Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix4,1
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,3

Notation basée sur
45 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Awesome service & 1st class hospitality!

5 sur juillet 26, 2014

We were very impressed with the hospitality and customer service of the innkeepers. Breakfast was great and the tour of the working farm was a huge family hit. The views from this property are amazing. I can see why many weddings take place here!


Lovely Stay

4,2 sur juillet 21, 2014

A bit off the beaten path but surprisingly beautiful! Bed was comfy, room clean but gorgeous view obstructed from room by trees needing a trim and view from hot tub too. Minor issues for a fabulous night! No disappointment.


one of the best one

4,6 sur juin 21, 2014

great


A Feast For The Eyes

3,8 sur mai 28, 2014

It's worth the trek over gravel roads to arrive at this secluded sanctuary with an unobstructed, drop-dead view of Mt Hood! Jerry and Carol are delightful and the added plus of bunnies, hens, sheep, a horse, an alpaca, a dog and a cat was most delightful. Stayed in the top floor room with a view of the Mountains out one side and the beautiful water fall out the other. Can't wait to go back in the fall.


Beautiful house with everything that you'd come to expect at a B&B!

5 sur janvier 04, 2014

I would stay again :-)


Beautiful setting!

4,6 sur octobre 15, 2013

We loved the gardens, and the view is spectacular. This home was built with much love and attention to detail. We felt privileged to get to stay there.


Beautiful Getaway

5 sur septembre 16, 2013

The room was perfect and had an amazing view of the valley and mountain, and the farm was so much fun to walk around. The best part were the delicious homemade breakfasts each morning, the orange croissant french toast was incredible, as was the chicken apple sausage.


August visit to Husom Highlands

5 sur septembre 08, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at the Husum Highlands B&B. We had the whole top floor to ourselves. Terrific experience.


Great get away place

4,6 sur août 29, 2013

I chose this B&B because it was close to the white water rafting outfitters for White Salmon River, I could tell it was nice from their web site, but it exceeded my expectations on many levels. The entire house and our room were wonderfully designed for beauty and comfort. The mountain views from our room were breathtaking--can easily see Mt Adams. The gardens were delightfully designed and a real pleasure to walk around and explore. The breakfast was unique, delicious, and satisfying. Also,my daughter and I really enjoyed the special treat of a selection of bath salts.


A Wonderful, Relaxing Stay

4,6 sur août 22, 2013

My wife and I came here on a mini-honeymoon following a very hectic pre- and post-wedding schedule. Jerry and Carol were excellent and very helpful hosts. The grounds are a marvel of beauty and landscaping, with the soothing sounds of a waterfall right outside our room (we booked the "Ashley" room - has a separate private bath with an awesome clawfoot tub!). The view of the valley from Husum Highlands is just stunning. No better word to describe it, really. You have to go out into the hills a ways to get to Husum Highlands, but the roads are hardpacked and in excellent condition - no 4-wheel drive necessary or anything. The property is well-maintained and in beautiful condition, with lots of animals to befriend if you so wish (dog, cat, chickens, bunnies, sheep and even Dolly the Llama!). HH B&B is about 20 minutes from Hood River, White Salmon, or Bingen. TONS of stuff to do between those three places. As for the breakfast - FANTASTIC! Jerry is quite the cook. Would gladly recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away from it all, but still have a lot of fun options close by.


Husum Highlands B&B

4,4 sur août 06, 2013

Jerry & Carol were kind & friendly and gave very helpful advice about things to see. The room was lovely, the food very good. And the view of Mt Hood out the window was breathtaking! It's a bit of a trip up the unimproved road but worth it. chickens, rabbits and sheep add to the farm atmosphere.


View to die for!!

4,4 sur juillet 26, 2013

No door on small room at top of stairs. That meant no privacy (it is a room for single or children), and no filter for light and sound.


Beautiful

5 sur juin 15, 2013

It was very quiet and beautiful. Breakfast was excellent, delicious and filling. Owners are a very nice couple.


Great Get-a-way!

4,8 sur avril 03, 2013

Very quiet. Very friendly. Amazing mountain property. Delicious breakfast. Great stay.


Peaceful and so quiet

3,6 sur mars 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our recent stay at Husum Highlands B&B. We loved that it was way out in the country, peaceful, and so quiet. Jerry and Carol are kind and knowledgable of the area! We would recommend others to stay here!


Worth the surprise

4,6 sur septembre 10, 2012

The ride on dirt roads, up the mountain, is well rewarded once the house is reached: outstanding views, marvelous house and genuine hospitality.


Highlands Retreat

4,6 sur septembre 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Husum Highlands. The owners are wonderful and the property is beautiful. It surprised us a bit that it was farther from Hood River than we expected it to be and the road is gravel much of the way. However we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find the beautiful setting.


Mostly Enjoyable

4,2 sur août 23, 2012

Jerry really makes this place go! He's so friendly and welcoming, and his cooking is incredible. We enjoyed our stay...beautiful, peaceful, wonderful. Unfortunately, apart from Jerry, the other people working at Husum Highlands were unfriendly and borderline rude...talk about your cold/awkward interactions. All in all...this is a great place. Again, Jerry is the man! We'll be going back.


Beautiful rooms & grounds, ok food, EXTREMELY isolated

3,8 sur août 21, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in a row here at the Husum Highlands B&B in July 2012, and we had a very nice time. The owner was very friendly, our room was quaint, nicely decorated, and very clean. The property that the Husum Highlands is on is beyond beautiful, very isolated out in the country (more on this in a sec), with gorgeous views of the valley and of Mt. Hood off in the distance. This would be a great place for a wedding, the view was truly stunning. The only negative -- and it might be a positive for many -- was that Husum is very far out into the country (about 30 minutes north of the Columbia gorge) and the Highland B&B is another 10 minutes beyond the town, up a windy road and then the final 1 1/2 miles of the road aren't even paved! It was a gravel road, no problem for our car, but some might find this off-putting. The nearest restaurants are 10-20 minute drives away, and there aren't too many options. But if isolation, quiet and serenity are what you are looking for, great! Also, one last thing, the included breakfast was nice, an omelette, fresh fruit & juice, bread... better than you get at a typical hotel's "continental breakfast", but the food itself was very blah and honestly below average. The B&B is probably a bit over-priced for what you get. But we did enjoy our stay here, and the stars were beautiful at night.


Beautiful setting outside of Trout Lake and White Salmon, Washington.

3,8 sur août 19, 2012

We spent one night here on August 17, 2012. The hosts were very helpful and accomodating. Rooms and furnishings are very comfortable. The home is a working farm and several miles from either Trout Lake or White Salmon up in the hills surrounded by beautiful countryside. I recommend this B&B.


A memorable experience.

5 sur août 13, 2012

Magnificant view and wonderful hosts.


Beautiful views

3,6 sur juillet 22, 2012

They were accommodating and friendly hosts. The air conditioning didn't work while we were there and it was in the 90s, but the hostess was very sweet about it and apologetic. We frequent many B&Bs and we've never had to pay to use the video library, it's always been included as part of the experience, that was a bit of a disappointment. The views and property are wonderful. Breakfast was good.


Relaxing, casual

3,4 sur juin 25, 2012

We went to the B & B with having an adventure and fun in mind, and we found it. The room, Melanie Suite, was charming. The remoteness was great, the view outstanding, the atmosphere on the farm was casual. We loved the little golf course in town as well as the course's outstanding restaurant. It was fun for us city folk to live the small town life for a couple of days.


Great Getaway just outside Portland.

4,0 sur juin 13, 2012

I have been here twice now over the years. The grounds are beautiful and it is very secluded. The views from the Hot Tub are unbeatable. The owners are great folks and super friendly and can give you guidance on where to go for hikes (which I strongly recommend the Wagon Trail hike). It is not within walking distance of anything other than great scenery and trails. But, that is part of the experience.


Such a beautiful getaway!

4,6 sur juin 09, 2012

A lovely place to explore the gorge. Tucked away this beautiful bed and breakfast has breath taking views that will knock you socks off! Jerry's breakfasts are perfect and be sure to ask him about the sights near by. He know all of the best places to go! The rooms are very clean, tastefully decorated, and very very comfortable. Don't miss the chance to sit in the hot tub under all of the amazing stars!


Columbia Gorge

3,8 sur juin 02, 2012

Our host was extremely knowledgeable of the area and sent us on day trips to Mt. Hood and the museum at Maryhill. We were pleased with our stay in the area and our accommodations at Husum Highlands.


Wow....the view!!!

3,2 sur mai 23, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at this B&B. The owners made us feel welcome and we felt free to roam around the lovely grounds, petting chickens, cows, the dog and cat. Lovely waterfall with koi pond. Fresh eggs from the "girls" each morning. We had the entire top floor with a view from each side of the house. The bedroom view was exceptional!!! The mountain was right there is all it's glory. Very peaceful and restful time. We also enjoyed the stars from the hot tub. This is a country setting. There are no locks on the doors, so if that bothers you, this is not your place to stay. We had no problem with it. This is a casual setting and suits us fine. We would recommend this lovely B&B. C&A

Réponse du propriétaire
Hi to our recent guests! Thanks you guys for your wonderful review of your stay and the b&b! Jerry says that he enjoyed the conversations with you! He filled me in and I wish that I could have been home from work to get to know you too! Thanks again!


Outstanding Stay

5 sur avril 20, 2012

What a wonderful place that supports local businesses as well and does so much within the community!


Perfect Place for a Secluded Getaway

5 sur avril 08, 2012

My partner and i wend to Husum Highlands B&B to get back in sync with each other after being apart for two months. Upon arrival (we were late) we were warmly greeted and provided warm cookies and offers of refreshment even at the late hour. We stayed on the top floor where you have the floor to yourself. The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and everything possible needed was either present or available. The main be with its thousands of pillows was comfortable and large enough for two guys to sleep comfortably. Breakfast each morning was truly delightful , and Jerry very understanding of us late risers, with innovative tastes which surprised us but were great all the same. Both Jerry and Carol were always happy to give us directions or ideas as to what was happening locally and what drives, trips, shopping would meet our description of what we were interested. All in all a wonderful experience for both myself and my partner and we definitely look forward to visiting again to see their wonderfully landscaped back area in full bloom.


Cute place in the country.

2,8 sur février 09, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a relaxing weekend at Husum Highlands. Carol and Jerry were very nice and accommodating with our special needs. We had a lovely view of Mt. Hood from our room, in fact all of the rooms that we saw boast that view. My husband very much enjoyed his stay. For me it was middle-of-the road. Bed was super comfy, location was perfect for relaxing. The hot water seemed to be a bit inconsistent. I had one COLD shower, one warm bath and one hot bath, so was completely unpredictable. It was a full house the weekend I was there and I don't know if it was because of the amount of people, but I needed more food to eat at Breakfast. The breakfast part of a B & B is half of the experience and I felt that there needed to be more. Or even granola and milk available if you were still hungry. All of us ate every bit of everything. I was hungry one hour later and happy I brought along snacks. I would recommend increasing the portions. And one morning my eggs were cold. Maybe putting them in the oven to keep them warm while all else is cooking might be a good idea. It was not horrible at all though. Jerry did a great job of some yummy food, it was just lacking a little, in my opinion, especially for the price. But we did get a special winter rate, so maybe I need to stop whining... We would definitely go back, but only if we get a special rate, and would bring snacks again. Carol and Jerry recommended a restaurant in White Salmon(Hennis's Kitchen) which we thoroughly enjoyed. We are looking forward to coming back to this area just to eat there. So thanks! It was nice to taste something that was local. So, while it wasn't amazing, we would recommend it, and from our experience aren't sure why there are some old reviews that are so horrible. We were happy that we tried this place.


First time at a B & B - Good experience

4,0 sur décembre 11, 2011

Pleasant room. Good breakfast. Enjoyed visiting with the host. We were the only guests that evening. Gorgeous view of Mount Hood. Only suggestions are to arrive in the daytime so you can enjoy the views and areas surrounding the home and print off the map from the website. DON'T rely on your GPS-it will fail you.:)


A wonderful adventure.

4,6 sur octobre 27, 2011

Loved the location. Dinner at the BBQ place in town was great.


Husum Highlands in October 2011

4,0 sur octobre 24, 2011

The Stockwells greeted us at the door of their cozy country inn, and we settled right in. Carol's a treat - I wish I'd had a chance to visit more with her. Jerry's very open and warm and makes a great breakfast. Our room - Ashley's room - was cozy and comfortable. The house is a modern quasi-Victorian with lots of gorgeous woodwork and interesting spaces. Fun! The view from the house is wonderful - a sweeping view of the White Salmon River valley, full of pear orchards and of the mountains beyond. We found plenty to do - hiking and exploring the Ice Caves nearby. Dining inexpensively is a challenge, but Beneventi's and Los Reyes in Bingen are good choices for a reasonable dinner ticket. Los Reyes makes a very nice Albondigas soup (beef meatball & vegetable). Beneventi's is known for their pizza, but they've got a good menu that includes a number of other choices. Don't miss the Maryhill Museum of Art further up the gorge - it's well worth the drive to the east.


Incredible stay at Husum Highlands

5 sur octobre 13, 2011

We stayed at Husum Highlands B&B on our way home from spending a week along the Oregon Coast. It was dark by the time we started making our way to the B&B and as we drove along the very dark and a little intimidating roads, we wondered several times if anyone really lived out there in the middle of nowhere. However, as we got closer, we were comforted with the signs that led us to the amazingly beautiful and comfortable place they call Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast. Since we arrived after dark, we were pleasantly surprised by the beauty that we awoke to the next morning with fall colors everywhere you looked and the smell of a delicious breakfast being prepared by our host Jerry. Everything about this B&B was amazing and wonderful. Hope to stay there again some day.


Highlands Retreat

5 sur octobre 05, 2011

It is always a pleasure to stay at Husum Highlands, a retreat high on a mountainside. We stay in Peggy's Room with its view of Mt. Hood. The curtained four-poster is complimented by antique furniture in the bedroom and bath, complete with claw-foot tub and thick, fluffy towels. Guests can rest in the soft complimentary robes while watching tv either or the pillowed bed or comfy couch. Outdoors, a waterfall and koi pond welcome guests when they drive up and the grounds are surrounded on two sides with mountain foliage and trees. The other two provide views of the White Salmon Valley and Mt. Hood. Carol and Jerry are gracious hosts who serve delicious breakfast in the spacious, farm sized kitchen and encourage a relaxed atmosphere with their conversation with the guests. They have always been especially acommodating to my special needs. The nearby towns of White Salmon, Husum, and Hood River provide places to eat and shop. When I needed emergency dental service, we found an excellent dentist in Hood River, Oregon just a few miles away. The Columbia River Gorge provides unlimited recreation and beautiful sites. We recommend Husum Highlands to anyone wanting a quiet, restful experience in a comfortable B & B.


Nice views

4,0 sur octobre 04, 2011

The views, once we arrived at Husum Highlands after driving 6 hours, was very impressive. The grounds out back were very pretty and it would be a great setting for a wedding, if you didn't plan to stay there. It is a good half hour from town and the windy partially dirt road and small signs were a little confusing. We found our initial greeting by Jerry to be less than impressive. The house was cute, but there were no locks on any doors. Our "Suite" that we had reserved was on the third floor and cute, but the daybed was out in the open area of the 3rd floor...no door. Due to the lack of hospitality we were greeted with, which B & B's are usually famous for, and also the lack of privacy and security, we chose to leave and not continue our stay. Our money was not refunded by Jerry. Caveat Emptor


Lovely stay

4,0 sur septembre 03, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. It was a quick stay as we got in late and had to leave early the next morning. But what I'll remember is the awesome white tub and taking a bath the next morning with a view of the valley, and a delicious breakfast which the inn keepers delivered to our room. We'll definitely be back!


Husum Highlands

4,8 sur août 31, 2011

The view is breathtaking and our room was very comfortable with a pretty view of the valley and Mt. Hood. Carol and Jerry are very friendly and the breakfast was outstanding. My only complaint was that you could hear every footstep that any of the other guests made because the house is old and the floors creek. It wouldn't have been an issue but some guests got in close to midnight and made a lot of noise. It truly is a wonderful place to go and relax.


Stay at Husum Highlands

5 sur juillet 16, 2011

This was our first time staying at Jusum Highlands bed and Breakfast. It was a beautiful place to stay! The accomodations were more than adequate. We took our 3 adult children with us and stayed in the rooms on the top floor. The views from the windows were amazing. The breakfast was terrific and even filled up our two boys which is an accomplishment in it self. The beds were extremely comfortable and the place was super clean. We would recommend Husum Highlands as a wonderful place to stay overnight or for an extended time. Thank you Carol and Jerry!


great location, nice people.

3,4 sur mai 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed for our anniversary, it has amazing views, great breakfast, nice people, very quiet and relaxing. We will definitely stay again, and recommend to our friends. :)


it's all about the view

3,2 sur mars 28, 2011

a great view of Mt Hood can be had from this out-of-the-way location - as long as it is not shrouded in clouds. The grounds around the house are very beautiful, even in early spring, and I imagine they must be a perfect backdrop for a summer wedding. Jerry made a delightful breakfast and is very knowledgeable about the area.


husum highlands getaway

5 sur novembre 03, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Peggy's Room - which I feel was the brightest and most homey of them all. We had the dinner on Friday night that they offer to make for $23 per person. It was delightful and savory. The grounds were lovely and well-kept. Was able to have a peaceful and restful time. Would return.


I want to go back again!

5 sur août 15, 2010

We loved this B&B - had no idea how fabulous the views could be, how relaxing the location was, how inviting the decor was, how clean everything was, how yummy & homemade the food was, and we hope to return again in the near future. I could see this place being fabulous for a wedding, which they do do at this B&B - I loved driving up, up, up into the mountains & being rewarded with a darling home, lovely hosts & most spectacular views - I felt like Heidi on a mountainside, breathing the fresh air, and loving this beautiful part of our world - Do go for a stay...you will not be disappointed!!!!


A Wonderful Find

5 sur août 22, 2009

My husband and I happened upon this B&B, and had a wonderful stay there. The grounds are stunning, the rooms are beautiful. We highly reccommend this to anyone wishing a peaceful stay with incredible views.


A Magical Stay

5 sur juillet 07, 2008

Carol and Jerry are what make this place so unique and special. Their hospitality and graciousness made us comfortable and welcome. The grounds are stunning for a walk, and the views all around are magnificent. We highly recommend Husum Highlands, and will definitely be returning soon!


Husum Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $155 - $189
  • Avis (45) 4,4
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5094934503
  • Portable 1-5414903952
  • Portable 1-5414900058

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut