Holladay House Bed And Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
100 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Perfect in every way

5 sur mai 14, 2014

We couldn't imagine an easier way to elope than our trip to VA and Holladay House. Sharon handled every detail, all we had to do was show up with our license. Flowers, wine, background music, decor in the parlor, nothing went without Sharon's expert eye and everything was perfect. We enjoyed our stay in the John Madison Suite which was plush and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delightful! For couples looking to run away and get married, there's no better than Holladay House to make your dream come true! We're looking forward to returning!


Perfect in Every Way

5 sur mars 29, 2014

Our wedding overnight was perfect in every way. Three cheers and six stars to Sharon and the Holladay House B&B for thinking everything through so that my husband and I could enjoy each other and the occasion. We had the loveliest time from the big picture to the last detail: the parlor, cake, flowers, breakfast, suite... We look forward to returning with our thawing cake for our first anniversary!


A Weekend Away We Will Never Forget!

5 sur mars 25, 2014

This was our second visit to Holladay House. The Innkeepers made such a terrific impression on us the first time around, we had to make a second visit. The first time around, the innkeepers provided us with recommendations on sights and wineries near and around Orange. That first weekend away from DC was likely one of our fondest getaway weekends. For that reason, the next trip to Holladay House would be extra special. Sharon was absolutely instrumental in helping me plan the perfect proposal to my now fiancée. She made tweaks to my grand plan and offered to be a hostess to my parents and my fiancée’s parents...our parents were making a special trip from Chicago and North Carolina respectively, for the big surprise. Sharon worked extra hard to make sure our parents were comfortably hidden away until the right moment. My fiancée was beyond surprised and I know that neither one of us will forget this amazing weekend. I could not have pulled this weekend off without the help of Sharon, Sam, and their family. I'm sure the other Bed and Breakfast options in the area are great...but Ashley and I will only stay at Holladay House whenever we are in town. This incredible weekend and very special memory wouldn’t have been possible with Sharon and Sam’s hospitality. Stay here and be ready to be amazed...it’s hard to find hospitality like this anywhere anymore!


Delightful B & B

4,6 sur janvier 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent a weekend here and had a wonderful time. The house is historic and quaint and perfect in every way. We stayed in the Blue Room which was nicely decorated and very comfortable. There are a few dining options in the town of Orange but we found that the the Tavern on Main Street was perfect and they have live entertainment on Friday nights. The food at the Hollady House was delicious and the inkeepers were very friendly and gracious. Sharon had to leave but her in-laws took over and they were a lot of fun to talk to. If you were to look up Bed and Breakfast in the dictionary, this is what you would find. It was perfect in every way.


Five star service!

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here before picking up my kids at camp on Saturday morning. We enjoyed the wonderful food and the overall warmth of the inn. It was exceptionally clean and everyone was so friendly. Highly recommended!


Weekend stay for a local wedding

5 sur juin 27, 2013

Large and comfortable room, great location right in the town, friendly and helpful owner, super breakfasts ( and I even received a print out recipe upon request!). Definitely recommend!!! S & T from Boston


Charming, Classy, Comfort, Friendly, Value,

5 sur juin 13, 2013

Our best B&B experience to the credit of owners/innkeeepers Sharon and Sam. The Inn is lovely piece of preserved history with comfortable, fresh, richly appointed rooms. Lots of special touches--such as the tea and scones and the lavender package and an exquisite breakfast menu with local ingredients--lending to a unique, quality, B&B experience.


The best B and B in Orange Va

5 sur mai 23, 2013

When you stay at the Holladay House you will be staying in house that is so clean you can not find dirt. The best part is Sharon and Sam make you feel like you are family. If you need anything they will get it for you.We love staying there and we have come back for many years.


Great place to stay!

4,4 sur février 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Holladay House a few weeks back and it was a beautiful place to spend the weekend. Sharon made us feel at home and gave great recommendations for things to do even in the off season. Her breakfasts alone are enough reason to stay here...she is a great cook and an even better host. We hope to be back when the weather is warmer!


Perfect small wedding!

5 sur décembre 17, 2012

y wedding experience at the Holladay House this past weekend was everything I had hoped for. Sharon did a flawless job coordinating beautiful flowers, a delicious cake, and arranging for a very kind officiant for the ceremony. She graciously took as many pictures of the whole thing and provided a lovely ambiance for our big day. We stayed in the Garden Room and loved the hot tub, soaps, and comfy bed. The breakfast the next day was absolutely excellent. We strongly recommend the Holladay house if you are looking for a very nice venue for a small wedding. We look forward to coming back next year for our anniversary!


A Memorable Stay

5 sur décembre 12, 2012

This was our second stay at the Holladay House after hearing the rave reviews that our son and his wife gave the inn after their stay there. The inn is nothing short of outstanding! Orange, Virginia is a wonderful town nestled right in the middle of numerous wineries and historic sites and the Holladay House is a fantastic place to stay after a day of wine tasting and tours. We stayed in the Garden Room on both our trips and staying at the historic inn is like taking a step back in time. My wife especially loved the huge whirlpool tub and the comfortable robes that were provided. On our first visit to the inn last December we noticed signs in the storefronts along Main Street advertising the candlelight tours of Montpelier which is just four miles from the Holladay House. This year we decided to book our room so we could take advantage of the Montpelier Christmas tour and it was fantastic. We were greeted by James and Dolley Madison and given a tour of the entire mansion as well as being entertained by period dancers and refreshments. The tour and our stay and the Holladay House made for a truly memorable weekend! Sharon is a most gracious hostess and does a wonderful job of making you feel special and accommodating your ever needs. Her breakfasts are always beyond compare! We definitely plan on returning again soon and making the Holladay House our annual Christmas getaway!


Weekend Stay

4,6 sur septembre 29, 2012

We stayed at the Holladay House for two nights and felt very comfortable. The room was a nice size and so was the bathroom. Everything was very clean and the Innkeeper was very friendly and informative. Breakfast was great...coffee very good too!!!! Thanks Sharon for making our weekend a pleasant one. Will be back next year.


another happy return

5 sur septembre 27, 2012

This was our third stay at Holladay house. We enjoy coming back, it has become like our home away from home. We love catching up with Sam and Sharon. They are knowledgable and friendly and really make your stay great.


Fabulous B&B

5 sur août 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a romantic weekend getaway, and we couldn't have had a better experience at the Holladay House. Everything about this bed and breakfast was perfect, right down to the details of the luxurious hand-lotion and soaps! Sharon and Sam were wonderful hosts--incredibly warm and full of information about the history of the house and the area. They have done an amazing job maintaining the charming 1830s feel of the house with gorgeous antique furniture, but adding necessary modern touches--AC, brand-new bathrooms, etc. I can't remember the last time I've slept so well (most comfortable bed in history) or been treated to such a luxurious morning shower. We ate an absolutely delicious dinner near the B&B, but nothing compared to Sharon's breakfast on Sunday morning--made with all fresh, local ingredients. We can't stop talking about it. There is plenty to do around Orange--wineries, museums, hiking--we had two full days and had to save some for our next trip, during which we will most definitely be staying at the Holladay House.


Great place to stay

4,6 sur juin 24, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was fabulous! Sharon and her husband were so pleasant and attentive and even shared a gift with us to celebrate. She knew the best places to eat and sights to visit. It's definitely a place to go if you like great hospitality and down home friendliness. I would recommend it to anyone!


A great get-away over spring break

5 sur avril 04, 2012

We only had one night to get away and Holladay House was the perfect decision. The house is located in downtown Orange, but you would never know it. We were able to walk to numerous shops. Our room was cozy and very spacious. The DVD & book collection was great. The fudge was awesome. Breakfast was just outstanding. The fruit dish was very refreshing and a great mix of fruits & walnuts. We can't say enough about the creme bulea french toast. The whole experience was great and we would encourage our friends to visit. Thanks for a great spring get-away.


Road trip to North Carolina

5 sur mars 21, 2012

We LOVED the Holladay House and are already making plans to return with our dogs. We stayed in the Ivy Suite and it was so relaxing and a very beautiful room. Location is great too for restaurants and history. Montpelier seems to be right around the corner and is a great addition. Overall it was a wonderful trip and i highly recommend this bed and breakfast. By the way, Sharon's french toast is amazing!!


We never wanted to leave!

5 sur décembre 14, 2011

We had a terrific time! Sharon, the innkeeper was amazing and the home itself was great. On top of that, the breakfast was incredible! We never wanted to leave. What turned out to be a simple weekend getaway will hopefully turn into an annual visit! Sharon was also very helpful before our stay--she was kind enough to mail us passes to local wineries and the home of James Madison. Very highly recommend Holladay House!


Perfect Honeymoon!

4,8 sur décembre 02, 2011

My husband chose the Holladay House for our wedding night and I was beyond impressed! The Ivy suite was very clean and comfortable, not to mention romantic! We will definitely be back and recommend to all of our friends!! Breakfast was excellent and Sharon really made us feel welcome and at home. I could not have asked for a better place to stay on my wedding night!


Holladay House

5 sur novembre 12, 2011

Stayed at Holladay House for an extended period during and the Innkeepers treated us like family and would do anything they could for us. While the Inn has been modernized, it still has the feel of an old house on Main Street in a small town. Great side porch with rocking chairs. Several restaurants nearby including a great lunch spot called Real Food and a I nice little wine shop too. Holladay House is just what you think of when you think or a home away from home. Great for a weekend getaway or for longer if you want to explore the area. Can’t go wrong at Holladay House


Just right!

4,0 sur octobre 14, 2011

Everything at the Holladay House was just right during our recent stay. The room was pleasant, the public areas inviting, the breakfasts delicious, and the hosts attentive and helpful. Just when I had begun to think about not staying in B&B's, Sharon and Sam gave me every reason to continue.


Great B&B

4,6 sur septembre 15, 2011

A comfortable, attractive room with spa quality bath products, exceptional breakfasts tailored to individual dietary needs, and a very personable, helpful innkeeper made our stay top notch. I would return.


Hollday House Gets A+

5 sur août 28, 2011

My husband and I frequent B and B's. Our motto is, "Life is to short to repeat a B and B." Well, we broke that rule with Holladay House. It is well worth multiple visits. We were treated royally. Sharon is so fabulous as a hostess. She even checked our past guestbook entry and made my favorite breakfast of creme brulee french toast as I raved about it last time. How's that for personal attention?! Everything here is perfect. You must try it!


We will be back!

4,8 sur août 14, 2011

Absolutely the biggest bang for your buck. The only downside was that our room's bathroom was across the hall, which we knew at booking, but it was our own private bathroom regardless. Breakfast was amazing, the owners were fantastic, and we felt right at home.


Review

5 sur août 07, 2011

We had a marvelous, marvelous time at the Holladay House B & B. Sharon was a friendly, helpful, fun host and Sam was a chef extraordinaire. His breakfasts were Gourmet magazine eligible. Sharon helped us find good restaurants for dining in the evening. We would highly recommend Holladay House to our friends.


Outstanding Bed & Breakfast

5 sur juillet 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Holladay House Bed & Breakfast for our anniversary and we were pleasantly surprised. Sharon was attentive and welcoming from the minute we checked in. Her breakfasts are delicious as well! This is definitely a place we plan on visiting again!


YOU'LL BE BACK............!!!

5 sur juillet 08, 2011

Great location, great hosts, and a superb breakfast to complete a thoroughly enjoyable B & B experience. You are close to so many historic venues, vistas, and the best vineyards on the east coast!


Absolute Perfection!

5 sur juillet 06, 2011

The Innkeepers are very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are beautiful and very comfortable and the food is excellent.


Lovely and romantic!

5 sur juillet 05, 2011

What a lovely B&B! The Holladay House is beautiful and historic. The accomodations were wonderful and Sharon's cooking and baking was fabulous. We will definitely return! Highly recommend this B&B.


Phenomenal Experience

5 sur juin 13, 2011

My family was in VA for a wedding...the minute we stepped into the Holladay House we were captured by its beauty and warmth! Sharon, the owner, was extraordinary ~her cooking, hospitality, fountain of information, sense of humor all were above and beyond our expectations! One of our best stays ever!


Third stay at Holladay House

5 sur juin 08, 2011

We enjoy Sam and Sharon so much that we feel part of their family. The food is great and we enjoying staying there so much that it is the only bed and breakfast for us. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is no dust anywhere in the house.


Holladay House B&B experience

5 sur mai 14, 2011

Hospitality was oustanding. The innkeeper and staff did everything possible to meet the needs of each and everyone of our party. The breakfast offering was indescribably delicious. Each morning we were met with an epicurean delight – each breakfast with its own distinct provincial character.


Great place to stay

4,4 sur mai 10, 2011

This was our first visit to a B&B altough we've talked about it for years. It was a spur of the moment decision to get away over this particular weekend (Mother's Day and my Birthday) as this was my first year without my mom to celebrate her special day and mine. What a great idea it turned out to be- the Holladay House welcomed us, the room welcomed us, it was just a very nice relaxing weekend in a different and very inviting atmosphere which took my mind off of things. The double whirlpool bath in the Garden Room was the best...... Sharon and Sam were very nice and great hostesses. Sharon's breakfast was the best, a nice way to end to our weekend. We will definitely have to visit again.


History and Scenery in Central Virginia

5 sur mai 10, 2011

We stayed at the Holladay House B&B, a beautiful old brick home in a friendly small town, while touring central Virginia for family history research purposes. We also visited President James Madison's restored home, Montpelier, which is nearby. Everything about the Holladay House stay was very pleasant, including the comfortable room appointments; a healthy and well-presented breakfast; a wonderful covered side porch where you can chat and watch the world go by; homemade cookies; and books on local history to browse. Across the street there's a vintage gas station with an antique car parked out front. Since that spring evening's stay included a little excitement in the form of severe weather that grew into a tornado warning, the hosts even allowed us to change rooms. We quickly moved from an upper floor to the honeymoon suite in the very secure brick basement--at no extra charge. We truly appreciated this extra consideration, We would recommend the Holladay House to others in search of a great B&B experience in a quaint Virginia town.


A Gem in a Super Location!

5 sur avril 12, 2011

Sharon and Sam have a wonderful property which they proudly share. The Madison room was spacious, has a sitting room, and a gas log fireplace. The bed linens are divine! There are wonderful cafes just steps from their front door. Sharon spoiled us with sinful cookies and then served poached pears followed by crepes for breakfast! We'll definitely return and recommend to others.


Birthday Surprise

5 sur avril 10, 2011

From the first phone call to the last email, everything was perfect! The innkeeper based on the packages I chose, coordinated the timing so each event unfolded seamlessly. Presentation was impeccable. The breakfast had us swooning but the balance of sweet and savory kept us on our feet. The creme brulee french toast and fresh sausage was perfect! And the unique blend of apple with lemon honey drizzle and walnuts was yummy! If ever you need a perfectly relaxing get away, I highly recommend the Holladay House!


Great Bed & Breakfast

5 sur avril 08, 2011

The Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, is a great gateway. Sharon goes above and beyond to meet your needs. I originally, went to Orange, Virginia because I wanted a peaceful and relaxing weekend. Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, defiantly delivered on their end. I was able to get a private massage and go on a hot air balloon ride. Sharon was extremely kind to book all my requests. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who wants to get away and enjoy a tasteful, but eclectic atmosphere. Food was delcious!


Great location! Excellent, personal service

5 sur avril 06, 2011

Good recommendations for restaurants; very comfortable room and bed; yummy breakfast; great location; reasonable rates


Great Room

4,2 sur mars 30, 2011

We stayed in the Ivy room which was very spacious. Perfect for our traveling family. Wish we had an excuse to stay another night.


Personal Service

4,6 sur mars 29, 2011

Even though business demands led to a late arrival, the owner and breakfast chef was there to provide a tour of the house and make arrangements for an early breakfast, a breakfast that included original cuisine and local ingredients. Can't wait to get back for a longer stay.


Holladay House -- A fabulous B&B

5 sur mars 27, 2011

A lovely home with wonderful hospitality. Scrumptious food! Will definitly return for another visit.


Warm and Welcoming!

4,6 sur février 23, 2011

We looked up the Holladay House in anticipation of a “Magical History Tour” of central Virginia and found this gem convenient to our planned itinerary of Monticello, Ash-Lawn Plantation, Montpelier and the Wilson birthplace, museum and library in Staunton. The Elswicks boast all the enthusiasm and restraint one would wish of innkeepers; always helpful, knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. The excellent breakfast menu includes locally produced and seasonal fare served in a leisurely manner with one leaving the table satiated by twists on traditional favorites and ready to ease into whatever plans one may have. The accommodations are predictably comfortable in the best sense, with plenty of 19th century charm and a palpable lack of pretense. Though pleasantly appointed with period and contemporary pieces, at no time does one feel that one is in a museum needing to question the propriety of sitting here or there. The accommodations (especially the baths) are spotless and attended regularly to keep them that way. As for local dining, in Orange, VA it is best to take the word of the locals/proprietors. The town is a mixed bag of upscale and mid-scale eateries and quality can be spotty, so ask! This being said, menus can be as varied as the surrounding countryside with nearby hamlets boasting local gems that few outside the area would be in the know about. All in all, we highly recommend the Holladay House!


This is the "Go To Place" For Presidential Retreat

4,8 sur février 23, 2011

Such history and a great central location to Monticello, Ash Lawn, Montpilieur and not to mention the winery tours! Sharon and Sam are the best host anyone could ask for. They totally make your stay complete by ensuring you know the best places to go for tours as well as nightlife. We will be sure to go back as we feel like family now! Donald Swain


Nice Stay

3,8 sur février 22, 2011

Delicious and attractive breakfasts. Personable hosts. Looking forward to next year's trip.


Night Getaway

3,4 sur janvier 01, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our relaxing stay at the Holladay House. We were most impressed of all the old photos and furniture from the original owners on display throughout the house. Sharon was both pleasant and cheerful during our stay.


A sweet place

4,6 sur décembre 24, 2010

We needed some quietness in a quaint place, and we certainly found it at the Holladay House. We decided that Sharon is the best cook in town!


Our Holiday Choice

3,0 sur décembre 01, 2010

Stayed during Thanksgiving. The Holiday meal was well prepared, as was Breakfast. Our Host, Sharon is very knowledgeable on all area events.


Perfect Location and Great Service

5 sur novembre 07, 2010

I would highly recommend the Holladay House to anyone going near Orange, VA. The Holladay House has a great atmosphere, the owners are very hospitable, and the breakfast is phenomenal and very personalized. My three-day stay at the Holladay House once again made me wonder why I ever stay at hotels in the first place when I can get service like this, and at a cheaper rate. HH is very conveniently located in the middle of town, parking was easy, I drove to local sites in Orange and down to Charlottesville and the area is beautiful.


Great place to stay

4,2 sur octobre 22, 2010

We loved our stay. The house and hosts were precious. Everything was clean and fresh. And homemade cookies in the dining room when we first arrived - YUM!


Highly recommended!

4,4 sur août 05, 2010

A delightful experience. We were four people staying in the Ivy Suite - a cozy, spacious suite with slightly low ceilings which only add to the coziness. The breakfast was delicious, and most importantly, Sharon was an amazing host! Very friendly and warm environment. There are a lot of good DVDs to choose from in the living room as well! We hope to return again soon. Highly recommended.


Delightful Visit

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2010

This was our first stay at a B&B . . . and it will now be the standard for which we hold future B&B visits. Sharon & Sam were very accomodating and have done an outstanding job with The Holladay House. The room was PERFECT and b'fast was even better. We will be back again.


Historic quaint B & B

4,4 sur juillet 20, 2010

Small historic town Bed and Breakfast with very accommodating innkeepers. Clean with great breakfast. Recommended for those looking for a little off the beaten path without the stuffy hotel rooms and the way breakfast should be.


Wonderful place to spend a long weekend

4,0 sur juillet 18, 2010

We recently stayed at the Holladay House Bed and Breakfast in Orange, VA. My boyfriend, our dog, and I wanted to spend some time away from the city as well as visiting the local wineries. The Holladay House was more than we could have expected. They arranged for us to have in-room massages when we arrived which were very well needed at the end of the week. The room was very spacious and on the ground floor which was nice for the dog. The breakfast that was prepared both mornings was fabulous! We were extremely impressed with the Holladay House and hope to plan a trip back soon.


Good hosts, good food and good accommodations!

5 sur juillet 07, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Holladay House in June, 2010. Our stay was all that we hoped plus more. The comfortable Ivy Suite was tastefully decorated and larger than some one bedroom apartments. Our stay was enhanced by the hosts willingness to accommodate our dietary needs and physical limitations, making our stay memorable.


Great experience!

4,6 sur juin 02, 2010

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and from start to finish we had a great experience. Upon arrival, Sharon greeted us and gave us a tour of the house. She was very warm and friendly. The room was exceptional, with a very comfortable bed and relaxing whirlpool bathtub. When we went to dinner, Sharon provided us with many great recommendations for local dining. The breakfast was delicious, with Sharon making creme brulee french toast. It even inspired my girlfriend to make it for her family on Easter! We had a very enjoyable experience at Holladay House and we would recommend it to any couple looking for a weekend getaway in Orange, VA.


Romantic Mini Getaway!

5 sur mai 12, 2010

My husband and I had a great time at The Holladay House! As our first Bed and Breakfast experience, Holladay House exceeded our expectation. The pictures don't do it justice! And Breakfast was delicious too! We had a great mini getaway!!!


Great place to stay

4,4 sur avril 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed over for our wedding anniversary. The Holladay House was well maintained. Sharon is very knowledgeable about the area and was very attentive to our needs. Breakfast was great! I would highly recommend the Holladay House B&B to others.


A wonderful weekend

4,6 sur mars 30, 2010

The house is a charmer, hospitality amazing and food excellent. Even my husband, who is not a B&B fan, was won over by this experience.


Best B&B that we have ever stayed in!

5 sur février 22, 2010

From the greeting by our host, to a beautiful suite and a wonderful breakfast (Sam is a great cook), out stay could not have been better. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary, and we could not have selected a more enjoyable location. The facility is spotless and the linens are superb. Dave, VA


Excellent value

5 sur janvier 27, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holladay House. Our hostess, Sharon, couldn't have been nicer and accommodated our every need. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who passes through Orange and central Virginia.


Wonderful stay!

5 sur janvier 06, 2010

Our stay at the Holladay House was relaxing - from the Christmas lights to the comfortable room and the lovely breakfast, they pay attention to every detail. I was even able to relax on the living room couch with a cup of tea when I arrived!


Great romantic night

4,6 sur décembre 16, 2009

Stayed here on our wedding night and everything was terrific. We were late arriving from our wedding but the innkeeper stayed up, meeting us at 10PM and was warm and welcoming. Stayed in the blue room which was cozy, clean, and well decorated/furnished. Breakfast was delicious, especially the blueberry pudding with home-made granola. They serve locally roasted coffee that is hard to find in the area but has been a favorite of mine for a long time. The innkeeper is extremely informed of the history of the area and is happy to discuss the attractions of the area. We live 3 miles away and would still stay again just to have the experience.


Ahhh, I'm Home

5 sur novembre 09, 2009

I just recently had my second stay at the Holladay House in Orange, Virginia. A group of us rented the entire house minus one room and thouroughly enjoyed our stay over the weekend of the Montpelier Races 11/7/09. My two friends and I stayed in the Victorian Suite which was plenty big with a double bed, rollaway bed, and a separate sitting room. There is a fireplace in the room, but we did not use it as we spent most of our time at the house in the cozy parlour connected to the roomy dining room. There were 14 of us and Sharon and Sam fulfilled our every need. They were always there with a smile and put up with our noisy fun. The breakfasts were incredible and prompt and both times we've been there, there was not a repeat in the menu. Thank you Sam and Sharon. We'll be back next year for our annual pilgrimage to the races.


First Time Bed and Breakfast Visitor

5 sur octobre 27, 2009

Our first visit ever to a bed and breakfast was at the Holladay House. We did not know what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. The hospitality shown to us made us feel like we were at home. The food was wonderful, something new each morning. We will be visiting again.


Rainy Weekend in Orange

4,4 sur octobre 26, 2009

We went on the Montpelier wine tasting excursion and enjoyed dinner at two excellent restaurants.


Perfect Place for a Holladay

5 sur octobre 19, 2009

If you are ever in the Piedmont- Shenandoah NP area of Virginia, do not miss a chance to stay at this gem. The proprietress, Sharon is part 5 star chef, part sommelier, and part travel agent. Her husband Sam is Chamber of Commerce, local historian, and proprietor par excellence. The home is lovely, rooms are comfortable with free internet and "gratis" printer, period feel all their own. I went to Orange for a wedding and all I can remember is my B&B - that should tell you something of the impact of this place.


Wonderful innkeeper!

5 sur octobre 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in early October and had a wonderful visit. The innkeeper, Sharon, couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating. It's obvious she truly loves what she does. Our room was immaculate, and I was surprised by how quiet it was; I didn't even realize there were other people staying there until we saw them at breakfast. An excellent choice if you're visiting central Virginia, especially Montpelier, the wineries, or Skyline Drive.


Great VA B&B

5 sur octobre 11, 2009

The quaint little town of Orange has a jewel of a B & B. It's a very historic building and the location is right in the middle of the town. The service was superior and the innkeepers were right there to give any help or advice needed. The food was delicious - all very special recipes and prepared perfectly. We recommend staying here for anyone interested in the area. Wineries abound- Montpellier and Monticello are very interesting.


Great B&B - Great Inn Keepers!

5 sur octobre 10, 2009

This was a romantic and restful getaway, complete with accommodations that included everything we could want. The Ivey Suite was very private, and yet Sharon provided the perfect compliment of social connection when we wanted it. The breakfast was delicious. The house and furnishings were elegant and very comfortable. Sam and Sharon were so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They made it seem like home to us. We would stay there again!


One of the Best B&Bs for US

5 sur octobre 08, 2009

Our recent stay at the Holladay House was among the best in over 25 years of using B&Bs. Sam & Sharon are exceptional hosts who provided attractive and comfortable accomodations, delicious breakfast, and assistance in planning for our day's activities. We'll definitely be back. Joe &Sandra


our trip to virginia

5 sur septembre 17, 2009

Sharon and Sam were so friendly,they made us feel like we were in our own home. The food was excellent. We plan to return to the bed and breakfast. The rooms were very,very comfortable to stay in.


Our Stay

4,4 sur septembre 09, 2009

The Holladay House was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. It exceeded our expectations!! Sam and Sharon are great Innkeepers. The Breakfasts were impeccable. If we are back in the area, this is where we will stay.


We'll Be Back!

5 sur août 10, 2009

We visited the Holladay House as a special birthday celebration for my wife. Sharon and Sam were wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. Breakfasts were delicious and memorable and Sharon made reservations for us at a great restaurant for my wife's birthday dinner. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it highly..


Home away from home

5 sur juin 13, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Holladay house and by the end of the second day we were referring to it as home. It was a beautiful experience. Our host and hostess were absolutely delightful. Sam was very knowledgeable about all the local historical sites that were were interested in visiting, Sharon's chocolate chip cookies were fabulous, and the room was inviting and comfortable. We could not have asked for a better experience. David & Laura


Great experience

5 sur juin 12, 2009

We were only there one night but would have loved to stay longer! Very clean, beautifully decorated, excellent breakfast. Sam and Sharon were so gracious and helpful. We will definitely recommend to others.


Not a B&B fan before ...

5 sur mai 27, 2009

It is one thing to impress someone who is already a B&B lover. It is something else entirely to impress a person who (used to) dislike B&Bs. I'd only had one prior B&B experience, and as a result of that experience, was solidly inclined toward chain hotels. I'd been to a very small B&B that was off the beaten path. There were very few guests and limited privacy. I did not see the charm in living with a strange family for a few days. Then we went to Holladay House. The place is spacious and comfortable with plenty of privacy, and ample social opportunities -- if you want them. Sam and Sharon put you at ease. Sharon brings breakfast up to a whole new level. There must have been 20 guys in white chefs hats back there in the Holladay House kitchen -- I can't believe it was just Sharon. The house is well-kept, well-run, with a wonderful historic character. A visit to James Madison's Montpelier must include this house -- built in 1830, when President Madison still lived down the road.


Historic/elegant/friendly

5 sur mai 06, 2009

Very friendly welcoming owners who could not do enough to make you comfortable. Lovely room and bathroom. Everything was in working order and very clean. Handy to attractions in the area. Great food. Would definitely stay there again.


Above and Beyond!

5 sur avril 05, 2009

Our night at Holladay House was like spending a night in a museum! Sharon & Sam were the perfect hosts. Made us feel so comfortable we forgot to lock the door before going to bed. Breakfast was fabulous!! The perfect ending to a great week in Virginia! Thanks again!


Wonderful Wedding

5 sur mars 24, 2009

We had our wedding at the Holladay House Bed and Breakfast on March 19, 2009. Sam and Sharon were absolutely wonderful. They provided everything we needed, right down to taking pictures for us. Since we had both been married before, we wanted something simple and private. Everything was perfect. The flowers were beautiful, the cake was delicious and the meal prepared for us at the Inn by one of the local chefs was indescribable. We could not have been more pleased. Sam and Sharon are both so friendly and knowlegable about the home and the area. We are considering a return visit for our anniversary. Thank you for the perfect start to our marriage! Mickey and Kirt Chappelle


Charming old house

4,4 sur mars 15, 2009

Exceptionally friendly and gracious hosts. Nice touches include in-room DVD players, a surprisingly good instant coffee system, and a great breakfast. Some rooms can be noisy given its proximity to "major" roads within Orange, and the nearby railroad.


excellent B&B

4,4 sur janvier 27, 2009

Recommend highly for families -- we stayed there with our children, 14 and 10. Excellent rooms, friendly innkeepers. Local scenery is spectacular, especially the drive to Charlottesville (about 45 minutes south).


Nice Weekend Getaway!

5 sur novembre 23, 2008

This was my first bed and breakfast experience. I wanted to surprise someone special with a great weekend getaway from the city. Everything from the website to the accommodations was just amazing. The Holladay house is that special hidden place in small town America. The bed and breakfast was spotless. We chose to stay in the blue room and it was warm and cozy. The morning meals were just amazing. Sharon uses local and organic fresh ingredients. The hosts Sharon and Sam are very knowledgeable of the area. They provided many great suggestions for things to do while visiting the area. Sharon worked with me to plan such a lovely relaxing getaway. I knew that I wanted to go visit a winery in VA because I had heard about such great things about Virginia wines. Sharon recommended the Prince Michel winery. The Holladay house has a special arrangement for a private tour and tasting. Sharon’s suggestion to the Prince Michel winery did not let us down. We stayed at the winery for the entire day. I would definitely put the Holladay house on your list to stay when you want to visit Orange, VA. I can’t wait to go back.


Restful Getaway

4,8 sur octobre 05, 2008

This is by far the finest B&B I've have ever visited. The inn and rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was amazing. The inn has a wonderful feel to it and is not lacking any amenities. The owners are wonderful and Sharon’s chocolate chip cookies alone make the stay worthwhile. If you looking for a relaxing and restful place to spend the weekend, look no further!


Great Weekend

5 sur août 18, 2008

We loved our weekend at this inn. Sam and Sharon were the best innkeepers we have experienced. The rooms were spotless and breakfast was delicious. The rooms were spotless and very well maintained. We would stay here again in a hearbeat!


Exceptional Service and Hospitality

5 sur août 18, 2008

Stayed at Holliday House for 3 days. I can't say enough about Sharon, the Innkeeper, and her family for making us all feel at home. The rooms exceeded our expectations, and the understated - and exceptional - service was first-rate. The breakfasts became our primary meals, with fresh fruits and veggies, many of which were directly from Sharon's garden. You might pay more at the Ritz-Carlton (and I have), but they will have a difficult time trying to equal the hospitality we enjoyed here.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 05, 2008

My girlfriend and I wanted to get away and meet in the middle of where we both live. Exactly 3 hrs. for each of us to travel put us in Orange, Va. The Innkeepers Samuel & Sharon made the trip complete from giving us total privacy to having a "Gourmet" breakfast each morning. Did I forget to mention the amazing homemade cookies that Sharon made and had sitting out at all times.This was a beautiful B&B. My girlfriend and I will be planning on taking another trip to The Holladay House soon. Samuel & Sharon are two of the nicest people you could ever meet. I would highly recommend.


Fantastic!

5 sur juin 03, 2008

Place was beautiful and kept up very well! The owners are wonderful, accomodating and great hosts. I would stay here again and highly recommend the place, and I am a particular person when it comes to service and cleanliness.


Charming and Romanitc

5 sur mars 30, 2008

We were very happy with our stay at Holladay House in Orange VA-the innkeepers, Sam and Sharon, were very helpful in assisting me in planning a perfect weekend getaway for my husband's birthday. Their suggestions for restaurants and which wineries to visit were on point, and we were not disappointed. Sharon packed a delectable picnic lunch which my husband and I enjoyed with a regional bottle of wine on our winery tour-the highlight of our trip. Their hospitality combined with the pristine rooms made for a very enjoyable weekend. Sharon's breakfasts were filling and included a variety of wonderful fruits and homemade items. We will definitely return again for another wonderful weekend soon!


Excellent Stay at the Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

5 sur janvier 29, 2008

We had such a wonderful experience at the Holladay House Bed and Breakfast. We stayed for New Year's Eve and Sharon went up and beyond the call of duty by booking us reservations at the local fine dining restaurant. Breakfast was unbelievable and the hospitality cannot be rivaled elsewhere. Also, the history of the Bed and Breakfast makes it a truly memorable visit. We are looking forward to spending more nights at the Holladay House.


Wonderful Experience

5 sur janvier 27, 2008

My daughter and I drove from New Jersey to Orange, VA to stay at the Holladay House Bed and Breakfast; this was our first experience at a BnB. We both enjoyed the stay and agreed that the Bed and Breakfast was a much better fit for us in relation to staying at a Hotel. Getting ready for a school dance we felt as though we never left home.. Many thanks to Sharon and Sam for their hospitality and for making our stay a memorable one. We look forward to staying at the Holiday House if the opportunity arises. Kind Regards D & A


A Hot Tub Tonight at Holladay House

5 sur janvier 21, 2008

We stayed just one night, but would have loved to stay longer. The room was comfortable and the hot tub was great! The decor is lovely. Breakfast was tasty -- flavorful and filling. I would highly recommend this B&B and will definitely stay there again when I am in the area.


Relaxing & Restful Weekend

4,4 sur août 30, 2007

We wanted a nice, low-key weekend at a bed & breakfast in a rural area, and this was perfect. Holladay House provided a pleasant, informal setting, convenient to downtown, easy to stroll about the area. The "Blue Room" was very nice, the breakfasts were tasty, the innkeepers quite amiable. A much appreciated retreat.


Quintessential B & B

4,8 sur juillet 16, 2007

I couldn't have had a more lovely introduction to the region than at the charming b & b where all my needs were attended to. The rooms were pristene and the proprietors bent over backwards to be helpful. They even agreed to accept a box shipped in advance and prepared a savory breakfast according to my special dietary needs. Absolutely no complaints!


Best of the Best

5 sur juin 13, 2007

A superb experience. Facility is top notch, and service is nothing less than superb. A must stay B & B


Holladay was a Holiday

5 sur juin 02, 2007

Our experience at the Holladay House was truly extraordinary!! Sharon and Sam do all they can to make you feel right at home. They have done an excellent job maintaining the old home nature of the home while filling it with some "needed" modern conveniences. I highly recommend it!


Enjoy Your Stay !!!

5 sur avril 25, 2007

Our stay in the Holladay House B&B over three days was a most pleasant experience highlighted by the outstanding attention to detail demonstrated by the owners, Sharon and Sam Elswick. Our suite, with whirlpool bath, had a very nice floor plan and was spotless. The King size bed was VERY comfortable, and the daily breakfasts a royal delight. This B&B in Orange, Virginia, is a premier location for enjoying the beautiful surrounding scenery of Virginia’s piedmont region marked by lush, rolling hills. The Shenandoah Mountains are close by as are a multitude of Civil War sites to be visited. Charlottesville, with all its attractions, is but a mere twenty to thirty minutes drive away. Last but not least—there are many outstanding vineyards in the area that give testimony to Virginia’s budding wine industry. A great value for a great little town!


A week of bliss

5 sur avril 09, 2007

I spent the first week of April at Holladay House. I have rarely met two people better suited to each other than Sharon and Sam, the host/owners, and I have never met people more suited to their chosen profession. The breakfasts were varied and exquisitely prepared and served. The Ivy suite was all I could want in inn accommodations. The hosts know the area well, and were very helpful with recommendations and bookings for local restaurants, historical tours, and a balloon ride. This was the best week away from DC I have had in the six years I have lived there.


A winning combination--great house and great innkeepers!

5 sur avril 01, 2007

We picked this bed and breakfast based on the website and its location in downtown Orange, what we got was so much more. It turned out to be one of the best weekend getaways. The innkeepers were extremely friendly, they were always willing to help us find our way and provided accurate directions to local attractions. They appeared (and disappeared) exactly when needed. The room was fabulous- the bed was so comfortable it was a struggle to get up for breakfast, but we were so glad we did. The breakfast was definitely the 'cherry on top' of a great weekend. We will definitely be back!


Delightful country retreat

5 sur février 24, 2007

I had read about this place in the Washington Post and was interested in it because it was just a short drive from the city (approximately 1.5 hrs), affordable, and sounded beautiful. It was one of the most hospitable places we stayed in. We took the little green room, which was very cozy and charming. (The innkeeper told us that it is also one of the most comfortable beds in the place.) There were always delicious cookies, tea, books, games, and the inkeepers were always nearby to talk about the area, including making dinner reservations for us. Breakfast at Holladay House is also amazing. We definitely hope to go back sometime!


Very friendly - needs to enhance the hotwater for the bath

3,0 sur février 19, 2007

The management is very friendly and hospitable. The major negative was that we paid almost $200 (190+ tax) a night, for one of their nicest rooms with the expectation that we would use the two person whirlpool. There was not sufficient hot water to fill the whirlpool. We tried late at night and in the morning. The owners are aware of the problem. If you want to use the whirlpool and want hot water, I suggest you wait to book until the hot water problem is fixed. Once fixed, I highly recommend the establishment. We were disappointed because the main reason we booked and was willing to pay the price was for the use of the whirlpool.

Réponse du propriétaire
We regret that this guest's stay was anything other than wonderful. As a small, family-operated business, we work extremely hard to make sure that all of our guests are comfortable, the atmosphere welcoming, and all amenities outstanding. After the guest reported the hot water problem to us, we investigated as soon as we could. The guest was in one of our luxury rooms, which includes a 110+ gallon whirlpool tub. Immediately after they checked out, we filled the tub to capacity. Using a thermometer, I tested the water temperature from the faucet as it filled, and then after it was completely full. At the faucet, the temperature was around 120 degrees, and after the tub filled to capacity, the water in the tub was about 115 degrees, which conforms to the recommendations of such government agencies as the Center for Disease Control. Any water hotter than 120 degrees poses a danger of scalding guests, especially children and elderly. I also checked the temperature settings on the hot water heaters, and all settings were appropriate. I suspect that the problem this guest encountered was a result of the fact that they were using the tub at peak water-usage times rather than the fact that the hot water heater was not working at all. So, all evidence suggests that the hot water problem this guest experienced is not necessarily a chronic or systemic problem, but rather a result of several factors combining to create a negative experience for them. We recognize that 110+ gallons is a lot of water to have to heat, and that filling this tub to capacity strains the hot water systems in this historic house. For that reason, we are in the process of installing an on-demand tankless water heating system that will be dedicated to the tub in that room. Our other room with a luxury tub already has its own dedicated water heater. Installing this system for the room in which this guest stayed will prevent this problem from occurring again.


Holladay House Bed And Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $149 - $249
  • Avis (100) 4,8
  • Chambres 6

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5406724893

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut