Le Clos Castel Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Services5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Excellent Caravan Site

5 on August 23, 2012

We have a caravan, and we found the site listed in the Caravan Club Caravan Europe book. We arranged to stay for 14 nights - we hadnt been to Normandy before and felt it was a central point from which we could see the area. We weren't disappointed! The site was excellent value for money, providing many amenities that larger sites would lack - washing up area and clean showers and toilets. Hazel and Steve were superb as hosts! The bar was very welcoming, and we had a wonderful time! We do not go back to sites we have visited, but we will call here again. Thanks Hazel and Steve for your hospitality, and we wish you all the best for the future. Jason and Jill


A fantastic home

4.6 on August 19, 2012

A fantastic home, lovely warm welcome from Hazel and Stephen. Room was perfect, clean, spacious with beautiful furniture and the bed was very comfy. We would recommend this B&B; you will not be dissapointed if you choose to stay here.


The Quintessential B&B

5 on August 09, 2012

This should be the model that all B&B's follow. I can't say one area I would recommend improving. From start to finish it was absolutely perfect. It's quiet, clean, the owners are great (and very knowledgeable about the history of the area), and the location is PERFECT. It's not overly modern, but not rustic either. If anybody reading this is looking around and on the fence about where to stay during a visit to Normandy, you can't do any better than this. When we go back, we will not consider staying anywhere else. This place deserves every star they get. Hazel, thank you so much for a great stay. Tim and Athena


An excellent house with lovely people and very charming!

5 on June 20, 2012

Dear Hazel, we loved our stay in your Castel! Hans Scheffers and Ger en Marianne and Dineke!


Absolute perfect, spotlessly clean & excellent food

5 on August 31, 2011

I cannot speak highly enough about our stay here in August 11 for five nights. Beautiful place, spotlessly clean, superb standard of food - put on what seems like 2 stone on Hazel's breakfasts alone!!! Excellent communications at every step of the way. Brilliant location for anything to do with 101st Airborne and D D landings. Spacious rooms and en-suites. Free Wifi, Tea and Coffee making facilities and water too - all replenished daily. Nothing was too much trouble, both Hazel and Steve really went out of their way to ensure we saw everything we wanted to do and lots of things we did not even know about but Steve's incredible knowledge made sure our day outs were just amazing. Don't bother wasting your time staying anywhere else but here - nowhere else could compare!! Friendly, very welcoming, very informative, superb location, delicious food - both breakfasts and dinners if taken (definately make Hazel do you the beef bourginon - spelt wrong I expect) It was divine!!! Make sure you have stretchy waistbands on your clothes :-) Oh and safe and secure parking....oh god the list is just endless, surpassed all expectations! An absolute credit to Hazel, Steve and their boys. You deserve every success as you clearly give 110% to your guests at all times.


fantastic stay

5 on May 29, 2011

my son and myself stayed with hazel and steve for three nights and we both agree they treated us fantastically , the room was superb with a great on suite,food was top notch and nothing was to much trouble,we will be going back next year to do more touring.a+++++++++++++


the best B&B in the world!!!

5 on April 27, 2011

We stayed at Le Clos Castel in April 2011 and upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly and gracious Mrs Ramsbottom. The inn and room were lovely, comfortable and clean-- superb! The warm croissants, delicious homemade dinners as well as fresh eggs from their chickens, pots of tea in our room, games and dvds in the family room, the quiet countryside and most of all very interesting, helpful and kind hosts made our trip to the Normandy area very memorable! We will stay there most definitely if in the area again! We cannot say enough about the Ramsbottom family and their inn. You will not regret renting a room from them(rates were very reasonable we thought). FYI--took about 75 min to reach Mont St Michele and about 35-40 to reach the beaches. The Lindbergs from Germany/USA


Highly recommended

5 on November 02, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in September 2010. The room was spacious (huge, actually) and clean and the bathroom was large and modern. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, somewhere between an petit dejeurner and an English breakfast (no meat and eggs, but fresh breads and croissants, cereals, juice and coffee). Located in a very old farmhouse but only recently converted into a B&B. Excellent value for the money.


Great place to stay.

4.6 on September 07, 2010

After a very fun motor bike ride from Calais I can say that that firstly it’s easy to find, and secondly we were really well looked after by the host. The rooms are really lovely – they are not dull like a regular hotel room, more like a great guest bed room. Hazel gave us directions to the some local attractions on the way home and also booked us a table for dinner in town. What more can you ask? I would stay again – no question.


wonderful

5 on August 10, 2010

we stayed at this lovely b+b for 3 nights in july and what afind we made.hazel and family made us feel at home, they are so friendly.the rooms are spacious and spotless with lovely views and the guest room was just what my husband wanted to watch all the war films.if anyone visits this area try and stay in this lovely b+b you wont be disappointed.thank you hazel and family for making are short stay so wonderful.


July 7,8,9, 2010 - Our B&B Stay

5 on July 25, 2010

Our family and extended family stayed with Hazel and her family at her B&B. Hazel and her family have a winning combination. Wonderful rooms, great food, superb hospitality etc. We so enjoyed our stay that we hope to return in the near future. If you are considering staying at this B&B you will not be disappointed. We will always remember our stay at Le Clos Castel!


Friendly, good food and real value for money

4.8 on July 17, 2010

Having stayed here earlier in the month of June, we enjoyed our stay that much we wanted to return and this time drove from La Rochelle (275 miles) so as to spend 2 nights here. This time we also had evening meals which were really good value (2 courses + wine +coffee). The room charges are also very good value. Our hostess Hazel (English) couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. We hope to return!


Normandy by motorbike

5 on June 17, 2010

My friend and I spent 3 nights earlier this month (June 2010) at Le Clos Castel and were warmly welcomed by Hazel and her husband. Everything was outstanding : the room we had, dinner, breakfast, surroundings, the pool table (!) .... We even could park our motorbikes inside ! Absolutely a 5 star place to spend the night ! W & T from Belgium


3 day stay in August

4.8 on September 30, 2009

We do not generally stay in B & B accommodation, however we wanted to tour around the north coast of France in August for six days in total. We wanted to split our stay and trawled through all the web sites looking for B & B rooms and came across this gem in Raids. We would recommend Le Clos Castel to everyone, as it really is a home away from home. Nothing is too much trouble and the owners have a great deal of local knowledge to assist you with your travels. Having moved to our second "gite" we had wished that we had stayed put as the accomodation and hospitality did not compare favourably at all with Le Clos Castel. We hope that your stay is as enjoyable as ours!


D-Day Visit 14 to 17 Aug 2009

5 on August 19, 2009

My party of 3 arrived to a warm reception by the owners. The standard of service was "outstanding". The owners made you feel part of the family and nothing was too much trouble. Even the provision of "packed lunches" was well catered for. This is a 5 star B&B and certainly the best I have stayed in. Well recommended. You will not be disapointed.


Le Clos Castel

Details

  • Nightly Rate € 55 - € 75
  • Reviews (15) 4.9
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 332-33172361

Visit Website »

View details

Top