Spanish Moss Inn Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Services4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
70 Reviews

Write A Review

Highly recommended!

3.8 on February 14, 2014

We have only stayed at a bed and breakfast one time and our experience was mundane. We were pleasantly surprised at The Spanish Moss! It was not overly frilly like many B&B's, the rooms had such character, wonderfully decorated and very very clean. Perfectly located as well! Sam was such a pleasant helpful host, communicated wonderfully and made us feel quite welcome! We will definitely return when we come back to Savannah! ..The Rainers


Tasteful, and inviting.

5 on January 13, 2014

The Ferreira's are wonderful hosts. We arrived at the Spanish Moss Inn late in the afternoon without any reservations, yet Sam welcomed and invited us in, and showed us around as if we were family. We are so glad that there was an open room because after seeing the house we wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. The house is beautifully restored and maintained, tastefully decorated, and inviting. We were able to relax and unwind while drinking specialty tea as we sat in the sunroom overlooking the patio with the serene sound of the water fountains. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast arrangement worked perfect and was very delicious. It is also worth noting that there is enclosed secure parking inside the property.


The Spanish Moss Inn provided the best Savannah Experience

5 on November 26, 2013

I have been going to bed and breakfasts since I was a kid. The Spanish Moss Inn was by far an amazing place to stay. The owner Sam, was very pleasant and wonderful to work with. He was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us a bunch of recomendations. Walking into the Inn you feel like you live there with how welcoming it is. The main rooms are decorated very tastefully and you wouldn't be able to find an ounce of dust. They served different wine every night and coffee in the mornings. The only little bummer, but easily dealt with, was that they don't serve breakfast there but they did have arrangements for a discount at a restaurant just under a block away. The food was really good and made the savannah experience more special. Okay now onto the room. We stayed in the mariners room which to find out is technically the basement of the home. Not to worry though it honestly felt like our own personal suite because it was so private yet homey. The bed was bery comfortable and very clean in the room and bathroom. If we decide to come back to savannah, which i am sure we will, we will definitely want to stay at the spanish moss inn. It was a perfect charming and wonderul experience that will last with us forever.


Best place in Savannah to stay!

5 on August 19, 2013

We frequent the Spanish Moss Inn for both business and pleasure. We have stayed in the Gold Room and Mariners rooms and have not has a bad experience on our trips. The owners are very considerate and go above and beyond to ensure your stay is fabulous! Beds are very comfortable. Never a speck of dust and bathrooms extremely clean. Common areas are quiet and we have used them for small business meetings. The furnishings are beautiful and designer. You will not be disappointed with their breakfast arrangements...the food is gourmet and you can choose from a variety of dishes. Complimentary Hours devours and wine in the early evenings is the perfect way to wind down! Always a pleasure to return to the Inn!


Best B&B

5 on June 10, 2013

After staying two nights in the Dormer Room (located on the top floor) we were more than ecstatic with our stay at the home. The cleanliness of the home was impeccable. The linens in the bathroom and bedroom were of very high quality. The owners were very hospitable with the cheese, fruit, coffee, wine, tea, and breakfast arrangements. Absolutely nothing bad to say about this place! We plan to come back and stay again soon!


Spanish Moss Inn

4.8 on September 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in April 2012 for two nights and had the best time ever. What a wonderful cozy environment and the owners Elena & Sam are the best. Not to mention the housekeeper Rosario who was extremely helpful and kind. The place is exceptionally clean and very comfortable. They offer a wonderful wine/cheese hour everyday that is superb. The stay in the Dormer room is very nice and comfortable and you have the floor to yourself. We will be back and hopefully we will be bringing guests next time that are interested in visiting Savannah. You can't go wrong with this bed and breakfast!


Perfect Getaway B&B!

5 on August 02, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Spanish Moss Inn last weekend and it was beautiful! We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was a very unique, exposed-brick and window-lined room. We arrived before any other guests and asked if we could peek into the other rooms because they are all so different, and they were all exquisite. It will be tough to choose a room next time! Eating breakfast at B. Matthews was perfect for us, as my husband is more of a picky eater. There were plenty of choices, so I think I liked it better than eating on-site, where there would have been fewer choices. The innkeepers and the staff were attentive, helpful and pleasant. The antique decor was gorgeous. We will certainly return to this B&B on our next trip to Savannah! Thanks for a wonderful anniversary trip Sam, Elena and Evie!


Our 25th Wedding Anniversary Destination

5 on May 14, 2012

My husband and I found this gem of a B & B online and we were not disappointed. The house is beautiful. Sam and Elena were welcoming and helpful. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We stayed in the Garden Suite which had a door that lead to a beautiful patio with fountains, shade and tables. This space was very relaxing. Each evening wine, cheese, fruit and other hors d'oeuvres were set out. The Spanish Moss Inn was between chefs, so we went a few doors down to B. Matthews. The food was amazing and it was paid for including tip by The Spanish Moss Inn. The location was perfect as well. We were able to walk anywhere in the historic district. Night life and shopping was really close. We were so pleased with our trip we will definitely recommend The Spanish Moss Inn to friends and family and we hope to return ourselves someday.


AMAZING!!!!!

5 on April 27, 2012

My husband is in the Army and we are currently sationed here in Savannah at Hunter Army Airfield. We renewed our wedding vows this past St. Patrick's Day...and due to having five (yes five) kids we were not able to go out of town for a big honeymoon..so we decided to take a "Stay-cation" and explore Beautiful Savannah. We fell in love with the online pictures of the Spanish Moss Inn and booked the Dormer Room. Let me just say that online pictures do NOT do this amazing Inn justice! The entire Inn is so beautifully decorated that from the moment you walk in the door you can feel just how much time-love-care went into every room! We were late on arrival, but still warmly greeted by the owner Sam himself. Exteamly Kind and helpful! Our room was so FANCY..very classy, HUGE, private, and because I am the worlds biggest GERM FREAK..you can trust me when I say that this INN & it's rooms and BATHROOMS are EXTREMELY CLEAN! We loved the fact that we were able to park our car in the onsite LOCKED Garage. You can walk to everything you need so there really is no need for you to drive anywhere. They are between Chefs so guests walk a VERY SMALL walk down the street to b.Matthews...OMG let me tell you...the food is AWESOME, huge portions..atmosphere is great..this was not an inconvinence at all. I was so impressed with our stay that I am treating my mom to a night at The Spanish Moss for Mother's day!


Great Weekend!!

4.6 on April 25, 2012

My wife and I went to Savannah for a getaway weekend. From the minute we walked in our needs were met by Sam and his staff. Needed ice for a sore knee and was able to get it when needed. The afternoon wine and snacks on patio made for the casual time that we were looking for in Savannah The Garden room was spacious and larger than we were expecting. The Inn was close to everything, so did not have to drive much and were able to park in secure garage. I would highly recommend this beautifully decorated Inn. We had a wonderful time thanks to Sam!!


A momorable place

5 on April 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this bed and breakfast. Sam ( the owner) was most gracious and helpful with events that were taking place. We stayed in the aqua room which we found impecably clean and comfortable. Each evening a beautiful spread of cheese, olives, crackers and something sweet was laid out for us to enjoy. A lovely courtyard provided a place to visit and have coffee. Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast of our choosing at a restaurant down the block. We would love to come back and highly recommend it to Savannah visitors.


A special place!

4.4 on April 19, 2012

What a treasure! This was the perfect place for us. We were welcomed even at our late arrival by the owner Sam. My husband and I came with his parents and we were very impressed with the accommodations. It was extremely clean and the rooms where spacious Loved all the windows and really enjoyed the Dormer Room on the third floor. These made our trip to Savannah the most enjoyable place we stayed during our visit to Georgia! Thanks.


Truly Amazing!

5 on November 24, 2011

I brought my sister to Savannah in June for her graduation present and I feel as though I found a true treasure when we stayed at the Spanish Moss Inn. We stayed in the Aqua room and it was by far the most beautiful room I’ve ever laid eyes on. It was just so magnificent and every detail was perfect. I should mention that I am slightly OCD, but the house was spotless and amazing. You can see all the love and care that goes into this inn. The hostess was incredibly sweet and accommodating, and I cannot speak more highly of the prepared food. The heat was pretty intense when we visited, but we were close enough to everything that we still had no problem walking through all the squares. Since I was a little girl, Savannah has always been my favorite city to visit. I love the history and charm, and the Spanish Moss Inn only adds to it.


FABULOUS PLACE TO STAY!

5 on September 29, 2011

Our stay at the Spanish Moss Inn was the best of the best! I don't think you could find a better place anywhere with all the charm and beauty of this fabulous home. Sam and Elena were gracious hosts and our every need was met. Any information we needed about the city was quickly taken care of by the hosts. They went out of their way to do anything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious and afternoon snaks and wine were enjoyed by everyone there. We can't wait to get back, sooner than later. Sue and Jack


Stayed at Spanish Moss Inn in September for 8 days

5 on September 26, 2011

We stayed here for 8 days and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the GARDEN VIEW ROOM and it was outstanding. The home is beautiful, elegant, peaceful and the food from Chef Charlotte was AMAZING. I couldn't imagine a better experience. Both Sam and Elena were so gracious and everyday we got to know them better over a glass of wine (or two ;) from 4 to 7pm every day. The hospitality, food and environment was top notch and when ever we stay in Savannah in the future we will stay here. Thanks to both Sam, Elena and Chef Charlotte for everything.


Amazing!

5 on May 17, 2011

Next time we visit Savannah we will definitely stay at the Spanish Moss Inn again. The breakfast was fantastic every morning better than the last. Our room was 'the Harry Potter' room (Mariner room) and it was perfect, decorated in beautiful furnishings. The bed was very comfortable. Also the parking is FREE and the location is right across from the River St. and we were able to walk all over the historic area with ease. I do recommend bringing bicycles, we did and loved it. It felt like we were staying with good friends and we enjoyed our fellow travelers company as well as the staff.


Felt so welcomed!

5 on May 12, 2011

From the first moment we arrived, my husband and I felt so welcomed. We stayed in the mariners room. The room was overly spacious and felt very private. The room is tucked away on the lower level of the home. The room is accessed through a small door with a quaint narrow stairway that lead to this luxurious room. Even with a king size bed and a private bath, there is still plenty of room. The inn has private, off street parking. The breakfast was amazing. The innkeeper was so kind and helpful. The experience was so positive and delightful that I don't wish to try another B&B in Savannah, I'm just looking forward to my next stay! Great value for the $!


The perfect combination of professionalism and the friendly warmth of visiting "a friend."

5 on May 10, 2011

I have stayed at many B&Bs over the years and it is typically a cut above the impersonal experience at a hotel (unless you stay there regularly). This was as close to perfection as I can imagine. Ezzie, the daughter of the owners, made the whole trip one of the best mini vacas I have ever had. The Inn itself is immaculate and beautifully appointed. The private parking is wonderful to have and the private courtyard and surrounding garden is lovely. But it was Ezzie who made the difference. She chatted with us briefly and made suggestions for activities that were completely on point, made reservations, coordinated including a dear friend and business colleague who was in town joining my daughter and I (mother's day weekend) for breakfast, included us for a bit of the wine and cheese offered the first day we were guests even though we were late having misunderstood the time. It was not just that Ezzie was pleasant and offered insightful assistance. She was a delight to chat with and offered her time generously. I would have no reservation to recommend the Spanish Moss Inn to anyone; people who know me know what a perfectionist I am. I think it was an unbelievable experience for the price. I plan to go back as often as I can and at least annually.


The Highlight of Our Stay in Savannah

5 on April 15, 2011

We stayed at this bed and breakfast while my husband and I were in Savannah for some genealogy research. We stayed in the Dormer room for 5 nights. It was like having the entire floor all to ourselves. Each of the rooms in the Inn had their own unique style yet stayed true to the 19th century. Our room was kept immaculately clean with fresh linens, and complimentary bottles of water everyday. The food beautifully prepared. Each delicious breakfast was completely different every morning with an imaginative gourmet flair. We could eat breakfast, spend the whole morning and early afternoon sightseeing. All we would need to do was eat a small lunch because the innkeepers would provide a sumptuous wine and cheese smorgasbord late in the afternoon. It's amazing how refreshing that wine was after spending the day in the Savannah heat. The food was accompanied by delightful conversation with the other guests and the Evie, the Inn's manager. The Inn's location was within walking distance of all Savannah's downtown historic district from the River Walk to Forsythe Park. Even though we were in town for genealogy research, our stay at this Inn made our visit seem more like a retreat. In fact, the Inn and its staff were the highlight of our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, will stay at the Spanish Moss Inn again when we return, and highly recommend it to all travelers to Savannah.


A Most Pleasant Stay

5 on March 28, 2011

Having come into town without reservations for lodging, my girlfriend and I felt fortunate indeed to discover a vacancy at the Spanish Moss Inn after noticing it while strolling around historic Savannah (luckily, it was a Sunday evening, as they had been entirely booked over the weekend). Sam was incredibly welcoming, immediately inviting us to join in wine and conversation. Our room, the Dormer Room, was well-appointed and cozy. In the morning, a late breakfast (9:30) afforded us time to observe some the sights and sounds of work-day Savannah before a lovely meal - each dish simply prepared from fresh ingredients, and each delicious. The most enjoyable aspect of the stay, however, was the family. Sam, as mentioned, was very amiable, and Evie was delightful to talk with and very helpful in noting points of interest around the city. Many thanks to them for a most pleasant stay. We will be back in Savannah in July, and will be sure to stay at the Spanish Moss Inn again.


Wonderful First B&B Experience

5 on March 14, 2011

This was my wife and I’s first Bed and Breakfast experience and the Spanish Moss Inn really made it special. The house itself is amazing and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed. For our first time to Savannah, the location being right on Bay St. couldn’t have been better. We were right in the heart of everything and it allowed us to walk everywhere while parking our car in their private parking area. I would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Savannah looking for a way to escape and relax while still being able to enjoy everything Savannah has to offer.


The Best I Ever Had

5 on January 29, 2011

I just loved this place and the family that ownes it. I could see how the noise from the outside street and waterway could bother some people but I slept soundly. For those that have to have things perfectly silent, the innkeeper has earplugs on each night stand. The food and wine was outstanding. I have every plan to return. The one thing that surprised me was that this house has no ghost stories. I thought all Bed and Breakfasts had at least one resident ghost.


New Years at the Spanish Moss Inn

4.8 on January 02, 2011

A fantastic B & B in the historic district of Savannah. Close to the river front for shopping and dining. Excellent food and a wonderful wine and cheese evening reception to welcome you or help start your evening off in historic Savannah . Sam & Elena are fantastic hosts. A most B & B to stay at and experience the charm of the Spanish Moss Inn .


Perfectly Beautiful

5 on December 29, 2010

Just a note to relay how much we enjoyed our stay at Spanish Moss Inn. We have stayed at many, many bed and breakfast inns and, in fact, owned one for five years. We met friends there, whom we had not seen in years, and had a wonderful time chatting and catching up in the lovely living room with a beautiful Christmas tree - while enjoying complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres. Our room, the Aqua room, was lovely, spacious and well appointed. The bed linens were excellent quality and beautifully ironed - such a wonderful touch. The bath linens looked as if they were just bought and had a light, pleasant fragrance. The two complimentary bottles of water were appreciated. Our breakfast of eggs Benedict with crabcakes, fresh fruit with yogurt and orange juice, which we thought to be fresh-squeezed, was amazing! And, the coffee was excellent quality and abundant. Overall: Not only was Evie gracious as well as helpful, she magically appeared at just the right time. Spanish Moss Inn was beautifully and tastefully appointed and immaculately kept, both inside and out. We plan to return when again in Savannah and will certainly not hesitate to recommend your beautiful property to others.


Outstanding!

5 on October 25, 2010

This inn is outstanding!!!! The owners are soooo sweet and accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious and the afternoon wine and cheeses were yummy. Close to everything so walking everywhere was the best. This is the only place I will stay when I visit Savannah again.


Truly Great Service

4.8 on October 25, 2010

We were greeted with enthusiasm when we arrived at the Spanish Moss Inn. The innkeeper was kind and helpful and we really enjoyed getting to know her during our stay. We stayed in the Mariners room - in the basement - and it was absolutely breathtaking. You really have to see it to know. It looked like a luxury captains suite. It was decorated lavishly with elegant dark wood furniture and the ceiling had been renovated to include old wood beams from an actual ship. The breakfast was quite good as well. Our only complaint with our stay here was the noise factor between this room and the other room in the basement. You could hear the guests in the adjoining room every time they spoke. I'm not sure about the other rooms, but the walls in the basement separating the two suites were thin. Despite that, we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your time and the review! It means alot to our family. It's good to hear that the Mariners decor was to your liking and we're concerned about the noise you commented on and realize sound is traveling through the french doors between the adjacent rooms. Subsequently, a second set of french doors are scheduled for installation along with sound dampening material. We want guest to continue to have a 'relaxing and enjoyable stay.' Kind Regards, Spanish Moss Inn


PERFECT!!

5 on October 10, 2010

We just got back from celebrating our 10th anniversary with a stay at the Spanish Moss Inn and it couldn't have been more perfect!! Our room(Gold Room) was beautiful & comfortable~loved having a seperate dressing area and spacious bathroom. Super convenient to City Walk and Riverfront~~we didn't use our car for 3 days! Evie was the perfect hostess and a joy to chat with~everything that was offered to us from afternoon wine and treats to a cooked to order hot breakfast was top notch~we will definetly be back for another visit soon!! Thank you for your great hospitality and welcoming us into your beautiful home~~


Silver Anniversary Memories

4.0 on July 22, 2010

Greg and I could not ask for a better way to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. Lindsay and Evie treated us like family and made sure our stay was everything I could ever dream of. You made our stay worth waiting 25 years to have our actual first honeymoon. Using the title of a song by the great Johnny Mercer, our anniversary here was "Too Marvelolus for Words". When we left it was in a better word like leaving family. But "I'll be seeing you!" Greg and Wendy Colwell


Wedding weekend

4.8 on July 02, 2010

My husband and I got married at the Spanish Moss Inn in March. We rented the entire inn and had our immediate families stay with us. We were all visiting from out of state. We had a beautiful, small ceremony in the courtyard which the owners helped us out with to get it finished and ready in time. The entire staff was very helpful in prepping for our big day and everything went smoothly. We did hors dierves, cake and champagne following the wedding then all went out to dinner at the Pink House. All of our family had a wonderful time, and we have no regrets about having our small, simple wedding at the Spanish Moss Inn. We hope to be back for a long weekend at some point!


wonderful, wonderful, wonderful

5 on June 29, 2010

My daughter surprised me with staying at this absolutely, beautiful Inn. When we arrived, Evie had put the most beautiful flowers in our room ( Garden Room), with a lovely card, I was so surprised.(this was my 60th birthday) The room was so beautifully decorated, you can just tell the heart and soul that Sam and his family put into their Inn, it was even more than what I could have ever expected. The warmth of Evie and all she did to make our stay, was so wonderful. We looked so foward to the breakfast, which was great, but we really enjoyed the cheese and wine at 5:00, setting in the sun room was so relaxing, or going to the patio area. Let me just say, if you ever go to Savannah....THIS IS A MUST, believe me. Barbara

Innkeeper Response
Thank you Barbara!! It was a pleasure meeting you and your daughther. Your daughter planned a wonderful gift of a surprise and I was more than happy to help. Happy Holidays!


Best B&B ever.

5 on May 18, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 50th anniversary at the Spanish Moss and we were thrilled with the accomadations. I chose the Garden room because of the open beams in the ceiling and my wife thought the brick walls would have a warm feeling. The room was everything we thought it would be and more. Beautifully remodeled the room was clean, spacious, gorgeous and quiet. Breakfast was a special treat and Sam sure makes a great french toast & sausage. Sam, his lovely wife Elena and Lindsay went out of their way to make sure all they're guest were treated to everything they could possibly imagine. We had a lovely time sitting on the front porch at night and drinking wine (and Sam had some mighty fine wine) to conclude our day of Savannah. The Spanish Moss is located in a beautiful area of Savannah and within walking distance of all tourists attractions. Better yet, get a all day bus ticket and you won't miss a thing. You can get on and off the bus anytime you want all day long. The many resturants will take care of your stomach and a walk along the river is memorable especially the huge container ships. In conclusion, you'll love the Spanish Moss Inn, I gaurantee it.


An unbelievable experience!

4.0 on May 15, 2010

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and now we are sold. The Spanish Moss Inn was immaculately renovated, very clean and extremely well decorated. I stayed for 4 night and in 2 different rooms, by choice. I couldn’t pick which one I wanted because they were both so beautiful and luxurious, so I did 2 nights on the third floor suite and 2 nights in the basement suite. The owners were very sweet as was the Inn Keeper. She really went out of her way to make us feel at home, the breakfast was outstanding, as was the wine and cheese provided in the afternoon. The sunroom was a wonderful place to enjoy a private breakfast, as we did our first morning, and the yard was ideal for catching up on our reading while having a good cup of coffee. I can’t say enough about the Spanish Moss Inn. The location was great, we walked all of Savannah and it was great to be so close to River Street! Enjoy-I know you will LOVE it!


Perfect!

5 on May 14, 2010

This was our first B&B experience, and it couldn't have been more perfect! My boyfriend had called ahead to set up a special surprise with Sam...and when we arrived, the room had candles lit all around it, a bottle of my favorite wine on ice, and 30 beautiful tulips in a vase. It was the perfect setting for the love of my life to purpose :) Everything else was just amazing too....from the Dormer room...to the delicious breakfasts...to the yummy wine and cheese in the afternoon. Everything was exquisite and we are already planning a return trip to the Spanish Moss Inn soon!


The Worst Part Was Leaving!

5 on May 13, 2010

My stay at the Spanish Moss Inn could not have been more perfect (unless I could move in permanently). Sam was a gracious, friendly, and personable host. It is readily apparent the amount of time and effort he and his family put into making this a well-appointed and charming house. The location allows for easy access to major tourist points, and parking the rental car in the private garage was an unexpected bonus. Breakfast was freshly cooked, delicious, and filling. The plate was wiped clean. Please consider this b&b for your next stay. But be careful about your plans - you may not want to leave after your vacation is over!


exceeded all expectations

5 on March 28, 2010

The photos do not do justice to the gorgeous rooms, and we could not have been happier with our stay; if you stay here (and you definately should) make sure to avail yourself of the house suggestions for the area, especially for dining. We just wish we had been able to stay longer...John and Karen


Now I now what southern hospitality is!

5 on February 18, 2010

The location is perfect. You can park your car in a secure garage and not have to drive again till you are ready to leave (which was very hard to do!). There are so many things within walking distance to see and experience. My wife and I found the horse drawn carriage ride more enjoyable than the trolly. The manager of the Inn, Lindsay, was great and boy can she make fantastic breakfast. The owners, Sam and Elena were so gracious. Wine and cheese, great conversations every night. I would highly recommend you stay at this B&B, if you do ask Sam to do his Ali imperssonation and bring a small bag of Dorritos for Elena.


Amazing!

5 on February 08, 2010

This was our first experience with a B&B and now my husband and I are sold! What an awesome experience we had at the Spanish Moss. Sam, Elena and their staff were so friendly and made us feel so at "home". We stayed in the garden room and absolutely loved it. The whole house is beautifully decorated and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening conversations over wine and cheese with the other guests as well as Sam and Elena.


Outstanding

5 on January 03, 2010

Best place ever. Very elegantly decorated, amazing breakfast and afternoon cheese and wine, great owners. Just Perfect!


Girls Weekend 2009

4.6 on November 18, 2009

My two friends and I have stayed at a many Bed and Breakfasts in the past 16 years of traveling together. We all agreed the Spanish Moss Inn was the loveliest. We stayed in the two rooms on the second floor and it was perfect! Sam and Elena were wonderful hosts and Lindsay was perfect, too. The wine and cheese "happy hour" was so nice and relaxing and welcoming. We highly recommend the experience. Mary Jo S. - Kansas City, MO


A truly comfortable stay

5 on November 10, 2009

We could not have asked for anything more during our stay at the Spanish Moss Inn. We felt like family from the moment we met Lindsay! Sam and Elana are charming hosts. The attention to detail to make you feel at home is truly amazing. Their home is what southern hospitality is all about! We will definitely stay at the Inn the next time we are in Savannah!!


Just wonderful

5 on October 22, 2009

The Spanish Moss Inn is a lovely place to stay in Savannah!! My fiance & I stayed in the Garden Room Two which was just beautiful and very large! The bed was heavenly to sleep in and we actually had the entire B&B to ourselves which really made our visit special because everything was catered to our wants/needs. Lindsay the housekeeper was a joy to talk to. She filled us in on all the fun things to do in Savannah and the neat shops to go into. Her food was just delicious!! We enjoyed wine & cheese with Sam for over 2 hours one night....he was very easy to talk to and always had interesting things to say! I would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Savannah. You really can't beat the location or the price...its almost too good to be true!


Best experience ever!

5 on October 19, 2009

This was our first stay in Savannah and in a Bed and Breakfast. Evie and Sam helped make our stay feel welcomed and at home. The rooms were gorgeous, we had other couples staying there taht were wonderful, the breafasts were so good, wine hour was the highlight of our trips and chatting with Sam, Evie and the other guests. They really go out of their way for their guests! Had great suggestions on where to eat as well. Elizabeth on 37th and Vic's on the River were awesome!


"Beyond Beautiful"

5 on October 04, 2009

...that's what I've told all our friends about the Spanish Moss Inn -- Beyond Beautiful. We were there on the nights of Sept 21 and 22. We stayed in the Aqua Room, and it was just that -- again, beyond beautiful. We've stayed at a couple of bed and breakfasts before, but you never know what you're going to get. The photos on the website are completely in line with the actual house. It was sparkling clean. We met the owners, Sam and Elena, and they were quite nice and very helpful. We had more interaction with Lindsey, the innkeeper, and she was very knowledgeable about the area, also very personable and served up great breakfasts each morning we were there. We felt very much at home, comfortable, and enjoyed our stay there. If ever back in the area, we would definitely stay again. We, too, as other raters have indicated, ate at the Old Pink House. The food was delicious at every restaurant that we ate, but we actually went back to the Pink House for a second meal. Very reasonable prices; delicious food. Highly recommended. "Thank you" to Sam, Elena and Lindsey. Billy and Bonnie Beebe


Amazing Weekend at Spanish Moss Inn!!!

5 on September 27, 2009

Having never visited a bed and breakfast, we were little hesitant to stay at one this weekend during a trip to Savannah, GA for a friend's wedding. After this weekend, we plan on staying at the Spanish Moss Inn every time we return to Savannah. It's was truly an amazing experience. The hospitality, rooms, location and food were top notch. We loved the Aqua Room located on the second floor. Elena and Sam Ferreira (the owners) and Lindsey (the inn keeper) were there to meet our every need. They made us feel right home from the minute we walked in the door. The Spanish Moss Inn offers the charm and true southern hospitality one would expect to find in Georgia’s first city. If you have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, give the Spanish Moss Inn a try...


Wonderful spot

5 on August 03, 2009

A wonderful choice. Charming building with charming hosts. Sam sets a great mood and has lots of good stories. The food is gourmet, the house is wonderful for relaxing-- especially the sun room. Location is walking distance to anything you want to see in Savannah.


Romantic Getaway

5 on July 29, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay at The Spanish Moss Inn. They were very helpful with finding great places to eat and visit. The Pink House was incredible! The breakfast was so good and it all made me feel like a princess! Not to mention it was peaceful. My husband and I had a chance to enjoy each other. This was our tenth anniversary trip and although short, was incredibly special.


A Wonderful Experience

5 on July 17, 2009

Upon arriving we were greeted kindly with wonderful advice on where to find vegan dining in the Savannah area. She had even gone as far as to mark extablishments on a map that she thought would be of interest to us as vegans. Our room was cozy, beautiful and clean. The next morning we enjoyed a gourmet breakfast specially prepared with our dietary needs in mind. This was completely unexpected because being vegans we assume that we will most likely just skip most breakfasts. The service was amazing during breakfast and the owners were friendly but also let us enjoy our quiet time together. We decided to have wine and fresh fruit with the owners one day and had a great conversation with them where they offered some more advice about the area. Overall the experience we had at the Spanish Moss Inn was incredible and from now on we will judge and compare ever bed and breakfast experience with the amazing one we had at the Spanish Moss Inn.


Wonderful stay in Savannah

5 on July 01, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Spanish Moss Inn to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We had never been to Savannah before , nor had we ever stayed at a bed and breakfast. What a wonderful weekend we had! The owners of the inn are so friendly and welcoming, always taking time to give us advice and recommendations. The Aqua room was absolutely beautiful, very spacious and comfortable, with lots of light (the only possible issue would be the traffic noise since it is on a busy road- but we weren't bothered by it at all. Sam said he hopes to install new insulated windows soon). We started out each morning with an amazing breakfast that kept us full all the way until dinner. Great job Leah and Evie! We also were able to fit in the evening wine and cheese into our schedule. Although the other guests did not attend, we had a wonderful time chatting with Sam and Evie and relaxing in the sunroom before we went back out on the town. Thankyou Sam for your recommendation of dinner at the Old Pink House- it was absolutely wonderful. A very special anniversary dinner. It was great after a long day exploring the city to come back to such a charming home, and the room was always perfectly refreshed with a beautifully made bed, fresh towels, and bottled water on the night stand. Thank you to the staff at the Spanish Moss Inn for a wonderful weekend - I only wish we could have stayed longer! We'll definitely be back!


Warm, inviting, hospitality!!!

5 on June 14, 2009

What a wonderful family owned and operated bed and breakfast. Our stay was fun as well as relaxing and the hosts were always very helpful and informative about the area. The food was so beautifully preparred and tasteful. Best bed and breakfast anywhere. We would highly recommend staying here for any occasion!


Outstanding Experience

5 on June 06, 2009

My husband and I spent our first experience at a B&B at the Spanish Moss Inn, in Savanna Georgia We were very cordially greeted by Evie, she made us feel right at home. We were early so we could not get into our room, so we left our luggage in the foyer, after a tour of the common areas and an offer of a cold drink, we went off on a city tour, set up by Evie. When we arrived back a couple of hours later, she had carried our heavy luggage up 30 steps to our dormer room for us. At 6:30 that evening we were entertained by the owners, Sam and Elena, with wine and an assortment of crackers, cheese and strawberries. They are very pleasent folks and we really enjoyed our visit. When we left for an evening out we walked the water front, just across the street, and ate at the Pink House, one of the many fine restraunts they recommended. The next morning we were again greeted by Evie for a wonderful breakfast of home make ricotta cheese pancakes, homemade lemon syrup, eggs (prepared as requested), bacon, orange juice, coffee and teas. The whole experience was great, much more then we expected, we felt as if we were celebrities. We would reccommed this experience to every one. Sam and Elena, please do not change anything. Last of all when we were leaving, Evie suggested a trip to Fort Pulaski, she even called to make sure it was open and the cost to us, so we would not be driviing out of our way for nothing. Thanks to all the folks at the Spanish Moss Inn and to our kids for this great experience.


The Very Best

5 on May 19, 2009

The hosts are enthused and charming. This is beyond doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in at any price and I've booked a lot. The location is ideal for exploring Savannah. Park your car and forget about it. The Gold Room was immaculate. The king bed fantastic. Entirely modern plumbing in the bath which contains two sinks which promotes domestic tranquility.


Evie made the trip worthwhile!

5 on May 19, 2009

We recently enjoyed a two night stay with Evie as our hostess. She made the whole experience fantastic, being gracious, warm and inviting and catering to our every need. She was the Spanish Moss Inn for us! The breakfasts were wonderful. We were in the dormer room, selected mainly because of it's nautical feel. The only drawback to the room was that it was slightly warm and we realized when we asked to have the a/c lowered it made it too cool for the guests on the second floor. We would definitely stay again and would love to try one of the basement rooms. Spring in Savannah was beautiful! Thank you again Evie!


Truly Amazing Inn!

5 on May 05, 2009

My wife and I stayed the weekend at the Spanish Moss Inn to celebrate our second anniversary. We originally chose the Spanish Moss Inn due to their reasonable price and the pictures on their website - it looked like a beautiful home. Our terrific experience began from the first call to Sam - Sam and his wife Elena own the bed and breakfast. Sam was incredibly personable, and provided us a lot of background on his recently renovated inn, as well as insight on places to see/things to do while in Savannah. When we arrived at the Inn, we were very impressed with the home itself - beautiful wood floors, spacious and well appointed room - comfortable bed, and excellent location! As good as the house itself was, the service was even better. We were greeted by Evie (Sam's daughter), who checked us in and gave us a tour of the house. Evie was fantastic! She made sure that we had plenty of things to do while in town - all great recommendations. The food was fantastic - pear pancakes and fresh made omelettes. Also, the evening wine reception was terrific - and Sam always made sure to greet all of the guests. Sam and his family are truly amazing - and I can't thank them enough for making our stay in Savannah so memorable.


Spanish Moss Inn Provides an Exceptional B&B Experience In Savannah

5 on April 25, 2009

During the past fourteen years, I have spent at least one night in almost every one of Savannah's top bed and breakfasts or historic inns. However, even though Spanish Moss Inn is much smaller than most of the historic inns I've experienced in Savannah, it easily holds its own as an exceptional B&B. Because of the warm, welcoming, and gracious hospitality of each member of the charming Ferrreira family--in addition to their non-intrusive accessiblity, amiable interaction with their guests, and knowledgeable guidance about where to eat and what to see in the area--The Spanish Moss Inn enables guests to have more of a true B&B experience than any other upscale Savannah B&B I know about (and I live in the heart of Savannah's histrict B&B district). The location of the inn cannot be beat! Tastefully decorated throughout, The Spanish Moss Inn reflects impressive attention-to-detail and provides all of the special extras discerning travelers expect. I stayed in The Dormer Room and loved it. The mattress was amazing,the linens were luxurious, and I loved the views from my perch on the top floor of this historic home. Each evening guests are offered appetizers and wine in an airy sunroom overlooking the walled courtyard. Early coffee is available each morning, followed by a mini-feast served in the formal dining room at an elegantly set table. I have experienced over 500 B&Bs in this country and abroad, and I can truly say that the breakfast served at Spanish Moss Inn was one of the most outstanding breakfasts I have ever been served at any B&B anywhere. I will definitely be recommending, with my highest accolades, Spanish Moss Inn to anyone asking me for stellar lodging in Savannah. Maxine Pinson BedandBreakfast.com, Contributing Editor


A Great Stay in Savannah

5 on April 08, 2009

What a lovely stay we had at the Spanish Moss Inn. Sam, Elena, Evie, and Leah were warm, friendly, informative and entertaining. The Dormer Room was a comfortable and luxurious place to spend a night. The Ferreira's did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one from making dining suggestions to keeping our bags as we strolled around the city. We'll be back on out next trip. Thanks for making our stay in Savannah memorable.


My southern engagement

5 on April 07, 2009

We both agree this is the most incredible B&B we have ever stayed at. The room are so tastefully decorated, warm and beautiful. From the moment we arrived until our cab was called, we felt so taken care of. An added sweetness, the rain that prevented an outdoor engagement, instead happened in the Sun Room. The entire family contributed to making this a romantic and memorable experience. It was an honor to have the Ferreiras share in our joy. Thank you.


This place is just OK......

1.6 on March 25, 2009

My husband and I spent the weekend at this B&B and we were not impressed. We frequent B&B's and have to say that this was not a good experience. Luckily Savannah is a beautiful place so we were able to be somewhat forgiving. The room we stayed in was beautiful, however I asked the innkeeper for advice on a good room between the two she had left when I made the reservation and she said this was a good room, but didn't quite mention how loud it is as it sits right off the main drag in Savannah. Nevertheless the room was beautiful and clean. Upon our arrival, we couldn't figure out how to get into the place, so we found our way to an alley way where we could go in. Once we got in we met one of the owners, but once he showed us to our rooms,he disappeared never to be seen again. All weekend we hardly saw anybody and there was very little conversation between the owners, innkeeper and the guest, which is not what we are used to. I think that while trying to make guest feel comfortable by staying out of their way, guest lose the feeling of the homeliness that they are looking for in the B&B experience, with the silent treatment that we received we may as well have stayed in a hotel. We also ended up eating at an awful restaurant for dinner, because there was no one around to ask about good dinner options. I think that B&B guest look for the interaction with the owners and innkeepers,for restaurant suggestions, tour information or just conversation so this place has to do better about that. Last but not least, the breakfast offerings seemed to be minimal, we had one egg and five thin slices of a piece of sausage and three small pancakes and fruit. As gourmet as it was and as nice as the presentation was, we were hungry in two hours. This place was not really worth the money and it is doubtful that we will be staying there again, I think a hotel will be a better experience.


Nice Inn in Savannah!

4.4 on March 06, 2009

On a trip to Savannah, Georgia, my girlfriend and I stayed two nights in the Dormer Room at the lovely Spanish Moss Inn. It's a real nice place to stay with a great location along the corner of Bay and Price Streets in the historic district. Throughout our entire stay, Evie Ferreira assisted us in every way. She prepared delicious, homemade gourmet breakfasts each morning in the main dining room (loved the bacon, blueberry muffins, pear pancake, the egg dish, country potatoes), assisted us by arranging a historical and ghost tour of Savannah, and also made dinner reservations for us at the Olde Pink House (simply fabulous!). In addition, we truly enjoyed a complimentary red wine, fruit, and cheese spread that was above and beyond our expectations. We met Sam Ferreira and really enjoyed his company as well. The Dormer Room was nice as it offered quiet and privacy (taking up the whole third floor of the house) with an adjacent bathroom and closet area. It was nice that there was also on-site parking at the house in their garage area (we were the only ones staying there those two days, so we had no difficulty parking). The only area of improvement that I could recommend would be removing the trash from the room and making the bed. Otherwise, it was a very good stay.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your reflection and thoughtful words. We certainly plan to provide a made up bed everyday upon your return to beautiful Savannah. It is our daily standard and desire to freshen up the rooms and bathrooms for each day of a guest stay. At the time, unfortunately, we did not have access to the room because the three duplicate skeleton keys the lock smith made did not work. We have found another lock smith to make duplicate skeleton keys to the unique lock and the keys work fine. We will take the time to arrange an alternative turn down hour in such a situation; and provide any other assistance that may be requested. Best Regards, The Spanish Moss Inn Staff


Can I Say Exemplary?

5 on February 21, 2009

Hi. My name is Tim. My girlfriend and I stayed at the Spanish Moss Inn for Valentine's Day. This was both of our first times staying at a bed and breakfast as opposed to a traditional hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased with our selection. In contrast to other bed and breakfasts in the area, we were drawn to the size and location of the Spanish Moss Inn; it only has five rooms and is located right on Bay Street, a block from the riverwalk. From booking the reservation to checking out, Sam, Elena, and Evie were absolutely wonderful hosts. In the evening, we shared wine and conversation. In the morning, we enjoyed a gourmet breakfast with baked eggs and pear pancakes. Sam even showed us his antique cannonballs. He googled them. If you're planning a trip to Savannah, consider staying at the Spanish Moss Inn. We'll definitely be back. Thanks Sam, Elena, and Evie! Tim


Will Be Coming Back!!!

5 on February 20, 2009

This B&B is wonderful! The family made us feel so welcome. The rooms are beautiful; breakfast in the morning is SO good. We are going to come back!


The Best in GA

5 on February 19, 2009

This Inn is the Best I have ever been too. The owners really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and make sure we were taking care off... Really gave us that "FAMILY" feel. I would not stay anywhere else....


Spanish Moss Inn - Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 on February 08, 2009

We only stayed one night - 30 Jan 09. The location can not be beat. The rooms, all five, are beautiful (we had a tour). The food is delicious. The "Ferreira's" (Sam, Elena, Eire, and Leah) all do a great job and are excellent hosts. You feel like part of the family. We would/will/have recommended the Spanish Moss Inn to anyone visiting Savannah, GA. We will be back for another visit. Jack and Marlene


A very Beautiful Inn.

5 on February 04, 2009

This was a beautiful B&B. The Innkeepers are very friendly and pay extra attention to very detail. The room are exquisitly beautiful, and comfortable. The food is delicious, and fills you up for a day of site seeing the beautiful city of Savannah. My husband and I have been going to Savannah for 20yrs. We have stayed at many of Savannah's finest B&B's, we will be back to this one.


Wonderful stay

5 on January 21, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at the Spanish Moss Inn. The rooms are beautiful and extremely clean. The Ferreira Family made us feel right at home. The breakfasts prepared by Leah were delicious. Evie and Sam gave us great suggestions for things to do and places to eat during our stay. If you try this B&B you won't be disappointed.


Southern Charm, Elegance and Hospitality at its Best

5 on January 07, 2009

We just returned from our stay at this stunning Inn in the heart of Savannah and we find ourselves already looking for excuses to return. Upon arrival, Sam welcomed us as if we were family. Opening their doors and sharing wine and conversations in the evening made us feel so completely at home. The level of service far exceeded our expectations, with the family being extremely helpful in making reservations for shopping, dinner and dancing. The breakfasts, creations by Chef Leah were imaginative, beautiful and delicious. Immaculate, everything was fresh and clean. We will be returning and telling all our friends about this Inn. Thank you.


A Wonderful B&B

5 on November 15, 2008

We stayed for two nights and were treated to the most wonderful hospitality in a truly beautiful home. Innkeepers Sam, Elena and their daughters are great hosts, excellent chefs and very pleasant company. Every detail from the stunning breakfast to the furnishings in every room was perfect. The wine and cheese reception were light years better than the fare one might expect. We will definitely be returning.


Elegant, Comfortable and Gracious

5 on October 26, 2008

We have stayed at many B&Bs and this is one of our favorites. The Spanish Moss Inn is elegant while maintaining a cozy atmosphere. The Aqua room was very spacious and comfortable. We received special attention that is unmatched by our other B&B experiences. Sam and Evie went above and beyond to make us feel at home. Our friends stayed in the lovely Dormer room, and truly enjoyed their stay as well. The wine and cheese reception and breakfast delighted our palates. We look forward to many more visits to the inn. Thanks to Sam and Evie!!!


Great B&B

4.6 on October 26, 2008

We just returned from our stay and didn't want to leave. The Inn exceeded our expectations, it was more beautiful than the website can show. The food was delicious. Immaculate, everything was fresh and clean. We will definitely be returning and telling all our friends about this Inn. Thank you.


Spanish Moss Inn

5 on October 15, 2008

Our stay at the Spanish Moss Inn was a pleasurable experience. It is beautiful and inviting, from its common areas to its rooms. The delectable breakfasts were a wonderful way to begin each day. Don't miss the afternoon wine and cheese! Thank you for your hospitality, Sam, Elena, Evie, and Lea.


Best B&B ever!

5 on October 13, 2008

The rooms are serene and tastefully decorated. I love the sunroom! You can curl up with a book or a magazine and have some wine while you relax from long day walking in town. The food they serve is absolutely delicious and they meet weird dietary needs if you let them know! The owners are very friendly and the staf keeps the place sparkling. Hands down, the best B&B I've ever been to!


Spanish Moss Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $159 - $299
  • Reviews (70) 4.9
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-9126559366

View details

Top