendly. Would always engage in conversation. The house was very clean and beautiful inside and out. The food was delicious and you got more then enough. We will definitely being coming back. P.S. They were very helpful on things to do during our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place only a block from main street at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on July 14, 2014

My husband and I stay at Briarwreath every time we vacation in Galena. The owner is always hospitable, helpful, and a pleasure to chat with over the yummy breakfast he prepares. The prices are very reasonable (which is a big plus) and the B&B is located only 1 block from Main Street. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


More history than meets the eye at Victorian Mansion (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on July 14, 2014

We stayed one night, due to an event in the area. Charlie and Rita were accommodating with our need to check in early and quickly. The room was very comfortable. At breakfast the next morning, we were surprised to learn about the history of the area and of the house—Charlie and Rita are very knowledgeable—and learned that the room we slept in the same room as a former president. I didn't spend nearly enough time lounging on any of the three porches, but we did play a game of pool after breakfast. I recommend the home for a leisurely evening for those who love history and beautiful, peaceful surroundings.

View more reviews for this inn


The best place ever!! at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2014

My husband and I went and stayed at the Manor a couple of months ago. It was really amazing!! Seriously, I couldn't have asked for or wanted anything more. Kathy and Virl, were so nice and accommodating. I told Kathy that she didn't need to fix breakfast for us, and I am so glad that she insisted. Holy Cow! Quiche, ham, french toast, green tomato bread...not to mention the dessert the night before. I think that Kathy and Virl should be the poster people of the Midwest. Thank-you again for such a great night, just what we needed. Sincerely, jess weiler.

View more reviews for this inn


Summer Get-Away at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

3.6 reviewed on July 13, 2014

Mike was a great cook and full of information about Galena and its history.

View more reviews for this inn


Quick Galena Getaway at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

3.2 reviewed on July 06, 2014

Mike was an awesome host and his breakfast was great. We stayed in the room with the jacuzzi. The bathroom was about the same size as the room itself. Good thing my lady and I are thin or we would have had trouble walking around the bed. Wallpaper was dark and scary.

View more reviews for this inn


1st experience at a bed and breakfast at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 04, 2014

Don and Susan were great and very helpful in planning where to eat and what to see. Loved being served a very delicious breakfast that Susan made. Met some very nice people too. Would recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


About Galena

Galena Travel Ideas
Top Historic Sites in Galena
Most Relaxing Activities in Galena
Galena Staycation Ideas

Top
}