Glen Gordon Manor Avis

Ensemble
5,0

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    5,0
  • Services5
  • Qualité/Prix5,0
  • Propreté5
  • Repas5

Notation basée sur
21 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Exceptional to the smallest detail

5 sur juillet 06, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend at Glen Gordon Manor for her birthday. It was an exceptional experience and truly memorable. Dayn, Trent, and the entire staff were phenomenal hosts from the moment we arrived until our departure. Each encounter, from chatting in the kitchen to conversations in the sitting room, were personal and quite welcoming. The grounds have spectacular views and impart an ideal sense of tranquility. The room and main house were excellent as well, comfortable and inviting at every part of the day. And lastly, the dining was exquisite. Each dish was beautifully prepared and resulted in a divine culinary experience. We highly recommend Glen Gordon Manor for special occasions and the quick getaway, and plan to return again in the near future.


Excellent - again!

5 sur mars 10, 2014

My wife and I celebrated a significant birthday with a four day weekend at the Glen Gordon Manor. This was our second trip, and the service and hospitality were exceptional. The meals were wonderful -- breakfasts featured a number of dishes which were all excellently prepared and the portions were sized to let you enjoy all the 'courses'. We had dinner one evening served at a discrete table for two in the Hunt room, and it was a real pleasure to have the chance to talk about the dishes, ingredients, and preparation with each course. We did a wine pairing with one dinner, and the selections were all marvelous, and complimented the dishes very well. The next night we had dinner in the kitchen (at our request), and the chance to talk with Trent (and whoever else was in attendance -- it really feels like family when you visit) about the meal, and cooking in general, always gives me new ideas of how to prepare meals at home. Glen Gordon Manor is highly recommended, and we will be going back again when time permits.


Amazing B&B With Unbelievable Food!!

5 sur juillet 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Glen Gordon Manor for 3 nights. It was a wonderful experience in every way. We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was incredible! Dayn, Nancy, and Trent do a terrific job. Beautiful rooms (we stayed in the two bedroom side of the cottage) and the setting is so peaceful with rolling hills, clucking chickens and grazing horses. Relaxation is easy amongst the towering trees with swings and seats beneath the canopy. The pool is a perfect 85 degrees and the waterfall mesmerizes and lends itself to napping after a day visiting the nearby local wineries . Dayn was extremely helpful with directions, suggestions regarding vineyards and pointing us to the best meals in the vicinity. All in all a little slice of heaven in the beautiful Virginia Shenandoah Valley.


Great Stay Beautiful

5 sur mai 14, 2013

One of a kind B&B. A perfect stay right in the middle of VA Wine Country. Will be back!


Stop looking elsewhere and stay here!

5 sur mai 10, 2013

My wife and I tried to book a weekend stay in the winter, but unfortunately they were all full. In hindsight, that turned out to be a good thing, as our weekend trip this past weekend was perfect -- every part of it. The food, the rooms, the views, and the hospitality were all impeccable. My wife and I love staying at B&Bs and we typically like to mix it up and try different places. That tradition will be broken the next time we visit the area, as -- after this past weekend -- there's absolutely no other place that we'd rather stay than Glen Gordon Manor. Dayn, Nancy, and Trent were all warm and welcoming hosts. Our time there felt less like the standard "pay money, get a room" exchange and more like staying the weekend with friends. Most owners probably wouldn't be up for discussing the intricacies of Legos, paint colors, and chickens over morning coffee. Or, most chefs would probably get annoyed with a guest's endless stream of questions about how to properly sharpen knives or how to best prepare a sunchoke. Not Dayn and Nancy, and not Trent. As we were preparing to checkout, Dayn gave us a dozen fresh eggs to take home and -- I'm being serious -- as we walked out to the pool for one last look of the place, a deer ran across the lawn right in front of us. If it weren't so impossible, I would've sworn that deer was trained to do that for every guest as one final 'Wow' factor :) My wife and I have told several of our friends about the place and have already started to plan a visit back to the area for the fall. Can't wait. When you do go, be sure to book dinner reservations there. We wanted a taste of the area and thought that breakfast at Glen Gordon would suffice. We were wrong, as we just weren't that impressed w. the other highly-rated restaurants that we tried. Let Dayn and Trent do it right for you.


One word: The Best B&B Ever (OK maybe more than one word...)

5 sur avril 08, 2013

My girlfriend Sarah and I just spent another amazing weekend at GG. It gets better every time we visit!!! The inn itself is simply beautiful!!! The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. Dayn, Nancy and their kids are the most gracious, generous, kind, and friendly hosts ever!! The food is to put it quite simply:over-the-top-incredible!!! Sitting in the kitchen enjoying a glass of wine watching Dayn and Trent prepare an amazing meal was the highlight of our stay!! Thank you again for making our weekend away the BEST!!! John & Sarah


Unforgettable Experience

5 sur novembre 01, 2012

The weekend was perfect from start to finish. The hospitality, impeccable cuisine, and casual elegance made it one of the best - maybe THE best - experiences of our lives. We have been to many places like this and Glen Gordon had everything we love and nothing we didn't.


Amazing Food & Romance

4,8 sur septembre 07, 2012

My boyfriend & I frequently visit B&Bs in the DC area, and this is our favorite! (We just spent our third weekend there). The rooms are superb and the food is amazing. We highly recommend the 5-course dinner, and the day-long cooking class. If you need a romantic getaway -- This one's not to be missed!


Small piece of heaven

5 sur juin 18, 2012

I ahd 100% confidence in this location observing the other rewviews givina an across the board 5 stars. After spending enarly a weekend there, I agree. Setting was fine country living, with Front Royal just a few miles away for a ammenities you might need. Food was above par, pool was exceptional, views phenomenol, and service by the hosts was flawless.


A B & B Paradise

5 sur mai 26, 2012

My wife and I recently booked three nights at Glen Gordon Manor in Huntly, Va, a unique and memorable experience that one would be hard pressed to imagine available in a standard bed and breakfast lodging. Situated on 45 acres of pasture, expansive lawns, gardens, and towering trees in Rappahannock County, Glen Gordon Manor is serene, comfortable and restorative, with views of the Blue Ridge Mountains and scenes of its horses grazing in the pastures. We were lodged in the Windsor Suite, located in a two suite separate building. The suite was tastefully decorated and came with an I-Pad connected to a surround sound system, in suite coffee, refrigerator and an expertly appointed bathroom with dual showers, a bathtub, toiletries and robes. The main building has several guest rooms along a corridor that leads to a most inviting sitting room with fireplace and a library. There is an outdoor pool surrounded with grass and lounge chairs, including a gazebo and a screened-in porch. Dayn Smith and his wife, Nancy Moon, are the gracious hosts. Dayn is an executive chef and he and Nancy are the current owners of specialty restaurants in another locale. Dayn prepares gourmet breakfasts each morning, served either in the elegant dining room or in a relaxing solarium style room overlooking gardens and pastures. But the most unique feature is that Dayn and Nancy offer a nightly dinner service for their guests’ convenience, featuring Dayn’s exemplary cuisine. There’s no obligation to select the dinner service. You are simply asked if you have dinner plans, and if so, Dayn offers to make dinner reservations for the guests. If you decide on the dinner service (highly recommended, we dined there two nights) you simply inform Dayn and all will be ready at a mutually agreed upon dinner hour. Two dinner options are available, one with wine pairings, the other without the wine parings, although single bottles of wine are available.


“If Glen Gordon Manor is a Hidden Gem Now, It Won't Be for Very Much Longer...”

5 sur mai 09, 2012

Less than 90 minutes away from Washington, DC, is a 'bed and breakfast' that serves up top award-winning meals from a widely-acclaimed international chef, has 5 star accommodations, and will cost you less than you may think. The location: Glen Gordon Manor. The owners of the property make you feel like family; by the second morning I was going though the kitchen like I owned the place, and was encouraged to do so. The meals were nothing short of spectacular; the service was on par, if not better, than many 5 star hotels/resorts that some of you may have experienced in the past. I reluctantly use the phrase 'bed and breakfast', because I think sometimes that phrase creates a vision of something less than spectacular, less than 5 star, less than perfect. Not in this case. From the iPad in our suite with surround sound Bose speakers, to the European toiletries, to the many custom requests Dayn (the owner) cheerfully satisfied (and then some), this is the weekend getaway many dream of, that may think cannot/doesn't exist.... All meals are made from scratch, and the food presentation in and of itself is worth the visit to Glen Gordon Manor. Breakfast that could easily go for $50.00-$60.00 a plate (Yes; it's that good) comes with your stay. Dayn's nephew Trent is also an incredible chef, and he helped to prepare some of our meals, as well. A tour of the home reveals alot of VA history. (Trent will tell you the story when you visit) Whether a weekend away from the kids (which is what my wife and I did this past weekend) or for some quality family time, look no further than Glen Gordon Manor.


A relaxing haven that exceeded expectations

5 sur avril 30, 2012

What a wonderful, relaxing trip. In addition to charming hosts, the Manor's "Windsor Suite" was created to perfection - no detail was spared. The room is equipped with built-in speakers throughout (hooked to an iPad,) basic drinks and welcome "surprises," dimming lights, plush linens, and a stunning shower and bath overlooking the mountains. It was perfectly clean and cozy-- We never wanted to leave the room! Another great plus? The food was wonderful - far better than some of the nicest B&Bs we've been to. It was clear that this host is a true chef. The grounds themselves are beautiful and nicely equipped with outdoor seating, a pool, etc. The main house feels historic but beautifully renovated, with several cozy common areas for guests. The location itself is conveniently about 10-15 minutes off of route 66, tucked neatly in a mountainous area that feels so serene. The manor is surrounded by wineries, and we enjoyed several during our trip. This spot certainly earns their diamond rating.


First Class

5 sur février 05, 2012

While I would love to keep Glen Gordon Manor a secret, Dayn and Nancy truly helped make our stay memorable. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The accommodations, the fare, the hosts, and the experience were all first class. It really felt like home, only nicer, and quieter. The picturesque vistas, the seclusion, and the Glencroft Cottage all helped to create a feeling of serenity. I can't imagine staying at another B&B in the Shenandoah Valley. Glen Gordon Manor really is a special place. Dan Fairfax, VA


Our Family Getaway!!

4,8 sur décembre 11, 2011

We have a tradition in our family to visit the Shenandoah Valley for the Thanksgiving Holiday. We found our diamond in the rough at Glen Gordon Manor. Set against a beautiful backdrop of mountains and hills we knew that we reach the right place. Dayn and Nancy are wonderful innkeepers that truly care about your comfort and are always eager and ready to help out with any suggestions. The meals are all home-made and prepared with top ingredients. Dayn is a true chef from ricotta pancakes to steak with truffle sauce. The gastronomy is pleasing to all the senses. My children had a wonderful time scampering around the acres at Glen Gordon Manor. The cottage was clean, spacious and set high on the hill overlooking the horses and tall beech trees. Here is a place that we would visit over and over again. Thanks Nancy and Dayn for a wonderful and memorable stay. John, Elizabeth, Armani and Isabela R.


A perfect experience

5 sur novembre 16, 2011

When visiting the picturesque countryside of Rappahannock County, Virginia, have you ever wondered how it would be to live in one of the magnificant estates. Wonder no longer! you can become a resident of Glen Gordon Manor and reside in the classical restored mansion or one of the luxurious re-built out buildings. Your accommodations will be splendid, your views of the rolling green pastures of the farm and the Blue Ridge Mountains are magnificent. In the evening you may enjoy a glass of wine in front of the fireplace in the living room with Nancy Moon, the co-owner, and learn about the fascinating history of Glen Gordon Manor, then enjoy a superb dinner prepared by a world class chef, Dayn Smith, also a co-owner. You will be minutes away from the world famous Inn at Little Washington for dinner on another evening. During the day, you can walk the beautiful grounds of Glen Gordon, visit the tasting rooms of the nearby wineries (there are many within a 10 to 15 minute drive) or just relax and marvel at the mountain scenery. In season, you can enjoy the swimming pool in its unique country setting. Ann and I have traveled for many years. We selected Glen Gordon Manor to celebrate our fiftieth wedding anniversary - itw was a perfect experience.


Amazing weekend!

5 sur novembre 06, 2011

My husband and I weren't able to take a honeymoon right after our wedding, so we decided to spend our first long weekend as a married couple in wine country as sort of a mini-honeymoon. We just found Glen Gordon Manor online and when we got there we were completely in awe of the place. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are beautifully decorated and completely remodeled/updated (complete with iPads!), and Dayn's cooking is out of this world. We never in a million years imagined we'd be so spoiled on our little getaway weekend-- it was everything we could have wanted and more. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone and can only hope this place won't be booked solid the next time we have a couple of days free. Amazing all around!


excellent over the top service, ffod and atmosphere

5 sur octobre 20, 2011

Your elegant environment, excellent service combined with your amazing food and presentation made it so memorable for all of us. Your manor allowed for us to be together as a family and enjoy the beauty of the mountains along with great spaces for us to visit and hang out. It was a perfect weekend getaway and I really appreciated all the attention to detail provided to make the stay so special. I told all my friends at work about the place! We look forward to a return visit again someday.


1st year anniversary

5 sur octobre 20, 2011

We had a lovely time, it was such a great decision to spend our first anniversary there. Our hosts are very gracious, the property is so beautiful, and the rooms are elegant. Also the breakfast was amazing, three courses with great coffee.


Horse Country Elegance and Hospitality

5 sur septembre 30, 2011

On Saturday we arrived the the Glen Gordon Manor around 3:30 PM and were greeted warmly by Nancy and immediately taken on a tour of the main house. We were drawn to the kitchen layout and in particular the integration of the chopping blocks into the counter tops in a raised fashion for easy transfer of prepared foods, as my wife and I love to cook. Turns out there was a good reason why, Dayn is a world renowned Chef with deep working experience from fine French and Swiss dining establishments. Next we went over to our cottage suite and were given a tour of the recently completed renovations and interior decorations enhanced by soft and relaxing color schemes. The bed was very comfortable and the main bathroom had an extra large old fashion tub and a very large glass walk-in shower all complemented by wonderful toiletries.The toilet and bidet were housed in a separate bathroom. All of this was enhanced by a wonderful Sonos sound system controlled by a dedicated iPad offering any music category or artist we desired. All of this is conveniently located just 15 minutes from world class dining at the Inn at little Washington. Sunday morning, as if we hadn't already had a wonderful time, Dayn prepared a gourmet breakfast including fresh fruits and scones, to die for cafe latte, and poached eggs with quail and hollandaise sauce over a bed of greens topped followed by home made cookies. We departed feeling very satisfied with our experiences and enjoyed the ride home stopping off at various art/photography galleries and antique shops.


Glen Gordon Manor September 2011

5 sur septembre 27, 2011

Just returned from a weekend experience at Glen Gordon Manor that was truly outstanding. It began with the welcoming warmth of the Property owners, Nancy Moon and Dayn Smith, who immediatly made us feel like long lost relatives. The property is breath taking in its ambience and perfected down to the tiniest detail. If Dayn is in residence, you'll be lucky enough to have a dining experience like non other...enjoying his world class culinary talent that, from our travels, rivals the very best of the acclaimed European chefs. We look forward to our returning to Glen Gordon Manor.


A place where we will return again, and again...

5 sur août 29, 2011

Our stay at Glen Gordon Manor was nothing short of pure magic. It was the weekend that hurricane Irene raged along the entire East Coast, yet we were able to enjoy one of our best weekend getaways. The manor and the surrounding grounds are breathtakingly beautiful and immaculately well kept. Every detail, from the fine linens to the upscale yet cozy décor, sets the mood for a relaxing and truly inspiring getaway. The owners of this spectacular property enhanced our experience tremendously by going out of their way to accommodate our every wish. The breakfast that we enjoyed was divine- from the elegant setting, to the candles, the variety of the food choices and the personal touch in everything they offered. No detail is ever overlooked- soft music always playing in the background, iPad for Internet browsing, fragrant bath salts, plush bath towels and robes. We cannot recommend this property enough to anyone who is craving a relaxing getaway in the countryside amidst luxury, comfort and nature’s best.


Glen Gordon Manor

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $250 - $450
  • Avis (21) 5,0
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5406366010

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut