Inn on Poplar Hill Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,5
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
50 Avis

Ecrire un avis

My fiance and our little dog had an AMAZING TIME!

5 sur mars 18, 2014

This is such a cozy, homey, and inviting get-away! The innkeepers were very hospitable and went the extra mile to make sure we had an amazing time. We will definitely be returning and staying with Marty and Victoria again in the near future!!!


Lovely House and Lovely Innkeepers

5 sur février 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in the Rose room. The room and connected bathroom were awesome. We enjoyed privacy, but Marty and Victoria were available if we needed anything. They were extremely hospitable and helped to make our stay very relaxing and fun. The house is awesome and has been restored beautifully. Breakfast was wonderful and kept us full until the afternoon. We are already looking forward to staying here again!


Beautiful Fall Getaway!

4,6 sur novembre 09, 2013

We spent the weekend in the Blue Willow room and couldn't have asked for better accommodations or service. Marty and Victoria serve an awesome breakfast and their advice on what to do or see in the area was spot on. We look forward to a return trip but will plan more time to just wander around the property and enjoy its peace and beauty. We left relaxed and rested so the trip was a success!


Stay at Inn on Poplar Hill

4,4 sur novembre 07, 2013

Great place to stay!


Anniversary Stay

5 sur octobre 25, 2013

Our stay at the Inn on Poplar Hill was wonderful. It was a great get away from the city and quiet time away from the children. The owners are very knowledgable about the area and were extremely helpful in planning out our days of wine tasting and sight seeing. It was great to just go at our own pace and take in the sights. Great location to stay and close to a lot of vineyards. We can't wait to stay there again soon. Thank you for a memorable anniversary.


Great get away!!

4,4 sur septembre 12, 2013

What a great place to get away from day to day life. This place was on 26 acres with trails and pond. So you could feel like you were out in the wilderness or walk to down town and eat a great dinner and/or have a drink or two. Mary and Victoria made you feel very welcome.


Keswick friends

5 sur août 21, 2013

We just love your place. Comfortable, and the food is just wonderful.


Fabulous Experience

5 sur juin 20, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Inn on Poplar Hill while attending a wedding. I was extremely late in arriving, (midnight) and Marty was so very gracious I couldn't believe it! Breakfast the next morning was delightful, I am excited to make the souffles that Victoria made, which are on their website! I was not only a guest at the wedding, I made the gown and unfortunately it was a little large! Victoria not only loaned me her sewing machine, but she even helped me sew the final lace to the bodice! Now, honestly where would you ever find such a loving,helpful innkeeper! I can never thank these two delightful people enough and I can hardly wait for my husband and I to go there again and have a relaxing, delightful time at the Inn on Poplar Hill!


A Beautiful and Friendly Inn

5 sur juin 02, 2013

We stayed at the Inn with our golden retriever, who was really welcomed there (and not just tolerated). She specially appreciated the dog biscuits in the room. We loved the room we had in this old-fashioned inn, and really enjoyed the breakfasts, which really were "gourmet," and a real change from our usual spartan fare at home. The owners, Marty and Victoria, are warm and friendly, and very helpful in sharing local sightseeing and entertainment--we went to two lovely vineyards for tastings on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Marty also showed us how to get around the horrors of I95 in the Virginia suburbs south of D.C., where we had been in a 100 mile traffic jam on the way south. We recommend the inn without hesitation and with absolute confidence that everyone who goes there will enjoy it as much as we did.


Lovely B&B!

4,6 sur mai 23, 2013

The Inn at Poplar Hill is a lovely retreat! Marty & Victoria provide great service and wonderful food along with lots of information about the local area. All of the guests we shared the weekend with had a great time together which was an additional bonus!


Hospitality coupled with helpful local knowledge.

4,0 sur mai 07, 2013

Owners are highly accommodating and knowledgeable about local opportunities, allowing guests to make the most of their time in Virginia wine, horse and garden country.


So very family friendly!

5 sur avril 02, 2013

Our family of 8, including 2 grandchildren ages 6 had such a fabulous time staying 2 nights in March. Hosts Marty and Victoria are special people, making sure we were comfortable. Some of the many things they did- cookie jar always full, coffee and OJ brought up to rms before excellent breakfast served, rec rm for us to use at all times (so nice to relax there by the fire,and play some of the many games on hand), 28 acres to explore with a pond to fish. They also have helpful tips on local things to do. We couldn't be happier for our family gathering! John and Kathy Davis


Perfect Get-Away

4,6 sur avril 01, 2013

This was a superb definition of get-away experience, bolstered by the hosts' recommendations of what to see and do in the area.


Outstanding value- AND pet friendly

4,2 sur mars 07, 2013

We were able to book a last minute trip for our family and our 2 large dogs. The innkeeper couldnt have been nicer or more accommodating. Can't wait to visit again!


Worst stay in a B&B ever

1,6 sur février 25, 2013

I so looked forward to staying in this B&B based on the website and previous reviews. I have stayed at other B7Bs in the Orange area and they were wonderful, so I expected the same happy experience. I stayed in the Black Walnut room which was "stink" bug(per Marty) infested. I ended up sleeping in my clothes on the couch in the room as the bugs were flying into the wall above the headboard and dropping down onto the pillows or behind the bed, they flew into my hair and dropped into my pizza as I was trying to eat. I can't speak for the breakfast as after a sleepless miserable night, I just wanted to leave. The only part of the room I used was the toilet, mostly to flush the bugs down as I was told they "stink' if you smash them. Result, the most expensive pay toilet you could imagine, I was willing to give the B&B another chance on my next visit as Marty assured me this had never happened before, however they ignored my written request via email for some type of comp, therefore, I definitely would not risk another $200 fiasco knowing that compensation is not likely. The room had cobwebs, dead spiders and no handsoap on the sink, luckily I had hand sanitizer in my car that I spent a good deal of time in during the night. I appeared to be the only guest and I will say that Marty did come and catch bugs when I called, After 9pm, I was not going to call again.


Pampered at the Inn on Poplar Hill!

4,2 sur février 17, 2013

After returning home from a two-night stay to celebrate Valentine's Day and my husband's birthday, all I can say to sum up our experience at the Inn on Poplar Hill is that we were very much spoiled. Marty and Victoria are welcoming, accommodating, kind, and treated us like royalty. The breakfasts at the inn are out of this world. We've been to several highly-rated B&Bs and agreed that this was the best--the kind of dining you'd expect from a 5-star restaurant. Mouth-watering souffle, blueberry scones, and banana pancakes were just a few delicacies we enjoyed. Victoria gave us options of what we would like each morning and even let us try a little of each dish! Marty gave us fantastic recommendations for planning our vineyard excusions. We had brought along our small dog (yes, the inn welcomes dogs!) and didn't want to leave her in the room and he suggested fantastic nearby wineries that were dog-friendly and even gave us passes for a free tasting and a cheese/meat plate (which we thoroughly enjoyed). Looking back, the only constructive criticism we could offer was that the shower needed to be either replaced or repaired (or perhaps leave a "user's guide" in the room for more easy operation?). We had a hard time taking a comfortable shower and couldn't figure out how to get it working properly. The water only trickled out of the handheld sprayer, and we couldn't figure out how to get the overhead lights to work (it was quite dark in the shower room at night). Overall, we returned rested and enjoyed our time at the Inn on Poplar Hill immensely. We highly recommend it for those who are looking for a relaxing getaway. We are already planning our return visit, and can't wait to come back!!!


Awesome hideaway!

4,4 sur janvier 31, 2013

Marty & Victoria were great hosts! This was our first time staying at a bed&breakfast in Virginia. The inn is ideally situated for going on wine tours and touring historic plantations in the area. We will definitely be coming back!


A wonderful couple's escape!

4,8 sur janvier 30, 2013

Wonderful bed and breakfast, Marty & Victoria are incredibly attentive, knowledgable about the area, and Victoria is an amazing chef! The grounds behind the bed and breakfast are also beautiful and definitely warrant exploring


Charming Inn with caring and attentive Innkeepers

5 sur janvier 25, 2013

The service is great and the breakfast is an amazing, three course, feast, you that will keep you full until dinner time. The Innkeepers Marty and Victoria are such wonderful good hearted people, and you can definitely tell they enjoy what they do. Pet Friendly! They have two rooms on the first floor that are pet friendly! They'll give you a dog bowl and some dog treats to ensure your furry friend is comfortable too. Their 28 acres with well groomed trails is a great, safe place to let the dog run or for you to take a nice walk after the wonderful breakfast. My favorite part about the Inn on Poplar Hill is the laid back atmosphere. The Inn keepers are very easy going and welcoming. This Inn has something unique that adds to the great atmosphere: a game room. It is a little separated from the house including a big 50" TV, a gigantic leather couch, pool table, wii, and all the board games that you haven't seen since you were a child. It's great because the noise doesn't interupt the other guests and it's a wonderful place to go if you come home from a great dinner and you aren't quite ready to go to bed, or sit in your room quietly. The rooms also have tv's in them. My visit to the Inn was in January, and we loved it. I can't imagine how wonderful it is in the spring and summer when everything is green and wildflowers are growing throughout the property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be coming back in the future.


Very pleasant weekend

4,2 sur janvier 17, 2013

Comfortable room, well-stocked game room, good winery advice, and delicious breakfasts!


Wonderful, Peaceful Weekend

4,8 sur janvier 12, 2013

My husband and I booked a room last minute in January for the weekend. Marty and Victoria were extremely accommodating when we mentioned we needed to bring our golden retriever. The grounds are amazing and the perfect place to enjoy a walk. Our dog loved the grounds and the pond. The breakfasts were some of the best I've had at bed and breakfasts and the soup by the fireplace was a nice touch. Victoria is a fantastic cook. We will definitely be adding this B&B on our list of places to stay.


Amazing B&B!

5 sur janvier 06, 2013

The Inn on Poplar Hill is the best bed and breakfast we have ever been to. We chose this venue for our small (nine guests) wedding in December of 2012. Marty and Victoria made sure that we had a memorable weekend, filled with amazing food and comfortable beds. In addition, there is never a lack of activities with their fun game room, two fire pits, lake, and trails. We had a great time and the family keeps raving about how nice and fun the wedding was. We cannot wait to come back and stay there. Thank you Marty and Victoria!


Amazing little getaway

4,8 sur août 05, 2012

This was my husband's second B&B stay ever and my first, and Victoria and Marty have converted us! We had childcare and were able to spend a few nights away from home (but not too far!) We stayed in the Garden Room, which was pretty and comfortable. Be advised that the bathroom is across the hallway, but robes are provided. The grounds are amazing, and the breakfasts are so good that I came home and wanted to make them myself! We spent our time visiting area attractions, but I would love to go back and spend more time walking the trails and hanging out at the pond.


Wonderful place to visit.

4,0 sur août 05, 2012

Just wanted to say that we really enjoyed out visit to The Inn on Poplar Hill. Really great history in this house. Breakfast was fantastic.


Relaxing, casual, just right for us

5 sur juillet 07, 2012

We came for history--to see the homes of four presidents. We got far more because staying at this lovely, relaxing, casual inn with Marty and Victoria hosting, we were able to also rest, enjoy the solitude--or company, of the non-obtrusive kind: sweet cats, dragonflies, gold fish, guests sharing stories and smiles at the breakfast table. Our 14-year old is a history-buff, Marty patiently answered his questions and showed him maps and shared interesting tidbits about the area--very impressive to a young historian. Victoria's cookies and kindness were a huge part of creating a comfort zone for a boy who was missing his video games and own room! The grounds always attracted us to walk around and enjoy the wildflowers and ponds--one very natural and quiet, the other a pretty gold fish pond with a trickle of water. In short, we stayed an extra day because we settled in comfortably and hated to come back to our busy life near Philadelphia.


Great Food, Great Service

4,2 sur juin 13, 2012

We stayed at Poplar Hill to attend a wedding next door. We received very friendly service and the breakfast was the best we've ever had at a hotel or bed and breakfast. The inn keepers were totally flexible with our coming and going, and gave us lots of great suggestions. It is a huge property so there are lots of nice places to hang out and see nature there as well. We didn't need much local information, but the inn keepers set up wine tours and history tours for other guests which was impressive.


Loved my time at the Inn!

4,8 sur avril 16, 2012

Life has been dealing us a bunch of lemons lately and Marty & Victoria at the Inn at Poplar Hill took those and helped us make lemonade!! We had a luxurous time this past weekend. Free tastings at vineyards. A picnic basket with delicious food to eat. A massage and steam shower the next morning. A decadent breakfast. And, best of all, the hidden hammock for peace, serenity, and the centering of mother nature. Marty & Victoria made sure that we had EVERYTHING we needed to relax and enjoy ourselves. They truly cared about us! I am already planning our next trip! See ya soon Marty & Victoria!!!


Weekend Getaway

5 sur avril 15, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at his B&B in Orange, VA for a spur of the moment weekend getaway. We enjoyed many close by wineries with excellent tips from the innkeeper Marty. Their property was fantastic and the walking trails throughout the grounds was fabulous and led us to a hidden hammock secluded in the poplar trees. Both Marty and his wife Victoria were so welcoming and accomdating with a superb breakfast in the morning and a game room where we were able to unwind with a game of pool and watch the game on the flat screen TV after a day of wine tasting! Thanks for a fantastic weekend away!


My review has come a little late, but better late than never

4,8 sur décembre 06, 2011

We were guests at my brother in-laws wedding, the wedding was held on Marty and Victoria's grounds, it was truly beautiful. Victoria is an excellent cook and Marty is a fantastic conversationalist ( but not too much ). My husband and I had our 22 month old son with us ( this was almost 3 years ago ), and he woke me up Very early in the morning, no matter if it was 6:30 or 8:30 ( and it was usually 6:30 ), when I got up with my little man, there my morning coffee was right outside my door on a little silver platter. We stayed for 4 days and Victoria and Marty took care of me every morning. They even brought out a highchair for our little guy that was their grandchild's I believe, Wow! Our finances are a little tight currently, but when things turn around I would definitely love to return, maybe even for a murder/mystery event, now that would be fun!


Great Personable Hosts at Inn On Poplar Hill!

4,6 sur juin 27, 2011

Planning a vineyard and winery tour of Virginia, my wife and I chose the Inn on Poplar Hill to stay as our very first B&B experience from 6/25 thru 6/26/11. We were not disappointed. From the time we made our first reservations, Marty and Victoria provided fantastic, personal customer service. Unfortunately, my wife and I had to change our reservations twice prior to our stay. Marty, was so accomodating and understanding allowing us to make changes as well as even upgrading our room because the same room was no longer available for the date we wanted - AT NO CHARGE! Not only do Marty and Victoria offer great customer service but also offer fantastic personal conversation and friendliness. They treat you as if they've known you for years! Victoria is a fantastic cook and breakfast was delicious! The breaksfast choices for the morning we stayed included french toast stuffed with cream cheese and jam and what Victoria called "Eggs Benny', a take on Eggs Benedict. A poatched egg topped a slice of Polenta and a slice of tomato. A hollandaise sauce with fresh chopped basil picked right from their own garden covered the dish. Absolutely amazing!! I've never had a poatched egg before but loved the breakfast. My wife and I are already attempting to plan a November trip with other family members for perhaps a Murder-Mystery weekend at the Inn on Poplar Hill. We would both absolutely recommend a stay with Marty and Victoria, they are great hosts!


Beautiful and relaxing weekend!

4,4 sur juin 05, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Inn on Poplar Hill. The rooms are gorgeous and the grounds surrounding the home are breathtaking. Breakfasts by Victoria were fantastic as well. Just a short 25 min drive from Charlottesville, you have the opportunity to experience the beautiful countryside as well as the many wonderful wineries nearby.


outstanding

5 sur mai 31, 2011

Very relaxing, a great get away weekend place. You can walk the grounds and feel like your in a different place. The fishing is fun and quiet as you sip on a drink. The innkeepers cater to you like nothing else. I have certain food allergies and Victoria fixed me a breakfast that was perfect. I would recommend this Inn in a heart beat.


wonderful stay

5 sur mai 06, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to go on a relaxing short trip to the countryside to get some downtime, and so we booked the Garden room and had an amazing time. The best part about the room was that it came with a steam shower that I will definitely look into getting one day. Marty was extremely friendly and helpful in recommending places to go and see around the b&b. Also, we were pleasantly surprised by Victoria's 3-course gourmet breakfast that was delicious! The property is beautiful, and we really enjoyed the many trails behind the house. Definitely coming back! :)


Breakfast :If I could give it higher than Outstanding, I would!!!

4,0 sur janvier 18, 2011

Never been to a B and B before and wasn't sure what to expect. But, from the moment we arrived we loved it! Mr. Steamer shower was fantastic. Room was beautiful. The owners, Marty and Victoria, were so kind and felt just like friends. We were only able to stay for one night (amazing we got away at all with 4 little ones at home- thanks Mom for watching them- ha) but, the break that we got by going to the Inn On Poplar Hill will be cherished forever! Complimentary passes to a local winery for a tasting, wonderful cookies in the endless cookie jar and The Breakfast!!! WoW! We have never had such a delicious breakfast and made sure to finish every last crumb. Being that we were here in the winter time we didn't get to enjoy all that could be in the warmer months. We hope to come back when it is warmer and enjoy the many trails on their large property, sit and just relax on their front porch and maybe lay in the hammock. I would highly recommend it and could go on and on....Also, don't forget the game room- we had a lot of fun playing pool there. We had our bottle of wine that we got earlier at the winery and enjoyed the fireplace. Marty and Victoria were very thoughtful and helpful and yet gave us plenty of privacy as well. We were served our breakfast by the fire and that was a nice touch as well. Can't wait to come back!..One more thing- their website sealed the deal for us when deciding where to go, it is really helpful and I loved hearing their story of how it all started.


great wine weekend

5 sur décembre 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I came down for a leisurely weekend of wine tasting. We are so glad to have found this relaxed, beautiful inn. I think it was the proximity to the wineries along with the large acreage for nice walking that made it so wonderful. Also Marty and Victoria are so accommodating and knowledgeable about things to do.


Wonderfully Peaceful

5 sur novembre 10, 2010

We had such a lovely time staying at the Inn on Poplar Hill! Marty and Victoria were wonderful, the house was charming, and the serene beauty of the grounds made you feel like you had escaped reality and could just "be." Todd and I enjoyed exploring the many trails that were mapped out around the property and taking in the colors of the changing leaves. We will always hold the Inn on Poplar Hill dear to our hearts as that is where we got engaged! I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking to escape their fast paced life and exchange it for a rocking chair on the front porch, a glass of wine, and a good conversation. Maggie Virginia Beach, Va


Restful Relaxing Retreat!!

5 sur juillet 12, 2010

My husband and I booked the Black Walnut Room for the 4th of July weekend simply wanting to escape the city and relax. It was my our first stay at a B&B and we were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the attentive Innkeepers and pampered up until our departure. We enjoyed walking the grounds, picking berries, sitting in the front porch rocking chair enjoying a cookie or two from the never empty cookie jar and just relaxing in our room. Victoria's breakfasts were out of this world!! Marty's knowledge of the area and recommendations for dinner and local events were much appreciated. We cannot wait to plan our next trip back!!


Don't miss the Inn on Poplar Hill

5 sur juin 08, 2010

My husband and I recently enjoyed a weekend at The Inn on Poplar Hill for our anniversary. As working parents of two young children, we don't often have an opportunity to take time for ourselves. Marty and Victoria graciously opened their home to us, making our stay one we won't soon forget. They care a great deal about their guests, providing impeccable service, delicious home-cooked breakfasts, helpful suggestions for weekend activities and a special Southern hospitality. We will recommend The Inn on Poplar Hill to friends and family in search of the perfect bed and breakfast.


Family "girls" weekend....fun, fun, fun, felt like being at home without all the work and stresss

4,0 sur mai 17, 2010

Food was incredible! Marty and Victoria were helpful and acccomadating. Learned a lot about b&b's from Marty. Murder mystery was like the icing on the caLeaders like NASA are doing really well with Robotic Explorers, but I feel they lack the will to further Human Flight! It seems we will be stuck in Earth Orbit for a while, unless Russia decides to built a LSS (Luna Space Station) and a Moon Base. Russia has the technology and if they recognize a potential market, they will find a niche market so the can make money and keep the industry alive! They have Energia and all they have to do is resurrect an uprated Proton/Zond System!


Wonderful Innkeepers

5 sur mai 11, 2010

Marty and Victoria love being innkeepers. It shows up in so many ways - from the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies to the coffee outside the door in the morning to the delicious breakfasts to the beautifully kept grounds - and it goes on and on. They know how to pamper without being intrusive and are flexible enough to accommodate a variety of requests. The rooms are lovely and the bed we had was comfortably firm - just the way we like it. We'll be back!


WOW!

5 sur avril 27, 2010

11 of us friends celebrated the fifth anniversary of our book club in this beautiful and historic bed and breakfast. The owners, Marty and Victoria provided us with the most professional and yet charming and thoughtful hospitality. They were friendly and sweet but definitely not overbearing. As an elegant, delicious and generously portioned eight course appetizer and dinner was being served, we participated in a murder mystery each of us playing a character. This was an incredibly fun experience and so well arranged ahead of time by the owners. Our rooms were beautiful, clean and large, and our beds most comfortable. The grounds are beautifully kept with some lovely spots for picnics. Some of us stayed up very late in the spacious game/party room with a billiard table and flat screen TV going in and out to the spacious balcony overlooking a lovely pond with a running fountain. The elegant Persian carpets, nice furniture and fire place provided a classic atmosphere even in the game room. Breakfast included several dishes. Victoria’s stuffed French toast was out of this world. I asked for the recipe and got it! Uh… one other lovely gesture was that the owners gave all of us complementary passes to a wonderful nearby winery. Of course we started our winery visits with that one. My husband and I recommend this place very highly. It truly surpassed all of our expectations. It is so perfect for group and yet it is romantic and serene and just as good for couples. We have stayed in many B&B places and this ranks among the very top.


Great Spot in Orange County

5 sur novembre 09, 2009

Perfect location. Amazing acreage. My daughter has fallen in love with the VA Countryside. Thanks so much!


I felt like a queen!

5 sur octobre 20, 2009

This was the best B&B experience I have ever had! Nothing made me feel more royal than my coffee tray served outside my door every morning- ahhh,and our breakfast in front of the fireplace was so romantic-from the silver coffee pot being poured for me to the divine scones and other goodies- ahh the cookies too! The area affords so many lovely outings, and the hosts are attentive but not invasive! The grounds are great for wandering-- sheer peace and tranquility. I can't wait to return!


Delightful and Serene

5 sur août 11, 2009

Incredible breakfast- serene setting- fabulous hosts- The Inn is always one of my favorite stops on the way to and from DC. The rooms are charming wi. th extremely comfortable bedding. We will be stopping by again next Summer.


Home away from home

5 sur juillet 07, 2009

A delightful weekend for adults and kids. Marty and Victoria treated us like visiting royalty. Breakfast was gourmet yummy.


Fabulous B&B!

5 sur juin 30, 2009

My fiancee and I stayed at the Inn on Poplar Hill so we could enjoy a Hot Air Balloon trip and a few day getaway. Victoria and Marty are super nice people - a Southern hospitality that has long been forgotten by other chains!! These two are a great pair - Jeremy and I enjoyed coffee and tea (brought to our door on a table outside our room) an hour before breakfast every morning. Victoria's cooking is AMAZING - I'm gluten intolerant (Celiac) and she went out of her way to make sure that I could eat all her cooking. This include pumpkin souflee (DELICIOUS), artichoke eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit...and her cookie bowl, filled with chocolate chip cookies, included a SEPARATE cookie jar with gluten free chocolate chip blueberry cookies. We stayed in the Black Walnut Room, which was awesome - our shower looked like a space elevator with a knob for back massagers, foot massagers, a normal faucet, jacuzzi jets, and a ceiling thing too. Jeremy and I had talked about visiting other B&B's for when we make a second trip to Orange to skydive, but we both agreed that we are definitely coming back to The Inn on Poplar Hill. Oh, did I mention that you can pick raspberries right off the property and eat them? There is a game room, a swing, a hammock...a hidden real life dollhouse in the woods for the kids...(we don't have any, but I am a kid, so I thought that was cool. Highly recommend this!!


Marty and Victoria Saved our Weekend!

5 sur juin 01, 2009

Thank you a million times over for spoiling us and saving what was starting out as a miserable weekend. Friday night was spent in a dirty, dank, un-airconditioned b & b in Nellysford, VA. However, it is darkest just before the dawn! The only other inn we knew in the area, the Keswick, was fully booked. The clerk there suggested we call the Inn on Poplar Hill. A desperate phone call placed to the Inn on Poplar Hill turned into a WONDERFUL experience. Not only were we given the military discount (my husband is Army), Victoria was kind enough to thank him for serving his country. From the moment we arrived the owners were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Both Marty and Victoria greeted us with the phrase, "welcome to our home". That in and of itself speaks volumes and is a testament to the graciousness and warmth that permeate everything about the inn. After a tour of the inn and property Marty himself carried our bags up to the room. Victoria recommended a wonderful French bistro within walking distance from the Inn and personally called to secure or dining reservations. The room was gorgeous, clean and cool (which meant a lot as we were arriving from a B & B with dirty rooms and no air conditioning. Plush linens, handmade soaps, and perfectly appointed toiletries were provided. We slept like babies and awoke to fresh tea (for me) and decaf coffee (for hubby). Breakfast was a veritable feast: homemade pecan sticky buns, fresh bacon, spinach & artichoke egg pie, rosemary potatoes, cubed melon, blueberry pancakes, warm maple syrup, fresh juices, tea and coffee. This was served family style (Marty was gentle with his suggestion that one of the other guests please pass to the right... lol... the true mark of manners is indeed making others feel at ease and he did this flawlessly) upon fine china. I've stayed in B & B's across the U.S. and abroad and can honestly say this inn is a gem! Thank you so much for saving our weekend!


A home away from home

5 sur octobre 23, 2008

The inn on Poplar Hill is our new home away from home. Marty and Victoria welcomed us in like family and treated us that was for out entire trip! The food is amazing, the rooms are very comfortable. It is overall the best vacation we have taken so far! I would recommend this inn to anyone and everyone!


Anniversary Stay at Inn.

5 sur décembre 11, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed our 10 year anniversary while staying at the inn on poplar hill. Marty and Victoria were wonderful hosts.


Great Stay

4,0 sur septembre 16, 2007

1st B&B so no comparison, but had no complaints. Lovely house, location. Good food. Innkeepers down to earth, helpful. Stayed in Rose room tucked away from the rest of the house which was nice. Only issue was train goes through town at all hours of the night (and blows horn) - in summer, likely would be drowned out by AC units. I expect that would be the same issue at any B&B in Orange.


Inn on Poplar Hill

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $119 - $215
  • Avis (50) 4,7
  • Chambres 6
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5406726840
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8667675274

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut