The Galloway House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
69 Reviews

Write A Review

Honeymoon at The Galloway House

4.2 on July 22, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at The Galloway House for our honeymoon. Since my bride enjoys natural light, Jim and Keith suggested the 3rd floor loft apartment and it was lovely. We also appreciated their suggestions regarding places to see and to eat. We can't wait for another opportunity to visit!


Charming and relaxing B&B in historic area

4.2 on July 16, 2014

Jim and Keith were very helpful in recommending sightseeing options, cafes and restaurants and made us feel at home. The Carriage house was perfect for relaxing and was quite spacious after small hotel rooms in NYC and DC. regards Campbell and Christina


Short stay

4.2 on June 23, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the studio apartment for a short single night on our drive through Savannah. Both Keith and Jim were welcoming and very helpful. As stated in the ad and website there is no real breakfast provided but we also felt we had hassle free privacy. The only bad part of the stay was that we didn't get a chance to meet their dogs!


Almost perfect!

4.8 on June 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this lovely two bedroom apartment with another couple at the beginning of June. We were very surprised to find this gorgeous , spacious and very user friendly B&B in an area of town that was quiet a peaceful and serene. A perfect part of town to relax but close enough to downtown and when we wanted to explore. Upon arrival our hosts offered and supplied us with a lovely bottle of pre-chilled wine and proceeded to give us tips and recommendations for our first trip to Savannah. Restaurant recommendations were superb; if you are looking or an upscale elegant restaurant listen to the hosts...Elizabeth's was as good as it gets. Breakfast was a little more continental than we expected but we wanted to eat were the locals eat anyways. We hope to return one day to Savannah and would not waste a moment to find different accommodations.


Summer in Savannah

4.8 on June 14, 2014

Savannah is hot in June but our accommodations were shady and cool. Easy to walk to parks and places to eat. The house and grounds were beautiful and Jim was so helpful with information about the area. Best of all we were able to have our dog with us!


Savannah weekend

4.4 on June 04, 2014

Our group stayed on the first and third floor of the main house. Very nicely decorated, good size for our group. Excellent location within walking distance to historical district. Plenty of on street parking. Very friendly hosts. Only downside is bathrooms need to be remodeled.


Lovely garden

2.8 on May 21, 2014

Room was as it looked in the pictures. Lovely garden area. You will need a car to get to the historic area. I would stay here again.


Savannah's Hidden Jewel

5 on May 21, 2014

We were blown away by our stay at the Galloway house! Keith & Jim were simply amazing, and the place defies description. It's a grand home, that they share with you. Our accommodations were beyond our expectations as was the hospitality of our hosts. I can't wait to stay again the next time we come to Savannah!


Chilling on the porch

5 on May 17, 2014

What a fantastic apartment Jim & Keith provide to their guests. We would sit on the porch of this plantation style mansion and watch Savannah drift by. It was a wonderful experience you would never find in a hotel


Great Place, wonderful owners

4.2 on May 17, 2014

We were in the attic room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was small but that was fine and we had our own washer and Dryer, full kitchen, living room area and bed area. If you can't do stairs, don't take this room but I would stay again in a heart beat. I loved how high up we were and sitting out on the little deck overlooking the garden and treetops. The owners were so nice and helpful. The house is a bit out of downtown but we enjoy walking and it is only a 15 minute comfortable walk to town and about 25 to the waterfront. I personally liked being out of town and cab service was very convenient if we didn't want to walk. Quieter and more peaceful here than in the hub of downtown. They had bikes we could rent for CHEAP and if we took those it would have been 5 minutes to town. The room had plenty of bottled water, bagels, muffins, yogurt, coffee etc and a lovely bottle of wine. We really only had the water and wine but what was available was plentiful. I loved the place!


A true gem!

5 on April 28, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at The Galloway House for three nights with three dear girlfriends. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel right at home. Keith and Jim are the perfect Innkeepers. They are charming and accomodating. It is well located within a short walk to several fabulous restaurants and attractions. The first floor apartment is beautifully decorated, the beds are super comfortable and the front porch is the ideal spot for morning coffee or an afternoon cocktail. I can't wait to return someday.


great stay at Galloway House

5 on April 24, 2014

Thanks Jim and Keith for a fabulous stay! Enjoyed the room and grounds! and the history of the Galloway House. Looking forward to returning!


Jackie and Raiden

4.6 on April 14, 2014

Wonderful location and house. We loved our little apartment and the new sitting area outside. We would have loved a little more in the way of breakfast but since this isn't a true B&B (no common dining area) it met our expectations. We would recommend it and come again.


Southern Hospitality

5 on March 15, 2014

Wonderful stay, wonderful house. We stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment of the main house. Wow! Better than home and certainly more beautiful with out making u afraid to relax and enjoy their beautiful things. Also, it was nice being in a neighborhood instead of the touristy area. There was a nice park across the street to walk the dog too. It was a short walk to everything. LOVED Staying at Galloway House!


Take in a bit of the south. . .

4.6 on February 20, 2014

This lovely home sits in a quiet area with plenty of parking. Our particular unit was so spacious that you could spend days there interspersed with all the things to see and do in Savannah - great place!


A slice of heaven

5 on January 20, 2014

This place is absolutely beautiful. When walking to the room there's a beautifully lit garden that makes you feel at home. My girlfriend could not stop commenting on how "cute" everything was. If i remember correctly we stayed in carriage house 2 and it had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in my life! The room was well kept (and very affordable), great location and view or the park(s). We enjoyed our stay very much and I will definitely be staying there again when visiting Savannah! B&E


Southern Hospitality

4.8 on December 21, 2013

Upon arriving all the way from Sweden we were greeted by a Swedish flag and a wonderful reception by the owners. We have visited Savannah before, but this time the accommodation was a attraction in itself. We ended up doing take-outs every night, just to get to spend more time in the beautiful apartment. Spacious, super clean, nicely decorated and with ton of charm. We can't wait to come back to visit again.


Perfect Gem in Savannah

4.8 on December 10, 2013

I called The Galloway House after deciding to extend my stay in Savannah and my current vacation rental had just been booked. Jim was so friendly on the phone when I called and explained I was traveling with my two dogs and told me their Carriage House was available. Never having stayed in that area of town, I didn't quite know what to expect. I was taken aback when Jim opened the cute little red door leading into the Carriage House to find the most adorable, immaculate, charming apartment. While he kindly explained where everything was, I was surprised by their adorable Grate Danes - Puppet and Buddy who came to see who was checking in. Keith also stopped by to say hello. It is obvious in all of the little details in the apartment, that both Keith and Jim have travelled extensively and know what guests look for in a top notch vacation rental. A bottle of wine, whole coffee beans and a grinder, yogurt, granola bars, muffins, make up remover pads - you name it, they had it. Hands down one of the best vacation rentals I have stayed at. Loved it so much, I extended my stay yet one more time :0) The front porch of their beautiful home is also a lovely space to spend the early evening, sipping a glass of wine while getting to know some of the other guests. And the location, just a straight shot down Drayton and you're on Bay Street in 5 minutes! I go up to Savannah every year and I hope I will be able to stay at Keith and Jim's place again next year! Highly recommend it!!


Great Value and location.

4.2 on November 29, 2013

We had a lovely studio style apartment. Very large accommodations, dish TV for rainy days, tastefully decorated, and even a washer/dryer within. The tempur-pedic bed was very comfortable!


A Lovely Home and you can bring your dog!

5 on November 13, 2013

We visited in Oct. 2013. The home is tasteful in every respect. From the decor, furniture, bed and linens, to the welcome bottle of wine, you cannot do better. The breakfast fixings in our own apartment, as well as the well furnished kitchen, made travel with our pet much easier since we didn't have to look for dog-friendly dining. The area is very quiet and peaceful, so you will get a good night's rest as well as long walks in a gracious residential neighborhood. The inn keepers are friendly and are happy to share a wealth of information about Savannah. We highly reccoment the Galloway House.


Beautiful & Welcoming

4.4 on October 31, 2013

Held our family reunion at the Galloway House and found 'our home away from home'. Owners went out of their way to make us feel well taken care of and welcomed. We occupied all four apartments and found each one unique, well appointed and clean. Definitely would return.


A great place to stay!

4.6 on October 23, 2013

We loved the first floor apartment. Although we didn't use the kitchen except to cut cheese and to brew coffee, it would have served had we chosen to cook. But who cooks in Savannah? The place was perfect for our girlfriends' reunion. Spacious, beautiful, within walking distance of the DOT free trolley, and private. I will return with my husband.


My Favorite Place

5 on October 08, 2013

We always appreciate how clean and fresh everything is when we arrive. The bed is always big and comfortable with fresh crisp linens, and the bathroom was spotless with big fluffy towels to wrap up in after a shower. We love the little touches they add - fresh flowers, historic pictures, a great selection of Savannah travel books in addition to a binder full of useful information on the area. We also love the breakfast provided in our kitchen - fresh bagels, muffins, cream cheese, orange juice, and plenty of bottled water (plus a bottle of wine chilled and ready for our arrival!). The 3rd floor apartment is bright, cozy, and absolutely dreamy. I spent a few mornings sitting in the big beautiful window seat overlooking Savannah with a cup of coffee and a good book. Jim and Keith have never steered us wrong on restaurant recommendations - definitely try Foxy Loxy if you stay at the Galloway House: it's less than a block away, and is not to be missed with plenty of great locally sourced ingredients in imaginative dishes, and fun local brews! Jim and Keith also steered us toward Vic's On The River when we stayed at Galloway House on our honeymoon, and it's one of our favorite restaurants to this day. If you're looking for a place in Savannah, look no further. It's a fraction of the price of other 'historic' B&B's, with a much more laid back feel. It's just a minute or two from the downtown area, so it's close enough to get to the fun places downtown off Broughton and Bay streets, as well as the fun spots down on River street. It's far enough away, though, that you can really enjoy the quiet more laid-back aspects of Savannah. It's also dog friendly! We have never brought our pooch before, but it would be the perfect spot to bring a well-behaved dog. Jim and Keith also have two big beautiful (and super-friendly) Great Danes that add a lot of charm to the Galloway House.


Galloway House apartment

4.4 on October 01, 2013

This was a great little apartment on the first floor of the carriage house at the Galloway House. The garden was lovely. The area was convenient for walking and close to several nice restaurants. They provided food stuffs and abundant juice and bottled water for making our own breakfast. There was even a bottle of wine and flowers when we arrived. My only complaint is that I didn't get to see more of their Great Danes :-)


EXCELLENT!!!!!

4.8 on September 23, 2013

First time to Savannah for both my wife and myself, and we could not have found a better place to stay. Keith welcomed us by providing an excellent verbal guide to this wonderful city, and because the larger unit was unoccupied at the time of our arrival, he kindly showed us through. If we decide to return with friends, or our extended family, we know exactly where to stay. We so enjoyed walking the city we left our car at the house and spent our first evening and second day wandering the parks, feasting our eyes on the superb architecture, taking the free ferry on the river to see the city from the water and enjoying some wonderful English pub atmosphere at the Sixpence. (I am from the UK originally and so I am well versed in English pub atmospheres).


Very clean, comfortable, and friendly

5 on August 12, 2013

Very clean, very comfortable and super friendly hosts. This was our first trip to Savannah and we did not know what to expect for sure, but Jim (one of the owners) took the time to help us get all settled in, gave us a map of the area and then gave us some tips on where the really good local dining and points of interest were. Don't even think of staying in a hotel if you have the opportunity to stay at the Galloway House! It's a short walk to a lot of really cool places, and when you are worn out from sight seeing, and doing all kinds of fun stuff all day long, you can come back "home" to relax in your own little apartment. We hope to visit again soon.


Would recommend to anyone

4.4 on August 01, 2013

Our stay at the Galloway house was the best part of our trip to Savannah - which is saying a lot. We loved the Carriage House room, quaint setting, the local coffee shop for hipsters, the parks nearby and we were very pleased by Keith's own helpfulness and service. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone!


Fun times in Savannah

3.6 on July 01, 2013

It was a great relaxed atmosphere. Wonderful property to stay on. Galloway has produced a beautiful home with a fantastic backyard.


All in the family!

3.8 on June 26, 2013

To find a "home away from home" that allows your 4-legged child to join you, makes me very happy! The Galloway house offers just that! It's an historic house in Savannah that was carefully restored to offer individual "apartments" to guests, and their furry children. Located in the heart of the Historic District, The Galloway House is a short walk to Forsyth Park, which offers tremendous room for playing, running, or just lounging on the grass. Additionally, you have a fantastic coffee shop (Sentient Bean), just across the way. The accommodations were private, clean, and well stocked with granola bars, plenty of water, bagels/muffins, OJ, even yogurt. Keith was diligent to ask if we needed additional supplies, or had additional/other needs he could help with. We spent each night grabbing dinner from a local, neighborhood eatery...then sitting on the front porch, enjoying the surroundings. Nothing fancy...just right! If you have a dog, and would like to visit Savannah...I would recommend The Galloway House with confidence! We will be back! Karen, Aaron, and Carter (woof!)


Five magic days at the Galloway House

5 on June 18, 2013

Just magic. Absolutely a five star experience for an historic venue, well worth a minimum 1500 mile drive each way from Ontario Canada. We spent five days in late April 2013 at the Galloway’s carriage house lower floor. At least two sets of guests had a dog, and ALL including Keith & Jim’s were quiet and perfectly behaved. Such suggests that pet-accompanied travellers can be VERY respectful. Guests of course should never forget their obligations both as pet-owners and as ambassadors for home. Keith & Jim and - gotta honestly say - everyone we met in Savannah - were enormously hospitable. A class act by everyone, also suggests that Savannah as a whole buys into being and remaining a hemisphere level vacation or convention destination. ( This sunk in again several weeks later, far northbound in northern New York State, looking for tourist info bureau, getting tail-gated by a schoolbus at 68 mph. No wonder visitors appreciate Savannah ). We wish Keith & Jim’s guests the same great time we had. Five days is not enough for this city. Hope guests also try the Old Savannah (vintage trolley) Tour and good restaurants nearby. Worth taking time to watch Savannah Special Features sections of ‘Midnight in the Garden’ DVD. Thanks & hope we can get back soon. Bob & Marg Driscoll, Ontario Canada


Great stay at Galloway.

4.6 on June 17, 2013

We had a great time at the Galloway House. Jim and keith were always avalible and full of great knowledge about Savannah. They provided breakfast that met our needs. The house is a great place to stay. It is a short walk to River Street from the house but well worth the walk because of getting to pass through all the squares.


A Wonderful Southern Experience!

5 on May 31, 2013

In May, my sisters, my niece, and I, had the fortunate experience of spending three nights at Galloway House. We plan to return again next year. The home was impeccably clean, and the owners' attention to detail was similar to that of a five-star hotel. Whether you choose to have your morning coffee in the lush, well-manicured garden, on the front porch, or private sun room, you are sure to enjoy your stay at this beautiful southern home away from home.


Galloway House Savannah

5 on May 25, 2013

We stayed at the Galloway House for four days with another couple and had the entire 1st floor.We all thought it was great. Jim and Keith were very friendly and accommodating. Good location and easy to get wherever you want to go.We ate breakfast out on that huge front porch every morning. It was as advertised.I would definitely recommend to others.


Savannah's Best B&B

5 on May 06, 2013

We spent 5 days here & it was wonderful. House is as beautiful as the pictures indicate. Would highly recommend.


Exactly as advertised

5 on April 20, 2013

Everything that was promised. Great service provided by the hosts. Exceptionally clean. The food that was provided lasted my wife and I the entire duration of our stay (and then some). Also, on a somewhat unrelated note my wife and I are tattoo'ed with stretched ears and strange hair. At the last b&b we stayed at in Savannah we we're looked at strangely, but at the Galloway house we were welcomed warmly.


Great Find

4.6 on April 03, 2013

A beautifully restored Georgian Mansion with lovely gardens. Our room was so comfortable with a living room, bedroom, kitchen and bath. The owners could not have been more hospitable and provided lovely extras for us in our room; bagels and cream cheese, muffins, juice, water, and the most fabulous coffee. And it is walking distance from a fabulous restaurant "Elizabeth's on 37th". Highly recommended.


Where you should take your well behaved dog(s)

5 on April 02, 2013

The Galloway House is a beautiful place to stay with your dog. We enjoyed a private and peaceful retreat here while in Savannah. The walk from the Galloway House to the Savannah River District is absolutely beautiful!


A Wonderful and Luxurious Vacation!

5 on April 01, 2013

Keith & Jim provided us with a wonderful, private, well-stocked, beautiful apartment from which we could easily explore Savannah's history and wonderful dining. Trust their advice on restaurants, tours, and attractions!!


Don't stay any where else!!!

5 on February 03, 2013

We decided to visit Savannah one night but the next time it will be for more than one night. This place was AMAZING. I will highly recommend this place to everyone !!! Wonderful atmosphere, beautiful garden, very homey !!! Super clean also !!!


Don't go anywhere else!

5 on January 13, 2013

This place is a dream come true! We booked a two room suite, and what we got was AMAZING, A gorgeously restored house - kitchen, living room, formal diningroom, sunroom porch, back yard! All in the heart of Savannah's historical district, cool, a little funky, full of life! Couldn't have asked for more! The price amazing for what was provided, and our hosts made us feel like we were their personal house guests! This made our visit to Savannah, and we fell in love with the city!


Fantastic Charm, Fabulous Hosts!

5 on December 17, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Keith and Jim's The Galloway House en route from Florida to New York. Weary, and with dogs, we arrived on the late side but were warmly greeted by Keith & Jim. The carriage house was beautifully restored and decorated; the kitchen perfect to eat dinner and breakfast the next morning! Wonderful bed, linens, and shower! We will definitely be back -- and highly recommend The Galloway House! Lisa & Andy


A home away from home

4.8 on October 20, 2012

We really enjoyed or stay and would highly recommend staying at the Galloway house to anyone that has a dog or not Our dog enjoyed it emensly maybe more than we did . Beautiful grounds , super comfy bed and best of all our own entrance.. For those stumbles home after dark . We will be back to Savannah and the Galloway home is where we shall stay. FRESH GROUND COFFEE!!!!! Thanks again to the owners for inviting strangers into your Beautiful world


New Favorite Place!

5 on September 13, 2012

We recently spent a weekend in the 2 bedroom apartment with another couple. The apartment was absolutely beautiful and very spacious. Jim and Keith were both very accomodating and were willing to provide us with anything we may need....not that we needed anything! When we were not out sightseeing, our time was spent sitting on that gorgeous front porch...could have spent the whole weekend there! Already planning a return trip in March.


Pet friendly bed and breakfast

5 on September 12, 2012

This was a great vacation for us. The hosts were wonderful, with breakfast stuff, water and wine stocked in the room. We stayed in the 1700sq ft 2bd/2bth apartment that was decorated beautifully with plenty of room for our 160lb dog. We will definitely return and recommend them to all.


Paradise Found

5 on July 09, 2012

For us to travel it always means we travel with our boxer dog as for us he is the first thing to fit into our planning. The Galloway House not only came up in the search but also by friends that used to live in Savannah. We were travelling from Canada and from the initial email to Keith & Jim they were always fast at responding to any questions. We were arriving out of their check in window but they accommodated us. They are both truly friendly people it is like talking to an old friend. The apartment was wonderfully furnished the back yard there are no pictures to do it justice, and it's also fully fenced in so we could let our dog run out without worrying about him getting loose. They also flew our Canadian Flag on July 1st which was our country's national day, which made both of us truly happy. As far as cost goes it's around the same price as any of the other Inn's or even lower, I strongly recommend that this place be in your top 3 choices.


1st floor carriage house affordable and perfect for 3 people!

4.2 on June 02, 2012

Keith and Jim made us feel as though we were old friends, welcoming us our day of arrival, answering questions throughout our visit and allowing us to tour other parts of the home for anticipated future visits. They made sure we had everything we needed, information about the area included, such that our local journey to attractions and restaurants was a memorable one. We appreciated the privacy, the lush gardens and the hospitality. We will continue to recommend The Galloway House to our friends and hope to return ourselves. Linda (TN), Donna (TN), Gerry (TX)


Beautiful and comfortable!

5 on May 04, 2012

The owners were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Apartment style lodging is fantastic! Our stay was comfortable, peaceful and the apartment is home-like not stale and cold like hotels. There were some great cafes and eateries very close to the house. The garden was beautiful and inviting. When we return to Savannah, the Galloway House will be at the top of the list! Oh, and the dogs were cool!


We're coming back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 on April 24, 2012

My husband and I spent a week in the first floor carriage house form April 3rd to 10th. Never having been to Savannah before we were both really excited to be celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in such a beautiful place. Galloway House met all of our expectations and more. Our hosts Jim and Keith were extremely helpful and responsive to any and all of our questions. The carriage house was fully equipped and the house itself situated in the Victorian District, a quick 5 minute drive to the centre of the Historic District. Parking was a breeze outside the house. There were a number of high and low (but great) restaurants within walking distance. The trip was one of the best we have ever taken, and we will be back for our 25th if not before. Don't miss it.


Loving this Place

5 on April 22, 2012

My Husband and I stayed in the first floor carriage house for 7 nights at the beginning of April. We could not have asked for more genial hosts, or a better equipped home away from home. Great restaurants high and low end within walking distance. Easy parking and a 5 minute drive from the historic district; in other words the convenience to everything downtown but just nicely out of the fray. Beautiful garden and huge front porch to relax on We're coming back to Savannah and would not stay anywhere else!.


The Galloway House will be the highlight of your stay

4.6 on April 04, 2012

Everything about the Galloway House is charming- the decor, the huge front porch, the luscious gardens, the peaceful block. We felt at home for our brief two night stay and were reluctant to peel ourselves off of the patio furniture when it was time to go!


A Wonderful Place to Stay

4.6 on February 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and from the start to the time we left felt very welcomed into this beautiful historic home, the gardens were lovely, the apartment was clean and comfortable. There is enough good breakfast food for a start to the day and we loved the four-legged friends we got to meet. We would have loved to stay longer and will be back in the future. This is a perfect place for a non-traditional B&B. If you are looking for a unique place to stay in Savannah this is your place. Thank you for a great stay!!!


We Loved staying in an apartment!

4.2 on January 07, 2012

My girlfriend is sort of shy and the last thing she wants to do is talk to strangers in the morning. So having an apartment all to ourselves was perfect. I met some fellow Bears fans on the front porch, which is the common area where everyone hangs out and she join us when she was comfortable. Bed was great! Towels are great! Food is good and location is very quite in the Victorian Historic District.


Have to visit Savannah's Galloway House

5 on September 08, 2011

Beautiful House and Garden, wonderful host (Jim and Keith). You will truly enjoy your visit to Savannah, GA and the Galloway House is a great twist on the B & B. All you need is in "your" apartment. We really felt at home. Next time I hope to bring a new four legged family member. The Galloway House will not be a secret for long so hurry up and go!!!


The great, good, bad, and ugly

2.2 on June 07, 2011

The Great: they are very pet friendly...my dog was very welcomed and this was very important to me. The Good: the apartment (really a studio because there was a wood screen separating the living room and "bedroom"). The apt was very clean, especially the bathroom...which is one of the first places I check. The Bad: a continental breakfast is promised and delivered; however, there was no fruit and when my traveling companion called one of the owners to ask for more muffins because she didn't eat bagels (and I didn't like the ones offered), they knew we only had two more mornings remaining and they brought enough muffins for one morning. There also was only one choice of juice (orange juice) and I am allergic to it and after the muffin debacle I knew that there would be little or no response to a request for a different juice. The Ugly: I have been going to B&Bs for awhile now and one of the reasons I do so is the charming atmosphere and comraderie with the other guest. I also like to see the lovely old houses/mansions that we stay in. In every B&B I've stayed in there has been a common area for all guests to gather and to relax and chat. For these reasons (the bad and ugly), I will not stay at this B&B again nor will I recommend them to any of my friends, who by the way, travel extensively.

Innkeeper Response
The guest is correct but as I'd explained; we have many guests who ask for a few extra muffins for their drive home, and as our baker is closed on Sunday & Monday, we can't always provide additional fresh muffins when asked on a Monday evening. Also whenever we're advised that a guest has any food allergies, we've always provided the substitute they request. Most mornings, and many evenings, the front porch is filled with both guests and their dogs but some choose instead to head out to explore Savannah. We know that when making a decision where to stay it can be difficult to remember which properties have which amenities, so our website clearly states we're not a typical b&b and that the only common areas the front porch with seating for eight and the garden with seating for four.


The Wonderful Galloway House

4.8 on May 01, 2011

We enjoyed a three-day stay on the third floor of The Galloway House. We loved the apartment setting. Hosts Keith and Jim were very helpful. I especially loved the large front porch of the home. If you are looking for a more quiet spot than the down town area, this is your place! And within easy walking distance of Forsyth Park.


not a b+b experience

3.4 on April 23, 2011

This was our first visit to Savannah.We arrived on April 10,2011.We had reservations for four nights in the 2nd floor carriage house.The apt. was really nice and spacious.The stairs up to the apt are steep,we did ok,but if you have any problems I would stay on the first floor.We have stayed in many B+Bs and this not one. There is no common room,so there is no interaction with the other guests.We were not even told if we could sit on the front porch or did this belong to the guests on 1st floor main house.There is no maid service of any kind.We did not expect someone to pick up after us,but we did not expect to ask for clean towels(one each) or for someone to take out our garbage.We

Innkeeper Response
Our listing begins with; "Apartment 'n' Breakfast in Historic Savannah! Not just a bed and a breakfast - Four fully furnished apartments with gourmet kitchens!" There are two common areas; the backyard garden has seating for four and the front porch seats eight guests. In lieu of daily housekeeping, I live on the 2nd floor of the main house and also give every guest my personal cell phone number so I am accessible 24/7 to help with directions, restaurants, replenishing amenities, in short, helping a guest in any way I can. Each bath is stocked with a minimum of six to eight heavy Egyptian towels. While we do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy their stay, we always hope that they will ask if there is something else we can do for them.


it was a pleasent experience

5 on February 09, 2011

it was a pleasent experience that i had with Galloaway. we our family enjoyed alot of doing fun


GREAT STAY IN SAVANNAH

4.8 on January 30, 2011

The Galloway House was a great getaway for the long weekend to enjoy Savannah. We stayed in the bottom floor of the home in the 2 bedroom 2 bath apartment. There were two couples, ages 30's and 50's and both enjoyed. Jim, one of the owners, met us upon arrival and showed us the place. It was exactly as advertised. The place was immaculate and the furnishing very nice. There is a king and queen bedroom with very comfortable linens and mattress. The baths were stocked with white towels and there was plenty of hot water after 4 showers. We brought our two dogs, a pug and yorkie and they loved the backyard and walks to the park/library up the street. It was very cold outside when we visited and the place was nice and cozy upon arrival. We also had a refrigerator stocked with juice and yogurt along with muffins and bagels for breakfast. I had asked if there was a blender and upon arrival there was one waiting. We didn't cook but the kitchen was very nicely furnished with utensils and dishes if we would have been so inclined. We rented a car and the drive downtown was just minutes. If it hadn't been so cold we could have walked or at least met the bus stop. Parking is right out front with no problem whatsoever. On the weekends parking is very affordable or free downtown and it is really cheaper than a taxi from the airport. It was great to come home after a day of sight seeing to a quiet comfortable apartment. We will definetly recommend The Galloway House to friends.


A great place to stay!

4.0 on January 29, 2011

We highly recommend this fabulous 'home from home' discreetly and sympathetically run B&B. Keith and Jim welcome you on arrival but leave alone to enjoy your stay for however long that may be. All the necessary equipment and conveniences are in place, except for the bottle opener the Jones's broke! The accommodation consists of a very large single story fully furnished apartment which is extreemely comfortable and well furnished. Two bedrooms with large and fantastically comfortable beds, two bathrooms plus a superb verandah room and a quiet well planted garden all addn up to a little bit of paradise in Savannah. Don't miss it!


Thank you Jim and Keith!

4.6 on October 11, 2010

We enjoyed every minute at your house! Next time you're in Atlanta, drop by for a mint julep.


Home Away From Home

5 on September 04, 2010

We were looking for a place to stay in Savannah that allowed dogs. It was almost impossible to find....then I ran across The Galloway House. The house was beautiful! The owners, Keith and Jim were so nice! The best part was that we could bring our dog! We stayed in the main house on the first floor. The whole first floor was ours and included two bedrooms, two baths, living room, foyer, kitchen, dining room, and even a sunporch and front porch! The decor was very nice. Books about Savannah were provided. Jim and Keith have the kitchen fully stocked. The kitchen even had a dishwasher and ice maker in the fridge. Bagels, muffins, orange juice, and wine were also included! The bedrooms had nice comfortable mattresses, clean white linens, and large pillows. Closets were large. Ceiling fans were nice! The back yard was beautiful with potted plants surrounding brick walkways and seating underneath the old Live Oak tree draped in Spanish moss. Front porch was huge with lots of seating and ceiling fans. The house exceeded my expectations in every way! Thank you Jim and Keith for allowing us to share your home!


Great Danes at a Great House!

4.8 on February 14, 2010

We went because my boyfriend loves Great Danes and there are two at the Galloway House. I love beautiful houses and the house certainly is magnificent, the gardens are wonderful and Keith was a big help in his restaurant recommendations. We're planning to go back next fall with friends.


outstanding!

5 on July 17, 2009

Great house and we really liked the front porch. Now we know what it's like in a real southern plantation mansion!


A Wonderful place to stay in Historic Savannah

5 on June 13, 2009

Even though it rained a couple of days there is a nice library of dvd's, design magazines and novels to help pass the time. Also there are some cute restaurants and antique shops right around the house so that was fun too.


Most Beautiful in Savannah!

5 on June 12, 2009

We thought we'd died and gone to heaven! The bedding is so fine and soft it was hard to get out of bed in the morning. The pillows are actual Goose Down! I've never seen that anywhere before! They know how to do things right and we loved every minute!


More than we could have asked for!

5 on December 17, 2008

This was a wonderful B&B to stay at! The house was beautiful and very comfortable! Keith makes sure that everything feels like home and not a hotel! It was great to be so close to all of the fun that downtown had to offer and yet still far enough away that you didnt feel like you were stuck in the middle of it all. Keith is very very helpful and willing to accomodate his guests requests! This B&B comes highly recommended


In a word "Wonderful"

4.8 on September 18, 2008

The bed and breakfast was in a word "wonderful!" It's charm and love is the perfect 'home away from home' to have while visiting this step back in time . Whether I was sitting on the porch, relaxing on the couch, napping to recharge the bones or reading in the sunroom, the Galloway House Bed and Breakfast is a place we will always remember and recommend. My wife and I had to get away for a 5th anniversary and her --th birthday and we found the perfect spot to spend it , in a place like this it has been the perfect touch. To all who come; open your heart and let the house, the dogs, Keith and Jim love on you for a while!


We LOVE The Galloway House

5 on September 16, 2008

WOW! We LOVE Savannah! We consider ourselves "Southerners" but the hospitality and ante bellum southern atmosphere reign true here! Keith is a gracious and magnanimous host. We enjoyed his affable conversation on the porch and adored his three 'kids' Charlie, Moose and Scooter - the Great Danes. His home / bed and breakfast is opulent and the plants are an amazing embellishment. We felt like we were staying inside "Southern Living Magazine". This bed and breakfast was the perfect getaway. Pizza Rustica was phenomenal and we had Kilwin's ice cream EVERY night for desert. Make the trip to Tybee Beach, it was worth it! Don't forget to take the 9pm walking ghost tour with Margarite at the corner of York and Bull. There is so much to do here that we feel we must return! P. S. Keith, we're glad you ditched NYC!


Great House and Great Time!

4.8 on May 28, 2008

We've stayed in lots of B and B's this was certainly one of the finest and most comfortable. In everything it's obvious that Keith cares more about doing things right than cutting corners! Having a great kitchen was such a treat and his three Great Danes are the sweetest gentle giants. Already we're looking forward to returning to our "Savannah home away from home" and our friends, Keith and The Boys!


The Galloway House Bed & Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-9126584419

Visit Website »

View details

Top