Lake Allatoona Inn Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
67 Reviews

Write A Review

neat place!

3.4 on October 19, 2014

Love heated floors, attractive rooms.


Great Getaway!

4.0 on October 15, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a weekend away from Atlanta and found this great, charming out-of -the way place. The owners were very hospitable and helpful with questions we had about the area. They also recommended restaurants nearby that were outstanding. We had a wonderful time! Would definitely recommend staying here!


Friendly, clean, affordable, great location, excellent breakfast

5 on October 15, 2014

We stayed one night in this beautiful B&B with spectacular, spacious rooms. Lynn was incredibly easy to work with for the reservation and super friendly. It has an amazing location right next to the lake and a fantastic park with some nice hiking trails. The bathroom had an old charm, but was updated with the latest (and best amenities). The breakfast was top notch and there was plenty. All of this for a very affordable rate. When I am in the area, I will be returning to the Lake Allatoona Inn.


CLOSE TO HOME GETAWAY NIGHT

4.4 on September 25, 2014

This was a one night close to home get away night for me and my husband for his birthday. Neither of us had ever been to a Bed and Breakfast, so we decided to try it out. We stayed in the Colonel's Quarters with the Jacuzzi tub. We thoroughly enjoyed the area, the room, the breakfast on Sunday. We will definitely be back!


Lake allatoona

4.2 on September 20, 2014

The room was wonderful. I enjoyed the atmosphere.


Stay at Lake Attatoona Inn

3.8 on September 07, 2014

Beds where very comfortable, heated tiles in bathroom was a nice feature


July 4th Weekend stay

5 on July 08, 2014

A great place for a getaway. The innkeepers were very nice and accommodating. The suite we had was very nice and opened onto a balcony. The surroundings of the property were very well kept. Close to the lake so that you could enjoy fishing, walking, etc. We would highly recommend a visit!


What an incredible find!

4.8 on June 10, 2014

Not only is this Inn beautifully restored and well taken care of but what sets this experience apart is this charming, efficient and knowledgable family. We were welcomed before we even arrived, and after a stressful trip even my horse was shown hospitality. Lynn Smith is an exceptional hostess I feel I have a new friend.


I'm a fan!

3.6 on May 28, 2014

Features at the family run Lake Allatoona Inn in Cartersville that made me feel pampered were a heated tile floor in the bathroom that was comforting even in summer; a heavenly pillow top mattress on a king size bed and cable TV ( love HGTV!). Good blueberry pancakes were served with bacon and sausage, scrambled eggs, hash browns and fruit for Sunday morning breakfast. For the spirit, seeing horses peacefully grazing on clover behind the B&B is truly relaxing. Special events take place in an adjacent facility so, if sharing your evening with wedding guests in the yard isn't what you envisioned, ask if an event is taking place when you will be there. The lake is behind a tall embankment and you need to take a short walk up a path to the top of the embankment to see the water. In the late afternoon, I took a walk along the shaded path where the Civil War Battle of Allatoona Pass took place. About a half mile along the pass, I found a path down to a small peninsula overlooking the lake and sat there enjoying the view. Traveling solo, I loved interacting with the Smith family who owns the Inn and the array of animals on the grounds. A friendly little 2 1/2 lb dog greeted me for breakfast Sunday morning- fully grown but teacup size. On the farm side, Lynn introduced me to her Leonberger dog; rare polish chickens and white doves (for weddings held on the property). Owner Lynn rescued a thoroughbred and a pony who are leading the good life now with her three other horses. Her palomino had a white, blue-eyed foul (rare color called cremello - just about 10 days old. Then, there was Polly, a miniature donkey with tons of personality. Polly followed us around wanting butt rubs and brayed loudly in protest when we left to go back to the house. You need to sign a waiver to go on the farm side so ask if interested. For me, the Inn was the perfect getaway and was like visiting friends with a really cool place!


Good Bed and Breakfast

3.2 on May 12, 2014

Good location and relaxing atmosphere. Inn needs a good spring cleaning, however! Very nice and helpful owners. Would stay there again.


Very nice and friendly Inn

4.2 on April 08, 2014

We stayed here for our wedding night. Lynn was super accommodating! Little things like a very late check in, setting up the room with a bottle of wine in a rapid chiller and the breakfast the next morning made this an excellent experience. The room we originally wanted was unavailable. We expressed interest in coming back for our 1 year anniversary and Lynn gave us that room for the same price we spent this time! We will be coming back every year! Super place and very pretty old Victorian home feel.


Review

3.2 on March 04, 2014

Very nice stay. Breakfast was excellent and inn keepers were very hospitable. Would have liked to have had the room a bit cleaner - comforter was musty, room somewhat dusty and table outside on the balcony had full ashtray and dirty coffee cup. Would simply say a bit more attention to detail would have made this an above average stay.


Best place ever!!

5 on November 10, 2013

Awesome place!! Great rooms and delicious breakfast!! Plan on going back every year!


October 26, 2013

3.8 on October 30, 2013

Really beautiful place, just needs a little sprussing up..the people were awesome and friendly...great house...and didn't get visited by any ghost...:)


Great place to get away

4.2 on October 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The room was wonderful and there are only three rooms so u don't feel like cattle at the trough when u eat breakfast. The breakfast was wonderful and so was the hostess. The property and house are beautiful and right across from the lake and walking trails. Absolutely relaxing and a great get away from the city


will come back again!

5 on September 06, 2013

Lynn the owner was wonderful and made our honeymoon a great memory!


Excellent Stay at Allatoona Inn

4.6 on September 05, 2013

We stayed for our 10th annual honeymoon and had a great time. The rooms are great and the breakfast was amazing. A definite do-over for us.


Nice quaint stay!

4.2 on September 04, 2013

Enjoyable stay - rustic, off-the-beaten path B&B with modern amenities. Rooms are nice and big.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

4.4 on August 14, 2013

My husband and I have stayed multiple times at Lake Allatoona Inn, including stabling our horse while trailering between the Midwest and Florida. The owners of the Inn, Lynn and Dave, are friendly, professional and conscientious. The Inn is a beautifully restored mansion, often used for weddings. Overnight lodging includes a homemade breakfast. It's beautiful, and easily accessible from Interstate 75!


Wonderful weekend out of the city!

4.6 on July 02, 2013

Such a nice place to spend a night out of the hustle and bustle. There are plenty of things to do close by or a nice porch and swing to relax on. The owners are very down to earth and knowledge about activities and dining near by!


Lake Allatoona Inn

4.2 on May 14, 2013

The Inn is lovely, as are Lynn and Dave - we had no idea of the history of the little village or the Civil WAr battle just across the street - What treat! Well worth the time! Putnam & Carmen Smith


A wonderful place to stay!!!

5 on April 24, 2013

This nice stay started with a nice and prompt reply to our email. The B&B is a beautiful Victorian house on Lake Allatoona. The room was spacious with a nice and comfortable four poster bed. The bathroom in our suite had wonderful natural lighting all day and is a beautiful room in itself! The hostess and her husband were both down to earth and amiable to chat with. Each room had a very informative book of things to do where to eat, etc. It even listed practical items like the local hospital. very thoughtful. The breakfast was truly a Southern delight. I would definitely recommend this B&B to a friend!


Get Away

4.0 on April 04, 2013

Lynn & Dave were wonderful hosts. We really enjoyed our get away.


Loved Lake Allatoona Inn

3.8 on March 02, 2013

Loved Mrs. Lynn and breakfast was delicious :)


Very nice stay

5 on February 28, 2013

The owners were very nice and accommodating. As it was the off-season and a special occasion for us, the owners upgraded our room (for free) without us even asking. The location, view, and atmosphere was great. Highly recommended!


Awesome Stay

5 on January 23, 2013

It was a great place to lay over with our horses, and our room was huge.


9/27/12

2.8 on October 03, 2012

We stayed at the Alatoonia Inn for 3 days. The Inn is beautiful with many antiques . The grounds are well kept. Breakfasts provided were filling but nothing special. The only improvments I would suggest would be bath mats in the heated tile bathroom and kleenex. Store bought muffins were provided one day as a snack. Coffee and tea were always available. Lynn and Dave were excellent hosts. We enjoyed our stay and would like to stay again in the future.


2012 Stay at Lake Allatoona Inn

3.6 on September 20, 2012

We enjoyed an amazing breakfast and great service at this quaint b & b. It was kind of dusty, but overall, we enjoyed our stay. We were thankful for the earplugs provided, as a train passes nearby throughout the night. We really enjoyed walking around the lake. Hot tub was amazing. And Lynn was a great hostess!


A wonderful place cor a secluded night away

4.2 on August 31, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lake Allatoona Inn. Lynn was a wonderful host and gave us lots of helpful advice about things to do in the area. The room (General Corse's Suite) was spacious and we loved the large tub. Breakfast was excellent. The lake is beautiful and quiet. We will definitely come back!


Delightful Inn

4.4 on July 25, 2012

We had such a relaxing and pleasant stay at the Lake Allatoona Inn! The amenities and upgrades to the house are amazing. The inn-keepers are super helpful with providing nearby information for food, lake activities, horseback riding, and historical trails. We enjoyed their city-spirit with appreciation for homestyle warmth & friendliness. The horses, miniature donkey, chickens, and baby peacocks were an added bonus to our stay!


Great Stay!!

5 on July 16, 2012

We stayed overnight as part of our anniversary celebration. Beautiful room and grounds. Lynne and Dave were wonderful hosts!! We will definitely be back!!


Relaxing place off the beaten path

3.4 on June 03, 2012

We didn't want a typical hotel on I75 and so chose a B&B instead. The inn keepers were very nice people and the breakfast was excellent which made for a pleasant stop.


Great overnight stop with our horses

4.6 on May 05, 2012

We stay here twice a year on the trip from Ohio to Florida. The Inn is very close to 75. Our rooms are always cozy and the horses are safe and happy in the large clean stalls. Very friendly hosts. Highly recommend it!!


Lovely setting and enjoyable hostess

3.4 on April 26, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Lake Allatoona Inn. Nicely located within minutes of historic locations in area. Lynn was a delight and added to our visit.


Amazing time at Allatoona!

5 on April 15, 2012

My wife and I stay at bed and breakfasts on most of our vacations. We stayed here on our way to Florida w our best couple friends. Lynn an Dave welcomed us w open arms and got us set up immediately. They were accommodating and friendly. We were on a tight time schedule and they provided us with many local options to make sure we had the best experience. It was nice to have an instant connection with them. The only downfall of the trip was that we only got to stay for one night. We are definitely coming back! Lynn really made it feel like we were coming home at the end of the day. Our stay at Allatoona Inn was wonderful and memorable experience. Thank you, Lynn and Dave!!!


Wonderful evening and morning after

5 on April 10, 2012

My wife and I recently spent one evening at Lake Allatoona Inn on our way to Florida. We found the location easy to find from the highway. The grounds were beautiful and the house has wonderful southern charm. Lynn, along with her husband, owns and operates the inn, and I honestly could not imagine a better person for the job. She was very inviting from the moment we stepped in the door, explaining everything from house history, to area folklore, to local attractions and restaurants. ( Do not pass up the opportunity to go to Acworth and eat at Henry's cajun restaurant!) The lake, state park, walking paths, and small towns all offer a plethora of opportunities to have unique experiences. We unfortunately had to leave early in the morning prior to breakfast, and Lynn woke up an hour early to set out fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice, and muffins. During our stay, we were treated like family and definitely plan to stop by again ( and stay for breakfast)!


Wedding Anniversary Get away

5 on April 03, 2012

Our stay was so romantic. The suite was comfortable and charming. Little touches everywhere that really made you feel like you were back in the Civil War times. My husband and I were celebrating our 13th wedding anniversary and could not have picked a better place to celebrate. We will definitely be back for another stay. Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable. Rusty and Melanie Davis


Great Stay at Lake Allatoona Inn

4.2 on February 27, 2012

I was traveling through the area and decided to stay in my first ever B&B. I had a great experience. The owners were so accomodating - even got up early and served me breakfast so I could make my business meeting. The inn is well decorated, bed was comfortable and I loved my giant jacuzzi tub. I will positively go back again - and eat at Henry's which was recommended by my host. WOW!


Can't wait to stay again!

4.4 on January 29, 2012

Stayed here for a night away from the kids. It was great. Lynn and David were wonderful hosts, and the Inn and grounds were beautiful. It was our first time at a B&B, and it did not disappoint. We loved it so much that before we even checked out we made reservations for our next stay.


Picked This Place to Celebrate Our 20th Wedding Anniversary

5 on October 30, 2011

David and Lynn Smith are wonderful hosts. The Inn itself has so much charm and character. It was so great to meet and mingle with the other two couples staying there.


Horse accomodations

4.4 on October 16, 2011

Beautiful B&B. Nice clean and safe barn. Great hospitality. Delicious food. Have stayed four times and would definitely stay again.


Great place to stay!

5 on September 30, 2011

We come to the area often and always stay at the Allatoona Inn. Lynn and Dave are very nice and always make us feel at home. We highly recommend the Inn to anyone who is planning a visit to the area. Tom and Kyle Philbeck


Very nice B & B

4.4 on August 15, 2011

The Inn was very clean and the staff very friendly. Would recommend to friends.


Enjoyed!

4.0 on June 13, 2011

Very hospitable and felt right at "home". The suite was great!! Lynn & Dave were great and did everything to make your stay enjoyable.


Our recent stay

4.0 on April 28, 2011

We recently stayed at the inn. We were treated like family and the accomadations were very nice. Our horses had a clean stall to rest in and our breakfast was the very best. I would recommend this for everyone. We hope to make it our stop every year on our way to and from our homes in In. and Fl.


Wonderful stay during Spring Break

4.8 on March 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Lake Allatoona Inn during Spring Break, on a drive around the South, and we just LOVED it. The facility was terrific, and the hosts even better! Quite secluded area, as it was on a small winding road ... but, that was what made it so night. We enjoyed being able to walk right out the front door to get to the Allatoona Pass battlefield, which we walked one morning. It was close enough to drive to downtown Atlanta, but not in the city. Lynn was a wonderful hostess, and breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful. We will definitely stay here again whenever we get back that way!!


Lovely place

4.6 on March 15, 2011

This was our first experience at a B&B, and we were not disappointed! The other reviews are true- the owners are so warm and friendly, it feels like you're visiting a friend's house. The house itself is charming, and the walking trails (in the park across the street) are an absolute delight. Plus the breakfast was filling and tasty. But the one thing that makes the stay TOTALLY worthwhile is the giant bathtub! Now THAT was a treat after walking around all day. The house must have an industrial-size hot water tank, because we were able to fill the tub with piping hot water. Seriously, I'll be back again just so I can soak in that tub!


Beats any hotel when it comes to relaxation

5 on February 23, 2011

Everything was fantastic. The owners are attentive to all of your needs and are kind decent people. Definitely go to the lake and some of the surrounding trails and definitely go to nearby achworth to checkout Henrys!!


Wonderful weekend!

5 on February 18, 2011

Lynn and Dave are very friendly, warm hosts. We felt very comfortable from the very beginning. The room was extremely comfortable, the bed was fabulous and the breakfast was more than we could even eat. We will be returning and will recommend this to all of our friends!!


Wonderful Night

5 on November 09, 2010

Just wanted to say we had a wonderful night here. The house was lovely. Comfortable bed, large jetted tub, great breakfast. The area including the grounds were rich with history for any Civil war buff. Nice, accomodating hosts. Area has some wonderful restaurants within a 10 minute drive.


The Perfect Getaway

4.4 on November 01, 2010

The perfect mix of country and city...great place to enjoy the weekend with someone special.


Comfort for us and our horses

4.2 on October 22, 2010

What a pleasure it was to have our horse boarded with us. It made stop over on our way to Florida for the winter with our 4 horses very convienent. We always enjoy meeting with other horse lovers.


Spectacular getaway!!

5 on October 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Inn the weekend of Oct 9, 2010. The hosts were just wonderful and full of helpful information. They made us feel at home while also giving us plenty of privacy. I would definitely recommend this place and plan to return soon!


My April Wedding

4.4 on July 29, 2010

This B&B was the perfect wedding venue for me and my husband. We were married here in the general store April 23 2010. It was everything we could ask for and more. Lynn was great, me and my family are very thankful for her. The value was amazing! Better than any other venue to be honest with you! Thank you so much Lynn!


It was like a dream!

4.2 on May 19, 2010

Everything was perfect! The Inn is beautiful. The grounds are breathtaking as you walk down to the stables to enjoy the animals. We hiked the Allatoona Pass several times. In the morning, you are served a hot full complete breakfast. If you like history, peace and quiet, then this is the place for you. Dave and Lynn Smith are the Innkeepers and they are the nicest couple my husband and I have met in a long time. Pan and Gary Meszaros


It has it all!

4.0 on October 05, 2009

What a beautiful home! My wife and I recently stayed here for several days for our niece's wedding which was held on-site. The rain forced our wedding inside one of the other historical buildings which was great but if it could have been held outside as planned, it would have been even better. The grounds are just beautiful and very picturesque, especially for an event like an outdoor wedding. Now if you are a Civil War buff as I am, the history here will return you back to the Battle of Allatoona Pass. Check out the history on their well done web site. Civil War buff or wedding or just a lazy vacation, this is the place to stay at in northwest Georgia. We highly recommend it. Gary & Rosi


Perfect B & B!

5 on August 04, 2009

The Inn was gorgeous! My husband and I stayed for a weekend and plan on going back. Everything was clean and the host (Mrs. Lynn) was so nice! We enjoyed the lake across the street and the walking trails!


You'll Like It

4.8 on July 03, 2009

Lovely home and friendly hosts. Great location to relax, walk the shaded trails or enjoy the lake.


The perfect getaway!

5 on May 17, 2009

This was the first b&b we had every stayed at.This house is so nice.We will be going back.Mrs lynn and her husband were so nice.The history of the house is very interesting.We had a very nice stay.


Wonderful Wedding

5 on May 04, 2009

We were married at The Lake Allatoona Inn on 5/02/09. The Inn is gorgeous and the set up was absolutely beautiful. The building for the ceremony was set up with white wooden chairs and an arch with leaves and white string lights. The reception was held inside and was set up perfectly! We did one of the packages they offer and it made everything so much easier. Lynn helped so much and it was like having a personal wedding planner! I can't say enough great things about this place!


ROAD TRIP

4.8 on April 05, 2009

MY HUSBAND AND I TOOK A LAST MINUTE TRIP TO VISIT FRIENDS IN NORTH GEORGIA. OUR STAY AT LAKE ALLATOONA INN WAS PERFECT. THE HOUSE IS BEAUTIFUL, THE INNKEEPERS ARE WONDERFUL , THE SREVICE IS OUTSTANDING. WE WILL DEFINITLY RETURN FOR A LONGER VISIT IN THE FUTURE, AND WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS JEWEL TO ANYONE DESIRING A QUIET LITTLE GET-A-WAY. NEXT TRIP, WE WILL BRING OUR BOAT FOR FISHING IN YOUR GLORIOUS LAKE.


Highly recommended!

5 on February 19, 2009

This is a beautiul property with great innkeepers. I would spend every weekend here if I could!


Weekend without kids!

4.0 on October 03, 2008

Escaping to Allatoona Inn was pure refreshment to our souls! Our room was fabulous. The jacuzzi tub was pure heaven. The innkeepers were very accommodating and the food was plentiful and delicious. We thoroughly recommend it.


Beautiful B&B in a Country setting

5 on September 24, 2008

Onf of the most beautiful room and baths of any Inn we've ever visited - Great Breakfasts and hosts!


Trip to the Lake

5 on July 28, 2008

Outstanding inn. Beautifully restored property, excellent service, great location.


Charming and friendly B&B

3.8 on July 10, 2008

I highly recommend this B&B. We enjoyed our time while here and the Innkeepers were extremely friendly and gave great recommendations (as well as directions) on dinner restraunts. I am sharing photos and spreading the word with all of my co-workers and friends.


completely perfect

5 on April 01, 2007

We stayed at the Lake Allatoona Inn on our wedding night and it was the most romantic, charming place I have ever seen. Dave and Lynn were so incredibly nice and beakfast was delicious. The area around the inn is also very romantic and full of history. I cannot say enough good things about this place.


Lake Allatoona Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $150
  • Reviews (67) 4.4
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7709430171

Visit Website »

View details

Top