Fair Havens Plantation Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
30 Reviews

Write A Review

Maryland going south

5 on October 01, 2013

Home run! Beautiful home and grounds. Ken is the perfect host, his breakfasts rate a 11 on a 1-10 scale. Chose Fair Havens for a place to stay for a football game, but would recommend for any occasion. We were worried about the distance from UGA, but the drive is short and pleasant. We stayed in the Princess Room and could not have been more pleased, we will book again.


Great wedding venue!

5 on September 29, 2013

My son's wedding was held at Fair Havens as was the rehearsal dinner. The historic house and grounds were perfect for both. The bride, her parents and the bridesmaids all stayed with Ken for the weekend. They were all very pleased with the accommodations and the wonderful breakfasts. We could not have asked for a better location or more gracious hospitality. Thanks, Ken.


Fantastic place to stay

5 on September 02, 2013

A fantastic place to stay,great location,superb breakfast,we got upgraded to the master suite which was fabulous and Ken was a great host.I recommend it. Steve Murray Hampshire U.K.


This is the place to be

5 on June 12, 2013

If your looking for a weekend getaway or your looking for a spot close to Athens, this place is a must! The rooms, service, food, and the overall cleanliness of the place was phenomenal. I have never had customer service like I had with Mr. Lauderdale. Absolutely outstanding. If you are staying in Athens for a game, music, or just to visit, this B&B would absolutely make your weekend.


Perfect weekend

5 on December 02, 2012

We celebrated my girlfriends 50th birthday with a 2 night stay here. Ken made our weekend so pleasurable. His hospitality and breakfasts were wonderful. The rooms are so quaint and bring you back in time. Great location, close to the U of Georgia, so we could visit campus easily. Exceptional weekend, thanks to Ken and Fair Havens Plantation.


Wonderful Surprise

4.4 on November 20, 2012

This charming bed and breakfast was like a home away from home. From the spectacular breakfast to the wonderful southern hospitality, this plantation and its owners treated us like family. Only 8 miles from athens, it was quiet and remote, yet close enough to all that Athens Georgia has to offer. It made us want to come back again and thanks to the Lauderdale's it will be like coming back to see family. Our daughter was treated like their own granddaughter and we can wait to see them again.


A truly memorable Wedding and Labor day weekend!

5 on September 02, 2012

Friends and family in a beautiful relaxed atmosphere where people shared incredible meals and fellowshipped like they used too!Ken and Linda Lauderdale treat you like family,and go out of their way to ensure you stay is much much more than you could have imagined. The house is a master piece of lovingly restored history that lends itself to a comfortable and enjoyable stay with it's deep history and serene surroundings.No


Hospitality and History!

4.4 on August 02, 2012

Recently had the opportunity to stay at this charming historic venue. Tucked away on a horse farm/plantation Ken met us in the driveway and warmly welcomed us to his establishment. Southern charm and hospitality abounds. Exceptionally interesting history of the home provided by Ken. Tremendous personal customer service provided by Ken. Excellent breakfast and willingness by Ken to ensure our every need was met. You would be wise to select Fair Havens for your next stay while either staying in the Athems environs or simply as we were, passing through. Cheers, Les


Great holiday weekend getaway!

4.2 on May 31, 2012

Really enjoyed the historic aspect of the house and feeding the horses.


Second post from "Perfect for a Southern Wedding"

5 on October 13, 2011

I meant to rate everything outstanding...not just exceeded expectations!!!


Perfect for a Southern Wedding!

4.0 on October 10, 2011

My daughter's wedding was absolutely magnificent due, in part, to this beautiful Fair Havens Plantation! We had the rehearsal dinner and the wedding on site...no driving to hotels or restaurants....absolutely perfect! My out of town family stayed at the Plantation with us. How special that was for us! We could all come down to breakfast in our PJ's and drink coffee, enjoy a delicious breakfast and relax before the wedding activities began! Our wedding guests enjoyed this lovely Plantation and grounds, as well! Perfect..absolutely perfect...for an outdoor wedding!! Thank you to the lovely owners, Mr. and Mrs. Ken Lauderdale, for a weekend full of happy memories!!


Prachtige mansion midden in de natuur

4.0 on September 07, 2011

Fair Havens is een fraai gerestaureerde oude mansion, met sfeervolle kamers. Hoewel we de goedkoopste kamer geboekt hadden, kregen we bij aankomst een gratis upgrade naar de suite. Ontbijten op het balkon, uitkijkend over de bossen en de tuin met volop vogels was genieten.


Southern hospitality of

5 on August 11, 2011

Surprisingly close to Athens, this is the place you should stay for the quintessential plantation experience. Ken, the wonderful owner, was full of southern hospitality. I stayed in the cottage and he brought breakfast every morning. He purchased tea that I liked and made sure my refrigerator was stocked full of water, fruit, soda and bagels. I recommend this B&B without hesitation. Have a great stay!


Great Place to stay, very friendly and attentive innkeeper!

4.8 on August 11, 2011

We stayed at this phantastic B&B on a Sunday at the end of April. We had the whole plantation for ourselves for one day, what a great and unique experience! Thank you Ken for showing us the house and the very friendly reception. Breakfast was great, real Southern style! We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite! Coffee and soft drinks for free! Ken gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation for the evening, The Last Resort Grill in Athens! We loved our stay in Athens very much and would visit again whenever in the region! Kind regards to Ken


UGA Graduation Weekend Bonus!

4.8 on May 16, 2011

We stumbled on Fair Haven B&B because it was spring graduation weekend, and the hotels in Athens were outrageous. Most hotels double or even triple their rates on graduation weekend, but Fair Haven is a stunningly beautiful venue which was a GREAT VALUE for the weekend. It is a very short drive back into town, and the home-cooked breakfast was incredible. The mimosas and french toast casserole were yum yum - and it was so delightful to meet Ken, walk the grounds, and learn the history of the mansion. This is a great find that made a thrilling weekend even more thrilling!


A Wonderful Find, Tucked Away in the Georgia Piedmont

5 on May 15, 2011

We just spent a weekend in the lap of luxury, hosted by innkeeper Ken Lauderdale and the rest of the Fair Havens Plantation staff. Ken is a natural as an innkeeper -- friendly, outgoing, and determined to please his guests. The plantation house is a marvel, and the Lauderdales have done a marvelous job filling it with incredible antiques, gorgeous draperies, spectacular housewares, and all manner of interesting, unique keepsakes. You will forever remember your stay at Fair Havens -- it's that special. We stayed in the Purple Room (sometimes called the "Princess Suite") and were extremely comfortable with the luxurious, quiet, soothing comfort it offers. Breakfasts were wonderful, although Fair Havens is off the beaten path so you'll want to make plans to drive to other meals (the price of its peaceful, quiet seclusion). You won't be disappointed if you stay here, and you'll get a chance to see a piece of history in the making. The interior of the main house and outlying cottage is complete, but something tells me Ken still has plans for more gardens, porches, and other extras, so expect a work-in-progress rather than a museum, but Fair Havens is definitely a new national treasure awaiting little more than a few finishing touches.


SO glad we found Fair Havens, it was restful

5 on March 24, 2011

We stayed here for spring break, the flowers were colorful and the birds were singing as I sipped my morning coffee on the balcony. The house and lawns were beautiful. My daughters, 9 and 7, felt like little princesses the whole stay. Ken was the best host and went over and beyond to make our stay relaxing - he is very knowledgeable about the 200 yr old plantation.


Treated like royalty...and family!

5 on January 18, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous weekend stay at Fair Havens in December...celebrating a special birthday which Ken and Linda helped me in pulling off a great surprise weekend getaway! Our weekend stay there couldn't have been better. We had the privacy and luxury accomodations we were hoping for...along with some great conversatons with Ken and Linda and some totally scrumptious food!! I don't know how they did it, but they managed to treat us like royalty, but make us feel like part of the family all at the same time. If you get the chance to stay here...you'll be glad you did. We got to see all of the rooms and they are all gorgeous. The history of Fair Havens is so interesting, the food wonderful, the accomodations superb and you'll be treated with loving care. Thanks again Ken and Linda...we'll be back!


Lovely Plantation Home

4.4 on August 08, 2010

Our drive down a secluded country lane led to a lovely plantation home~Fair Havens~ We were greeted by our host, Ken, given a tour of the house and shown to our room. We stayed in the Princess Suite, a beautiful and spacious room, complete with kitchen, laundry room and a seven foot long bathtub!! Ken left us on our own, letting us know that he was a phone call away should we need anything. We had a continental breakfast and went for a walk in the morning before it got too hot. My husband and I loved it. A beautiful place with privacy, close to town. We'll stay there again:)


A fantastic B&B

5 on May 03, 2010

What can we say about this beautiful home that has not already been said? The house has been exceptionally restored, the decor is amazing. We were given the Princess suite and could not believe our luck. The breakfasts were wonderful (the best French toast we'd ever had). The hospitality was first class, we could not have asked for more. We will be back and are already spreading the word in the UK about Fair Havens! Pat and Dave Freeman, England


Lovely Retreat

5 on April 30, 2010

We picked Fair Havens for an overnight stay from the internet based on its location. Our choice was perfect! The approach and grounds are stunning, the rooms, both bedrooms and public rooms, were perfectly decorated, clean and very comfortable. The highlight, however, was the hospitality extended to us by Ken Lauderdale, our host. He was always accessible and never tired of answering our many questions about the history of the inn. The breakfast was delicious and the choices overwhelming. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only regretted that we had to leave after only one night.


Great place to stay for a Georgia football game

5 on January 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a Georgia football game and were thrilled with the accomodations. We really just stumbled upon the place when all the rooms in Athens were booked, but we couldn't have been happier. It is a lovely getaway and perfectly secluded. The grounds are stunning. It was a simple trip to and from Athens for the game and a great place to come back to for a relaxing evening afterward. We hope to return!


Incredible wedding anniversary celebration

5 on December 02, 2009

We were blessed to discover this wonderful B&B at the last minute. The inn keeper Ken upgraded our room to the Princess Room, when he found out we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was beyond what we could of imagined. The grounds are lovely the Princess Room was every bit that (accomodations fit for royalty). Decorated in beautiful tones of purple, with lovely antiques and an extremely comfortable king size bed to just list a few of the treasures found in this B&B. In addition, we had breakfast served in our room (mouth watering biscuits, grits, bacon and delicious spinach/scrambled egg dish). Ken also had a list of restaurants in Athens and we went to "East/West Bistro." The meal, cheff and whole experience was fabulous!!! We hope to return and definately stay again at Fair Havens Plantation.


Highly recommended

5 on November 23, 2009

Fair Havens was beautiful, and exceeded our expectations in every way. Ken and Linda were extremely welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Lovely room, beautiful grounds, delicious breakfast. We highly recommend this B&B.


Fair Havens? should be Fair Heaven!

4.8 on November 15, 2009

A little hard to find..(DO NOT follow Google..Ask your host for directions..He is excellent at it), but when you do find it, it is the Big WOW. Everthing you expect from an Antebellum experience, it is all there, and what can I say about the Hosts? they will indulge your every whim. Absolutely delightful...Bravo to Ken and Linda...Well done...


Amazing Deal, Great Place

4.8 on November 02, 2009

I'm wary of writing too good a review of Fair Havens since I think it's one of those "best-kept secret" places that I'd selfishly like to keep private. The house is beautiful and has a fascinating history that the owners will gladly explain (or not, if you prefer privacy). The grounds are expansive and lovely, providing a nice buffer between the house and the road and ideal for an early-morning stroll. The food is simple but delicious (and plentiful). I really can't say enough about this place. I selected it for the price (which usually results in a mediocre choice) and was knocked out by what a deal it was. My wife and I took their largest suite for our anniversary and can't wait to come back with the kids.


Go Dawgs!

4.4 on September 15, 2009

This is a delightful location to return to after attending a UGA football game. I truly enjoyed my stay. Ken and his wife are charming and hospitable, the grounds are pastoral and their home is beautiful.


Pleasantly memorable and unique experience

4.6 on August 10, 2009

Kitchenette for Princess room was more extensive than expected - more like a complete kitchen & dining room attached to bedroom. Bed was fantastic. Yummy breakfasts were offered at our convenience and made to order, complete with vegetarian accommodations. Service was very friendly and attentive, yet provided us great privacy. Grounds were beautiful and serene. Very convenient to great music & food in Athens, as well as state park with waterfall and historic covered bridge. Overall a pleasantly memorable and unique experience.


Better than the Ritz Carlton !

5 on May 04, 2009

My wife and i stayed in the Princess suite for our 1st wedding anniversary 5/2/2009. Ken and his wife were very accommodating and SO nice. We opted to have our Country breakfast served in our room and i have to say it was, by far ,one of the BEST meals i have eaten in a while,Besides my wife's of course.Ask for the "Angel biscuits". WOW! The room was Immaculate and our time there was very relaxing !!!!! WE WILL BE RETURNING SOON!!!!


took my breath away

4.4 on April 20, 2009

We stayed at Fair Havens after our hotel booking fell through, and we were nervous about bringing our 19-month-old and 4-year-old to a more sophistocated environment, possibly with valuable antiques. We arrived to a breathtaking property, a personal tour, and even a tea set & mini-couch for the kids! The beautiful weather invited us outside, and the kids were thrilled to pet horses and run about in the manicured lawn. We were atually disappointed we had to go to dinner! The kids retired to a day bed/trundle while we slept in the adjoining quarters with a fantastically comfortable, majestic canopy bed. The house smelled wonderful & fresh and was appropriately (read "beautifully") decorated. And even though we had arranged for no breakfast, Mr. Lauderdale provided a few snacks we could pack with us. Our family felt welcome - even pampered - by our wonderful stay at Fair Havens, and we look forward to returning again soon!


Fair Havens Plantation

Details

  • Nightly Rate $150 - $300
  • Reviews (30) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 0-7062088900
  • Mobile 0-7063380900

Visit Website »

View details

Top