Stevenson Ridge Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,0

Notation basée sur
147 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Must go here!!

5 sur octobre 21, 2014

We stayed in the Log Cabin and the Post Office. Awesome! , is the proper description of our stay. The owners and staff are very personable and more than willing to talk to you about the property. Each of the guest homes are beautiful!! The pictures can not capture the superb craftsmanship and warmth that are present in each.


Greatest find!

5 sur octobre 20, 2014

We needed a few nights away and Stevenson Ridge was available. We lucked out! We were greeted by the sweetest innkeepers, with an easy and relaxed atmosphere. It was quiet and no one bothered us at all. Upon checkout, we were engaged and treated like we had known them for years! The rooms were clean and comfortable.


Great Crib

5 sur octobre 20, 2014

Stayed at the Corn Crib. Great little place and wonderful value. Close to outstanding dining. Had a wonderful and very relaxing time.


Incredible !

5 sur octobre 20, 2014

When I found Stevenson Ridge on the internet, I thought it looked like a nice quaint and romantic retreat at a very affordable price. When we actually pulled onto the property and SAW the grounds and the buildings....it was pure fascination. After speaking with Mr. Spears, we realized that this was not only a beautiful place to stay, but by staying here, you have an insight into the heart and soul of not only the builder, but also the history of each building. Mr. Spears has truly poured his passion and skill into each and every one. Each is unique in its preservation of how it used to be, but updated to the comforts that we all enjoy today. The pictures do not do this place justice. You just have to come visit and see it for yourself. You will NOT be disappointed. Be sure to walk the grounds deep into the beauty of the woods and see the trenches. And don't pass up an opportunity to meet the Spears family. It was hard to leave. We will be back again and again.


wedding night stay

5 sur octobre 19, 2014

Our stay at SR on our wedding night was fantastic!


loved SR

5 sur septembre 28, 2014

everything was perfect


Enjoyable

4,6 sur septembre 24, 2014

This was a girls weekend. My cousin and I were taking time to ourselves and doing some historical touring. We chose to stay at Stevenson's Ridge and were delighted with our stay. We were in the Servants Quarters. It is a look into the past. The quarters is dim lighting so if you plan on staying there do bring a book light if you intend to read. It is a place to just sit and enjoy the peace and quiet. We definitely want to return in the future. Even though I rated Dining we did not take advantage of that.


Getaway 2014

4,0 sur septembre 24, 2014

Very enjoyable spot. Great privacy, plentiful space, super front porch, I would definitely return.


We keep coming back for more!

4,2 sur septembre 22, 2014

This would have been the fourth time my wife and I stayed at Stevenson Ridge B&B. I have been attending an annual conference in Fredericksburg and we have taken the opportunity to stay here as a brief private getaway rather than staying at the conference facilities. The first three times we see stayed in the Corn Crib, a rustically elegant and cozy one room efficiency with generous bath. This time we reserved the Civil War House, one of the few cabins with a full kitchen, with plans to eat in in the evening and the next morning. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, my wife was unable to accompany me so I came by myself. The owners were very accommodating. The pictures on the website fail to do the cabin justice. It is much more cozy and homey than is apparent on the website. The decor, as in all of the cabins, is Civil War and Americana, very tastefully done. There are period artifacts and memorabilia throughout. My two regrets are that I had to come alone and that my stay was so short. We will be returning to spend several days to get full enjoyment of this quiet retreat. Please note that I was required to give a dining score in spite of the fact that by design, I brought my own meals.


Stevenson Ridge getaway fun

4,2 sur septembre 22, 2014

Most relaxing


A Welcome Respite from the Road

5 sur septembre 10, 2014

Stevenson Ridge is truly a life-saver for me. I was about to cancel any further drives from my home in Beaufort, NC to visit the grandchildren in Silver Spring, MD. Then I found Stevenson Ridge. With the better part of the drive behind us and the hard part ahead, my two best pals and I relax and refresh overnight in the casual elegance of The Civil War Cabin. Jesse and Charlie, of hound-shepherd variety, love walking the trails and curling up for the night in the cozy cabin. I am completely revived after a night's rest in the most comfortable bed off I-95 and wake up to a delightful basket of breakfast treats delivered to my door (for a modest fee). On my last visit, there was an extra treat--a colander of fresh-picked strawberries from Debbie, Inn-keeper Extraordinaire. My visits have been brief, but my memories are forever. Treat yourself soon!


Stevenson Ridge

4,4 sur août 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I chose this quiet spot for our anniversary get away. It was absolutely perfect!! We had a wonderful time. It was peaceful and amazingly romantic. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. And the cabin was wonderful: we're already planning to go back in the winter!


Cosy in The Corn Crib

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2014

The Corn Crib located at Stevenson Ridge was a great place to stay. The grounds and buildings were very interesting and the hosts made us feel very much at home. Breakfast provisions were first class but really should be part of the deal for a B&B, not as an add on. We would have give a straight 5 stars apart from this.


8th Anniversary get-away

5 sur juillet 01, 2014

Once again Stevenson Ridge did NOT disappoint. The Spy Hill House was beautifully decorated with a wonderful view of the pond. The unbelievably tall bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The modern bathroom was a nice touch in an otherwise not-at-all modern house. Our morning breakfast was dropped off right on time & was absolutely delish! Just love this treasure called Stevenson Ridge!


Outstanding!!!

4,8 sur juin 07, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in the Riddick House over Memorial Day 2014. It was perfect down to the last detail. We had a relaxing weekend that was made even more enjoyable by a superior staff. I have already recommended this place to all my friends and family. Saw a few weddings on the grounds too...I wish I wasn't already married so I could have my event there! Check it out!


Fantastic historic American experience

4,6 sur juin 03, 2014

Truly an historic experience also from a European point of view! The house and the interiors are breath-taking, so is the huge garden and the forest. Lovely setting, the owners took great care of us and provided us with 2 perfect recommendations for a) breakfast and b) dinner. We couldn't have hit it better! Many thanks for hosting us! Cheers Harald & Petra


Best Trip Ever!

5 sur mai 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Adrian Cabin and had such a wonderful time. The family/owners were exceptionally kind and gave us great advice about what to do around town. They recommended a great guy, Chris M., to give us a personal tour of the Wilderness and Spotsylvania battlefields, which absolutely MADE our trip. If you're visiting to check out the battlefields, I would highly recommend this. Overall, the place was affordable, the grounds were peaceful, and the service excellent. We plan on making the trek back to the Adrian Cabin from our home in Texas again!


awesome place!

5 sur mai 19, 2014

We will definitely be going back!


Beautiful B&B

4,4 sur mai 13, 2014

The houses at Stevenson Ridge are absolutely beautiful. Overall I would highly recommend this B&B although there were a couple minor issues. First, we chose the Riddick House specifically because it had a Jacuzzi listed in the description, so we were pretty disappointed when we got to our room and discovered it was out of order and could only be used as a soaking tub. This should have been made clear to us at the time of booking. Second, when we went to make breakfast in the morning, we found that the gas stove was not turned on, so we had to wait for someone from the staff to come and turn it on. It would also be nice if they had at least one nice, non-stick pan in the kitchen. Given that they don't really prepare breakfast for you as Stevenson Ridge as they do in other B&Bs, they should make sure the guests have cookwares in good enough condition to be useful should the guests decide to make use of what is a beautiful kitchen setup. We managed to make bacon and eggs in the beatup, wobbly, dented steal pan we found, but it was certainly not ideal. Other than the above mentioned issues, I will say we genuinely enjoyed our stay, loved exploring the house including the many knick knacks and books, etc. on the shelves and we do plan on returning in the future.


Stevenson ridge April escape

4,4 sur mai 08, 2014

A gem of a cabin in the woods was perfect for a mini escape. The cabin was clean, well appointed and comfy. Firewood was ready and the fire was perfect to relax by. Enjoyed the walk to the river. Hosts were friendly and welcoming. I would absolutely recommend staying here, and I plan to return. We took our own food, so I cannot rate it, however the survey does not give a n/a option. Thank you.


Charming and peaceful

4,2 sur mai 08, 2014

We are still thinking about how great our stay was in the Servant's Quarters. Perfect place for photographers and only a few miles from everything in Fredericksburg. Breakfast was offered but we went into town instead...so can't rate the food.


Quiet Cabin Getaway

5 sur avril 03, 2014

The cabin was gorgeous, appointed well with everything we needed. Accomodating innkeepers, and attentive house keeping.


Unique Retreat

5 sur mars 31, 2014

Loved our stay at the log cabin. The buildings and set up are so serene and unique while still being close to convenience. The fireplace was all set up to start, and the way the owners re-modeled kept so the history and integrity of the building in mind. Will definitely be staying again


Nice home away from home

4,2 sur février 19, 2014

Being so close to the DC area, Stevenson Ridge is a wonderful location and its beautiful grounds made us feel like we were miles away. The separate buildings were each unique and had everything you need plus was there to make you feel right at home. It is evident the family truly cares about this place the owner, who rebuilt every antique building on the site is a true craftsman. Although we did not mind this, anyone who stays there should be aware that there is no breakfast facility on site (a "bed and breakfast" without the breakfast option). However, not having breakfast onsite did not hinder us. Each cabin is stocked with dishes and a kitchen and there are plenty of places to eat in the area. A continental breakfast option is available. We only stayed one night, but, booked our next stay during the night we were there. You will not be disappointed.


Perfection!

5 sur janvier 20, 2014

I actually got married here a little over a year ago and stayed in the Log Cabin on my wedding night! Stevenson Ridge is continually the first place I recommend when a friend gets engaged! The help from Elizabeth and Jennifer was outstanding! Our stay in the Log Cabin was perfect for our wedding night, we came back after to our bed turned down and the fire blazing! 100% recommend Stevenson Ridge for any kind of event or get-a-way with your sweetheart! My hubby and I are looking forward to our next stay! :)


Stevenson Ridge is awesome and great value

4,4 sur janvier 05, 2014

We arrived in the evening and were blown away by the accommodations of the Log Home! Great facilities, historic feel, 4 fireplaces, awesome master bedroom, full kitchen, in a secluded spot in the woods. Incredible value. Didn't dine there so can't comment on that part but lots of restaurants nearby in Fredicksburg.


Nice place, enjoyable stay

3,6 sur novembre 27, 2013

We stayed in the Civil War House, and it was very nice, cozy and well-appointed, but the modern cabinets in the kitchen and bathroom didn't fit the decor, and seemed very out of place. We enjoyed looking at the other antiques and the property was gorgeous. Owners were very nice!!


Weekend Get Away

4,8 sur novembre 25, 2013

Cabin was great and the staff person on hand was very helpful.


Amazing!

5 sur novembre 24, 2013

My wife and I came to Stevenson Ridge for our five year anniversary, and everything about it was outstanding! The atmosphere, the service, everything was perfect. We're looking forward to our next visit!


Outstanding

5 sur octobre 22, 2013

Stayed in the Servants Quarters. Was wonderful. If we are ever get back out that way, we will stay again.


awesome!

4,6 sur septembre 29, 2013

Beautiful interesting place with lovely owners. Highly rec. We will be back.


One night stay at Spy Hill House

4,0 sur septembre 25, 2013

My wife and I recently had a great stay at the Spy Glass House. The house and property are beautiful. The house is immaculate and has great history. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. This B&B is very unique inthat it consists of various homes for rent on one expansive property. We would highly recommend Stevenson Ridge to anyone looking for a quiet and comfortable getaway in the northern Virginia area.


Best Anniversary Weekend Stay

4,2 sur septembre 13, 2013

We celebrated our 28th year of marriage while spending the weekend at the Log Cabin. It was fantastic - completely relaxed and re-connected with each other in a very quiet and private setting. An unexpected bonus was being able to witness a wedding ceremony from the front porch! No complaints - the entire compound was as it should be. We brought food and beverages with us, but also took advantage of the numerous wineries and restaurants in the area for a few hours each day. We'll definitely be back - hope the Tobacco Barn will be ready.


Outstanding

3,2 sur septembre 08, 2013

What a charming and historic gem! The property was close to town, but hidden in a lush green setting off the main road. The owner was friendly and welcoming. We loved everything about this place. The only disappointment was there was no breakfast which we thought was strange since it is listed as a bed and breakfast.


A retreat for the soul

4,6 sur septembre 02, 2013

Log home perfectly restored, bedding wrapped me in linen luxury. Walking along the trails amount the C.War trenches, quiet and somber. I photographed streams, trees, nature. A balm has been applied to my city battered soul.


Wonderful getaway

4,4 sur août 27, 2013

our stay was well above our expectations, my wife and i operate 2 hotels and i must say they have customer service mastered, the property is beautiful , what a hidden gem right here in virginia! we cant wait to go back!


Amazing

5 sur août 13, 2013

This was such an amazing place. The price was wonderful. It was so CLEAN!!! for me that is so important. It was clean and wonderful and so pretty perfect for a romantic getaway.


Love this serene place, like heaven on earth.

5 sur août 11, 2013

My husband and I celebrated my birthday by staying at Stevenson's Ridge in the "Corn Crib". It is a lovely studio apartment that welcomes you with beautiful furnishings. The walk-in shower was wonderful and the bed was very comfortable. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. It is very quiet and serene. I love this little slice of heaven on earth and would highly recommend it to anyone. If you order a breakfast basket you won't be disappointed, it was delicious and there was plenty to eat. Rae and Rodney from Hagerstown, Maryland.


Charming and Quaint BandB

5 sur juillet 25, 2013

Stunning countryside. The Post Office Cottage is very comfortable, a quiet place to refresh and relax. The spa like bathroom was luxurious. The huge window with a view of the woods is a beautiful, back to nature accent. We were very happy here as we enjoyed family time as well on the huge front porch of the log cabin. A beautiful place to make memories. We loved being out in nature and yet so close to Fredricksburg when we wanted a lovely wood fired steak dinner at Fire Birds Restaurant.


Stevenson Ridge Review

4,4 sur juillet 13, 2013

A great welcome on our arrival after a long drive. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, spacious and full of character. A very restful night and excellent breakfast the following morning to get us on our way. Stevenson Ridge is set in beautiful countryside and has great character.


Great Getaway!!

4,0 sur juillet 11, 2013

Very enjoyable. Enjoyed the servant quarters and the set up.


Fantastic Stay at Stevenson Ridge's Civil War House

5 sur juillet 08, 2013

Once again Stevenson Ridge has delivered on a fantastic evening. We stayed here last year in thier Spy Hill House, and returned this year to the Civil War House. As with before, the property exeeded our expectations. It was a great visit in wonderfully restored/updated accomodations with attentive and professional innkeepers. We look forward to our next visit. R & J Nelson


A romantic getaway

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

The stay was nothing short of perfect. Secluded, yet just a short drive. Totally able to unwind and enjoy a perfect weekend. I will visit again and again.


Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

5 sur juillet 01, 2013

Wonderful, quaint, comfortable accommodations! Breakfast was delicious! Can't wait to return!


Stevenson Ridge

4,0 sur juin 20, 2013

Our 3 "kids" gave us a gift certificate for Stevenson Ridge. We enjoyed coming back to the "Civil War House" after a day at the battlefields, winery or distillery! Jennifer, Dan and Debbie made us feel right at home away from home!


This place is unique and the best.

5 sur juin 19, 2013

Perfect setting and beautiful housing. Great innkeepers and memorable breakfast.


Sarah's Wedding Venue

5 sur juin 04, 2013

We had the most memorable wedding every at Stevenson Ridge! All of the accommodations were top quality - soft but firm beds, kitchen ammenties including creamer in the refrigerator and coffee in a canister, bathtubs and showers that are modern and clean. This property does not lack in anything! Original artwork and antiques everywhere make the rustic lodging feel like home. I really could have stayed at least a couple of weeks in the Post Office and my family thoroughly enjoyed gathering in the Reddick House. Above all, our wedding planner and director, Elizabeth, was almost superhuman. She answered every call and anticipated every need every wedding party member had! We love her and Stevenson Ridge.


Servant's Quarters

4,4 sur juin 02, 2013

I stayed with my mom for a weekend to visit Fredricksburg. I didn't really want to stay at a plain hotel and searched for a bed and breakfast. Looking at the photos online, I was a but nervous about space, but when we arrived I was amazed at how cozy the cabin was. The staff was very friendly and eager to meet our needs during our stay. I highly recommend Stevenson ridge for a historical stay in the Fredricksburg area.


Good getaway

3,6 sur mai 29, 2013

Great getaway just far enough away from either Richmond or the DC area. We stayed in the servants quarters. Very cozy. Walking the grounds through the woods was nice. We had dinner at Foode in Fredericksburg which was tasty and fun . There are other fancier options as well.


Wedding night

5 sur mai 18, 2013

My new husband and I spent our first married night in the spy hill house and we couldn't have asked for a better place! It was georgeous and had such a nice atmosphere! I would recommend this place to others in a heartbeat!


Extremely Impressed!

4,6 sur mai 14, 2013

Staying in a cabin, I expected to rough it somewhat. Boy, was I wrong! They had everything we needed (minus food), and I was extremely impressed with how clean and tidy everything was. The Adrian Cabin was pristine! It served my wife and I perfectly for the first two nights of our honeymoon. I greatly recommend Stevenson Ridge, and we hope to go back for future getaways! P.S. They don't have dining, but leaving it blank isn't and option, so I gave it a 3/5 "met my expectations", which it did since I knew ahead of time.


IDYLLIC!!

5 sur mai 12, 2013

What a lovely and peaceful spot! We had the pleasure of staying for 3 nights in Spy Hill House. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the entire house was immaculately clean and the fireplaces supplied with wood were wonderful. We truly enjoyed the well groomed walking trails and were delighted that dishes for our dog's food and water, along with some treats, were left out waiting for us. The cabins are simply lovely, and well spaced so you do feel quite secluded. The view of the pond was wonderful and catching 8 bass over the course of our stay was an added bonus. The staff and owners were so very pleasant and helpful and went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed. You will not be sorry if you are lucky enough to spend an evening or two in the lovely little retreat.


Lovely, warm and friendly- will return

5 sur mai 08, 2013

Stevenson Ridge really exceeded all expectations. The "chicken coop" we stayed in was well appointed, with a mini kitchen with everything you would need to store and eat snacks you bring. The bed was comfy and the shower huge. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and made you feel really welcome. Can't wait to come back. This is the perfect little place for 2.


Honeymoon

5 sur mai 06, 2013

My husband and I rented the Corn Crib for our honeymoon and it was perfect. It was so cozy and romantic.


This place is a gem

5 sur avril 26, 2013

If you are looking for a unique experience, this is the place to go. The owners have done an exceptional job restoring the buildings. An easy drive from Washington DC.


Over night in the Adrian!

5 sur avril 11, 2013

Such a nice room and lwe oved and really enjoyed the little patio on the side! Bathroom was bright and clean also! Having the Fire place ready to go was extremely nice! Will definitely be back!!


Stevenson Ridge

4,6 sur avril 09, 2013

Had a great stay at Stevenson Ridge. Dining did not apply, but had to put a rating in it.


Trip worth taking

3,8 sur avril 06, 2013

The Civil War house was an excellent house to stay in. The Spotsylvania people are so nice. The staff at Stevenson Ridge were informative and helpful. Thank's SR (that's my wife's nickname for the place) for a great anniversary weekend. You deserve a shout out!


So relaxing

4,6 sur mars 30, 2013

What a great place to have a relaxing weekend. A great location between Raleigh and Carlisle. Had a great time with my two daughters. We especially enjoyed the fireplace. We stayed in the Corncrib. It was very comfortable. Had a great time!


Even Better Than I Expected!

5 sur mars 04, 2013

Recently enjoyed a 2 night Romantic Getaway with my girlfriend at Stevenson Ridge. Log Cabin was fantastic: authentically rustic but with 21st century amenities (tv, microwave, nice sized shower, etc.) The staff was fantastic. They took care of everything we needed, yet we felt like we had the entire estate to ourselves. Highly recommend the Romance by Candlelight package. Re: the score for dining: Stevenson Ridge does offer an optional breakfast package. However, we aren't big breakfast eaters, so we didn't include that. But we found several very good restaurants for lunch/dinner in Fredericksburg (20mins away.) Try Foode, Bistro Bethem and for that special romantic dinner, La Petite Auberge. All in all, a great mini vacation. Stevenson Ridge is fantastic and we will definitely be back. Pete Reynolds, Chesapeake, VA


Adrian Cabin Was Awesome!

5 sur février 25, 2013

Stayed recently for three nights at the Stevenson Ridge Lodge for a wedding over President's Day weekend. The overall grounds were beautiful, and our rustic cabin (Adrian Cabin) was fantastic. Cold weather and fireplace added a lot to the charm of the cabin. Deceivingly large inside, and a nice little kitchen set-up. Staff was incredible, and firewood was replaced without asking. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! John & Mary Lindgren West Palm Beach, FL


Great Getaway

4,4 sur février 06, 2013

We very much enjoyed staying in the Spy Hill House. The house was very clean and plenty of firewood was already stacked for us. I highly recommend spending extra and getting the breakfast, it was delivered on time and was absolutely delicious! We will definitely visit again and hope to stay in the Post Office next.


A little piece of heaven on earth.

4,4 sur janvier 29, 2013

If you're looking for the Hyatt - go there. This place is a slice of old timey heaven. Real fireplace and a homey feeling unlike anywhere else. Turn off the Tv and enjoy the atmoshpere. Wake up in the morning and feed the geese. It was the best! Did not rate the dining +/- because we cooked our meal.


Fabulous!

5 sur janvier 27, 2013

Everything about Stevenson Ridge was spectacular! The people are lovely, customer service was exceptional. The accommodations are gorgeous! We can't wait to return!


A timeliness gem that will exceed expectations!

5 sur janvier 23, 2013

As a Marine, I've learned that details always comprise the 'big' picture. Apart from being so personable, all of the staff that I've encountered, including first and foremost Debbie and Dan, were professional and available. It was the tiny details that really made my stay unique and pleasant. Thank you 'Stevenson Ridge' I will be back, but this time with others and for a longer stay. Best to you in this new year!!!!!!


Excellent getaway

4,0 sur janvier 13, 2013

This was a perfect getaway for us. The Post Office was cozy, clean, and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and quite accommodating. The only thing I didn't like about the Stevenson Ridge is that breakfast is NOT included in your stay; you must pay extra. Otherwise, beautiful place to stay!


Stay at Stevenson Ridge's Log Cabin

4,6 sur janvier 07, 2013

We recently stayed at the Log Cabin at Stevenson Ridge and loved our stay. The service was exceptional and the place was incredible. You really felt like you were living in a Log Cabin for the day!


Wonderful place for a romantic get away!

5 sur décembre 24, 2012

This was a beautiful and relaxing B & B. The scenery was lovely, the place was gorgeous and the staff very accommodating. I highly recommend this place.


Stevenson Ridge is a must stay!

5 sur décembre 14, 2012

You will fall in love with Stevenson Ridge on your first visiit and want to come back again and again so you can experience everything on the property. Lots of shopping close by and restaurants range from mom & pop country cooking to fine dinning.


Excellent Stay!!!

4,8 sur novembre 28, 2012

If you are planning an overnight visit to the Fredericksburg area, you must consider Stevenson Ridge! I stayed in the Spy Hill House and it was perfect. The staff go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. They are also very quick to offer suggestions on where to dine or what to do in the area. The variety of lodges to choose from is great. Also, take some time to walk around the grounds, the place is beautiful! My only complaint is that the $15 breakfast basket is a tad overpriced. However, that does not take anything away from this amazing bed and breakfast. I will definitely return!


Stress-Release After Thanksgiving

4,4 sur novembre 28, 2012

We stayed the Friday & Saturday after Thanksgiving 2012 in the Spy Hill House. The pictures do not do it justice. The romance package was kept a surprise from my husband and Jennifer and the staff did an awesome job. We definitely relaxed and reconnected.


wonderful :)

5 sur octobre 17, 2012

We had a wonderfully enchanting evening. I can't wait to go back and stay longer!!! The manager and owners are always right there if you need them! They are all very thoughtful but also give you your space. Very private and special and the most unique I have ever found.


Wonderful cabin!

4,6 sur octobre 02, 2012

This was one of the best getaways we have had! We stayed in the Adrian Cabin. It was so peaceful, comfy and beautiful. It was so nice to enjoy our delicious breakfast basket on the patio this time of year. We also took a long walk enjoying the wildlife and scenery. My husband enjoyed exploring the Civil War battlefields so very nearby. We are already making plans to return and want to stay in the Adrian cabin again! Janice Vinson Autryville NC


One of the best vacations ever. We truly loved our cabin. Even thought about retiring in that cabin. Everyone was welcoming and very friendly. We would do this again and again. Thank You again. !!!

5 sur septembre 27, 2012

The owners are very friendly without being intrusive. We had fresh tomatoes from their garden. And homemade brownies. Just the small touches that make you feel welcome. We will always remember this one as a GREAT one.


Comfortable and Relaxing

4,0 sur septembre 10, 2012

Was a comfortable place to stay, felt much better than a hotel. Was also a great location to visit downtown as well.


Wonderful Experience!

5 sur septembre 02, 2012

Everything about Stevenson Ridge was perfect. We were looking for a quiet, romantic getaway to spend our 24th Anniversary. Everything exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Log Home one night and the Spy Hill House another night. The cabins are very clean, well maintained, authentic, beautifully decorated, we couldn't have asked for a more wonderful experience, looking foward to our return. Can't thank Dan, Debbie and the entire staff enough for sharing a fantastic piece of history.


Rustic luxury

5 sur août 04, 2012

We stayed one night in the "Corn crib" - A free standing cottage reminiscent of the 1950's cabins, only much larger and more luxurious. The photos on the Stevenson Ridge website don't do the place justice. We really enjoyed speding the night in such unique accomdations. We were there for a one night event and stayed there because it was the closet (only) place available. When I told my wife we would be staying at the "Corn crib" she balked. But now she wants to go back in the fall, for a few days, to view the leaves change. We regret we only stayed one night and missed out on everyting the place has to offer. The "Corn crib" has everything you would need to stay the season - kitchen, storage, fireplace,living, dining & sleeping areas and a magnificent bathroom. Nothing can beat the privacy of your own cabin in the country. Jack & Jenny from Virginia Beach


Lucy is here!!!

5 sur juillet 21, 2012

The pictures dont do it justice. All the cabins are much nicer in person. This is a perfect getaway. The host Dan and Debbie go out of there way to make the stay special. They treat the pets that you bring just as good as part of the family. Even tossing them a bone now and then. Good Job!!! Glenn Julie Beasley


Great Cabin Getway with Excellent Details

4,2 sur juillet 16, 2012

I really enjoyed our night in the log cabin. I really loved the details of the cabin. It had lot of special touches that made our stay very nice. No breakfast is provided.


Wonderful!

4,2 sur juillet 12, 2012

Best experience at a bed and breakfast ever! Plan to go back and spread the word about this wonderful bed and breakfast. Dan and Debbie were exceptional innkeepers and Jennifer was very personable and helpful.


Wonderful!

5 sur juillet 05, 2012

We discovered Stevenson Ridge when looking near the Lake Anna area. Although the lake is a few miles away, it was hard to resist the charm of the houses/cottages here. It's one thing to see it all online, but being there to tour the property and meet the staff was tremendous. We'll be back to enjoy staying in another cottage/home... hopefully with a chill in the air and a roaring fire in the fireplace. Kirk & Diane


Through the door into another world

5 sur juillet 05, 2012

We had the pleasure of meeting Debbie and Dan and it is obvious how much of a labor of love this property is. They strive for authenticity and you couldn't meet two nicer people. If you want a simple retreat from the world . . . this is it. At this point in time, food is not part of they stay but I still gave it an ourstanding rating as I know it would be, if Debbie and Dan provide it!


Lovely and Mobility Impared Friendly

4,0 sur juin 25, 2012

We stayed in the Corn Crib cabin for 3 nights recently and it was perfect. I have mobility issues and this fit the bill perfectly. There are no steps, a walk in shower with handles all around the bathroom. There is even a chair to sit in if you need it for the bathroom The room is bright and comfortable with a kitchenette that has a full sized refrigerator. Really just the perfect stay for us. Would love it if they included breakfast, they charge extra for breakfast baskets, so not truly a B&B but don't let that stop you!


anniversary date

5 sur juin 06, 2012

Awesome place. One of a kind house, staff very nice and very helpful. I will certainly stay at Stevenson Ridge again.


Our stay in Corn Crib

4,4 sur mai 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one night in the Corn Crib while we were in town to run the Marine Corps Half Marathon. The studio was large and very comfortable. It felt like a love nest. I really enjoyed the large shower. The staff were very friendly.


Absolutely great!

5 sur mai 20, 2012

The servents quarter was cute! They could cater for my glutenfree diet for breakfast, which was delicious. The land it's on is great, plus there's a very nice cat who came to say hello in the morning!


Outstanding Weekend

5 sur mai 11, 2012

We were looking for a quiet and restful weekend and Stevenson Ridge did not disappoint. Their individual houses were perfect to provide that little extra seclusion that your typical B&B don't offer. The Riddick House was amazing and combined the perfect mix of antique furnishings and modern conveniences. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.


Anniversary Trip

5 sur avril 26, 2012

We needed a quick getaway, a quiet relaxing break for our 11th wedding anniversary. We found the Log Home at Stevenson Ridge on line and was very pleased with the choice. The property was gorgeous and Debbie was so friendly. She offered us to tour the grounds and the other rentals that were not occupied on our own - really promoted the "make yourself at home". We did not opt for the breakfast basket - but she recommended an absolutely wonderful restaraunt in historic downtown and a great local shop for breakfast close to the property. (there isn't a NA option for dining and I didn't want to score it low) Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer - next time we'll get a babysitter for two nights!!!


Wow - we loved it

5 sur avril 16, 2012

Beautiful place, we loved the log cabin and the trails that led to the battlefield trenches. Our stay could only have been improved by staying longer.


Love Virginia!

5 sur avril 03, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Virginia. Stevenson Ridge was a wonderful resting place after a busy day of exploring. The log cabin was quiet, peaceful and full of relaxing nature sounds. I will have fond memories of our stay with you and if we are in your area again we would rlan to stay at Stevenson Ridge.


Recent stay at Stevenson Ridge Spy Hill House

4,6 sur avril 03, 2012

Interesting concept. History combined with modern amenities. Very comfortable, homey, and clean. Loved the fireplaces upstairs and downstairs. We will be coming back.


Very nice and quiet.

4,8 sur mars 14, 2012

My Wife and I spent a few days there this past weekend. What a great place! So relaxing and quiet. Our cabin was very clean and furnished very well. Loved the nice big wood burning fireplace. We enjoyed it very much. The check in process was a bit confusing but other than that we have nothing negative to say. We will definitely return again. Thank you very much for a nice place! Christopher Pranger.


Fantastic place!

4,6 sur mars 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights in the Civil War House and absolutely loved it! The house was charming. All the staff we encountered were incredibly nice and helpful. We really hope to be able to stay at Stevenson Ridge again in the future!


Wonderful Log Cabin stay

5 sur mars 06, 2012

Totally charming reconstructed log cabin, comfortable and cozy. Although we did not expect to find TV, DVD player, DVDs, CD player, they were a pleasant surprise. We spent the evening reading in front of a crackling wood fire and a very comfortable night in a lovely master bedroom. Breakfast basket is a must, delivered on time, hot and fresh. This will be an annual trek for us!


Nice, quiet and relaxing stay.

4,0 sur février 22, 2012

I stayed in the Corn Crib with my boyfriend, we went up for Valentine's Day. The studio-sized cottage was perfect for the two of us and the fireplace was a wonderful addition to our night. Would have liked to be able to cook in this cottage, but other than that, it was very cozy and relaxing.


The Best In Spotsylvania

4,8 sur février 20, 2012

It was our 17th Wedding Anniversary and we wanted something close to our house, yet far away (if you know what I mean). Stevenson Ridge was PERFECT!! The area is beautiful. It is out from the hubub of the city, yet close enough to drive to downtown for dinner/activities if you like. But trust me, you don't need to leave. Sit yourself down by the fire with a good bottle of wine, good book, and the best husband ever and you won't want to leave. We stayed in the Log Home which was rustic, clean and beautiful. . .perfect for romance!!!


Valentine's Day Weekend 2012

3,6 sur février 20, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend at Stevensonridge in the Corncrib. Loved the room, clean and beautifully decorated. Bed was comfortable; shower was amazing. Loved sitting in front of the wood burning fireplace while it snowed on Saturday. Only improvement I would make, when we arrived, we were met by one staff member, but there was no key available for our accomodations; since no dining facilities on grounds, needed to leave room unlocked to go get something to eat. B&B is behind security gate. Also, we ran out of firewood on Saturday; was not informed on how to get more. Even with these small small inconveniences, we will definately go back.


fabulous! Loved it!

4,0 sur février 15, 2012

we absolutley enjoyed our stay at Stevenson Ridge, in the Civil War House. It was so homey and comfortable. We will definitely will be going back.


Great Stay at Stevenson Ridge

3,6 sur janvier 05, 2012

Can't think of a better place to get away and just relax in a quiet setting. The views are beautiful and there are several hidden gems nearby in fredricksburg and the nearby small town.


Lovely Peaceful Place

5 sur décembre 12, 2011

We loved our recent stay at Stevenson Ridge. The innkeepers were very accommodating and extremely nice. Dan is knowledgable and took the time to educate us on the history of the property and the house we were staying in. We stayed in the Spy Hill House, it was immaculate and warm. This house has a nice kitchenette, stocked with plates, cups, glasses and cutlery which was a nice surprise. We enjoyed a lovely fire each day and slept like babies during our stay. The entire property is beautiful and peaceful, full of trees, birds, and even a friendly kitty cat. We plan on returning when we visit Virginia again. Stevenson Ridge is a great place to stay and a tremendous value.


Rustic elegance

4,0 sur décembre 06, 2011

My wife and I rented the Log Cabin for the same evening (Dec 3, 2011) as our company party being held in the main event building at Stevenson Ridge. It was very peaceful and the cabin was wonderful. We built a roaring fire in the main room (there are 4 fireplaces!) and enjoyed time sitting and sipping with friends prior to our company party. The MBR bed was very comfortable and in the morning we enjoyed time rocking on the front porch overlooking the pond. The staff were very helpful and a joy to talk with. Highly recommend this rustically elegant getaway!


Romantic Getaway!

3,6 sur décembre 04, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed in the Spy Hill house at Stevenson Ridge. A beautifully restored historic home with two fireplaces and a back patio overlooking a small pond. Just the setting we were looking for to spend a quiet evening away. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, Stevenson Ridge is the perfect place to find peace and tranquility. We can't wait to stay in the log cabin during our next visit!


Delightful Retreat!

4,6 sur novembre 23, 2011

Whether you're an historical person or not, our stay in the log cabin was a welcomed change from our daily hectic pace. From it having four fireplaces, an incredible porch (we got lucky to have relatively warm weather in November so we enjoyed our breakfast outdoors), and very nice (but not over done) decorations, I look forward to our return. I just hope I can find the time to spend two days, rather than one, to allow more time to explore both the Stevenson Ridge property and historic sites in the region.


A wonderful discovery

4,0 sur novembre 21, 2011

We were doing our own tour of some of the Civil War Battlefields and came across Stevenson Ridge on line. It could not have been a better place to stay. The Corn Crib was delightful and comfortable. We arrived slightly late to find everything in place, the Innkeeper still on the watch for us and the fire lit. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help with local queries and with helping us to sort out a problem which was nothing at all to do with them. The setting is delightful and the work done in restoring the group of old houses is superb. If we go back to Spotsylvania, we will definitely stay there again. Thank you Debbie and Dan


Wonderful stay for a wedding

4,4 sur novembre 06, 2011

We had the wedding rehearsal dinner and reception on site. It was perfect, the rehearsal dinner was in the Riddick House, it felt like we were entertaining at our home, the reception was beautiful at the church. The owners were very accommodating in assisting to get cabins ready at the last minute so our family members could all stay on-site. I had no idea this would be so nice or I would have arranged in advance. I did not because I thought it was a little expensive, but once I was there it was worth it to have the family together in a community to prepare for the wedding. It was very quiet, relaxing, the fireplaces were stocked with wood and starters, easy to have nice cozy fires. All the feedback from everyone at the wedding was "it was the nicest wedding ever"


Wonderful weekend at Stevenson Ridge

4,6 sur octobre 26, 2011

Stayed in the Log Cabin and the setting was beautiful. The front porch overlooking the pond is a wonderful place to watch the sun rise as you sip your morning coffee. The fireplace in every room was an extra touch. So romantic!


Wonderful stay!

4,6 sur octobre 07, 2011

We had a truly wonderful time. The Corn Crib is darling and cosy - and also very clean. The grounds and other houses are like stepping back in time. Debbie and Dan are wonderful hosts. Would definitely visit again. September 2011


Stevenson Ridge - A Great Getaway

5 sur septembre 29, 2011

This visit was our second stay at Stevenson Ridge. The houses are beautiful and the innkeepers are wonderful hosts!


Weekend Wedding

3,0 sur septembre 18, 2011

We stayed in the Spy Hill House which was very nice. The property is beautiful, too. There aren't too many people around so it's nice and quiet and very peaceful. We would definitely stay here again.


Great get-away spot near Fredericksburg and civil war sites.

3,6 sur septembre 08, 2011

There is NO dining so that category should be "not applicable." However, the Adrian cabin has a kitchen with fridge with coffee maker, freezer, microwave/convection oven, and toaster. Coffee, filters and creamer were provided. It has a nice patio for enjoying your meals or drinks. If you brought food along (I did), you could check in and never leave. We were travelling with a dog and were given dog treats and a bowl. There are trails through the woods with deer tracks, loads of birds and extensive and impressive trenching from civil war battles. My husband also spent a happy 2 hrs one morning fly fishing in the pond. There is no TV but there is a fireplace if the nights are chilly. A good spot for a romantic get-away. There are other homes and cabins on the property so a large family could put together a great reunion taking advantage of all the space and the lodge. We attended a wedding on the grounds and it was lovely. Thank you. We enjoyed our weekend.


Fantastic Cabins!

4,6 sur septembre 02, 2011

We stayed at Stevenson Ridge about a month ago and are still talking about it. Dan and Debbie were great hosts and we enjoyed our stay immensely! Definitely suggest for a getaway weekend!


Our vacation in Virginia

4,4 sur août 30, 2011

In early August 2011, we spent 4 nights at Stevenson Ridge, and enjoyed the nature, peace and tranquility which abounds at this location. The layout of buildings around the pond was charming, and the frogs and crickets sang us to sleep each night. The restorations of the historic homes and cabins is carefully and tastefully done, and added to the mystic of our stay. The innkeepers, Dan and Debbie, were friendly and courteous, providing us with hand drawn maps and a glass of wine to begin our stay. They even arranged a local historian, to take my son and I on a private history tour of the local Civil War battlefields. This was one of the highlights of our stay. SR is centrally located, conveniently, between many historical sites and cities in and around Virginia. We considered it a form of base camp, from where we traveled by day to Jefferson's Montecello, Pope's Creek, Fredricksburg and numerous Civil War battlefields. We would highly recommend SR, as place of stay, for any individual, family, or families wishing to spend time touring the state. AV and JV Olympia, WA


One Night Isn't Enough

4,8 sur août 22, 2011

I almost hesitate to write this review because I hate to let this secret out which will make it tougher to book at Stevenson Ridge….however, the owners of this great place deserve to be recognized for the gem they have created here and I hope they have great success. It is truly hard to imagine such a relaxing place exists just slightly more than one hour south of Washington D.C. and within 15 minutes of the busy shopping hub in Fredericksburg. My wife and I stayed at Stevenson Ridge (Log Cabin) for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we both wish we had stayed two. The cabin is very clean and well appointed. The bed may be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and listening to the sounds of the woods is like listening to the waves crash at the beach….instant slumber. We both enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the huge front porch (even got to watch a wedding by the pond on Saturday afternoon.) Sunday morning we received our breakfast basket and ate on the front porch overlooking the pond. I guess if I had to criticize any part of our stay would be that they got our breakfast order wrong. We ordered pastries and muffins and got sausage and egg bagels instead…however, the sandwiches were huge, fresh, and delicious so we didn’t miss a beat and devoured them. Overall, I would highly recommend Stevenson Ridge. My wife and I both agreed that our stay there was money well spent….and we will definitely be going back, that is if we can get a reservation :o)


Anniversary Paradise

5 sur août 16, 2011

Mr. John & Dreama Bernard of Spotsylvania Virginia We are locals of the area but October 2010 we wanted to celebrate our 15th year wedding anniversay close to home but in paradise. Stevenson Ridge is the exact paradise that we seeked , that made our wedding anniversay one to remember and talk about for years. What a incredible , wonderful , romantic experience that I cannot find enough kind words to express toward our time here in the Riddick House. Dan and Debbie Spears and staff are the Ultimate in friendly , sincere , accomodating hosts for a extraordinary Bed -n-Breakfast experience like no others. I will stay there again someday and I would recommend Stevenson Ridge and all it has to offer to anyone and my closest friends and family. God Bless and make it a point to go here..."You won't be disappointed." With sincere admiration and appreciation , John C. Bernard


Great Place!

4,4 sur juin 28, 2011

Log Cabin was great. Outstanding restoration by the Spears. We didn't order the breakfast package for an extra charge but the cafe in Fredricksberg was close by and worth the drive. We will definitely stay here again.


Riddick House

4,8 sur juin 20, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Riddick House; we received a ver ywarm welcome from Dan on arrival (plus help with our luggage and a very welcome cold beer), and Jennifer gave outstanding service throughout, including very helpful advice when we were in the planning stages of making our reservation. This property is quite extraordinary and it was a privilege to stay there, well worth the cost of the airfares from New Zealand just for the experience! We saw nothing to compare to it during our 3 week visit to the States. You should visit immediately.


combining business and pleasure

4,8 sur mai 31, 2011

Very inviting. Great opportunity to step back in time, with all of the modern amenities. Lovely property and innkeepers. Plan to return


Perfect Getaway in Virginia

4,8 sur mai 29, 2011

We were met by Debbie at check in and she was very delightful and offered us 4 cold beers knowing that we had just made some stops prior to our arrival at numerous of the Battlefields their in Virginia. It had been a very long day for us, able to fulfill some life long dreams for my husband. We adventured out to the other buildings to see those and we ran into Dan who was as nice a Debbie. They made us feel very welcome and was able to give us detailed instructions to other HD Dealerships for the usual shirt purchase. The stay was perfect, no contact with the outside world. The stay was perfect. Would suggest anyone to stay in the Adrian Cabin as we did or any of the other buildings available. Both Dan and Debbie have done a wonderful job of decorating each buidling with Period Style Decor. Thanks again for the wonderful experience! Ken and Carol Renshaw, Vallejo, CA.


First visitors to the new cabin

4,8 sur mai 26, 2011

I was surprise it was listed under bed and breakfast and there was no breakfast.


Country wedding

4,2 sur mai 25, 2011

My daughter's wedding was at the Riddick house in May 2011. Jenny was a delight to work with for all the details of the house for the wedding. My sister-in-law from New York says it best, "I have been to several black tie weddings in the last year that easily cost over $50,000 with all the bling but they didn't hold a candle to this one!" " The relaxed country setting, beautiful grounds and food stations throughout the house and grounds made for an enjoyable, relaxing atmosphere." Everyone was having such a great time we didn't want it to end. Elegant but unpretentious. The house is impeccably decorated on its on but we were allowed to decorate to add a wedding festivity to the house. Thank you Jenny and Stevenson's Ridge!!!!


Perfect for us!

4,0 sur mai 11, 2011

My husband and I visited Stevenson Ridge for a long birthday weekend. My husband loves golf and history so this is a practically perfect place! We are impressed with the saving and restoration of the historic buildings - and these are so excellently restored! While my husband played excellent golf courses I walked the lovely grounds and painted in a back yard. We appreciated the welcome for our small Dachshund too. The staff was welcoming, friendly and accommodating. We hope to return and are considering planning a small family reunion there this year. Suggestion: Have a small night light in the bath or kitchenette so that guests would not have to leave a light on - some folks get up at night : ) Day dream : One of the sheds could be converted into a breakfast room. It is nice to have a refrigerator, sink and microwave but it is even nicer to have the option of a breakfast - the other B in B&B. Thanks, Florence and Rick Miller


Stevensons Ridge

4,0 sur avril 07, 2011

This is one of the few places that we have stayed, that while we were staying there we were already dreading having to go on to the next b and b. I believe that this place will be hard to beat. Thanks again for a lovely time. Sherrie and Doug Buchanan


Perfect Getaway!

4,6 sur décembre 24, 2010

Dan and Debbie made us feel like we were home and part of the family just in town for a visit!! Great environment for a 7mth puppy with all the sites and smells. Be sure to check out all of the cottages and take a trail walk through the woods! Will definitely return!


Stevenson Ridge

4,6 sur décembre 15, 2010

What a wonderful place. All of the buildings are really well done with a great mix of old and new. The owners were friendly. Loved the wood burning fire place. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a get away.


nice bed but no breakfast

3,8 sur décembre 04, 2010

wonderful accomadations but breakfast only if you paid extra


Ocotober Stay

4,4 sur octobre 24, 2010

We stayed in the Log home and it was absolutely wonderful! Such a beautiful setting - even though we were only 45 minutes from home we really felt like we were getting away. Everything in the house was perfect - especially the bed!! We will definitely be back, hopefully sooner rather than later.


We shall return!

4,6 sur octobre 19, 2010

The first words my wife said upon opening the door was, "My, how charming!" We stayed in the Corn Crib cottage and found it to be as advertised. It was well-appointed with separate areas for a living room space, dining space, and bedroom space. It also had a walk-in closet/dressing area. The bathroom suite was separated from the living areas by a wide, rustic, board and batten type door that could have been part of the original structure. The bed was comfortable and luxurious. The housekeeping was immaculate. We decided to forego the optional breakfast basket at our own preference due to our unique dietary requirements and brought our own breakfast. My wife walked the property and, since the other cottages were vacant, was invited to walk through all of them at her leisure. While all of the other cottages had their own charm and elegance, she believed that the Corn Crib was the best choice for us. It was a good value for the price. The inn is centrally located among the local Revolutionary and Civil War sites. Due to a comedy of errors on our part we arrived about three and a half hours later than planned. The innkeepers were both accommodating and gracious. We would have done much better to follow the directions on the website. It is perfect for the Civil War buff as it is on a Civil War site itself. Our only complaint was that the water heater ran out of hot water during my shower after my wife washed the dishes. We informed the innkeeper who apologized and said they would take care of it. Will we return to Stevenson Ridge? YOU BET! Will we recommend it to friends? Absolutely! Please note: I did not know how to rate the dining as there was no "does not apply" option and did not want my rating to adversely affect the rating score so I arbitrarily rated it a 4.


Stevenson Ridge is a Hidden Gem!

5 sur septembre 29, 2010

We had a wonderful stay here. The Innkeepers were friendly and very welcoming. Not to mention, the house and grounds were amazing.


Great place to stay

4,6 sur septembre 12, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights and not only was everything about the room first rate, but the staff was beyond helpful. I had to arrive late the first night and and Debbie waited up for me to get there and took the time to show me all the room features and answered all my questions. I had much more room than I expected and the photos don't do justice to how nice a place this is. If your in the area and want to stay in a place that has a historical feel to it, than this is the place.


Hidden Gem

4,6 sur août 18, 2010

Hate to rate this place because we want it to be there for us when we want to go back! But it's pretty exceptional and the owners deserve the kudos. We met one of the owners as he was building another small house on the property and he stopped to talk to us and tell us how he created this property. The story is unique and the place is an oasis.


Wonderful Experience!

5 sur juin 22, 2010

My husband and I live in Chapel Hill and were meeting family friends that were coming in from Gettysburgh, PA, and we were looking for accomodations within half-way driving distance for all of us, and came accross Stevenson Ridge on the Internet. We made reservations for the weekend in the Log Cabin Home. From the moment we stepped into the cabin, you could feel the ambiance of the past and looking around, the detail to the furnishings and "little touches" was just amazing! We were able to spend quality time together, also taking in the Lake Anna State Park and Lake Anna Winery - all withing a 20 minute drive of Stevenson Ridge. While there, Dan and Debbie also showed us the Riddick House. It is an absolutely beautiful restored building, and the furnishings and modern kitchen are fabulous! Dan and Debbie were very friendly and wonderful hosts! We all truly enjoyed our stay.


Superb - in every possible way.

5 sur juin 17, 2010

Have you ever traveled to a very special place? A place you didn't want to leave - because it was so beautiful and so relaxing and so comfortable? A place so special, the memories linger to sustain you after returning to the "real world"? Dan and Debbie Spear and Jennifer have created such a place; they make you feel like you are a special member of their family. The incredibly restored historical accomodations, the ambiance, their hospitality (home-made chocolate cake, tour of their Civil War trenches/cannon emplacements) is like nothing I have ever experienced - anywhere or anytime. Returning to Stevenson Ridge tomorrow wouldn't be soon enough!!


Country gem with historic structures and top-notch service

4,6 sur juin 06, 2010

We came for a weekend escape with our 3 children. Stevenson Ridge was not only the perfect jumping-off point to explore Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania battlefields, and Lake Anna, it was a destination by itself! By transporting and re-erecting historic structures to this location, the owners have created an oasis of history on a beautiful country property. We and our children walked, fished, visited the other properties, and were awed by the Riddick House. The houses are beautifully decorated, impeccably clean, and fascinating. A great spot for one family or a large gathering.


Loved the log cabin!

5 sur juin 02, 2010

Beautiful grounds! Loved the log cabin; it was much larger than we expected. Great get-away, even for one night.


A Great Experience at Stevenson Ridge

5 sur juin 01, 2010

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast! You actually get an entire house - not just a room. The houses are all beautiful and the grounds are immaculate. The breakfast was superb as well. We fully intend on returning to stay at some of the other houses on the grounds of Stevenson Ridge. I enthusiastically recommend this B&B!


Lord and Lady of the Manor

4,6 sur juin 01, 2010

Having waited until the last minute, I'd just about given up finding a place in Virginia over a holiday weekend. Somehow I got linked to Stevenson Ridge. The description of the Riddick House looked too good to be true, but the adage "beggers can't be choosers" won out. My wife and I arrived to find that we had landed in the finest place we've ever stayed. The house is beautiful in every detail, filled with wonderful amenities, and located in a serene setting but surrounded by a multude of options for activities. The place will spoil you! The only downside of staying here is that it will make it hard to find other places in the future that compare. We're already talking about a return visit.


a wonderful contrast to all the generic chain style lodgings available

4,6 sur mai 23, 2010

After a long drive we arrived to a warm and inviting truly unique historic n inn, with its own extensive picturesque grounds. I highly recommend this spot to anyone who likes to experience American history in a personal way. The innkeeper have done a great job at bringing elements together to evoke another era of Virginia's southern history. And also created wonderful places to stay and celebrate special occasions.


Great place

5 sur mai 19, 2010

Have stayed in many B&B's. This one is hands down the best.


Stevenson Ridge

4,8 sur mai 18, 2010

This is a great place to stay. The houses are all very well restored. The historic and scenic grounds are very relaxing.


Very Relaxing

4,6 sur mai 18, 2010

The Servant's Quarters were like a step back in time. Just a delightful time away.


Great getaway!!

5 sur février 26, 2010

Recently over Christmas my husband and I had the opportunity to stay overnight in the Log home at Stevenson Ridge. What a wonderful experience! The minute you walk into the cabin you feel as if you are being transported back in time. It boasts four original woodburning fireplaces-two downstairs and two more upstairs, each in a comfortable bedroom. We sat in front of a blazing fire until 2 am, not wanting the evening to end. It was truly perfect. The cabin also has a huge front porch with rocking chairs overlooking a lovely pond. Surrounding the pond are the other historical homes Dan and Deb Spears have lovingly reconstructed on their property. In the evening, with the various buildings lit by candles and firelight, I felt as if I was looking at a small Williamsburg village. Even though you feel like you've been transported back in time, Dan and Deb make sure you have all the comforts of home and see to your every need. We slept so well in the plush bedding, I felt like a queen. What a wonderful get away! We can't wait to go back. Thank you Dan and Debbie for such a relaxing time.


True Southern Hospitality

5 sur janvier 30, 2010

From the historic Civil War feel to the beautiful landscape, Stevenson Ridge provides the best of what Virginia has to offer. My visit consisted of an extended stay in the renovated Civil War house which truly felt like a home away from home. The innkeepers embodied the true meaning of Southern hospitality. It's great place to get away and clear your mind of all worries.


A Fantastic Addition to Spotsylvania

5 sur janvier 28, 2010

I found Stevenson Ridge to be like stepping back in time gracefully and yet being forward in time graciously! The blending of period restoration with modern conveniences is outstanding without being obvious. The setting is peaceful and well maintained to look authentic. The innkeepers and staff make you feel very welcome and are extremely accommodating to the guests and their requests. I can see that it would be a perfect place for a family reunion, a business retreat, or a romantic getaway! Stevenson Ridge is truly a welcome additon to Spotsylvania and its historical beauty. Nancy Bowles, Spotsylvania, VA


Great Place

4,6 sur janvier 28, 2010

Had a 40th birthday party for my wife and 60 friends in addition 20 of them stayed the night on site. Great place everything work out very well, everyone was very helpful. Plan to go back very soon!!!


wonderful experience

5 sur janvier 27, 2010

We used Stevenson Ridge for a large party and it was a wonderful experience. The main house was beautiful for all the party guest to enjoy the evening. We were able to fill all the property houses with guests to spend the night and have a large breakfast together in the morning.


Total relaxation

4,0 sur janvier 26, 2010

Our visits are always such a pleasure. The innkeepers go above and beyond to make your stay an unforgettable one.


Stevenson Ridge Wedding

5 sur décembre 18, 2009

I went to visit Stevenson Ridge as a possible wedding venue for my April wedding, and as soon as I pulled up to the Riddick House I fell in love! It is everything my fiancee and I were looking for- there's a pond, it's surrounded by woods, and there's plenty of room for an outdoor ceremony- everything that was on our wishlist was fulfilled... and we didn't even include 'beautiful, historic building'! Mr. Spears happened to be on-site and gave us a tour of the building and grounds, and after contacting Jennifer, who is in charge of event coordinating, everything has gone very smoothly. She provided us with a breakdown of fees to run an intire weekend-long wedding. The rates are amazing, I was so happy to find out that it was within our budget! I can't wait for my wedding, I know it's going to be absolutely beautiful and better than I could have imagined! Thanks to everyone at Stevenson Ridge for being so great and making the process much easier than I thought it would be!


Stevenson Ridge

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $135 - $285
  • Avis (147) 4,6

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5405826263

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut