Katy House Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
217 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A great place to hang your hat!

4,4 sur septembre 15, 2014

Bruce and Sally are personable, knowledgeable and engaging. They create a delicious breakfast and eat with you and other guests. The conversation is engaging and enjoyable. In short, they are salt of the earth folks who are really good at what they do. We will be back!


Great experience

4,8 sur août 29, 2014

It was our first time to stay at a B&B. The Blalock's were outstanding hosts. They made us feel welcomed and right at home. Breakfast was really a delicious treat. We enjoyed our stay and our visits with the Blalock's and the other guests. We would highly recommend a stay at the Katy House B&B.


A Great Get-a-way!

5 sur août 09, 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 lovely days in Smithville, TX at Bruce and Sallie Blalock's wonderful Bed and Breakfast. They are terrific hosts and the delicious breakfasts are outstanding. We also enjoyed all the railroad memorabilia and great conversations over breakfast. We highly recommend this wonderful place and hope to go again soon.


Bluebonnet Room Wknd

3,6 sur mai 19, 2014

Sallie met us upon our arrival, wonderful host! Chocolate chip cookies were baking, the smell of fresh baked bread permeated the house, very inviting. She took the time to tell us where everything was and escorted us to our Bluebonnet room making us feel very welcomed. Room was comfortable & cool (window unit/ceiling fan). Sallie was kind enough to make us reservations at the local "hot" spot on Main St. for dinner; even gave us a heads up about a group of diners that were getting there ahead of us, to get our order in prior to their arrival! More than enough for breakfast, great conversations & don't miss an evening sitting & swinging or rocking in the chairs on the front porch listening to the trains and enjoying a breeze! Thanks Sallie & Bruce for an enjoyable stay...


Wonderful Mother's Day

5 sur mai 14, 2014

Did this as a surprise for my mom flying in from LA. I have to say, Sallie is very knowledgeable and helpful with providing the history of the town and a delicious spot to have a nice dinner! The breakfast, company and conversation was fantastic and we felt part of the family with how friendly everyone was. Will definitely have to go back. YAY!


Better than Marriott's Austin Courtyard South

4,6 sur mai 06, 2014

The value is much better than Marriott's Austin Courtyard South. I wish my red eye flight had allowed me to stay for Breakfast, but I had to leave at 2:a.m. so I expected to not eat, so can't really rate it. The German Chocolate cake was good. Very Southern Hospitality. Ceiling fans and air conditioner were great for hot flashes. and mini fridge was very helpful. Bruce was very knowlegeable about house history.


We loved the Katy House B&B

5 sur avril 24, 2014

Sallie and Bruce are stellar...had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much.


Charming House, Charming Hosts

4,4 sur avril 22, 2014

Excellent hospitality. Convenient location in walking distance of downtown Smithville. French toast and jalapeno cheese grits were breakfast high points. Bruce and Sallie are warm and friendly. Getting to know them was the best part of our weekend.


A very special experience!

5 sur avril 02, 2014

We recently stayed at the Katy House B & B and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms are delightful and Sallie & Bruce most hospitable. We had friends visiting from Missouri and it was a real treat for them to see the wildflowers in the area and to stay in the Bluebonnet room with the gorgeous hand-painted tub.


Wonderful hosts, beautiful house

4,4 sur mars 24, 2014

The house is gorgeous, warm and welcoming. The hosts, Sallie and Bruce are incredibly charming and fun. I will be back for another stay!


Incredibly impressed with my first B&B stay!

4,8 sur février 20, 2014

Bruce and Sallie are incredible hosts, and seem to be incredible people. I stayed in the Katy Tower and it was very well decorated. My stay was in mid-February, and the first night I stayed, it did get a little cool at night. It took me until my second night to figure out exactly how to work the two heaters. The whirlpool tub was great, and utilized both days! The only problem is that the clip to hang the shower head was broken, so showering was a bit of a task. Breakfast in the main house is absolutely NOT to be missed. Sallie and Bruce are incredible cooks. The egg bake was delightful, and the homemade bread which became toast was out of this world. There are usually two jam selections and I thoroughly enjoyed the Fredericksburg peach variety. The french toast was also amazing. The conversation during this family style breakfast is a great way to get to know the other guests, Sallie and Bruce, and a generally great start to your day!


Delicious Breakfast only surpassed by Hospitality

4,8 sur janvier 09, 2014

We stayed with a family of four (two adults and two teens) in the Conductor's Quarters. We returned to this B&B based on an excellent experience during a previous stay. I was pleased that the layout of this room replaced a wee table in the kitchenette with a twin bed because that meant more (sleeping) room for all and was a better utilization of the space for our family. The breakfast selection, quality, and quantity was as awesome as we remembered - juice, homemade grilled toast, filling and tasty egg dishes, top-quality bacon, etc. And to top their hospitality from last year, the hosts invited my parents who live in the area to join us for breakfast one morning; my parents were super-impressed. We'll be back.


Bed and breakfast with a smile

5 sur novembre 20, 2013

I can't think of anything that would improve Katy House. I just wish we'd been staying more than one night. Sallie and Bruce were attentive and good company at breakfast. And what a beautiful home they have. What more can you ask for?


Great place to stay in Smithville!

4,0 sur septembre 30, 2013

The inn is very nice and roomy. Breakfast was truly superb. Check in and out was easy. Not noisy, and very very clean. We found the room to be a little warmer than we liked but we cranked down the A/C and it was fine later.


A perfect stay.

5 sur septembre 20, 2013

I was here for business in Smithville and was very pleased with my stay at the Katy House. Bruce and Sallie are super people and the breakfast was great! Great rooms, the house just is full of character and history. A wonderful stay!


I luv Sallie and Bruce!

5 sur septembre 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay so very much. Sallie and Bruce were great hosts and people. I am glad i had a chance to meet and talk with them as well as the other guests. I learned a lot! My dogs were also welcome and tolerated:) I will be going back on those weekends I have nothing to do and just want peace and great company.


Felt at home

3,6 sur septembre 04, 2013

Convient location. Enjoyed visiting with owners and other guest. Food was special. Owners had great recommendations for local dining and shopping. Enjoyed learning about the Katy RR and history of Smithville.


Great Location, Great Breakfast, Great Company

5 sur août 31, 2013

My husband and I were in town for the Smithville HS football game and chose this lovely home to stay in. Our hosts were delightful and our room was comfortable and charming. Breakfast was outstanding, I asked for the recipe for their egg bake and the house blend coffee had me breaking my one cup limit. We will totally be back next time we head to Smithville.


Charming...

5 sur août 13, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time staying at the Katy House! Sallie and Bruce are an amazing couple to have as host and hostess. We felt at home right away! It is a beautiful home and we are grateful to have experienced it. We loved visiting Smithville and the surrounding area. It was very relaxing...just what we needed!!! We will absolutely be back!!! :) Thanks, Sallie and Bruce!!!


Friendliest hosts ever!

5 sur juillet 19, 2013

Sallie and Bruce at the Katy House were our hosts during a film shoot for "Red Winds". They are the best hosts ever. The rooms are all unique and well considered. Also, having a casual, delicious, home-cooked breakfast and engaging conversation in the morning was a superb treat.


Great Texas Hospitality B&B

5 sur mai 23, 2013

The most Hospitable B&B we have visited.


Don't miss this great B&B in an old Railroad Town in Texas.

4,8 sur mai 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Katy House - named after the Missouri, Kansas, Texas railroad lines shortened to K-T when referring to this Texas part and then to the well known Katy line. Temporary home to several movie stars when filming in Smithville for movies such as Hope Floats, Doonby and Under the Western Sky, Artois the Goat and several more, it's a small enough town to walk about to the antique shops, restaurants, art galleries. A warm welcome, great food and relaxing stay!


Illinois visitors

4,8 sur avril 21, 2013

Only complaint we had was the TV was to small. Everything else was great!!!


Very happy with the experience

4,8 sur avril 16, 2013

The Katy House Bed and Breakfast is a charming grand historic house in the heart of old Smithville. The breakfast was wonderful and the hospitality of the owners was second to none. We stayed there to do a bicycle race and the owners were quite accommodating in letting us ship our bikes to their B&B ahead of time, and were just generally all-around friendly. Bruce is a talker and will happily tell you all about Smithville's film history, and anything you ever wanted to know about trains. Oh, and on the topic of trains, you should know that the Katy House Bed and Breakfast is a stone's throw from the town's train tracks, so you'll definitely hear a few of them rumbling past and blowing their horns in the middle of the night. It didn't bother me as it went with the inn's train motif, and I can usually fall asleep again, but if you're a light sleeper and have a hard time falling back asleep again, bring earplugs.


Enjoyed my stay

4,0 sur mars 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Katy House. Sallie and Bruce are great conversationalists and I enjoyed our morning meals and the time we spent talking. Smithville is a cute little town to explore and I felt very safe walking the streets alone there. I went to relax and do a little antique shopping. I got plenty of both and felt very well rested when I left. I would recommend staying at the Katy House if you are ever in the area.


Anniversary Get-away

4,6 sur mars 18, 2013

This two night stay was delightful! The house was beautiful! The Katy Tower was a delight. We enjoyed it and will return. The town was quaint. Thanks for a relaxing time. We needed the refreshment!


Very friendly owners and quaint old house.

5 sur mars 08, 2013

Good food, pleasant people and generally very nice.


Always A Pleasure

5 sur mars 05, 2013

This is our third stay at Katy House. The rooms are always extremely clean. The atmosphere is comfy and "small" town cozy. Breakfast is both delicious and entertaining. Doug and Sallie are down to earth hostess who make your stay enjoyable. We will definitely go back again!


Always a pleasure

5 sur janvier 29, 2013

My husband and I had been so pleased to stay at the Katy House several times. Each time has been a delight. Sallie and Bruce make you feel right at home and are so gracious. The house with all the Katy railroad memories make it even more special. Of course, as my husband is a KATY railroad lover as well makes it just about perfect. However, you don't need to be a railfan to enjoy a great B & B experience. BRN


Great stay. Fantastic breakfast!

5 sur décembre 05, 2012

Room was clean and spacious. Folks were friendly. Food was great. What more could you want?


What a great place to stay!

5 sur octobre 09, 2012

Katy House is a wonderful place to stay! Sally and Bruce are such interesting conversationlists and wonderful hosts offering genuine hospitality. The breakfasts are delicious and the tea selection is never ending for those hot tea drinkers. We have stayed in quite a few B & B's and Katy House is definitely at the top of the list!


A "Just Right" Getaway

5 sur octobre 07, 2012

Quaint B&B with great hospitality. Breakfast was wonderfully delicious. Owner, Sallie & Bruce, were very receptive and caring to our needs. We'll be back. Thanks. Chris & Karen


Katy house B&B

5 sur septembre 26, 2012

I stayed at this Bed & Breakfast was a great experince. Sallie and Bruce are wonderful people they make you feel at home just like you are a part ot he family. The breakfast was number one the bake eggs, pepper bacon, grill toast was great. I would stay there if in the area again.


Perfectly quaint

4,8 sur août 27, 2012

Exactly what you would expect from a wonderful small town b&b. Amazing food. My husband would go back just for a bowl of the jalapeno cheese grits!


Girl's Weekend

4,4 sur août 22, 2012

Perfect place to have a Girl's Weekend. A great small town that we walked all over the town to viisit sites were movies were filmed locally. The Katy B&B was perfect starting point from being a block away from Main Street and the local shops. Our hosts - Sally and Bruce were the best and gave us wonderful suggestions in dining and local have to see tips. You have to have the breakfast as the toast is from Sally's homemade bread! We had a wonderful time!


Refreshing & fun B & B experience

5 sur août 08, 2012

What a lovely warm hospitable atmosphere the Katy House offers , thanks to Bruce & Sallie. A rich part of local history that every traveler would truely appreciate. Thanks for directing us to just the right Steakhouse as well. What a refreshing time! We'll be back for sure.


Last-minute getaway

4,6 sur août 07, 2012

Enjoyed a relaxing stay for a last-minute anniversary weekend. The hosts were wonderful and since it is pet-friendly, we were able to have our dog with us and be comfortable knowing she was as welcome as we were. Sallie and Bruce were very helpful with recommendations on restaurants and activities, and we were not disappointed.


5 Star Review

5 sur juin 26, 2012

Katy House accommodations are beyond belief only to be topped by Sallie and Bruce hospitality. If I could give a 6th star I would!


Awesome Anniversary Celebration

5 sur juin 14, 2012

Katy House was a wonderful experience. Everything was clean & comfortable, the dogs were sweet, the jalepeno grits were amazing & the chocolate chip cookies were delicious. Will definately be returning to visit Sally & Bruce. -Beth & Bob


Cozy and Delightful B&B

5 sur mai 23, 2012

Bruce and Sallie Blalock made our weekend in Smithville special! They regaled us with stories about Smithville and the movie industry as well as the hard times during the Bastrop fires. The breakfast is reason alone to stay there. I don't usually eat breakfast, but I found myself asking for seconds both mornings. We have already recommended Katy House to several people and we hope to be back before the end of the year.


Katy House - down home feel with first class service

5 sur mai 02, 2012

I just enjoyed a wonderful weekend staying at the Katy House in Smithville TX. The inn-keepers are just amazing people. I could go back just for the charm of visiting with everyone over a breakfast. Definitely want to go back for another stay!


Wonderful place and people

5 sur avril 23, 2012

Everything was wonderful, esp. the balcony attached to the Texas Special. We enjoyed our stay very much.


Wonderful Weekend

4,8 sur avril 17, 2012

A couple of friends and I stayed at Katy House on a girls weekend outing. Sallie and Bruce were wonderful host, the Katy House breakfast was the best I have ever had at a bed & breakfast and the little town of Smithville was not only beautiful but the people there were very friendly. We can't wait to return. I especially look forward to hearing more of Sallie's movie stories as the town continues to be the setting for many more films.


Riding the katy

5 sur avril 09, 2012

Always a great experience. Sallie and Bruce are the best hosts. The breakfast is sumptuous and a fun gathering.


Overnight in SMithville

4,0 sur février 28, 2012

It was a pleasant place to stay overnight and if we'd had the time a second night as well. We stayed in a guest house and had our dog with us. It was perfect for that traveling combination because we didn't have to worry about our dog bothering any of the other guests. He had run of a fenced yard and could play with the owners dogs, too. While we expected a very quiet small town evening, there was a club of some sort two blocks down that continued its wild evening until after 1AM when patrons apparently continued their parties in the streets below us. Soon afterwards, some cats had a thirty minute cat fight in the flowerbeds. Once I'd finally fallen asleep again, a train blew through town around 4AM and I awoke when the whistle sounded as if it was outside our door. I realize I could have inserted earplugs to stymy the intrusions, but I found some odd humor and comfort in these occurences and this first visit to a town that authentically maintains its status of lifestyle in the 1950's. Breakfast was lovely--meeting the other guessts--a lively weekend group, and our hosts who took care of our gluten free diet with aplomb. We'll definitely return.


Wonderful place to getaway

4,4 sur janvier 30, 2012

We had an absolute wonderful time at the Katy House. The owners couldn't have been nicer. It was an all-around excellent time.


Good Ole Getaway

5 sur janvier 17, 2012

I decided to take my mom on a mini girls old fashioned slumber party and decided since Smithville was a good meeting place between Austin (where she lives) and Houston (where I live,) that I'd start from there. Neither of us had ever been to Smithville NOR a Bed & Breakfast. And WOW were we amazed with the hospitality of Sallie & Bruce (and their two sweet Corgies!) From the second of our arrival to our departure, we were 100% pleased with the courteous service that they offered. Sallie gave us directions to several local restaurants for lunch and dinner and even some local shopping which was splendid! Our breakfast was 100% sensational....HOMEMADE toast, egg casserole, peppered bacon all the way from Waco, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, orange juice....heaven galore! We will be back....no question!


Great stay!

5 sur janvier 04, 2012

Cozy, spotless bedroom/bath. Fantastc breakfasts. Gracious hosts.


holiday slowdown

4,8 sur décembre 20, 2011

I just stayed one night but it was a great experience! The clock ticked with the dogs at our feel as we drank wine and worked a christmas puzzle in the living room. Chocolate chip cookies were always available. breakfast was simple and delicious. We lingered over breakfast and it was so nice to just slow down a bit in the hectic holiday season! Wonderful hosts!


Texas Special (room), not so perfect

4,0 sur décembre 16, 2011

We stayed at the Katy House expectations of a quiet night in a Texas country town. I was told we would have one of the quietest rooms, however they neglected to tell me about the number of trains that rolled through town a few blocks away with horns blaring. The place could us some intensive cleaning. Drapes in the bath were quite dirty looking, grout in the white tile floor in a similar state. The pillows were some of the hardest I have slept on in 20 years. The porch off our room overlooking the street was nice, but I could not close the door entirely. They should remove the large wasp nest from the ceiling of the porch, this would only take a few minutes. The communal breakfast was very good, not great, and the hosts are very nice. They just need to apply as much effort to maintenance as they do to breakfast. Also note that breakfast is at 9 a.m. No coffee making equipment in the bedroom and none available until 8 a.m. downstairs. If you are an early riser, this is not the place for you either.


Ralaxing and fun

4,0 sur décembre 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at the Katy House. We felt right at home. Loved the breakfast time talking with the other guests and enjoying a home cooked meal.


Best Little Secret in Texas

5 sur décembre 07, 2011

From the first phone call to the goodbye's after a hearty, home-cooked Texas breakfast, the service and hospitality could only be described as family-friendly and superb. Sallie and Bruce are seasoned hosts and inn keepers who are down to earth and eager to please. Conversation over breakfast for almost 2 hours with hosts and guests was like old times at home. Our Conductors Quarters were bigger than expected, very clean, comfortable, warm and dry on the cold, wet winter days we were there. The railroad memorabilia are second to none and make this place a mini museum. Tasteful and quaint. AND...we were able to bring our Cocker Spaniel (our grand-doghter!-hahaha) who loved it and got along great with Buddy and Carter, the two Corgy dogs who hosted her stay ! If you have not seen the movie "Hope Floats" with Sandra Bullock and Harry Connick Jr, filmed in Smithville, it is in the room and a wonderful watch in the evening. And don't forget to read and post in the the room journal book that dated back to 2001 when we were there. Smithville is a quiet, small town with lots of history and antique shops. A 24 hr. "Oh Thank Heaven for Seven Eleven" just in case you need something. Don't look for restaurants or fancy stuff because there is only one great restaurant and open only Thurs-Saturday, usually, as are most of the retail businesses downtown. Overall, we will be back to Katy House and to visit the quaint little town around the corner. This B&B definitely surpassed my expectations and we travel frequently, with Gold-crown RCI, Wyndham, and II timeshares and high expectations. Don't miss this one. Blessings, David.


First time at a B&B

4,2 sur novembre 21, 2011

My husband and I were bought this bed and breakfast by my mother. IT was our first time to stay at one. It was very inviting, homey, and comfortable. The dogs were so sweet when entering the door. The owners were very friendly. I slept very well on the beds and enjoyed a nice bath in the clawfooted tub. It was a lot of fun. I thought it was neat that there were two houses and a caboose in the backyard! Breakfast was served at 8:00 and the food was delicious. The bread was the BEST! Everyone that was staying there seemed to be so relaxed and happy. Everyone was friendly . We would stay here again!


Wonderful Experience

5 sur novembre 16, 2011

Having never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, we were not sure what to expect. We had a marvelous time and the Blalocks made us feel so welcomed. Our room was spacious and quiet. We loved all the antiques especially the clawfoot bathtub. Our breakfast each morning was delicious and unique. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting with the other guests at breakfast too. A wonderful way to start each day. We highly recommend the Katy House in Smithville, TX if you are looking for the ambiance of a small town and the comforts of home.


Lovely weekend getaway

4,0 sur novembre 14, 2011

Lovely old home in charming small town. Rooms was clean, comfortable, and spacious. Highlight was homemade breakfast and chance to visit with other guests and the very friendly owners. There are a fair number of train whistles during the night since this is a train town; if you do not find train whistles nostalgic or are a very light sleeper, might not be the best choice for you. Loved it and would go back.


Katy House

4,4 sur novembre 08, 2011

Nice, quaint B & B. Comfortable in an old world fashion. Be ready for the trains all night.


Cozy

4,4 sur novembre 03, 2011

IF you want a cozy clean fun place to stay, this is it . We had a wonderful stay and the breakfast and hospitality was more than you would expect.


Great Time at the Katy House

5 sur novembre 02, 2011

We had a fantastic time at the Katy House. Sallie and Bruce were fantastic hosts and the breakfast was amazing. Too bad we only stayed one night. Smithville is beautiful small town and looking forward to our next trip. We will definitely be staying at the Katy House again.


Roland's visit to the Katy B&B House

4,8 sur octobre 30, 2011

Superb dining, with a great tranquil environment. I'd refer everyone to a beautiful small town and great get-a-way.


Like returning home

5 sur octobre 17, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay. The clawfoot bathtub and hardwood floors reminded me of my old home. I especially loved all the windows. Sallie and Bruce have done an outstanding job in decorating and furnishing the home to maintain its authenticity and they make you feel right at home with their brand of hospitality. The breakfast is better than any other I have eaten. Everyone should spend at least one night with Betty and Bruce.


Great stay at Katy House

4,4 sur octobre 12, 2011

Bruce and Sallie were excellent hosts. We had a great getaway weekend and enjoyed the small town ambience of Smithville.


A great escape

3,6 sur octobre 09, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Katy House Bed & Breakfast. The owners were very knowledgeable about the area and especially about the house that they had purchased for the B & B. We also experience some of our best night sleeps in a long time. Breakfast was always delicious and we would love to have the recipe for the German pancakes. One of the problems with a humid climate is that often times towels and washcloths tend to smell a little sour which was the only problem that we experienced while we stayed there. We would recommend it to anyone who asks.


Best holiday in ages.

5 sur octobre 04, 2011

I came to visit Smithville on something of a lark, and I could not be more grateful for the kindness and hospitality extended to me by the proprietors of Katy House. With generosity of spirit, well appointed rooms and great cookery, Bruce and Sallie delivered more than my money's worth. Their extensive contacts in the area also facilitated every single adventure I had in mind, including a genius trip down the Colorado River. Do yourself a favor and stay here, especially if you have to go out of your way to do so. A visit with Bruce, Sallie, Carter and Buddy is worth the trip all in itself. You won't regret it.


Sept 2011

4,4 sur septembre 26, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time reconnecting at Katy House after he returned from Iraq. Sallie and Bruce were very welcoming and ready with tips to make our stay memorable.


Great Breakfast

4,2 sur août 30, 2011

Stayed during the record heat spell and could not enjoy the porch and other outdoor facilities. Nice people, nice rooms, and really good food.


A "must stay" for Railroad Enthusiasts!

5 sur août 15, 2011

Met with fresh cold lemonade, and chocolate chip Cookies! This is a really neat Bed and Breakfast with a Railroad theme. Bruce and Sallie were excellent hosts, the rooms were comfortable and historic. If you like Railroads, particularly the MKT "Katy", this is a must-stay. Thier personal collection of Katy artifacts is impressive to say the least. Breakfast was outstanding. The local town is quaint and quiet, perfect for a relaxing getaway. Website is easy to use for reservations. We enjoyed every minute.


It felt like being at my very kind and caring parents house.

4,2 sur août 15, 2011

Bruce and Sallie are the kindest people you'll ever meet. And the breakfast was the best we had the whole trip in the USA. That included 16 different addresses!


Wonderful place to stay

5 sur août 15, 2011

We stayed at the Katy House Bed and Breakfast. Our room was comfortable and Bruce and Sallie are very hospitable. They helped us find an excellent place for dinner and shared a lot of information about the history of the city which we found fascinating. Will definitely return.


Wonderful stay during tough times!

5 sur août 10, 2011

They are soo nice. I don't know where else you will get the care and comfort we experienced. Thanks


Great time at the Katy

3,4 sur août 09, 2011

We try to stay at the Katy when there is a motorcycle or music event in Smithville. Visit Smithville. It is a great little town.


Sally, Bruce and the dogs are great!

4,4 sur août 09, 2011

My husband and I felt like we were at home. Sally and Bruce are just like family. We decided to have a getaway somewhere close by to Houston and ended up in Smithville at Katy B&B. We got the Katy Tower room, with a tub and had a great time. I'm scared of dogs and was skeptical when learned about them on the phone, but they were so sweet and i even pet the dog the whole time! It was a great experience, i had a great night sleep, room was very comfortable, the city itself is really small but charming. We ended up going to Bastrop State Park and Austin during the day, because its too hot here in the summer. Another great tip from Sally was the Murphy's Steakhouse, it's in a little village close by and it's amazing. I ate a whole cow for just 12 bucks! And of course, dont miss the french toast Sally makes for breakfast, it's the best i ever had! And now i have the recipe!!!!!!!!!


Cool and Comfy

5 sur août 07, 2011

My sis and I stayed at the Katy House for 3 days midweek in August of 2011. When we arrived we found we had been upgraded to the Conductor's Quarters! Because my sister has fibromyalgia and has a hard time getting up Sallie graciously offered to serve breakfast an hour late for us. There is always fresh fruit, homemade bread with local jellies, sausage or bacon, and a yummy main dish- baked eggs, french toast, etc. The cookie jar in the living room is stocked with chocolate chip cookies and fresh tea or coffee are available anytime from the Flavia brewer in the dining room. Sallie and Bruce are very involved in the community, and we always get the latest about the film crew that was in town last! We have been going here for at least 10 years. I keep thinking I will check out a different small town or B&B but we keep coming back to Smithville and the Katy House. We have relationships established in town and it's good to feel at home when you are away from home. Cindy...Dallas, TX


Great B&B

4,8 sur juillet 29, 2011

Had such a pleasant stay - the room was great, and it was so convenient to Main Street in Smithville - you could walk there! And breakfast was great!


HEARTWARMING, POSITIVE EXPERIENCE

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2011

Thank you for the most wonderful experience. We enjoyed our visit immensley with you, Carter and Buddy. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxing. The breakfast was delicious and enjoyed sharing conversation with you and guests. Hope to be back again!


Birthday getaway

4,0 sur juillet 19, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay. Bruce Sally, Carter and Buddy all made us feel right at home!


Katy House Bed and Breakfast

5 sur juillet 08, 2011

Hosts make you feel like it is your home away from home. Very gracious, friendly and hospitable would recommend staying there. We are planning on going back next summer.


Katy House B&B

4,4 sur juin 24, 2011

Because of the stairs, we had decided to stay in the Tower. But, the weather was so hot and it was difficult to cool the room, so Sallie helped us move to another room in the house. She lugged our suitcase up those stairs. The room was bright and cool. The breakfast outstanding. They gave us a recipe for the baked eggs. Check out Bruce's pen and ink drawings; he's an artist. We felt so welcome.


Two night stay

3,8 sur juin 01, 2011

We stayed two nights and the only complaint we have is that the room was hot in the afternoon. We understand that it was 100 degrees both days, but the room got to warm in the afternoon. Bruce and Sallie were wonderful with insights about Smithville and the breakfasts were to die for.


What a memorable experience!~

4,6 sur mai 17, 2011

Katy House is one-of-a-kind. The ambiance, nostalgia, attention to detail, and great hospitality make it so very special. Thanks Bruce and Sallie for a wonderful weekend. We won't forget where you are!


We thououghly enjoyed our stay at Katy House B&B

3,8 sur mai 05, 2011

Sally & Bruce were very warm and welcoming, and we really enjoyed our stay at Katy House. Our room was beautifully decorated and breakfast was great. Sally even gave me some leftovers to take home!


We LOVED Katy House and Smithville, TX

5 sur avril 20, 2011

Our family has stayed at Katy House 4 times now and this past week I took our son who is 5 1/2 for a one on one overnight trip to Smithville (at his request even!) and to Katy House. We love the small town of Smithville with the big heart full of friendly people and simple yet fun things to do. We went to the public library and they were having a book sale (I bought a box full of books) and we went to the bake sale by the bank where we talked to some local residents and were thrilled to hear about more movies that are coming out that were filmed in Smithville as well as some others that will be filmed there. The train museum had my son occupied with the toy trains while I got to look around and read up on all the railroad means to this town. Katy House - Sallie and Bruce are such a great set of hosts! We were offered lemonade upon arrival and a chance to sit and chat a bit. We loved the breakfast the next morning, as we always do. Sitting down with great hosts, great food and meeting new and interesting people made our almost 2 hour breakfast that much better! We drove from McKinney, TX, 4 1/2 hours away for our Mommy/Son overnight adventure and we were not disappointed!


Great time

5 sur avril 18, 2011

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast, and I must say, it was a great experience and we now wonder why it took us this long to do a b&b. Many thanks to Bruce & Sallie, great train talk, great room, great environment, and wonderful breakfast. Bryan & Imelda


Smithville?

3,2 sur avril 18, 2011

I wish we'd had a reason to stay and get full value from our stay at Katy House, because the owners were extremely welcoming and professional, and the property was pretty cool with all the train memorabilia and room for our dogs to run and play. But the problem wasn't there. It's just that the town itself was a virtual ghost town, no exageration, until night time when the local bar was totally alive. Sounded very fun, but we'd chosen to go to Austin (only about 40 mins away) for dinner instead so we'd have something more to do after. And then the next morning we chose La Grange (just down the highway) for breakfast because we knew we'd at least have something to see there also. So we spent a single night in Smithville very comfortably, with our dogs, in the Conductor's Quarters where pets are allowed. Are you a writer? If you need some peace and quiet in April, Smithville is your town. But for anything more, choose Austin or Fredericksburgh.


Katy House B&B

3,2 sur avril 15, 2011

All in all, very nice. However, there were a few areas that were a little cluttered, like cardboard boxes of books in the main living room.

Réponse du propriétaire
The good news is that the painting project is almost finished. The parlor and entry hall and stairway were all painted a pink color. We are painting all those rooms a pretty light green. I will post new photos on the web site as soon as we are finished. The boxes full of books will gone and the project will be finished! I am sorry that I did not explain the temporary boxes of books. I love the new color can't wait for it to be a completed project!!!


Can't wait to get back

4,4 sur avril 13, 2011

My wife and I have not stayed at many bead and breakfasts before but we found out about the Katy House through Living Social. We really didn't know what to expect. What we found was a beautiful location, incredible hosts, and memories to last a lifetime. We are looking forward to going back to the Katy House soon to stay. I would highly recommend stopping in for a visit.


Charming Train Themed Home

3,8 sur mars 27, 2011

Since the history of Smithville is one of several historic towns closely linked to the famed Katy railway, we particularly enjoyed staying in a home in which the owners have created a shrine to all things relating to trains. There's even a caboose alongside the home which will eventually become another rooming option. It's like staying in a living railway museum. We also enjoyed the sociable breakfast around the large table with our fellow guests and the congenial atmosphere facilitated by our hosts. Cudos!


A Valentine B & B

5 sur mars 25, 2011

One of the few B&Bs that allow a one night stay. The atmosphere was pleasant and informal. The breakfast was outstanding. Sallie took time before we arrived to notify us of the local dinner theater production. There were interesting antique stores within walking distance, and a drive through the residential area revealed many beautiful old homes. A very good place for a relaxing visit, and a must for railroad buffs!


Perfect Place to stay in Smithville, TX

5 sur mars 24, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed the time we spent in the Katy House B&B. It is full of history and fabulous antiques. The hosts are wonderful, taking a real interest in all their guests. I highly recommend this property!


It was a great getaway

4,8 sur mars 15, 2011

We had such a nice time. The B&B was great and Sallie was such a great host. I would recommend Smithville and this B&B.


A great place to relax

5 sur mars 15, 2011

We have stayed at the Katy House several times and we have never been disappointed. The atmosphere, the food and the hosts are always first rate.


Great Place for a Getaway weekend

4,4 sur mars 14, 2011

We stayed two nights. Great location. Wonderful breakfasts. Easy walk to shops and eating.


Great Weekend Getaway

5 sur mars 14, 2011

My husband and I took our 4 month old son to Smithville for a weekend getaway and we had a great time. Sally and Bruce put us in the Conductor's Quarters which was decorated with great antique train memorabilia. The full-country breakfast was a wonderful treat, since many of the B&Bs we've stayed at only offer a modest, continental-style morning meal. They are currently renovating an old train caboose for a guest room and we plan to come back with our son to stay there once they're done!


Iron Horse Haven

4,6 sur mars 09, 2011

Great place to stay and enjoy a cozy evening together. Central to everything in town and close to two great state parks. If your a train nut, Katy House is packed with train history and train stuff...lots of stuff!!!! In the morning, a warm breakfast awaited you with lots of coffee or tea or juice. What a way to get started. Don't have to ask me twice where I want to stay...


Great time, very relaxing

5 sur mars 08, 2011

The Katy House was amazing, we really enjoyed our stay and it was very relaxing. I would recomend them to anyone.


A little train getaway

4,8 sur mars 08, 2011

As my husband is a train enthusiast, we were thrilled to stay at the Katy House Bed and Breakfast. The facility is full of railroad and train artifacts and memorabilia and sits directly across from the railroad. The home is absolutely beautiful and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Sallie, the owner, was very hospitable during our entire stay and cooked up a fabulous breakfast to boot. If your travels lead you to Smithville, TX, I highly recommend staying at the Katy House Bed and Breakfast.


Best Ever!

5 sur mars 01, 2011

Our stay at the Katy House was our best ever B & B experience. The room was charming, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Lingering over an amazing breakfast with our genial hosts, Bruce and Sallie, was like sharing a meal with old friends. We have not had such a relaxing few days in a long time. If you need a break from a stressful life then the Katy House should top your list of B & B vacations. Thank you, Bruce and Sallie. Sincerely, Judy McAbee


Great stay

4,6 sur février 28, 2011

Wonderful hosts, great conversations. Pleasant room, though probably a little overdecorated.


Blissful stay

4,2 sur février 22, 2011

We enjoyed a relaxing and romantic stay in the Katy Tower. We spent the day photographing Smithville and ended with a delicious dinner at the Back Door Cafe. Upon returning to our room, we had the pleasure of relaxing on the porch while chatting about the day and planning our next trip (thanks to WiFi). Our night ended with a relaxing soak in the jacuzzi tub and a wonderful sleep. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get up the next morning, but breakfast was definitely worth it. Luckily we had time to take one last snooze in Katy Tower with the gentle Texas breeze blowing through our screens (we wanted the fresh air). Katy House was genuinely a wonderful experience. Returning to Austin, it felt like a dream.


Enjoyed our stay

4,8 sur février 22, 2011

What a wonderful get away from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by Sallie, the Innkeeper. She offered ice cold lemonade and fresh cookies upon arrival. Our room was extremely comfortable and quite. Breakfast could not have been better. The town doens't have a lot to do, so enjoy the peace and quite on the front porch in the rocking chairs. We would highly recommend this place.


Cozy and Quaint Train and history Buff Haven!

5 sur février 21, 2011

I went to Katy House knowing nothing of the area or details of their B&B so my expectations were not high, but had they been I would not have been disappointed! It was a very cozy and comfortable charming B&B with plenty of history and character to satisfy any desires. The room we had was named the "Texas Special" which I would highly recommend. It had a private upstairs balcony furnished with two comfortable rocking chairs just perfect for sharing a peaceful evening. The breakfast was graciously served by Sallie and Bruce the owner-host with plenty of stories about the area and the history. I plan on returning again!


Wonderful trip

5 sur février 08, 2011

We had a great time and enjoyed the Katy House and the great town.


Wish we could've stayed longer

4,2 sur février 08, 2011

Sallie, Bruce and Buddy are great hosts in a great house in an awesome small town with a great big Texas sized heart. Coffee and breakfast at 9 was so much fun.


Wonderfully relaxing.

5 sur février 01, 2011

Our stay at The Katy House was more than we could have hoped for. It was our first time to stay at a B & B and our experience was excellent. The Blalocks, Sallie and Bruce, were very friendly and made us feel right at home. The house was immaculate and we had all we needed and more. The breakfast was great, especially with Sallie's home made bread and jam. We will definitely visit again.


A wonderful experience every time

5 sur janvier 25, 2011

My husband and I chose Katy House Bed and Breakfast in Smithville, TX for our honeymoon destination in 2009, and we have been coming back on our anniversary ever since. Smithville is a special place, and Katy House is a big part of that. Located just a block off of Main Street, and right near the old train station, everything in Katy House is trains, trains, and more trains! If you're into small town Texas history like we are, you'll get a wealth of information from Sallie and Bruce. Their rooms are as comfortable as can be, and I love the charm of the clawfoot tub in the Texas Special room, which has tall ceilings and an upstairs veranda porch. Coming to Katy House is like being welcomed by your Texas grandparents after having been away for far too long. The absolute best part of Katy House is breakfast at 9am, where Sallie and Bruce serve the best jalapeno grits you've ever tasted (I think I had 3 servings!), wonderful French Toast, fresh fruit, sausage, and even a raspberry cream cheese pastry dessert! To die for. Both Sallie and Bruce have been extras on movie sets for films like Hope Floats, Tree of Life, and Doonsby (all shot practically right outside their front door in Smithville). Hollywood loves Smithville for all of its small town Texas charm, and apparently some stars choose to visit here again and again. Katy House is the perfect place to stay for us. Don't miss out on lunch at the Comfort Cafe, and dinner at the Backdoor Restaurant, both just around the corner. And there are plenty of antique stores on Main Street, too. I especially love Izadora's and Feathering Your Nest (for all things shabby chic!).


Great visit in Smithville

5 sur janvier 24, 2011

Our day started w/ a trip to Shiner to the brewery, then back to Smithville to check into Katy House. We were greeted by Sallie, offered lemonade and shown around the downstairs. Next we went up stairs to view our bedroom for the night and given logistics of various things. After that we settled in, read the info in the notebook on the bed and decided to go out for a walk since it was still sunny and semi-warm. We walked Smithville downtown, checked out a few food places for their menus, etc. Came back later to chocolate chip cookies just as Sallie had promised. Our evening out consisted of local Mexican food and margaritas down the street about a mile. We slept great and awoke to the smell of bacon frying the next morning. Breakfast was great and Sallie shared her recipe for the eggs with me. I made them last night here at home. Thanks for a great stay.


Charming and homey get away

4,4 sur janvier 18, 2011

We stayed at the Katy House this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms were homey and comfortable, the environment was warm and welcoming, and the other guests (and of course Sallie and Bruce) were friendly. We paid with a half off coupon but decided we would definitely pay full price to return. Thanks for a lovely weekend!


What a nice getaway!

4,6 sur janvier 17, 2011

Great hosts, including Buddy and Carter. Nice room, good food, relaxed atmosphere - just a very nice place to spend some time!


the perfect little get-a-way

5 sur janvier 17, 2011

I have rarely felt as relaxed as I did at Katy House Bed and Breakfast. Sallie and Bruce are the perfect hosts and Smithville is a blast to explore.


Delightful innkeepers

4,2 sur janvier 03, 2011

Inn keepers are delightful. It is like you are one of the family and you have come for a visit to this sleepy little town. A great place to wind down, read and relax. Breakfasts were very good and the company was lots of fun.


The Katy House in Smithville is Outstanding

5 sur janvier 02, 2011

This was our third visit to the Katy House where Sallie and Bruce welcome you into their home, sharing warm cookies, great food, marvelous conversation and local knowledge of the Smithville area from restaurants to landmarks! Bob & Angie, December 2010


Awesome time at Katy House B&B

5 sur décembre 13, 2010

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Katy House Bed & Breakfast, and I can safely say it was an awesome experience. I had the Katy Tower, which is separate from the rest of the B&B, affording me privacy and relaxation. The proprietors, Bruce and Sally, were very sweet; they even had breakfast with me after the other tenants were done so that I wouldn't be alone. I can't say enough good things about Katy House, and I highly recommend them for your stay in Smithville.


Katy House B&B

3,8 sur décembre 07, 2010

Delightful! Sallie and Bruce were wonderful hosts and made us feel like we were seeing old friends! The house was very warm and welcoming! And the breakfast was beyond DELICIOUS! Smithville is like a step back in time! Loved it!


Great FAMILY getaway!

5 sur décembre 07, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Katy House over the summer and brought our three children (twin girls, 8 1/2, son, 5) fo the Festival of Lights weekend and it was perfect for our entire family. Sallie and Bruce had a full house and everyone talked and enjoyed breakfast together - our children sat in different places and engaged with all of the adults. We will be back and will bring our children (they didn't want to leave!). Thank you Bruce and Sallie!


Short and Sweet

4,6 sur novembre 23, 2010

I unfortunately was not able to have the full experience of a bed and breakfast, but my stay there was excellent. I am not used to country sounds as I am a "city girl", but the environment was so relaxing. The Katy house is a perfect getaway with very friendly people surrounding you at all times. I highly recommend this place and will definitely go back for a FULL weekend.


Home Away From Home

5 sur octobre 26, 2010

I stayed at Katy B&B for the first time last weekend with my best friend. We have decided to make it our "special place" to meet since one of us has recently married and moved to another city here in Texas. Al Kazonir and his wife, Sharron Vaughn, were inn sitting and it was WONDERFUL! We feel like we have made lifelong friends. The rooms were like home - actually they were neater (!), the breakfasts were homemade and delicious, and the company was like sitting with family members. Sharron and Al went out of their to make us feel like family and their homemade chocolate chip cookies in the cookie jar were available 24 hours a day -- JUST LIKE HOME! I want to keep this place a secret so it doesn't get too crowded when we want to stay, but I want everyone to have the same wonderful experience we did! Please give Carter and Buddy a hug!


When may we return to Katy House?

4,8 sur septembre 28, 2010

We enjoyed our 2nd stay at Katy House immensely. Just wish that we could spend more time visiting with Sallie and Bruce and the other guests at Sunday breakfast. The cheese grits and the French Toast made with homemade bread were a marvelous treat. The innkeepers know how to make their guests feel welcome.


A Great Experience

4,0 sur septembre 07, 2010

Each year my family returns to Smithville for its family reunion and a bunch of us always stay at The Katy House because of it is fun and the accomodations excellent. The breakfast table in the morning is lively with discussion, laughter and good eats.


The Alford's LOVED Katy House and Smithville

5 sur août 17, 2010

Lance and I felt welcomed at Katy House the minute we arrived! I arrived the day before and the Blalock's treated me as part of their family. Their knowledge of Smithville and it's history brought me into the community as if I had lived there all my life. When Lance arrived he too commented on how welcome we felt, how included this family made us feel and how much he loved our time there. Katy House was like going home home. Our room, the Katy Ltd., was nicely furnished and very clean and inviting. We could hear the train from time to time but it didn't bother us at all (it wasn't loud!) - we got use to it to be honest! The food, oh my gosh, the FOOD! Sallie cooked this baked French toast one morning that had me wanting to sneak into the kitchen for the recipe. The coffee, juice and food was flowing and was all delicious! Katy House, Blalock's, Smithville, we'll be back! We're looking at December and will be bringing our kids (and maybe a dog!) and can't wait! Love, Lance and Debi Alford (McKinney, TX)


Katy House Bed & Breakfast the Best

5 sur août 11, 2010

We stayed in the Texas Special, which was wonderfully spacious, both bedroom and bath and was wonderfully appointed with railroad memorabilia as was the rest of the home. My husband is a railroad enthusiast and was extremely impressed. Each breakfast was fantastic and we were well taken care of by Sallie and Bruce, who are delightful hosts. We will come again.


Katy House in June

5 sur juillet 22, 2010

Sally and Bruce are wonderful hosts. The food and conversation were terrific.


Katy House

5 sur juillet 20, 2010

We stayed in the Katy Tower and it is cozy and peaceful. Loved the smalltown atmosphere ~ everyone is super friendly and you don't meet a stranger. The breakfast was yummy ~ it was a truly southern home cooked breakfast. We stayed the entire weekend and must say that my husband and I came back home very extremely refreshed! It was our first Bed and Breakfast getaway and I must say it will not be our last!


wonderfully friendly owners

5 sur juin 30, 2010

Welcomed with a glass of homemade lemonade even with a late arrival. The rooms were decorated with the pride of Texas flair and the passion for trains. Homemade breakfast was a good variety of items, including pancakes, eggs, fresh fruits, homemade jams, along w/ several flavors of coffees and teas (which were available all day). Sallie & Bruce were like the "lost" aunt and uncle always with a warm smile and inviting conversations. Guests were not treated as guests, we were treated like part of a family. The Katy House is located in a nice small TX town, within a short drive of a few different wineries, vegetable stands and the Colorado River.


Katy House a great choice in Smithville,Texas

4,2 sur juin 13, 2010

Well located, wonderful hosts, and Sallie's breakfast makes you want to get out of bed in the morning!


Great B&B

5 sur juin 08, 2010

Great room in a historic home and a charming small Texas town. Outstanding breakfast with homemade breads. Interesting and stimulating conversations at the breakfast table with other guests and inkeepers. Gracious hosts that make you feel at home.


Quite a surprise

4,6 sur mai 17, 2010

WE had to go to Smithville on a quick trip and needed accomodations in Smithville on short notice. We came across Katy House and it looked like a good possibility. The reservations were made and Sally worked so hard to make sure that we knew that we were expectd and welcomed the minute we walked in the door. Such a warm and personal atmosphere with all kinds of perks. The room was just what we needed, it was clean, comfortable and well maintained. Sally just kept asking if she could help get our luggage in and things like that. Wonderful place to stay. It was our first visit to Smithville and we stayed around town after the funeral and walked through many of the shops, attractions and met some movie producers and players. Really a nice place. And to see the house that was the centerpiece for Hope Floats, the movie, was just a big plus for us.WE will certainly recommend this B& B to anyone and Smithville is small town America. Beautiful little quiet town. Jim and Kathy Heath


The best B&B by far

5 sur mai 16, 2010

I have stayed at a few B&B in my time, in the U.S. and abroad. Katy House was by far the best experience I've ever had. Bruce and Sallie are the most wonderful hosts. I felt like I was saying goodbye to family when I left. When in Smithville again, I will stay with them, without question.


Texas Experience

5 sur avril 30, 2010

My experience at Katy House was a charming, peaceful, experience that far exceeded my expectations. Katy House, with it's lovely, impeccably-maintained antique furnishings and it's plethora of fascinating train memorabilia captured the eye from the moment you spotted the front door, and resisted plunking down in one of the inviting rockers on the front porch for a spell. They just begged you to stop and smell the flowers (of which there were many) and watch time go by. Breakfast was an all-time winner, again in a charming dining room full of lots to dwell upon. Sallie served a relaxing , hearty, homemade breakfast, with all the trimmings. The homemade bread (toast) and jam were my favorites; but her recipes for the rest of the fare needed to find there way to my collection. Great hospitality, excellent food, and a stay to remember. You couldn't make a better choice of accommodations. Wish my stay had been longer. ---A Mom from Ohio


Jim's stay

5 sur avril 19, 2010

The Katy House is a wonderful adventure in Texas hospitality with a great touch of real Texas hospitality! Sallie, Bruce, and of course their loyal canine Buddy are the consummate hosts.


Staying in Smithville

4,6 sur avril 17, 2010

We loved our stay at Katy House. Sallie and Bruce are warm, inviting hosts who obviously enjoy their lives and their guests. Our room was clean, roomy and comfortable and decorated in a lovely, old Texas style. With the exception of a rather small TV and a somewhat cramped bathroom, we were very happy with the accomodations. The breakfast was outstanding! A full breakfast was served which included a delilcious egg casserole, toast of homemade bread, homemade jellies and rolls and fresh fruit and bacon. The Blalocks even allowed us to invite a couple of old friends who live in the area to join us for breakfast. Sallie made them as welcome as she did us. Not only are Sallie and Bruce great hosts, their canine companion Buddy welcomes all visitors with a wagging tail and a friendly smile. We plan to stay at Katy House again when we are next in that part of Texas. Lloyd and Paula Lamb, Bluffton, SC


Our FAV B&B

4,8 sur avril 06, 2010

We have been staying at the Katy House for at least 7 years. It just keeps getting better! The breakfasts are terrific, and if you like trsins, this is the place for you!


Great place, wonderful people.

4,4 sur avril 05, 2010

Its so nice to find a place that not only tolerates dogs, but welcomes them. But they are careful to provide non dog rooms as well. We had a wonderful time


Katy House is a gem !

4,6 sur mars 31, 2010

The Katy House was so warm and cozy! I felt like I was at home, except I had this wonderful couple (Sallie and Bruce) ready to make my stay just perfect! I also loved having William and Buddy as company (you'll have to visit to meet them). Smithville is a great treasure of Texas and the Katy House is a real gem in the treasure !!!!


Excellent value

4,0 sur mars 30, 2010

Sallie and Bruce are great hosts and make their guests feel at home. Clean, affordable and well located. Sallie's breakfasts were delicious. I enjoyed my stay and will return when the opportunity presents.


Spoiled me rotten!

5 sur mars 28, 2010

Sallie Blaylock loves what she does and it shows in her all of the lovely details of Katy House. She is a fount of knowledge when it comes to Smithville and the surrounding areas. The rooms are warm and inviting, the food is excellent, and the company is superb.Katy House is within walking distance to shopping and is a great place to visit and return to again and again!


Great rest, outstanding stay!

4,6 sur mars 27, 2010

Breakfast was incredible, best night sleep I've had in a long time. quiet restful and location was great. Innkeeper always answers the phone! Will return!!!


Katy House B&B and great retreat

4,0 sur mars 23, 2010

My husband and I needed a getaway from the big city - so we headed to Smithville for the Thunder on the Colorado and a stay at the Katy House B&B to celebrate our anniversary. Owners, Bruce and Sallie, were just wonderful and served-up DELICIOUS breakfasts! They made all their guests feel at home and relaxed. We enjoyed visiting with them and the other guests. Katy House B&B was a true reTREAT for us and we will certainly be back!


Charming little place!!

5 sur mars 08, 2010

We had a great, but very quick overnight stay this last Friday night. Sallie and Bruce were so gracious and accommodated our requests without batting an eye. They sent us to the Back Door Cafe around the corner on Friday night. We had a great dinner. The breakfast on Saturday morning was awesome!! Being from a small town-- but having lived in Houston for 25 years; you forget that there are still people like Sallie and Bruce and that there are small towns like Smithville still on the map. We will definitely be back!!


Katy House

3,4 sur mars 02, 2010

The host's are wonderful and the breakfast ranks as on of the very best!


Exploring Smithville, Texas

4,4 sur mars 02, 2010

Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the friendly host and hostess who were so willing to share their lives with us. We really felt welcome and at home.


An annual get away

5 sur février 15, 2010

Every year I meet some girl friends for a weekend of scrapbooking at the Katy house. We just love Bruce and Sally and their beautiful B+B. The food is always wonderful and the atmosphere is comfortable and relaxing. Smithville offers a peacefully getaway with quiet shops and restaurants to visit. You leave the Katy house felling relaxed and refreshed and as you drive away you will already be dreaming of your next visit.


What a wonderful relaxing and educational experience

5 sur janvier 05, 2010

Sallie and Bruce are the best B&B hosts we have ever encountered. They made dinner reservations for us - a group of 8 - in the the difficult time period Jan 1 and 2. They are so interesting and it is easy to discuss any topic with them. Bruce is so knowledgeable on trains and Sallie is an expert cook and happy to share her expertise. Their dogs are amazing. We had so much fun!


Colen and Cindy's Visit

4,2 sur décembre 30, 2009

We stayed in the detached room behind the main house. The room was small and I am guessing that the rooms in the main house may be a little nicer, but the decor was nice and the jacuzzi tub/shower was a great part of the room. The outside room, we were in, had a deck and some chairs that provided a nice quiet location for morning coffee. The owners (and the dogs)are wonderful and provided just the right amount of interaction. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I recommend it as a nice get away and you are still close enough to Austin if you need some big city action.


An unexpected, but delightful find!

4,4 sur novembre 29, 2009

While driving through Smithville Tx. we happened upon the Katy House B&B. Salley was a delightful hostess who made us feel like family. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay there if we ever find ourselves in that part of Texas again.


The only place to stay!

5 sur novembre 18, 2009

We love the Katy House and have stayed there serval times. When we are in Smithville, The Katy House is the only place we will stay if available. We love seeing Buddy and William too. Sallie and Bruce are great host!


Smithville Rocks

4,4 sur novembre 10, 2009

Everything was above average and owners were very friendly and helpful in every way.


Charming Bed and Breakfast

5 sur novembre 08, 2009

Our first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast. A wonderful experience. Sallie was a wonderful hostess and she made us feel right at home. Her breakast was very good. Most comfortable bed we have slept in away from home. Patsy & John


Katy House

5 sur novembre 07, 2009

Fantistic, lovely and quaint B&B. The hosts are gracious and very helpful. We were there for a local seminar and the hosts got us in touch with the people who are in the know... small town to small town info very helpful. We will be going back!


Katy House

5 sur octobre 11, 2009

Bruce and Sally were great - very kind and accomodating. Their breakfasts were delicious! And the room was very nice and cozy. Would go to the Katy house again anytime!


Delightful Bed and Breakfast

4,4 sur octobre 07, 2009

This was our first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast and loved it. The owners made you feel welcome, the food was outstanding, and the rooms were very charming. I would recommend the Katy House to anyone and would jump at the chance to stay there again.


A wonderful stay at the Katy house

4,6 sur octobre 06, 2009

I've stayed at several b&b's and the Katy house is at the top of my list. Bruce and Sally (and their pups) are very friendly, the house is beautiful, and Smithville is as charming as advertised. Don't hesitate to book this place.


Katy House Review

4,4 sur septembre 29, 2009

Wonderful get away. Pleasant company and wonderful food.


Inviting and charming

5 sur août 22, 2009

Our experience was very nice and we will go back again. The inn keepers could not have been nicer and the food was fantastic.


Excellent Experience

5 sur août 18, 2009

Our three day stay with Sallie and Bruce was wonderful. Breakfast was exceptional every morning with lots of food and variety. Sallie was always there to greet us with a cold glass of lemonade and chocolate chip cookies each day as we came back from exploring Smithville and the surrounding area. Evenings were quiet and relaxing. A great value and a great experience!


A wonderful mini-cation!

5 sur août 07, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Katy House and looking for the sites used in the film Hope Floats. The breakfast was wonderful. We loved the Baked Egg Casserole. We topped off the stay with a Rising Phoenix kayak trip on the Colorado River. Wonderful getaway!!


Katy Tower

5 sur août 04, 2009

My husband and I visited the Katy house and the cozy town of Smithville Texas. Bruse and Sallie where amazing hostess and the town has plenty of quit and relaxing time. The Katy Tower was very romantic, if your looking for a getaway with your special honey. This place was just perfect for my husband and I to reconnect after our year being way with his deployment! Near by is full of outdoors actitives and in town beautiful antique shops. Great food walking distances! Keep in mind nothing beats Mrs. Sallie's breakfest in the morning! This was perfect for us and I just know you will enjoy your stay at the Katy house! Chris & Nicol


Visit to the Katy House B&B

5 sur août 04, 2009

My wife and I were immediately put at ease upon arrival and were accepted as family by both wonderful hosts! It was the best experience we have had in many a year! They most certainly added years to my husbands life by allowing him to remember and interact with the hosts, and we both shall be ever thankful. Hope we get to come back many times soon and consider them true friends who care about their guests very much. All the best in every way!!!!!!!!!!!!


Super in everything!!

4,8 sur août 03, 2009

The host and hostess were extremely nice and knowledgeable about their historic home. Breakfast was delicious.


Home Away From Home

5 sur juillet 09, 2009

Comfortable, cozy. Sallie and Bruce are wonderful hosts and made us feel so at home.


1st visit to Katy House

5 sur juin 30, 2009

We had a great visit at the Katy House. The inn keepers were very nice and made a special effort to accommodate the breakfast needs of my 4 year old. The jalapeno cheese grits and the home made bread were wonderful.


A Gem in Smithville

4,0 sur juin 23, 2009

My husband and I came for the Rocky Hill Ranch run (now called Hells Hills) and stayed at the only hotel in Smithville (America's Best Inn & Suites) & it was awful! Our run got rescheduled due to rain and so we got another chance for Smithville to make a good impression on us. That's when we made reservations at the Katy House. Sallie was fantastic and helped change our opinion of the little town. She knew fun facts about the movies being made there and she knew all the best restaurants. She always had fresh cookies around and just made us feel like we were at home. We will stay there again when we come to Hells Hills next year! Thanks Sallie!


Great Family Experience!

4,8 sur juin 18, 2009

We took three generations of our family to the Katy House and everyone agreed -- we can't wait to go back. Grandpa (87yo) had a great comfy bed, and so did mom and dad. Big sister (17yo) loved the charm of the turn of the century home. And little brother (8yo) was impressed by the real live engineer and impressive train decor! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and the hospitality warm and inviting! We hope to make it our new getaway destination.


Best breakfast ever at a b&b

4,8 sur juin 12, 2009

Cool, comfortable room and the breakfast was the best I've ever had at a b&b.


Great experience

4,8 sur juin 12, 2009

The Katy House is a history buff's dream, filled with mementos from the early days of the Texas railroad. The rooms are quaint and comfortable and the breakfast is out-of-the-park delicious. I highly recommend it for those seeking a gentle stay.


What a relaxing stay!!

4,6 sur juin 09, 2009

Very fun bed and breakfast!! Awesome breakfast. The small town was a great retreat for us. Very quiet. Lovely room.


Relaxation Through Perfection

5 sur juin 06, 2009

From the first welcome offer of lemonade and a cookie to the next morning's outstanding and delicious breakfast, plus sharing with others, Sally made it a warm and gracious visit which I so needed. Thank you so much! When visiting Smithville, you must stay at the Katy House!!


A great getaway!

4,4 sur mai 29, 2009

Sallie and Bruce were great hosts for my wife and me. We really enjoyed getting away from the craziness of our jobs for a nice relaxing vacation. This was our first time to stay at a B&B, so we didn't know what to expect. We will definitely consider a B&B again in the future, and The Katy House will be one we return to.


One of our best stays

4,0 sur mai 19, 2009

The best part of our stay at the Katy House was the feeling of being at your best friend's house and the warmth of a long-time friendship. Sallie and Bruce are like your best friends and that makes your stay very comfortable.


Nice Mother''s Day Getaway

5 sur mai 12, 2009

This was such a wonderful place to take my mom and my mother in law for Mother's Day. They really enjoyed it. My Mother in Law wanted to stay! Thank you so much Sallie.


Smithville

5 sur avril 27, 2009

From the moment we walked in the door until we parted ways we discovered new friends and received a warm welcome, gracious hospitality, and a wonderful overview of the community.


Beautiful B&B with Relaxed Atmosphere

4,6 sur avril 26, 2009

We just wanted to say thank you again for a wonderful stay. The Katy Tower was very nice and we loved the relaxed atmosphere. Sallie's breakfasts were delicious, as well. We will definately spread the word about your hospitality and lovely accomodations!


Katy House

5 sur avril 20, 2009

Smithville is a great, little town - close to Austin, very close to Bastrop SP and Beuscher SP. We were hiking, but wanted somewhere in twon to stay due to rain. This B&B was perfect, and the hosts were wonderful.


It's like going home to visit family.

4,0 sur avril 12, 2009

Wonderful warm welcome from Sally & Bruce (and William & Buddy) with cookies & hugs. Fabulous breakfast shared with old friends who return each year as we do. R & R on the veranda after a long day of shopping. Sincere interest in our daily lives. We highly recommend this wonderful place!


Relaxing and Enjoyable

4,4 sur mars 23, 2009

Great runs and hikes in Buescher and Bastrop State Parks. Good meals at Pockets and The Back Door. A good massage therapist in town. Nice porch to read and relax on and good breakfast dialogues. We will be back.


Wonderful place

5 sur mars 19, 2009

We had a lovely stay at the Katy House -- the house, the food, the hosts were all wonderful.


the Peterson stay

4,6 sur février 23, 2009

We always enjoy our stay at katy's, we were celebrating our 27th anniversary. As always it is great to stay, the rooms are one of kind decor, and the food was great.


First Rate

5 sur février 12, 2009

Sallie and Bruce (and William and Buddy) are the friendliest hosts you will ever meet. The breakfast itself is worth the stay. Highly recommended.


A night to remember

5 sur février 10, 2009

The welcome was outstanding. The service was beyon my expectations This is an excellant bed & breakfast hotel. Music and entertainment was supplied.


Charming getaway

5 sur février 04, 2009

If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing weekend getaway in a charming environment then the Katy House Bed and Breakfast is the right place for you! Walking distance to quaint antique shopping and fabulous dinning. They are pet friendly as well! We highly recommend the Katy House and will definetly make a return visit. The Leikers


Sincerely lovely innkeepers...

3,6 sur décembre 14, 2008

In my humble opinion, most B&B's are over-rated. The rooms are quaint, but not necessarily as comfortable as a stay in a 4 to 5 star hotel. The key difference is the feeling of home and family. Sally & Bruce were VERY accommodating, warm, friendly, engaging and truly interested in making our stay memorable. Their home is a museum filled with all kinds of interesting train memorabilia and antiques. They shared local folklore...helped us reserve a spot in a good restaurant on an evening when you got a spot because you "knew" someone...our breakfast was tasty. The home made bread was excellent. The room was a bit chilly. It was a cold night and the space heater was inadequate, but the covers were warm...so, once under them, it was cozy. The jacuzzi tub was nice, once you were in it, but it was difficult to get in and out of...a step stool would help. We would visit the Katy house again, but I think it was a bit over-priced.


Felt Like Home

5 sur novembre 25, 2008

Sallie, Bruce, Buddy & William were just what the B&B gods intended. My wife and I appreciated the warm feeling, the history about the Katy house, and the friends we met while staying. While we were only there two nights - we felt like moving in.


We loved Katy House!

5 sur novembre 25, 2008

Katy House and Smithville offer a great weekend getaway spot with memories to spare. We were looking for a stress-free escape within a few hours of Houston when we stumbled across this B&B online. The house and the town were only topped in charm by our wonderful hostess Sallie. The pups were friendly and well-mannered and the food was wonderful. We will visit again!


Charm, Comfort and Nice Folks

5 sur novembre 20, 2008

The Katy House is without a doubt the best B&B at which I have ever stayed. Period.


Had relaxing time

3,6 sur novembre 11, 2008

We enjoyed the easy going atmosphere and felt quite comfortable. Felt like we were visiting family- we got to play with the dogs and never felt like we need tip toe around or not touch anything.


lovely

4,0 sur novembre 08, 2008

We had a lovely stay In October 2008. The home is perfect, not too frilly for my husbands taste and all kinds of train memorabilia. Very friendly host and hostess and food was delicious!


Charming B&B

5 sur novembre 08, 2008

Sally and Bruce made our stay extra special.


Home away from home

5 sur novembre 04, 2008

Katy house was simply an amazing and most relaxing experience my girlfriend and I have had in a while. Everything from the hosts Sallie and Bruce to the rooms, breakfast, Buddy and William and Smithville was just perfect. We really enjoyed our stay at the Katy house and will definitely be back in the future for some more baked eggs and french toasts by Sallie and some stories from Bruce.


A Great Place

5 sur novembre 04, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Katy House. Bruce and Sallie were so gracious and friendly and we felt very comfortable there. The room was clean and so pretty. We would recommend the Katy House to anyone.


A must for any railfan

5 sur octobre 27, 2008

Our stay was an outstanding experience and will be looking forward to our next stay possibily next spring.


thanks we had a great time

4,6 sur octobre 21, 2008

the breakfast casserole was excellent, thanks for such a quiet and peaceful weekend. I have already been telling my friends about your place, that care. the langley's


The Honeymooners

5 sur octobre 19, 2008

Our stay at the Katy House B&B gave us a memory we will not forget. Bruce and Sallie along with their 2 dogs Buster and William made us feel right at home. Our room was everything we could possibly expect and the food was excellant.


Lovely

4,2 sur octobre 14, 2008

Lovely B & B. The owners are so fun and friendly.


Wonderful B & B

4,8 sur octobre 08, 2008

Food was great! Sallie is the perfect hostess! We will be back!


Outstanding

5 sur octobre 03, 2008

I loved staying at Katy house Bed and Breakfast. Sally and her husband made our stay really enjoyable. The room was cozy with historic decorations from the MKT railroad. My dog was able to stay with us and enjoy her gated backyard and even met some dog friends. Katy's two dogs. They were very friendly. My husband and I went shopping on Main st. and bought a few antiques from antique shops. All were very lovely people. I will definitely go back and visit.


FABULOUS BED AND BREAKFAST

5 sur octobre 02, 2008

KATY HOUSE IS SUCH A TREAT. YOU CAN UNWIND AND RELAX HERE. I JUST LOVE IT, I HAVE TAKEN MANY FREINDS AND ALWAYS RETURN.AMAZING BREAKFAST AND THE ROOMS ARE WARM AND COMFORTABLE.


Katy House-best place to stay in Smithville

5 sur septembre 30, 2008

Katy House is totally charming. We were met by Sallie and her two Corgis William and Buddy who add to the cozy ambiance of the house. I and three girlfriends were there for the antique shows going on. In addition to serving awesome breakfasts the two mornings we were there Sallie added that extra touch of putting bottled water in our fridge each day so we would have water to take with us. We stayed in the conductor's quarters and it was very comfortable and we immediately felt right at home. I highly recommend Katy House.


Home Away From Home

4,6 sur septembre 30, 2008

It truely feels that confortable.


Ike evacuees

3,8 sur septembre 16, 2008

Great breakfast, spacious room. Inn has interesting railroad memorabilia collection!


Great home

4,0 sur septembre 02, 2008

The home is pretty, well stocked with amenities and very comfortable. We enjoyed the dogs and their granddaughter Kendall. She is such a doll! The breakfast was terrific and plentiful and Sallie shares recipes! Smithville is a nice little town to visit to get away from the big town hassles. We hope to go back sometime. John and Rhonda


Delightful B & B

4,4 sur septembre 02, 2008

The Katy House is one of our favorites. The owners and their inn sitters, Al and Sharon, are just delightful and we find ourselves looking forward our annual visits over yummy breakfasts!


Lovely B&B

5 sur août 12, 2008

What a lovely way to greet your guests. Such warmness and sincerity. Felt like we were visiting family. Home was lovely with all the antique train paraphernalia. Rocking chairs on the front porch. Step back in time. We will be staying at the Katy house again, hopefully soon. Anne Cheesman


Unique Stay in an Adorable Town

4,6 sur juillet 29, 2008

My husband and I desperately needed a day away from our life in Austin to re-group. I found Katy House on a whim, and I'm so glad. We were able to bring our doggies and the room was so adorable! Sallie (innkeeper) invited us to the Chamber's yearly Casino Night. What a blast...everyone was extremely kind! Sallie and Bruce had breakfast the next morning for all the guests of Katy House at their enourmous dining table. They served an egg casserole, homemade toast and more! I recommend this B&B for a quiet getaway to relax and revisit old world kindness.


A Place That Feels Like Home

4,4 sur juillet 22, 2008

Walking into Katy House is like walking into the comforts of your own home. Sally and Bruce as well as the dogs, William and Buddy, greet you with a warm smile and a down to earth atmosphere. I found my stay there very relaxing. I also found the breakfasts wonderful. I left after spending two days there rejuveniated and I was ready to face the world of Houston again. Thank you Sally and Bruce - Helen


Jerry and Mary

5 sur juillet 12, 2008

Loved the family style atmosphere and learned a lot of history of the town. Wonderful stay and would recommend it to anyone.


Fascinating!

4,0 sur juillet 07, 2008

Fascinating, comfortable, and calming! A great get-away! Wonderful hosts! Charming "small-town America" included.


Pleasant Trip

4,8 sur juin 28, 2008

What a wonderful place to get away from it all. Our main goal this trip was to just relax and do nothing. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Sallie is an excellent hostess and very knowledgeable of the area and we loved the dogs.


a trip back into time

5 sur juin 04, 2008

Sweetness all around, from the cozy room, to the wonderful breakfast in the morning. The owners are a delight and it was like going home to a special aunt's house in a small town that you left behind years ago. We enjoyed the simplicity of the place, the quaint town, listening to birds chirp outside our window, watching lizards scatter along the walkway, and sitting on the porch swing, thinking of nothing. We didn't even lock our door...


Absolutely wonderful!

4,8 sur juin 03, 2008

Katy House was a perfect place to spend our 15th anniversary. It was quiet, romatic, and relaxing. Bruce and Sallie overlooked no detail. They were so warm and welcoming to us. And their two cute doggies, William and Buddy, were just adorable. We will be back. It was a perfect get-away from the Austin area!


Katy House Bed and Breakfast

5 sur mai 20, 2008

We had a wonderful time in Smithville, wonderful people, food, and shops. Fun to just wander around. Feel totally relaxed and rejuvinated now!


"One of my favorite things"

5 sur mai 05, 2008

The Katy House is one of my favorite places to stay in all of Texas. Sallie and Bruce have created the most relaxed atmosphere that I can imagine. From the minute I cross their threshold I begin to unwind. Breakfast at the Katy House is wonderful and I always enjoy visiting with the other guests around the table.


Surpassed Expectations

5 sur mai 03, 2008

Bruce and Sallie (along with William and Buddy) are the most gracious host. We totally felt as if this was our house. This was our first experience at a B&B and I will be back to stay at the Katy House - Sallie has me spoiled!


What a way to get away!!

5 sur avril 21, 2008

Katy House is incredible! Sallie and Bruce are so hospitable. They make you feel like your visiting family. They are warm and welcoming, from the first "Hello" you develop a bond with Sallie. Let me not foget to mention how the aroma of breakfast filled the house in the mornings and made you want to float downstairs to enjoy. Sallie's home made bread and preserves were my favorites. By the time my stay was over I found it hard to say good bye. I can't wait to go back to visit Bruce, Sallie, William & Buddy!! What a way to get away!! Dangerous Curves Member, Eliza Ramirez "Breeze"


An excellent get-away destination

4,0 sur mars 11, 2008

The Katy House in Smithville is a wonderful place to get away from the hub-bub of the big city and Sallie and Bruce always make you feel like family.


This is the place to stay while in Smithville!!!!

5 sur mars 09, 2008

I won a few gift certificates online to different B and B's in Texas. The Katy House really stood out from the rest. We stayed in the Texas Special which has a awesome private balcony. We felt as if we were part of Sallie and Bruce's family from the welcome to the outstanding breakfest - juice coffee homemade bread/jams sausage and the best french toast I have ever had!!! The are Wonderful Hosts!!! The other guests were delightful as well. The house was close to shopping and dining. A Brad Pitt movie was being filmed while we were in town. If you take a cookie for yourself in the parlor...make sure you give William and Buddy a treat too. We will be back!!!


We'll Be Back!

4,8 sur avril 23, 2007

This is a place that I've wanted to visit for a long time--just looked interesting, so I just planned a weekend and we hopped on the Harley and came to Smithville. When we told people we were going to "Smithville", they asked "WHY--What's in Smithville?" Now we can say that we have two new friends - Sallie & Bruce and that they totally made us feel at home even before we arrived. The breakfast is fabulous and not at all "FOO-FOO" like so many B & B's. And yes, if you go away hungry, it's certainly your own fault! Now when we see a UP train pass, Michael wonders if Bruce is in the engine and he commented the other day that of all the B & B's we've been to, this is the one that he will definetly return to.


WE LOVE KATY HOUSE!

5 sur février 11, 2007

Sallie and Bruce's seemingly effortless hospitality make it real tough to leave, after a week! And William and Buddy, their two Welsh Corgies, didn't make it any easier. Sallie's excellent cooking and recipes kept us looking forward to breakfast! These are wonderful, warm, friendly people and you'll swear they're just a part of your family you just hadn't met, yet.


best b&b around

5 sur février 08, 2007

Bruce and Sallie Blalock are wonderful, friendly hosts. We have enjoyed multiple enjoyable visits, and look forward to many more. Location near quaint downtown Smithville makes antique shopping easy, as well as convenient to several very good restaurants. I highly recommend this property.


A great get-away from it all bed & breakfast

5 sur février 07, 2007

The Katy House was recommended to my wife Pam & me more that 5 years ago and we found it to be a wonderful destination to get away from the work-a-day world. In fact we enjoy visiting the Katy House so much that it has become our "official wedding anniversary destination" for at least the last 3 years. Sallie and Bruce are outstanding hosts and we have met some truly fascinating folks at their breakfast table. The breakfasts are always of the highest quality and if you leave their table hungry it's your own fault.


Katy House Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $99 - $150
  • Avis (217) 4,7
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5122374262
  • Fax 1-5122372239
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8008435289

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut