Richard Johnston Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,3
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
20 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Richard Johnston Inn

5 sur mars 20, 2014

The Inn is very conveniently located in downtown Fredericksburg. The inn personnel were very helpful and friendly. It appears that there has been a change of on-site management as some of the amenities normally expected at this inn on check-in were not available. No one was able to show us to our room, there was no explanation of if, or where, coffee, sodas, etc. were available after hours, no explanation of any of the common rooms, etc.. There was a problem with the temperature control in the inn during our stay (rooms on one side of the facility were too cold while ours was too warm). There was no local, in room temperature control (the thermostat was locked) so it became quite uncomfortable overnight. This was tolerated well, however and I would still stay here again (perhaps in a different room location). A delicious breakfast was served in the dining room in the morning and again, the staff was great, service was superb and the interaction with the other guests was terrific.


Look no further!

4,2 sur mai 11, 2013

My wife wanted to go to Fredericksburg for our 37th anniversary. I found the Richard Johnston Inn and the Caroline House (where we stayed) online. They are both centrally located in Old Town Fredericksburg with easy parking---we parked right in front of the Caroline House both nights. They are operated by the same people. Our room was great--roomy, clean, and lots of automation. Only complaint was the street noise from Caroline Street at night...sounded like our windows were open and could hear conversations of people walking down the street, plus every car that passed. This is the ONLY thing I can think of that wasn't superb. The breakfast at the Richard Johnston Inn was fabulous. Lindi was very friendly and warmly welcomed us each day. We enjoyed talking with the other guests each morning at breakfast. I'm a cheapskate, so I always wince when I get the bill (high or low), but my wife was VERY PLEASED, and in the end, that's all that matters. When we return to Fredericksburg in the future, there's a very high probablility that we'll stay at one of these places. I cannot recommend and endorse it highly enough.


Wonderful Last Minute Stay

4,8 sur août 15, 2012

This was a last minute 8/13/12 by chance stay at a lovely pet friendly B&B. We were very happy with our spotless large comfortable room and yummy breakfast in the morning. Wish we had more time to stay. A definite place I would stay again.........Staff and inn keeper were very friendly and welcoming to us and our pet. Great location for walking and checking out all the local history and shops.


1890 Caroline House, like getting the remarkable experience of staying in a fabulous Victorian dollhouse!

4,4 sur avril 27, 2012

What a great Victorian home! This house is so incredibly detailed in decor! Absolutely stunning! No attention to detail has been missed, from the original hardwood floors, persian rugs, lead glass chandeliers, fantastic Victorian furniture, mirrors, all the way down to the detailed hardware on the doors and fixtures. We stayed in the Wiley Suite, not "Victorian", more masculine, with a tropical flair, zebra prints here and there, but not overdone. Extremely comfortable, with double-sided fireplace, one opening into the large sitting room, comfy chairs, with tv's back to back over double sided fireplace, other side opening into the king size bed bedroom. Comfy bed, supersoft blanket and comforter, fabulous double bathroom with 2 separate his/hers vanities and jacuzzi in 1 room, 2nd room commode,bidet, large tiled glass shower with great showerheads. blue ray DVD player, CD's that are able to be stereo systemed throughout the suite and into the courtyard. Private entrance from this suite to the courtyard and private exit to side street. House is located on Caroline street, so can step right out into Old Town Fredericksburg, everything within easy and wonderfully "old time" walking distance.Check out SimplyFredericksburg.com for all the sites, history, and shopping!


Lovely Surprise

5 sur mars 06, 2011

My husband and I came down for a friend's wedding in another B&B. Fortunately the Richard Johnson Inn had space on very short notice. Lindsay, the inn keeper, could not have been sweeter. She gave us a tour of the property and we chose the third floor room. It was beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. I was so grateful for the non-stop excellent coffee the next morning. The breakfast was enormous and delicious. My husband was well fed and happy. This inn has lots of parking in the rear which is another plus. I'm running out of superlatives to describe this property -- We will remember our stay for a long, long time.


Great lodging in historic place

4,4 sur novembre 19, 2010

The inn is beautiful and comfortable. Located in the middle of history it is a great place to visit the surrounding battlefield sites. You live in history while visiting history.


Inn Keeper to the rescue

3,0 sur mai 08, 2010

The Richard Johnston Inn is a lovely historic building very conveniently located for sightseeing in Historic Fredericksburg. It is right across from the visitors center and close to shops and restaurants and a mere three block walk from the railway station. The Inn Keeper, Bonnie Lelys and her staff were both friendly and helpful. Bonnie went above and beyond when we discovered our train home was hours late. She invited us to sit in the parlor where we finally decided to rent a car and drive home. When the rental company was too busy to pick us up immediately, Bonnie drove us to their site. We really appreciated her extra effort.


Sigh

3,0 sur août 19, 2009

What an attractive location with beautiful appointments in the heart of Fredericksburg. While the rooms were great, the reception and dining fell well short of expectations. The Innkeeper is an Inn Sitter who is reputed to be a great cook, but breakfast consisted of a continental offering. When asked about local battlefields, the hostess explained that didn't interest her so she couldn't help. Not on our return list.

Réponse du propriétaire
I am dissappointed that this guest did not enjoy their visit. My license plate does say Innsitter and that was my previous business - I am now an Innkeeper. It is on our website that we serve an extended continental breakfast during the week but for an extra charge they may order a full breakfast. I try to direct guests to historic locations and the Visitors Center is across the street. Individual interests vary - again I am sorry they did not enjoy their visit


Very Nice B&B

4,2 sur juin 20, 2009

The Johnston Inn is very nice and is a very good value. The location is excellent with many dining and shopping opportunities in walking distance. For example, the Capital Ale House, a very good resaurant, is a very short walk. The breakfast was delicious and very generous in a great setting. I would enthusiatically recommend this B&B.


SATISFIED AND HAPPY VACATIONERS

5 sur avril 12, 2009

We were on the last part of our two week retirement vacation. We stopped in Fredricksburg because we had visited the town a few years before, and had loved the quaint shops and the atmosphere of the area. We were told of the Richard Johnston Inn at the Welcome Center along with other Inns and hotels. We had picked this Inn because it was in the center of town, and had parking for our car. Little did we realize that we were to also enjoy the comforts and warmth of such a beautiful old and well maintained Inn. Our room was on the third flood. It was large with a king-sized bed and a mural painted on the wall showing Fredricksburg the way it looked during the years before the Civil War. There were old beamed ceiling through out the room even into the bath room. Our breakfast's were not large, but were enough to fill you up. There was lots of coffee (hot water for tea) and different juices. Our host Bonnie is an excellent cook and each morning we had a tasty treat of a coffee cake that was so very good, some went back for more than one serving...We are looking forward to another visit in the very near future!


Not a bed and breakfast in the traditional sense.

3,2 sur avril 06, 2009

While the ratings may seem low, all 3's, we have high expectations for our stays and the Richard Johston certainly met them. We very much enojyed the frunishings, and it was very clean. Our breakfast as blueberry French toast was excellent. Our bed, a queen was not very comfortable, and we both awoke with some back discomfort. The owner of the property is not on the premises, and in fact, the innkeeper once referred to the 'corporation' which is fine, but one aspect of the B&B that we have always thoroughly enjoyed is meeting the owners who live in the home. We learn of their investment in the home and the love they have for all within. Richard Johnston Inn is a very good B&B, but as a small inn of 8 rooms or so, it does not have the intimacy of a home.


Yahoo

4,0 sur mars 13, 2009

Even though we had no prior resevations we were treated convivially and fairly; a big plus in todays fast paced society. We hope to return again and again...mbsaunders


january 2009 stay

5 sur janvier 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Olivia room. It had a canopy bed, lots of towels and even soft robes. The surprise was the brandy in the room. We do not usually drink alcohol, but we had to try a sip. It warmed me up clear to my toes. The food is to die for. Ask for the recepies! The furniture is "period", the place was immaculate and the food was fantastic. What more could one ask for?


Warm & Elegant

5 sur janvier 19, 2009

The Richard Johnston Inn surrounds you in an atmosphere that is warm and elegant. Today melts away as soon as you enter the front door and is replaced by the splendor of the 18th century. High ceilings, richly decorated common rooms, and a very elegant dining room are treats for the eyes. All of the guest rooms are finely appointed; all are theme decorated; none disappoint. We were treated to the most delicious, relaxing breaksfasts. The manager, Bonnie, could not be a more gracious host - warm, helpful, and very knowledgeable about the history of both the house & the area. Plan a trip to Fredericksburg, book the Richard Johnston Inn, stay a few days extra! The area is rich with history that goes back to the 1600s. Take the trolley tour. Kudos!


5+ Stars All The Way!!!

4,0 sur janvier 19, 2009

Patricia Eldridge & Leslie Miller


A home away from home

4,4 sur novembre 03, 2008

A brilliant place to stay. Lovely comfy rooms with massive beds and TV as well as private bathrooms. Breakfast was great and the owners are wonderful people that make you feel very welcome. I definitely recommend this place (you should come here even if you are not interested in seeing the battlefield or any of the historic sites nearby) :)


Charming

5 sur août 11, 2008

Our stay at this Inn was short, but oh so sweet. Located right in the middle of the historic district - it was within walking distance to everything. The Irish Pub next door is wonderful too! The Inn is decorated to perfection and the breakfast was outstanding. We look forward to visiting again! Chip & Kris Chula, GA


An enjoyable experience

5 sur février 17, 2008

My stay this week at the Richard Johnston inn exceeded my expectations. The inn is beautifully decorated with revolutionary and civil war antiques, so has a wonderful patriotic feeling in the heart of old Fredericksburg. The breakfast was wonderful and very clean--A+. The service was outstanding; Bonnie went beyond my expectations by aiding me in my trip back to Washington, calling VRE to determine delays and driving me to the train station! A+


Best Location Ever!!!

5 sur avril 16, 2007

This Inn is right in the middle of the historic district of Fredericksburg. You can literally walk to everything and Caroline St is a shoppers delight especially if you love antiques. Our room was the least expensive in the house and it was gorgeous. The canopy bed was so comfortable and there were many small welcoming touches not only in the room but throughout the entire Inn. Bonnie is a perfect hostess and add her own charm to that of this historic house.


What a Gem!

5 sur janvier 18, 2007

Charm, Charm, Charm. It's definitely like a little bit of the old world in Virgina. Rooms were large and accomodating. Inn keeper also very helpful. Delightful relaxing room with many up-to-date DVD's to watch. Also, take a little nip of the port provided before bed.


Richard Johnston Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $125 - $275
  • Avis (20) 4,4
  • Chambres 12
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5408997606
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8775570770

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut