Mountain Top Lodge Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

First visit and extremely pleased with our stay

4.4 on June 09, 2014

We found this lovely place by searching online. We were enjoying our visit to Dahlonega so much we began looking for a place to stay for the night and were surprised to find this little gem! The B&B is located a few miles away from the hustle and bustle of the shopping and restaurants of Dahlonega. We enjoyed the this quiet get away after a day on the town. The breakfast was wonderful and the innkeeper was so nice. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly tell our friends and family about it.


Great Bed and Breakfast!

5 on May 24, 2014

We stayed at the mountain top lodge for a wedding we were guests at. Paul, the Inn keeper, was so pleasant and helpful giving us directions to where the wedding was taking place, and offering insight on great places to grab a bite and visit. The Inn is an older house, yet super clean and in great condition. The breakfast was really delicious throughout our stay, and Paul and his staff were very caring and hospitable; we felt part of the family. If you want a clean, cozy, quiet place to stay at a very reasonable price with great service, this is your place!


Cozy and Comfortable

5 on March 14, 2014

This B&B is absolutely charming. It is perfect for a quiet getaway. The rooms are comfortable, and you truly feel you are a million miles away from your everyday life. It's like being at home, only better. There is a kitchen available for guests to use, as well as a TV loft and a library area. Paul, the innkeeper, makes a delicious breakfast each morning. He does the little things to make sure his guests are happy. The wood and exposed beam architecture perfectly match the wooded mountain setting. I would definitely stay here again!


Great B & B

5 on August 01, 2012

My friend and I stayed for 1 night and found it a wonderful experience. Paul, the inkeeper was a great host. Would definetely stay again.


Mini-vacation

5 on July 22, 2012

Due to parents' health problems, my wife and I had limited opportunities for vacations together this summer. We'd been through Dahlonega previously, and thought we'd like to see more. We liked Mountaintop Lodge's website, and when we saw a midweek overnight stay was available, we booked it. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Mountaintop, and would enthusiastically book there again in the future. Innkeeper Paul Carmody made us feel at home and treated us like family. We were the only guests in the lodge on the night we stayed, so we got Paul's undivided attention. The room was clean and well-furnished. We enjoyed access to the deck and the view it provided. When Paul learned I was a relatively early riser, he had coffee ready at 0700, and we had a nice chat as he prepared breakfast. My wife joined us and we both enjoyed Paul's breakfast. He pointed us to restaurant and winery opportunities. It was a really good experience.


Rainy and Snowy getaway

5 on November 29, 2011

Being our first stay at a B&B, we did not know what to expect. Paul, the innkeeper, spared nothing to accommodate us. The rooms were beautiful and exceeded any expectations we had set. We stayed in room 9 (in the cabin) which had a great view of the mountains. We toured the rooms in the main house and would highly recommend each for the there own individual touch. Breakfast was very good with an egg and cheese dish, bacon, biscuits and assorted fresh fruit. Paul recommended some of the local restaurants and attractions and all were as pleasing as he had said. I would highly recommend and will be staying again.


A great place to get away.

4.4 on October 16, 2011

Staff was very attentive and responsive to any need. Paul is a gracious and engaging host and knowledgeable of the area. Highly recommend. A charming and quiet location.


Dahlonega Trip

5 on July 30, 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Top Lodge B&B for two nights in Dahlonega, GA. Paul the innkeeper was an excellent host. As soon as we arrived, he was waiting to greet us. He made us felt at home, very friendly, attentive and just easy to talk to. The location of the lodge was easy access to downtown about 5 minutes drive. Our room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. This room has a sunroom. This is the room to stay. It was a fantastic room. Each morning Paul and his wife made homemade delicious breakfast, fresh fruits and his French toast is the best. The second morning we had wonderful quiche. That was awesome. If you plan to get away for a week-end, stay at the Mountain Top Lodge B&B in Dahlonega, GA. You’ll enjoy your stay.


Quality, Value, Service and Location, Location, Location!

5 on June 23, 2011

Mountain Top Lodge was fantastic and we will definitely be back. The accommodations are top notch, the breakfast is wonderful, the hospitality is second to none and the location is outstanding. I must compliment inn keeper Paul Carmody on his remarkable cooking and his ability to make you feel at home. We will be heading back to Dahlonega to send my son off to college in the coming weeks and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else but Mountain Top!


A Wondrful 55th!

5 on June 17, 2011

We enjoyed a very hospitable time for our 55th wedding anniversary. Great breakfasts, good sleeping, lots of rest, and close to the neat mountain village of Dahlonega. Paul is an excellent innkeeper! Yes, we'll return, for sure.


Wonderful getaway.

5 on April 19, 2011

This B&B is on the top of the mountain with a winding drive way to the top. Paul, our innkeeper was very attentive and met us at the door, but is not obtrusive in any way. The rooms were nicely decorated with antiques and everything was neat and clean. The main house has a rustic look about it with cedar beams. A small community kitchen is available for guests to store drinks and food. The rooms were quiet and restful. Our room had a private balcony that looked out into the woods on the mountain and a private bath. Breakfast was wonderful both mornings we stayed. We will be staying at Mountain Top Lodge again when we visit Dahlonega. The B&B is an easy relatively short drive from Dahlonega. All in all our visit was wonderful.


What a Wonderful Stay!

4.8 on April 06, 2011

This was our second trip to Mountain Top Lodge. We were celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday. My husband had Paul surprise me with roses and wine (waiting in room)! We stayed in room #110 with the fireplace and jacuzzi. The room was beautifully decorated and so cozy (even had a small refrigerator). Paul took time to give us dining tips and directions around town too. The breakfast we had was delicious. We don't plan on waiting for a special occasion to go back! We had a wonderful time and didn't want the trip to end.


Wonderful and Cozy Inn

4.6 on February 15, 2011

The Mountain Top Lodge was a wonderful place to stay for Valentines weekend. Convenient to Dahlonega and the wineries. The room was very clean and charming. The views are wonderful, especially from the huge deck. The breakfast both mornings was exceptional and the dining room is very nice-individual tables. We would return again.


North Ga's Best B&B

5 on October 15, 2010

The lodge is literally located on a mountain top surrounded by a mature hardwood forest. Our room included a sun room and a private deck. The rooms are a tasteful mixture of modern and antique furniture with no sacrifice of functionality. Paul is a gracious host and a great conversationalist and provides a meticulously clean environment. You will not be disappointed.


September in Dahlonega

4.6 on October 01, 2010

We stayed 2 nights Sep 3 and 4. We were in the separate lodge from the main house in a room with a jacuzzi. Very secluded and quiet. Room was clean and a balcony overlooking the forest. We had a great stay, but be aware - no TV! We actually were glad later - it's just a quiet, nice place to stay. The innkeeper was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was tasty and ample! Don't come here expecting anything but peace and quiet and a relaxing time!


Delightful

5 on August 09, 2010

Our stay at Mountain Top was a delight--private entrances, cozy rooms, and so quiet. Relaxing at night on the wrap around deck, crickets "singing" was the icing on the cake! Breakfast was yummy and Paul was gracious and very informative. Looking forward to our next visit. D&D


Our Favorite

4.6 on July 31, 2010

Paul is a wonderful host, just like an old friend. Everything is tastefully decorated and the room was comfortable and attractive. We left after a delicious breakfast just feeling very comfortable. There is no comparison in N. Georgia for value!


What a way to celebrate Independence Day!

4.0 on July 06, 2010

We had stayed at B&B's in Ireland, but this was a treat of a different color...red-white-blue! Everything was excellent, including the beautiful mountainside lodge, meals, the gardens, and the precious doe and tiny fawn viewing us from the woods. The website provided us with a link to the historic Holly Theater. We were able to print out advance tickets for the wonderful show given the night we arrived. Tours of the wineries, great Dahlonega restaurants, fireworks, and darling shops made for a most enjoyable weekend. We enjoyed conversing with our innkeeper about common travels.


Memorial Day 2010 Weekend

4.6 on June 14, 2010

We had the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful weekend in the Dahlonega, Ga. area over Memorial Day weekend. We were part of a group attending a Sunday wedding, but thoroughly enjoyed our entire weekend. The Mountain Top Lodge is the perfect base of operations to explore the entire area. There are enough units to accommodate a family reunion. Paul, the Innkeeper, has a nice touch in the kitchen. Portions were very large.....I'm a big breakfast guy and I left the table full each day. The setting in the woods is very quiet. The common areas are rustic and relaxing. There is enough deck area to launch fighter jets. I recommend this location without hesitation.


An anniversary to remember!

4.0 on April 22, 2010

We arrived in the evening for our two day stay at this really remarkable Bed and Breakfast. The grounds were a great combination of natural and planned beauty. As soon as we walked in the door we were welcomed warmly by Paul, the Innkeeper, who really made us glad to be there. Our room was spotless and was beautifully furnished with antiques of which our favorites were the writing desk and the armoire. The breakfasts which we enjoyed the next two mornings were delicious and hearty. Once again Paul proved to be an excellent host. I don’t know when I’ve enjoyed breakfast more. Our favorite spot in the lodge was the game room. It loaded with many board games and puzzles. We especially liked the Chinese checkers; the board and pieces were created from hardwood by a craftsman in California. We recommend this lodge to anyone who is looking for a relaxing stay in a place where they are truly welcome. PJ and Laura Sartain, Norcross, Georgia


The best that North Georgia has to offer

5 on April 18, 2010

From the moment you walk into the lodge you feel the warmth and comfort this lodge has to offer. We have spent the last seven anniversaries at Mountain Top. Paul, the innkeeper, goes the extra mile to make sure your stay will be a memory worth keeping. The breakfast are fabulous, the accommodations are clean and well maintained, all this and only can be topped by the cozy atmosphere. We plan to return for many years to come. Thank you Paul for everything you do. Bill and Sharon Rourke Hendersonville TN


A BEAUTIFUL SPRING STAY!

4.0 on April 10, 2010

My husband (of 25 years!) and I just returned from the Mountain Top Lodge . We joined some friends who also stayed the night. The four of us had a fabulous visit and were impressed by the charming lodge which was decorated with antiques and country crafts. It was clean and welcoming. Paul, the Innkeeper, was pleasant and kind in socializing with us. The breakfast was delicious...a yummy egg/potato casserole, fruit, muffins, juice and lots of coffee. We enjoyed our smaller table for dining and the room offered separate tables for couples. The Spring weather in Dahlonega was beautiful, and we enjoyed hiking to DeSoto Falls after we checked out of the lodge. We would definitely return to the Mountain Top Lodge in the future!


Wonderful Weekend Retreat

4.2 on April 05, 2010

We stayed here with three other couples during a recent Georgia Wine Highway weekend. What a wonderfully homey place. The innkeeper Paul, is a delight with lots of great stories. Yummy and hearty breakfasts got us on our way each day! Definitely a 'do-over.'


great place

4.0 on March 31, 2010

We had a group for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Paul has a great place. Everything is clean, the breakfast is great and he's a great guy. Beautiful location.


Cozy and Comfortable

4.0 on February 15, 2010

My husband and I visited the Mountain Top Lodge this past weekend. It was extremely cozy. We enjoyed our room with the private deck and the bed was great! Breakfast was good the next morning. Paul does a great job of making you feel right at home.


LOVE MOUNTAIN TOP LODGE

4.2 on December 23, 2009

Enjoyed our 28th Anniversary during Thanksgiving week-end at our most favorite B and B. This was our third visit enjoying the Queen Spa Room....the rooms are immaculate and well appointed...Mr.Pauls' BREAKFASTS are delicious. Would recommend highly for a relaxing stay. Thank you for a wonderful visit----can't wait to return.


Cozy and laid-back

4.6 on September 25, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this quiet, intimate lodge. Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The public living room, kitchen and den were nicely furnished. Breakfast was very tasty, and the afternoon sherry was excellent. Owner/manager Paul was very friendly and helpful.


Our first stay at a B&B

5 on August 27, 2009

Having never stayed at a B&B before I had no idea of what to expect....all I can say is WOW it not only met but exceeded our expectations...I would highly recommend this Lodge to others... the rooms were a treat for the eyes..no two alike...lovely quilts on each of the beds and some draped the walls...easy on the eyes....it was like we were visiting in a friends home... this lodge was a very relaxing hide away ...wifi was available, so was able to enjoy my computer time...and meet other guests who came up to the loft....the breakfasts were superb tasty and of generous portions you will most definitely want to compliment the chef....the service was unmatched and our inkeeper was a most congenial host who spoiled us...absolutely delightful!


We loved our visit

4.8 on August 24, 2009

we spent two nights to celebrate our anniversary. We loved the privacy, the beauty of the area as well as our room and private balcony. The food was delicious and we enjoyed walking around Dahlonega. We plan to visit again!


Relaxing Birthday Trip

4.8 on August 16, 2009

This was our first time to the Inn and to Dahlonga. The Innkeeper could not have been nicer. The Inn was clean and neat as a pin. The atmosphere was relaxing,secluded and peaceful. The breakfast was outstanding and filling. We look forward to visiting the Inn and Dahlonga again. It was a welcome change from the hustle and bustle of Atlanta and I will recommend it to my friends.


Great visit!!

5 on June 04, 2009

This was our second visit to this inn and as during the previous year we found the service and environment to be outstanding. The location is superb, the inn is spotless and the antique filled rooms are tasteful and comfortable. Walking around the grounds is a real treat. And, to top it off, Paul is a wonderful conversationalist. No disappointments here!


Return Customers

4.8 on June 01, 2009

Have stayed twice and going on third visit. Inn is comfortable, spacious and very clean. Rooms are fantastic and the innkeeper is very helpful for any needs that you may have. We have recommended this inn to anyone traveling to the North Georgia mountains.


Wish we had more time!

4.6 on February 19, 2009

We missed our turn and we were a little late, but the innkeeper was great! We enjoyed our room and the view is spectacular. Breakfast was wonderful and I even got coffee a little early- thanks! This is a perfect place for a mountain retreat. We'll be back, and on time, soon!


We will definitely return!!

5 on February 15, 2009

This was by far the best bed and breakfast I have stayed in. The accomodations were amazing, the hospitality was out of this world. Breakfast was to die for. The inn keeper has gone above and beyond to make you feel welcome here and the rustic feel to the lodge makes you feel like you have gone back in time to a simpler time and place. We absolutely loved it and will definitely return again!! I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing atmosphere and genuine southern hospitality.


Very nice and quiet

4.4 on February 14, 2009

The people are very nice. The jacuzzi tub was a treat! The breakfast was very good and had a full spread. I would stay there again the next time I'm in Dahlonaga. Not too far from the square and the wineries. Felt like home away from home.


The Avery's

5 on November 30, 2008

I called on Thanksgiving day, not expecting to get a real "live" person. I was pleasantly suprised and delighted to know that a room was available for 11/30/08. My husband and I needed a trip to revive us from alll the commotion going on at home. Not only did we receive outstanding service from Paul but we found him very helpful with his recomendations for dining in Dahlonaga. We left refreshed and our batteries completely restoredd to full. We plan on making this week a tradition for the two of us to get away.. I can hardly wait until our next visit... It may have to be before Thanksgiving 2009..


Mountain Top Lodge

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7068645257

Visit Website »

View details

Top