The Black Walnut Guest House Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
120 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Wonderful stay

5 sur juillet 09, 2014

Room was classic decor but with modern amenities, food was excellent, host was friendly but not intrusive. Would recommend the Black Walnut Guesthouse to anyone staying in the area.


Love this place!

4,8 sur juillet 07, 2014

This is the best B&B we've ever stayed at. We stayed in the Cabin Room, which was adorable. Geri had chocolates and a little bouquet of flowers waiting for us upon our arrival (we were celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary). She also brought us one of the best breakfasts of our lives! The parfait was so great and I swear the fruit tasted better than anything I've ever had. She also gave us great recommendations on how to best tour Door County. The only negative is that Sturgeon Bay is quite far from the "action" of Door County, so you have to drive 40 minutes to get up near the top. After a long drive from Chicago an extra 40 minutes can be exhausting. I would highly recommend staying here - it was fabulous.


Honeymooner's delight!

4,6 sur juillet 07, 2014

Everything about the Black Walnut was lovely, down to every little detail. Geri has clearly thought of everything and takes pride in her work. It was a pleasure honeymooning at the Black Walnut and we'll definitely be back!


Awesome!

5 sur juin 28, 2014

We stayed in the cabin room. It was cozy, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the outside porch and the hot tub also. The best part was probably the warm muffins and breakfast tray in the mornings. Soooo good. Geri was extremely accommodating to any needs. We will come back again.


Black Walnut House

5 sur juin 18, 2014

Nice place to stay. Breakfast was very good. Nice quiet place. Walking distance to downtown.


Wonderful B & B

5 sur mai 01, 2014

Our stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast was everything we could have wanted. It was very quiet and peaceful. The amenities like homemade cookies, coffee, and hot chocolate always being available made the stay memorable. And, the breakfasts brought to your door were absolutely delicious. I am telling everyone about this place, and can't wait to return!


Fabulous place!!

5 sur avril 27, 2014

The Black Walnut is definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed at. Geri is an awesome hostess. Our room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. Geri's muffins and yogurt parfaits are delicious! We will definitely be back. We highly recommend the Black Walnut in Sturgeon Bay, WI.


Awesome stay

5 sur avril 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time at The Black Walnut. We stayed in the arts and crafts room which was very spacious. Geri, the innkeeper, does a fantastic job of taking care of her guests. All of the little touches that make you feel taken care of and on vacation, did not go unnoticed. Breakfast was not only incredibly delicious and filling, but healthy as well. We had such a relaxing time. I would highly recommend staying in any of the rooms at The Black Walnut…you won't be disappointed.


Great Weekend

5 sur mars 30, 2014

Everything was excellent... my wife and I had a great weekend at the Black Walnut Guest House.


Pleasantly surprised

5 sur mars 30, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at Black Walnut House. It was more comfortable and cozy than we expected and the service was amazing. The breakfast was outstanding!


Lovely winter getaway!

4,4 sur mars 05, 2014

A winter weekend away in a cozy room with a gas fireplace.

Réponse du propriétaire
Sounds devine to me! Thank you for putting it out there. I hope you feel the urge to visit us again.


Wonderful Winter Weekend Getaway

5 sur février 05, 2014

This was our 3rd time staying at the Black Walnut and we absolutely love it! We have started making this a tradition as a winter weekend getaway and will definitely be back next year. The rooms are so wonderfully designed and everything is very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are always amazing!! There are so many little touches that Geri adds to make the weekend stay a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this B&B to everyone!


We always leave reluctantly

5 sur janvier 23, 2014

We love staying at the Black Walnut, and have been doing so for 9 years. The time there always seems to go by too fast. We highly recommend this B&B as the care that is put into it by the owners is unmatched in our experiences. We will keep going back at least once every year for as long as we can.


Great Place for a Getaway

4,6 sur janvier 14, 2014

The Black Walnut Guest House completely exceeded all of my expectations as my first bed and breakfast experience. During my entire stay I felt very comfortable and the room was very cozy and quiet. Geri made excellent breakfast and kept the house very clean and comfortable. There was a great selection of surrounding restaurants even in the middle of the winter off-season. I would definitely reccomend this for anyone looking for a quiet weekend getaway spot.


Bringing in the New Year at the Black Walnut Guest House...

5 sur janvier 05, 2014

There was no better way to bring in the New Year with the Gal I love most then to spend the eve and day in Door County at the Black Walnut Guest House. This was our first go at the bed and breakfast thing and I have to say that we weren't disappointed in the least. The place was charming, the room was very clean and quite cozy (esp. the jacuzzi tub), and the breakfasts were nothing short of wonderful. Of course, our stay began by meeting our wonderful host, who gladly advised us as to the goings on around town for New Years. She even called local restaurants to check availability and specials. All in all, I can't think of a nicer way we could've brought in 2014. Thanks Geri. :-)


warm and cozy Bed and Breakfast

5 sur décembre 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The Inn was warm and inviting which was particularly important as we visited the week before Christmas. The room was charming, the breakfast (served to your room) was delicious, and the innkeeper was personable and very helpful.


It's in the details

4,8 sur décembre 23, 2013

A comfortable, clean, and lovely suite is just the beginning. The Innkeeper's attention to detail is second to none, right down to providing snacks that were in line with our special dietary needs. Geri truly has a gift for hospitality and we always feel nurtured after having stayed at the Black Walnut.


Awesome bed & breakfast!

5 sur décembre 11, 2013

Our stay at the Black Walnut Guest House was very nice. The room was cozy and the breakfasts were definitely the highlight.


Incredible Stay!

5 sur décembre 05, 2013

Stayed in the Eastlake Room. Loved the tub up in the cupola. Wonderful, quiet place. Absolutely incredible breakfasts!


Incredible Stay!!!!

5 sur décembre 04, 2013

Stayed in the Eastlake Room. Very comfortable. Amazing breakfasts!!!!!


Beautiful in Door County

3,8 sur décembre 03, 2013

Lovely room, excellent breakfast, only saw owner at check in briefly, was given phone number to contact if we had any issues, however had no reason to do so. Breakfast left outside our room at the appointed time everyday. All in all a beautiful place to stay.


Wonderful place

5 sur novembre 30, 2013

The amenities were wonderful. GREAT place.


Door County vacation

5 sur octobre 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was great and it was nice quiet neighborhood. The room was everything advertised and had a great atmosphere. It had a feeling of going back in time.


Loved it!

5 sur octobre 18, 2013

Wonderfully romantic! Breakfast was yummy! Can't wait to come back!


The Black Walnut puts the 2nd "B" in "B & B"!

4,2 sur octobre 14, 2013

Although our room was very nice, with a gas fireplace and whirlpool for two, probably the highlight for my husband and me was the BREAKFAST! Absolutely amazing, with fresh muffins and a variety of "specials" including omelets one day and pumpkin pancakes another. We especially enjoyed eating in the privacy of our room :)


Black Walnut B & B Review

4,6 sur octobre 07, 2013

We really enjoyed the room (Arts & Crafts) and the privacy offered by having breakfast brought to our room each morning. We had a wonderful visit and perhaps can come again some time. The breakfast is wonderful!


Great inn!

4,8 sur octobre 07, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the Black Walnut Guest House. Loved everything about it. A fabulous deluxe continental breakfast was at our door each morning of our stay. Location allowed easy access to downtown Sturgeon Bay by foot and a short drive to other Door County locations. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!


Awesome get a away!!

5 sur septembre 20, 2013

Geri made our stay fantastic! The room was beautiful and her cooking was superb!


Incredible wonderful romantic place to stay!

5 sur septembre 20, 2013

I would easily stay here again. It's an intimate, cost-friendly, comfortable, special place to stay. The service is incredible!! Everyone was nice and very sweet. They have fresh home-baked cookies and other treats available all day! An unforgettable breakfast of choice left on a colorful tray outside our door at the time of our chosing in the am. We stayed in two rooms there and each room has it's own quaint and romantic feel; one of the best places I have ever stayed!


Being Pampered

5 sur septembre 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here September 6 ~ 9 and we really enjoyed it. Geri is a gracious host and we always got the impression that we were VIP's. The home is great, has great charm and she even showed me a historical picture album to explain the house. Close to town, yet in a quiet neighborhood. Lots of "little touches" like a small bowl of candy, tea and coffee for anytime you may want it. I highly recommend the B&B. Peter & Barb


Black Walnut Pleased Repeat Guest

5 sur septembre 02, 2013

A Very pleasant two day stay at this perfectly appointed and maintained home. This is our second time at the Inn and we were once again very pleased. Every detail is perfect. The owner is very gracious and makes the best cookies in America! Billy and Judy Rubino


Late August Getaway

4,4 sur août 25, 2013

We had a great stay. Service was excellent. Can't wait to go back and enjoy the Black Walnut.


Amazed

5 sur août 19, 2013

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and we were just amazed at our experience. Geri was so accomidating. The bed and breakfast was so quiet and private. The food was amazing and I loved that it was organic. The bathrrom products were toxin free which is a plus for me. We would suggest this to any one.


Thirtieth anniversary

5 sur juillet 25, 2013

We loved our stay here! It was quaint and quiet. We will recommend this to friends and family.


Great B&B

4,4 sur juillet 15, 2013

Best B&B we've been too


Best Getaway Ever!

5 sur juillet 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I work a lot and wanted to have a fun getaway for the weekend so we went here. It was perfect. The house was beautiful. The food was great and the service was fantastic. I recommend everyone stays a few nights here.


Delightful!

5 sur juin 11, 2013

This is a hidden charm. Very clean, great service; Geri is wonderful and so helpful in helping plan your trip. The Cottage room was delightful; with a sunk in tub, fireplace, outside patio. The homemade breakfasts are to die for!


Wonderful Stay

5 sur avril 06, 2013

This is a beautiful historic house. Each room has a different theme to it. It's a great place to relax. You can talk over cookies and cocoa, enjoy a whirlpool bath, or watch a movie. Breakfast is great - and you can order as much as you want. The owner/cook prepared a special meal for us that wasn't even on the menu.


Lovely and very special stay.

5 sur mars 26, 2013

My husband and I just loved this B&B. Geri is a very warm, welcoming host who was super kind and accommodating. We are definitely not the typical B&B people who enjoy a lot of together-ness with other travelers- not in this setting, anyway- (a romantic getaway.) So this set-up was perfect! No group meals, activities, etc. You just got to nook away and truly be alone, which was so refreshing. The Arts and Crafts room was not only very spacious and beautiful, but it was so quiet and private- we didn't even hear another guest the entire weekend. And breakfast is delivered to your door, which is the best thing ever. The presentation of the breakfast is like magic- (pot of hot coffee, fresh flowers, adorable linens, etc) and the food is delicious. The cookies in the hallway, along with hot tea, were a really lovely touch. The only thing that would have really sent the entire experience over the top would have been wine and cheese set out at happy hour? (but oh well, we brought plenty of our own! :) The whirlpool tub in the room was absolutely to-die-for. What a great addition!! As for the town/location itself, there is not a lot to do, especially since we visited in winter so it was very quiet-- but that was okay for us, since we really just intended to go and spend alone time together, not experience a booming nightlife. And there aren't a ton of eating establishments to choose from (but we come from Madison so we are self-admittedly very spoiled in this department.) The best meals of the trip were definitely the breakfasts. I miss this place already! Thanks for a wonderful weekend, Geri- you have a beautiful place and Door County is very lucky to have it!


Consistently Excellent

5 sur mars 20, 2013

As always an outstanding stay. The cottage room was comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. We had a wonderful weekend and can't wait to be back. - David

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you David. Am pleased that you liked the Cottage room. Am always happy to see you guys return. Enjoy the springing weather!


Will return next year for sure!

4,2 sur février 04, 2013

Excellent b&b - very clean and comfortable rooms and wonderful service. We will definitely be going back.


Wonderful Stay Again!

4,8 sur janvier 25, 2013

My boyfriend (now fiance) and I stayed in the Eastlake Room this past week. This was our second time staying at the Black Walnut, and our first time staying in the Eastlake Room. We LOVED everything about this weekend! The breakfasts were amazing, the room was so clean and comfy and Geri was so helpful with anything we needed. It was an especially special weekend for us this time because we got ENGAGED! We will definitely be returning next year, and probably will make it an annual winter weekend away at the Black Walnut! :)


Winter Wonderland Stay

5 sur janvier 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Black Walnut Guest House and had such an amazing visit. Geri created such a delicious breakfast and a wide variety of choices--everything was perfect. Not to mention, it was delievered to your door with a "good morning knock". The cookies were to die for and I would pay good money for that recipe! Also, we took the Winter Wonderland Trolley Tour and she was very helpful in letting us know what we could add onto our stay, ect. We will be back next year for sure! I highly recommend the Arts and Crafts Room....simply relaxing and calming! Thanks Black Walnut!

Réponse du propriétaire
You are very welcome. Thank you for taking the time to post this fabulous review. Watch for the cookie recipe in your email...and it won't cost you a penny. We look forward to seeing you again. Next time maybe a couples massage.


NYE Stay

5 sur janvier 04, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Black Walnut Guest House for two nights from December 30-January 1, 2013 and we were very happy with our accommodations. We ended up arriving earlier than planned and called Geri to let her know and we got into our room right away. We were even able to peak at the other rooms since the other guests were not there yet and all were equally as unique as our Cabin room. For breakfast you got a choice of different items that you wanted and special mimosas on new years day, all delivered to your door at the time you specify. This was a nice feature because we were both somewhat sick during our stay and we stayed in bed quite a bit! The whirlpool tub was awesome and we took advantage of that one night. The room has a nice sized tiled shower and a patio door that walks out onto a porch (shared with one other room and the back entrance). I had also emailed Geri a few days earlier to ask her for recommendations of places to eat and she sent me back a nice list of places to call for NYE. We checked out Kitty O Reilly's Irish Pub for the Packer game and ate dinner at John Martins on NYE. Both had great food and were not too far from the house. Whenever we get back to Sturgeon Bay we will hopefully stay here again! It was a nice little getaway!


Amazing little B&B

5 sur janvier 04, 2013

Our room was adorable and the service was amazing. I cannot wait to go back.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again.


Top-notch stay in Sturgeon Bay

4,6 sur octobre 24, 2012

Our third stay at this charming B&B. A great location for strolling the shops in town or touring further up the Peninsula. Proprietor is knowledgeable about local restaurants and activities. Breakfasts are delicious, bountiful, and beautifully displayed. We will be back again next year!


Black Walnut Top Notch

5 sur octobre 19, 2012

Everything about our stay was very pleasing. We recommend the Black Walnut to anyone wanting a quiet, clean, and an enjoyable B&B experience.


Second Times a Charm

5 sur octobre 17, 2012

This was our second stay at the Black Walnut Guesthouse. We first enjoyed this wonderful place 10 Years ago and returned for our 10th Anniversary. Geri is an excellent hostess. The food is great, especially the muffins and homemade granola. We love that breakfast is brought to your door with a gentle knock. It truly creates a romantic getaway.


Black Walnut Inn Review

5 sur octobre 13, 2012

The room was gorgeous, the food was excellent, and the service was exemplary. We will definitely be returning. Far surpassed our expectations.


OUTSTANDING and INCREDIBLE.

5 sur octobre 12, 2012

The Black Walnut Guest House was an Incredible place to do some well deserved relaxation. My Bride and myself stayed with you Oct 7th thru Oct 9th. We felt so relaxed and at home that my wife didn't want to go home. The service was Amazing and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful. The two of you( Mike and Geri) have definitely found your calling in life. Your support and dedication to your home extend far beyond any boundries. We would be honored to stay with you agai, and as a matter of fact, we plan on making it a regular visit for us. Thank you again so much for the wonderful memory to go along with the the wonderful day that we now share. Good luck in the future and we look forward to seeing you both again. Scott & Linda Deloria


A great weekend at the Black Walnut

5 sur septembre 27, 2012

The Black Walnut is a very pretty place with cozy rooms and wonderful service. We loved the Arts and Crafts Room with the comfy bed, oversized hot tub and back deck. The cookies and other treats in the hall were a great addition. It was very private set-up but with help if you needed it. Perfect!


Best B&B in Door County!

5 sur septembre 24, 2012

We stayed in the "Cabin" room and it was perfect. Cozy, clean, and comfortable! The breakfast delivered to our door each morning was delicious! The parfaits....to die for! Geri was a very gracious hostess. We can't wait to go back.


amazing stay

4,6 sur septembre 16, 2012

second time staying, just in a different room. room was perfect and Gerri is amazing. Best Breakfast: home made everything!!!!! Great whirlpool even provided lavander bath salts!

Réponse du propriétaire
Yay! thank you for posting a review. Happy to know you appreciate the fresh home made breakfasts. I am noticing that everyone likes the bath salts so I will continue to have those in every room. Look forward to seeing you on your third visit.


weekend in DC

4,4 sur septembre 14, 2012

great place, esp the cookies, fruit/yogurt parfait, and the tip to go to the Dunes state park.

Réponse du propriétaire
thank you for taking the time to post a review. happy to hear you liked the cookies and our specialty parfaits! What is it that we did not do to meet your expectations? given the low value points. We are here to assure every guests stay is what they were expecting and hopefully beyond.


Awesome stay!

5 sur septembre 14, 2012

The breakfast was excellent! We loved everything about our room (Cabin). It was quiet, cozy and very relaxing! We will be back!


Great Place to Stay

4,8 sur septembre 03, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Black Walnut. Room(Cabin Room) was extremely clean and had an architecturally cool layout. Geri was a gracious host and was very helpful in recommending great local restaurants as well as providing us a map for a scenic morning run. The breakfasts were delicious, fresh, organic and healthy. Overall a great experience and would definitely stay here again.


Wonderful Door Co B & B

5 sur septembre 03, 2012

If you've never been to the Black Walnut Guest House, you're missing out! We've stayed here 3 times and can't wait to visit again next year. The rooms are so comfortable, perfect beds and linens. Outside patios on all but one rooms, fireplaces for cozy evenings. Geri's' cookies are to die for, and the breakfast delivered to your door- the perfect beginning to exploring the "Door". We love the homemade muffins and granola too! In a quiet neighborhood, walkable to downtown Sturgeon Bay!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for such a descriptive positive review. You've hit all the great points that people want to hear about. Look forward to seeing you on your 4th visit.


Black Walnut August 2012

4,4 sur août 29, 2012

We had an excellent stay in the Cottage Room. Everything met with our satisfaction. The muffins brought top our room each morning were a great way to start the day.


awesome

5 sur août 23, 2012

The Black Walnut was a great place to stay . They had an outdoor balcony that you could come and go from, making for easy accesses in and out of the back yard parking lot. The room was very quite and comfortable. We were orginially concerned about staying in a bed & breakfast because we thought that it would be less private, because of the feeling of staying in a strangers house. This however was not that case at all. Geri made us feel extremely welcome and felt as if we were at home. The breakfasts were delicious especially the warm, homemade muffins everyday, and the homemade granola is great too. We would and will definitely recommend this bed & breakfast as well as come back and stay in a different room to get a different experience. We stayed in the cabin room this time.


Best B&B Breakfast

4,2 sur août 16, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Black Walnut. Geri left special touches in our room such as a small dish of Door County Chocolates and an anniversary card upon arrival. With only 4 suites it kept things quiet and relaxing. Each morning we had the best breakfasts. Warm and yummy homemade muffins, fresh juice, fresh fruit and the most fantastic granola we've ever tasted. After a day of activities we would return and find fresh homemade cookies and lemonade tea just waiting. The B&B was located close enough to town that we could walk or ride our bikes to enjoy shopping or a walk at the park.


Relaxing and Quiet

4,4 sur août 12, 2012

Our stay provided a very relaxing weekend. I highly recommend the Black Walnut!


awesome

5 sur août 07, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the cottage room. It was very beautiful and cozy. Every detail in the room was well arranged and pretty. We enjoyed a lot the breakfast every morning. The whirlpool in the room was our favorite. We definitely want to visit it again some day!


Best Honeymoon!!

5 sur août 07, 2012

What my husband and I loved best about the place was that each room was differently themed and that your breakfast was delivered to your door each morning at the time you asked for. The owner was delightful and was able to squeeze us in an extra night because you fell in love with the place and enjoyed the restfulness of the B&B I would go back again in a heart beat!


Double your relaxation

4,4 sur juillet 28, 2012

We did a Sunday through Wednesday stay. Those few days were perfect. Having a breakfast delivered to the room proved to be one of those factors. The other one was our own little balcony. An evening wine, breezes, and stars contributed to that. As we did day excursions to museums, state parks, wineries, the return to the Cottage Room felt like three rooms in one. All of these things plus other details made our three night stay seem doubly relaxing.


Door County Jewel

4,8 sur juillet 10, 2012

Excellent Bed and Breakfast! Clean, Unique, Spacious and comfortable room. We loved having breakfast delivered to our door each morning. The hospitality was five star. Geri's homemade food was outstanding!!! We loved being in the Sturgeon Bay area, not as crowded as some of the "tourist" towns in the northern part of Door County.


Anniversary Getaway

4,4 sur mai 31, 2012

We choose to go to Door County for our Anniverary for rest and relaxation, and that is what we got. From the 1st day we arrived to check into The Black Walnut Guest House, Geri was vary gracious and helpful with giving us honest information about the sites and area attractions. After we got settled into our room "The Cabin" we immediately were confortable and ready to start winding down and enjoying our vacation. The room was very clean, confortable, cozy and quite. The breakfest was very taste, but not over done. My husband especially enjoyed the fresh cookies that were available every day for him to sample, and the homemade lemonaide was delicious!! Great Bread and Breakfast!!!


Great bed and breakfast!

4,8 sur mai 23, 2012

The room was great with nice homey touches. LOVED the breakfast, with organic ingredients. It was a great getaway!


May 2012 Stay

5 sur mai 21, 2012

We've been staying at The Black Walnut for three years now and we plan to continue this tradition for many years to come. Geri is so wonderful and accommodating to your every need. We love The Black Walnut!!


Wondeful getaway in Door County

4,2 sur mai 19, 2012

The room was comfortable and quiet, and the area was beautiful. Breakfast was lighter than at some B&Bs. If you are looking for a large, hot breakfast, this may not be great for you. However, I appreciated the healthy, fresh food, which arrived at the time of our choice and was beautifully arranged. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway. We hope to go back soon!


Spacious and well-appointed...

4,8 sur mai 16, 2012

The Arts & Crafts room is very well-appointed, with a sitting area (w/ whirlpool) separated from the sleeping area by a double-sided fireplace. The breakfasts were amazing, and there was always a supply of hot water and cookies available. The only downside to the room was that the bathroom was not fully enclosed (the ceiling was open to the rest of the room), so it was very noisy when someone was in the shower.


Highly recommend

5 sur avril 11, 2012

Great place in a great location. Geri is very nice and breakfast was amazing!


Wonderful stay at the Black Walnut Guest House

4,8 sur mars 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here from february 22-24 in the cottage room and loved it! The room was so pretty and the jacuzzi tub was great! The breakfasts that were delivered to our door were delicious as were the cookies that were available in the hall. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend it to everyone and can't wait to go back!


Perfect weekend getaway!

5 sur février 29, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and it was wonderful. Everything was very clean and well maintained. There were nice little touches around the room to make it feel extra welcoming. The breakfast was our favorite part. The muffins and fresh fruit cups were amazing. Just like the rooms, you can tell extra time and care was put into the food and presentation. Geri was very helpful in our quest for shops and restaurants. We will definitely be recommending the The Black Walnut Guest House to friends and family as well as making a trip back ourselves.


black walnut is wonderful

4,0 sur février 09, 2012

This was my first stay at the Black Walnut. The room, service and friendliness of the owners was outstanding. I would highly recommend staying at this B&B. We plan on returning in the near future.


Weekend Winter Getaway

5 sur février 01, 2012

My wife had simply asked for Christmas for a getaway of some sort. Being huge fans of B&B stays, and never having had been to Door County and from the Chicago area, I looked into the local spots. the BW Guest House was highly recommened in it's reviews, so I thuoght what the heck. Our stay was, as reviewed, outstanding. We were in the Log Cabin room, and we loved having the fireplace and the large jacuzzi tub. Having recieved a fresh 3" of snow on the morning after we arrived, this was the most cozy weekend getaway, and we could not have asked for a more relaxing getaway, not to mention the amazing room service breakfast that was provided. The BW Guest House comes highly recommeded from frequent B&B goers!


Wonderful stay in Door County

5 sur janvier 22, 2012

This was our first time at the Black Walnut Guest House. We stayed 4 nights in the Arts & Crafts room. The room was very large and beautifully decorated. We felt comfortable and at home from the moment we entered the room. The queen bed was very comfortable as well as the separate sitting area. The fireplace was double-sided and kept the room very cozy. We appreciated having a microwave and refrigerator in the room as well as a tv and vcr. This is the first B&B we've stayed at where a breakfast tray is delivered to the door at the time you choose. What a wonderful touch! Each morning we enjoyed the delicious breakfast in the comfort of our own room, next to the fireplace. And speaking of breakfast, we really enjoyed the warm home baked muffins as well as the fruit juice, granola parfaits and cups of fresh fruit. Everything was perfect. Our stay was peaceful and restful, everything we hope for in a B&B. We look forward to a return trip to the Black Walnut, our new favorite place in Door County


THE place to be!

4,4 sur janvier 21, 2012

This bed and breakfast is the one and ONLY I will ever stay! I am particular about the cleanliness of hotels, etc and the room was very well kept. Privacy at all times (even while other rooms were full) - odd to think it's possible but we never knew anyone else was there! GREAT B&B!!


First Bed & Breakfast Stay!

4,0 sur janvier 18, 2012

This was our first trip together as a couple, and our first bed and breakfast stay. We absolutely LOVED everything about it! We stayed in the Arts and Crafts room and would highly recommend it...it's definitely worth the extra money! The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Geri was very helpful and friendly with guiding us on restaurants to eat at and things to do. We actually spent more time in our room than out exploring Door County because it was so relaxing and comfortable. We would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who is looking to have a fun, relaxing and romantic weekend away :)


Second December stay at Black Walnut

4,2 sur décembre 15, 2011

Our second trip back here for a long weekend in December. We returned a for a second time as it is an adorable B&B with very nice innkeeper. Also not too bad a drive to Lambeau to catch the Packers. With any luck we'll be able to match the trip again next year!


Couldn't have asked for more

5 sur novembre 27, 2011

Our stay at the Black Walnut was amazing! We had never been to a bed and breakfast before and didn't know what to expect. This extended weekend was beyond what we expected. The room was extremely cozy and well maintained. The service was outstanding, and Geri and Mike were very welcoming. The tea and cookie service were very much appreciated, along with the excellent breakfast served right to our door. This was without a doubt the most romantic weekend we have ever had, and we will be recommending this place to anyone wanting to visit the door county area.


Stay at Black Walnut

5 sur novembre 14, 2011

The Black Walnut was a wonderful place to stay - it was very quiet and relaxing there! I would recommend it to all of my friends! Geri did an excellent job - everything was wonderful!!!

Réponse du propriétaire
Recommend away! We love referrals. Thank you.


Priceless!

5 sur novembre 03, 2011

An absolutely wonderful experience all around. From walking up on to the front porch, upon arrival, to packing up the car, as we were leaving, there is nothing we would have changed except staying longer. It's been two weeks since our stay and I still wake up expecting fresh warm muffins and coffee to be delivered, can't tell you how much we miss that! Thanks again Geri, The Kane's

Réponse du propriétaire
You are so welcome, it was my pleasure. A great turn out for what might not have been...thank you and I look forward to seeing you again.


October Visit to Door County

4,0 sur octobre 30, 2011

We visit Door County every year during October to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed at the Black Walnut 2 years ago and enjoyed it so much, we decided to return. Mike and Geri are wonderful hosts, the home is beautiful and the food is divine! We highly recommend the Black Walnut.


I recommend the Black Walnut Guezt House to anyone!

5 sur octobre 26, 2011

I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast and the Black Walnut exceeded any expectations I had. The rooms were excellent and well worth the price. The breakfasts, including the homemade baked goods, were delicious. We had a great time and I would recommend this guest house to anyone!


Black Walnut Guest House

4,0 sur octobre 17, 2011

We really enjoyed the "at home" feeling and the excellent breakfasts. Geri was such a delight to talk with. The cookies and hot chocolate were a special treat in the evenings after a day of hiking in the state parks. This was our first stay at the Black Walnut Guest House but it won't be our last.


Very nice place, reasonably priced.

4,6 sur octobre 05, 2011

Excellent service, very friendly, beautiful house, fantastic breakfast. Great location as well.


great stay

4,6 sur octobre 03, 2011

I would stay again ! It was our first bed and breakfast and it was great!


We will definitely be back

5 sur septembre 29, 2011

This was our first visit to Door County, and to a bed and breakfast. The pictures on the website are exactly what you get when you go. The room was very cozy and comfortable, the Continental Plus breakfasts were delicious! The B&B was quiet and made for a very relaxing weekend. We will be back!


Zeitlers

5 sur septembre 01, 2011

We will return to the Black Walnut when we're in Door County...


Would highly recommend

4,4 sur août 24, 2011

Room was beautiful. Food was excellent. Geri even made us a bag lunch to take with us on our bike ride. Bed was a little soft for my taste but that was minor. Will definitly go there again and will recommend to anyone. Was equal or better than the much higher priced alternatives farther north in Door County.


Great place to stay!

4,8 sur août 17, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary at the Black Walnut Guest House. Everything was great and the breakfast was outstanding. We definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay at a bed and breakfast.


An Ideal Romantic Retreat

5 sur août 14, 2011

The Black Walnut was an absolute treat! The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable and well-outfitted. The atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast was nothing short of amazing. We can't wait to come back!


Another fantastic stay at The Black Walnut

5 sur août 12, 2011

This was our fifth stay at The Black Walnut and it is still as great as the first time. I almost hate to let others know about it because we consider it or home away from home and don't want it to change. Geri and Mike have always been great to deal with, and they have always gone out of their way to make our stay special. It is our favorite way to celebrate our anniversary. The breakfasts are great and plentiful, and the chocolate chip cherry cookies are to die for. Keep up the good work!


Just what we wanted in a B&B!

5 sur août 01, 2011

Geri's attention to detail and personal service was amazing. The breakfast, delivered each morning to your door, was delicious. The room was adorable and quiet. We never saw the other guest nor did we hear them. It was just the place we needed, to relax and enjoy the area.


Wonderful

4,8 sur juillet 21, 2011

Our stay at the Black Walnut Guest House was so amazing! From the fresh baked muffins and wonderful fruit cups to the fresh green tea lemonade and fresh baked chocolate chip cherry cookies! Our room was absolutely wonderful. We had a beautiful patio that we could be out and enjoy. We would definintely stay at this B & B again and would recommend it to anyone else. Thank you so much to the owners and all of their hard work! Thank you again, Amber and Joe Christman


I wouldn't change a thing...

5 sur juillet 20, 2011

My husband and I wanted to have a special 3-night/4 day 40th wedding anniversary retreat in Door County. From the moment we arrived our innkeeper treated us with care, respect, and spoiled us with wonderful snacks and beverages. She was never intrusive, but always available either in the house, or by cell phone. Her attention to detail, green products, and organic, homemade, delicious food was incredible! We stayed in the Arts & Crafts Mission Room at the Black Walnut. I thought my husband would be most comfortable in this rich, beautifully solid wood paneled, masculine room. We are members of the Twin Cities Bungalow Club (http://www.bungalowclub.org/) so we especially appreciated the artful furnishings true to the era. The fireplace is in the middle of this large room, which made it feel like we were really in a suite. This room is marvelous! I must say, nothing prepared me for what I experienced at the Black Walnut for breakfast. A soft knock at the designated time we asked to be wakened for breakfast and a quiet “Good morning…” woke me compassionately from my sleep. When we opened the door to our room an amazing huge tray of artfully arranged food greeted us on a tray stand. Every morning I shouted to my husband, “Stop! Don’t touch anything! I have to get my camera!” What greeted our senses was a very full tray of homemade granola & a cute pitcher of milk, hot, fresh muffins right out of the oven, an artfully designed yogurt parfait, organic oatmeal, different, fresh, cut-up fruit every morning, yummy organic fruit juices, and organic Kashi cold cereals. This private, sweet breakfast time was romantic in the room or out on our cute deck. I’m so happy we chose the Black Walnut Guest House for our special anniversary. We will have to go back this fall…I’m not waiting for another anniversary! The Black Walnut Guest House is the best-kept secret in Door County. Please don’t miss it!


Wonderful Experience...Can't Wait To Go Back!

5 sur juillet 18, 2011

My husband and I went to the Black Walnut to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. I booked Black Walnut since it had the "cabin" room that made it feel like we were staying in our own little cabin space, but we also got the amenities of a B&B (breakfast, daily cleanings, local advice). We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Geri (the proprietor) was wonderful; she told us where we could find live music, had numerous brochures on-hand to help us plan our days, and she even called around to see which restaurants could accommodate a vegetarian at a fish boil. I can't write a review of Black Walnut without mentioning the delicious breakfast. We couldn't wait for her knock on the door each morning with fresh fruit, fruit parfaits, baked goods, tea and coffee. You can choose what you want each morning, but we stuck with what we ordered the first day since it was so delicious. The cabin room had a semi-private balcony so we were also able to enjoy our breakfast outside each morning. I liked that there was no communal seating for all of the B&B guests; I came to share the vacation with my husband so it was nice that we had that separation from the other guests. Lastly, the attention to detail was a pleasant surprise. Geri has 4 different rooms and while I only saw our room, it was clear that she had put a lot of thought and effort into the decoration of our "cabin" room. Everything from the shelving, to the old fashioned stove, to the artwork screamed cabin (except the very up-to-date shower and hot tub...those didn't feel like they belonged in a cabin since they were very updated which we appreciated!). I was very impressed with the effort put into following the theme of the room. If you are looking for a wonderfully helpful and friendly host, privacy, a delicious breakfast and a unique and meticulously decorated accommodation, Black Walnut is the place to stay. We can't wait to go back!


Excellent get away in Sturgeon Bay

4,4 sur juillet 18, 2011

The Inn keeper Geri is extraordinarily nice and will go out of her way to make your stay as pleasent as possible. If you are looking for a romantic get away, or perhaps just a relaxing vacation free from all the comercialized non-sense running rampant around the penninsula, this is definitely the place to stay. We had no complaints what-so-ever about the Black Walnut and our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer. Cheers!


Relaxing and Comfortable B&B

5 sur juillet 06, 2011

This was the third time we stayed at the Black Walnut and every time has been wonderful. Geri and Mike are always accommodating and make you feel at home. The rooms are private and comfortable - each one has it's own distinct style and charm. Breakfast is made fresh every day. We plan on staying there every year.


Cozy, quaint and relaxing

4,6 sur juin 27, 2011

The Black Walnut Guest House was just what the Dr. ordered for my wife and I: a nice, clean room with a spacious 2-person jacuzzi and a lovely patio on a small balcony. The breakfast was fantastic--great muffins and the best parfait I've ever had. They even found an earring left behind by my wife and had it shipped to us free of charge! We will surely come back!


Wonderful Stay at Black Walnut

4,0 sur juin 27, 2011

Geri was very accomodating and helpful. She went out of her way to make things perfect. We most enjoyed the delicious and healthy breakfasts! Thanks!


First Timers

5 sur juin 07, 2011

We stayed at the Black Walnut Bed & Breakfast for a 3 day get away to Door County, WI and had a wonderful stay!! This was our first time at a Bed & Breakfast and were greatly amazed!! This is a beautiful house with such a variety of room styles to choose from. We stayed in the Eastlake Room, with our favorite part of the room being up the stairs in the whirlpool tower!! We spent every evening up there and it was a GREAT wind down from the day!! The food was wonderful; fresh cut up fruit, homemade muffins, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal... The breakfast tray came with freshly picked flowers every morning!! We had a wonderful stay and would like to thank Geri & Mike for making our get away exactly what we needed!!


Great Stay

5 sur juin 03, 2011

My husband and I had a great (but too-short) stay at the Black Walnut Guest House. Wonderfully clean, great back deck, awesome room and furnishings, very quiet despite being near-capacity, with the best breakfast ever! We only stayed one night and were so sorry we had leave such a warm and peaceful environment. Shortly after our departure we were informed that we left some items behind and they were graciously returned via post the next day. The Black Walnut understands customer service!


Mmmmmmm.......so good!

5 sur juin 03, 2011

My husband & I have never stayed at a B&B before, so when we received a gift certificate from my sisters we were excited. We went on the WiB&B website to choose a place to stay for my birthday. We knew that we wanted to stay in Door Co. So, among all the choices, we decided on The Black Walnut Guest House. What a great choice! I don't know how we can stay anywhere else. Geri set the bar way too high! First we arrived & she showed us the room. Wow!!! It was even more beautiful in person. It had a double sided fireplace & a whirlpool tub. Also we had a georgous balcony to enjoy wine & coffee on. I could go on & on about the room, but the breakfast deserves the all the glory. I am gluten free, so I did not expect to be able to eat much of the breakfast, but Geri went above & beyond. She made GF muffins, oatmeal & GF granola. Everything was organic & oh so yummy. There is nothing like eating breakfast in bed on my birthday, especially when it is so wholesome & so good! I will definitely be recommending The Black Walnut Guest House to EVERYONE I know. Thanks Geri for such a great time. Jessica Colton

Réponse du propriétaire
Jessica, thank you for the great review. It was my pleasure to prepare breakfast for you and am thrilled you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again. And please do tell all of your friends... Sincerely, Geri


Wonderful Weekend

5 sur avril 17, 2011

Stayed in the cottage room and loved the mirror on the ceiling in the hot tub. Going to return next year for sure!!!


Romantic getaway

3,0 sur avril 04, 2011

We arrived on a Thursday and departed on a saturday morning. The room Is spacious. And well appointed. The linens were very soft and the bed comfortable. There are cookies and hot water for tea or hot chocolate put out every day. The whirlpool tub in the arts and crafts room was huge and the water was hot enough to fill the entire tub. The inn keepers are attendant without being intrusive. The breakfast is for the light eater consisting of delicious muffins coffee/tea, a variety of juices and hot or cold cereals and a yogurt granola combination and or fresh fruit. It's will fill you up but go out for breakfast is your expecting eggs / pancake type of breakfast. Breakfast is delivered to your door in the morning. There are some current DVDs at your disposal and a little bistro outside the room on the balcony. The price is what you would typically expect to pay for this time of year in door county. All in all a good experience I have stayed in two other places in door county and liked them both more for various reasons. One would be the white lace inn and the other is the barbican that has the huge coach house that I loved !!!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you Andrea for your descriptive review. I am happy to accommodate a special breakfast request and look forward to doing so upon your return.


Romantic getaway

3,8 sur mars 28, 2011

Very organic and earth friendly place. The food was excellent, but not a lot of choice. The only downside was the room didn't have a bathroom door. Other than that, the stay was great. Will recommend to other people.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review and noticing that we do our best to be 'green'. This would be the cottage room that you are referring to and I apologize that the door on the bathroom does not provide enough privacy. Every other room has a solid full length door to the bathroom. Maybe try another room next time and we can discuss breakfast too.


Perfect getaway

4,8 sur mars 01, 2011

Room amenities far exceeded our expectations and the food was great. Couldn't have asked for a better relaxing getaway.


Amazing and Romantic

5 sur février 27, 2011

We loved the Black Walnut..awesome rooms,great breakfast,service was amazing!! We will for sure go back!


Fantastic Place in a Fantastic Town

5 sur février 25, 2011

As soon as my wife and I stepped into this beautiful B&B near downtown Sturgeon Bay, we immediately started making plans to send our parents here for upcoming events. The staff was polite, if not stealthy in their accommodating guests. The breakfasts were amazing! The rooms were warm, cozy and spacious. the bed was incredibly comfortable. And the location was very accessible. All in all, we had a great time. Thank you!

Réponse du propriétaire
You're welcome! Thank you very much. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to accomodating your parents and seeing you again too.


Great Place to Stay

5 sur février 12, 2011

Very relaxing & quiet place to stay. Breakfast is served on your time and is presented well. Chocolate, cookies and beverages are there for you to enjoy anytime during the day. The inkeepers make you feel at home. We would highly recommend this place to everyone.


Great get away

5 sur janvier 18, 2011

Black walnut was absolutely amazing, I wasn't expecting the quality of service that we received but she did amazing. I would absolutely go back for another trip, and u believe we are planning on going to door county again this summer and staying at black walnut. Everything was perfect A+!!!!


Getaway 2011

4,6 sur janvier 14, 2011

The rooms were even better then the picture can show!! Geri was wonderful in setting up special arrangements before we arrived. They even have sample menu's for the places in the area. Will come back again!!


Wonderful Wednesday

4,0 sur janvier 04, 2011

Wonderful experience, easy to understand why it is Sturgeon Bays #1 B & B


excellent stay

4,6 sur octobre 26, 2010

Great food, great service. I stayed in the cabin room, which was great, except I would have liked to have had a table. Except for one chair, there was no where other than the bed to sit in the room. There was a table on the deck with 2 chairs, and having immediate access to the deck was great. definately recommend!

Réponse du propriétaire
Hello, you are correct in saying that the Cabin room does not have more than one 'comfy' chair to sit on other than the bed. We have provided 2 folding chairs and a folding table in the room for guest convenience. This has been an ongoing search for me to situate this room and find just the right furniture to provide our guests with the best situation and comfort. I will continue my thoughts and am confident that in my search I will find the right solution for the cabin room. Every other room at The Black Walnut Guest House does have a table and 2 chairs in the room. Thank you for your comments and for sharing a positive experience in every other aspect of your stay.


Best decision I made for our anniversary.

4,0 sur octobre 17, 2010

I surprised my husband for our 33rd wedding anniversary, and was more than pleased with our stay at The Black Walnut! Geri greeted us and gave us an overview of the amenities. We were fortunate to arrive before any other guests and had the wonderful opportunity to peak into each of the other suites. Each is unique, and I can't wait for our next opportunity to stay here. We were in the Arts & Crafts Room, and I was surprised at how much room we had - the photos are great, but the rooms are even better in person. Breakfast was delivered with a soft knock at the door, and when we opened it, we were thrilled to see a beautiful tray complete with fresh flowers. The fresh baked muffins were delicious as was the coffee which we enjoyed on our own little porch area. Everything was quiet and peaceful and exceptional. I recommend The Black Walnut highly. Thank you Geri and Mike!


The perfect B&B

5 sur octobre 13, 2010

Absolutely the perfect bed and breakfast. Extremely accommodating to our dietary needs. Geri's breakfasts were the best! A wonderful place to stay and will recommend it to everyone who is going to Door Co. Thanks for a relaxing stay.


Nice break

4,4 sur octobre 07, 2010

Gerri was super nice and it was so warm and welcoming coming in during the pooring rain. Loved it and would definately come back again.


Absolutely Outstanding!

5 sur février 17, 2010

We just spent Valentine's Day in the Arts and Crafts room. It was perfect! It was quiet and private the whole time. Geri is one of the nicest people I have ever met. And now to the best part of this: the breakfast. Geri honored my special request for stuffed french toast, and it was to die for! Not only did we get that, we also got fresh fruit, a parfait made with her homemade granola, and other delicious items we requested. It was an awesome experience, and we will definitely be back!


Beautiful B&B

5 sur octobre 12, 2009

We really enjoyed our visit to the Black Walnut Guest House. Geri was a gracious host who was there to answer questions or attend any needs but not intrusive. We stayed in the Eastlake room and were not disappointed. It was clean and beautiful. Loved the fireplace since the weather had turned cold on us that weekend. Loved the touches like the fresh flowers, cookies in the afternoon (delicious). The breakfast was exceptional. The cherry muffins were to die for. We would definitely recommend this B&B to others.


The Black Walnut Guest House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $92 - $195
  • Avis (120) 4,8
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9207438892
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8772559568

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut