Avis récents dans Sperryville, Virginie

Lovely inn in a lovely setting à The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mai 23, 2016

We stayed here mid-week on a lark as a place to rest our head after a meal at the Inn at Little Washington, without paying the prices one would pay in the town of Washington. Not having much expectation, I was so pleasantly surprised by this beautiful place. I will definitely visit this hidden gem again when I have more time to spend there. The house and the rooms are lovely -- some very fine antiques and rugs, all done with class and elegance. Because it was mid-week off season, we were the only guests that night, but we were made to feel very welcome. Upon our arrival we were provided some wine, some delicious rosemary nuts and bottles of water and the next morning we were treated with a sumptuous breakfast spread from Ms. Lillian. Eggs from the farm, homemade jam and granola, sausage, fried apples, fruit, salad, and a full French Press of delicious coffee. The farm and the views cannot be beat. I would recommend to anyone. Another perk is that it is about a 7 minute drive to the Inn at Little Washington.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful quiet retreat à The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm (Sperryville, Virginia)

4,8 Dernier avis le mai 16, 2016

We only spent one night, but I could have stayed longer. Cliff, Jackie & Lillian made us feel like welcomed friends. The room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious. the home beautiful. And we loved seeing the horses & piglets.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Charm to spare à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

4,8 Dernier avis le mai 15, 2016

This is a charming B&B with a lovely setting and very courteous and friendly hosts. The craft brewery in the basement is an extra plus, and the breakfast is not to be matched. Sperryville is easy to reach from Baltimore, DC, and other parts of Northern VA and Western MD. There is a lot to do in the area -- we visited Luray Caverns just a half-hour west -- and for the more adventuresome there is hiking in abundance, in Shenendoah National Park. NOTE: I held back one star on the "dining" catagory because this is just a breakfast B&B -- there are convenient restaurants nearby, including just across the street. But as I note, the breakfast was excellent.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Hobnobbing on thK nob à The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm (Sperryville, Virginia)

4,0 Dernier avis le mai 09, 2016

Perched some 600' below the summit of 1169-foot Turkey Knob on a steep southwest facing slope, this historic Miller family residence commands a panoramic view of the Blue Ridge mountains and the Thornton River valley below. Service by Lillian and Jackie was as good as expected and friendlier. A late April hike on the lovely 1.5-mile loop trail to and from the Inn on the forested slopes of this 800+ acre property revealed close up sounds and sights of numerous songbirds, including a brilliant scarlet tanager and a squawking, surprised pair of Pileated Woodpeckers. Near the end of the wooded section of the trail, an enigmatic surprise greeted us. Continuing our walk past the Mt. Vernon farm, with its spacious barns whose inhabitants had been herded across the Thornton to pasture earlier that morning, we encountered several fly fisherman standing in this peaceful tributary of the Rappahannock, waiting for stocked trout to ambush a tied fly. As we climbed the steep driveway from the river to the Inn, we encountered a stately gentleman who stepped out of his car to greet us. We guessed he was the owner, which the distinguished-looking Cliff Miller confirmed. In the warming sun, the three of us did our part to add to the fragrant spring breezes around us. Cliff regaled us with some of the history of the property, which he and his son rescued from deterioration to bring it its present glory. The main source of Cliff's pride, we learned, is his thoughtful and conscientious stewardship of this beautiful spot and the surrounding forest and fields. His generosity in placing a large portion of this estate into a Virginia state easement ensures it will remain pristine for ages to come. This lengthy and educational chat just enhanced our feeling of fulfillment at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm. We'll leave it to you to find out for yourself just what this little charm of many charms at Mt. Vernon may be.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great weekend get-away with our family! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mai 01, 2016

The Hopkins Ordinary was the perfect spot for our family to stay while attending a wedding at the Inn at Mt. Vernon Farm. My husband and I had a comfortable room in the main house while our five adult children/spouses fit perfectly in the cottage garden house. The ale house added to the fun of the weekend, and we were close to small shops and restaurants. The owners were friendly, and we all enjoyed the breakfast. We would definitely stay there again!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Anniversary Weekend à The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le avril 21, 2016

Beautiful Property. Hosts were gracious and did everything perfectly to make sure we had a wonderful stay from the moment we arrived to our departure. The property manager even drove us into the next town for dinner and picked us up when we were ready to return. Can't wait to go back!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A Wonderfully Relaxing and Refreshing Weekend Retreat! à The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mars 23, 2016

Cliff Miller and his staff, Lillian and Jackie, make certain that their guests have every opportunity to enjoy this idyllic setting. Despite cold and rainy weather, we enjoyed hours by the fire, visits to local wineries and a fabulous walk during a few dry hours. Breakfast was fantastic with most food locally sourced if not grown on the farm, and it was fun getting to know the other guests.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great mountain getaway à The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm (Sperryville, Virginia)

4,6 Dernier avis le mars 15, 2016

Country inn offers great views and excellent breakfast. Close to Shenedoah Park entrance. Lots of quaint shops and restaurants in the area. Rooms and service are first class.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great Experience! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mars 05, 2016

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful weekend at Hopkins Ordinary. Kevin and Sherri were very accommodating and friendly. I loved being able to go downstairs to their brewery and taste all their beers. I was very impressed by their brews. I definitely recommend their blonde ale. We plan to go back again

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Beautiful place to stay à The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm (Sperryville, Virginia)

4,2 Dernier avis le janvier 04, 2016

The rooms at the Inn are very beautiful. Our room also had a luxurious bathroom with an excellent 2-headed shower. Lillian and Jackie were warm and welcoming, and provided a really wonderful breakfast. We didn't feel that welcome to enjoy the property's sitting room, but then we were out most of the time, enjoying Sperryville's distillery, brewery and restaurants, and the countryside around Shenandoah.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Perfect stay à The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le décembre 16, 2015

exceptional early winter stay in our favorite Rappahanok county. first time at the Inn, but definitely will not be the last! magnificent setting, close to town but in a serene, private, country place. Beautifully furnished, comfortable and very welcoming. Innkeeper and owner treated us like we lived there!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great place! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 28, 2015

Beautiful accommodations, warm and welcoming hosts, terrific food, quaint town, lots to do in the area. We will definitely return and highly recommend Hopkins Ordinary!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


One of the best à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 21, 2015

This charming B&B is located in the heart of Rappahannock County, minutes away from marvelous hiking trails, Skyline Drive, and several wineries. The countryside is spectacular in the fall when the leaves are turning. We stayed there October 16-18, in the Sage Room. Innkeepers Kevin and Sherri are delightful - warm, helpful, and knowledgeable, but not at all intrusive. The decoration is lovely - warm, tasteful and elegant, not at all kitschy. Breakfast is terrific, featuring local products and creative twists on classic dishes. Excellent coffee too - a proprietary blend from a local beanery. I cannot recommend Hopkins Ordinary more enthusiastically!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Very Nice Hosts, Room, Breakfast à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 17, 2015

We stayed at Hopkins Ordinary Wednesday October 14, 2015. After a couple hikes in Shenendoah National Park, we arrived about 45 minutes before check-in. The innkeepers Sherri and Kevin were in the garden and saw us arrive, and Sherri checked us in and offered fresh baked chocolate cookies. She gave us a map of the town, and walked around, visiting a new brewery (Pen Druid) and touring the Copper Fox distillery. We bought a very good pizza at Rudy's across from Hopkins, and ate it while sitting on our 2nd floor porch watching the Royals and drinking excellent beers from Hopkins onsite brewery. Next morning brought a tasty breakfast of omelets, scones, roasted potatoes, broiled grapefruit, and good coffee. Sherri shared her knowledge of hiking trails with the guests. We left satisfied that this B and B deserves a return visit. This is how a B & B should be.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Excellent place and great people à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

4,8 Dernier avis le octobre 07, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were nice and the whole place very clean and comfortable. Sherri and Kevin were very friendly and hospitable. The onsite brewery is an added bonus that produces some very tasty creations. My wife and I will definitely be back in the near future.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful B+B à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 04, 2015

This was our first B+B experience -- and it was great! The room was as cozy as it was adorable, the service perfect, and the breakfast exceeded all expectations. Innkeepers Sherri and Kevin were wonderful. A great couple running a great business. We loved our stay!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Paradise! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le juillet 06, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Hopkins for a quick July 4th getaway. From the minute you open the door to this beautiful oasis, you are made to feel like royalty! Sherri and Kevin are outstanding hosts! They are quick to fulfill any request and offer wonderful advice. The room we stayed in, Sage, was gorgeous! Clean, bright and comfortable! Finally, breakfast....... can I give 10 stars? It was the best! Fantastic waffles with blueberries and the best bacon we have ever eaten!!!! I'm not much of a hiker but if that's what it takes to stay here, bring on the most challenging hike!!! I'm there!!! Thanks for a fantastic stay!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Absolutely Wonderful à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le avril 19, 2015

Let me start by saying that this was my first bed and breakfast experience. My stay was booked as a romantic getaway for a new lady friend and I (might I add most incredible woman in the entire world) and I wasn't sure what to expect. I knew that I was totally into this beautiful woman and just wanted a pleasant atmosphere that would allow us to spend some uninterrupted time together getting to know each other a little better. Kevin and Sherri are absolutely wonderful. Their hospitality and genuinely kind nature makes you feel rich at home and as if you've known them for years. Some people are just that genuine. The inn is clean and has a great feel to it. Its been tastefully remodeled to keep the original charm. Breakfast was outstanding, the homemade cookies were literally the best I've ever had and we will be back. As for the lady friend, she's amazing. I'm the luckiest man in all the land to have found her. She also enjoyed the inn, so I will be taking her back as soon as we're able. If you're not sure about where to book your stay you can't go wrong with the Hopkins ordinary.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


We had a great time! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le avril 12, 2015

Kevin was a great host and had plenty of tips for fun things to do and places to eat in the area. The beer tasting was a great added perk. Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. We will be back!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Couldn't get the "Outstanding" buttons to work! à Foster Harris House (Washington, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le avril 07, 2015

We arrived around 6:30pm -- when John & Diane were half an hour away from a full house for dinner. Our reservation at the Inn wasn't until much later, so we asked for some (local) wine and a cheese plate. 15 minutes later, as we were still oohing over the exquisite taste and comfort of the Mountain View room, John arrived at our door with a superb selection of cheeses (and wild boar salami!!) and, mirabile dictu, a much better local wine than any we found over the next two days of vineyard hopping! That was just the keynote of a fantastic stay. Excellent, piping hot coffee& set ups appeared noiselessly outside our door in the morning. Exquisite breakfast, with more good coffee. A tour of the gorgeous kitchen, with pleasant, leisurely conversation with Diane & John. And one final, perfect touch: cell service in the area is terrible, so no GPS, but (of course!) they have a beautifully organized folder with printed directions to all the local sights and businesses. We can't wait to go back to stay a couple of nights and try John's cuisine. Every single aspect of our visit was a delight.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


B&B as Cute as the Couple running it! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le mars 30, 2015

What a wonderful place to visit! We will be sure to do it again!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Lovely Getaway à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

4,8 Dernier avis le janvier 26, 2015

This was our second time to stay here, and we have already planned our third visit. Kevin and Sherri are incredible hosts. They offer a wealth of information about the area, what to do, how to get there, etc. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and have all the amenities needed. We have stayed in the Lavender Room which is awesome with a wood burning stove. We have also stayed in the Oregano Room which is smaller, but just as nice, and has a fireplace. We highly recommend this B&B, especially if you like a quiet location close to wineries, hiking, and fun drives with beautiful scenery any time of the year.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful unique place! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

4,2 Dernier avis le janvier 21, 2015

We absolutely loved it here. The innkeepers were ready, welcoming, and hospitable. They provided helpful suggestions to supplement the itinerary we had planned. Even though the place was almost full, we had plenty of privacy.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Terrific way to start 2015 à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le janvier 19, 2015

We went to Hopkins for New Year's Eve and had a great time. This trip was our third stay, and we left looking forward to coming back many more times. The place looked great for the holidays, and the whole little town was in the spirit. Kevin gave us perfect and easy instructions on the fireplace, and amid the terrific breakfast they made the next morning, Sherri recommended a great hike. What a way to start the year!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


This was such a nice escape! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le janvier 09, 2015

This was a wonderful escape from the city. They were incredibly nice, the rooms were cozy, and we felt right at home. A great place to stay.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Our go-to B&B in the Shenandoah mountains à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le janvier 04, 2015

Our 3rd time staying here for a hiking and biking getaway. Terrific inn keepers. Great personal attentiveness yet not overbearing. Outstanding location, activity recommendations, breakfast, and now beer. Give Hopkins a try it and you'll be coming back again.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Third time staying at Hopkins Ordinary in Sperryville, Virginia à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le décembre 17, 2014

We have stayed at Hopkins Ordinary three times and it only gets better and better. Sherri and Kevin always make us feel right at home. And to make things even better, they are now brewing their own small batches of beer on the premises. The rooms are great, very clean and cozy. Breakfast is always wonderful as well. We will definitely return in the future. And, Sperryville is a sweet little town to visit. A great place to go to get away from the rat race.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Perfect Weekend à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le décembre 14, 2014

My husband, 3 month old son and I stayed in the Cottage House at Hopkins Ordinary the first weekend of December. We loved the privacy and the ability to drink coffee and use the kitchen in our cottage. The cottage was inviting and I was so glad to be able to look out the window and see the garden and the Thornton River. It was quiet, peaceful, clean, and Kevin and Sherri were so welcoming and hospitable. We will definitely be back! We were glad to be there on the weekend of the local goods craft fair and parade in Little Washington. We had dinner and brunch at Thornton River Grille and took our baby into Shenandoah National Park hiking for his first time! What a great weekend--glad to get away from Richmond for the weekend and take a deep breath in Rappahannock. The water, incidentally, out of the faucet was really good.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Our weekend at Hopkins Ordinary was a 10! à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 23, 2014

We just spend 3 days at Hopkins Ordinary. Sherri and Kevin are welcoming hosts who care that their guests enjoy the Inn and their vacation in the Shenandoah Mountains. First, the Inn. It is lovely, clean, warm, inviting. Our room had a claw foot tub, wood burning stove and comfy queen sized bed. The room opened onto the second story wrap-around porch. When we arrived, Sherri greeted us, showed us our room, gave us home made (by Kevin) ginger cookies. We were hurrying to hike Old Rag, and she gave us directions and tips. Breakfast the next morning was grilled grapefruit, mushroom, spinach and cheese omelet, homemade muffins, 5 types of juice, coffee.... I could go on and on. I've stayed in many B&Bs, and Hopkins Ordinary is the best I've experienced. We plan to visit a few times a year.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Pleasant Surprise à Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast (Sperryville, Virginia)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 01, 2014

The Innkeepers were warm and friendly and very knowledgeable about hiking. The breakfasts were delicious. The cookies were yummy after a day of hiking and the complimentary beverages was the icing on the cake. I would highly recommend Hopkins Ordinary to friends and family.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Haut
}