Dowell House c1870 Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
42 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Thanks for such a wonderful stay!

5 sur mars 02, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this lovely B&B in McKinney, TX. We watched the sun come up in the hot tub on the upstairs deck, followed by a scrumptious breakfast. Every possible need seems to have been thought of. We’ll definitely stay there again next time we’re in the Dallas area.


Top Notch!

5 sur février 26, 2013

Our stay was top notch! There aren't many B & B's that would earn that rating from us. From the moment we arrived we were attended to and made to feel like it was the most special of days. Every detail is thought of in addition to beautiful rooms and amenities. The hot tub on the secluded deck is fabulous! Thank you for a great memory!


Charming B and B

5 sur janvier 18, 2013

Had a lovely 2 night stay at Dowell House. Throughly enjoyed the company of Fred and Diane. Breakfast was delicious. Only "complaint" was the over abundance of scents throughout the house from a variety of air fresheners,candles and perhaps cleaning supplies.


Great B&B!

4,8 sur octobre 18, 2012

Would stay again in a heart beat!


Enjoyable Stay

4,4 sur octobre 07, 2012

I just completed my stay and was very pleased. The stay was very quiet and relaxing. It was very nice to escape the city for a night. The hot tub was a tad small, but felt wonderful to take a soak on a crisp night. Breakfast was a french toast souffle, and it was amazing!!


Overall, a lovely and fascinating B&B.

4,2 sur juillet 10, 2012

We were most impressed with the fact that the house was built in 1870. The owners were obviously very respectful of the history, as they displayed pics of the Dowell family who built the home throughout. It felt as if we'd stepped back in time. Unfortunately, at 10:15p.m., when my friend tried to shower, the water never got hot. She let it run for a full 15 min. Not sure if something was turned off, or what. The next morning, there was hot water within 2 min. Other than that, it was immaculate, and the owners very hospitable.


Surprise Stay, Me & Mr. Jones

5 sur juin 21, 2012

I was taken on an outing last week with no clue as to what was planned. All I knew is that we were going to McKinney (one of our favorite places). We passed our normal stops on the square and made our way towards Tennessee St. As he drove, I was admiring the beautiful houses that we passed. When he pulled up to the Dowell House, I thought it was for a photograph (he is a photographer). He then informed me that we would actually be staying the night in it. I was amazed! The lawn is manicured, the exterior is welcoming and the entrance was beautiful. He had reserved the Chardonay room for us. We love to star gaze, so he chose the room for it's private deck and hot tub. Not only were we comfortable in our stay, we were absolutely fascinated with the house. Breakfast the next morning was delicious! We were served baked French Toast with fruit in a cup artfully displayed. We sat at the table with the oher guests and The Mueller's and chatted for a while just learning the history of the house, little facts about it and we exchanged stories. Check out came too quickly. We will definitely be returning to enjoy more nights of star gazing. If you haven't been, you don't know what you're missing. All you need is one night in the Dowell House to leave a lasting impression.


Trip down memory lane

5 sur juin 10, 2012

I grew up in McKinney, in fact right across the street, so I took my mom, sister and daughters there to stay right after Mother's Day. It was a very special experience that we will always treasure. The Muellers were very hospitable and welcoming. We really enjoyed the breakfast in the formal dining area, which also is shown in the movie, Benji. They even took a picture of us and reproduced it for each member in our group. McKinney has a lot to offer as far as history, shopping and dining. I would reccomend this as a wonderful destination for anyone.


Wonderful place to stay!

4,4 sur juin 05, 2012

We stayed in the Bordeaux room for our wedding night. It was a wonderful experience! Diane and Fred go above and beyond to make their guests' stay pleasant. They took a picture of us at breakfast at printed it out for us then and there, while later emailing us a copy so that we could share it with friends and family. They also let us use their phone in the morning since neither of us had our cell phones with us. Breakfast was a fruit plate, then a jalapeno cornbread sausage and egg country quiche cooked in individual ramekins. It was very good! Though talk about the Fat Mamma's French Toast that was served the day before made our mouths water! The pictures of the room do not do it justice. The room is much warmer in person, with dimmers on most if not all of the lights, and candles by the bathtub and in the fireplace. The jacuzzi was very relaxing and fit two people pretty easily. The one downside was that one of us had to check in personally that afternoon. Although this would not be a problem for normal couples, it did add more stress to an already stressful day. Staying at the Dowell House B&B was a lovely and, more importantly, relaxing experience. We would definitely do it again!


Anniversary Trip was Wonderful

5 sur mai 27, 2012

We were not sure just what to expect from such a beautiful old house, but we were really pleased. The architectural detail and history of this house alone makes this a place to visit. The Muellers were so friendly and welcoming and created a delicious breakfast for us each morning. The thing that we loved the most was our lovely balcony with the amazing hot tub!!! It provided us a time to relax and unwind. The bed and bedding were so comfortable! What a wonderful stay! And withing walking distance to downtown McKinney, too1


Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

4,8 sur mai 21, 2012

My fiance and I wanted a quick getaway and found the Dowell House in McKinney. Diane and her husband were very friendly and helpful. The room setting was romantic and inviting. The breakfast was Phenomenal!! Diane's baked French toast was the perfect treat. We will definitely be back!


B & B Review

5 sur mai 02, 2012

We stayed one night to celebrate our honeymoon, it was absolutely delightful!!!!


great place

5 sur avril 02, 2012

my wife and i need a place to get away from the kids. the dowell house was the perfect place to do so.the rooms are great and the service was great also.the Mueller's were very friendly and great host. they had everything in the room that you would possibly need.the hottub was great way to relax.the breakfast was wonderfull. we had the best time there and will be going back again


warm and wonderful

5 sur avril 01, 2012

This was our first stay here and the innkeepers were great. We were treated like close friends and were given very personal service. I want to live next door....


First time B&B experience

4,4 sur janvier 03, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dowell House in McKinney this past weekend. It was our first bed and breakfast experience and we couldn't have been more pleased. Everything was wonderful! From the romantic set room to the fantastic bath tub and excellent breakfast filled with educational conversation was everything we expected and more! We will be making a trip back sometime and are telling everyone we know about our experience.


Brandi and Aaron's Wedding Stay

4,8 sur décembre 05, 2011

It was truly a pleasure to stay. The Service was impecable and the food was outstanding. We do intend to return each year for the anniversary. Thanks a million for the great memories.


Revisting 1870 in luxury

5 sur octobre 25, 2011

Dowell House is beautiful; the food is fabulous; the Muellers (innkeepers) are just do a great job. It's the place to go if you want to feel pampered.


Loved it!

4,2 sur septembre 06, 2011

Diane and Fred are wonderful hosts. The house is lovely and our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. I highly recommend this B&B!!


Best Bed and Breakfast and "Benji"

5 sur août 01, 2011

The Muellers are the sweetest people ever! For our first experience in a Bed and Breakfast they made it great! Will definently stay again. In fact we have some friends that have already booked for their 25th anniversary!! Great breakfast too!!


Chardonnay Room

4,6 sur juillet 18, 2011

We contacted the Muellers mid-week for a last minute get-away and were so pleased to find out someone had cancelled, just in time for us to make a reservation. As soon as I entered the beautiful room in yellow and ivory tones with soft classical music playing in the background, my heart race slowed and I felt more peaceful! The balcony and private hot tub were a real plus. Every detail was taken care of, including bug spray and a flashlight (we didn't need the bug spray!). Beautiful furnishings and an incredible breakfast rounded out our stay. We will definitely be making plans to go back to the Dowell House. Kathie and Lee Wichita Falls, Texas


Our anniversary

4,2 sur juin 27, 2011

We had a wonderful, relaxing time at the Dowell House. Diane and Fred were great hosts, and we felt like were at home with them.


Dowell House was clean, quiet, and enjoyable

4,6 sur mars 28, 2011

We made our reservation at Dowell House in great part because of the Chardonnay room's private deck and hot tub - which turned out to be amazing. Fred and Diane, the proprietors, were pleasant and welcoming, and breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this b and b to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing weekend.


A fantastic in-town mini-vacation!

5 sur mars 28, 2011

This 1870's antebellum-style house was a treat to stay in. The room was comfortable and the jacuzzi / patio was great. Diane and Fred were excellent hosts and our breakfast was delicious. Great for single night getaways or multi-night stays. Thank you!


Just immaculate!!

3,6 sur janvier 31, 2011

The Muellers were fabulous! The house is immaculate, the bathroom was so clean, the bed and linens were so soft...really impressed! Enjoyed their helpfulness in locating a dinner spot and giving us directions to the nature trail behind their home. We will definitely recommend the Dowell House to our friends and hope to return their ourselves soon!


Great Hosts, Great Value, Great Accommodations

5 sur janvier 24, 2011

Combine the most beautiful room with a hot tub on a private balcony, comfortable bed in a quiet surrounding, and the result is an experience not achievable in a traditional hotel room. In combination with the historical surroundings and gracious hosts, I would recommend the Dowell House to all who desire a great B&B experience.


Great anniversary stay

4,8 sur janvier 16, 2011

We spent our 16th anniversary with the Meulers. The welcomed us into their home as they would have if we were family. We stayed in the Bordeaux room and it was opulent. Great breakfast also!


Great Escape!

4,2 sur novembre 08, 2010

My wife and I spent this past Saturday night at the Dowell House and had a wonderful experience. The Owners/Innkeepers provided everything that wer needed. We were greeted at the door and were treated like long time family members. We stayed in the Chardonnay Room and really enjoyed the hot tub after we returned from dinner with friends. In the morning we were treated to a wonderful breakfast fixed by Fred. The pecan waffles were excellent and I had to have a second helping. Overall a wonderful stay and will be back in the future!!! Thanks so much for the wonderful hospitality!!!


The Dowell House - A little bit of history

4,6 sur octobre 14, 2010

Staying at the Dowell House was like a little bit of history for my wife and I. We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary with a night away from the kids. what made this B&B extra special were (1) only 2 guest rooms made for lots of individual attention by the inskeepers Diane and Fred - we were the only guests (2) Hearing the histrory of the house's existance and how it was used for the original Benji Movie, and (3) the Chardonnay room has a balcony with a 2-person hot-tub that was a great serendipity.


A nice stay.

4,0 sur octobre 10, 2010

We stayed at Dowell house overnight for our anniversary. Fred and Diane were super friendly and we really enjoyed talking with them. The breakfast was very good and I would recommend anyone that would like to explore downtown McKinney to stay here. The house is located just south of the main square.


Delightful ladies getaway!

5 sur septembre 07, 2010

We had such a great time. The b & b was lovely and we certainly felt pampered. Loved the candlelight breakfast and good company of the inn keepers. We laughed alot. Breakfast was varied and good! We received lots of good tips on things to do from The Muellers. Cute town! Great experience!


Charming B&B

4,4 sur mars 22, 2010

We went to Dowell House to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. The Mueller's worked with me to ensure my husbands gift was in the room prior to us arriving. They met us at the door when we did arrive, showed us the house and personally unlocked our bedroom door. The room was romantic and timeless. The Mueller's attention to every detail was evident as explored our surroundings. Candles, music and robes were a wonderful touch to our romatic evening. Our candlelit full breakfast was scrumptous. We will be returning in the future!


A time to relax

5 sur novembre 10, 2009

What a wonder to visit this beautiful home in McKinney. We felt ourselves go back in time to a slower pace of peace and luxury. Diane and Fred are gracious hosts and very knowledgeable about the home and local sites. A visit to McKinney town square is a must. It has a lot of good places to eat and shops to explore. It seemed our every desire for a "get-a-way" was considered by our hosts. A pleasant surprise for my husband was a TV in our room. I enjoyed the decor and private bath along with the beautiful rooms we were able to relax in. The breakfast was wonderful especially those baked apples. As a parting gift, we received a photo of ourselves in this wonderful home. Go visit, you too will enjoy. L and D


First Romantic Getaway

4,8 sur août 24, 2009

This was the first chance that my girlfriend and I had to spend a quiet, romantic night with each other, and it was absolutely fabulous! The hot tub was an excellent feature that helped us relax and enjoy our stay. We will definitely be going back and will highly recommend the Dowell House to friends and family.


A wonderful B&B experience

4,6 sur janvier 20, 2009

We have been coming to the Dowell House for the past 7 or so years and each visit has solidified our high opinion of this B&B and its great hosts. We highly recommend it for an excellent get away and an enjoyable experience.


A Romantic Night

3,4 sur décembre 31, 2008

We stayed in the Bordeaux Room which had a wonderfully comfortable bed. The sheets and pillows were luxurious as well as the charm of the room. The whirlpool bath was an added delight after traveling. The town of McKinney has a welcoming flavor of celebration and friendliness as we walked the square after dinner. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and visiting with the innkeepers. Thank you for a wonderful stay!


Sharing with the Innkeepers!

4,0 sur août 16, 2008

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful overnight stay at this historic B&B. What a relaxing, comfortable place to stay. Over a yummy breakfast, the Muellers shared stories of the history of this beautiful home.


Relaxing Retreat

5 sur juin 26, 2008

What a great place for a mother/daughter getaway! The history of the property is intriguing along with the fact that the property was used in the film "Benji". My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed Diane and Fred and their wonderful B&B. The waffles were delicious and the room was spotless. We will definitely return to Dowell House.


Picture perfect - great place!

4,8 sur avril 09, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Dowell House. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and it was very quiet and relaxing. The innkeepers are wonderful people who treated us to an amazing breakfast. We would definitely recommend the room with the hot tub on the deck. We're so glad we found this B&B and plan to go again.


An ideal weekend getaway!

5 sur avril 08, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Dowell House for our weekend getaway. The Muellers were super friendly and provided us with the tastiest breakfasts we've had in years. The house itself is charming, and the hot tub on the deck outside the Chardonnay Room was so luxurious that we decided to buy one for ourselves! McKinney is a lovely town, and is just the right distance from Dallas for an impromptu trip into the city. We loved it, and plan on staying there again in the future.


Excellent pampering!

5 sur avril 07, 2008

Excellent rooms and pampering service!


A Romatic Stay!

5 sur juin 26, 2007

Enjoyed the hospitality of the Dowell House very much. The owners are wonderful, attentive hosts! A delicious breakfast and all the attention to detail that makes a difference! Convenient to the square, and the Chardonnay room's private balcony and hot tub made it a weekend to remember!


Wonderful getaway

5 sur juin 23, 2007

What a great place to stay and get out of the city. This lovely home is full of antiques, but is comfortable, not stuffy. The shopping on the old town square is close by, but not so close that it is noisy. We had lots of privacy.


Dowell House c1870

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $135 - $155
  • Avis (42) 4,7
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9725622456

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut