The Martyn House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review

Try Glamping for a Relaxing Retreat

4.2 on October 17, 2012

My husband and I have never been glamping and our experience at the Martyn House was wonderful. With indoor plumbing, it is as close to camping as I will get. Rick and JoAnn are entertaining hosts and fabulous cooks. Each meal was a treat and I would highly recommend the farm-to-table dinner. We felt very welcome. Three other couples were also glamping the same weekend. It was fun getting to know each one around a roaring campfire with s'mores. JoAnn even had a night time surprise for someone's anniversary. The weekend was a very relaxing retreat from city life filled with hiking and biking adventures. After touring Rick and JoAnn's indiviual workshops, I left feeling very creative and inspired. And the hisory of the property is interesting too.


Great Get-a-way!

5 on November 14, 2011

My Wife and I took advantage of the romantic package and had a great 3 day get-a-way! We will do it again and highly recommend it. The setting is private and beautiful. It is located between the two state parks of Fort Mountain and Amicalola Falls. We hiked at both and there are many activities. We also spent a day setting on the front porch of our tent (very nice) drinking wine, reading and enjoying the north Georgia Forrest. At night we heard the animals of the night including an owl. The food was well prepared, fresh, and GOOD. Breakfast was my favorite. In addition we enjoyed our time and visits with our host Rick and Joann. Also a special thanks to Mia and Gracie for their company.


Campers Delight

4.8 on November 05, 2011

Warm pleasant Cozy Quiet


Glamping is FANTASTIC

5 on November 03, 2011

We had the best time Glamping. The "tents" are comfortable and homey. We went in late October when it was fairly chilly at night, and the heaters in the tents were more than adequate to keep us toasty warm. JoAnn and Rick are amazing people, talented artists, and remarkable hosts. We went during a Farm to Table dinner and that was awesome as well. The other Glampers were great people and we made new friends. The surrounding area was great for shopping, horseback riding, and just relaxing. We are already planning our next trip!


Very Unique Experience

4.0 on November 01, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at The Martyn House and had a wonderful time from the moment we got there until the moment we left. JoAnn and Rick are the perfect hosts. Upon arrival we had a tour of the grounds which are so charming and then were shown to our glamour tent. It was the most delightful room we've ever stayed in. We headed to the campfire at sundown and shared a nice evening with the other guests...all of them so interesting. A very nice breakfast was served Sat morning and then we spent the day in Blue Ridge. Saturday evening farm to table dinner was just great with the added enjoyment of it being a costume dinner for Halloween. Another night at the campfire and then another walk through the woods to our tent with its king-size bed and feather quilt and rustic furnishings. This was not "roughing it." This is an adventure we will never forget.


amazing escape in upstate g.a.

4.6 on October 03, 2011

a unique experience. The evening bonfire was so relaxing. The grounds were beautiful and the tents were amazing.


Birthday in the Mountains

4.4 on October 03, 2011

A very cozy out of the way place to lose yourself and share your thoughts with nature. Night time is quiet and private. If you enjoy prowling antique stores then this is very close to Ellijay and BlueRidge where many interesting businesses seem to attract travelers from afar. Local orchards provide in season fruit at very reasonable prices.


My kind of camping!!

5 on October 02, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend at the Maryn House. This was my kind of camping!! The tents were beautiful and stocked with all the amenities you need for the comfort of luxury camping - hot showers (in the tent's full bathroom), very comfortable bedding, heater for those chilly nights, electrical lighting, french press coffee in the mornings. The camp fire camaraderie was awesome!!! The meals were delicious and there were a lot of fun activities to do around Ellijay. We had a great experience and will definitely go back!!


Finally Here

4.0 on August 14, 2011

After reading about "glamping" in Southern Living, I wanted to checkout. Camping has never been my "thing" but "glamping" I could do. Our hostess/host were very informative about activities in the area. The food was delicious. The tents very nice with comfortable bed; shower and convenient "compost" toilet. Recommended to others for a "different" experience. Definitely would do again. Need to make your plans soon.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Glamping. We seem to have lots of camping converts:) Please come back and see us soon!


My kind of camping

4.4 on June 22, 2011

I booked a stay at the Martyn House as a birthday present for my fiance, and it was better than expected. We were fortunate enough to participate in a farm to table dinner, and if you get a chance to do it yourself, I would DEFINITELY recommend it. Rick and Joann are the nicest people you will ever meet, and they made us feel welcome the entire time. If you want a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city, this is the place to go.

Innkeeper Response
What a treat to be here for one of our wonderful Farm to Table dinners! We are so glad you had such a great time and hope to see you again next year! Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience!


martyn house and glamping

5 on June 02, 2011

Its was such a fantastic place! They are two of the nicest people i have ever meet!

Innkeeper Response
We are glad you had a GREAT experience -come back next year and thanks for taking the time to write!


Glamping Girls Weekend

5 on June 01, 2011

Where to even begin...Our weekend stay at the Martyn House was such a wonderful experience. 8 girls and 4 tents equals great times!! We rented the whole property for a girls weekend. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by two of the most friendly and inspiring people I have met in a long time. JoAnn and Rick have really created a unique and inviting place that I hope to return to many more times! The food was phenomenal as was the atmosphere. I stayed in the new tent, Bohemian Bungalow and it was so comfortable! Camp fires at night to toast marshmallows by and massages and relaxation by day! The hike around the property was invigorating and luckily their dogs were there to show us the way home! We cannot wait to return! Thanks for such an inspiring weekend!

Innkeeper Response
Glamping Girl Weekends are becoming quite the trend here- and Rick LOVES them:)We are so glad you had such a good time be sure to book early to return next year i think our weekends will be filling up lots sooner!


5-star fun while you listen to the crickets

4.0 on April 26, 2011

This unique bed and breakfast won't be for everyone but for us it was fabulous. You enjoy all the comforts of a great hotel while actually being in the outdoors. We loved everything about it. The linens are hotel/spa quality. The beds were comfy. JoAnn is a delight and a gracious hostess who will even get a bug out of your room if needed. As to value, it is a bit on the high side but you do get a great breakfast and wine and hors d'oeures in the late afternoon. There is French press coffee, tea, hot chocolate that you can make in your tent and best of all the tents have attached bathrooms will HOT water. Also, shopping, golf, and whitewater rafting are nearby. I highly recommend The Martyn House. My girls and I plan to make it a yearly tradition.


Birthday weekend glamping!

4.2 on April 26, 2011

From the magically nightly arrival to quite morning walks on the property, the stay was unique. The innkeepers felt like long time friends and went out their way to ensure the stay was unforgettable.

Innkeeper Response
We love the word MAGIC and we believe it describes what happens here to a T be sure and come back next year for more of the magic that seems to keep happening time and time again!


A unique experience

3.8 on October 13, 2010

Our hosts were fabulous! Two artists, one a photographer and the other a potter, who made the stay warm and friendly...and they sure can cook too! The breakfasts were very creative, as were the 6pm hors d'oeuvres and libation.


Glamping, really. . . .Wow how great it was!!!!

4.0 on August 16, 2010

Really enjoyed what I had a bit of anxiety about as i am NOT a camper. But this place was great in every sense. Will return and enjoy just a smuch.


BEST girls weekend!!

5 on May 01, 2010

Went to the Martyn House with some college friends for the weekend and had the most amazing time! Rick and JoAnn are wonderful hosts and we felt like a part of the family...from family style dinners to their dogs taking us on walks!:) We have already booked next years trip and keep debating going back sooner!


The BEST weekend getaway!!!

5 on April 25, 2010

We went to The Martyn house for our yearly 'College Girlfriend' trip. We had the BEST time staying there. The tents are beautiful and glamorous! The word "glamping" describes our experience to a -T! Glamorous Camping...that was it!! We enjoyed our stay from the moment we stepped out of our cars. We felt like we were 'away' from everything. We felt so relaxed and at peace. JoAnn and Rick were the most AMAZING host and hostess. They make you feel like you are right at home and a guest in their home. Their meals were AHHHMAZING, and we especially loved the daily hor d'oeuvre and wine up at the house. Our stay was so wonderful that we left having next April booked for our girls trip. I do not have enough words to say how fantastic our trip was at The Martyn House. We left feeling like family! It was one of those weekends that many, many years from now will stand out. Thank you Rick and JoAnn for your 5 Star treatment and hospitality!!


Such an experience!

5 on April 05, 2010

I would highly recommend booking a weekend at The Martyn House. We had a girls weekend there in the spring and it exceeded all of our expectations. GREAT place to get together and escape from the hustle & bustle of the world. LOVED staying in the tents. Very comfortable and adorable. Food was wonderful and the property was adorable. The owners were a delight to be around and went above and beyond to make sure that the atmosphere was perfect. The only thing that I would change is the length of time we stayed. I would change it from 2 nights to 3. We have already made our reservations for next year!


A MUST STAY!

5 on July 15, 2009

We were absolutely blown away by this charming, yet luxurious property. Nestled in the woods with gorgeous gardens, walking & hiking trails and inspiring artist studios this property has something for everyone. The accommodations were like none we have every stayed in, anywhere in the world. Luxurious tents that define todays "glamping" trend. Gorgeous interior decor with every attention to detail, we could have stayed a month. We both appreciated the "green" factor with the showers feeding to grey water and compost toilets. Truly charming and truly an experience we look forward to again.


The Martyn House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $180 - $220
  • Reviews (20) 4.6
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7066354759

Visit Website »

View details

Top