Recent Reviews in Gabriola Island, British Columbia

Wonderful, wonderful B&B at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2014

Staying at the Hummingbird was a real treat. The house has a beautiful design and is filled with local and Inuit art pieces. There is a fantastic lounge and more than adequate kitchen available to guests. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful and filled with ingredients grown in the extensive vegetable and fruit garden. Highlights included kayaking with Jim’s Kayak, hiking the old grove tree reserve, exploring the intertidal pools, and watching the sunset from the beachfront across the street from the B&B. Janice and John are wonderful hosts. They upgraded our room, and when we left behind our cell phone, Janice immediately sent it to us (in the U.S). We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B at Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast (Gabriola, British Columbia)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2013

I stay Arbutus Bluff B&B every time visiting Gabriola Isl. Perfect bed and fantastic breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT B&B - We will be back! at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and found this to be a great spot for rest at the end of our busy days. Janice is a warm, friendly host and is very accommodating. She offers a breakfast that is delicious, fresh and healthy. A wood fire place, plenty of books, a cat, a great host and a beautiful setting. We will be back! Lynn & George from Bragg Creek.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic place to stay! at Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast (Gabriola, British Columbia)

4.6 reviewed on June 30, 2012

My husband, our four month old daughter and myself stayed here for one night and it was definitely my favourite place of our trip. The view from the east coast room was beautiful and the location is so peaceful! Food was great and my husband's gluten-free diet was even accomodated. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't Be Better at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2012

I have stayed at the Hummingbird a number of times over the years and love "coming home" there. The hosts are super-accommodating, the setting is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, the space is great for gathering and the food is fantastic (and healthy!) And that hot tub is a wonderful way to end the day.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend getaway at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2012

We have been coming to the Hummingbird for many years, and it is always a time we look forward to. Wonderful location and Janice and John are the perfect hosts!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for Women's Retreat at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

4.2 reviewed on May 01, 2012

The women in my singing group do a retreat twice a year at the Hummingbird. We spend 2 nights there and because we go off-season, we get to take over the whole upstairs. We enjoy the breakfasts, the use of their facilities, the hospitality, the proximity to beach and hiking trails and the general serenity of the place. The hosts put up with our singing and the house felines love to snuggle up with us.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from Home at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

4.0 reviewed on March 04, 2012

My family has stayed at the Hummingbird Lodge many times over the last ten plus years, and we never get tired of the breathtaking beauty of the property, and genuine hospitality offered by the owners. The guest rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, and allow for comfortable privacy. The common guest area is very inviting with a wood burning stove, comfy seating, and adorns art and antiques befitting the region. It’s the perfect place to relax with a book by the fire after a day of adventure on the island. The property is constantly being tended with deliberate and thoughtful care by the owners, and has easy access to the public shoreline providing for great beachcombing quests. The breakfasts are outstanding with gourmet fare freshly prepared each day; it’s worth the trip just to get some of those muffins and other home-baked treats! We have been to Gabriola many times, and there are plenty of bed and breakfast options from which to choose, but we always find ourselves coming home to the Hummingbird Lodge!

View more reviews for this inn


A great retreat atop Gabriola Island at Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast (Gabriola, British Columbia)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2010

We came to the aptly named Arbutus Bluff sight unseen and were pleasantly surprised by how attractive it was and the sweeping view of the islands that Gabriola is nestled among. The lodgings are relatively new and spotlessly kept. The rooms are very comfortable and equipped with skylights that bring in the morning sun. Outside you could watch the ravens floating all around. Breakfasts were wonderful, with lots of fresh fruit. (This was in August). Everything freshly made-wonderful muffins! Gabriola has several interesting points of interest and more access to beaches than you would find elsewhere. Several local restaurants and although some are open only on certain days, the Wood Fire Grill seemed to be open regularly, specializing in pizza and pasta. It was very good. Would we go there again? Definitely!! Richard, Kris and Soren

View more reviews for this inn


One night stay june, 2010 at Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast (Gabriola, British Columbia)

4.4 reviewed on July 01, 2010

We spent one night renting both rooms and each were new, clean and have a top quality queen bed/linens. The bathrooms are exceptional with walk in showers and heated floors. Both the bedroom and bath have skylights that add to the feeling of spaciousness and view. The rooms are attached to the house via a passageway of windows that is actually a Pilates workout room and therefore the rooms have the feel of seclusion and not being part of the home. The view is spectacular from each room as well as from the very clean hot tub located outside. Liz is a cordial and interesting host as well as a good cook. We highly recommend Arbutus for a short stay and could definitely see where a longer stay would be very comfortable. B&B's don't get any better than this! Things to plan for, island restaruants close about 8pm and the ferry back to the mainland can back up so you may end up on the next ferry after the one you wanted - you just have to be flexible and adjust your attitude which is why you go to Gabriola!

View more reviews for this inn


Can't Get Enough of the Peacefulness at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

5 reviewed on April 05, 2010

My husband and I have visited Hummingbird Lodge B&B two more times after our first visit in May 2008. In June 2009 and September 2009, the last time sharing the experience with our daughter. While Gabriola is a beautiful island and worth many visits, the peace of mind and warm hospitality we feel in this very beautiful home makes each visit that much more special. And we will be there again in May 2010! Can't wait!

View more reviews for this inn


quaint luxury at Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast (Gabriola, British Columbia)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2010

The beds are amazing, with luxurious sheets and fluffy duvets... wake up looking at the sky turn over and see the breathtaking panoramic ocean view. pad accross the cozy heated bathroom floor and take your time in the double headed, over sized, natrual slate shower...brightened by the skylight in the vaulted ceinling......and thats just the first few moments of the day!. the hosts are cheerful, the food amazing (liz and bill were exceptionally accomidating to my special dietary restrictions) and humming birds plentiful (and all sorts of other birds and wildlife for that matter) the entire building is built around the view.... its natural landscaping keeps it feeling slightly rustic, while the fluffy beds and gourmet breaky go beyond all the comforts of home. The hottub perched at the cliffs edge is exquisite at night with an endless starry sky and the vast ocean at the horizon. we stayed a few starry nights and a few rainy ones.... the sound of the rain on the tin roof is so comforting. when my partner and i left it felt as if we were leaving from a happy visit with old friends and a private, luxurious stay at a five star hotel all at the same time. we'll be back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Visit from Alaska at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

4.6 reviewed on February 06, 2010

Our visit was during a stressful time for the "celebration of life" for a loved one. Janice and John opened what rooms they had to accommodate the visit and were exceptionally gracious. The home is beautiful, clean, and wonderfully appointed. Janice is a wonderful cook, too. If I have an opportunity to return, I would certainly enjoy staying here and visiting again. Kudos!

View more reviews for this inn


Three days of peace and beauty... at Arbutus Bluff Bed and Breakfast (Gabriola, British Columbia)

4.0 reviewed on January 22, 2010

I have just spent 3 days at Arbutus Bluff. It's a beautiful place sitting on the crest of a hill that allows you to see the ocean from your bedroom windows and rolling landscape from the windows in the common room on the other side. Each nicely appointed room has its own ensuite bathroom, satellite tv and, if you really need to do a little work, wifi is available. There is a refrigerator, microwave and kettle in the common area with a table and chairs to sit and enjoy your coffee. Guests have a separate entrance and the hosts provide a delicious 3-course breakfast every morning. Not far away there is a full-service grocery store, and several small cafes and shops. If more than that is needed, it is a short ride on the ferry back to downtown Nanaimo where everything is available. I would recommend this place to anybody who needs a little time to rejuvenate, to get away from the city stresses and just enjoy fresh air and space to walk. Kate

View more reviews for this inn


A True Escape at Hummingbird Lodge B&B (Gabriola Island, British Columbia)

4.6 reviewed on May 29, 2008

My husband and I were lucky enough to find this little hideaway on Gabriola Island where we spent four days. It was just what we needed. We were made to feel very comfortable and relaxed in their naturally rustic and beautiful home. The privacy was great and we were also thrilled with the personal attention we received including the Ravens sharing their artistic expertise and pointers about local artisans. Definitely a place we would return to.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}