Lost Bayou Guesthouse Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
127 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Kind and Caring

4,2 sur novembre 12, 2014

While my husband and I felt the price was a little much for a room with very thin walls and no TV, we also greatly appreciated and were grateful for the amazing customer service. I can't say enough good about all of the little things that they did for us to make sure we were taken care of. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B.


Wonderful Experience

5 sur novembre 11, 2014

This was our first time at a B&B. From the minute we walked in it felt like staying at grandmas. Dave and Maria were excellent host. Made you feel right at home. Maria is a great cook and provided a nice variety. We would highly recommend the Lost Bayou!! Can't wait for a return visit.


Like Staying with Family

5 sur novembre 10, 2014

Historic, comfy beds, like minded guests, superb homemade breakfasts, very attentive and accommodating. Highly recommended.


Wonderful Hosts

4,2 sur novembre 05, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Lost Bayou Guesthouse B&B, and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the food was delicious, and the house is located in a quiet, safe neighborhood. An added bonus was the guests' lounge which was well supplied with beverages and snacks. Dave and Maria are wonderful hosts - very friendly and helpful - which made our stay very pleasant. I've already recommended the Lost Bayou to friends and would be happy to stay there again.


A Must Stay

4,4 sur octobre 29, 2014

Thank you for offering a one night stay. It was a perfect get away for a day and night stay, but wish we could have stayed longer. Pristine. Historical. Beautiful. Gracious hospitality. Only suggestion would be to add some "bam" to breakfast with some Louisiana flavor and a little background music. Thank you kindly. We'll see you again soon!


Excellent stay at a perfect location with gracious hosts!

4,8 sur octobre 14, 2014

Our brief 2 night stay at Lost Bayou with Maria and Dave was too short. It was such a cozy home and we slept like babies; feeling like we were at grandmas house. Cookies and snacks in the sitting room, excellent breakfasts, and perfectly placed in walking distance of many great restaurants. We loved our time here and would recommend it over any hotel. Maria and Dave made us feel very welcome and we would stay again in a heartbeat!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure meeting both of you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Galveston. We hope to see you again soon.


1st B&B, stay before our Cruise

4,6 sur octobre 05, 2014

A friend suggested to stay before our cruise. Location is within walking distance from the beach. David provided useful info about the surrounding for this 1st time Galveston visitor. We will stay here again!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a great time during your cruise.


The BEST place to start your cruise!

5 sur septembre 22, 2014

Our stay at The Lost Buyou was a very enjoyable experience and we surely look forward to coming back to this wonderful three story home. We love going to top B & B's which are historical, beautiful, and have super hosts to create the perfect stay. They are conveniently located close to the harbor for our cruise ship as well as near the beach. We look forward to returning soon and highly recommend this place to all travelers going to Galveston.


A Gem!

5 sur septembre 22, 2014

Our experience created by Maria and Dave is one that walking into the Lost Bayou Guesthouse you feel like you are home! Everything that one may need for comfort is available, including bikes to tour Galveston! We will definitely return; Highly recommend the Lost Bayou Guesthouse for a weekend getaway, week of pampering or a family summer vacation! Thank you Maria and Dave! Cindy and Mike


Relaxing Get Away

4,6 sur septembre 10, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a quiet relaxing place to spend a few days after a high stress period of time. We could not have picked a better spot, David and Maria were amazingly gracious hosts, the accomodations were very nice, and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely consider them for another stay in the future and would recommend them to anyone looking for a great spot to spend some time away.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for taking the time to post the review. It was our pleasure meeting and visiting with both of you. We are happy to know that we were able to provide you with a place to get away and relax. We hope to see you again on a near future.


Wonderful stay!

5 sur août 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time - great hosts, comfortable room, good food. We will definitely stay again!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We love to hear from our guests! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.


25th Anniversary Vacation

5 sur août 05, 2014

Maria and Dave bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne icing in a bucket on our anniversary, They had great suggestions on everything from best beach, places to eat, sights to see and where to shop. They were like walking encyclopedias on Galveston. We will definitely stay with Maria and Dave when we return and would recommend everyone to stay at the Lost Bayou Guesthouse.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you and we enjoyed very much visiting with you during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.


Lost Bayou

5 sur août 01, 2014

I am not a fan of B&B's but will return to the Lost Bayou. Maria&Dave are wonderful hosts. Give guests their privacy! Place is spotless! Maria is a great cook. Came as a guest, leave as a friend!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.


Wonderful time! Thank you, Dave and Maria!

4,6 sur août 01, 2014

My mother and I stayed overnight (Monday - Tuesday) in the Santa Fe room. Beautiful home, rooms, and wonderful hospitality. We would definitely go back. Only suggestion to Dave and Maria would be to put a fan in the third-story bathroom for the summer. Other than that, everything was outstanding. Thank you.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure meeting both of you. Also thank you for your feedback regarding the fan. We will definite look into adding one to the bathroom.


Gracious hospitality

4,6 sur juin 30, 2014

This is a lovely place to pass the evenings when in Galveston. We were on the third floor, with a private bath. Safe secure and quiet. We got a great night's sleep and interesting conversation at breakfast!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Also meeting and conversing with the other guests. Breakfast time is our favorite time of the day!


A very welcoming, perfect birthday weekend!

5 sur juin 25, 2014

Dave and Maria are outstanding host. Enjoyed a remarkable birthday weekend "getaway" at the Lost Bayou House. They accommodated every need and request I had. Most definitely would do it all over again.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review and for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good birthday celebration. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope to see you again.


Great Place To Stay!

5 sur mai 28, 2014

Best experience ever at a Bed and Breakfast. Recommended for anyone staying on Galveston!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very, very much. We loved it that you had a good visit to Galveston and enjoyed so much your stayed with us.


Our stay at Lost Bayou Guesthouse

5 sur avril 30, 2014

Lost Bayou Guesthouse is very peaceful. It is in a charming neighborhood, walking distance to the beach. Great food and the bicycles are a bonus.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and using the bicycles around town! Comeback to see us soon.


Cruise stop over

5 sur avril 28, 2014

We stayed here the night before a cruise and it was amazing!!! Situated between The Strand and the beach for easy access to both. Maria was an awesome hostess and the breakfast was perfect! Cruise parking was also included to add to the value of this stay. We'll be back next year.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for the review and your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a wonderful time during your cruise. We hope to see you next time you come to Galveston.


Caring, friendly and professional hosts made a great stay!

4,6 sur avril 17, 2014

We stayed in the Lost Bayou Guest House for one night preceeding and one night after our cruise. Dave and Maria are consummate hosts. They think of things you need before you need them. The common area/refreshment centre/snack centre was lovely and equipped with all sorts of tea, juice, coffee, bottled water and snacks. They are located in a quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of the old Historic District and a 5 minute taxi ride to the Pier. They provided great suggestions for dining and were a wealth of information about the history of Galveston. Our room was well appointed and the window air conditioner kept us cool. I would highly recommend you stay in this lovely home. Thanks again, Dave and Maria

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love for you to comeback and stay with us on your next trip to Galveston. We hope you had a great time during your cruise.


Quiet, Quaint, and Accomodating!

5 sur avril 10, 2014

I needed a nice relaxing place to stay the night before Ironman Texas. Lost Bayou exceeded that. Will be returning again and again!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review and kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations on your Ironman!. We hope to see you again soon.


Gracious Hosts

4,4 sur mars 11, 2014

The Dunns are gracious hosts and were very generous in the free use of their bicycles. The Santa Fe room is spacious and very comfortable. Great amenities.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for taking the time to write the review and for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and we are glad you enjoyed the bikes. We hope to see you again soon.


An Excellent Choice

4,2 sur février 26, 2014

Delightful B&B in an historic old building. Amenities were more than adequate, with coffee, tea, juice, and snacks available around the clock. Hosts were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Couldn't have asked for more.


Perfect Bed and Breakfast

5 sur février 20, 2014

This stay was a gift to my parents and they thoroughly enjoyed their visit. Maria and Dave were exceptional hosts and every detail was perfect. The food was amazing the room was a quiet oasis. I would highly recommend.


Love this place!

5 sur février 02, 2014

Dave & Maria are the best hosts! Stay here whenever we can! All the rooms are great!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words. It is always a pleasure to see you and to visit with both of you. We look forward to your next visit.


Will stay again

5 sur janvier 26, 2014

Stayed the night prior to a cruise out of Galveston. It was a relaxing start to a fantastic vacation. Dave and Maria were friendly and helpful. It was like being with old friends even though we had never met them before. Cruise parking was easier and more convenient than dealing with the shuttle and the car was safe and sound when we returned. Highly recommend them.


Romantic birthday/New Year getaway

4,6 sur janvier 05, 2014

Owner Maria is super-helpful and friendly. We loved the sitting room with coffee, tea and soft drinks available at any time. She made us two very good breakfasts and encouraged us to visit the many wildlife sculptures made from hurricane-ravaged trees in the neighborhood. We liked the fact that we had our own code to get in and out of the house/bedroom. Conveniently located close to downtown. Our only gripe was that in the Oleander room there is only a curtain separating the bedroom from the bathroom. A door would have been nice. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your review and feedback. It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Galveston. I apologize that the Oleander room was not at 100% satisfaction. We want our guests to have a wonderful experience and feel 100% comfortable during their stayed with us. We will take your comment in consideration as we made changes to the rooms.


Wonderful People, Wondeful Stay

4,6 sur décembre 05, 2013

We had a lovely stay the night before our cruise. The innkeepers, Dave and Maria, are so warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. We shared a delicious breakfast visiting with them and the other guests. The cruise parking at the Railroad Museum worked out great and we would definitely do this again. We highly recommend staying here and look forward to our next visit.


Great stay before a cruise

4,6 sur décembre 02, 2013

I had a great time and saved $70 on cruise parking.


Convenience, Charm, and Location, Location, Location

5 sur novembre 16, 2013

I stayed at this lovely B&B the second weekend of November 2013. The location is amazing -- just blocks from the beach (where I ran every morning) and blocks from The Strand (where I went shopping every day) and blocks from great restaurants (I recommend Farley Girls, where I went every night). I like that there is both a front and back entrance to the B&B, so if you park in the back you can walk right up to your room from your car (and same thing if you park in front). Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.


Outstanding!

5 sur novembre 15, 2013

Awesome B&B. We are definitely going back!


Great place! Will definately return!

5 sur novembre 04, 2013

This is our 2nd stay, this time with new owners. Our 1st stay was a few years ago and we have been wanting to return. My fiance found this beautiful bed and breakfast, primarily because they had a special room labelled the Elissa room. Her name is Elisa so it was something that caught her eye. The new owners are very special people and made us feel quite at home. Even before we stayed, we had a scheduling conflict that Maria (one of the owners), worked with us wonderfully to make things great! The weather was beautiful and our stay was very special! I must mention that we were able to stay in the Elissa room this time and it was very very nice! An added benefit was that Maria prepared a family style breakfast the next morning and we were able to visit with her and her husband. Very special place!


Great place to stay.

4,0 sur novembre 02, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lost Bayou before going on a cruise. We really enjoyed our stay and Maria and Dave were outstanding host. The room we stayed in was very clean and the breakfast was good. The free cruise parking at the Old Railroad Museum that was included with our stay was within walking distance of the cruise terminal and I felt our car was secure. We plan stay at the Lost Bayou again.


Leisure while Relaxing

4,0 sur octobre 22, 2013

I was looking for a relaxing place to stay before and after my cruise. Dave & Maria made everything easy and accomadating. Leasiure & Relaxing in this Historic House.


Overnight at Galveston

4,2 sur octobre 20, 2013

I would recommend this guest house (and have already) to anyone planning to stay in Galveston. Clean rooms, friendly owners in turn of the last century building in a mixed neighborhood. We'll be back.


Clean and Friendly

5 sur octobre 16, 2013

We stayed this past weekend and had a wonderful experience. Maria greeted us each day with a smile and made us feel like old friends. We will be back soon!!!


First time in Galveston

4,2 sur octobre 09, 2013

The owners are amazingly friendly and helpful. The room was small, but we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in it outside of sleeping. The breakfast was friendly and awesome. I thought the value for money was great. I am hoping to go back and stay longer and explore the area. I love that they provide a small "living room," which they stock with snacks and drinks.


Top Notch

5 sur septembre 05, 2013

Great room in a great location. Walking distance to the beach and near the tourist spots in downtown. Host and hostess were very gracious and accommodating. Will stay there again on our next visit to Galveston.


Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

4,2 sur septembre 01, 2013

This B&B was charming and the hosts clearly knew how to make guests feel comfortable and seemed genuinely interested in them. I would have preferred a bit more for breakfast - casseroles both mornings, but it tasted good and the conversation was wonderful. It is also LGBT friendly, which I appreciated very much for a B&B in Texas.


Bed and Breakfast Excellent Stay

4,4 sur août 28, 2013

Our stay was very comfortable. The room was outstanding in cleanliness! Very friendly people and the food was excellent!


A Wonderfull Stay

4,4 sur août 28, 2013

The hosts, Maria and Dave were like family and the stay was like visiting your best friends. Outstanding service, way much better that one gets in a hotel for the same price. Yet it is not overbearing, you have your privacy. We will visit with them again!


Awesome!

5 sur août 22, 2013

What a wonderful B&B to just sit back and relax. Dave and Maria were wonderful host and the breakfast was so good. Will stay here whenever we are in the area!


Great get-a-way

4,8 sur août 14, 2013

Small, charming, and away from the madness of the sea wall hotel area. We enjoyed our stay tremendously.


Great breadfast and quiet

5 sur juillet 29, 2013

Stayed night before left for a 5day cruise. Parking was only two blocks from terminal. Breakfast was wonderful. Was only expecting maybe some coffee, juice and bagels. Maria had fresh fruit, coffee, juice, delicious cranberry muffins and a wonderful breakfast chiche. Eggs, potatoes and lots of bacon. Would definitely love to stay longer next time.


Galveston stay for the 4th of Julyl

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2013

Great value for a stay in Galveston over the summer vacation period.


Awesome weekend getaway!!!

5 sur juillet 17, 2013

Excellent place and within walking distance from Seawall Blvd. Our hosts Maria and Dave were very nice. The room was awesome, very comfortable and beautiful.


All the stars!

5 sur juin 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. We LOVED it. I can not say more good things about Lost Bayou. It was clean and Maria and Dave are so friendly. We stayed in the Elissa room and it was perfect size for just 2 people.


Historical place to stay in Galveston

4,0 sur juin 25, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Lost Bayou. Maria and Dave are great hosts, the Oleander room was exceptionally comfortable, and the breakfasts and other refreshments were nicely executed. Why stay in a typical chain hotel in Galveston when a place like this is available. Nice quiet location, local eateries nearby, and generally convenient to historical districts and the beach. Family style service for breakfast provides opportunities to mix with other guests. I think everyone staying there was very satisfied. We will go back.


Charming B&B

4,0 sur juin 20, 2013

The Innkeepers of the B&B were very sweet and welcoming to all the guests and were very understanding that we came in a little late as we drove from El Paso which was 11 hours. This is a very nice place to stay if you are going on cruise because they will give paperwork the day of your cruise to go park for FREE at the railroad museum which is only 2 blocks away from cruise terminal.


6/8/13 - 6/9/13

5 sur juin 12, 2013

Our stay in Galveston was amazing. The rooms were immaculate and the property looked great. It was our first time in a bed and breakfast and we will come back.


Home away from home!!!

4,4 sur juin 09, 2013

I took my husband to the Lost Bayou Guesthouse for his birthday. It felt like our home away from home. Maria and Dave make everyone feel like one of the family. The homemade family style breakfast was amazing!!! Thanks for a wonderful weekend.- Tiffany Flock


Nice place

4,2 sur mai 26, 2013

Clean, wonderful inn keepers. Breakfast was sort of small compared to other bed and breakfast's I've been too but was still good. Service was fantastic, neighborhood was beautiful. Close to the beach (walking distance). The house itself was beautiful just personally if I owned a home from 1890 I wouldn't have contemporary modern furniture mixed with period pieces. That was my only complaint.


Wonderful Stay!

4,4 sur mars 31, 2013

Owners Dave and Maria are the very cordial, helpful, and hospitable owners of the Lost Bayou Guesthouse. My husband and I had a wonderful time, especially on the bicycles that we didn't expect! The parking at the Railroad Museum turned out to be perfect for our week on the cruise. It's only two blocks from the cruise terminal and secure just as David assured me. I would recommend the Lost Bayou Guesthouse for a long or short stay in Galveston.


Wonderful B and B

5 sur mars 17, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay. It was a convenient location. Close to beach and many activities. the owners were extremely helpful and answered many questions about things to do and places to go.


Exceptional Hosts!!

4,6 sur mars 04, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend at Lost Bayou. It was a fantastic experience that included a relaxed setting, great location, and a very clean property (room, bathroom, and exterior). What I will remember most is the hospitality of the hosts, David and Maria! Highly recommend!


Perfect for a Getaway from the Big City

4,8 sur janvier 30, 2013

My husband and I had tickets to the Grand and wanted to spend the night in Galveston rather than drive back to Houston late Saturday night after the show. We found Lost Bayou on bedandbreakfast.com but really knew nothing about it except it was a good location for our needs and was reasonably priced. Wow - were we in for a treat! The owners are incredible - helpful, welcoming - really delightful. They offered good dining and shopping tips, and were a pleasure to visit with. Our room was lovely, and had all the comforts of home. We will be back!


Galveston Getaway

4,4 sur janvier 24, 2013

Central, convenient location. Nice property and great hosts.


Cruise ship bound

4,2 sur janvier 02, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lost Bayou the night before we left for our cruise. It is an older house and the rooms aren't anything fancy but it was very clean. The owners were the sweetest people you would ever want to meet. Pop, juice and cookies were wating for us when we arrived and breakfast was very nice the next morning. It is not walking distance to the water but it is very short dri ve to the water and to the ship. The best part was we were able to leave our car for free at the train museum( which was across the street from the ship). That makes the room well worth the cost!!! We will stay here on our next cruise!!


Beautiful old house and friendly hosts

4,0 sur décembre 12, 2012

Lost Bayou is a survivor of the 1900 storm and subsequent raising of the island. It has been beautifully restored and maintained with nice ambiance. Maria and Dave are new to the B&B business and are excellent hosts. The home is in a convenient location. The one slight disappointment is there was no home-cooked breakfast but rather croissants and breakfast tacos from a nearby bakery to accompany the fresh fruit and great coffee.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your thoughtful feedback and review! We enjoyed your stay with us. As new owners of a great existing B&B, we are always looking for ways to improve the overall guest experience. Good news! As of the beginning of this year, we are now offering a full breakfast served family style in our downstairs dining room. We hope you will visit us again when you come back to Galveston Island.


Great experience, and wonderful hosts!

5 sur novembre 22, 2012

Great experience and gracious hosts. Will definitely stay there again!


BestB&B I ever stayed at

5 sur septembre 24, 2012

I travel infrequently because I never sleep well in beds other than my own and this time I was stressed (sister's funeral). Lost Bayou felt like home - slept like a baby. Dave and Maria were the most perfect hosts. Highly recommend Lost Bayou.


the BEST!

5 sur août 22, 2012

We stayed for one night and it was amazing! Maria and Dave are super sweet folks. The house is very safe, comfortable and homey. It is very serene! I'll definitely come back to visit AND recommend it to my friends!! Keep doing what you're doing. :)


Great B and B in Galveston

5 sur août 13, 2012

Made a last minute reservation to stay on the island for a 10k race my husband and I were running. The owners (new as of May), Dave and Maria were so friendly and accomodating. They even left us a goody bag of protein bars and Gu packets for our run. How thoughtful! Even though it was the two of us, the only room available was the Santa Fe which has 2 queen beds. The rooms is very spacious and nice, but it was really the personal touches from the owners that made our stay amazing. The house is very cute and has a nice front and back porch that we will come back and enjoy when the weather is better.


Bayou Charm

3,8 sur juillet 28, 2012

Very nice and comfortable 1890's home. Welcoming hosts. Lost Bayou is close to the Strand and Seawall. We enjoyed our visit to Galveston and the Lost Bayou is a wonderful place to stay.


A great place for some time at the beach!

4,4 sur juillet 25, 2012

Dave and Maria were awesome! And the food was great. They have bicycles you can use, although the beach is an easy walk.


Pleasant overnight stay before leaving on a cruise

5 sur juillet 01, 2012

I made the reservation to stay at the Lost Bayou Guesthouse because they had free parking near the cruise terminal for our 5 day cruise that saved us $50 and they did not require a 2 day minimum stay like a lot of the other B&Bs in Galveston. We rode their bicycles on the seawall after our arrival in the afternoon and ate dinner at an alternative venue suggested by our hosts. They were very accomodating, helped us with our luggage, and made sure that we had everything for a pleasant overnight stay. They provided a a gluten free breakfast for my wife and provided snacks, bottled water, and other soft drinks in the breakfast area on the second floor. We stayed in the Garden Room on the second floor, a very comfortable room that had access to a courtyard in the back of the B&B and off street parking in the rear of the building. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely book there again in the future.


We will be back

3,2 sur juin 07, 2012

Despite the disastrous beginning to our 38th anniversary, Sabrina and I enjoyed what time we had with our friendly hosts. We will definitely be back, this time with our luggage, for a more relaxed stay to explore more of Galveston. Good luck David and Maria.


McCloud Honeymoon

5 sur mai 18, 2012

My husband and I went for our honeymoon recently and fell in love with the place. We felt right at home as soon as we arrived. Everyone was very courteous and made us feel welcome. Next year we are planning to go back for our anniversary. Thank you so much - Kimi and Alan McCloud


Best place to stay for special occasions

5 sur mai 05, 2012

My husband and I had a great time. We went for our honeymoon. Breakfast was great! Our rooms were clean and beatiful. We will be returning soon :)


Lost Bayou getaway

5 sur mai 02, 2012

Had a great stay. Wonderful service. Loved the central location and being away from the crowds and traffic. Very comfortable stay. Thanks!


Lost Bayou Guesthouse

4,4 sur avril 15, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay if you are going on a cruise. Not only do hey let you stay for one night, most places in Galveston required two nights stay, you also get to park your car for free ($70.00 savings for a 7 day cruise). The guesthouse is less than 5 minutes from the ship terminal and the parking for the cruise, that they provided, was at the old railroad museum, about two blocks away from the cruise terminal. The owner was great and friendly, we talked to him for over an hour in the morning before our cruise over coffee and danish. All in all, I would recomend this bed and breakfast.......


Perfect Central Location

3,6 sur février 16, 2012

Lost Bayou lived up to the reviews I read before booking. It is in a great location if you want to walk to either the Strand or the Seawall. We stayed during the first weekend of Mardi Gras in February 2012, and the room was very quiet even with concerts going on near the Strand. Phil is a great host that makes the place feel like home. The house is very well maintained and even with other guests you have your own private room that feels private. There is also a common room where friends can be made over breakfast. The house has great electronic code door locks on all the doors so all guests can come and go and both the house and the rooms feel quite secure. We would definitely stay here again because we felt very well taken care of and the location is great for seeing much of what Galveston has to offer.


The place to stay in Galveston

4,8 sur décembre 21, 2011

It was such a shame that we only had the one night to enjoy the hospitality and service offered by this beautiful B&B. We would have liked to say a week and really explore the area, but we just didn't have the time. Highly recommended for exceptional service, the breakfast was amazing, and the house just beautiful. Well done Phil.


Perfect Galveston B&B

4,8 sur novembre 20, 2011

Stayed two nights prior to departing for a cruise...Perfect way to start a vacation!


great time

4,4 sur octobre 26, 2011

We had a great time in Galveston at the Lost Bayou. The property is in a great central location. The old house is beautiful and well maintained. The breakfast was fantastic, and Phil is a wonderful host. We would love to return again to Lost Bayou.


perfect place for an anniversary getaway!

5 sur octobre 19, 2011

This was the place where we celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary. It was really quaint place for an overnight getaway! Very polite but unobtrusive owners. The continental breakfast was ideal for breakfast in bed.


A lovely Saturday night

4,0 sur octobre 12, 2011

This is one of the few B&Bs in Galveston that will take a single-night reservation on a weekend. My husband volunteered all day aboard the Elissa tall ship, handling both maintenance and sail training. So he popped back to the Lost Bayou -- Elissa room, of course -- for a shower (water-saving shower heads are necessary, but frustrating!) before our night out. We came back later to a comfy bed and A/C we could adjust ourselves. Phil provided a tasty continental breakfast on Sunday morning based on our choices the night before, and he spent some time telling us about the house and things happening in the area.


Delightful visit at Lost Bayou Guesthouse

4,4 sur août 31, 2011

The "community room" was nicely stocked with sodas, juices, bottled water, fresh fruits, teas, chips, and chocolate cake! Sitting area was comfortable. We really appreciated this cozy room and snacks as a nice place to gather at the end of the day.


August 20th Stay

4,8 sur août 26, 2011

We had a wonderful time. Phil DeMarco is the perfect host at this location.


Fabulous!

4,8 sur juillet 26, 2011

A quick overnight stay in a beautiful home with charming hospitality.


Great service and attention

4,8 sur juillet 23, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this guesthouse. The breakfast was superb (choice of hot breakfast option and fresh fruit / coffee). The staff were inviting and friendly. The guesthouse is a short walk to the seawall and literally across the road (diagonally) from a great little cafe. Our room was clean and spacious. We would stay again. A+++++ Thank you Phil and his cousin Andre


Lost Bayou stay

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2011

Room and host (Phil) were very nice, we will be back. Although check in time wasn't till afternoon, Phil let me drop off our bag since we drove down on a motorcycle and were going to go to Moody Gardens and didn't want to have to drag our bag around.


Great Location and Great B and B in Galveston

4,0 sur juillet 04, 2011

Our hosts were so nice and made sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast will last you til your evening meal. Nice place.


seaside visit

4,8 sur juin 14, 2011

The Lost Bayou is a great value in a very quite area but a short trip to the beach and the main attractions. Excellent service, fantastic rooms and great breakfast! Outstanding in every aspect!


A Lost Gem ....

4,0 sur juin 08, 2011

We had been considering a weekend getaway to Galveston. I asked my fiancée to check a few things out. We have stayed at a variety of hotels but she wanted something different. She searched and came across this gem through her searching. As she was checking things out, she noticed one of the rooms was named Elissa (much like her name). We were set. She confirmed the booking and surprised me with this reservation. Out stay was wonderful. The property was incredible and the proprietor, Phil, was more than what we expected. He provided us with a very comfortable stay and we believe we now have a new friend. Absolutely, Lost Bayou Guesthouse will be the top of our list for upcoming visits.


fun stay at the Lost Bayou

3,2 sur juin 07, 2011

We enjoyed out stay and the conversation with Phil at the Lost Bayou. The house is close to the beach and a pleasurable walk. We enjoyed the neighborhood and the chance to get away from the hotel/motel atmosphere. It was an easy and uncomplicated drive to the Strand.


I cannot recommend this enough!

5 sur juin 01, 2011

Our stay was very very pleasant. The host is gracious, knowledgeable and kind. The rooms are very nice and homey and the location was great! We walked to the seawall daily and our host, Phil, shared information about history, restaurants, and local events to our delight. We have been twice and will go again!


You can walk to the beach from this B & B!

4,4 sur mai 26, 2011

My husband and I were leaving on a cruise Sunday and decided to go to Galveston a day early and stay the night. I am so happy that I booked the Garden room at The Lost Bayou Guesthouse! It was a beautiful room that was exceptionally clean and comfortable. My husband and I drove from Dallas, so when we arrived the first thing we did was walk to the beach. We took a nice stroll up and down the boardwalk and when we returned we had worked up an appetite. Phil told us about several wonderful restaurants in the area and he even had menus available so that we could pick out exactly what we wanted and head out to that restaurant. After dinner, we returned to The Lost Bayou Guesthouse and had a relaxing night. We woke to a breakfast of fresh baked croissants and a spectacular display of fresh fruits. This was my husband's first B & B experience and he was pleasantly surprised. Phil was a wonderful host. We will definitely be back to The Lost Bayou Guesthouse.


A historic expirience

4,0 sur mai 18, 2011

An interesting weekend in the city of Galveston. A sleepy city with lots of interesting houses. Different from the lively beacharea.


Lost Bayou Guesthouse, Galveston

3,8 sur mai 01, 2011

My wife and I normally stay in Hotels, but decided that a Victorian B&B may be nice for a change. We were very pleasantly surprised by Lost Bayou which is in the historic distric of Galveston, close to the promenade but out of traffic, a well restored Victorian residence with lovely multi level decks that catch the sea breeze, perfect for the glass of wine as the sun sets. Phil De Marco was the perfect host we sat and talked for hours about Galveston, the Victorian homes and the hurricanes of note. Phil certainly knows a lot about the local history and he is so friendly. Looking forward to my next visit.........


Weekend away

3,6 sur avril 14, 2011

The breakfast and free snacks were great! I've been to several Bed and Breakfasts and this is the first one to provide so many additional goodies. I also appreciated the security with the key pads. Our room was very basic, but clean and comfortable. Parking was fine and the location was great. Phil was very helpful. I'd recommend it!


relaxed getaway

4,4 sur avril 14, 2011

Very relaxing atmosphere...Phil was a great host! We will definitely visit again!!!


Great Stay!!

4,8 sur avril 01, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. The Sante Fe room up on the top floor was very spacious and the beds were really comfy. Phil is a wonderful host -- very accommodating and helpful. Parking was great, location was convenient and easy to find. Common lounge area is comfortable, and the breakfast was unbeatable!! Highly recommend this B & B, and would definitely stay there again!!


Wedding Night at Lost Bayou

4,6 sur avril 01, 2011

We got married this afternoon and our cruise doesn't leave until next weekend so we wanted to get away somewhere for out wedding night. We absolutely enjoyed Lost Bayou. The host was wonderful and we enjoyed a very relaxing night and morning... just the ticket after the stressful week getting ready for the wedding. Thanks again, Phil.


Mardi Gras weekend

4,2 sur mars 10, 2011

Very impressed w accommodations. Perfect location to ride bikes to and from seawall and to and from Strand. Great weekend, great lodging, great innkeeper, great guests, great decks and porches. Loved how clean the house was kept.


Random weekend in February

4,0 sur février 28, 2011

Two of us decided last minute to make a trip to Galveston for a weekend night. The lost bayou was happy to take us in for just one night (unlike some other b&b's). The place is very warm, very friendly, and very comfortable. We greatly enjoyed our stay!


Nice and Cozy

4,0 sur février 22, 2011

This was my first experience at a B & B, and it was very nice. Phil and Chito were both exceptional hosts and very kind and gracious. If I had to do it again, I would change only one thing...plan a longer stay.


Amazing place to spend New Years Eve!

5 sur janvier 05, 2011

My husband and I are newlyweds, and wanted to go to a Bed and Breakfast. I chose the Lost Bayou, and I am so glad I did! When we got to the room that I had chosen for us, we both realized that it was too small for us. (I am very claustrophobic, and was not liking the room at all.) Luckily, my husband called Phil and Phil suggested that we go up to the 3rd floor, to the Sea Breeze room. We both loved it! Phil brought fresh croissants and fruit for breakfast both mornings of our stay, and they were delicious! We are definitely looking forward to planning another trip to the Lost Bayou!!


We'll be back!

4,6 sur novembre 14, 2010

My partner and I stayed only one night before taking a 5-day cruise. Our stay at Lost Bayou, however, was one of the highlights of our vacation. The room and bed were extremely comfortable, and the owner was very attentive and accommodating. In fact, we were already on the ship when we realized we had left behind some important medication. We called him and he graciously brought the medication to the ship and made sure it got to us, saving our vacation. That was above-and-beyond service. It's nice to know that a place like this exists so close to Houston. We'll definitely be back the next time we need a weekend getaway. Thanks!


Thanks Phil!!!

5 sur août 17, 2010

I had a wonderfuly weekend at Lost Bayou Guesthouse! Phil was very friendly, kind, informative and went above and beyond to make my stay great! The room I stayed in- Sea Breeze- was comfortable, beautiful and exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend staying at Lost Bayou! Desa


Really nice place

4,0 sur août 16, 2010

Phil, the owner was really nice and very accomadating. Next time i am in Galveston, I will definitely stay here.


Great Place

3,2 sur août 14, 2010

Lost Bayou is a great place. My partner and I were there for a few weekdays. We had the entire place to ourselves and loved it. However, even if the place was full, I know we would have enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.


Weekend Getaway

4,6 sur août 10, 2010

Great place to stay. Very friendly and hospitable host. Nice room. Lovely house. Good breakfast on the terrace.


Super service and relaxed

4,6 sur mai 04, 2010

We, 5 adults from Spijkeisse,The Netherlands, arrived late afternoon from Houston for just one night in the Lost Bayou. The owner, Phil was very friendly and we could choose what we wanted to eat for breakfast. Fresh fruit was part of the breakfast. The rooms are very beautifully decorated as in the 19th and early 20th century, the furniture is well maintained and the beds are great. Close to the sea but far enough to ensure a quiet night.


Quiet rereat

4,6 sur novembre 03, 2009

Lost Bayou Guesthouse proved to be a pleasant and peaceful retreat for us friends. Our proprietor was most gracious. We hope to stay there again.


We Always Go Back

4,8 sur octobre 24, 2009

We have a standing reservation for two nights during the Lonestar Rally in October every year. We are so fond of Phil and Chito that right after Ike, we drove down to the Island to check on them and take some supplies. We even brought a cake just in case Phil wasn't able to have one in the "Breakfast room". Luckily, the water only came up to the front porch, but Phil was hard at work repairing all the damage. We love staying during the rally because we love the fact that we can be so close to all the mayhem during the day but at night it is quiet and peaceful. Now, if we can just get our foot in the door for Mardi Gras, life would be good. Danny of the DnD Duo 2003 Anniversary Edition Heritage Classic


Outstanding 4th of July Stay

5 sur juillet 05, 2009

Sheri and I stayed 2 days over thre 4th. We found the Lost Bayou B&B on the internet and made resevation. The accomodations were wonderful. It is centrally located and within walking distance of the beach. Phil was a great host. It was like being home. The balcony and landscaped backyard were very nice. We will stay there again.


The first visit, certainly not the last

4,2 sur juin 24, 2009

This was our 6th anniversary, and The Lost Bayou was the perfect place. It was a last minute decision to stay in Galveston, but it turned out so well. The house is exceptional. We felt welcome, and at home. The room was comfortable, the bed was so comfortable, and theres chocolate candy in every room, what a plus! Phil is the perfect gentleman, and a wonderful and caring host. It will be our annual getaway. We will probably look for reasons to stay in Galveston because we have found our home away from home. Ya'll are a 10!!!!!


The Best!

4,8 sur février 10, 2009

Phil and Chito, As I get ready to book my rooms for this years Mardi Gras I realized I have not written a review before. Every year we come you always make us feel so special. From Celebrating birthdays to just making us feel so welcome we always look forward to seeing you both. This year I will be bringin some new folks to add to our group and I just know they will be just as impressed and everyone else I have brought in years past. We just can't wait to see you both. Lynn and Jon Venissat


Great place and location

3,6 sur janvier 13, 2009

Would and will recommend to family, friends, and any one else!


The Perfect Getaway

5 sur août 01, 2008

This was an anniversary trip and we loved the quiet and relaxation. We stayed 2 weeknights and were the only guests. Phil was a wonderful host and took care of everything. The house is a beautiful historic building that has been nicely restored, and has a lovely garden area in back for coffee. The upstairs deck gives a neat view of the neighborhood. We stayed in the "Elissa" room and the bed was very comfortable. The area was quiet and within walking distance of the Seawall. If you like old houses, peace and quiet, and don't care for crowds, then this is a good place to stay.


Great Stay !

5 sur juillet 25, 2008

The stay was outstanding!


Awesome Place

5 sur juin 20, 2008

the service and quality were exceptional. i was nicely surprised by the unexpected amenities and wonderful breakfast. i would definitely stay here again


Loved it

4,6 sur juin 02, 2008

Loved the veranda, coffee, and bed.


Great

5 sur juin 02, 2008

Great hospitality


Friendly and Comfortable

3,8 sur juin 02, 2008

Excellent place to stay. Rooms very comfortable and host extremely friendly.


Lost Bayou Guesthouse

3,8 sur mai 22, 2008

Enjoyed the history of the house and appreciated the beautiful garden in backyard. The beds were awesomely comfy and breakfast was delicious. Great host, great home.


Lost Bayou Guesthouse

5 sur mai 22, 2008

Wonderful experience!


Lost Bayou Guesthouse

4,0 sur mai 22, 2008

It was my second visit. Phil is a great host. The decor of the house and garden is beautiful. I am looking forward to next visit.


Lost Bayou Guesthouse

3,8 sur mai 13, 2008

It was a great weekend! We all enjoyed staying at Lost Bayou!


a MUST stay in Galevston!

5 sur octobre 25, 2007

This is a beautiful B & B with a wonderful owner. My husband and I went for our anniversary and it has to be the best B & B we have stayed at. Phil is wonderful, the food is wonderful and the bed is the MOST comfy bed that you will ever sleep on! My husband can't sleep in beds away from home--but he slept like a baby at the Lost Bayou.


Our new family

5 sur octobre 24, 2007

We started going to the Lost Bayou several years ago while enjoying mardi Gras with friends. We wanted a place where we could all party and be close together. Phil and Chito made sure that we felt this was our home. They supported everything we wanted and made sure we had the best time ever. Now it is a tradition to go back each year as our group continues to grow. We would not consider another place and we have been to them all. Phil, Chito and Mardi Gras that is just how it will be. We love them and their home. They are even excited to listen when we try to bore them with our kid pictures. Now that is true friendship. We recommend Lost Bayou to anyone and never have been let down.


A home away from home.

5 sur octobre 22, 2007

Phil was so friendly and welcoming and made us feel like we were part of the family. The house is beautiful, homey and squeaky clean. And it sits in a nice, quiet neighborhood close to the Strand and the beach. Nice breakfast and great coffee!


Wonderful place to stay!

4,6 sur août 25, 2007

I highly recommend staying at the Lost Bayou Guesthouse. Hosts Phil and Chito could not be more gracious, and it is a cozy, welcoming, and very comfortable home away from home. I hope to go back soon.


Find your way to the Lost Bayou!

4,6 sur août 17, 2007

For the seasoned B&B guest, the service is exceptional! For the first time guest, it could spoil you for others... Great value!!


Brilliant B&B!

5 sur février 25, 2007

Lost Bayou Guesthouse is amazing. It is a classy and charming yet welcoming guesthouse owned and run by the warmest of hosts. The living area provides a laid back atmosphere where guests can lounge, snack and socialise. Each room is unique in style and decoration yet every room provides comfort and relaxation. Whether you are vacationing alone, with your spouse or with your family, Lost Bayou Guesthouse is THE perfect escape.


Feels Like Home

5 sur février 25, 2007

I really like this little guesthouse! It has a warm and friendly environment with great hosts! The rooms are all modestly decorated without too much fluff, so it feels comfortable and relaxing. My favorite part is how comfortable the beds are. Overall it is a great value--I think this is a true find for Galveston!


Lost Bayou Guesthouse

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $100 - $175
  • Avis (127) 4,6
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4097700688
  • Portable 1-9174767220

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut