Joan's on Jones Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.0

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.0
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
51 Reviews

Write A Review

Our 3rd Stay with Joan!

5 on May 29, 2014

This is our 3rd stay at Joan’s on Jones and there is a reason that we keep coming back! While it is a smaller B&B, only offering two suites, these two suites are immense offering a separate bedroom, sitting room, small kitchenette, and bathroom; the rooms are nicely appointed with all necessities. Joan’s on Jones has a more private experience to staying at a B&B, with separate entrances to both suites and instead of a community style breakfast, the suite kitchen is stocked with continental breakfast necessities as well as a bottle of wine for the evenings. Location is another real plus for Joan’s on Jones, right in the heart of the historic district with many restaurants, shopping and Forsyth Park within easy walking distance. Finally, for those pet lovers out there such as myself, this is the place to stay! Joan offers pet friendly accommodations in both suites and even provides treats for the four-legged guests. Also, there is only a onetime pet fee; you can return years later with the same pet with no additional fee. Joan’s on Jones has always been and will continue to be our top choice in historic Savannah!


Location and Value of the Garden Suite are Exceptional

4.0 on May 11, 2014

Lovely and spacious suite with a great location. Joan's on Jones is a pet friendly BnB and we did notice a pet urine odor when we first arrived that eventually dissapated. Joan is a lovely hostess and her assitant Ann is equally helpful.


beautiful suite!

5 on May 09, 2014

one night in savannah with our dog- it was perfect.


Not Much for Breakfast

2.6 on May 02, 2014

We only stayed one night. I thought I would get a breakfast but there were just muffins, juice and some grapefruit that were left in the room along with a box of cereal and some milk. I have stayed at many B & B's before and while Joan was a very nice woman, this would not be on my list to return to. The bed was not very comfortable and the pillows were so flat as to be almost nonexistent. I also was not fond of her dog jumping up on me. If you have a pet or are a dog lover, this is the place for you. The room was large and as I said Joan was a very nice woman. We just prefer a little more luxury than this place has to offer. Having made my reservations at the last minute my options were limited and for the price that we paid, I pretty much expected it not to be my favorite.


Joan's is first class.

5 on April 14, 2014

Joan's is in a beautiful neighborhood close to many great restaurants, parks, shopping and other attractions. The history is fascinating. Our room was nicely furnished and clean and Joan and her assistant are obviously very concerned about her guest's comfort. Thanks again for a great stay.


Beautiful, Quiet, Private B and B

3.4 on March 13, 2014

This bed and breakfast is in a beautiful historic building in the historic district of Savannah. It puts you easily in th heart of the district and all its sites. We stayed in the garden apartment and found it to be charming, quiet and private. However, this is not a typical b and b in that there is minimal contact with the owners or other guests. The breakfast is just fruit, cereal, bagels, juice, coffee, etc. - replenished daily but not much better than what you'd get at any hotel chain. So you do miss out on the more "connected" experience that we have found in most bed and breakfasts. The owners are very nice and will assist if you have questions but we felt more like we were disturbing them each time than as paying welcomed guests. For those however who place a premium on privacy and don't seek the conversation with others, this is perfect.


A Savannah Historic Gem

3.8 on March 07, 2014

Great location; walk to everything in the historic district. Cosy apartment in a Savannah Classic home. Very pet friendly. Recommended highly.


Pet Owner's Dream

3.0 on February 28, 2014

Joan and Gary are very nice people. We liked the fact that they offered individual accomodations with private entrances. This is especially a good thing when you have a dog that needs various walks and bathroom breaks throughout the day and you don't wish to distrub the other guests. It was a wonderful location for walking around and to restaurants. We loved the whole experience and will certainly return. Ann and Colleen, Alexandria, VA


Disappointed from Boston

1.4 on February 27, 2014

We selected this B&B because of its location, the description on the web site and because it was dog friendly. The garden greeted us with dead hanging plants, dog water bowl full of dirty rain water and a generally unkempt and depressing scene. We didn't expect roses in February, but things can be neat in any season. Inside the bed linens and bath were clean and acceptable, but the kitchen and sitting room could have used a good clean. There was no comfortable place to sit---the wicker furniture in the sitting room was basic and old. The television set in the bedroom was good but only watchable from the iron bedstead. We were taken aback to find our breakfast for the next morning already in the kitchen, two muffins and two croissants on a plate under plastic wrap. Milk and orange juice in the fridge were fine, however, jelly and Smart Balance were left over from previous visitors. There was a large basket with fruit, a bottle of wine and dog biscuits which were the only welcoming thing about the place. The room was made up and bath towels changed and two commercially made danish pastries were left for the following morning, also under plastic wrap. There was cereal and coffee available and at our request some tea bags were provided. However, we were not inspired to breakfast there. We did eat one croissant for tea, but Starbucks and Panera nearby were more inviting and palatable. We checked Trip Advisor after the fact and found that these observations had been made by others at least since 2008. We learned a rather expensive lesson and recommend that persons looking for dog friendly places to stay in Savannah might do better to look elsewhere. There are pet friendly hotels in the area that are easily accessible to the historic district.


Good location & off street parking

3.4 on February 14, 2014

Rooms nice with garden however kitchen appliance could use an update as the range top was for the most part broken & small appliance were old & crusty.


Always love to stay at Joan's on Jones

4.6 on January 02, 2014

I hated leaving on the morning of our departure. I was so comfy in the perfect bed after a fun night in historic Savannah. Everything is so quaint, quiet, clean and easy at Joan's. It's right in the heart of the design district which is full of the shops I like to visit first and I love the short walk to Bull St. which takes me to all the other fun food and shopping in town. I'll be back again soon!


great time...great space...great spot in town....not so good breakfast

3.2 on December 06, 2013

Great time ....large room.....great spot in town. ...not so good breakfast


Enjoyable stay

5 on October 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in mid October 2013 and found the Jones Street rooms to be excellent. They were wonderfully decorated, large in size, with a comfortable king bed and a color TV. The living room area had a nice queen sofa bed and the kitchen was stocked with muffins, danish, coffee, milk, cereal, orange juice and treats for our dog. We were able to easily walk to the many historic homes in the heart of the old town district. We drove our car down to a parking center near the river front and had a great lunch at the Olde Pink House which is pet friendly when eating at one of the outdoor tables. Food there is great also.


Great Location and great room

4.2 on September 22, 2013

Joan's on Jones B & B was a great place for us to stay. Being a "dog friendly" B&B made this trip possible. The host were very friendly and helpful. This B&B is in a great location in the heart of Historic Savannah and was within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to do during our visit. The only thing that could have made this B & B better would be the "breakfast". A plate of muffins and a basket of apples & oranges was less than I have come to expect from a B & B. I would definitely stay at this B & B again and I would recommend it to anybody.


Joan's

2.2 on September 03, 2013

The room was large. The bath and dish towels were smelly like mildew and unusable. The owner was out of the country and the helper was unavailable after the first hour of giving us our key, so we had to go buy new towels at the dollar store in order to dry our hands and shower. The front door was not hung right so going in and out created and huge noisy racket to open and close. The bathroom tub needed to be fixed as it drained very slowly and was clogged. The bed was VERY hard and uncomfortable. The kitchen was extremely tiny and practically no counter space which could easily been solved by installing a few wall shelves in that tiny kitchen to put the appliances on. The floors were dirty. No extra trash bags were found, so we emptied our trash fro three days. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend this to anyone I like.


Excellent B&B

4.6 on September 03, 2013

Joan's on Jones provided an excellent vacation experience for our elopement trip. The rooms were private and clean, and the back garden was beautiful.


Our stay at Joan's on Jones

3.8 on July 01, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Suite for our honeymoon. The location was great, and the owners were very nice. The place was always clean, and the muffins were amazing!


Quaint and perfect for a short stay

3.4 on June 19, 2013

Joan's on Jones was delightful for our purposes. We had planned meals out and stayed for a short period of time, but for much longer or for those who are looking for the "breakfast" part, Joan's is not the best option. The food supplied seemed to be from Costco's or Sam's prefab pastry section and the dishes were dusty enough that they needed a washing before use. However, location...location...location...Joan's is perfectly located to many of the opportunities that Savannah has to offer and is a standard of the historic nature of the town.


Great little B&B

4.2 on June 09, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Joan's on Jones. The offstreet parking is a HUGE PLUS, especially in downtown Savannah. Joan is a charming hostess. If you want to feel what it is like to live in Savannah's Historic district this is the place. We highly recommend it.


Wonderful B&B

4.6 on May 28, 2013

B&B was great accomodations for the 3 of us. Great location withn the historic district within walking distance of many squares and the downtown area. Nicely decorated. Joan and Gary were great to deal with. Will definately stay here again when traveling to Savannah.


Wedding in Savannah May 2013

5 on May 18, 2013

Had a wedding in Savannah and booked a suite at Joans on Jones. It was great. We had the Garden Suite in the rear. We had a private entrance along with a garden with a fountain. It was very private. The bedroom was a converted old kitchen and it had so much old charm and character. If I could take the room home, I would. Joan and Gary were wonderful including their dog. My granddaughter and daughter took a shine to him. In fact, we babysat the dog for a little. My granddaughter loved it. The plate of muffins every morning and upon arrival was a delight. I would highly recommend Joan's on Jones to anyone who likes old and quaint. There is one bedroom but they brought in additional bed since there was three of us. Plenty of room with a full kitchen. Loved it. Nancy Radomski Wauwatosa, Wisconsin


Wedding in savannah May 2013

5 on May 15, 2013

Traveled to Savannah for a wedding. Even though it rained, we had a great time. Joan and Gary were wonderful. We stayed in the garden suite. The old world charm was wonderful. We had our own private entrance, locked gate, and beautiful garden complete with waterfall. The plate of treats was great. Their dog was a wonderful companion for my granddaughter. When we return to Savannah, we will stay there again. I highly recommend it.


great location and reasonable rates

3.2 on October 05, 2012

Very convenient location and reasonably priced in a lovely neighborhood with much within easy walking distance. The one thing to note about staying here is that the proprietors are somewhat aloof and not your typical B&B hosts. That didn't matter to us, tho, and we would definitely stay there again!


Our Stay

5 on May 12, 2012

My husband and I have not been on a vacation in a long time and even though he is not a fan of B&B's he agreed to stay for me. It was so wonderful he agreed without any discussion to extend our stay. The location is excellent, Elaine was a perfect hostess and we truly hated to leave. We are already saying when we come back this is where we will stay. Thank you for making our get away outstanding.


our anniversary trip

3.4 on May 06, 2012

great location... parked the car and didn't use it again until time to go home. love the garden entrance to our suite. have already recommended to some friends.


Most excellent

4.6 on April 29, 2012

We were really glad to be able to bring our dogs, who were treated like guest


Southern Comfort

4.8 on April 14, 2012

Lovely, well appointed, spacious b&b, conveniently located. Feels as though you were staying in your own private historical home. Fresh baked goods, fruit, coffee, tea, wine, juice, soda are provided as a courtesy, as well as, a bandana filled with doggie treats--yes, they are pet friendly. Joan, Gary, & Tondee were so welcoming, great hospitality! Definitely recommend!


Night In Savannah

5 on March 26, 2012

We were only at the B&B for one night, but it was absolutely amazing. The town was great, Joan was friendly. The room was extremely clean, comfortable, and inviting. It was an excellent stay and we look forward to doing it again sometime.


Girls Weekend in Savannah

4.6 on December 07, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Joan's on Jones Street. We had the Jones Street suite which was just beautiful. This location was in easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to be. Both Joan and Gary were gracious hosts and directed us to some of the best food in Savannah. Thank you for wonderful weekend.


It was all I hoped for and more - absolutely delightful

4.6 on September 26, 2011

we stayed in the rear garden apartment. The hosts and their assistant provided both entertaining and informative conversation. The location was superb, and made us feel a part of Savannah for the two and a half days we were there.


joan's on jones review

4.4 on September 20, 2011

Beautiful bed and breakfast. Very roomy, personable attention.


Another great stay at Joan's on Jones!

4.6 on September 17, 2011

This is our second stay at Joan's on Jones and we just love it! The location is perfectly set in the historic district just between beautiful Forsyth Park and River Street. The room we stayed in, The Garden Suite, is large and perfect for an extended stay with a bedroom, bathroom, little foyer and kitchen. The suite also sits on the backside of the inn with access to the cute little garden area and has a private entrance. Best of all (for us anyway), this place is pet friendly! This is a must for us since we always travel with our dog.


Great Savannah get-a-way

4.2 on September 15, 2011

Joan was a wonderful hostess. We loved having muffins and bagels delivered to our kitchen every day. We had the Garden Suite and found it to be very spacious and private. We took our dog and he loved the patio and Joan's dog. Joan was nice enough to make us dinner reservations and recommended places to go.This B&B is situated in the historic area and is walking distance to just about everything. We will definitely go back again. We felt the tile floor needed cleaning but part of that could have been from our dogs dirty paws.


An absolutely fantastic place for people with dogs

4.0 on July 23, 2011

My wife and I spent a week with Joan's on Jones in Savannah, and brought our 2 dogs with us. The suite we stayed in was mostly tiled, making it good in case of spills or dog accidents (which we did not have to worry about as it turns out). The suite included a bedroom, lounge, full bathroom, and kitchen, and we had a mostly private entrance to our suite through the house's back garden. This offered a level of independence and feeling 'at home' that cannot be understated. Joan and Gary were very friendly, welcoming, and provided service for our suite each day. The location of this B&B is great also! Huge Forsyth Park is just a couple of blocks south, the riverfront is less than a mile to the north, The Mercer-Williams home is just one block to the south, and the wonderful Mrs. Wilkes' restaurant is less than a block to the west. Historic Savannah is very dog friendly, with park-like squares every few blocks, lots of restaurants with sidewalk tables, and even a few tourist activities that the dogs were able to participate in. We and our dogs had a great time in Savannah, and a lot of that had to do with staying at Joan's on Jones. I would reccommend this spot for anyone visiting Savannah, even if you don't have dogs.


Great location for Rudy

5 on July 06, 2011

My Weimanraner, Rudy, loved the location. He could not wait to walk to another square and 'see' who else had been there. What a great location for the people, too. Even though we stayed only one night, we loved the Garden Suite and felt like we had the run of the place. Thank you for having this available for pets who are so welcome!


Great location

2.2 on May 20, 2011

Joan's on Jones is a charming house and is well located in the Historic District of Savannah. However, the service was unfriendly and the breakfast, plastic wrapped muffins and some fruit that proved to be spoiled, was very disappointing. We ended up walking to a cafe for breakfast. Joan seemed annoyed to be bothered when we arrived and was not available to answer any questions. The queen-sized sofabed that was my reason for choosing this B&B over others (with only one bed per suite) was not made up. Instead, I was offered a lumpy rollaway that I had to set up myself. The $50 pet fee seemed excessive in a place that advertised itself as very dog-friendly. No amenities were provided for the dogs.


Nice place

4.0 on May 14, 2011

This b&b has a great location and was a very pleasant stay.


Joan's on Jones Southern hospitality

4.0 on May 02, 2011

Joan's was as welcoming and gracious as Savannah itself. A hotel never could have immersed us into the southern culture. The restored historical home is an excellent chose. It took all of 10 minutes to feel comfortable and at home. Walk out the front door and feel like one of the fun locals. You are near to everything interesting, exciting and fun. Joan's made this trip one we will never forget.


Private Retreat in the Historic District

4.4 on April 23, 2011

Joan's on Jones was a perfect spot to see Savannah - Parking was convenient but it was within easy walking distance of most everything we wanted to see. The room was very roomy and comfortable. Provisions for coffee and a continental breakfast were in the room for us to enjoy at our convenience. We had the garden suite - It had a separte entrance from the rear and small garden area where we enjoyed our morning coffee and a before dinner glass of wine. It was an easy walk to the Olde Pink House where we celebrated our anniversary.


Great suite in decent location

4.0 on April 15, 2011

The suite was big and very accommodating. It was a bit hot and the walk to the "better" shopping and eating was a little far for me. But during cooler weather, I'm sure it's fine. Enjoyed Joan & Gary very much. Being pet-friendly, it worked out great for us to bring our dog - although he had never seen such big dogs (horses)!


Nice and Quaint

3.4 on March 17, 2011

Great place to stay for those who wish not to be bothered. Within walking distance to everywhere. Breakfast will not blow you away, but the place is simply not set up for that. It does however offer all the legroom you could ask for with a full size living room and bedroom.


Joan's on Jones: A Hidden Treasure

3.8 on November 15, 2010

We not only enjoyed our stay in the spacious suite(even with our two yellow labs), but we can't wait to book our next stay! The breakfast provided is easy, convienent and plentiful. The Levy's were so helpful with helping us find the "local" favorites instead of the tourist traps.


Joan's on Jones

3.6 on November 12, 2010

This was a great value. The location was perfect for our agenda and the service was outstanding. Our room could have been a little more dust-free, but other than that it was clean.


Lots of Space Not much else

2.4 on October 15, 2010

We stayed in the garden suite for the weekend, and when we got there no one was home but they had left us the key. We were unloading the car when the owners (at least we think they were the owners but couldn't really tell since no one introduced themselves to us) pulled up and parked right next to us, but when they got out of the car they barely greeted us. All they said was did you find it ok? and then went in. The suite was big, but a little humid and smelly and the bed was really hard and bouncy. Breakfast was just costco muffins and croissants wrapped up the day before and left with milk and oj. We didn't see or talk to the owners all weekend (although we could hear someone staying on the other side of the door connecting the suite to the house), and the maid did come and clean the apartment and leave more pastries for the second day. It was fine if you are looking for a place you can cook and hang out, but it is not an example of southern hospitality and we got the impression that they are just renting out the apartment and don't really want to have anything to do with their guests.


Project Runway

3.8 on September 25, 2009

Beautiful B&B in the heart of historic Savannah. Well appointed rooms with all the comforts of a home. Attentive hosts.


home away from home

4.6 on April 16, 2009

Amazing room, exquisite, beautiful street- so near everything. Warmly received by Joan; My dog and I were treated with warmth and friendship- I want to live here!


Relaxing and excellent location!

5 on April 14, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Joans on Jones in Savannah! The location was perfectly located right in the Historic district, within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and beautiful parks. I liked that you have your own entrance and parking in the back. Joan was very nice and helpful with directions and suggestions for places to see and good restaurants to try. Thanks Joan! We will surely return.


Great B&B

5 on March 19, 2009

What a fantastic place to stay! Quiet, romantic, calm- just the perfect retreat!


A Romantic Weekend

4.8 on March 02, 2009

My husband and I spend a romantic weekend at Joan's on Jones Inn and were thoroughly impressed with the surroundings and the hosts Joan and Gary. They were very knowledgeable and gave great advice about their city and where to go and eat. The rooms were beautiful and the in-room breakfast was very much appreciated since we could get up and dressed whenever we wanted to.


Not your typical B&B

4.2 on February 24, 2009

Savannah is one of the most charming and unusual cities we’ve ever visited. One of the many things that make our visits to this unique city so enjoyable is Joan’s on Jones. Joan's on Jones is not your typical Bed and Breakfast which is exactly why we love it. There is no communal breakfast ritual, no forced socializing, and you get a bit of a sense that you aren’t a guest but rather that you are living in Savannah. We found the owners, Joan and Gary Levy, to be gracious and friendly without being the least bit intrusive. The property is the English Basement level of an historic row house in the heart of Savannah and consists of two suites. Off street parking is located in the back of the property. Each suite comes stocked with a bottle of wine as well as continental breakfast fixings - muffins, cereal, milk, fruit, coffee, and tea. Nothing fancy but enough to get us through until lunch time. There were even dog treats. We've enjoyed stays in both suites. The rear or Garden Suite is a delightful space with a walled courtyard garden, a small kitchen, a bath, a small sitting area and a large bedroom with a non-functioning fireplace. This suite is pet friendly. The bedroom of this suite is located under the owner’s kitchen so you will hear some noise from footsteps or the occasional bark from their dog. We’ve stayed in the Garden Suite several times and have not found it to be bothersome. Remember, this is the lower level of an old row house and someone’s home. It’s not a hotel. The elegant Front suite opens directly on to Jones Street. It has a beautiful, large living room, a fridge, microwave and bar sink, a bath, and a bedroom which can be closed off with pocket doors. There are non-functioning fireplaces in the living room and bedroom. Joan’s on Jones isn’t your typical B&B but then Savannah isn’t your typical city. Both have their charms and their quirks. We wouldn’t have it any other way. We are looking forward to our next stay at Joan’s on Jones.


Rat for Roommate

2.8 on July 04, 2007

I was pleasantly surprised at the accomdations. The pictures did not do the suites justice. Joan was very accomodating when we called late in the evening and requested an additional night with midnight arrival. We had three nights reserved. The first two nights of sleep were interrupted by noices in the room that we assumed were a bird or squirrel in the fireplace. The third night we were introduced to our suitemate after he dragged our danishes that were to be breakfast off the counter and accross the room. Our suitemate turned out to be a huge RAT! He ran accross the furniture and had been in our bags. We closed the pocket doors and stuffed pillows and blankets underneath so that (much to his disappointment) he could not get back in our bedroom. I was very disappointed that this was not a place that I would want to return to since I will be making regular trips to Savannah in the future. There was no adjustment to our bill for the "breakfast" that the RAT ate or for our less than restful stay. Sorry to say I won't rebook.


Joan's on Jones Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $160 - $185
  • Reviews (51) 4.0
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9122343863
  • Fax 1-9122341455
  • Toll free 1-8889899806

Visit Website »

View details

Top