Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,1
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
28 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Charming B&B

4,6 sur septembre 29, 2013

We only spent a night, but I definitely recommend the place. Even though we had to be on our way at 6:30 the next morning, Lorraine and Richard prepared a full breakfast for us! If you're looking for a quite, nice cosy place to stay around the Champlain Lake, this is definitely a great spot.


wonderful dining experience

5 sur septembre 28, 2013

We just stumbled upon the ransom bay inn last night. It was close to 9pm on a friday night and everything was closed in the champlain islands. We were warmly greeted and enjoyed a fabulous dinner. We ordered rib eye steak rare and it was and very big portion served perfectly rare which is a rare occurrence! We also had the lamb which was divine. They baked their own bread too.It was a good value, great atmosphere and friendly service. We will definitely be back. Thanks so much


Thank you Lorraine and Richard

5 sur août 16, 2013

Ransom Bay Inn is a very beautiful place to have your meal, the dining is fantastic and the staff is very friendly. We were a big party so they gave us a private dining room where we had a great time. Overall, a very lovely place.


Un petit bijou caché dans le Vermont.

4,0 sur mai 27, 2013

I'm a francophone from Quebec,,so my review will be in french. Un accueil courtois et en toute simplicité. Le repas du soir était excellent. La sélection des vins, parfaite. Excellent service. Une nuit paisible comme à la maison de campagne de mon père. Un déjeuner sublime. You have to taste the french toast. It's a must! Un gros merci à Loraine et Richard. Nous reviendrons, c'est sûr!. Marc-Antoine et Deborah


A Destination In Itself

4,6 sur octobre 27, 2012

A beautifully renovated 200-yr old inn with all its original charm yet with all the modern conveniences (except TV.) Plenty of space in the wicker room and the bathroom was great: tiled shower and white art deco floor. Rick and Lorraine could not have been friendlier or more accommodating hosts, providing Inn history, lots of local info and excellent meals. Their pride in their accomplishments and enjoyment of their work was quite evident. Will go considerably out of our way to return when in the area again.


Can't believe our luck!

5 sur février 13, 2012

My wife and I rode our bikes from Brooklyn, NY to Montreal. On the afternoon of our 4th day we found ourselves in a bike shop in Burlington, VT asking the friendly mechanic how much farther to Montreal. It was already 2:00 pm, so he quickly looked up some lodging options on our way north and gave us the phone numbers. Once we finally got to the Champlain Isles, we realized it was getting late and we should find a place to stay. We called the Ransom Bay Inn and they had one more room. We pedaled up there through some very pretty farm country, but I didn't expect much from the Inn, especially after seeing many of the lake-side motels we passed. We arrived exhausted, parked our bikes and couldn't believe our luck. The Inn was cozy and beautiful. The food was outstanding. The room was really comfortable. The inn keepers were terrific. The breakfast both big and delicious, and because it was held in a communal room where you got to meet other guests (as opposed to dinner the night before, which was more romantic), we were able to meet other travelers, including a young couple from Montreal biking south. The Ransom Bay Inn will remain a high point of our whole trip.


A Gem in the Isles of Vermont

5 sur décembre 04, 2011

My daughter and I had the good fortune to book an overnight stay at the Ransom Bay Inn on our way from Montreal to New York City, in November. Rick and Loraine are the Inn Keepers from heaven, and their hospitality abounds! Not only did they prepare and serve us delicious culinary delights for dinner, and breakfast, but they offered these things with a generosity usually reserved for family. The two hundred and eighteen year old home, in which this Bed and Breakfast resides, has a lovely atmosphere, and furnishings, which instantly make you feel as if you've stepped back in time to simpler days. Rick and Loraine were more than willing to share the history of their charming Inn, and of the surrounding Isles and Lake Champlain as well. We will definitely return to Ransom Bay Inn, and highly recommend this B and B to everyone. Thank you again Loraine and Rick for making our first trip to Vermont a very special one!


Best European 'VERMONT' style Inn - B & B in the area! Molto Bene!! Mille grazie! Merci beaucoup!

5 sur novembre 08, 2011

This jewel is a real DIAMOND of an Inn/B&B, and is the BEST you will find at very reasonable rates in this area. If you want the charm, elegance and flair of European style throughout your stay, choose Ransom Bay Inn B&B (or just stay home). Rick and Loraine, you are the best, and Leslie and I will be back very soon. (twice more at least; on her birthday and for Blake's Xmas day surprise) in December 2011. Rick, how would Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal be on "you know what?" Here's a little Tidbit: The von Trapp Family Lodge "Austrian Tea Room" 'secret' bar mix ingredient now revealed here first!! :) and also, Did someone say that the USA's First President: General George Washington MAY have slept or camped out here? (For REAL!!) (oh, I just did! Oops!) We love you both! Bob C, Leslie E., and Blake E., from Andover, Massachusetts. (soon to be Mr. and Mrs. C. - April or May 2012 - will see you then, too! ) ~ciao~


GREAT HOSPITALITY!

4,6 sur octobre 06, 2011

Our recent stay at Ransom Bay Inn B&B was a great addition to our Northern Vermont/Canadian vacation. The meals were spectacular and cooked to order when we arrived in the dining room. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful with local suggestions and accommodating to all our needs. Can't wait to return...


An Ideal Stop for Cyclists

4,8 sur septembre 05, 2011

The Ransom Bay Inn was a wonderful place to stop on our cycling trip through the Champlain Islands and up into Quebec. The accommodations was cozy and comfortable, the breakfasts fabulous and the dinners were delicious. We lounged on the lovely patio before dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance of the Inn. The inn keepers were gracious and did everything to make our stay special including providing an area inside for our bicycles. I would highly recommend this Inn as a stopping a place for cyclists as well as for tourists.


Good Sleep and Excellent Restaurant

3,8 sur juillet 09, 2010

We arrived at Burlington, VT in late afternoon and a one hour drive took us to Alburg. We quickly located the Ransom Bay Inn and Lorraine took us to our room which was quite spacious. We had a wonderful dinner in the onsite restaurant. Richard cooks much of the meat on an outdoor grill and his chicken with apricot glaze was absolutely outstanding. The next morning I had a nice chat with Richard before we an enjoyed a great cooked-to-order breakfast. We stayed only one night and I wish we could have enjoyed more of Richard's creative cooking.


Shameless Old Girl Endorsements, Mills College Grad, Member Vermont Fresh Network

4,0 sur septembre 05, 2009

Dining Review: Ambiance: Completely renovated historic building with classic comfort. This is a true rarity in the modern world, if you reserve a table – it is graciously and generously yours to use all night. Loraine and Richard have only one goal indulging your party, so plan to linger and revel in your table companion’s company. A full bar offers hospitality to mature groups of visitors and is open to dining room during dining hours. An intimate dining room with huge stone fireplace and five star site rating. Service and food are unrushed and exemplary when the dining room is full or you are the solitary table. Food: Richard went out to brush the snow off and barbeque a perfect medium rare steak for me at the end of last season. Loraine has a wonderful desert and salad room, be sure to save room or take desert back to you room or camp. All food is prepared on the premise; you won’t find the all too often boxed frozen deserts of rural Vermont. How to get this good stuff: It is worth the country drive to this summer and fall seasonal restaurant at just 55 minutes form Montreal and 50 minutes from Burlington or Plattsburgh, if you think the drive is too long, book a room and enjoys the lavish hospitality and breakfast too. Enjoy a stay or meal here often.


Vermont at its best

5 sur juillet 04, 2009

Beautiful location, just a short drive to Burlington. Beautiful home. Beautiful time with Richard and Lorraine. Beautiful food. What a great weekend!


The best B&B/My slice of heaven

5 sur mai 23, 2009

Always friendly and really make people feel very much at home. Thank you for always making our stays with you extra special. Diane, Micheal and Aaron Hess


My favorite stop in Vermont!

5 sur janvier 04, 2009

We stayed in Ransom Bay Inn for one night in August during a cycling trip through the Champlain islands. This was our last night and turned out to be a wonderful way to end the trip. The hosts are warm and welcoming and very accomodating in every way. The rooms are beautiful, original, and comfortable. The place is peaceful and quiet and we slept like babies. Best of all was the evening meal served by the owners in an elegant and relaxed atmosphere. They even put our bicycles inside for the night, which is a big plus for cyclists. We will be back next summer for sure and I won't hesitate to recommend this inn. Robert from Montreal.


The best B&B yet!

4,6 sur décembre 15, 2008

I have tried many many B&B's and this is probably the best ever for me. First and foremost are the owners who really like people and make everything so warm and fuzzy (as does the wonderful house). Eating in such an atmostphere is already very pleasant, but the food is also surprisingly good (the grilled steak is excellent and the chocolate truffle tort is simply naughty)


Comfortable, Friendly, Good Value

3,6 sur décembre 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the 'Cannonball' room, named for the style of the dark maple bed, on the first Thursday in October, 2008. We were the only overnight guests. The room was very comfortable, and tastefully furnished with antiques. I liked the clawfoot iron bathtub. This 18th century house was restored by Richard, the innkeeper. It is very comfortable and practical, but if you're looking for elegance, this may not be right for you. Both innkeepers love to cook. It shows. We loved the breakfast. They also serve dinner in their small (about 16 seat) restaurant, and it was filled with local diners on our visit. Be sure to reserve for dinner when you make your room reservation. We did not, but we were served a wonderful dinner after the locals left at about 8:30pm. So... dinner for two complete at about $65, a comfortable room and great breakfast at $95, that adds up to a good value. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to my friends and family. best regards, David Commack, New York


Great Stay

4,2 sur novembre 24, 2008

Our second stay..great night, great meal and wonderful breakfast.


Intimate restaurant a winner

4,4 sur novembre 23, 2008

The host and hostess were warm and wonderful, and the food was superb. Having a small, intimate restaurant in the old coach house was so convenient. This old inn a few miles from the Canadian border is a wonderful stop.


Great hosts!

5 sur novembre 03, 2008

My wife and I were very pleased with our experience. The hosts were friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. The new dinner menu is a real plus.


A welcome stay on a long journey

4,0 sur octobre 27, 2008

We stayed at the Ransom Bay Inn on our way to Montreal via bicycle. Our hosts were most gracious and accommodating to a couple of weary travelers. We thought it especially nice that they prepared breakfast for us even though we slept in a little late to rest our saddle-sore bums. Drive the extra mile or two to put this establishment on your itinerary if you are in the area.


Relaxed and Scerene B & B

3,2 sur octobre 21, 2008

We arrived late and felt like we were at home. The owner nice and talkative it's like you are visit a friend. The place is clean and located in a very beautiful place on the lake, it's surrounded with green. Beatiful sunrise!!!!!!!


beautiful vermont

4,6 sur septembre 26, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Ransom by inn and it was perfect, thanks to loraine & Rich, the innkeepers. It was the first time we stopped in a B&B and we loved it. The food was so delicious and the innkeepers so nice. If we had a question about anything, they were happy to help us. If we go back in the area of alburg, vt, we sure go back to Ransom Bay Inn!!! Thank you one again Rick & Loraine for your kindness!!! Annick & Josée (from St-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, qc)


Charming!

3,6 sur août 08, 2008

My girlfriend, her mom & I happened to stay here a couple of nights last month. This is a perfect place to stay if you are in the area. The old stone house and decor is wonderful! Old world charm, impressionist prints and some interesting wallpaper works for me. Loved the sheep motif. The hosts Rick & Lorraine are wonderful people who really take the time to get to know you. Memorable indeed!


Thrilled!!!

4,8 sur mars 04, 2008

Most pleasant stay I have had in a B&B.


Highly recommend

4,4 sur octobre 26, 2007

We stay here in October 2007. We reserved 3 rooms for one night. We had a wonderful time here, and wished we had reserved more nights. The food was great, and Richard and Loraine really are lovely people. They do dinner, on request, and it was delicious. We couldn't have asked for a nicer stay. Would definitely recommend it to all.


Great time in Vermont

4,6 sur octobre 08, 2007

The owners are welcoming, plaisant, very nice and joyful. We enjoyed our one night stay and would recommand highly this bed and Breakfast.


best B&B during our vacation

4,4 sur septembre 11, 2007

Very friendly innkeepers, beautiful rooms,enjoyed our stay a lot.


Ransom Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $80 - $135
  • Avis (28) 4,5
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8027963399
  • Portable 1-8023090186

Plus d'infos

Haut