The Buckhorn Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,1
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas4,3

Notation basée sur
75 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great escape

5 sur décembre 04, 2014

This B&B went above board for use to have a great time . Thanksgiving meal was very good and plentyfull.We will highly recommend this place to all of our friends and coworker's. Thank the O'Hare's


A Nice Change of Pace

3,0 sur novembre 17, 2014

If you want fancy, then this is not the place for you. However, if you love history and want a nice, quiet place off the beaten path, this is a nice rest. The owners are very friendly. Enjoyed talking with their children at breakfast very much. The fireplace at breakfast was a great touch. I would definitely stay here again. Hopefully, next time we'll be able to do some hiking in the National Forest.


A Great Stay

5 sur octobre 31, 2014

Our hosts Garlan and Sylvia were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The whole facility is homely, very clean and provided for all our needs. The breakfast is not to be missed.


Great place

5 sur octobre 17, 2014

Stayed in Stonewall Jackson room, much larger than expected, very clean comfortable, beautiful home and very nice area


Helped forge my first great impression of Virginia!

4,4 sur septembre 02, 2014

This is an Idyllic and charming place. Garlan and Sylvia help you to feel at home in their home. Sylvia even learned ahead of time about any dietary concerns (my gal has Celiac) so that breakfast would be as fulfilling as it could be. And was it!! The home cooked meal was perfect - large sizes and portions of french toast, eggs, bacon, and prepared to your preference. Their children are adorable and so well-mannered. We hope to stay again someday and try out a different room.


Buckhorn Inn is unique

4,0 sur août 24, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in the historical building. Kay was very kind and courteous.


Charming, historic, quiet

4,4 sur août 12, 2014

We sought this place out because it was just an hour from Camp Hidden Meadows, where we had to pick up our kids early the next day and wanted to stay close by. The Yoders have done a wonderful job keeping up this historic "tavern" / inn. We loved sitting on the porch in the evening, and the wonderful breakfast and conversation.


buckhorn inn,

3,0 sur juillet 27, 2014

friendly,, breakfast was nothing to brag about,burnt bacon,rush on sunday morning


Our stay at The Buckhorn Inn

4,6 sur juillet 16, 2014

They did an outstanding job. We had a great experience and will definitely return.


Excellent Vacation Spot

5 sur juin 17, 2014

The Madden's


Perfectly Pampered!

5 sur mai 21, 2014

Everything about the Buckhorn Inn was wonderful, especially innkeeper Sylvia Yoder. Since we're interested in history, she shared the story of the inn and gave us a tour. We arrived late on a stormy evening and Sylvia fed us a delicious peanut butter pie. In the morning, she prepared our breakfast to order. Accommodations were beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom. We felt perfectly pampered at the Buckhorn Inn!


The Buckhorn is charming, and was just the ticket to enjoy Virginia's beauty and warm hospitality.

4,6 sur mai 02, 2014

Breakfast was lavish and delicious, and the Inn's owners are considerate, caring family folks.


Great Romantic Stay

3,8 sur avril 21, 2014

The Buckhorn Inn was a wonderful place for a countryside getaway. On the way there, you get to enjoy gorgeous sights of rolling hillsides, and the inn itself is beautiful and quaint at the same time. There are plenty of great dining options in town. After asking for suggestion at the inn, we planned to have dinner at Zynodoa, a renowned Staunton restaurant (which we still plan to go to sometime), but they were all booked up so we ended up eating at Aioli, a tapas style restaurant that was absolutely delicious. Afterwards we returned to the Brookside room that we had booked. It has a nice king sized bed, large TV, a private bathroom and a small reading room. It was the perfect place to spend the night. In the morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in a rustic dining area. We also got to meet the innkeepers' daughter and enjoyed chatting with her. Her other siblings were running around outside. The breakfast was to die for and we strictly adhered to their one rule "no one leaves hungry". We filled up on pancakes, hash brown patties, bacon, sausages and eggs; although these were only a small percentage of the options we were offered. We could not have a had a better experience!


Pleasant stay at The Buckhorn Inn

4,6 sur mars 20, 2014

The Buckhorn Inn is a nice B&B in the country. The hosts were hospitable but not overbearing. The Stonewall Jackson room was awesome with a fireplace, a walk-out balcony, and a jetted tube. The breakfast was average. It was a very cozy and welcoming experience with a family-friendly atmosphere. Highly recommended during the Highland Maple Festival.


Great place to stay

4,8 sur mars 19, 2014

Nice rooms, great hosts. Very kid friendly, which is a plus for us (owners have kids who entertained ours) but could be negative for others. Fantastic breakfast.


Great B&B living at the Buckhorn Inn

4,6 sur février 20, 2014

Garlan and Sylvia were wonderful hosts. We felt at home the whole time and completely welcome in their home, but also had the privacy that made it feel like we were at the Buckhorn by ourselves. The setting around the Buckhorn is beautiful. There are a handful of hiking trails within walking distance, and a few more that are just a short drive away. I definitely recommend checking out the old Confederate breastworks, which are 10 miles from the Buckhorn and provide a beautiful view of the mountains. The Buckhorn is also close to Staunton, Virginia, a lovely town with a surprising amount of great restaurants. Breakfast at the Buckhorn, however, is not to be missed.


Wonderful Stay

4,8 sur novembre 22, 2013

My wife and I chose the place for our honeymoon at random simply because of where it is located. Couldn't have been a luckier pick. Food was great and the room was comfortable. The owners were more than accommodating with directions, recommendations on places to visit and hike and helped to make sure we had everything we needed. It reminded me more of going home to visit my grandparents than actually renting a room somewhere. Loved the stay and we're definitely going to try to go back.


buckhorn inn

4,4 sur octobre 31, 2013

excellent getaway. staff was very friendly


Nice change of pace stay

4,8 sur octobre 16, 2013

Overall, we had a very good stay at the inn. It was neat to stay in the same room where Stonewall Jackson had likely stayed. The inn has a very interesting history and should be a considered a place to stay if you are a Civil War buff (both because of Stonewall Jackson and the fact the inn was also a Confederate aid station). The breakfast was very good. The only flaw was I thought the price was a little high, but it did seem in line with some other inns in the area.


Autumn getaway

4,8 sur octobre 13, 2013

A delightful stay at a historic inn in a charming, bucolic setting. And the hospitality was wonderful.


A lovely place to stay.

3,4 sur octobre 07, 2013

We needed a stop-gap place to stay between leaving Washington and arriving in Williamsburg. The Buckhorn Inn looked so very nice online and indeed proved to be so. The bedroom was lovely and there was also a separate sitting room and balcony. Sylvia could not have been more helpful and is a very good cook, although sadly we didn't have the time to sample more than breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again.


Buckhorn Inn is a good value

4,0 sur août 28, 2013

Very nice historical b & b. Certainly the value is worth the cost. Does not have all the modern amenities, but is in a beautiful rural setting. Hosts are very accomodating and interested in making their guests comfortable.


Weekend at the Buckhorn Inn

4,0 sur août 23, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a nice weekend away in a lovely area of Virginia. While at the Buckhorn we were able to learn more about its history and the history of the surrounding area. The hostess was very friendly, going out of her way to help meet our needs. May the Buckhorn Inn excel in its business!


Our Anniversary Retreat

5 sur juillet 20, 2013

We came to the Buckhorn to celebrate our 47th anniversary........so we wanted charming, quiet, charming etc., and it was all of those. The owners were so very welcoming, and even their children made us feel like dear friends. The suite we stayed in was elegant and sensible all at once, every detail fit. We had the best 2 days away ever and would go back in a minute.


Can't wait to return

5 sur juillet 17, 2013

Completely superior service! Called ahead and arranged for late arrival without a hitch, arranged breakfast and was served with aplomb. No detail is left unturned and I'm ready to come back. Thanks for a great stay! And thanks for the sweet iced tea, great coffee, clean room, great breakfast, and fantastic service.


Great Visit

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. Entire family and cats welcomed us. Restful night and great breakfast! We may come back and try it in the winter, too. Obviously, the hummingbirds think it's a great place as well--never seen so many at once.


Great getaway

4,6 sur juin 22, 2013

Good accommodations in this historic property. The innkeepers made you feel like guests in their own home. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful, but very basic -- nothing gourmet here, but that's to be expected for this "down home" experience at the edge of a National Forest. Earplugs are provided in the rooms, and I wondered why that should be; but late at night, an enthusiastic whippoorwill took up an continuous and mechanical song that had the entire breakfast group talking about it the next morning! (I didn't need the earplugs, though.)


Up to date stay at an historic inn

4,8 sur juin 13, 2013

this historic inn has detailing from the early 1800s but modern amenities, comfortable beds, well appointed bathrooms with plush towels and upscale toiletries. The lounge area has a small refrigerator well stocked with water; tea and coffee are always available. The addition of some healthful snacks to those available would be an asset.


Great Place for a getaway

4,2 sur avril 03, 2013

We took a couple of days of from the hustle and bustle of the city life and enjoyed 2 wonderful days at the “Buckhorn Inn”. It definitely was the right place to be at for this. The hosts, Garlan and Sylvia, made us feel just like at home. The room was clean and very comfortable and even had robes and slippers. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We have added the Buckhorn Inn to our list of places to go back to and would recommended to anyone. Thank you!!!!!! for such an enjoyable and relaxing stay.


Go and see your yourself

5 sur mars 11, 2013

The Buckhorn Inn is a great choice for a getaway. Even though it is just 30 minutes from our home, it felt farther away. Seeing the wonderful rooms, each one so distinct was fun. I think B&Bs should be full of character. This inn is bursting with it. It is 200 years old and there are antique lamps and old pieces of furniture all over--just waiting to tell their story. A Bed and Breakfast couldn't stand without good food. This one has remarkable food. It is just what you'd hope for. If you aren't a heavy breakfast eater, the fresh fruit and cereal options will suit you just fine. If you like buckwheat pancakes and made to order omelettes, you are also in the right place. There is a lot more to tell, but you can go and find out for yourself!


Great site for family reunion

4,6 sur mars 10, 2013

Our extended family rented all the rooms on the second floor for a weekend celebration. We felt like we were at home away from home. Our gracious hosts made us feel very relaxed, answered our extensive questions, fed us scrumptious home cooked meals (omelets made to order!), and even provided a surprise birthday cake for our guests of honor. The inn is comfortable and child friendly, while still feeling special and elegant. I will definitely tell my friends to plan a visit.


GREAT REMOTE LOCATION

4,8 sur février 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Buckhorn the owners made us feel welcome and in good hands. The full breakfasts were AMAZING and prepared as we entered the dining room: freshly cut fruit salad, eggs to order, pancakes and French toast put on the griddle upon ordering. They bake their own breads and muffins, farm their own eggs and purchases their meats from local organic farms. AND THEY TRY TO GIVE YOU SECONDS!! (their mantra is "Don't leave hungry"). We were impressed that they asked us what time we'd like to come down for breakfast each day, so we were able to relax and sleep in. Silvia and Garland are friendly hosts who like to share their building's 200-year history. They offer ideas for local activities and dinner spots. We genuinely felt like treasured guests during our stay. I highly recommend Buckford Inn to anyone passing through the Staunton area.


Pleasant B&B in rural Shenandoah area of Virginia.

3,4 sur novembre 10, 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Buckhorn. Close to mountains which allowed a nice day trip into West Virginia. Quiet at night even though it was right on Rt. 250. Pleasent host/hostess with well-behaved children.


Charming inn in beautiful

2,8 sur octobre 20, 2012

An historical gem in a remote and naturally setting. The highlight of our visit was looking our the window of our room and seeing wild turkeys on the hillside behind the inn. We appreciated the first class linens in our bed and bath. A surprise was the traffic and highway noise but it did eventually quieten down and the innkeepers had thoughtfully provided ear plugs! Only real disappointment was breakfast, which can so often be the high point of a B&B stay. Seems like extra help is needed in the kitchen since service was slow.


Great Service

5 sur octobre 18, 2012

Friendly Innkeepers! Very clean rooms! Delicious breakfast! Great weekend getaway!


A lovely place to stay.

3,4 sur octobre 18, 2012

Lovely inn with gracious hosts and adorable children who helped serve breakfast. The room had beautiful quilts on the beds and they were comfortable. Pancakes were not good, but the French toast was made with home made bread, and breakfast was cooked to order. We enjoyed visiting with other guests while waiting for breakfast to be prepared.


Homey

3,6 sur août 31, 2012

The proprietors were a lovely couple with three small children who made you feel part of the family.


Unique B&B

3,8 sur juillet 18, 2012

This old hotel has had quite a past. (If only the walls could talk.) Owners, Garlan & Sylvia make you feel right at home serving a simple good country breakfast. Our room, The Stone Wall Jackson, was quite large with a modest and comfortable sitting area. Bathroom is a bit dated and small but you'd expect this in a house that is 200 years old. Great wrap around balcony where we watched baby birds peeping up out of their nest to get fed.


A charming place with superb breakfasts

4,4 sur juillet 14, 2012

We enjoyed the rural setting, historic home and warm friendly nature of the proprietors. Great food. We also enjoyed sitting on the second floor porch.


Buckhorn Inn Worth Seeing

2,6 sur juin 24, 2012

The Buckhorn Inn itself it a grand old establishment with an interesting past. It is worth seeing. I am sorry to say that the host and hostess seem overwhelmed by the task of running their establishment and taking care of three children plus the other duties. They were very nice, so I very much wish I could give them a better review, Mr. Yoder in particular was warm and friendly. It is very conveniently located and was comfortable, and we were appreciative of the water bottles in the refrigerator in the guests' living room and the free wi-fi. Mrs. Yoder was watching television in the guests' living room when we came in from dinner, and did not invite us to join her. We did relax on the large front porch, which was pleasant. Breakfast was an odd affair as they were going to church. They may need to hire some helpers. They no longer serve dinner, and the common areas have not been redecorated or updated in decades. It was clean and comfortable. I would recommend it for the general experience and interest. And because the Yoder family can really use the support.


Wonderful Inn; can't wait to come back!

4,6 sur juin 05, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our 10th wedding anniversary, and other than a brief miscommunication about our arrival time (which was entirely my fault), we had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Stonewall Jackson suite, which was lovely, and would accomodate a family with kids exceptionally well, as there are two daybeds in a separate section of the room to which you can close an inner door for privacy from the queen size main bed and living space of the suite. We especially loved hanging out on the peaceful front porch, meeting the chickens, and the barn cat's sweet kittens were a HUGE highlight. :) All in all, a wonderful stay, and we can't wait to go back. - Liz & Tom C.


Amazing find in a remote area

4,8 sur mai 30, 2012

We had a short 1 night stay at the Buckhorn but I plan on returning next time we're in the area. Sylvia, one of the innkeepers, accommodated our late arrival with graciousness and southern hospitality. There are so many sweet little touches that make the Inn so special. Breakfast was delicious and again, she accommodated our early departure. What a find!!


Awesome Weekend

3,8 sur mai 17, 2012

More proof that weekend in a bed and breakfast is far better than a similiar weekend in a chain hotel. The innkeepers were very welcoming. The fire in the fireplace for breakfast on a cool spring morning was a nice touch. Overall a great experience and with family in the area a return visit is a must.


LarryandBarbara MayStay at Buckhorn

4,4 sur mai 16, 2012

Nice place. Old but so what. Should expect that. Provided computer access and phone use, as well as TV and we used all of these. Bed was a little too firm, but hard to get that perfect. Breakfast was quite excellent. Service was also quite excellent. I don't think there was any lack of attention to cleanliness, but the place is old and out in the sticks and big. Its hard to keep up with everything. On balance the stay was 4 stars plus..


Cozy, down-home appeal

4,2 sur mars 29, 2012

Very friendly and warm inn but a bit further out from Staunton than I expected. HUGE suite that easily accommodated 4 adults. Loved the Yoder kids, so cute and entertaining. Great space for spreading out and relaxing. Nice extra touches like the fire set for breakfast. Not fancy but very friendly.


Great place for a stay

4,8 sur mars 15, 2012

Hosts very nice and welcoming, everything we needed. Stayed in the "Stonewall Jackson" suite, which was 2 rooms (one for the baby). They were very kid-friendly (pro for us now, might have been a con 2 years ago...)


Excellent Bed and Breakfast - Highly Recommend!

5 sur janvier 04, 2012

A great spot for a weekend getaway - the house is magnificent, our room was large, comfortable, had a gas fireplace, and a door leading out to the wrap around porch. Our hosts were friendly, accommodating, and super friendly. Breakfast was great with the family!


Lovely B & B

3,8 sur janvier 03, 2012

We ate the continental breakfast -- hopefully, the next time, we'll be able to have the home cooked meal.


Excellent Inn

5 sur décembre 27, 2011

The Buckhorn Inn provides a cozy getaway. It is only appx 2 1/2 hours from the DC area. The Inn is cozy but not cramped and is very welcoming. The Innkeepers, Garlan and Syvia Yoder have great hospitality that is rare to find these days. We highly reccommend the Stonewall Jackson Suite. It has fireplace that will make you fall to sleep in the most comfortable manner. The breakfast was cooked to oder. Pancakes and Bacon for me. It was absolutley delicious. You also get to enjoy the pleasure of spending time with the entire Yoder family. They are most welcoming and their children are simply adorable. You will certaily feel at home and we highly recommned this great little Inn in central Virgina.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much. It's encouraging when we are reminded why we got into this business to start with. Making new friends is indeed fun.


Very Nice

4,4 sur décembre 05, 2011

The Yoders and their children are very humble we felt right at home during our stay. Hope to go back soon.


Relaxed and friendly

4,2 sur novembre 28, 2011

We stayed in the Stagecoach Room, and it was perfect for a small family with young children. My kids loved the big yard (and the chickens!). The breakfast was excellent.


Nice, simple B&B in historic home.

3,4 sur novembre 14, 2011

Nice, simple B&B in historic home. Close to the charming town of Staunton.


Buckhorn Inn October 7, 8, 9 2011

5 sur octobre 13, 2011

This was the 4th October, (starting in 2008) that we stayed in the Buckhorn Inn. We love the Inn and plan to stay again in October 2012. Sylvia and Garlan are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are outstanding. We recommend Buckhorn Inn to all of our friends.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks so much for your encouragement. We really do enjoy making these friendships.


very nice host, really good breakfast

4,2 sur septembre 08, 2011

only issue was very soft bed - but if that's not an issue for you, no worries. otherwise, host made every effort to make us feel welcome


Solid stay at the Buckhorn Inn

4,0 sur août 07, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Buchhorn Inn Aug. 5-7th 2011 for our 6th year anniversary. We had a great stay. We stayed in the Stonewall Jackson suite and was pleasantly surprised at how quaint and spacious the room was. While the Inn has aged a little, it is 200 years old after all, it was extremely relaxing and comfortable. Bed was comfy, access to the porch was really nice, breakfast was great, guest lounge was very nice, room was huge with couch, ac, wi-fi, clean room, nice couch and chair in room. Overall, an awesome stay in a secluded area but not too far away from town, just 20 minutes from Staunton. I would definitely recommend the Buckhorn to anyone and would love to come back again. Thanks to the innkeepers for a great experience.


just average

2,6 sur juillet 27, 2011

Very sweet people who own/run the place. Bathroom had dead flies in the drawers and cabinets (yuck). Breakfast was nice, BUT.. you had to be up by 8:00am on a Sunday to get a hot breakfast. Not very restful for a B and B... Pretty pricey for the location and the amenities. Wireless too weak to use :(


Happy Days at The Buckhorn Inn

4,4 sur juillet 26, 2011

We had a lovely time last weekend, spending two nights at The Buckhorn Inn. The Buckhorn is a beautiful, historic inn which had been known for its restaurant. The innkeepers, Sylvia and Garlan Yoder, have modified the business model, focusing on the B&B, though Sylvia mentioned that they enjoy hosting events--weddings, family reunions, etc. Based on what we saw, I imagine they do a great job with events. The Yoders and their children (I was served my breakfast by one of their daughters) are excellent hosts, providing us with historic information about the house and area restaurants. My wife and I love to hike in the woods, and I enjoy trail running, so for us this was a perfect location. Chimney Hollow Trail, Ramsey's Draft, Braley Pond, and the Wild Oak Trail are all within a few minutes drive. We managed a couple of hikes and a couple of trail runs during our two night stay. There is nothing pretentious about the inn, but our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellently prepared and served hot. We enjoyed the home baked whole wheat bread and muffins, and the omelets made with eggs from their own chickens. How's that for organic, free-range chickens? As I said, the Yoders were delightful folks. They were not intrusive in the least, but by the time we left, it felt like we were leaving friends. I would not hesitate to book another stay at The Buckhorn. History and hospitality combined to make it a delightful stay. Steve Kolb - Norfolk, Virginia


Very friendly place to stay!

3,6 sur mai 24, 2011

Quiet, homey B&B in beautiful countryside location. Friendly service. Short drive to downtown Staunton. We had a nice stay.


Wonderful & relaxing!

3,6 sur mai 09, 2011

Wonderful stay! Beautiful surrounding area. Quiet, peaceful.


A nice place to relax

4,4 sur mai 08, 2011

We've stayed at the Buckhorn Inn three days in April and we have to say it is a great place to stay. The rooms are great, the complimentary breakfast is more than enough (and very delicious) and the Innkeepers were very helpful There is no where else we would stay when coming to visit the Shenandoah Valley!


Fun history, only fair otherwise.

2,4 sur mars 26, 2011

The couple own the B&B, and he was extremely friendly and interesting with his disclosure about the facility's history. The first floor is great, but the rooms are upstairs. The room was extremely small and less than ornate. Stonewall Jackson was reported to have stayed at this former stage coach stopover, and many of the items in the room appeared to have come from that era. But breakfast was the biggest disappointment: Boring, was the best way to characterize it. And the coffee was the worst I have tasted outside of hospital waiting room! Would I go back? Not so much...

Réponse du propriétaire
Well, we are certainly dissapointed that if our guests leave dissapointed. We strive for better than that. I offer my apologies to these folks for not meeting their expectations. As a follow up to staying at the Greenbrier I'm sure we were a let down. But the worst coffee...?


delicious food, great location

3,8 sur février 27, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Buckhorn Inn. The food was amazing- much better than we'd expected. It seems to have just changed hands recently and the new owners seem to still be adjusting to the ins and outs of managing the property. However, they were very helpful. Very small changes to the rooms would add a lot of extra comfort. Simply things like adding additional hooks in the bathroom, using more than one-ply toilet paper, and a large shower head would have given it a more comfortable get-away feeling. All in all, however, it was a great experience!


Valentine's Day getaway

5 sur février 18, 2011

This was our first Bed and Breakfast and surely an outstanding experience. The location was great, Garlan was incredible in setting up a romantic getway..top notch service. Charming and hospitable, looking foward till next time. I. Briones


Charm, history, value, and a quiet retreat all in one

4,8 sur octobre 21, 2010

We chose the Buckhorn Inn as our last stop on the way home after a week on the Outer Banks. It is a beautiful place, rich in history, but perhaps the best part was our host family. They greeted us warmly, gave us a full tour of the B&B explaining when it was built and its long history. We had full access to a living room with computer, tv, and popcorn to eat while we caught the Colts' game! In the morning, we were given a choice for breakfast and it was prepared and ready when we came downstairs. There was a fire going, hot coffee, and pancakes with local syrup. After a week on vacation, this was the perfect way to begin that final trip leg of the trip--refreshed, relaxed, and warmed by our hosts' reception. I wish we had had time to explore more--Staunton Va. is just 20 minutes away, there is lots of national forest property nearby and beautiful scenery. We're already talking about when we can go back!


Cozy with great food.

4,0 sur octobre 20, 2010

Garlan was very inviting and a great cook. We enjoyed our time there. My son especially enjoyed exploring behind the house. It was nice to be asked what we wanted for breakfast after being given choices. There were three groups of us eating breakfast and enjoyed a toasty fire while eating and meeting others staying there. The only downside was it could have been a little neater outside around the house and we only saw Sylvia briefly and she didn't say hello or welcome us.


overall enjoyed this historic 1811 stage coach stop B&B

3,4 sur octobre 18, 2010

Our stay was relaxing. The outside of the B&B was being painted so, the windows were covered and the balcony was closed for use. The mattress and pillows were uncomfortable and need to be updated. The room and bathroom were clean. The hosts were very pleasant and accommodating.


Buckhorn Inn Churchville, VA

5 sur octobre 13, 2010

Wonderful place to stay. Breakfast was great. Our stay was our second year at the Inn. We plan to return next year (2011). Garlan and Sylvia are great hosts.


Outstanding

4,4 sur octobre 10, 2010

We had a great time, my three kids (11, 12, & 15) loved the place as well


I will go back, loved it!

4,8 sur octobre 06, 2010

I have been to quite a few bed and breakfast lodging places before, and the Buckhorn Inn is on the top of the list of my favorites. The rooms were nice and clean, and the service was very good. I found that they also accommodate Wedding events, which I am now looking into for my stepdaughter.


Great Host!

4,2 sur septembre 07, 2010

Garlan was super friendly, accommodating, and informative. We enjoyed our stay at the Buckhorn Inn immensely.


One nitght in June

4,6 sur juin 28, 2010

Providing a place for us to sleep between visits to Monticello and Polyface Farms, the Buckhorn Inn fit right into the theme. It is charming, peaceful, and steeped in history. The proprietors were attentive, accomodating, and made us feel at home throughout the premises. Breakfast was made to order, delicious, and enhanced by the company of the two young daughters. I will definitely stay here again if I need accomodations in the general area.


Charming

4,2 sur juin 25, 2010

This trip to Virginia was for business, but since it was part of our vacation week, I was looking to make our accommodations special and chose the Buckhorn Inn from the B&B.com website based on several positive reviews. This is another positive review for this inn. Our room was clean and orderly, which is my highest priority in any place I sleep. Our private bath was small and on the old side as far as decor, yet it was clean and fully functional including the whirlpool tub for one. Linens were soft to sleep on and not wrinkled or scratchy, and the towels were thick and absorbant. Full of history dating back 200 years, this B&B was a delight. There were books and pictures about the inn and area history, if one desired to read more. The hosts were helpful and attentive, yet not overly cloying. We met the hosts' children upon our arrival (they were pleasant and well-behaved) then did not enounter them again. The common areas were well-stocked, including cold bottled water, coffee, tea and snacks. While the inn does serve meals other than breakfast on the weekends, we stayed mid-week. For breakfast we were served a delicious omelet with our choice of toast, and were even able to choose the time for our breakfast. We arrived during a particularly hot spell, and there were several porches, sheltered from the hot sun by awnings and mature trees, where we were able to relax outside. Our room was air-conditioned with a window unit that was on and had already made the room comfortable when we arrived. All in all, a very pleasant stay. I would stay here again if I return to the area.


Buckhorn B&B

3,8 sur mai 16, 2010

Excellent B&B, excellent breakfast (quality and quantity), friendly innkeepers. Only complaint: the innkeepers' two young children were allowed the run of the house, and one of them joined us for breakfast. She was appropriately polite, but we are not accustomed to having innkeepers (or their children) sitting down to breakfast with us, nor to acting as babysitters. Despite this minor annoyance, we would stay there again.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are delighted that our guests enjoyed themselves enough to want to stay again, that is the highest compliment as innkeepers that we can get. Much more so when there was also a disappointment. We do have children and encourage families with children to stay with us. The vast majority of our guests enjoy seeing our girls, once in a while a guest doesn't particularly enjoy that so much but they are to polite to say anything to us. Our oldest daughter can be quite the socialite (probably a product of her enviornment) and we limit her interaction with the guests based on how much we percieve the guest want that. This time I guess we misjudged, our apologies.


wonderful place to stay

5 sur avril 07, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Buckhorn Inn during the Maple festival. It was well worth it and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. I especially loved the family dog Tiny. She was adorable and so friendly. The two girls were incredibly cute and their parents were very friendly and gracious. We enjoyed our buckwheat pancakes and sausage gravy for breakfast.....delicious!!!!! It was a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely be back again for next years maple festival.


Labor Day Week-End

4,4 sur septembre 13, 2009

We made our reservation at the last minute -- literally -- Friday evening for Saturday & Sunday. Garlan & Sylvia were wonderful! My husband is a vegetarian and they had a great breakfast that met his needs. Will definately return!


The Buckhorn Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $125 - $155
  • Avis (75) 4,3
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5403378660
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8773378660

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut