Foxglove Guesthouse Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,5

Notation basée sur
31 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Delightful bed and breakfast

4,0 sur mars 04, 2014

We enjoyed a three night stay at the Foxglove while in Seattle for business. Host pleasant and accommodating. Assisted us in looking for tickets to a show as whole area internet was down and we had to leave. Also assisted in printing out a document for us. Lovely house; our smaller double room with small private bath was just fine....every room was appointed with antiques and all kinds of personal touches. Definitely not a 'run of the mill' hotel / motel. We would definitely be happy to stay here again.


Another great visit!

4,6 sur décembre 12, 2012

We returned to the Foxglove in September 2012, after having first visited in 2008. It was as if we'd never left. John and Daniel are so engaging - and this time I discovered that John and I come from the same part of the world - it really was like coming home. What's new is the remodeled room we stayed in (#3, totally charming) and the 4th floor room (which also looks great). The other guests were great and fun. And 15th Ave East offers new options in restaurants each time we visit, although there were a few sad moments (for example, discovering the old bookstore I used to visit on 15th Ave E, which was housed in an old bungalow, has been closed. Well, at least the bungalow had been covered with guerilla knitting!). Cities don't stand still, and Seattle is no different. But I do hope that the Foxglove goes on and on...I want to stay here every time i come to Seattle. My husband feels the same. Look out - we might be back in November 2013!


Amazing Inn

4,4 sur juillet 25, 2011

This is an amazing inn to stay in Seattle. The house is gorgeous, decoration is flawless and breakfast is great. I recommend it to anyone. John gave us excellent tips as to where to go and attractions. Many restaurants, coffee houses and bars are within walking distance. The bus stop to main attractions is a few blocks away, and the street is green and pleasant. Pure awesomeness! Mariana.


Beautiful home, beautiful visit

5 sur juin 29, 2011

Our room was spacious and well-appointed. The continental breakfast included a variety of fresh fruit, as well as other items. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful.


Another Great Visit

4,0 sur octobre 11, 2009

My second time to the Foxglove was just as great as I remembered. I was able to book the same room - the large bedroom with en suite bath that overlooks their impressive park-like garden. The room includes a tv and a large mini fridge, so that is a definite bonus. Not to mention a comfortable bed and equally comfy reading chair as well as a telephone where you can receive voicemail and taxi service on speed dial. ... I love that room! When you go down for breakfast you are greeted by a roaring fire and the daily paper (which is great if you need to check the weather) Hot and buttery croissants and fresh brewed Seattle coffee beckon you into the dining room where you will also find plenty of fresh fruit, cheese and other tasty treats. John, the host, is usually around if you need anything. He can also give great advice on the area. He really cares about his B&B and wants you to be pleased. The Foxglove is very close to downtown but it is also right in the heart of Capital Hill, so you also get a neighborhood feel. It is the perfect choice.


Great Location

3,0 sur octobre 05, 2009

The Foxglove is a beautiful house in a quiet and safe residential neighborhood. Very convenient to downtown with or without a car. Restaurants, coffee shops, grocery, bus stop and even a 24hr urgent care are all within a very short walk. If you appreciate antiques, you will be in awe of what the Inn has to offer. You will also enjoy a clean and comfortable room (as long as you don't look too closely at the blinds or behind the bed and other furnishings - these areas are always so neglected by innkeepers trying to turn rooms) Breakfast is nice with coffee, juice, fresh fruit, cheese and pastry. Though I usually like more protein in the morning - a boiled egg would have been nice (eggs are cheap and not much work involved in just boiling them) I also missed little extras like a bowl of nuts or other little snacks kept out during the day. But the price for the location was very good and the host is very friendly and helpful.


My vacation

5 sur août 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Foxglove for several days. It was a great experience! Craftsmanship, decor, serene music, and tranquil and colorful grounds, made us sorry to leave. John shows all the local places of interest, and he serves a terrific continental breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay, and will be going back!


Enjoyable and convenient

4,4 sur mars 20, 2009

My stay at the Foxglove was very enjoyable - the neighborhood is great and the house was lovely. I liked my room as it was private and filled with light. Jon was gracious and helpful.


Beautifully decorated and charming B&B

4,8 sur novembre 20, 2008

From the moment I walked into the door, I was extremely glad I choose Foxglove Guesthouse to stay for 3 nights in Seattle. The location is perfect being in a quiet neighborhood and close to some eclectic shops. The innkeeper is very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. And the rooms are very clean and beautifully furnished. If I need a place to stay in Seattle again this would indeed be my place of choice!


a whisper

4,4 sur octobre 27, 2008

Quiet, ambiance, and comfort with the just right peppering of interesting fellow guests. savy hosts.


The Foxglove is GORGEOUS!

5 sur octobre 16, 2008

I stayed at The Foxglove from October 9-12, 2008 and I can't wait to return! It's the first time I've stayed somewhere that I was sad to leave~ This home is gorgeous both inside and out and the innkeepers are wonderful people. The breakfasts were warm, fresh and healthy with fruits, jams and homemade pastries, including my favorite: scones! My room was absolutely beautiful and perhaps the best part was the view of the back garden. I would highly recommend this B&B as it is located near so many things I love: parks, tea and coffee shops, organic groceries, great restaurants and within walking distance of these and the downtown area as well! John and Dan, you've outdone yourselves! I can't wait to come back~ Janina Martin Parker, CO


Perfection

5 sur septembre 14, 2008

I was prepared to write a glowing review, but it's been done over and over by previous reviewers, so I just say "ditto"! John, thank you for pampering this San Francisco Bay Area grama. See you again soon!


A Winner on Capitol Hill

5 sur septembre 08, 2008

My comments are repetitious of all the other complimentary 5-star reviews of Foxglove. Maybe I can find some other descriptors: tasteful, impeccably stylish, immaculate, tranquil, restful, welcoming, a bargain at a higher price. I don't like B&B's, and I highly recommend this one!


Beautiful Home in Great Neighborhood

5 sur août 31, 2008

We stayed at Foxglove during July. Our room was lovely, and both John and Daniel were very helpful. The breakfasts were bountiful and there were a number of great restaurants nearby. The decor is tasteful, a truly comfortable home. There is a bus nearby that can be taken to downtown Seattle, so we didn't need to bother with the car. Thanks for the great hospitality. Joan and Jeff, NY


Supremely Satisfied In Seattle

5 sur août 28, 2008

I have not stayed in a B & B for many years (no privacy, too noisy, often inconvenient locations etc.), but was not happy with the hotel options for a short stay in Seattle and went to BedandBreakfast.com to take a look. The Foxglove sounded like a special place -- the Craftsman-style furnishings, the Capitol Hill location, the interesting owners. So I e-mailed John to ask about availability of the smaller single room at the back; he encouraged me to visit. Previous reviews of the Foxglove are all on the money! I was given careful directions (easy to take bus #10 from downtown) and a warm welcome when I arrived early to leave my bags before heading off to see the city. I spent very little time at the Foxglove -- alas, did not have time to stroll or sit in the lush garden -- but felt welcomed and pampered. Everything is done "with class" -- spotless housekeeping, a terrific bed, internet connection in my room, fluffy bathrobe (and wonderful toiletries) and a very good breakfast including a variety of fruit (beautifully presented), excellent cheese and fresh croissants and coffee cake. Perhaps most amazing is John's knack of knowing just how much socializing to carry on, how much information is just enough, how to make you feel welcome but not smothered. I will certainly return.


Tremendous value in a great neighborhood!

4,8 sur août 18, 2008

This was a wonderful gueshouse with wonderful hosts. Clean, and nicely decorated rooms. Ample continental breakfast. The surroundings were also quaint, and within a short distance of downtown and volunteer park. Couldn't have been a better value.


One of the best deals in Seattle

5 sur août 05, 2008

So much to say about John and Dan and there Home, There Gracious Hosts and Have wonderful taste in furnishings, There Food is outstanding and there location is Ideal. Close to Bus Lines, Restaurants, Broadway and Downtown Seattle, Even the University of Washington is a short bus ride away. Youre Gardens are a Delight to sit in and I felt at peace within minutes of sitting out there, John your Gardens are a passion I can tell, It was all pretty, smelled great and I just wanted to sit out there all day_:) Your food was fabulous! Thanks again for my brief trip to Cap Hill. I shall return again in the near future. J


A Gem in Capitol Hill

4,6 sur juillet 29, 2008

Loved the room. Super clean. Owners are kind and accessible. The Capitol Hill location is close to everything Seattle has to offer. Will definitely be back.


L'endroit idéal

5 sur juillet 14, 2008

Je suis resté au Foxglove très souvent pendant plus de trois mois, j’ai adoré et y retourne à chaque fois que je vais à Seattle. Située dans a quartier très calme tout en étant pas très loin de restaurants et de downtown. Chambres magnifiquement décorées, très confortables et toujours extrêmement propres. Endroit idéal pour se reposer après une journée de travail ou de visite. Propriétaires très accueillants, disponibles, toujours prêt a aider et a donner de bons conseils pour visiter la région, les sorties, les restaurants. Les propriétaires vivent dans une partie séparée de la maison, vous ne les verrez que si vous le souhaitez. Le petit déjeuner est un régal (gâteaux pain, fruits...). J’adore cette maison, j’y retourne a chaque fois que j’en ai l’occasion, je la recommande vivement a tout le monde !


Discovery In Seattle!!

5 sur juin 30, 2008

We were first time visitors to The Foxglove Guesthouse in June/2008, but very experienced B & B'ers. Driving down 18th Ave. E., and not being familiar with the area and looking for the address, I was so pleased to see such a magnificant home gracing the street and the number we were looking for on that home! The first thing I was aware of when entering the front foyer was the wonderful smell of lilies and oranges, it was so amazing. Then the cool, rich, beautiful comfort of this home surrounded us. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the hosts, John and Dan, and we were treated so well and received such good tips on exploring, we will make this an annual event. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious, cleanliness and comfort were everywhere. It exceeded our expectations, very special care is taken by John, and when you read this review, know that it truly is a little home away from home where you can settle in.


Ideal and idyllic on Capitol Hill

5 sur juin 29, 2008

I was lucky enough to spend a week here in May 2008 while visiting Seattle for business and a rest. The Foxglove proved to be the perfect place for my Seattle visit. Everything about the Foxglove is pleasing. The solid, gracious old house has been beautifully restored by the innkeepers. Everywhere you turn there is something lovely or unusual to admire, from the gorgeous woodwork and floors, to the orchids, art pottery, antique gramophones, and vintage opera prints, to the lovely garden in back. Every inch of the place is spotless. My room overlooking the garden had everything I needed, with a very comfortable bed, WiFi, a desk, and a fridge. Breakfasts were excellent, with cereal, yogurt, and best of all, some very good aged cheddar cheese supplementing the tasty scones, croissants, and muffins. John and Dan are the perfect hosts -- warm and welcoming, quick to provide information and assistance, but they also allow their guests privacy, making you feel completely at home. When we had a rare Seattle heat wave, John provided a fan to keep my room pleasantly cool. The location is ideal for visitors to Seattle -- you have all the attractions of Capitol Hill within easy walking distance, with many good restaurants, pubs, and cafes nearby. Both Safeway and Trader Joe's are just a few blocks away. Nearby Volunteer Park offers the Asian Art Museum, the Conservatory, and the Water Tower. The park is a good place to picnic or to go for a walk or a run. I fell in love with the neighborhood, which is full of beautiful old houses on streets lined with huge shade trees. May is the perfect time to visit, as all the lilac trees and dogwoods were in full and spectacular bloom. There's excellent bus service, but it's an easy and pleasant 20-30 minute walk to downtown, Pike Place Market, and the ferries from the inn.


Business Trip

5 sur juin 23, 2008

When flying into Seattle, I was planning on spending one night in Seattle and staying the rest of the week in a hotel in Sumner, WA. Once I got to the house, I felt at home. It was so beautiful and clean. After finding out the drive into Sumner in the mornings was only 30 minutes and I would be going away from traffic, I changed my arrangements and stayed at the Foxglove for the week. It made my business trip feel less like a business trip and more like a vacation. There is the most beautiful garden in the back yard, which after a long day was so welcoming. John and Dan were the perfect hosts, and breakfast was yummy. Lots of treats are in store at this BnB.


Our Honeymoon

5 sur juin 18, 2008

What a wonderful place to take a honeymoon. The relaxing peaceful atmosphere made it like a hidden resort after a hectic wedding. The perfect place to go on day trips, stay out at Lopez Island, or end up in Canada, no timelines or rushes. Oh and John and Dan, owners of the FoxGlove, make the best scones and coffee I have ever had!!!


A GREAT PLACE to STAY

5 sur juin 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on June 5, 2008. We felt as if we had known John forever. He opened his home up to us to come and go as we pleased. The house is located on a street with beautiful flowers, homes, and ferns. The craftsmanship put into the home is remarkable. My husband is a home builder so the woodwork, doors, and windows were of great interest to him. We stayed in room#2 with a sitting area. The bed and pillows were so-o-o comfortable. A great night's sleep! One of the most interesting items to me was the cast iron, claw foot, tub. A nearby walk brings you to an amazing water tower with a 360 degree view of Seattle. Other amazing sites can be seen here. Our only complaint is that we didn't have more time to stay longer. I highly recommend The Foxglove Guest House for a lovely place to stay while visiting Seattle.


The essence of style

4,4 sur juin 18, 2008

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay at the enchanting Foxglove Guesthouse. From the delectable breakfast service, replete with fresh fruit, flaky croissant, and delicious local cheeses, to the gorgeous guestrooms and grounds, the Foxglove is the perfect home away from home in Seattle. John Fox goes out of his way to ensure the comfort of his guests, and is truly an excellent host; helpful and discreet. The Foxglove is located in a really cute and secluded area of Capitol hill, within walking distance of some great restaurants, brewpubs, and coffee shops. We would not hesitate to stay here again. In fact, we didn't want to leave!


Lovely B&B, convenient to downtown Seattle attractions

5 sur juin 17, 2008

I prefer B&Bs over hotels, and was looking for a place to stay for 2 weeks while I worked in Seattle. I found wonderful hospitality; I had never been to Seattle before, and had a million questions, which John was willing and able to answer. I caught the bus 2 blocks away, and was able to easily go downtown. The B&B is located in the Capitol Hill area, which is a homey, pretty neighborhood with restaurants and shops. Breakfast is continental, but with a beautifully set table: fruit, juice, rolls, cheese, and excellent coffee. My room, with antique furniture, was spotless, as was the shared bathroom just a short walk down the hall. The garden view from my window, full of flowers, was the theme I awakened to, and went to sleep to, every day.The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. Definitely recommended.


Quiet Craftsman Haven

4,2 sur juin 11, 2008

We're writing this from another, far less interesting guesthouse - we're still pining for the Foxglove, and wish we had known about it earlier so we could have booked it for our entire stay in Seattle. Foxglove Inn is one of the most beautiful and tasteful B&Bs we've visited. The 1905 Craftsman style home has been lovingly, respectfully restored by John and Dan, the innkeepers, and shows off their collections of antique furniture, pottery and NW Native American Art. Our room - #1 - had a gorgeous and very comfortable bed, a private shower/toilet and a view onto the lovely backyard (lush in the June rain). It's an intimate place - I think 6 people is probably the maximum number of visitors - and the breakfast, with fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, cheese and strong coffee, was quite adequate and very relaxed. In fact the keyword here is 'relaxed'. We felt at home. The comfort of having WiFi, a small refrigerator and cable TV (and for now, a walk in closet) in a gorgeously decorated room, for $120 a night, in one of the nicest parts of Seattle, was just splendid. I told John I'd write this review on one condition - that he'd always find room for us when we're in Seattle! Located on a quiet street in one of the more charming parts of Capitol Hill, Foxglove is a quick walk to great (non-Starbucks!) coffee (like Insomniax and Victrola), restaurants and shops on 15th Avenue East - calmer and hipper than Broadway, which is also a short walk down the hill (with a great view of the Space Needle).


Incredible Historic B&B in Seattle

5 sur mai 28, 2008

The home was beautifully updated, and the owners were gracious and accomodating. From the antiques, artwork and garden, everything was charming. We enjoyed the neighborhood restaurants and walks through the historic neighborhood. Thank you for a nice, relaxing stay.


My Home Away From Home

5 sur mai 23, 2008

The Foxglove Guesthouse evokes an extraordinary balance of impeccable taste, charm and serenity. Thank you for all of the subtle nuances that make one feel at home.   Those with a discerning eye will take joy at the many tasteful objects d’art, antique collections, lovely carpets sprinkled throughout the lovingly restored “Seattle Box” style house.   I came for one week and stayed on for two!   Thank you John and Dan for the cozy fireplace, your delicious breakfasts, your kindness and generosity. When I come back to Seattle, I hope that “my room” will be waiting.   Lady J from NYC


Gay Friendly B & Bs

4,4 sur mai 19, 2008

The minute you are ushered through the solid wood front door of the Foxglove Guesthouse you are made so welcome by your hosts John and Dan. They make their home your home for your stay offering not only beatifully appointed individual rooms with a bathroom but the use of the spacious living room and dining room downstairs. In addition you can wile away the evenings on the covered poarch as you sip your nightcap and mull over your plans for the next day. The gardens and grounds are a treat to behold and lets not forget Burt, the often heard Cairn Terrier pup who treats you like the human you are. John and Dan make sure every bit of your stay is looked after and offer tips on restaurants, night spots and great shopping in the area. You are forever one of their good friends after you stop in for a visit and I always feel like I am going home to family when I stay with them.


Many Time Visitor

5 sur avril 05, 2008

I have stayed at the Foxglove many times over the past years. I love it and have always recommended it to my friends who travel to Seattle. The house is beautifully appointed, filled with wonderful craftsman furniture in keeping with the style of the house. The bedrooms and beds are extremely comfortable, foxglove has the cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen in a bed and breakfast and the furniture in the rooms is wonderfully comfortable. One of the best things about staying at the Foxglove is that the innkeepers are unobtrusive allowing you to have a nice, quiet stay. The scones at breakfast are delightful and while they have both a cat and a dog, both are extremely well behaved, never underfoot and live in a completely different area of the house. You would never know they are there if you did not want them around. I love this place!


Foxglove Guesthouse

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $148 - $178
  • Avis (31) 4,7
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2063284173
  • Portable 1-2064784347

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut