The Guesthouse on Allen Street Avis

Ensemble
4,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services5,0
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,9

Notation basée sur
33 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Our Yearly Anniversary Staycation

4,4 sur novembre 26, 2014

We love staying at this B&B where we stayed on our wedding night. The one-room guesthouse provides solitude even though it is within the vibrant Uptown Dallas area. We love that we can stay in a peaceful place, yet walk to a number of restaurants along with other Uptown residents and visitors. This is a benefit because parking can be tricky, especially on the weekends. The last two times we stayed, there was construction going on that had us frustrated, but only temporarily. We had unfortunate timing. The breakfast NEVER disappoints. It is always beautiful AND delicious. We will be back each year as long as possible!


great privacy

4,8 sur octobre 12, 2014

Several restaurants within walking distance. Kay was very nice and makes a mean French toast! The room was clean and quiet. Nice little getaway.


Our little secret

4,6 sur août 03, 2014

This is a great place to be near trendy uptown, yet still private and secluded.


Exceeded my expectations

5 sur mai 30, 2014

This B/B is great! Would definitely recommend.


Blown away by our stay at the Guesthouse on Allen!

5 sur juin 12, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a night for our anniversary. We live nearby, but wanted to get out of the house and stay in an area that had new things for us to try. We were both so shocked and excited after walking into the room that we decided to go to dinner and stay in for the night to enjoy the beautiful patio garden that we had all to ourselves. For dinner, we walked to a wine bar just a few yards from our door. Our dinner was AMAZING and we loved being so close that we could just walk back home. We were asked what time we wanted breakfast and we were served breakfast in the garden the next morning. It was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had, hands down! Banana French toast with some amzaing sauce, sausage, and orange juice and coffee. :) The service was outstanding, location was perfect, and room was over the top! We will definitley be back! You will not be disapointed!


Wonderful stay

5 sur mars 20, 2013

I've stayed at several bed and breakfasts in the past and this one ranks as my favorite. The room was great, the breakfast yummy, the scenery beautiful and the hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. I was a little concerned it might feel awkward being the only occupants in this one bedroom B&B, but the way the house is set up made us feel like we had total privacy. This B&B is in a great location as well. Uptown is an adorable part of Dallas. Next time I plan to visit Uptown the hubby and I will be staying here again!


Proposal

5 sur janvier 27, 2013

I actually didn't stay at the guesthouse overnight, but instead used it as a site to propose to my girlfriend. The guesthouse was perfect!! I was looking for a private garden with a romantic feel, and this fit exactly what I was looking for. In the evening when I proposed, you had a clear sky so you could see the Dallas skyline and the intimacy of the garden (with the fountain and the plants) provided the perfect backdrop. Kay (and her husband) were great hosts and flexible, and were very welcoming of me during my stay there. She had such a positive attitude about my idea of proposing to my girlfriend there when I initially told her about it that it put me at ease and allowed everything to go smoothly. The room was well decorated and cozy and the overall ambience was romantic. We will probably come back and stay here after we're married.


OUTSTANDING

5 sur janvier 04, 2013

A wonderful experience at The Guesthouse. Kay Irwin was delightful and what a way to bring in the New Year with blueberry frenchtoast, fresh orange juice & coffee. An out-of-Dallas experience right in the heart of Dallas! We'll be back.


Guesthouse Getaway

5 sur janvier 03, 2013

We checked into the Guesthouse for 2 nights after the Christmas holiday craziness. It was a perfect ending to our celebrations. The neighborhood has tons of local restaurants and shops. We were able to walk down the street and have a snack before we checked into our room. The owners were fantastic, they asked what time we wanted breakfast and we were left to settle into our room. The room had a gas fireplace that we loved and kept running most of our stay. There were shelves with books to read and a tv. The room windows open up to a view of downtown. There was a nice sitting area/patio outside, however it snowed the day before we came down so we weren't able to enjoy it. The entry to the room is behind a locked gate and down an outdoor walkway. It gives the feel of being secluded while still right in the middle of town. We walked to dinner one night and brought dinner home the next, both from local eateries. Breakfast was delicious and brought to us hot each morning. We would absolutely recommend The Guesthouse to anyone looking for somewhere to get away for a few nights.


OUTSTANDING

5 sur janvier 02, 2013

OUTSTANDING! Kay & Jack's hospitality topped-off a wonderful NYE wedding we attended. We live in Dallas and quite a find and gem we've found. Our next outting could well be a Guesthouse + Si Tapas next door; not much else needed. Thank you Kay & Jack (and the squirrel show was an added attraction!)


Pleasant Surprise

5 sur juillet 31, 2012

Apologies for the delay in thanking you for your warm hospitality, the wonderful accommodations, and the truly delicious breakfast! I will definately be back soon....thank you again!!


Best place to stay in Dallas!

5 sur juillet 15, 2012

We stayed at The Guesthouse on Allen street for our anniversary and it was the most amazing place! You get personal service since there is only one room and the place is beautiful, the owner is simply wonderful and her breakfasts can't be beat! We will stay here whenever we get the chance!


Little Touches mean the most.

5 sur juin 23, 2012

Kay (the innkeeper) is personable and friendly. She goes out of her way to welcome you to her little oasis in the city. Saying this beautiful modern hideaway is in the city is somewhat of an understatement as everything we wanted to see was within 10 miles. If you want to spend your time enjoying yourself rather than driving this is the place for you. Atmosphere - tranquil, relaxing, calming - eating breakfast in the garden is a delight and listening to the birds chirp while enjoying personal chef qualify fare is beyond words. We stayed two mornings and were pleasantly surprised to say the least. The breakfast was as good as the accommodations (which were superb). We can't recommend this getaway higher - it's absolutely the best we've ever experienced. Go and enjoy yourself.


A Walk to the Arts District

5 sur mars 31, 2012

What a lovely set-up they have here! We had the entire ground floor to ourselves, and the room and garden were both more spacious than they appeared in the pictures. Following a comfortable night, breakfast arrived exactly when we requested, then we lounged in the garden until noon checkout. We left our car parked on the street out front (fine until 5pm) and walked to the fabulous Tei-An for lunch and then walked to the Dallas Museum of Fine Arts before returning and rolling out of town.


All I can, say is fabulous. !

5 sur mars 26, 2012

Me and my Husbands 10th Anniversary was great,WE absolutely love this bed and breakfast, everthing was outstanding, nice and quiet!


Stunning place!

5 sur mars 19, 2012

It was even better than we expected--the room and garden are beautiful. We'll definitely try to stay here again the next time we are in Dallas.


Love the Guesthouse on Allen St

5 sur février 23, 2012

The room was spacious and quite tastefully decorated in a more contemporary style than many B&B's, which we like. The king-size bed was very comfortable and placed with an excellent view of the 3 windows overlooking the private rose garden and also the fireplace. Nice collection of books in this room's library if one was inclined to read while there. Breakfast was excellent and served on a silver tray at the exact time we specified. This particular room only has a shower and not a tub, but that was no problem for us. We feel fortunate to have found this place on the internet while looking for a hotel close to the Majestic Theater, where we were attending a concert. Less expensive than most hotels in this area and in a great neighborhood. Two thumbs up!


Fabulous retreat

5 sur décembre 19, 2011

My husband and I chose the Guesthouse on Allen Street after reading online reviews. We live in Dallas but wanted a fun little getaway for our anniversary. We sure got what we wanted and more. What a wonderful, secluded spot right in the city. We both use to work in the McKinney Ave., uptown area, but it has grown and changed so much with so much to offer. The Guesthouse was beautifully decorated, and we fell in love with the garden, the fountains and all the decor. It was a very comfortable bed and pillows, and breakfast was outstanding. I couldn't recommend it enough. We happened to go on a rainy night in the winter, so we will definitely go back in the spring when all the flowers are blooming on the Italian/New Orleans style patio garden. Lovely!


Best BnB in Dallas

5 sur septembre 08, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our 40th anniversary August 12th. We're 59 and both love getting out and leading a vibrant lifestyle. I looked at several other well regarded BnBs in the area and just kept coming back to this one. The reviews alone said it was something different. When we arrived we arrived to a three story Tuscan style structure about 4 blocks off of McKinney, the main drag of Uptown. When we entered the structure we knew we were in for a great stay. One enters the room through an electric gate, walks down a portico to the guest room. Technically only one room with vanity room than toilet and shower attached. Really the room is about the size of an Embassy Suite suite. A kingsize bed, a fireplace, one whole side of the room is loaded with books on bookshelves. The attention to detail is what sets this place apart. You feel like you're staying at on upscale hotel like the Ritz, W, or any other fine hotel. The difference though is you don't have to share facilities. Kay only has one suite and she has invested everything in it. I'm told Kay is an interior decorator, and if so, it clearly shows. The adjoining courtyard has an almost New Oreleans meets Tuscany feel to it. Small but not too small. Intimate would be the right world. An umbrellaed table with a small fountain net to it. A great view of the downtown buildings and lights. Your are right in the middle of all the action in the best part of Dallas, Uptown, but feel somewhat removed and above it all. There is a neat little tapas bar right next door and easy walking distance to restaurants, lounges, and the trolley that runs through uptown. Also very close to the Dallas arts district. Kay finished the stay with a great eggs benedict breakfast with fresh orange juice. Just a perfect overnight and stay. We'll be back and telling our friends about this Dallas jewel.


Urban Hideaway Offers Surprises

4,4 sur juillet 03, 2011

My husband and I have lived in the DFW area for over 25 years, and wanted a nearby retreat that would offer a different experience. The Guesthouse on Allen more than met that desire. The lovely walled garden, with city views, was a little oasis in a congested area. Breakfast was outstanding. The room was spacious, inviting, and comfortable. The online photos suggest there are multiple rooms, but it is one large, attractive, comfy room with a dressing area and small bath. The private garden patio exceeds its description. Excellent hospitality, without any hovering. The tapas restaurant next door was fun.


Relaxing Weekend in the Big D

4,8 sur mai 17, 2011

My wife & I stayed over a weekend for an SMU event. The location is great. Easy walking distance to restaurants, bars and easy access to major roads. Private, off-street parking. The attention to detail in both amenities & cleanliness was outstanding. Breakfast both mornings - served on a private patio complete with roses, singing birds & koi pond - were superb and plentiful. The accommodations are quiet, spacious, & very tasteful; we lacked for nothing during our stay. Highly recommend!


Beautiful!

4,6 sur mars 12, 2011

This was an outstanding place to stay with fabulous surroundings and superb hospitality. The photos of the Guesthouse are stunning and still somehow manage to not nearly do justice to the breathtaking room, stunning high ceilings, very warm selection of great reading materials, and the working fireplace that makes even a dreadful winter day into a great opportunity to snuggle up. An entire wall of floor-to-ceiling windows nestled next to the private (yours only!) courtyard and entire first floor of the house gives an inside feel of modern Georgian styling and outside one of old Tuscany. Fantastic. The only minor letdown was a lack of bathtub (beautiful, naturally-lit shower was a very fair consolation) since we love baths, but all else was lovely. Vegetarian accommodation was much appreciated as well and did not deter from a very hearty breakfast! We stay at B&Bs as often as possible, and for others who also do, it might be helpful to clarify that while other B&Bs tend to also house their proprietors (or the proprietors can be seen roaming about), the Guesthouse is wholly private. It is gated and very secure so this is not a bad thing if you pause at B&Bs because of a lesser sense of privacy. Kay seemed entirely at our disposal if we needed her (which we didn't since everything was so beautifully arranged), but the property is designed specifically for complete privacy; you might as well be in your own apt. right there in central Dallas. Also, it was 1/2 mile from downtown Dallas arts district which made it an easy walk to many beautiful stops. We can't wait to have a reason to come again! Loved every minute. We wish we


Guesthouse on Allen Street is fabulous!

5 sur décembre 07, 2010

Kay has a spectacular property and service. The evening my wife and I spent at The Guesthouse exceeded both of our expectations!!! The pictures on it's website don't come close to doing it justice. The location and ambiance cannot be matched. Thank you!


Exceptional in every way

5 sur octobre 28, 2010

For less than the cost of a three star hotel, Kay provided a six star experience in every aspect of hospitality. The quality of the room is exceptional, and I honestly can't figure out how they provide everything that they do for the price. The quality of the linens alone is far greater than anything that I've experienced at any luxury hotel, with the possible exception of the Hotel Amalfi in Chicago. The Amalfi might be at the same level, but I wouldn't sweart to it. And I did pay nearly three time the amount to stay at the Amalfi. If you're staying in Dallas and want the best experience and the best value, this is the only place that you need to look. Really, it's just that good.


Fabulous Guesthouse in Heart of Dallas

5 sur septembre 25, 2010

Kay met us at the Guesthouse and gave us the tour. The Guesthouse has every amenity you could ask for. Beautiful room with wonderful ambience. Room looks out onto a private garden with a water fountain feature and lots of pretty plants. Room is stocked with a mini fridge loaded with pop, juice and water and also has a full-blown icemaker. Kay provided us with a bottle of wine and also a basket of goodies. When we returned from our night out, Kay had performed a turndown service and also left us a plate of wonderful chocolates. Breakfast was served right on time and was excellent. The Guesthouse is very quiet and secluded. We stay at a lot of B&Bs, and this one is the most comfortable , quite and private one we've stayed at. Highly recommend it. We will most definitely stay there next time we're in Dallas.


best travelling experience I have had

5 sur mai 11, 2010

I stayed at the Guesthouse for 5 days. I cannot recommend it enough. The only problem is that if the word gets out, then I won't be able to book next time I come through Dallas. Not only is the architecture exquisite, but the proprietor makes you feel like you are royalty. A true gem of an experience.


A hidden gem in the heart of Uptown

5 sur septembre 14, 2009

On a recent business trip to Dallas, I decided to venture away from the big downtown hotels. After searching the internet, I found this single room bed and breakfast in "Uptown". What a pleasant surprise – a hidden gem! The room is about 4 short blocks from the Uptown Trolley giving your easy access to the arts district, downtown, and the DART rail system. The room was beautifully decorated - like a picture out of Architectural Digest (the owner is an interior decorator). Equipped with a small desk with internet access, a small “kitchen-like” area with a coffee maker & refrigerator, the room is also functional. The owner who lives upstairs is well versed in "Southern Hopspitality." Shi is a foodie and provided "insiders advice" regarding local restaurants. While the courtyard breakfast was rumored to be great – I was too stuffed from sampling the Dallas culinary scene the previous evening to partake. I highly recommend this place for either romantic weekend away or a weekday business trip. You will not be disappointed. Tom from Cincinnati, OH


Our home away from home in Dallas

5 sur août 28, 2009

We have stayed here twice in 2009 & absolutely look forward to staying here again at our next visit. Great food, comfortable king bed, great accommodations with a Tuscany setting with private courtyard.


A Wonderful Stay

4,0 sur avril 01, 2009

Thank you so very much for our wonderful stay. We absolutely loved the room and breakfast was outstanding. We look forward to coming back.


Very Nice

4,4 sur février 28, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were lovey, the location convenient and the staff pleasant. A great value.


Five Star B&B

5 sur novembre 08, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Guesthouse in mid-October, 2008. We wanted to be near the art and museum district, King Tut's exhibit, up scale dining, and downtown Dallas area. The Guesthouse met our criteria and more. We have stayed in Bed and Breakfasts in other parts of the US, The Guesthouse rates five star in comparison. We look forward to staying there everytime we visit Dallas.


Quiet charm on Allen St.

5 sur avril 02, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was so convenient for exploring the new "uptown" area of Dallas. We would have been content to stay forever, sitting outside on the patio or curled up inside in a comfortable chair, reading our way through the wall of books in the room.


Superb and superbly safe

5 sur février 25, 2008

Having stayed at the Guesthouse on Allen Street one or more weekends each month for over a year, I am quite tardy in submitting a review. The accommodations are lovely beyond any description I could compose. The location on the ground-level of the charming hosts' (Kay and Jack Irwin) home, and it is secured with an electronically controlled decorative iron gate. The hors d'oeurves and breakfasts are simply delicious and tastefully presented.


The Guesthouse on Allen Street

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $195 - $245
  • Avis (33) 4,9
  • Chambres 1

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2144994535

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut