Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,3

Notation basée sur
117 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A Wonderful Experience!

4,8 sur septembre 16, 2014

My two granddaughters and I stayed at Applewood Inn in August. This was their first B&B experience, and what a wonderful one it was. Chris and Linda were so cordial and welcoming. We were made to feel more like friends than guests. The serene setting is very releaxing. The rooms are a good size, comfortably decorated, and immaculate. The girls loved hearing stories from Chris and Linda about the Llamas and their distinct personalities. They were able to interact with them as well. Our two breakfasts included an egg dish and corn cakes that were fantastic! Everything was freshly prepared. The girls had so much fun, they didn't even miss TV or iPads. We hope to return to Applewood Inn for another visit. Highly, highly, highly recommended for either couples or a family with children who can appreciate what nature has to offer. Debbie, Cameron & Olivia / Fairfax VA


Lovely rural location!

4,6 sur septembre 13, 2014

Chris and Linda were so welcoming and outgoing, it was a pleasure to stay at their bed and breakfast! Very convenient for us with pets, too... Thanks so much for your hospitality!


APPLEWOOD INN STAY

4,4 sur août 06, 2014

Chris and Linda were wonderful host. The Inn is located in a perfect spot for a quiet getaway. Only complaint was being able to hear the other guest staying in the room above when they sat on their balcony porch. I would go back again when I'm stayin in the Lexington area.


Great place to stay!

4,6 sur août 05, 2014

Applewood was a great stop over on our trip. The innkeepers are friendly and chatty, willing to give tips on restaurants and attractions in the area. The llamas are a unique touch. The rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. The bowl of chocolates in the room and cookies in the common area were a nice touch too. Our room had a private porch and hot tub and the pool was very inviting. Folks there during our stay had dietary restrictions that were accommodated deliciously, and while I have been at other B&Bs with more variety at the table, no one left hungry. They kept the coffee flowing too!


Applewood inn

4,8 sur août 01, 2014

Awesome!!!


Unique B&B Experience

4,4 sur juillet 27, 2014

I certainly had a great time with my kids (ages, 9, 9 and 20) here -- this is a wonderful B&B for families, not one of those "adults only" places where you dare not bring your children. The Blue Ridge Room is a comfortable suite with a queen bed and sofa bed, plus large bathroom and a rustic and airy private porch that overlooks the llama pasture. The decor is serene and features Linda's lovely watercolor paintings of the mountains, rustic barns, and even some of the llamas. A short walk past the barn and up the hill takes you to a 360 panoramic view of the surrounding mountains and fields -- stunning! My kids had a great time playing in the pool and we all loved the pumpkin pancakes and fresh fruit. We also took a dip in the picturesque river that runs along the gravel road into the property. We will definitely stay here again.


Serene

3,6 sur juillet 11, 2014

If you are looking for peace and quite as well as something off the beaten track then Applewood Inn is such a place. Room was nice; the setting was great;. the Llama were a bonus. It was easy enough to drive into Lexington and have an enjoyable dinner.


Llamas & Us

5 sur juin 25, 2014

A lovely place to spend the weekend. Linda and Chris are the "Best." We enjoyed everything that Applewood Inn had to offer.


Ending May

4,4 sur juin 04, 2014

We found our trip, the last weekend in May to be fabulous. the location and scenery at Applewood is outstanding...be sure to take the morning Llama Trek! We were able to picnic, swim and hot tub without leaving the property - and the driving distances to downtown Lexington, Natural Bridge, AT and the Drive in movie theater were short and sweet. Highly recommend this property


Wonderful place to stay.

5 sur mai 18, 2014

Nice quiet and clean. Lovely hosts we stayed in the Blue Ridge room. There was plenty of room for 3 of us. The breakfast was very good. We received good tips for visiting Lexington. I would stay here again.


Lovely llamas and friendly hosts on a scenic property

3,8 sur mai 02, 2014

Linda and Chris were very welcoming hosts. I felt like they really cared about their guests' enjoyment. Chris is very knowledgeable about his animals and his house, and I am sure a great many other things. The llamas were the draw for us. I won't nitpick things like the comfortability of bedroom furniture, because we were there for llamas and to just hang around town. We stayed on a glorious Spring weekend with just about perfect weather. Nearby Lexington provides just enough to do for one quiet weekend, including some delicious dining options in old town – but don't expect urban nightlife excitement. It's a buttoned-up military academy town, apparently. There's a lot of nature to go out and see if you're interested. The nearby Natural Bridge attraction is actually really impressive and worth visiting (it doesn't take long).


What an AWESOME weekend!

5 sur avril 28, 2014

We had such a fantastic time at Applewood. Our hosts, Linda and Chris, were wonderful and warm. They made us feel at home. And walking with the llamas was so much fun! I even bonded with mine, Happy, who was willing to allow me to feed him by hand! We can't wait to go back and hopefully even share with other family members! Deb and Bob


Great stay

4,2 sur avril 21, 2014

Very relaxing and fun! The llama trekking was also really unique. Would like to return!!!!


Applewood Inn April 2014

3,6 sur avril 19, 2014

The Applewood Inn was a lovely and peaceful place to stay on our trip on the Blue Ridge Parkway through VA on the way to Shenandoah NP. We stayed only one night in the European Room which allowed us to bring our dog. The room and was very clean and nicely decorated. There was an attached porch that we did not get to use because the weather was unseasonably cold, and a second outer room with a hot tub that we enjoyed. The grounds were lovely for walks with the dog, affording beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. We did not have time to try Llama-trekking, but enjoyed seeing the llamas graze in the field. Breakfast included fresh fruit, pumpkin pancakes with sausage, coffee and juice. Thanks Linda and Chris. We hope to come back someday.


Great Experience!

5 sur mars 29, 2014

Chris and Linda were great hosts, and everything about Applewood was fantastic. The hot tub was relaxing, everything was clean, and the food was delicious. My fiancee and I trekked with Spunky and Striker and it was a brand new, awesome experience!


Overnight Romantic Stay

4,4 sur février 06, 2014

Applewood Inn is set in the Shenandoah Mountains and such a wonderful, peaceful setting that we found it a wonderful retreat from out busy lives! Highly recommend!


A wonderful weekend!

5 sur novembre 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Quilter's Room. We also included a llama trek on the Saturday morning. Our room was spacious, very clean, comfortable and included lots of thoughtful additions including robes, chocolates, and scented candles. The inn itself was very welcoming, comfortable and felt like a home from home. Not to mention the incredible selection of herbal teas! Breakfast was a lovely social time, with plenty of hot coffee and seconds (and thirds!) of the delicious food. My dietary restrictions were not a problem for the mean cooking skills of Chris :) Nerby attractions include the town of Lexington (friendly boutique shops offering hot cider as you walk through the door), the Shenandoah mountains, and the Rockbridge Winery. Overall, this is a great little place with excellent hosts. Perfect for those who want to relax away from the city, enjoy the great outdoors, and enjoy peace and quiet. Llama trekking was great fun, I'd highly recommend it!


Great place to Unwind

4,8 sur novembre 16, 2013

Applewood Inn and Llama Trekking was a truly enjoyable experience for me and my wife. The owners were very hospitable and the food was great!


Beautiful Mountain Get Away

4,8 sur novembre 13, 2013

Wonderful property and kind hosts. Llama's add to the rustic appeal of this cozy B&B. Close to quaint town of Lexington and many natural and historical attractions. Comfortable and clean room with European soaking tub, perfect for cold evenings. We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary here.


What a great weekend

4,8 sur novembre 07, 2013

Excellent


Very Clean and Great Visit

4,6 sur novembre 06, 2013

A very wonderful stay. The place was amazingly clean and had a great layout. They had everything you could need and more. They even had menus for nearby restaurants and that came in handy. It was a very laid back atmosphere which was nice. You were free to roam the grounds and go look at the llamas. It was just a short drive away from main town and other attractions like natural bridge. We really enjoyed our time there and I've already recommended it to a few others who seemed interested in the llama trek.


Great cozy, family style getaway

4,2 sur novembre 04, 2013

Very nice rooms, clean and cozily appointed. Breakfasts were a treat, very filling. Grounds and overall location was exactly what we were looking for quiet, secluded with gorgeous views. The only thing that could have made the stay better would have been a more comfortable bed, ours was very firm.


Excellent, relaxing stay

4,4 sur novembre 04, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Lexington. We were able to spend a great few days celebrating her birthday. The private hot tub was fantastic and the views couldn't be beat. We also enjoyed visiting the Llamas, who were a lot of fun. On Saturday at breakfast we had a delicious meal and great conversation complete with some suggestions for sites to visit. We took their advice and headed to Wades Mill for a fall festival. It was wonderful--low key and lots of fun. Thanks for making our weekend a special one!!


Good thoughts

4,8 sur septembre 17, 2013

Our hosts made us feel as we were visting old friends. Our stay was brief but knowing that when you book on line you take your chances we were very pleasantly surprised. We have no hesitation in recommending the B & B to anyone who is visting the area.


Had a great stay and look forward to returning again!

5 sur septembre 11, 2013

We enjoyed a number of aspects of the Inn, its location is great, not too far out of Lexington and although we've traveled quite a bit around the Blue Ridge, we've never focused on Lexington. In town, we took the carriage ride which is a very enjoyable way to see the town, it's reasonable at $15/per, and the driver was excellent. The Inn and property are great, in a quiet area with areas you can walk up hills on the property to get a good view of the mountains. We enjoyed watching the llamas but didn't attempt a trek. The Inn has a "rustic, cabin" feel but it's clean, comfortable, and well appointed. We stayed in the largest room and really liked the space that included a couch, TV, sitting area (we brought our own portable DVD player), and the small "kitchenette" area. We also appreciated the pet friendly environment. The Bests are lovely hosts and after serving breakfast, join the guests at the table for a nice chat. This was a nice touch, and although we've stayed in a number of B&Bs and inns, this was the first time the hosts joined us at the table. The breakfast was very good, but I would suggest allowing guests to serve themselves from a larger portioned platter, or perhaps buffet style. Since the breakfast was very good (although we missed some sort of an egg dish), it was natural to want additional helpings. We would stay here again should the opportunity arise!


Great Stay

4,0 sur septembre 07, 2013

We had a great time at the Inn. The owners were very accommodating and friendly, and we enjoyed meeting the other guests, feeding the llamas, and checking out the downtown area.


Excellent! Will return.

4,2 sur septembre 05, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience. Chris and Linda were perfect hosts and were extremely interesting to talk to. The llama trek was so cool and left us for something to talk about for years to come.


Excellen Weekend

5 sur septembre 02, 2013

This B&B was simply outstanding. The redwood hot tub in our room was excellent and so was the swimming pool. The swimming pool is outdoors and surrounded by beautiful landscape and butterflies. The breakfast each day was the best we have every had in staying at B&B"s over the last 10 years. The food was very healthy and very tasty. We had all we could eat. We enjoyed the experience so much that we are going back the end of September for another long weekend


Great Place!

5 sur août 29, 2013

My family truly enjoyed our stay at the Applewood Inn. Its very neat, clean and very relaxing and comfortable. It's situated in a very beautiful setting, and is close to town. Linda and Chris are great and very personable. I do miss Linda's awesome cooking and nuzzling up to their llama Stryker!


Relaxing B&B

4,0 sur août 26, 2013

It was a good choice to stay there


Making a Memory

4,6 sur août 25, 2013

Traveling on business and selected this B and B at the last minute. They were very accommodating and the grounds were wonderful. Visited the llamas and enjoyed the breakfast. Will return!


Compared to many other B&B's, just OK

2,8 sur août 22, 2013

Was a pleasant experience with a quaint room and relaxing ambiance. Breakfast was good, wholesome and filling, but not exceptional. Overall good, but not great.


Would go again

3,4 sur août 08, 2013

Was very happy with the place.


An excellent get-a-way weekend

4,2 sur juillet 23, 2013

We chose this B&B for a W&L Class Reunion weekend and so enjoyed our experience! Linda and Chris, the innkeepers, are delightful folks and the accomodations were just superb. They are located south of downtown Lexington by about 15 minutes but as the inn is well setback from the highway, the silence is supreme. I highly recommend these accomodations.


I'd go again.

4,4 sur juin 30, 2013

Had a lovely llama trek with Chris and Linda. The breakfasts were worth waking up for. Just wish we could have turned the hot tub on ourselves so that we could have enjoyed it after 10 p.m.


Excellent experience

5 sur juin 19, 2013

The inn owners are very kind and attentive. The view is beautiful, the town is gorgeous, and the drive up to the inn is incredible. Our room was very comfortable and I loved the pool. The best part by far was the food. Though healthy it was very filling and delicious. I would certainly go back.


Unique B&B!

4,0 sur juin 05, 2013

The llamas add a special twist to the usual B&B experience. Food was awesome! Location is gorgeous.


2nd stay

4,6 sur mai 30, 2013

very peaceful and beautiful get away will go back again


Get Away from The City

3,6 sur avril 29, 2013

This was a great getaway, and the host/hostess were friendly and attended to your needs. Enjoyed the scenery and the llama trek. Would possibly come back again. Recommend this to animal lovers and those enjoy country/mountainside scenery.


A relaxed weekend away

4,8 sur avril 20, 2013

My husband and I wanted to escape for a weekend of relaxation. Our hosts have a lovely home that is beautiful, but also relaxed. It is situated in the mountains south of Lexington and has beautiful views. We were able to roam the property, hike to the creek, and explore the nearby town of Lexington that has a nice assortment of shops and restaurants. The breakfast was delicious and we were able to sit back and relax with cups of coffee and watch nature. We felt very pampered without feeling we were in a "stuffy" establishment. This is a wonderful place to stay to relax away from the hustle and bustle.


April 2013 Getaway

5 sur avril 18, 2013

I took my girlfriend for a weekend away and she could not stop talking about our weekend still! We both had such a great time and everything was perfect.


Great Location and Facility

4,8 sur avril 14, 2013

Loved how the location seemed remote, but yet was only minutes away from our destination of visiting our daughter at SVU. Our room was beautiful and easily slept four comfortably. The owners are awesome and breakfast was delicious.


Horter, from WV

5 sur avril 08, 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the European room and the hot tub was great!! What can I say about the breakfasts!! Too bad I can't give a rating higher than 5 Stars!! The meals were some of the best breakfast meals I have had anywhere!! I would recommend the Applewood to anyone and will be back again!!


Weekend Getaway

4,8 sur mars 04, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Blue Ridge Room with our four year old dog. This is our second stay at the Inn and it was just as good as the first time. The grounds are excellent for taking a dog around, plenty of hiking in the local area and the owners are very nice and helpful. We would recommend staying in the Blue Ridge Room as it is the largest and has a private screened in deck. We enjoyed our time at the Applewood and plan to return again.


Wonderful Stay

3,6 sur février 18, 2013

We stayed at Applewood during the first weekend of February. What a pleasure it was! although it was too cold to comfortably do the llama trek (Chris and Linda were willing, but we decided against it in the 22 degree weather!) we had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful, a real rural heaven. We stayed in the European Room which was quiet, warm and very comfortable. The hot tub is wonderful, a blissful addition. Robes are thoughtfully provided. Breakfast on both mornings was delicious, pancakes and fruit the first morning, and omelette and fruit the second morning. Yummy. It was nice to linger over the breakfast table chatting with Chris and Linda, a very interesting and warm couple. The llamas are just incredible creatures, adorable to look at, and it was so much fun to interact with them. Lexington is a 10 minute drive away and there are many good places to eat and drink, I particularly recommend the Bistro on Main and the Southern Inn. All in all we had a wonderful time and we hope to return to Applewood in warmer weather when we can use the pool and hike in the local surroundings.


Relaxing, peaceful weekend.

4,0 sur janvier 24, 2013

The innkeepers went out of their way to make us feel welcome. On the llama trek with another couple, they each took time to talk with us individually to get to know us. Although I do think that the hot tub should be able to be shared by all, the overall stay was more than I can even write. Beautiful home and serene countryside.


Spacious. Gracious. Restful.

5 sur décembre 16, 2012

Owners Linda and Chris are joys to talk to: intelligent, well read, passionate about their business. And the llamas return you to childhood excitement. The rooms were HUGE and had everything and more than we could ever want - double sinks, separated toilet, separated tub, and a bar area! Location is beautiful, peaceful, and yet and easy drive to downtown Lexington.


A very pleasant getaway!

5 sur novembre 04, 2012

Great service and a lot of places to go explore in the area!


One of the best places we have stayed

5 sur octobre 24, 2012

Room was very clean and comfortable. Hosts were very friendly and accomadating


Will Come Back, Just to Enjoy Applewood !

4,0 sur octobre 10, 2012

I promised myself another visit, just to enjoy Applewood's retreat-like environment. The room was spotless, cozy and artfully decorated. I came with friends visiting from Europe. We all slept quite well. There was no pressure or deadline for breakfast the next morning . Chris prepared an extraordinary omelette, garnished with fresh fruits, grains and cheeses. We felt very comfortable for our entire stay. My friend enjoyed a morning swim, and I dare not exclude meeting my new llama friends ! After enjoying conversation with Linda and Chris, and enjoying the beautiful landscape, we set off for our 10 minute ride to Natural Bridge. All in all, staying at this "gem of relaxation and geniality" is worth it and as I said previously, I promise myself another stay at Applewood.


love the llamas

5 sur octobre 09, 2012

We loved our stay at Applewood! Every bit of it was perfect. Chris and Lynda are great, interesting people and the llama trek was amazing. Loved it all!! Would stay again in a heartbeat.


Excellent B&B

5 sur octobre 03, 2012

We had a lovely stay out in the country, and tons of fun with the llamas! Can't believe that rustic charm still exists anymore, but with Chris and Linda, it shouldn't be too hard to believe! They took care of anything that we needed or wanted and were polite and kind the entire stay.


Beautiful surroundings

3,4 sur octobre 02, 2012

The room was small and unpacking my large suitcase difficult, and the room stuffy and hot. We found the operable windows after the 3rd. night, and same with the window shades. Other than those quibbles, we enjoyed the stay, especially the porch for our cocktails in the evening, and coffee in the morning.


Anniversary Get Away

5 sur septembre 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Applewood in last weekend. My husband and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary and it was a great place to get away and relax. There are many fun and interesting things to do in the area and in Lexington! Chris and Linda were wonderful hosts and prepared delicious, healthy meals we both enjoyed. Our room was very comfortable (European Room) and we loved the private porch and hot tub. We also took the Llama Trek the last morning we stayed and love the animals and the beautiful scenery. Great time and want to visit again.


Country retreat with Llamas

5 sur septembre 26, 2012

After a week of traveling and the GPS getting us lost in the mountains we reached the Applewood Inn. What a lovely and relaxing place.We stayed in the Blue Ridge room last weekend. It was spacious and the Jacuzzi was wonderful. Bed was very comfy. So was the screened in porch with views of the llamas and pastures. Chris and Linda are lovely people and could not have been more helpful with everything from recommendations for restaurants, attractions and directions. The breakfasts were delicious.. We would reccomend this place to anyone looking for a quiet place, with lovely views . and don't forget the llama trek. wonderful


Would have liked to stay longer

3,6 sur septembre 24, 2012

When i stayed at Applewood, my trip had been delayed by severe weather, which also knocked out phone communication in the area. This complication made for a lot of challenges, but Linda and Chris were wonderfully helpful. Even though i was barely able to stay one night, they put in the extra effort to help me get my logistics fixed even though none of the problems i had were their fault. The house and rooms are comfortable and attractive, as is the pool area and facilities provided for guests. I wasn't able to do a llama trek but it was nice to have the llamas around, and to be able to 'visit' them in the morning. While the breakfast tasted fine, it was a kind of 'home style' service; essentially pancakes -- albeit good ones. For a B&B i was expecting more variety and a bit more pomp in the presentation.


Serene setting

2,8 sur août 22, 2012

Chris was a lovely host during our stay at the Inn. My granddaughter enjoyed her Llama trek with Skyler also during our stay. For myself, the only negative thing about this inn is the road going to it; it is only 1 lane with a rock wall on one side and a wide creek on the other side.


Relaxing get-away

3,6 sur août 14, 2012

The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. I enjoyed the property very much. Beautiful views and room to roam. The pool is an added bonus.


Welcoming and Charming B&B

3,8 sur août 04, 2012

We had a short but very nice stay. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. We had access to the other areas of the house and felt very comfortable and welcome to come and go as we pleased. We truly enjoyed our hosts and the conversation with them during breakfast. We would like to return for a longer visit.


Wonderful stay!

5 sur juillet 14, 2012

Relaxing, very clean, and a delicious breakfast. Hosts are wonderful and the llamas are adorable! :o) Our stay was the highlight of our VA vacation. We plan to visit again.


Memorial Day Weekend Stay

4,4 sur mai 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend during memorial day weekend. We found it to be very lovely. Chris and Linda who run the bed and breakfast are very open and friendly people. They enjoy having guests in thier home and are very hospitable. Thier breakfast is delicous and organic, which my wife loved. The grounds are clean and taken care of. Linda and Chris take good care of thier landscape. We enjoyed spending our time at the pool, hot tub, and reading. It was really relaxing and rooms were clean and quiet. Every room has it's own theme. Linda also is a excellent artist who does watercolors which she has for sale. We weren't able to go llama trekking because they only offer it on saturday and monday during our stay, but other guest stated they enjoyed thier trek. Overall, service was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this place for future occupants.


Outstanding Experience

5 sur mai 24, 2012

Excellent ammendities, Clean, Cozy, Comfortable accomodations in the European Room. Felt as though we had stayed here before. The innkeepers were so kind that it felt like we were visiting family. Linda is an acccomplished artist and it shows in her work. I was fortunate enough to purchase a beautiful picture entitled Buttercup. I hung the picture as soon as we got home at the base of our staircase and it brings a smile to our faces everytime we view it. So if anyone has the opportunity to stay here don't take the pictures hung on the walls for granted. Take time to speak to Chris and Linda! What interesting an knowledgeable persons. The photo albums are also enlightening. The charm and character of the Inn is amazing. So glad as age would have it we learnt to appreciate and respect the surroundings. What a joy! The Llama Mugs on sale were also great gifts and memories for our family and friends who watched over our home in our absence. The Llamas are so soft and some give kisses. So I like to believe but I learnt they are really just smelling you and evaluating their surroundinds. Haha, Chris : ) The pool was so refreshing. The hot Tub so relaxing and private. The walk up the Blue Ridge Mountain was gorgeous. The gardens(that reflect a lot of tender care)and the intimate seating areas were so calming and beautiful. We visited the Natural Bridge and ate out in the evening for Dinners but my husband and I both agreed it would be lovely just to relax and spend more time at the Inn. The breakfasts were healthy but delicious and filling. Thank you Linda and Chris for such a warm initial greeting and a spectacular experience. Just waiting and planning when we will be blessed to stay again. Sincerely!


Beautiful B&B

4,0 sur mai 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking a while ago and loved it. We took a walk with a few rowdy llamas and enjoyed the pool too. This B&B is in such a pretty location. On the 4th of July you can grab a bottle of wine, walk up into the hill, and watch the fireworks over the treetops.


review

4,8 sur mai 17, 2012

We love it even though we had not interest in llama trekking


Wonderful

5 sur avril 19, 2012

My husband and I came to the Applewood Inn for our one year anniversary. We had a great time. The land was beautiful, the innkeepers were accommodating and the breakfast was DELICIOUS!


A retreat straight out of a postcard!!

4,6 sur avril 18, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at Applewood two years ago as part of our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed the room with the private hottub. Last weekend, my friends and I delighted in a girls' weekend escape to Applewood and had a fantastic time!! Chris and Linda have an amazing house with impressive passive heating integrated into the architecture. We stayed in the Blue Ridge room that accommodated four people and had plenty of room with a spacious bathroom, private entry, and access to a huge porch! The sofabed had a memory foam mattress, so we did not feel a bar poking us in the night :) The breakfasts were delicious, and Linda was very helpful in directing us to places to go and places to walk just around the grounds. We loved visiting the llamas, especially when Stryker would run over to check us out and sniff our faces - his nose is so soft! Walking the grounds is entirely picturesque and feels like every turn of the head is like looking into a spring-filled postcard! Of course, we went in April both times, and both times the flowers in their perfectly manicured property were out in full, beautiful display. The B&B is on top of a hill and has incredible views. I certainly want to return with my husband again! He was sad to miss this trip :) Chris and Linda are delightful to chat with and will help with anything you need! We loved looking at all of Linda's beautiful watercolor art, too. The proximity of their B&B to Lexington is also a great perk as the cute downtown has lots to see between the shops, Washington & Lee, and VMI, plus there are several outdoors things to do nearby. You will not regret escaping from the world to stay at Applewood!! Note about beds: They are on the firmer side, but the whole Applewood experience is worth a couple nights on a firmer mattress if you're used to a squishy one like me. As mentioned, I would return here again and again if I still lived in VA!


Wonderful Trip

4,4 sur avril 15, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Applewood Inn and would return in a heartbeat! The European room met our expectations fully with a comfortable bed, cozy euro-country decor, and private access to the hot tub on the connected porch. Chris and Linda were fantastic hosts and conversationalists, and are very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. Breakfasts were certainly heart healthy like their information describes, but they were also incredibly flavorful and filling, and Chris and Linda were very responsive to our dietary restrictions/preferences. The dining in nearby Lexington gives a lot of selection for other meals, and there are a ton of menus available at the Inn to help you decide. The llamas were fun to watch and lead on our trek and the scenery is fabulous. We had a lovely time overall, and would certainly recommend it to others looking for a peaceful, natural setting and fantastic hosts.


We had a wonderful stay!

5 sur avril 09, 2012

The llama trek was really fun, interesting, and not overly taxing. The setting was beautiful and the innkeepers very friendly.


I'm taking my husband back there.

5 sur mars 31, 2012

Beautiful place and wonderful hosts. The llamas were great too. Scenery is spectacular, and Linda's gardens are lovely. You really should go there. I went with a friend, but I certainly plan to go back and with my husband next time. I've told him how beautiful and restful it is.


Great Romantic Getaway!

4,4 sur février 18, 2012

My fiance' and I were so very pleased when we decided to spend a couple of nights at Applewood Inn for Valentine's Day this year. This was our very first time staying at a bed & breakfast so we were both a little nervous and excited. The innkeepers were extremely polite and made us feel very comfortable during our stay - as if we were at home away from home. The entire house was beautiful and completely spotless. We loved admiring the artwork and historic feel throughout the home. The cuisine was delicious and the room accommodations were impeccable. The only unexpected event was when the hot tub stopped working and we didn't have full use of it on the second night during our stay (which was a little disappointing, but didn't ruin our trip.) The landscape surrounding the inn is breathtaking and the llamas on the property are very friendly and quite far from being camera shy. We had the best time taking pictures and enjoying the serene atmosphere which naturally keeps families filled with joy, brings couples closer together, or gives peace to any solo traveler. We would both recommend this inn to anyone who loves to travel and/or wants to feel rejuvenated!


Another Great Stay at the Applewood Inn

5 sur février 16, 2012

We had such a wonderful time here last year, that we had to come back and invited another couple along with us this time. Everyone had a great time and we found plenty to do including a llama treck - even in an "off season". Our hosts, Linda and Chris, were a gracious as ever and the Inn offers many reasons to get away from it all and go there. We thoroughly enjoy the Inn and our hosts, the locale, and the relaxation afforded us when visiting Applewood and the Lexington area.


My stay at Applewood Inn

4,8 sur février 15, 2012

My name is Kimberly John and I stayed at the Applewood Inn and it was truly the best experience I have had. The hospitality was genuine and amazing and they are the most thoughtful and considerate couple. While I stayed in the room most of the time it had everything myself and my companion needed. It was very clean, the food was fabulous, the hot tub was amazing and the view was breath taking. I would reccommend this to anyone to stay!


Wonderful Winter Getaway

4,2 sur février 14, 2012

Loved our weekend at Applewood. Accommodations were pleasant and clean, food was superb, llamas were cool, Chris and Linda were excellent hosts. A very pleasant winter escape. Highly recommended.


A peaceful getaway

4,6 sur janvier 22, 2012

This was the second time we've stayed here and it was wonderful, as always. Our hosts were gracious and welcoming, but conscious of our need for privacy and peace (since we finally got respite from our two rambunctious children ). The fireplace came in handy as did the hottub since we were there in early January. It was, however, warm enough for a llama trek one morning, which was fun! Believe it or not, "Spunky" the llama was pretty easy-going! My wife and I love it here and hope to return soon.


We will be BACK!!

5 sur janvier 12, 2012

Great setting, relaxing stay, and outstanding welcome! Thanks!


"Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking" was a good choice

4,4 sur décembre 01, 2011

My husband and I stayed a whole weekend at the "Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking" B&B and we loved it. The environment was cozy, nice and peaceful. The house is really beautiful with big glass windows that allow you enjoy the view. Our room has a hot tub (it was called the European Room). The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were really nice people. It's close enough to Lexington VA where you have several choices to eat out. I recommend it!!


Excellent Place to Stay

5 sur octobre 29, 2011

the owners went out of their way to insure our stay at the Inn was an experience to remember. It was my wife's birthday and I request that they place flower and candy in our room to surprise her and they did so even though it was not a part of their usual service. The room were well maintained and the food was excellent. The Inn Keepers were friendly and helpful. I would recommend the Applewood to anyone. Clyde Morris


Unique Experience and Setting

4,6 sur octobre 24, 2011

We were looking for a dog-friendly B&B and found much more.....a perfect room, incredible hospitality, beautiful grounds and surrounding property, and new friends in Chris and Linda. We had the honor of staying longer than any previous guest (9 nights) as this was a long-awaited vacation away from the stress and constant running around that has become our life. That length of time allowed us to become very familiar with the house, property, the innkeepers, and their dogs Sammy and Max. Our dogs became fast friends with Sammy, the official 'greeter', and were facinated by the llamas. Breakfast was different and delicious for each of the nine days. The view from the top of the hill behind the house was incredible no matter when you were there...early morning sunrises, mid-afternoon, sunsets, and the vastness of the night sky. We are planning to return next summer to enjoy the pool and the company of of the Best family. The Applewood Inn was just what we needed and were looking for....the perfect mountian vacation.


Very Relaxing Stay

3,8 sur octobre 21, 2011

We stayed in the Quilter Room and it was very nice. Even though the 2 other rooms had dogs staying with them and the owner's have dogs it was still very quiet and it allowed us to relax after some strenuous hikes. It is located about 10 miles out of downtown Lexington and the road off the highway to the Inn is not the best it is quite navigable. We already had plans for the days so we did not do the llama trek but got to get close to them. Very well behaved. Would stay there again.


Wonderful visit

5 sur octobre 18, 2011

Linda and Chris made every effort to ensure that my wife and I felt at ease during our visit. We enjoyed the Quilters Room, but have every intention to request the European Room for our next visit. We also intend to go on the llama trek the next time we visit.


interesting place

3,6 sur octobre 10, 2011

Down a long dirt road. Nice and quiet. Not real flexible on breakfast times- told breakfast was served at 8:30- in other B and B's we are usually asked what time we want breakfast. Had a room with pull out couch which we had planned on using (it was advertised as part of the room)- they were upset we had not told them ahead of time that we planned on using it. Breakfast very, very healthy- not good if you are not into that.

Réponse du propriétaire
When we check people in we say, "Breakfast is at 8:30, if that is OK." If we get no response to the contrary, we assume 8:30 is fine. I believe the other couple that morning asked for breakfast at 8:15, which we gladly accommodated. A sheet in the room explains that we will be glad to do full breakfast up to a half hour earlier or later, or continental up to 11 am. One just needs to let us know in advance. The issue with the pull-out sofa is that it is mostly used as a sofa, not a bed, and is more comfortable as a sofa if it is not made up as a bed and then folded up. Thus we do not make it up unless requested. We thought that was clear on our website, however I have added that info on another page of the site in an effort to make it clear to everyone. We were not "upset" but apologetic that we did not make it up in advance, but would have, had we only known. We make no apologies for our healthy breakfasts; that is what we are known for and what we advertise. That said, we try to accommodate personal requests and special diets as much as possible. Again, we just need to be told in advance.


Great B&B in Lexington, VA - including Llamas

4,2 sur septembre 15, 2011

Beautiful location, great views and scenery from the property, and gracious hosts. We really appreciated the peaceful and quiet respite away from almost everything. As animal lovers, we also thoroughly enjoyed the llamas and trekking as well. Breakfasts were delicious and we also enjoyed the time spent with our hosts, Linda and Chris.


Peaseful Retreat

4,4 sur août 18, 2011

The inn is a unique 30 +/- year old passive solar house built near the top of a hill, not a converted old mansion. Its unique design provides large porches and windows to view the countryside. A private hot tub was accessible from our room via the small porch with a table and two chairs. The room was spacious, with plenty of electrical outlets, a comfortable bed, modern bath and no TV or radio. The common room on the second floor has a TV (as does the large bedroom), sofa, chairs, and a library. There is a small refrigerator in the kitchen for guest use. Breakfast is in the dining room next to the common and Chris will have coffee ready when you get up so you don’t have to wait until breakfast. He and Linda will ensure everything is perfect without being intrusive. We spent two days walking around the grounds, swimming, sitting in the tub and just relaxing. Sammy, their very friendly black hound escorted us on a couple mile long hike up the ridge, down to the creek and back. The only time we left the property was for dinner in the evening. This was an outstanding place to rest and relax. It is a bit off the beaten track if you go out and want to return to your room several times a day. I was surfing for a place in the mid-Atlantic for R&R, and found the inn. It was my first time in the area and went there specifically because of the inn, not for other attractions. It was perfect for a couple of people that are constantly on the run, to stop and just relax. I will drive the 300 miles to return for another visit.


Wonderful and Relaxing Stay

5 sur juillet 31, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed this off the beaten path bed and breakfast. Chris and Linda were great hosts and very knowledgeable about the area. The pool was a welcome delight after a hot day of hiking and the llamas were a treat to watch. We will definitely return in the future.


Great Getaway (with llamas too!)

4,4 sur juillet 24, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Linda and Chris' Applewood Inn. The llama trek was a fun attraction, despite the heat! We found the location to be so peaceful and beautiful and took advantage of the pool and quiet places to just read or enjoy a glass of wine. We would happily go back!


Wonderful Virginia Hideaway

4,6 sur juillet 14, 2011

The Applewood Inn itself is a unique green building with every modern convenience. Thoughtful consideration anticipates every need and desire for a very comfortable and remote getaway, including a friendly hound and an extensive library. For those who wish to remain in touch with the rest of the world, the wireless network and flatscreen TV were great! We even had a sofa in our room facing the television for good cuddling. The llamas are in a field just across the driveway, and they come to eat at the fence for great photo ops. The property has walking trails, and there is a mountain stream at the end of the road perfect for play and a picnic. The inn is two or three miles down a mostly gravel road off of Highway 11. Your GPS may not locate the street, but use Buffalo Bend Road. Buffalo Bend dead ends on Highway 11. Once you find it, the signs will lead you to the inn. There are several sights within ten miles...Natural Bridge and its caverns...a wild life safari drive through that is great...a well done zoo...and Foamhenge! Do not miss the free opportunity to walk within a foam replica of Britain's Stonehenge atop a Virginia hill. The creative artist makes the trip more than worthwhile with humorous signs giving information and misinformation. The zoo is surprisingly good! It is the first time my wife, a zoo freak, has seen a double-wattled cassowary! The innkeepers are delightful souls who enjoy talking about the rigors of keeping llamas and the creative green features of the inn. Breakfast was perfect...an omelet filled with a great variety of flavors that blended well, fresh fruit, juice, and muffins. No one leaves the table without eating their fill. We did not plan a llama trek this trip, but we will next time!


Wonderful retreat!

4,0 sur juillet 04, 2011

A haven of quiet, nature and comfort. Spacious bedroom, super comfy bed and spacious bath. Beautiful property with plenty of room to roam and magnificent views. The llamas are a great addition to the outdoor experience. Such intriguing creatures! The inn is also just close enough to Lexington that it's a quick drive to get excellent food and the small historic town experience.


Beautiful

4,6 sur juin 12, 2011

We highly recommend the Applewood Inn. We will definitely go back. It has beautiful views of the mountains. We loved walking on the trails. We stayed in the room with a private porch and hot tub. Awesome!


Last minute BnB plans turn out better than expected

4,8 sur avril 13, 2011

I love the feeling of the Applewood Inn, it was such a comfortable and relaxing experience. I would definately go back, didn't get to treck with the llamas due to weather but I hope to next time, quite funny creatures they are.


review of Applewood Inn

4,0 sur mars 28, 2011

It was a quiet, relaxing weekend in a beautiful setting. Also, it was nice being able to bring our dog with us to this pet friendly B and B. The llamas were an added treat.


A beautiful stay in the Shenandoah Valley!

4,8 sur mars 21, 2011

We truly enjoyed our recent stay at Applewood Inn. Our hosts were welcoming/ helpful in our advance phone conversations and once we arrived. The accommodations were most comfortable - each night we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub which came as part of our accommodation in the European room. The natural setting and llama trek made for an idyllic getaway which was still close to the Natural Bridge scenery and downtown Lexington! We hope to come stay again!


Weekend getaway

4,6 sur mars 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and we loved the place. I would highly recommend it; the innkeepers were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were delicious, and the llama trek was a new experience for both of us. We loved the views from the inn and the proximity to both downtown Lexington and the Natural Bridge. We hope to stay there again soon!


A lovely stay

3,0 sur mars 17, 2011

Linda and Chris have a lovely place and provide a lovely stay in an area that boasts several enjoyable activities. These activities include but are not limited to the Natural Bridge (maybe not worth the price of admission but still pretty cool to visit), the Rockbridge Vineyard (David gives a nice tasting), and waterfall hiking (Crabtree Falls was a fun 1.7 mile paved hike). The personal draw to the Applewood was to find a dog friendly place with a hot tub. The inn was dog friendly, but not without certain rules and warnings which were explained to us upon arrival and prior to entering the inn. The hot tub was nice but was without personal controls--it was set on a timer and the jets were on from 4-10. This means they might not be on when you wanted them or that they might be on when you didn't. This did not seem like a thoughtful arrangement and made for a slight inconvenience both in not being on when we wanted and not being off when we did not want to hear it. The llamas were very sweet and friendly and our limited contact with them was pleasant. The breakfasts were yummy. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
We sincerely wish we could allow guests to have personal control over their hot-tub hours, however with this older California Redwood Tub, we have found the heater shuts down if the timer is turned on and off. We were asked to change the hours and did. It could have been changed back had they asked. Unfortunately we have to make the changes ourselves to ensure hot water. While our dog rules, required by insurance, are posted on our website, we can not assume that people read them. Thus we repeat them upon guest arrival.


Romantic Weekend

4,6 sur février 13, 2011

My (now) fiance and I spent the weekend at Applewood Inn to celebrate an anniversary and Valentine's Day. We wanted a place away from it all and secluded to spend time together and relax. We chose the European room for the hot tub and were more than pleased with the selection. The hot tub was on a timer so there was nothing to worry about or fuss with. There was a gas fireplace in the room that made it very cozy and quaint. The room and bathroom were a good size for what we were looking for and we were very comfortable. We also liked the fact that there was no TV...others may not like this aspect, but it made us communicate and/or find something else to do (like play chess in the common area). The innkeepers and other guests were very friendly and we enjoyed spending time with them during the delicious breakfasts. Our favorite part of our stay was the llama trek. We went on a brisk and drizzly February weekend and were still able to walk the grounds with the innkeepers and llamas and, again, enjoy everyone's company. Overall, we highly recommend this B&B and look forward to the day we get to go back. We're already anticipating trekking with Chaos and Happy again (our llama companions).


The Perfect Quiet Escape

4,6 sur janvier 07, 2011

If you're searching for a quiet escape, then look no further. Applewood Inn is a beautiful little gem set high in the hills with fantastic views from every side. The layout of the Inn is warm and comfortable, utilizing private and shared spaces, multiple large sun porches, and eco-friendly design. The European room was perfect for a couple looking for a romantic getaway, as it has a private hot tub with double doors that open to a beautiful patio and fountain with stunning views straight to the mountains. A peek into the other rooms proved they were all equally spacious and beautifully decorated. Linda and Chris were friendly and hospitable, as well as knowledgable about the attractions to which the Inn in centrally placed. A short walk behind the building takes you to their llamas, which you can pet, and one of the best mountain views in the area - great for taking photographs. We enjoyed three nights at Applewood Inn and plan to return in the future.


Weekend stay at Applewood Inn

4,0 sur novembre 22, 2010

The hot tub in the European room is great--very relaxing. Breakfast was excellent. Would love to come back in the summer when the pool is open. A perfect weekend get away.


B&B Lamas included

3,6 sur novembre 15, 2010

Great country location yet still convenient to sights and resturants. Hosts very hospitable with tips and suggestions.


Our weekend near Lexington,VA

3,8 sur novembre 03, 2010

The room was great. The views were fantastic. It was very peaceful and relaxing. Would go back again.


Pretty & peaceful, but food was unfulfilling.

3,2 sur octobre 25, 2010

The setting was pretty, peaceful and nice clean rooms. But food was unfulfilling and we were still hungry!

Réponse du propriétaire
We were caught off guard by the size of some appetites. If we had known in advance that someone could actually eat 10 pancakes, we would have made more. It usually is an all you can eat breakfast and we almost always have leftovers.


Beautiful Place

4,2 sur octobre 17, 2010

Beautiful setting, property and llamas! Great for a getaway. Fantastic views of the surrounding areas. Stayed in the European room.


great stay

5 sur septembre 01, 2010

This was a great weekend stay. We enjoyed everything about it: the accomodations, food, hosts, art, Llamas, setting, etc... - PLUS, it's environmentally friendly!


Relaxing!

4,2 sur août 26, 2010

Very beautiful & relaxing place to stay a couple of nights. The llama trekking was really fun, too. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.


Applewood

4,4 sur août 25, 2010

Very nice place with very nice hosts and beautiful grounds.


Breath taking get away!

5 sur août 05, 2010

We stayed the week end for My Husband's Birthday and fell in love with the place. Chris and Linda were right there to great us by name and welcome us. They showed us to our room and we stayed in the European Room. It is very cozy and the decore is really nice. We loved the private hot tub, the in ground pool and the peacefullness. The food was great and loved the fresh fruit. Linda and Chris were very pleasent and kind. We took advantage of watching some moves to settle our full day.We enjoyed our Llama Trek and the Llamas were very sweet and friendly. The view is amazing! There is lots to do around the area too. We went to the Natural Bridge and to down town Lexinton to visit the chocolate shop and other stores. I have never been to a Bed and Breakfast before (My Husband has) but we were very happy with our time there on the week end of July 16, 2010. Thank you for a great get away and we plan to return. We feel we did'nt only find a nice place, but we also found some new friends.


Great Stay

5 sur juillet 24, 2010

Our second stay at the Inn was as pleasant as the first. We choose to spend our 1st and 6th anniversary here. Chris and Linda are very welcoming as well as their dog Sammy. We stayed in the European room because we love the hot tub attached to the room. Beautiful Inn on top of a mountain. My wife and I enjoyed our hike up the mountain behind the Inn. Saw many wandering deer. The lamas were an extra added touch. Truly beautiful animals. We enjoyed the Palms in downtown Lexington and also traveled to nearby Peaks of Otter for hiking. Kayaking is also nearby. Overall a great stay. We will definately be back.


Not as Advertised

1,6 sur juin 27, 2010

Certainly did not meet the standards I expect from a B&B Association member. Unkept grounds, treacherous walkways and stairways, substandard meals, and rules, rules, rules made my stay at the Applewood completely unsatisfying. The owners misrepresented themselves in their advertising, and I found them to be critical and condescending to their guests in the "upper", less expensive rooms. "Lower cost" guests, apparently, do not have access to all available amenities, while guests in the ground level rooms are favored. The owners should also make clear in their advertising that their facility is NOT smoker-friendly.

Réponse du propriétaire
We accept that we cannot please everyone, but we do our best. Our website applewoodbb.com clearly states our smoking policy, our heart healthy breakfast offerings and the fact that the hot tub is private for the European Room. Since a majority of our guests are not smokers, it is incumbent upon us to ensure an odor free environment. We are sorry if these efforts have offended anyone. There is absolutely no difference in service between higher and lower rate rooms other than the fact, only a difference in a few amenities. The room prices reflect the amenities that they have. If a given directory site does not accurately reflect our inn, we would appreciate knowing about it so the problem can be fixed. We have never intentionally misrepresented ourselves but are most times limited by the number of words allowed. I have already tweaked words on one site to clarify the hot tub situation, but it would have helped immensely if these unhappy guests had confronted us directly in order to prevent misunderstandings in the furture. We really want all our guests to have a great time but need feed back at the time of the visit so we can address issues before they become problems.


Bittersweet stay

2,6 sur juin 26, 2010

Ours was a bittersweet stay. First, it is an interesting location, well-secluded and the llamas a real curiosity. Our room was cozy, clean and well-appointed. However, we did not care for the food. It was meager and void of taste. There were also too many rules-don't do this, and that, couldn't even pet the dog! Frankly, we never quite felt welcome. If looking for Southern hospitality, I'd look elsewhere.


My favorite inn

5 sur décembre 12, 2009

Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. All rooms decorated comfortably and tastefully, with many of Linda's fine watercolors and paintings; original quilts and comforters. Quiet and privacy especially satisfying. Delicious healthy breakfasts, often shared with charming fellow guests. Lovely trekking with the sweet, gentle llamas through Blue Ridge paths and scenery. Chris and Linda are the best hosts. The gardens, and dogs and cat, make us feel at home. And love that hot tub!


My favorite B&B of all time

4,8 sur juillet 11, 2009

This has been my favorite BB. It is beautiful inside and out. Beautiful country setting in VA. Rooms are comfortable, quiet, great views. The llama trek was an added bonus. Near nice attractions like the caverns. Pool is refreshing. This is the kind of inn where you just sink down into the bedding and don't want to come out.... Sherry Smith


Blissful weekend getaway

4,4 sur juin 07, 2009

Thank you to Chris and Linda for providing us with a wonderful weekend getaway. The B&B is adorable, the rooms are comfortable, and the landscaping is done thoughtfully and beautifully. The views from around the inn are breathtaking. The pool is perfect for relaxing after a hike or trek with the calm, easy-going llamas. Food was wonderful! Who can complain about home-made bread and pancakes?? No complaints here-- wonderful inn, highly recommended!


Awesome location!!

4,6 sur août 03, 2008

Grounds were impressive, our stay was very peaceful and the views were breath taking. Hospitality was great and the breakfasts were tasty and innovative.


Peace, quiet, sammy and max

5 sur juin 10, 2008

This was a great experience for my wife and myself. The Applewood Inn is top quality and highly recommended.


lovely

4,4 sur juin 09, 2008

lovely rooms and grounds. llama track was fun and interesting. food was excellent- dinner by the pool was delightful. hosts are friendly and well informed


Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking

5 sur mai 01, 2008

Fantastic! Beautiful location, yummy breakfast. Chris and Linda were wonderful.


Secluded llama farm

4,2 sur février 19, 2008

We spent a good portion of the trip wandering the extensive property with lovely views.


Bucolic

5 sur octobre 23, 2007

Wonderful secluded location, beautiful vistas Quiet, comfortable homey lodging. Enjoyed the dogs and llamas, spotlessly clean, In room gas stove for heat added charm & warmth on a cool morning. Would certainly return.


Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking

4,4 sur octobre 18, 2007

This property was outstanding


Applewood Inn & Llama Trekking

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $125 - $165
  • Avis (117) 4,4
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5404631962
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8004631902

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut