The Zeigler House Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
25 Reviews

Write A Review

Great b&b!

5 on June 25, 2013

We spent a night here recently & love it! Jackie's a great hostess & has thought of everything. Our room was so comfortable & well-furnished, plus very conveniently located on a brick, tree-lined street just off Whitaker. Jackie recommended the Crystal Beer Parlour for dinner, a 2 block walk; the food was excellent, very reasonable, & just the right amt of rowdy! Thnx for everything, Jackie!


Wanted to Stay Longer

5 on March 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Zeigler House, and really felt comfortable. Jackie was so kind and helpful, and made us feel at home in her gorgeous Inn. Savannah is great, but staying at the Zeigler House made it that much better.


Great Location But Perhaps Not the Best for the Price

3.0 on October 20, 2011

Nice bed and breakfast in a terrific location. Our room was lovely with a comfy bed, but quite small with no comfortable chairs. For the price, we were disappointed with the breakfast. Food is left in the room and there is no cooked breakfast. An excessive amount of heavy pastries (enough for 6 people which seemed wasteful) were left along with the most ordinary fruits:, apples (red delicious, the least appealing of apples) and bananas which were not ripe so we could not eat them. Also, cold cereal, yogurt, and juices. This may be just fine for some, but compared to other bed and breakfasts we've visted in this price range, we found this to be not to our liking. However, if this is not a problem for you, this house is within walking distance to everything and parking was provided, another plus. Some road noise but not intolerable. We would also suggest not choosing a room on the first floor, which is really more like an exposed basement, located under the living room and dining room. These rooms have windows just inches away from the sidewalk on the side of the house, and we found it necessary to keep our blinds closed the entire time for privacy from pedestrians. All and all, OK, but we will try another B & B on our next visit to Savannah.


Great place from which to see Savannah

5 on June 05, 2011

The inn itself is gorgeous, and Jackie has done a great job decorating everything. We stayed in the French Country Room, with a private entrance on the garden level. Everything was stocked for us, including a daily assortment of baked goods that were as good or better than any you'll find in the city. The room itself was beautiful, furnished with antiques and well stocked with thick towels and robes. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on while on vacation, and we loved that we had our own garden area to enjoy. We'll stay at the Zeigler House again, and recommend it to friends.


We love The Zeigler House and its unique breakfast!!

4.6 on March 15, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at The Zeigler House last Summer. After vacationing with three small children, my husband and I decided we needed a vacation to recover and The Zeigler House was the perfect place to get rejuvenated! Jackie makes the best breakfast pastries and we loved the en suite breakfast and social hour in the evening. I highly recommend The Zeigler House and its perfect Jones Street location as the place to stay in Savannah!!


We have found a Savannah B&B to return to again and again!

5 on January 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend trip to Savannah and we could not have been happier! Jackie was there to greet us warmly at the door even though we had a later check-in. The location is perfect, in the middle of the historic district. The common areas and guest rooms are all beautifully decorated and very inviting. Teas, coffee/cappuccinos, cookies, fudge, and other treats are available 24/7 downstairs. Our room was impeccably clean, spacious, and comfortable. We had plenty of towels, bath products, and two comfy robes. The kitchenette was well-stocked with our choice of juices and type of milk, sodas, english muffins, jelly, butter, coffee, tea, water, and lots of fresh pastries for breakfast were placed in our room the night before. Jackie is a wonderful chef - her peach turnovers, chocolate croissants, coffee cake, and more were all amazing. Would definitely recommend this inn!


Marvelous B&B

5 on November 18, 2010

We've stayed at many historic B&Bs over the years and found The Zeigler House to be one of the very best. The location is great, Jackie is a wonderful host, and our room was spacious, elegant, and filled with light. Jackie is an amazing baker and supplied us with tasty treats for breakfast and snacks. Just be careful--you better walk those treats off or you'll gain weight!


Mini Vacation in Savannah

4.8 on August 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Zeigler House for a mini vacation. It was beautiful and Jackie was so helpful to us. We really enjoyed our stay and tried to be in the house as much as we could in between our little trips out to do different things in Savannah.


Beautiful Inn and a Great Hostess equals a Wonderful Experience!

5 on August 11, 2010

For my husband and I, this last weekend was our first time staying at a B&B and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. First of all, the inn is in a great location as we were able to walk to most of our outings as our car stayed parked at the premises. The suites (we traveled with friends and saw their suite as well) were comfortable, quite spacious and decorated with an incredible attention to detail. The innkeeper, Jackie, was a wealth of information and she was most accommodating to all our requests but most of all, her daily baked goodies were "over the top". The refrigerator was kept stocked with water, juices, etc. and she always had special homemade treats on the first floor as well. This was our first trip to Savannah but it will not be our last as we both fell in love with the historic city and we'll make it a point to come again and when we do, we will definitely be back to The Zeigler House to enjoy some of that Southern hospitality that we grew accustomed to in our stay. Maribel and Tom


Best Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Zeigler House with our best friend couple this past weekend. We had the entire floor to ourselves. Although there were other guests in the house, Jackie Heinz (the owner) made us feel like we were the only ones there. She is a wonderful hostess. Her fresh baked goodies were delicious and a great way to start our day. Our rooms were beautiful, clean, quiet and always stocked with water, juices, and snacks. She always had something to eat downstairs in the dining room with coffee and sherry. We had a wonderful time in Savannah and owe a great deal of it to Jackie Heinz and her bed and breakfast. We can't wait to go back. We highly recommend The Zeigler House.


Great weekend, can't wait to go back

5 on May 29, 2010

we loved Savannah and all its history, the Zeigler House was just great and all we hoped it would be.


Very Pleasant Stay

5 on November 06, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Inn last summer while in town visiting relatives. Jackie was so warm and inviting and a wealth of information. Even though we visit Savannah several times a year she suggested several restaurants we hadn't heard of. We chose to eat at Alligator Soul which was wonderful. The room was so well stocked and the pastries, cookies are to die for. It was a lovely stay. Cathy from Kennesaw, GA


Epitome of Southern Hospitality

4.8 on June 30, 2009

This was my 5th stay in Savannah and Jackie made it the best yet. Zeigler House is beautiful and centrally located on a lovely street. The Lafayette room was large with a well stocked kitchenette, whirlpool tub and private entrance and patio. The freshly made baked goods arrived every day and were delicious. Jackie is truly a wonderful hostess and her attention to detail shows. I will be returning to stay at Zeigler House next Savannah trip.


A beautiful gem!

5 on April 06, 2009

From the moment my husband and I entered the Zeigler House Inn, we knew we would have a perfect 25th Anniversary weekend! Jackie, the owner and innkeeper, greeted us with a warm, welcoming smile despite our late arrival. She provided us with a map, access to specialty coffee and teas, homemade cookies and fudge, and answered our questions, after showing us to our beautiful, comfortable room. What we loved about our stay: 1. Our beautiful surroundings! The Zeigler House Inn is lovely and impeccably kept. 2. Delicious homemade baked goods for breakfast, in the comfort of our own room, as well as fresh fruit, munchies, chocolates, and a refrigerator stocked with our own favorite juices and other beverages, including milk -- special ordered by us ahead of time -- nice touch! We got 3 baked goods apiece each day -- more than we can eat, so we took them home pp thank you, Jackie. They were all delicious; the scones and the bread pudding were amazing! 3. The luxurious shower. 4. Wine and hors d'oeuvres served on Fridays and Saturdays at 5. An assortment, and all scrumptious -- great crab cakes! If we hadn't had dinner reservations at the same restaurant we went to on our honeymoon 25 years earlier, we could have practically made a meal of this spread. 5. Charming hospitality areas downstairs that are always available to guests. Very nice for couples whose sleep schedules are not the same -- my husband is a very early riser, and he really appreciated having a comfortable, well-let place to hang out. 6. Wireless internet access, in the common area and in our room. 7. The delicious baked goods that were always available downstairs, as well as for our breakfast, along with specialty coffees and teas. What we didn't like: Nothing! Maureen Ryan Griffin Charlotte, NC


Great Escape Twice

5 on January 18, 2009

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend last summer exploring Savannah and staying with Jackie at the Ziegler House. Needless to say, her personal touches (great pastry), the ambiance of the lower patio room and the fantastic location provided much more than we expected on our first visit to Savannah. One weekend is not enough time to see all of the incredible historic sites and try all of the great restaurants. The Ziegler House impressed us so much that we returned again to celebrate the New Year.


Perfect Honeymoon!

5 on January 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon over New Year's and loved The Zeigler House. It's a beautiful home and we had one of the lower rooms with a private entrance and felt like it was our own private apartment for the week. The baked goods Jackie made were to die for and she was very helpful with setting up dinner arrangements for us while we were there. She definitely knows the area well. And it was a real treat to be able to park the car for the whole time since everything you would want to see in downtown Savannah is a walk away. We can't wait to come back!


wonderful surprise

4.8 on December 10, 2008

Zeigler House was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. My husband and I were looking for a quiet and restful get away. We got that and so much more. The room was impeccable and felt very homey. We walked to so many places, all conviently located. Jackie's reccommendations were excellent and added so much to our trip. We looked forward to her wonderful pastries everyday. We can't wait to go back.


quiet elegance

5 on October 22, 2008

Perfect location on a cobblestone street at the edge of the historic district for walking or catching the free "CAT" bus to downtown. we stayed in the street level room with a private patio. beautifully decorated in the period style. the room came with a small kitchen area which was stocked each day with breakfast items (juice, milk, coffee and teas, english muffins, jams and bottled water) but the best items were the fresh home baked items (blueberry scones, banana walnut muffins, apple turnovers, cheese danish). the owner was terrific in giving information about the area- homes to tour, restaurants to try, sights not to miss. we would highly recommend this inn.


Charming and Friendly

5 on September 16, 2008

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it could not have been better. Host Jackie Heinz creates a warm and friendly setting in this charming historic house. Our room had a private outdoor courtyard, and there was a porch and parlor for all to use. We were centrally located and Jackie offered great restaurant and sightseeing tips. She is an incredible baker, and made breakfasts (and snacks all day) a treat.


Old South charm and elegance

5 on September 03, 2008

We are a group of 5 couples who like to travel together, with or without families. We decided to visit Savannah, and one of our friends wanted to stay in a Bed and Breakfast type place to feel the ambiance of Savannah. He researched it on the internet and found The Zeigler House. We thought it looked good on the web and we booked all 5 rooms. What a surprise when we arrived. It was just what we were looking for. It's close to all venues, yet far enough so you don't hear a lot of noise. The house is beautifully restored. The rooms were very well decorated in the fashion of the time. But the golden touch to the weekend was the very best homemade goods that were delivered to our rooms daily. Jackie Heinz made all of the pastries and goods for the continental breakfast herself and this was one of the most memorable weekends due to this fabulous fare. We are returning again this year with one change. We are having a diner catered at the inn to further enjoy her culinary talents. Definitively worth the travel for the experience and the hospitality offered by the inn mistress.


Charming and delicious

4.6 on August 14, 2008

We stayed at the Zeigler House Inn in historic Savannah for one night, and it was a DREAM! The suite we stayed in was soo beautiful and luxurious, I never wanted to get out of bed. The owner makes pastries every day and they are divine. Also, Jackie, one of owners, was soo helpful in making us dinner reservations at a great place and helping us get a "pedicab" (highly recommended after a day of walking) We could not have been happier with this Inn and our visit to Savannah.


Beautiful B&B

4.6 on May 11, 2008

We recently stayed at the Zeigler House and enjoyed the Giverny room. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the decor. The fresh baked goodies that Jackie left in our room for us each morning were delicious. It was convenient walking distance to the downtown River front area and all historic sites. Three doors down is Mrs. Wilkes House which only serves lunch but is a must-do! We appreciated Jackie giving us a map and directions and suggestions on places.


Savannah Get-A-Way

5 on September 22, 2007

This was our first visit to Savannah. Jackie was very helpful in guiding us to interesting places to see and to dine. The home baked goods were absolutely scrumptious. Jackie should really open a gourmet bakery. The room was VERY comfortable, clean and at the same time cozy. The exterior courtyard was ideal. The private entrance made us feel like we had our own historical suite in Savannah. We definitely will stay here again on our next visit and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Savannah.


Great Place to Stay!!!

5 on April 15, 2007

This was a wonderful Bed & Breakfast. The warm feeling you get when you stay here makes you feel at home. This was my second time in Savannah and I stayed at the Marshall House the first time and The Zeigler House the second and I LOVED the Zeigler house so much more!!!!!!


Wonderful place, people & location!

3.8 on February 15, 2007

My daughter and I stayed here while visiting Savannah College of Art & Design and stayed on the top floor suite which was great - very comfortable and we loved the fresh baked goods each morning in our kitchen. The service was excellent, the bed very comfortable and the porch wonderful. I too was an Innkeeper for a few years so I know what it takes to make things nice for discriminating guests!


The Zeigler House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $269
  • Reviews (25) 4.8
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9122335307
  • Fax 1-9122330220
  • Toll free 1-8662335307

Visit Website »

View details

Top