Chuckwagon Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,8
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
37 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Outsatnding Bed & Breakfast

5 sur juin 03, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chuckwagon Inn for our 7th anniversary. We had never stayed at a bed & breakfast before, and really did not know what to expect. We were amazed! Our little cabin was very cute, and perfect for us. Sam and Becky are excellent hosts, pros at what they do. Breakfast was delicious each morning and hanging out in the evenings in the cantina was also fun. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Fredricksburg. I do not care to even explore other lodging options they were that good!


Wonderful Experience!

5 sur mars 26, 2013

It was my first experience staying in a bed and breakfast. My husband and I left Houston for a quick get a way this last February, and we made the best decision of choosing to stay in Chuckwagon Inn. Sam and Becky are great hosts, their cooking was absolutely delicious. They can keep you entertained with lots of fun stories. Our room was Becky's Kitchen, it was very clean and very charming. We loved our experience. We will return for sure! Odila & Courtney Davis


"Our 25thWedding Anniversary"

5 sur mars 05, 2013

We at this point consider Sam and Becky old friends. We have stayed at this property several times, so many that I have truly lost count. Our favorite is the Bollinger Cabin and when we first discovered this property the cabin had not been built. Both Sam and Becky are extremely personable, kind hearted and I promise you will laugh until you hurt. I once heard a very wise one say, "A GOOD Bed and Breakfast is all about the Bed AND the Breakfast" :) Every one of the beds that we have stayed in on this property are more than comfortable and the "HOMESTYLE" breakfast is delightful. These folks have done it right. We will never stay at another bed and breakfast in Fredericksburg it would be like throwing our money away and we would be cheating on our friends. Susan S.


Great sleep!!

5 sur février 22, 2013

Of all the traveling we have done with motels and B&B, this bed was without a doubt, the MOST comfortable. Never a backache or sore bones. It was wonderful, followed each morning with very yummy breakfasts. We enjoyed the homey atmosphere of Sam and Becky's hospitality and yet we still felt on our own. It was a great stay for us!


New Years at the Chuckwagon Inn

4,6 sur janvier 07, 2013

We stayed at the Chuckwagon Inn with our friends this New Years Eve 2012. The Inn was recommended by one of the couple's dughters, and was everything she said it would be. When we arrived we met Becky and Sam Higgins as we pulled up. From the time we met them we knew that we had picked the right place. Their warmth and humor is definitely contagious! Each cabin at the Inn had a different color scheme, but with a western motif. Many of the furnishings were specially made and were definitely unique. The cabins were clean, bright and had lots of character. The bedding was wonderful! Breakfast was served promptly at 9:00 and Sam made us some of his specialties. One day he made the best biscuits I have ever eaten. Sam and Becky supplied us with many stories of how the cabins were built and we were told about many of the people and business in Fredericksburg. New Years Eve was wonderful for us and The Chuckwagon Inn was the perfect place to stay. Joyce Lobliner


Perfect balance of friendliness and privacy

4,8 sur mars 13, 2012

My new husband and I recently stayed in the Bollinger Cabin at the Chuckwagon Inn for our mini-honeymoon. The cabin is as cozy and comfortable as it appears in the pictures, complete with a kitchenette, jacuzzi tub, spacious porch swing, and wonderful gas fireplace. It was rustically charming and perfect for a short romantic getaway. We wanted to keep to ourselves, and we were never bothered. Breakfast was the only time we saw other people, and it was nice to listen the stories the Higgins' and the other guests shared. The country breakfasts were really delicious. They were fresh and obviously prepared with great care, and each of the three mornings, we were served totally different items. All were fabulous. When we asked for suggestions for places to eat around Fredericksburg, the Higgins' were very quick to offer them. We tried two places they recommended, and both were delicious and exactly what we were looking for. All in all, the Chuckwagon Inn and the Bollinger Cabin were exactly what was advertised on this website and on their website, and it was exactly what we wanted for our mini-honeymoon. A thank you to Becky and Sam for the wonderful stay, and we will see you again!


All I can say is "WOW".

5 sur décembre 14, 2011

I had a WONDERFUL experience at the Chuckwagon Inn! The room was VERY clean and beautiful. Very impressed and felt very welcomed. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, I wokr up in the best mood. Had breakfast with Sam and Becky Higgins, the food was southern and amazing! I am so comming back, and telling friends and family. Loved it!


Not so Gourmet Breakfast

3,2 sur novembre 28, 2011

The Chuckwagon Inn was a great place to stay the night. However, everything I had read about the CWI said that it had a gourmet breakfast and said that the owners were award winning chefs. Maybe they took the morning off when we were there because we had a terrible breakfast. The menu consisted of store bought frozen cinnamon rolls and pigs in a blanket (tried to pass them off as homemade), scrambled eggs with sausage, and hash browns. My wife and I were very disappointed to say the least concerning the "Gourmet Breakfast". I gave "Value" a 3 and "Dinning" a 1 because I don't like paying that much to be served an everyday breakfast. Also, Sam is a little crude in his speech but Becky brings balance. The room "Mustang Bunkhouse" was nice, clean, and the bed was very comfortable but we won't be staying there again because of the terrible breakfast.

Réponse du propriétaire
First of all I would like to thank “Not so gourmet breakfast” for the complement that Chuckwagon Inn was a great place to stay and that the Mustang room was nice and clean and the bed very comfortable. Sam and I regret that you were so disappointed in your breakfast experience that you called it terrible. We greet our guests when they arrive and introduce ourselves and show them where breakfast is served and at that time, we also ask them if they have any problem, dislikes or allergies with any breakfast foods and if they drink coffee in the morning. If you had informed us that you did not like scrambled eggs, sausage or hash browns we would have gladly changed our menu. On occasion we do serve Sister Schubert yeast rolls and have gotten great responses from our guests and when asked we tell them what stores carry them and show them the package so they can buy them. It was not our intention to try to pass them off as homemade and mislead you. Maybe it was because we bake them in small cast iron skillets to keep them warm and place them on the table. We asked a dear friend who is a great cook and trained at The Cordon Bleu in Paris what his definition of gourmet was. He said it was not fancy sauces or a lot of extra ingredients but taking fresh, simple food and preparing it well. This is what we strive for at our B&B whether it is serving fresh farm eggs when available, Sam making his own sausage patties and smoking hams or picking fresh fruit and veggies from our own trees or the little produce stand down the road to serve to our guests. We take our guests comments very seriously, good or bad, and recognize that there is always room for improvement. Sam and Becky Higgins


"A soft place to fall"

5 sur juin 25, 2011

We have been fortunate to have been guests of Becky and Sam Higgins and their Chuck Wagon Inn at least once a year for over ten years! We look forward each visit to their wonderful hospitality, delicious breakfasts, beautiful and inviting guest rooms and grounds, lively conversation and laughs in the cantina, and as a time to relax and recharge and really "get away from it all." Their love of nature, plants and flowers, and their "wee beasts", Paco and Elton, along with the hummingbirds are enjoyed by us all. Becky has been so accommodating to our golfers to offer a "pocket" sandwich/snack they can tuck away until hunger strikes on the golf course. Who would do that? We always leave with new recipes for "out of this world" culinary creations and advice. Their love and knowledge of the Texas Hill Country and all things Fredericksburg make them treasure-troves on recommendations for new lunch and dinner spots, the latest in shopping, all the events going on in town, wine tasting . . . everything to make our visit a memorable one. I couldn't love the Chuck Wagon Inn more.


Friendly Folk and FANTASTIC FOOD!

4,6 sur janvier 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon last year and returned this year for our 1 year anniversary. I couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else! We stayed in the Bolinger Cabin both times and its cool because we have a lot of privacy and its just rustic enough inside for a man to feel comfortable but not so much that a lady doesn’t feel comfortable as well. The main attraction there is Sam and Becky! They are great, easy to talk to, and super helpful! The food is FANTASTIC! Sam is a gourmet cook and it shows! You will never eat the same thing twice while you stay there and you better not be on a diet because the food is too good to only eat a little. Men (or women trying to convince your man to stay at a bed and breakfast): There are no frilly things on the nightstand, it doesn’t look like something out of better homes and gardens, its comfortable (women might like the fancy bed covers and flowers and such though), you will be able to eat SO much for breakfast, they don’t serve quiche, they serve bacon, biscuits, sausage, breakfast tacos, ect… If you like to drink, swear, tell stories, or just hang out and relax while your wife shops you should join Sam at his outdoor cantina in the afternoon or evening. Its far enough away from town to be quiet, but close enough to drive right on in. If you’ve never been to Fredericksburg before you should get tips on where to eat and shop and such from Sam and Becky they know the good places to go and where to avoid. Avoid all those big frilly, quiche serving, boring B&Bs and check out the chuckwagon! We will be there any time we have the chance! There really is no better place to stay!


A weekend of great hospitality, relaxation & laughter

5 sur septembre 03, 2010

Becky & Sam, Just a little note to tell you what a great time we has this weekend. It was a long ride home, longer for some of us than others, but we have another story to tell and some great memories to share. Staying at the Chuckwagon inn is not like staying at a bed and breakfast---it is like visiting old friends.


Great place!

5 sur juillet 12, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay in Larry Bill's Chuckwagon. Very neat and clever restoration of an old barn. Very comfortable bed. What a great breakfast. Outstanding hosts. A pleasant get away but close to Hill Country activites.


OH HAPPY DAY!

5 sur juin 24, 2010

I have had my faith in customer service renewed!!! The accommodations were absolutely charming, comfortable, and very user friendly! We absolutely enjoyed every minute of peacefulness and ultimate comfort! We didn't even hear the demise of an armadillo! The wonderful breakfast served by our welcoming hosts was fabulous and the "breakfast time conversation" started each day out on a great note. We were made to feel so welcomed we can't wait to go back! If you are looking for the best deal or a real great "Bed" and a real great "Breakfast" look no further than the Chuckwagon Inn...especially those of you like us that thought "customer service" was dead! It is alive and well at the Chuckwagon Inn! Edmund and Debra


Great Experience

5 sur mai 10, 2010

We had never stayed at a B&B. This was a great exprerience for first timers. Our hosts Sam & Becky were wonderful. The breakfest was excellant. Our room was country and comfortable. Great weekend get away. I would recommend this B&B if you need a relaxing retreat.


5 Star Rating

5 sur mai 04, 2010

When we arrived, we were not really sure of what we would do each day. When we ate breakfast with Becky and Sam, they suggested items such as the wildflower tour, going to Llano and Enchanted Rock. Suddenly we were having a great time. They also suggested fine dining which was absolutely wonderful (listen to their ideas). Our cabin was very comfortable and met our needs. It was also very peaceful, yet close to town. You cannot beat the hospitality of our host/hostess. I will definitely use the Chuckwagon again and again. This experience was definitely a 5 star rating and well worth the money.


CHUCKWAGON'S THE VERY BEST

4,8 sur avril 13, 2010

We stayed in the Bollinger cabin. Our friends stayed in the Pear Tree. Altho different, both were outstanding....clean, comfortable, cozy. I cannot say enough about the breakfasts!! Absolutely delicious. Sam and Becky KNOW FOOD! Eat two or three of Sam's made-from-scratch buttermilk bisquits and you'll think you've died and gone to Heaven. The best part of the stay was SAM and BECKY. They exude warmth and friendliness. After you've talked with them for 5 minutes, you feel like you've known them all your life. And, Sam's storytelling. Let me tell you...I've known some storytellers in my life and I've told a few good ones myself... But we all have to take a back seat to Sam. He'll have you laughing every time he opens his mouth to speak! You can't stay at a better place,you can't eat better food and you can't be around better friends than the Chuckwagon. Get on over there!!!...and tell 'em John and Gordon said Hello!!


A Wonderful Experience--Especially for pilots

4,4 sur avril 12, 2010

We were thrilled when we saw the design, decorating, and comfort of our cabin: Miss Becky's Kitchen. The quality and attention to detail in the restoration of the cabin is far beyond expectations. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Sam and Becky Higgins are wonderful hosts and great cooks. You will enjoy your experience. If you are a pilot, you are in for a special treat. Gillespie County airport (T82) is a wonderfully charming and convenient airport. The B&B is just across the road, a few hundred feet from runway 14. No noise during the night, but incredibly convenient for pilots to drop in for a few days in the Texas Hill Country. You will love it. We did.


Great Texas Hospitality

5 sur mars 25, 2010

We have stayed at many B&B's and we must say that the Chuckwagon Inn was outstanding. Sam and Becky were wonderful hosts. We will come back for another stay. We will recommend the Chuckwagon Inn to our friends and to anyone who want "Great Texas Hospitality."


Our Favorite Bed and Breakfast

5 sur février 22, 2010

My husband Ric and I have enjoyed many visits to Chuck Wagon Inn . We have stayed in every cabin at least once and in the Pear Tree many times. The property is quite unique, beautifully landscaped, immaculate and home to hummingbirds, a cat who sings and a loveable dog named Paco. "The Cantina" is one of a kind and a great plact to meet new friends or just relax and enjoy the view. The home cooked breakfasts are the best you will ever be served at any B & B. The only place I will relax in a bubble bath, other than my own home, is at Chuck Wagon Inn. All the tubs are squeaky clean! I promise you will leave Chuck Wagon Inn with great memories of your stay and your hosts, Becky, who is a sweetheart and Sam, who is a "Hoot". Martha Cunningham


Fascinate

4,8 sur janvier 25, 2010

The Chuckwagon Inn was funner than Hell. Sam is a riot. He had us cracking up with his many stories, some involving people "bangin' their goofus heads". He and Becky made us feel at home, and gave excellent recommendations about what to do in town. Immaculate room, great food, excellent location. We stayed in the Mustang Bunkhouse. It was cozy and romantic. The Mrs. and I enjoyed our stay.


Cozy Cabin and Warm Hospitality

5 sur janvier 13, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Bolinger cabin and it was everything I hoped for and more. The two room cabin is comfy and cozy with its fireplace, front porch swing and jacuzzi tub. Sam and Becky were great hosts and served up a delicious breakfast each morning. We would highly recommend the Chuckwagon Inn for a stay!


Great "Getaway" Weekend

4,0 sur novembre 23, 2009

What a neat place, close to town yet still in the country. The food was awesome, Sam and Becky are wonderful hosts! The cabins are truly unique and comfortable. Will visit them again.


Hill Country Charm in a Texas sized hospitality

5 sur novembre 23, 2009

What a great little hideway ... not too far from downton Fredericksburg and all the Hill Country has to offer, but just far enough to feel like you are "away from it all"! It is obvious that the innkeepers, Sam and Becky Higgins, pay attention to even the slightest details for the comfort of their guests. Rooms and clean, clean, clean! And comfortable, comfortable, comfortable! Breakfasts are simply delicious ... big hearty breakfasts which will tide you over a full day of shopping, sightseeing or just enjoying a lazy day in the Hill Country. Must try Sam's buttermilk biscuits and homemade sausage on Sunday mornings. My group included 4 cousins from different parts of Texas who converged on the Chuckwagon Inn and took full advantage of the Texas-sized hospitality. We'll be back for more! Thanks, Sam and Becky! Judy Youngs


Wonderful place!

5 sur novembre 17, 2009

Cannot say enough about Sam and Becky and their wonderful Bed and Breakfast. The cabins were immaculate, roomy, and very comfortable. We loved Sam and Becky! The breakfasts were yummy and we had so much fun listening to their interesting stories. We will definitely go back many more times!


Absolutly the Best!

5 sur novembre 16, 2009

The room was cleaner than clean, the food was fabulous, and the hospitality was awesome! I will definitely come back. Sam and Becky were so warm and real.


A Perfect Get-Away!

4,0 sur novembre 11, 2009

luxury linens on superb mattress, custom decorating, warm hospitality; you feel like "company"--pampered, gourmet food, absolutely delicious! Seasonal decorations add to the festive atmosphere. Well-manicured grounds, bloooming flowers accent the landscape; and at night, a million stars in the sky!


We keep coming back

5 sur novembre 10, 2009

Sam and Becky are great innkeepers. The rooms and the property are always well maintained and the country breakfast keep you going all day long. Miss Becky attends to all the details and Sam is one of a kind. It is consistently good.


Great time

4,6 sur novembre 09, 2009

We had a great time at the Chuckwagon Inn. Becky and Sam were fantastic and made us B&B "newbies" feel at home. We enjoyed visiting with Sam and Becky and the other guests, and breakfast was fantastic. If Sam was talking, we were laughing, and Becky has a heart of gold.


You don't want to leace Chuckwagon Inn

5 sur novembre 04, 2009

This B&B is a place my hisband and I return to time after time because, beyond a doubt, it meets every expectation we have. They fix a breakfast that is so scrumptious you don;t need another meal until dinner. The laughter and fun we have here with the owners will contribute to our fond memories we will share forever.


Return review

5 sur novembre 03, 2009

The accommodations and service were excellent. The breakfast was amazing.


Wonderful getaway

5 sur novembre 03, 2009

What a wonderful, cozy getaway nestled in beauty. Our girls weekend has been a great joy and blessing. Thank you so much for your superb hospitality, great conversation & delicious breakfast, and the restaurant recommendations were just as great or even more than we expected.


Charm your boots off

5 sur novembre 03, 2009

Chuckwagon Inn maintains the charm & integrity of its original structure while still offering modern comforts. If you like southern home cooking, beautiful scenery, and gracious hosts who tell stories that will knock your boots off, this is the place for you.


Perfect Getaway

5 sur novembre 01, 2009

My parents gave this to us as a gift-along with babysitting-and I think it is the best gift ever! The weather was perfect; the Pear Tree cottage was incredible-loved the giant whirlpool tub!! Friday afternoon, we sat outside with the other guests and Sam in the "Cantina" and chatted away. The recommendations Sam gave us for dinner both nights were awesome. The breakfasts both mornings were delicious-the orange rolls were to die for!! We hit some wineries, did some shopping and got some much needed "couple" time. Thank you so much for your hospitality! We can't wait to come back.


Weekend in Fredricksburg

5 sur octobre 28, 2009

Wonderful! The Higgins are wonderful hosesses. Nice & friendly. The food was delicious. The rooms are cute and comfortable.


You MUST Stay Here at Least Once!

5 sur octobre 26, 2009

We have stayed at the Cuckwagon Inn twice (The Cabin & The Mustang). Both times were as close to perfect as you can get. The cottages are completely equiped for any need you might have. The beds are seriously the best beds I have ever slept in. Sam & Becky are excellent hosts & can cook a breakfast that rivals any 5-star resort. Paco the dog & Elton the cat make the atmosphere of the place even more like a home away from home. Can't wait to go back!


The Best

5 sur octobre 20, 2009

2nd time for us to stay here and as before it was great. Sam and Becky are the best hosts. The food is out of this world. Had a great time in the Cantina with Sam. We will be back.


A True Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 13, 2009

What a great experience! The lovely Pear Tree Cottage was so charming with a comfy bed, great whirlpool tub and fireplace. The home cooked breakfast was the best!


Chuckwagon Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $119 - $189
  • Avis (37) 4,8
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 8309902777

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut