Gateway Guesthouse Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté5,0
  • Repas5,0

Notation basée sur
30 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Overnight stay in Austin

4,6 sur juin 28, 2014

The location is wonderful, just off I-35 and near entertainment and restaurants. My husband and I stayed overnight in The Loft, and found the accommodations welcoming and comfortable. The bed had a Tempurpedic topper, assuring a good night's sleep. Beware the stairs leading to the lofted bed, they are a bit narrow, but if you're able bodied, they shouldn't present a problem. The proprietor was attentive, but not intrusive, and she made us the most wonderful breakfast, served on our private little patio outside our room. My husband and I would most certainly consider staying here the next time we visit Austin.

Réponse du propriétaire
We were very happy to have you here with us and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing a review. We hope to see you again soon!


The Best B&& Ever

5 sur avril 18, 2014

I came to unwind for a few days. From the moment I arrived I felt very welcome. Bess and Blaise are awesome and so attentive to my needs. One day I was relaxing by the pool and a glass of wine seem to magically appear at my side. It was perfect. I stayed in the master suite and I have never slept on a more comfortable bed. The breakfast each morning was a real treat. I'm usually not a breakfast person, but I could not wait to wake up each morning to see what Bess was preparing. The place is very clean. The 3 dogs that live there are the most friendly and well behaved dogs I have every seen. The location of the Gateway Guesthouse is within minutes of just about everything. I will definitely be back and can't wait to share my experience with my friends. Thank you Bess and Blaise for everything. Robin

Réponse du propriétaire
Hello Robin and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and celebrate your birthday. We are so glad you enjoyed our Inn, your room and Austin! Have a great year and we'll look forward to your birthday celebration again next year! B&B


Great everything!

4,8 sur avril 02, 2014

Exceptional breakfasts; warm, charming and friendly; grounds and pool well kept and relaxing; great having a private deck; and I can't forget 3 wonderful, friendly, well behaved dogs! Great location! Easy walk to SOCO, Rainey St. and if you don't mind a little longer distance it is walkable to downtown. We would highly recommend staying at the Gateway Guesthouse.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are exceptionally proud of our location and, well, we do love our dogs too! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you'll be back! All the best, B&B


Wonderful and relaxing experience!

5 sur janvier 20, 2014

Full disclosure, Blaise and Bess are friends. The entire purpose of our trip was to escape the MN winter, visit Austin for the first time, and to see our old friends. We stayed in the loft. It was a great space decorated with items they found on their trips over the years. I've never experienced such a comfortable bed. Blaise and Bess gave us great suggestions for food and drinks and set up reservations for us for a few nights. While it was a little colder than normal for Austin, it was glorious compared to MN and perfect for evenings in the spa. While the rooms, grounds, and the dogs make for a wonderful experience, breakfast a la Bess is truly AMAZING!! I was so lucky to enjoy it four mornings in a row. I can't wait to go back!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We were thrilled to have you stay with us and are very glad you enjoyed your time in Austin. We hope to see you again very soon. B&B


Loved Gateway Guesthouse

4,4 sur octobre 08, 2013

From Flattlands travel blog: www.marikaflatt.com/blog -- Like Lady Antebellum sings: “I don’t know why you don’t take me downtown, like you got anywhere better to be…” I had the pleasure of visiting Gateway Guesthouse, perched on a hill in the venerated Travis Heights neighborhood off East Riverside. This boutique B&B showcases a home built in 1919. Much of this historic home has been preserved but much has been modernized, too. Innkeepers Blaise & Bess have put some real heart and soul into this haven, like adding a pool with hot tub and adding freestanding suites out behind the main house. With three guestrooms on the second floor of the main house and three guest quarters out back, they often stay booked up on the weekends. I was able to see the Carriage House, which is a one-bedroom apartment-style space, with a kitchenette, small living room, bathroom and washer/dryer. This was ample space for two, crisp and clean and also boasted a private porch overlooking the pool. Speaking of the pool, the water feature provided a great afternoon backdrop, with the trickling of water; it was the perfect place to read a magazine while sipping on a glass of chardonnay. But, possibly the most impressive highlight of Gateway Guesthouse is Chef Bess’ delightful dishes. Former restaurateur, Chef Bess can whip up a breakfast to remember! We started out with a fresh fruit salad, followed by a puff pastry quiche with crispy potato hash browns. I can see what kept Chef Bess’ customers coming back to her restaurant (which was featured on “Diners, Drive ins & Dives”).


very enjoyable, will be back

4,4 sur mai 28, 2013

the bed was very comfortable, access and location were ideal. Food was creative and well above expectations. The pool and landscaping were a great plus as well as the parking. We will be back.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!


Great people, great location

5 sur mars 28, 2013

We stayed the weekend of March 23, 24 2013. The Inn is well maintained and friendly. Located in the South Central neighborhood, it is convenient ot great restaurants and clubs. A short drive to downtown. Breakfast was super.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind review and we'll hope to see you again very soon!


So Great!!!!!

5 sur mars 20, 2013

LOVED THIS PLACE! I could not ask for another great place to stay!

Réponse du propriétaire
What a wonderful thing to say. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again.


Best B & B Ever!

5 sur février 25, 2013

I have stayed in SEVERAL bed and breakfasts over the years and this is the best yet. Delicious food served in a creative setting. The hosts,Bess and Blaise,are welcoming, kind, and eager to please. We had our privacy when we wanted it and great companionship with the other guests when wanted. Our cottage guesthouse was just what we needed for the three of us. A warm welcome basket of nuts, chocolates, and special bottled water. Our beds were very comfortable. The Gateway B &B is within walking distance of great shopping and wonderful restaurants. If you are not into walking that much a cabby costs just six dollars. This is a classy B&B! We are already looking forward to going back next year to celebrate our birthday weekend at the Gateway Guesthouse in 2014!! Thanks to Bess and Blaise for the wonderful memories! See you next year! Deborah from Nashville, Tennessee

Réponse du propriétaire
Deborah, you and the ladies where a complete joy to have here with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway and we look forward to seeing you again very soon! B&B


Perfect spot for enjoying Austin

4,8 sur février 01, 2013

This is a beautiful house, beautifully decorated, with many thoughtful touches for the benefit of guests looking for a convenient, luxurious and relaxing place to stay in Austin. The mood is informal - you can be as social or as private as you want - but everything is done tastefully. The breakfasts are to die for! The innkeepers are friendly and accommodating, and if there is anything special you want, it can probably be handled - tourism information, special meals, "romance" packages, etc. I heartily recommend Gateway Guesthouse for your visit to Austin.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here. Blaise & Bess


A must stay while in Austin

4,8 sur novembre 20, 2012

Awesome, laid back, breatuful rooms, great breakfast, and professionally run. What more could you ask for?


Awesome food & great host!

5 sur octobre 30, 2012

The rooms are very clean, the food is amazing and the hostesses are so warm and friendly. They recommended a number of places to dine and see in Austin and we were pleased with every one of their suggestions.


Great experience, Great food.

5 sur septembre 25, 2012

This B&B was our first. We were skeptical and nervous, but the innkeepers welcomed us with open arms. These lady's have created a comfortable, enjoyable atmosphere. We occupied the master suite which was well worth the upgrade. You have a private bathroom with deco tile, a private porch, and great king size bed. The room is also equipped with cable tv, a small fridge( which they will stock upon request), and fabulous decor. And to save the best for last, breakfast was amazing. Definitely a must if you are staying in Austin, Texas. Whether its for a night or a few more, you won't want to leave. Very Satisfied Guest

Réponse du propriétaire
We love to have first time B&B-ers stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Blaise & Bess


Peace and comfort

4,8 sur septembre 18, 2012

Beautiful outdoor area, relaxing, cozy room, delicious food. A delightful place.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here with us. Blaise & Bess


Can't go wrong!

4,6 sur septembre 18, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights at the Gateway Guesthouse. Everything is wonderful! The food is divine. Mattress is heavenly! Hostesses are perfect. Rooms & grounds are beautifully done. We will definitely return & not hesitate to recommend GG to everyone & anyone we know travelling to Austin!


Cooking class

5 sur juillet 25, 2012

I took a class from Chef Bess that taught me how to treat and use my kitchen knives. I had NO IDEA that I needed this class as much as I did. I learned tons, had a fun time and would highly recommend spending time with the Chef. Thank you Gateway Girls!


Perfect birthday weekend

4,2 sur juillet 09, 2012

We celebrated the weekend away for my husband's birthday and it was perfect. Perfect location, great pool, and wonderful breakfasts. Bess and Blaise were extremley thoughtful.


Best EVER! Look no further.

5 sur juin 12, 2012

My wife and I mixed the celebration of our 10th anniversary with some business meetings over a week at Gateway. We can't recommend Gateway high enough, stop your search and reserve your stay, you'll be glad you did. Everything was outstanding, the room, of course the bed, and the food was beyond outstanding! Bess and Blaise made us feel so welcome, and did all they could to ensure our stay was perfect. THE FOOD! 5 Stars! The pride and care that Bess and Blaise take to find the finest ingredients and the exceptional preparation make every meal an event. We highly recommend planning more meals than breakfast, and if you like wine, try to arrange a tasting. Fresh, organic, local and chosen with care, I wish I'd taken more pictures and notes as Bess shared insights into each meal. Everything is from scratch and your taste buds will appreciate all the extra care. The location makes it easy to get anywhere in Austin and it still feels like you are away from the city as you lounge in the beautifully designed backyard oasis. Look no further, book it.


Awesome place to stay

5 sur mai 15, 2012

I would go back to the Gateway anytime! The service was fantastic, food to die for, and great room with lots of amenities.


You be glad you stayed here!

5 sur avril 18, 2012

I live in Austin and booked a stay at Gateway for my mother and her friend. They were so impressed with my "obvious" knowledge of the best and classiest places to stay in Austin! ;) The owner / innkeeper / chef team, Bess and Blaise, were so easy going and accommodating. The Inn itself is absolutely beautiful - very tastefully designed with a touch of class and yet easy, comfortable feel to it. Photos don't do it justice. My mother and friend felt so welcome and at home - as did my boyfriend and I when we visited and came for breakfast. Bess is a natural as a chef, making everything from scratch (even down to the sausage and breads). She has a true gift when it comes to blending flavors. The price was reasonable given the amazing service and facilities -- worth every penny. We could have spent more on the local holiday inn!! Location is great too - close to everything. My only complaint is that I don't get to stay there since I live down the street (and always travel with my dog, not sure if pets are allowed)! I'll be booking with them again when I have out of town guests.


Wow!

5 sur avril 04, 2012

The pictures on the web site can't do the place justice. Very friendly hosts, asking what they can do to make your stay perfect. The breakfast was amazing both mornings and they are happy to accommodate dietary requests. The back yard by the sparkling pool with a fountain and hot tub under majestic live oaks was a highlight. I enjoyed my coffee and paper in the cool Spring breeze after a run on the lake trails which are an easy walk. I relaxed with a beer dangling my feet in the cool water that afternoon. The rooms are clean and well appointed. I'll be back!


Great place, great people.

4,0 sur décembre 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Gateway Guesthouse for our 3rd anniversary. It was wonderful! We had seen a program on Bess's wonderful cooking and knew we needed to try it! We also loved the memory foam topper on our bed so much that we ordered one when we got home for our bed. Bess and Blaise were gracious hosts. Great place, great people. I would recommend staying at the Gateway Guesthouse to anyone!


Austin Getaway

5 sur novembre 08, 2011

Had a wonderful time. Hosts were great and and fun to hang out with. Accommodations were fantastic. Had the Flappers for Breakfast, WoW...... Will definitely return.


ACL weekend

4,8 sur septembre 19, 2011

The accommodations were absolutely wonderful. The beds were super comfy. The breakfast was A++. best gourmet breakfast I have had in years. The room was quiet, roomy and decorated nicely. Very modern with a nice home feel. The innkeepers were very warm, inviting and knowledgable. Will definitely go back. They thought of everything. The atmosphere was very serene and peaceful. The animals were so behaved, actually made me miss my own animals. Best BB I have ever been to. Best in Texas for sure. Bessie and Blaise are truly wonderful people and so down to earth. Can't wait for my next visit hopefully in jan


Austin Treasure

5 sur août 25, 2011

Lovely accommodations, delicious food, generous hospitality -- these ladies have created a gem and they share it! You must stay with Bess & Blaise every time you visit Austin.


Sets the standard for Amazing Service and Comfort

5 sur août 19, 2011

While staying in Austin on business for weeks on end, I decided to leave the overpriced downtown high rise hotels and hotel hop. I needed a little adventure in my work life. The Gateway Guest House found me, I don’t even recall how I came across it; but, happy I did. My first stay was in the carriage house, second in the loft. Important to me: cleanliness, soft linens, comfy bed, and real food. This place sets the standard for all three and more. I loved Bess’s absolutely unbelievable breakfast, and haven’t even had the flappers yet. I will be back. I brought my friend on my second stay, I think she stayed more than a week. Blaise and Bess are oustanding hosts. The dogs are precious and very well behaved .


Excellent food and great people!

4,8 sur août 14, 2011

My husband and I visited Gateway Guesthouse in May, 2011 and returned in August. I saw Bess on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives and HAD to have the flappers!!! I was estatic to learn she was now in Austin. I got married in April and decided that we would have a mini-moon in Austin at Bess' B&B. What a great experience. Bess, and her partner, Blaise, are amazing. They are wonderful, down-to-earth people who truly love what they do! My husband's birthday is in August so I set up a cooking day with Bess last weekend - he had a blast! Bess and Blaise went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect for the weekend. You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Gateway Guesthouse! We have made Austin our little getaway (from Dallas) and hope to visit at least once a quarter. We will stay at the Gateway from now on!


the perfect mix of home comforts and hotel service

5 sur mars 21, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Gateway during SXSW and by the end of my stay, I didn't want to leave! It was within walking distance from town and served as a relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of the conference. I stayed in the Studio which could have easily been a suite in a NYC boutique hotel, my friend stayed in the Loft which had an entirely different but equally as nice decor. They spared no expense making the rooms extremely comfortable - the tempurpedic mattress was the best part after a long day at the convention center and night out on 6th street. Blaise really did a superb job decorating the rooms and Bess surprised and delighted everyone with her delicious breakfasts each morning. They both made you feel at home but always politely reminded me I didn't have to bring the dishes back to the kitchen and they'd clean my room -- it was the perfect mix of home comforts and hotel service! I will definitely be back next year and will recommend the Gateway to anyone I know traveling to Austin. 5 stars on all fronts.


GATEWAY HOUSE REVIEW 02-06-11

5 sur février 06, 2011

What a wonderful experience. From our arrival to departure we felt like we were visiting best friends. Blaze and Bess take customer service and hospitality to a whole new level. The rooms are superbly decorated and the food. OMG, the food: To die for breakfast with blue cheese scones, homemade yeast pancakes with an apple walnut, maple brown sugar; I want to live here forever topping. Before we came out I had mentioned that I would love to try Bess's homemade meatloaf. Bess had explained that she would love to make the meatloaf but they had a scheduled benefit supper on the day of our arrival and she would not have the time to prepare a lunch on our arrival date. When we were leaving paradise to return home Bess said I have a package for you to take. Bess had stayed up after the benefit engagement and made meatloaf sandwiches for our trip back. They were incredible. I can't thank Bess and Blaze enough for the wonderful memory and great food.


Gateway Guesthouse is Wonderful

4,8 sur octobre 14, 2010

Great place. Beautiful, comfortable and the decorations are perfect for the home. The food was fabulous!


Gateway Guesthouse

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $225 - $345
  • Avis (30) 4,8
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5123262646

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut