Recent Reviews in Gainesville, Florida

College move in weekend! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.0 reviewed on June 28, 2016

We moved our daughter into the dorm and stayed here during the process. Peaceful, quiet slice of home when away. We always stay here whenever we visit Gainesville!

View more reviews for this inn


Unexpected trip to Gainesville at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2016

Needed a place to stay due to a death in the family. This is our home away from home and Joe and Cindy were able to help us out at the last minute and squeezed us into their schedule. They are the best innkeepers on the planet! Thanks very much for helping us out and being flexible on the planning for this. Awesome job, as always.

View more reviews for this inn


FAMILY WEDDING WEEKEND at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2016

Beautiful location that was so convenient to our needs. Loved the Key Lime Cottage at Magnolia Plantation. Lovely antique furniture and well stocked with everything we needed. Early morning coffee/tea in a rocking chair on the porch was fabulous. An amazing oasis in the middle of the city.

View more reviews for this inn


Our wedding weekend at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Cindy and joe of magnolia plantation were amazing. We booked up most of the B and B for our out of town guests for a wedding weekend. All of the guests were so pleased with their accommodations they said they would stay every time they were in town. Rooms are very nice and well appointed. The grounds are well msintained. The weekend was great

View more reviews for this inn


Great and charming at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Very accommodating. I had a late arrival and Joe and Cindy waited for me. I was offered wine, something to eat and movies. I had to leave early the next day and couldn't have breakfast, but I had coffee. The house is beautiful and charming the rooms spacious clean and very nicely decorated. The bed comfortable. I am planning to go back there in a couple of months. Perfect alternative to a hotel

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent house to stay in and beautiful grounds at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2016

Food was delicious. Wonderful place to stay and bring your dog. We will be going again.

View more reviews for this inn


best B&B at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on February 18, 2016

Cindy and her staff were very welcoming. Breakfast is very tasty. Room is very clean and very inviting...the ambience, relaxing. Feels like you are in your own home. Our first time to stay on a B& B and it was the best.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Get Away at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on November 25, 2015

This was our second time at the Magnolia Plantation. We enjoyed it and the Gator win in overtime was great also. The staff is professional and very friendly. You feel like you are home. They even arranged for us to have carriage ride to dinner.

View more reviews for this inn


Best weekend ever! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2015

Numerous wedding guests stayed with us: at the main house one at nutmeg ginger and the secret garden. We, the parents of the bride stayed at key lime. We had the 3 bedroom cottage and it was the most comfortable, clean and cozy cottage. Walking distance to downtown. The staff was MOST accommodating and caring. They went out of their way for all of us. Such personal attention!!! We felt as if we were special guests! Highly recommend. We did not have to think of anything !

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem Near Charming Downtown Area at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2015

A friend and I discovered the Magnolia Plantation a few years ago while making monthly trips to Gainesville for school. The rooms and cottages were so charming, warm and clean, and the owners, Cindy and Joe, were so kind, it quickly became our home away from home. We have gone back to Gainesville several times just to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of our favorite cottages: Nutmeg, Ginger and the Carriage House. The big front porch or balcony (in the Carriage House) are great for reading, sipping wine or coffee, chatting or even working. Some of the cottages/rooms also have fireplaces, and the Inn is within walking distance of Gainesville's vibrant, charming downtown, which has some excellent restaurants, bars, coffee shops and stores. My husband and I travel frequently, and this has been one of our favorite places to stay ever.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful time! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2015

Our stay in the Carriage House was relaxing and quaint. Close proximity to downtown Gainesville and plenty of dining opportunities was a bonus! Whether short or long term stay, the Magnolia Plantation is a great place. Joe and Cindy run a low key yet top notch B and B.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Hampton Lake B&B (Starke, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2015

We stayed there a few months ago and loved it so much we are making plans to go back this July.

View more reviews for this inn


STAY HERE! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

3.8 reviewed on May 27, 2015

Beautiful place, good value, good location, rooms/cottages for any need. Ponds, gazebos, secret and not so secret gardens. Wine, cheer, breakfast in bed! Fireplaces, jacuzzis, pianos, organs and CDs oh my! Garden fountains, Keurig coffee, caring owners and a beautiful collie. Would return without hesitation. Property and rooms could use just a few touches and some up keep.

View more reviews for this inn


Gainesville's Oasis in the middle of the city at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on May 25, 2015

This is our second stay in recent months as my husband is receiving outpatient treatment at Shands. I can't say enough about this wonderful place. It is secluded, even in the middle of town, serene, and absolutely charming. We've opted to rent one of the cottages- there are 8. Each is unique and immediately feels like home. The last trip we brought our dog- the inn is dog friendly. Joe and Cindy assigned us the Secret Garden, which has a large, enclosed courtyard. This is definitely an incredible inn and definitely worth a trip to Gainesville even if you are not a Gator fan!

View more reviews for this inn


a B&B gem at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.0 reviewed on May 07, 2015

The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn in Gainesville, Florida is a quaint, historic lodging with all the modern luxuries. The sounds of plentiful fountains and the breeze rustling through the lushly shaded grounds are the perfect background for relaxing on a porch with a good book. For those needing more stimulation, a vibrant downtown and the University of Florida campus are both within walking distance. The breakfasts are delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasure and peace at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2015

I have stayed here a couple of times for work. To be able to come back to a place with a full kitchen is such a pleasure! Cindy and all the staff are very accommodating and friendly. I really liked sitting outside or on the porch in the quiet.

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis in Gainesville at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on March 24, 2015

We stayed for the 2nd time in the Secret Garden cottage during our weekend visit to see our son at UF. It was so relaxing, especially hanging out in our own private garden outside our cottage. Magnolia Plantation is truly an oasis, and always our choice in Gainesville!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved our stay at the Sweetwater Branch Inn at Sweetwater Branch Inn (Gainesville, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on March 22, 2015

Several historic properties, two homes plus some cottages, all beautifully and lovingly maintained. Equally impressive was the genuine friendliness and care of the staff. They seem proud of what they are doing. We used three rooms, for us and for our two daughters and their husbands. We all had a wonderful time. One of the daughters has since visited a second time, and we plan to soon.

View more reviews for this inn


From stress to tranquil at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2015

Mangolia Plantation made a highly stressful situation into a mini vacation for me and my dogs. I had a extremely ill dog and the University Vet School told me Friday afternoon that if I could be there Monday morning they could possibly help Ceili. My problem I live over 6 hours away and I have two other dogs, one a rescue recovering from hip surgery. Cindy took it in stride and without missing a beat took us all in. With welcoming paws she, Joe, the staff and their dog Abby had us set up and moved into a wonderful cottage. They accommodated us and made my time worry free. The vet school saved my dog and Mangolia Plantation saved me. Thank you.

View more reviews for this inn


It Does Get Any Better Than This at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2015

If you are looking for the perfect B & B it doesn't get any better than this. The accommodations are unbelievable. We have stayed there twice within the last six months and we are looking forward to many more times. The rooms are immaculate and the service is everything you would expect, and more. Don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Magnolia Plantation. George, Cindy & Jake

View more reviews for this inn


lovely at Sweetwater Branch Inn (Gainesville, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on January 28, 2015

Had the privelege of staying at Sweetwater Branch last week end for a wedding; it was a darling facility; rooms are quante; very clean; food was very good and would highly recommend someone having a party there for a unique experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Disappointing at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

2.4 reviewed on January 15, 2015

We spent 4 nights in the Carriage House, and frankly, I was quite disappointed. The web site advertised a B&B, but when I called to reserve the room, I was told there would be no breakfast or wine and cheese in the evening. As a result, the price was somewhat lower than normal. In fact, there was no food or service at all during our stay. The room was quaint with all antique furnishings, but not very functional. The bath/shower arrangement was quite inconvenient...a huge whirlpool-type tub that was hard to climb into with a shower head coming out of the wall that was difficult to get under if you are over 5' 8" tall. There was no curtain so water splashed all over the bathroom. The fireplaces were nice, and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds were attractive, but not well maintained. I felt the place needed some TLC. The reviews had led us to expect better than we feel we got.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Getaway! at Sweetwater Branch Inn (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on January 06, 2015

My wife and I got married at Sweetwater nearly four years ago and decided to spend a weekend back there during our last weekend of our vacation. This time we brought my mother and 11 month old daughter. We stayed at the Carriage House, plenty of room for the four of us! We loved the wine and cheese hour and the breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious! Could not have asked for anything more. The staff is so friendly and accommodating as well! Highly recommended

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.0 reviewed on January 05, 2015

We stayed here for three nights after our wedding and LOVED the carriage house! The porch and bathroom sell the space. WONDERFUL! and romantic :)

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on December 17, 2014

Clean and beautiful house and cottages. Cindy & Joe are great. Well worth the stay. Food is great.

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect Christmas Getaway at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on December 16, 2014

Thank you for the Perfect Christmas Getaway. Wonderful people, family oriented and all around Southern Hospitality. Joe, Cindy Abby and Cassidy.....you are all AMAZING!!! Thank you for the Memories (our piece of Heaven on earth Curt & Lisa Rowell from Fl.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolut empfehlenswert! at Sweetwater Branch Inn (Gainesville, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on November 16, 2014

Waren hier für (leider nur) eine Nacht. Der Empfang war freundlich und hilfsbereit. Das Zimmer (Isidoras Room) ist ein Juwel, die Anlage insgesamt einmalig schön! Das Frühstück sucht seines Gleichen. Wenn wir mal wieder nach Gainesville kommen (hoffentlich bald), wird das Sweetwater Branch Inn unsere Wahl sein. Mit einem Wort: Super!

View more reviews for this inn


November wedding at Sweetwater Branch Inn (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2014

We were at Sweetwater for 3 nights for a family wedding. My immediate family stayed in the Carriage House. It was very spacious- plenty of room for the 5 of us. The accommodations were stellar. The grounds were delightful. The breakfast each morning was amazing!! Each day a different, delicious, plentiful buffet. We loved every minute of our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place if visiting UF at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.2 reviewed on October 28, 2014

We recently stayed at Magnolia while we were attending family weekend at UF. The Inn is a beautiful escape back in time. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each have a fireplace. We stayed in the Jasmine room, and I loved all the framed family heirlooms with pictures of the Montalto family. It felt like you were staying in a family home with all the personal touches. Breakfast was outstanding. The hosts were gracious enough to let our college student join us for breakfast and didn't even charge us for it. The hosts were very friendly and we enjoyed talking to them. Grounds shady, private, beautiful fountains and landscaping. Will definitely go back for a future stay! I tried to click outstanding for room, service and dining above but it would not take so my rating is higher than shown.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2014

We found the Cinnamon Cottage the perfect little home for our extended stay. The cottage was comfortable, cozy, extremely clean, and peaceful. The gardens around the property very beautiful and the owners and staff where attentive and quick to please and make us feel at home. We loved our stay at the Magnolia Bed and Breakfast and highly recommend to other travelers. It was perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Grady House (4.88)
  2. Camellia Rose Inn (4.85)
  3. Hampton Lake B&B (4.76)
  4. Magnolia Plantation (4.72)
  5. Sweetwater Branch Inn (4.68)
Top
}