Penny Walk Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,9
  • Propreté5,0
  • Repas4,9

Notation basée sur
32 Avis

Ecrire un avis

getaway in Pennywalk

5 sur octobre 12, 2012

I enjoyed staying at Penny Walk tremendously. I'd stay there again.


Wonderful Stay at Penny Walk Bed and Breakfast

5 sur juillet 22, 2012

Mary Alice and Bill were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed conversing with them. The house and the room were very clean, nicely and comfortably decorated and furnished. The secluded aetting, including a woods and the landscaping are outstanding. Breakfast of fresh fruit, quiche loraine and blueberry muffins was delicious. Mary Alice asked us when we would like to eat in the morning. We had dinner at a restaurant at the marina on Lake Douglas, which they recommended. We highly recommend the Penny Walk.


Best experience in a long time

5 sur juin 02, 2012

Mary Alice and Bill were wonderful. I felt like I was visiting family. The experience at Penny Walk was unforgettable. I will definitely go back.


Wonderful

5 sur mai 21, 2012

Penny Walk was just delightful. The setting was without a doubt a bonus, so tranquill and relaxing. True southern hospitality, complete with warm chocolate chip cookies waiting for us upon our return from dinner. We look forward to our next visit to Penny Walk Bed and Breakfast.


Couldn't be nicer!

5 sur mai 02, 2012

This B&B is tucked away in a private setting, yet is close to Douglas Lake, Dandridge TN, Knoxville and a short ride from Asheville NC. It is a new home, beautifully finished and the rooms are tastefully and thoughtfully appointed. The hosts, Bill and Mary Alice are very friendly and you will enjoy the delicious breakfast of Swedish pancakes, bacon, egg and fruit cup. We have stayed here twice and each time was very relaxing and fun. Will visit again soon.


Worth your pennies

3,8 sur février 12, 2012

Nice place, nice owners, relaxing, good breakfast, fair price.


Highly Recommend

5 sur novembre 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at Penny Walk, and were blown away at how amazing it was. Mary Alice and Bill are amazing people, very kind hearted and hospitable. The house is very clean, rooms are awesome, and the Mary Alice's breakfast is note worthy. We highly recommend anyone staying here, and we plan on visiting again very soon.


Penny Walk B and B review

4,0 sur novembre 06, 2011

A truly lovely place but a bit difficult to find even with a GPS. Gracious host and hostess and wonderful breakfast and super clean room and bath. I would certainly go back the next time I am in the area.


Very Nice!

5 sur septembre 13, 2011

Beautiful home and surrounding grounds, and extremely clean. Breakfast was excellent! Wish we could have spent more time and used the exercise room and movie room. And ... the chocolate chip cookies were wonderful!


Lovely retreat from tourist hotspots

4,8 sur août 24, 2011

A lovely, and good-value, place to stay away from the traffic of the Gatlinburg area. You do feel very much in someone's home, but while that isn't usually the kind of place we stay, we enjoyed being in the beautiful house, and the hospitality is wonderfully warm. It's probably worth spending a little more to stay in the larger of the two rooms, but we found the smaller one much more than adequate for our one-night stay. Breakfast on the porch and the pancakes with lingonberry sauce made for a delightful send-off. Incidentally, while this may not be an area for fine dining the available options actually seem quite good as long as you order judiciously (i.e., play to the kitchen's strengths).


Great Secluded Woodsy Getaway!

5 sur août 14, 2011

Located at the foot of the Smokey Mts off of a beautiful lake. Very well appointed rooms and hosts were very accomodating. Even made us breakfast to go since we had to leave at 5am. 2 great outdoor porches, landscaped fountain in back, fitness center better than hotels and awesome theater room. Stayed in the Beech suite which has an extra day bed in it in a separate area. There are nice restaurants close by and a historic downtown area. Close to all of the Smokey Mt attractions. Set off of road up on a hill, very quiet and secluded. Romantic walking paths.


Two days in Paradise!

5 sur juillet 20, 2011

We only wished we had booked our stay for a longer visit. We will know better next time. Absolutely top notch facilities and Bill and Mary Alice were perfect hosts. The best bed we have ever slept on, outstanding breakfast, and a beautiful country setting. Every detail that would contribute to your comfort was seen to. All that and being pet friendly allowed us to have Luke(our corgi) travel with us. We have stayed in many lodgings over many years and this was the best.


Awesome!!!

5 sur juillet 16, 2011

Mary and Bill are personable. The rooms are lovely. The gardens beautiful, and most of all the breakfast of pancakes (more like crepes) with loganberry sauce, ham and eggs and coffee and juice was the best. The town of Dandrige is very quaint. It is only a couple of miles from the Inn. We stopped at the farmers market there and bought a peach pie to take to the reunion we were attending. The views surrounding the area are beautiful with low rolling hills and lakes.


Wonderful facility, even better breakfast!

4,8 sur juillet 08, 2011

My husband and I don't ordinarily stay in bed and breakfast places unless they are large; he prefers some anonymity. But, other reviewers noted that the Penny Walk B & B in Dandridge is large enough to feel at home without being in the way of others, and that is an apt description. There are grounds for walking, a basement exercise room and home theatre, and a deck. We chose the ground-level room, which was convenient for bringing in bags. The proprietors could not have been more cordial and helpful, with everything from toiletries to directions. And, the breakfast was simply amazing. Really. Dandridge is a charming little town, right beside a large lake, just far enough away from the tourist traps of Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, etc. I could not have asked for a better start to my vacation.


Dog friendly? Yes. People friendly? Absolutely!

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2011

Wonderful stay, even if was only one night. Bill and Mary Alice are excellent, caring hosts.


Pennywalk Bed & Breakfast

5 sur juin 30, 2011

Very enjoyable stay. After diner, it was peaceful to set outside with no distractions. Bill and Mary are wonderful people. The room had a cozy feel. I would recommend to anyone


What a great place to stay!

5 sur juin 22, 2011

Mary Alice and Bill are some of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet and their home is absolutely beautiful. Mary Alice is a first rate cook as well. My wife and I had a great weekend getting to know you both and should we ever make it back to Dandridge, we will definitely look you up! I would encourage anyone staying in this area to book a room at Penny Walk.


Wonderful little hide away

5 sur avril 27, 2011

A little family get away visit was made even more special by staying at Penny Walk. Mary Alice shopped for special diet items for my brother. He was really impressed and appreciative. The rooms where so comfortable and clean and the gourmet breakfasts where amazing. Tucked away in a wooded Glenn yet very conveniently located.


Best Bed and Breakfast ever !

5 sur octobre 03, 2010

The Innkeepers are so friendly and helpful. It is a new house, the rooms are very clean and breakfast delicious. Our best Bed and Breakfast ever !


Overall fantastic

5 sur août 23, 2010

Amazing! There's no other way to put it other then that. From the moment I stepped in the door I felt like I was home. Bill and Mary Alice were very welcoming and I felt immediately comfortable. Every morning I awoke to wonderful smells wafting through the house. It's a must to try the Swedish pancakes! There are also so many local places to visit for all ages. I was able to enjoy a Gondola ride up one of the mountains and then luge down. There was also amazing Ziplining nearby. Overall...a must. Thank you to my hosts.


A great get-away!

5 sur août 05, 2010

Penny Walk is a beautiful place to stay and the food is great. Bill and Mary Alice are terrific hosts. Penny Walk is convenient to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains as well as Knoxville and there is great shopping close by in Pigeon Forge. The photos do not really do justice to this B&B - each room is tastefully decorated and warm. We will definitely return again and again!


Wounderful retreat

4,6 sur juillet 25, 2010

Enjoyed stay, beautiful views, great soaking tub, just one day recharged our batteries.


Very Comfortable

5 sur mai 17, 2010

The pictures do not do this place justice. It is much nicer than the pictures reveal. Bill and Mary Alice are very accomodating and helpful. The breakfasts' were terrific and filling. The Beech Room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. I would stay there again.


Southern Living, Southern Hospitality

5 sur novembre 08, 2009

Penny Walk should be featured in Southern Living Magazine! We were looking for a quiet getaway close to the Smokies and found this beautiful bed and breakfast that just fit the bill. This immaculate home has many, many unique touches that show that its owners really care about making their guests feel special. Our inkeepers, Mary Alice and Bill could not have been better hosts. They were very friendly and made themselves available to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Our breakfasts and snacks were delicious. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and Penny Walk ranks at the top of our list. The Masons


Penny Walk Bed and Breakfast

5 sur novembre 03, 2009

Very nice -- great breakfast, clean, nice owner.


Tender Loving Care

5 sur août 25, 2009

We were in the area to move our daughter into nearby Carson Newman College. Mary Alice and Bill were the consummate hosts as they tenderly cared for our family during this transition. We have stayed at many B&B, and Penny Walk is one of our favorites. We will be back to visit our new friends and their lovely B&B many times in the future. Thank you Mary Alice and Bill!


Incredible

5 sur août 20, 2009

Best B&B I have ever stayed at. Incredible hosts, room, and food.


Just Do It! Here!

5 sur juillet 01, 2009

What an absolutely wonderful interlude. We had picked this area in order to take a hot air balloon ride (I recommend doing that, also) and found PennyWalk by surfing on-line. The reviews looked good, but I'm a sceptic - figured I could at least tolerate it. I was blown away by the actual experience. Bill and Mary Alice are two of the nicest people you'll ever meet. I felt more comfortable in their B&B than I probably would have at my sister's house in Maine. Wonderful accomodations. Wonderful breakfast. Wonderful conversation. Not really enough superlatives to describe how, no matter what we wanted, it had been anticipated and was already done. In a most wonderful manner. You can find more expensive B&Bs, but you would be very hard pressed to find a better one. This was the best I have experienced.


Penny Walk worth your pennies

5 sur juin 07, 2009

I've stayed at Penny Walk twice now. Once in 2007 and again in 2008. Both visits were fantastic and I plan to stay again next trip from Chicago to North Carolina. It took me 10 or so hours and seemed the perfect stopping point. I only stayed one night so I can't review the local attractions. I stayed in the Beech room which had a great view. It was quiet. I never heard anyone and I'm a light sleeper. The bed was heavenly. I sunk into it (I think there might be down bedding). Everything was tastefully decorated and very, very clean. Nice little touches too like bottled water in the room, toiletries, mints, etc. My room also had TV, VCR, etc in case I didn't feel sociable. But, since I was by myself, I did feel sociable. And the hostess', Bill and Mary Alice were sociable too. It was great to chat with them over coffee. They were careful to make sure I had everything I needed and even lent me a tarp to cover my trailer during some hard rain. I spent most of my time there in the common areas of the kitchen, family room, porches etc. There are several porches from which to choose. I found all of them to be comfortable. It even had a fan to keep the air moving on an early summer night. Because there so many different floors and common rooms, couples and groups can stay without encroaching on each other. They have a recreation area but I didn't try it out. Too busy chatting over coffee. The grounds are beautiful. On the road in, I saw a couple of wild turkeys. The house is set back far from the road in a mostly wooded area so the surroundings are quiet and serene. They just built a fire pit but we didn't try it out. They also have a waterfall stocked with decorative fish (don't remember the kind of fish) and lillypads. I love the sound of babbling water in the evening. I highly recommend Penny Walk.


A Wonderful Two Nights

5 sur juin 03, 2009

Can't say enough nice things about this B&B. Mary Alice and Bill saw to our every need. They did not seclude themsleves but interacted with us as if we had known each other previously and we were guests in their private home, like family members would be. There were little surprises; snacks laid out by our rooms in the evening, hot coffee on a tray with cups, etc. near our rooms in the morning. We also enjoyed the extras that we've never found at a B&B before; the exercise room and the movie theater complete with popcorn. Eating a wonderful breakfast on a screened in porch started each day off in a refreshing relaxed way. We will definitely try to make future "get aways" in this area so we can stay at the Penny Walk B&B again!


Just Perfect!

5 sur avril 23, 2009

We had a wonderful experience at Penny Walk B&B! The house is beautiful! Bill & Mary Alice are so kind and made us feel so comfortable at their place. The breakfast was amazing and we loved being out in the peaceful location. I highly recommend Penny Walk!


Pleasant, Warm, Friendly Atmosphere

5 sur avril 17, 2009

What a find...it was a amazing experience. Our room (redbud) decorated in soft Asian Blues & greens was absolutely beautiful. Bill & Mary Alice treated us as if we were best friends returning back home. A added touch was the chocolate chip cookies and chocolate dipped strawberries in the evening. We Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much! We enjoyed your stay, look forward to the next time! Enjoy the summer, Mary Alice and Bill


Penny Walk Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $125
  • Avis (32) 4,9
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8653976910
Haut