The Prairie House Manor Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
197 Avis

Ecrire un avis

fabulous time

5 sur octobre 06, 2014

We absolutely loved the three season porch and the fact we could bring our dogs with. We stayed in the Chinese garden and it was big and spacious, neatly decorated and had a Jacuzzi, much needed after a long drive there. The service was grand and the breakfast delicious. Would definitely revisit again especially in the early fall when its warm but not to hot to sit on the porch.


Wonderful Prairie House memories

5 sur septembre 23, 2014

My girls and I drove from Colorado up to Prairie House Manor in August of 2014. It was a long drive and we arrived much later than anticipated but when we arrived all travel pains were soon forgotten. The room we chose was as lovely as the pictures and made us feel like little princesses. We were greeted by the hostess with cookies (delicious!) and hot chocolate and juice. The bed was very comfortable and after a quick soak in the hot tub we slept soundly. We are already plotting for a return trip. It was a truly wonderful experience.


Great experience

4,6 sur septembre 23, 2014

We stayed in the Rose Garden room and loved it. We loved being able to relax and play game on the porch. The hot cocoa and cappuccinos were wonderful. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to our friends. Thank you.


Awesome stay!

4,8 sur septembre 11, 2014

The host/hostess were amazing and treated us so kindly and really made us feel at home. My daughter and I had a great mother/daughter retreat!


Not just for Laura Ingalls Wilder fans

4,8 sur septembre 11, 2014

The accomodations were perfect for our small family reunion (seven of us at one point). There was plenty of space to spread out and visit, either on the large, comfortable porch or the inviting living room, or both. This has to be one of the best lodging options in eastern South Dakota for any purpose (internet and cell access were good). Having endured a seemingly endless series of "free" breakfasts at chain motels, the Prairie Manor breakfast should be a destination in and of itself. Kudos to Andy and his family.


Great part of our Laura Ingalls Wilder trip

5 sur août 30, 2014

So glad that we picked "The Prairie House Manor" to stay at on our De Smet part of our Laura Ingalls Wilder trip. Andy and Jenny were so friendly and personable. The snacks in the evening and the breakfast selections were all delicious. If we make it back to De Smet in the future this will be the place we will be staying at. Such a homey feel!


Review

4,6 sur août 27, 2014

Excellent stay.


Great room and delicious breakfast

5 sur août 25, 2014

Only stayed one night, but the owners were very friendly and accommodating. Hot tub was well maintained. Breakfast was scrumptious. Historic link to Laura Ingalls Wilder's "The Long Winter" made it special for the kids.


We loved the Prairie House Manor

5 sur août 24, 2014

Our family had never stayed in a bed and breakfast and this did not disappoint! My boys (ages 10 and 6) enjoyed staying in someones house that they didn't know but that were very friendly. The Rose Garden room was extremely spacious! One son stayed in the Murphy bed and one stayed on the day bed. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the LIttle House trivia and the fiddle music. Highly recommend if you are going to De Smet!


Prairie hospitality

4,8 sur août 19, 2014

We enjoyed a restful stay in this historical Bed and Breakfast. I really enjoyed that it had connections to the Laura Ingalls Wilder story. The hosts were very welcoming and breakfast was delicious!


A very restful stay!

4,8 sur août 18, 2014

My Dad and I spent two nights at the Prairie House Manor while in South Dakota visiting relatives. Our two guest rooms, the Manor's common rooms, and the town of De Smet were the pleasant and restful places we needed after long days of traveling to/from and visiting with family in multiple communities. The front porch is a lovely spot to read and sip coffee or quietly wrap up a busy day of sightseeing. Andy and Jenny have a special knack for making their guests feel at home while attentively attending to the important details of meeting their guests needs. Offering a choice of delicious breakfasts and separate seating daily in their pleasant Breakfast room are just two of the generous and thoughtful touches Andy and Jenny put into providing their guests with a comfortable B&B stay. Their integrity, warmth and kindness shone in every detail of our visit. I highly recommend staying at this house on the prairie for singles, couples and families alike! Hope to return...


Great place to stay when doing the Little House thing

4,4 sur août 11, 2014

We were on a three day trip with granddaughters, age 6 and 9. They loved staying "in a fancy house." The location is perfect---three houses down from the house Pa Ingalls built in town. The inn is very kid friendly---imagine S'more pancakes!


Lovely

4,8 sur août 10, 2014

The room was lovely. Great breakfast. Very convenient to visiting Little House on the Prairie.


Warm, Welcoming, Wonderful!

4,8 sur août 08, 2014

We had a delightful stay at the Prairie House Manor. The couple who runs it are very friendly and professional. It was great to stay in an historical home, just three doors down from Pa Ingalls' house! Our room was snug, clean and had everything we needed to be completely comfortable: microwave, fridge, tv, lots of books, extra linens, etc. Our hosts were able and willing to give us lots of information about the area, best places to eat, and so on. When we returned from an evening out, we were greeted with a plateful of fresh cookies! The wrap around porch is so comfy with couches and chairs, and lots of fascinating reading material, games and even a billiards table! In the morning, we ate a delicious and unique breakfast, made to order, and served in style. We liked that we were able to eat sort of 'on our own' at our own table, but would have felt very welcome to visit with anyone else nearby. A perfect mix of friendliness and privacy in the whole setting. We would definitely go back! (We took one star off the 'rooms' rating, only because the decorating could use refreshing...but it was very clean and tasteful and comfortable!)


Nice, nice people and beautiful house!

5 sur août 03, 2014

I wouldn't pass up on staying here again if given a chance. I hope to return someday and I sure hope Andy and Jenny are still there. This was a highlight of our road trip. Thanks so much and God bless, The Istvan Family


Excellent Enhancement to Your Laura Ingalls Wilder Experience

3,6 sur juillet 31, 2014

Stay here to make your Prairie visit extra special! The carefully chosen room decor is intended to enhance your Laura Ingalls Wilder experience. The owners are very nice and breakfast was great. Loved the little pancake man, just like Ma used to make. Our room (Roses) was "cozy" for 4 people with a bathroom that was not fully enclosed. Could have used better lighting. Can't beat the location and the ambiance -- two houses down from the house that Pa built!


Loved it!

5 sur juillet 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night, though wish we'd had time for a few more. The owners were wonderful - welcoming, courteous, helpful. They were personable, remembering each of us by name. The home itself is beautiful. Tons of books available to peruse over morning coffee and tea. The enclosed porch was beautiful in the morning. A perfect place to play checkers with my daughter and my sister read while waiting for breakfast. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. A mini fridge for our cooler contents, a microwave, private bath, private entrance (which in some B&B's this would be very important depending on comfort levels upon arrival - however, once we arrived and saw how wonderful this B&B is and how it is run, the private entrance was of less importance to us.) Loved the Prairie Manor House and hope to return again. Would recommend to everyone. Oh, and the mattresses were wonderful - both on the king bed and the murphy bed. Cannot beat a good mattress when you're away from home. :)


The place to stay in De Smet, SD

5 sur juillet 29, 2014

This B&B is housed in the former home of "Banker Ruth" from Laura Ingalls Wilder days, and has a pleasant atmosphere and peaceful decor. A variety of rooms are available including some downstairs rooms for those who might prefer not to climb stairs, and a room with twin beds perfect for children. We stayed in "Here's My Heart", a cozy room with a queen bed and windows overlooking the north and west. There was a deck just by our room accessible from the hallway. The bed was comfortable and although it was quite high, they provided nice stepstools for each side. Breakfast: At PHM, you are given a menu of choices the night before, and you submit that before bedtime. We stayed three nights, so we got a great variety of menu choices. Everything we ate was delicious and the portions were just the right size. Breakfast is served in a sunny breakfast room and you can select the time of service from 7:30-9:30. A lovely sitting room was a place we enjoyed putting up our feet and reading after a day of exploring the area. And a covered screened-in porch provides further activities such as pool and games. Don't be afraid to bring your family, as there are fun things for the kids to do out on the porch. During our stay, each night at least one guest had children with them. Access to the historic sites from Prairie House Manor is easy! We left our car parked quite a bit and just walked "downtown" (one block away) and to the LIW Society (6 blocks away). We only had to drive out to the Wilder and Ingalls homestead sites and the cemetery. Truly, this was a highlight of our trip. What a blessing to share in the history of De Smet in one of the historic homes, and only three doors down from Pa & Ma Ingalls' final home in De Smet. We are recommending De Smet and PHM to all our friends who are LIW fans, homeschoolers, or just parents looking for a vacation that doesn't involve long lines and $7 bottles of water. We loved every second and miss it already!


DeSmet visit

3,8 sur juillet 26, 2014

We were there to see the Little House pageant and historical sites. The B & B was beautiful and the best place to stay in town..except for the covered wagons of course..but if you want luxury, stay at the Prairie House Manor. Breakfast was great and Andy and Jenny do their best to make you feel at home.


Lovely

4,6 sur juillet 25, 2014

Even though it was a busy pageant weekend, everything was great including reservation, welcome, getting to choose our breakfast entree and time the night before, the room (Bird Song). My 10-year-old daughter just couldn't say enough about how much she enjoyed the room and pancake man for breakfast. If our travels take us back this way again, we will definitely be repeat customers.


Awesome place!

5 sur juillet 24, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here on Sunday. The hosts were so kind and so welcoming and did everything in their power to make our visit enjoyable. And it was from the first minute we arrived. The room was so comfortable and beautifully decorated. It was wonderful sitting on their porch, enjoying cappuccino and visiting. Breakfast was also wonderful. I would have loved to stay several nights. They treat you like an old friend. Love it here!


Laura FANatic

5 sur juillet 23, 2014

Every aspect was beautiful! Such detail, such kindness, such service! Superb!


Best B&B on the Prairie!

5 sur juillet 14, 2014

The food was wonderful, best blueberry pancakes ever! Andy & Jenny were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. They gave us lots of information on the local area and helped us to have a great visit to Laura Ingalls Wilder's hometown and homestead. This is a very fun area to visit, lots of activities for the kids, and it shows you just a glimpse of how hard pioneer life could be. I'm sure we will go back! Judy (Port Orchard, Wa)


wonderful place!

5 sur juillet 08, 2014

Beautiful rooms, great breakfast! Fabulous historic house with modern amenities. Will definitely stay here again!


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 sur juin 28, 2014

The Prairie House Manor was the best Bed and Breakfast I have stayed in. We were welcomed by one of the owners upon arrival. They told us where everything was located and took us to our recently renovated room. It was very comfortable and nicely decorated with a Bird theme. There was fresh lemonade, coffee and baked treats downstairs. We enjoyed these while playing checkers and tic tac toe on the breezy front porch. They had maps and info on the town attractions. Slept great in comfy beds. Homemade breakfast in the morning was amazing! I highly recommend this place to anyone staying in De Smet.


Grandmother/granddaughter road trip

4,4 sur juin 24, 2014

Granddaughter and I stayed in the Bird Song room. It was so neatly decorated in a bird theme. The private bath was HUGE with all the amenities. Our hosts were warm and welcoming...even when we arrived at 11 at night! They also were helpful in giving maps of sightseeing Little House on the Prairie sites.


I Am At Home!

5 sur juin 24, 2014

I was greeted with a smile and that smile continued until I got into my car to leave, which I did not want to leave. The extras that were available made my stay even better; like a pool pass at the nearby hotel and a pitcher of homeade lemonade in the fridge. The room was amazing!


First time stay at a bed ans breakfasr

4,8 sur juin 23, 2014

Our host were wonderful and the stay was very pleasant.


The Place to Stay

3,8 sur juin 19, 2014

Always the place to stay when I come back to DeSmet each year. The breakfast is excellent, especially the many choices that most B&Bs don't offer. Love, love, love the chocolate chip cookies as a night-time snack. I just wish that the "Great Plains" coffee was a little stronger.


Lovely historical B and B

5 sur juin 16, 2014

gave us great advice on a place for diner that evening, plus had a warm home made dessert for us to nibble on when we returned...


Prairie Manor works for us!

4,8 sur juin 15, 2014

It was wonderful. The hosts were gracious, the food was excellent, our room was somewhat small but very accommodating. We could not have asked for a better place to stay in this lovely town.


Wonderful Stay

5 sur juin 02, 2014

This was a very quit place. We enjoyed our stay very much. The hospitality was great. food was delicious.


A great place to stay in DeSmet

5 sur mai 26, 2014

It's a great, friendly place to stay. The breakfasts are amazing and the rooms beautiful. Plus lot's of books to read and a comfy porch and living room to read them in. The hosts are very knowledgeable and helpful about the area. I don't think my Little House trip would have been nearly as fun if I had stayed elsewhere.


Great home and christian values.

4,8 sur mai 12, 2014

Warm and friendly hosts,truly care about you and your stay at their wonderful home,great info about places to eat and things to do. Highly recommend a stay at this fine B & B. Wonderful breakfast,treats for the road home;like staying with family.


A delightful stay.

5 sur avril 04, 2014

The Prairie House Manor provides the perfect lodging for De Smet. The house is spacious and lovely, and the innkeepers offer many little extras for their guests' comfort and enjoyment. Hot beverages are always available, treats provided in the evening, and guests are given choices for their breakfast (all delicious); and guests can also choose their own time for breakfast I choose to stay in a small room, which did not have room for a desk or table, so a lap desk was provided. The inn is two doors down from the house Charles Ingalls built, and in easy walking distance of everything in town. Guests have access to books and DVDs about the Ingalls family. Highly recommended.


Prairie House Manor

5 sur novembre 10, 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Prairie House Manor. We met a nice couple from England staying the same night. The house was very comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed using our hot tub after a day of walking. We'd reccomend anyone staying.


Pleasant B&B

5 sur octobre 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to see Laura Ingalls Wilder sites. Absolutely beautiful house with gorgeous bedrooms! Andy & Jenny were wonderful and absolute gracious hosts. Jenny has a paper with breakfast choices and what time you'd like breakfast on it that you fill out the night before and she has breakfast ready for you when you come down. The food is absolutely wonderful! I would highly recommend staying here!!


Comfortable Stay

4,4 sur octobre 08, 2013

Had another great stay at the The Prairie House Manor, this time with new owners. Very home-y feel to Manor and the owners are very friendly and accommodating. Would recommend.


Little B&B on the Prairie

4,6 sur octobre 07, 2013

Hosts were very friendly, breakfast was wonderful and the house was lovely!


Wonderful!

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

This was our first b&b experience and it was excellent! Andy and Jenny were so nice and welcoming. The room (Americana Medley) was immaculate and beautifully decorated. We were especially thankful for their accomodating our 4 kids. The kids loved the Murphy bed and the porch full of toys. The Manor is in a perfect place for enjoying Laura's Little Town. It was neat to be just a few houses down from Ma and Pa's final home. Thank you, Andy and Jenny, for opening your home to us!


Relaxing get away

4,2 sur septembre 29, 2013

Delicious food, great atmosphere


Excellent and relaxing

4,4 sur septembre 20, 2013

Owner was very generous, location is good to see Laura 's home, I can stay comfortably, I can use wifi.


Warm, friendly, and peaceful

4,8 sur septembre 05, 2013

We had a great stay at Prairie House Manor. The proprietors were very kind, provided directions to help us with our in-town errands, and a description of a safe running route for my daughter. The house itself was lovely. We stayed in their simplest room, 2 single beds, with a huge attached bath. As the house was older we missed out on some closet space and extra electrical outlets, but that is common for B&Bs. Breakfast was wonderful, chosen from 5 menu selections, hot, and filling. We would return in a heartbeat...


Excellent experience

5 sur septembre 05, 2013

Friendly, clean, and the breakfast was amazing. Everyone should stay here when they visit De Smet!


The Prairie House experience

5 sur septembre 04, 2013

A very nice B&B house with very friendly proprietors. The room was beautiful, surprisingly large bathroom, and a delicious breakfast. The history of the area is also blended very well as part of the experience of staying at the Prairie House Manor.


Very nice and acomodating bed and breakfast.

4,6 sur septembre 03, 2013

Very accommodating. We needed to leave by 6:30 A.M. and they had breakfast ready in "to go" containers.


lovely home with great service

3,8 sur août 27, 2013

Jenny and Andy do a great job of welcoming you into their home. I felt most welcome. The room was quaint and well appointed. I was very comfortable and happy to have the AC and fan as it was a warm day. Breakfast is cooked to order and you have a choice of three mains each morning. The French toast was more like a bread pudding but very good. I would stay her again if I was in town and would recommend it to my friends. De Smet is great for discovering all about Laura Ingals Wilder.


Excellent room in a great location

4,0 sur août 23, 2013

Warm environment with excellent hospitality. This B&B was child friendly with an excellent play area for toddlers.


Great place

5 sur août 19, 2013

The only downside was that we only had time to stay one night. Andy and Jenny are wonderful hosts. The house is beautiful, and the breakfast was delicious. They were very accommodating of children, including having lots of toys on the closed-in porch. And all for a very reasonable price. I could never run out of nice things to say. Wonderful place to stay to explore Laura's hometown, or for any reason.


Amazing!

5 sur août 15, 2013

The room was breathe taking! They exceeded our expectations and were so welcoming. It was like a home away from home! :)


A wonderful place to stay!

5 sur août 14, 2013

The Prairie House Manor is very comfortable, our hosts were gracious and breakfasts were wonderful!


DeSmet experience.

5 sur août 13, 2013

The Prairie House Manor was perfect for our DeSmet adventure. Loved the front porch.


Wonderful experience!

5 sur août 12, 2013

The home is beautiful, the rooms richly appointed, the hosts lovely, and the food delicious! The little extras, such as the spacious deck, tasty afternoon treats, and interesting local historical reading material, really helped my daughter and I make wonderful memories. Thank you, Andy and Jenny. May God bless you and your family!


Great place for parents & kids alike

4,4 sur août 11, 2013

Owners are friendly & helpful. I feel like I'm staying at my grandmas house. Rooms are comfortable & the rose room sleeps 5. She has every Laura ingalls wilder book so you can catch up on your reading. Nice breakfast choices & my children enjoyed the pancake man & the trivia book. I especially enjoyed the fruit bowl. There was an outside enclosed porch area that had a pool table for adults & toys for kids. Highly recommend it.


Laura Ingalls would have loved it!

4,4 sur août 10, 2013

Innkeepers were soo helpful and friendly! Rooms were beautiful and immaculate! Three doors down from Ingall's house! Perfect for families too. Only suggestion would be that it would have been nice to have a bit more variety/choices for breakfast menu.


Great place to stay when visiting the Laura Ingalls sites

5 sur août 08, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Our two children (10 and 12) had a good time too.


Prairie House Manor, De Smet SD

4,8 sur août 02, 2013

Very clean and comfortable with a deliciously prepared and pleasingly presented breakfast. The hosts are very welcoming and go above and beyond to be sure your needs are met. The only suggestion I would have is that there could be somewhere to charge electronics; all outlets were used or inconveniently located but just a power strip would provide additional outlets for charging. Other than this minor detail the stay was perfect and I highly recommend them.


July, 2013.

4,8 sur juillet 29, 2013

We stayed with Jenny and Andy during the Laura Ingalls Wilder Days. Upon opening the front door after a fun day of touring, we were met with the welcoming aroma of freshly baked caramel brownie bars! Jenny and Andy welcomed us and sat down on the sofa to chat and explain the home. It turns out they are big Ingalls/Wilder fans, too! It was fun to know we were staying at Banker Ruth's home and only one house down from Ma and Pa's final home. It was a welcoming home. Our breakfast the next day was simply wonderful and delicious. It was a picture out of a magazine and truly more than we expected. We had multiple breakfast options from which to choose the night before and it was ready at the time we chose. The fresh from the oven scones during breakfast were an added surprise and so yummy! Jenny and Andy are very nice people and we would definitely stay again.


Great Place

4,8 sur juillet 26, 2013

Very friendly atmosphere. Great place for kids. Accommodating. Wish we could have stayed longer. If you never stayed at a B&B, this is a terrific place to start. Convenient location.


A Perfect Getaway

5 sur juillet 18, 2013

My mom, sister and I had a girls' getaway and we had a spectacularly wonderful time at this B&B. Andy greeted us and was very much the host in making us feel welcome. He had already spent some time with our mom since she was not up to doing the last tour of Laura Ingalls Wilder's spots and she couldn't remark enough of how kind he was in making her feel welcome. Upon our arrival, we were shown where the coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. were located. The next morning, our breakfast was served at the time we had requested and it was scrumptious. Andy's wife, Jenny, was the cook and Andy the waiter and we felt very pampered. If you are anywhere near this area, please try to stay here. You won't be disappointed and you will think about returning, as we are!!!


Great way to stay in South Dakota

4,0 sur juillet 14, 2013

Great little place. Owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Loved their front porch to sit out late at night, talk with friends, have some wine. Would rather stay here than a motel.


An oasis on the prairie

5 sur juillet 09, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the time we left, Andy and Jenny offered wonderful service. There was lemonade and fresh homemade cookies upon our arrival. Andy was helpful in offering suggestions for dinner and complete directions for all the sites and activities in town. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Although my husband and I were by ourselves, we did note that unlike many bed and breakfasts, this one is very family friendly. An overall delightful experience and lovely ending to our Dakotas vacation.


Awesome

4,0 sur juin 26, 2013

Best family friendly place to stay in De Smet. No indoor pool is the only negative. Use the town pool in the summer if your kids want one.


Summer trip to the Prairie

4,8 sur juin 23, 2013

Wonderful B & B. Owners were so kind and personable. Kids loved the cookies when we signed in. Common areas were great to sit out on the porch in the evening. We loved our room and our stay at Prairie House Manor.


Road Trip Favorite

4,8 sur juin 21, 2013

My daughters and I took a road trip touring the homesteads of Laura Ingalls Wilder. This was their favorite BY FAR!! Friendly, inviting, convenient... great place to stay in DeSmet. Highly recommend!!


Exceptional B&B

5 sur juin 19, 2013

Loved the Prairie House Manor and our hosts. They were very welcoming, had a very clean room and an exceptional breakfast.


Great family owned Inn

4,2 sur juin 05, 2013

The Todd's took great care of us. We arrived late, but Andy greeted us warmly upon arrival and showed us everything. We had one child that was ill the following morning, and they gratiously allowed us the option of either spending another night, or staying until 3 PM. Our daughter was well enough to travel by 3 PM, and the Todd's refused any remuneration for the extra long stay. Great breakfast and themed towards the Wilder books (pancake men were a hit with our other two). Beds were very comfortable and room was amazingly large (actually two rooms in one). Thanks for everything.


My home in De Smet

5 sur mai 30, 2013

Excellent pancake in the morning with great hospitality.


Very nice stay!

4,4 sur mai 23, 2013

Very nice home base for visiting Laura Ingalls Wilder sites (including the parents home 2 doors down). We felt like part of the family at the Prairie House.


Relaxing Getaway

5 sur mai 17, 2013

My friend and I both loved the Laura Ingalls Wilder books as children, so we chose De Smet for a short getaway. We stayed at The Prairie House Manor for two nights and loved it! Our room (Americana Medley) was spacious and perfectly clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was newly remodeled. Each morning for breakfast Jenny started us out with a delicious fresh fruit salad followed a few minutes later by the hot entrees we had chosen. Everything was wonderful. Andy and Jenny are very kind hosts, and we would definitely recommend Prairie House Manor.


Prairie House Manor - 5/4/13 Review

4,4 sur mai 15, 2013

Small town Americana at its best and we LOVED it!! Jenny & Andy were awesome and we totally enjoyed our visit. If it works for us to stay with them again, we most certainly will.


Better than ma

4,2 sur mai 06, 2013

Our visit at this house was at a cold spring day and we were a little early. We were welcomed in so that we would warm up. The living room is beautiful antique and comfortable. Everything was as good or better than expected, except the cool flow of air in the bedroom. We did not dine at the property


A Wonderful & Relaxing Experience!

4,6 sur mars 26, 2013

The B & B was a great experience. The rooms are very clean and roomy. The service was great. The staff were friendly and comforting. Breakfast was to die for!


A Fun Time Away

4,8 sur mars 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at this bed and breakfast!! :) The owners were very friendly and very helpful! Great place to stay in the town of DeSmet!


Totally Pampered

5 sur février 17, 2013

I was driving through South Dakota and decided to stay over in De Smet. The room I requested was undergoing some remodeling, so the owners gave me a free upgrade to the "Japanese Garden" jacuzzi suite. I felt totally pampered with 10 pillows on the bed, marvelously plush towels, and raspberry-stuffed pancake puffs for breakfast. The owners were as welcoming as could be, and everything was comfortable and beautiful.


Wonderful stay

4,8 sur janvier 20, 2013

We loved staying here. Jenny and Andy were great hosts! They made us feel like great friends right off the bat. The house had so much personality. From the jacuzi tub, to the little sweet snack in our room, the Little house books available for the girls to read and surprisingly satellite tv i.e. FOX news for my hubby-it was a wonderful stay. I could've stayed and talked with Jenny all day eating her wonderful pecan baked French Toast becomming fast friends if only there were more time! :) Karin C.


Awesome B&B

5 sur novembre 12, 2012

Andy and Jenny , Beautiful B&B awesome stay .Will return again The Leblanc"s


Big House on the Prairie

5 sur octobre 15, 2012

We absolutely enjoyed our stay in this lovely old home. The owners are kind, gracious, helpful; the rooms are lovely and clean with attention to detail; the food was delicious; and the house itself was peace-filled. Definitely will return.


Wonderful!

5 sur octobre 08, 2012

Beautiful spot to relax and refresh your spirit. Lots of uplifting books to read. Breakfast was amazing!


Good to stay to visit the Laura Ingalls Wilder Historic Homes

4,4 sur octobre 01, 2012

We can't into the Dining with a dog. Parking is for only one car, but it was no ploblem to park on the street. Breakfast is very good! We stay with our dog, owner broght breakfast to our room. Owner, Jenny is very very good. Rooms are beautiful. We will stay here again, if we visit De Smet.


A Step Back in Time!

5 sur septembre 26, 2012

Our stay was on Friday and Saturday nights. This is a charming B&B, very quiet, with delicious homemade complete breakfasts. We will stay here again when we come back to De Smet. Thank you, Andy and Jenny, for welcoming us into your lovely home!


Awesome Experience - Amazing Hosts

5 sur septembre 25, 2012

Andy and Jenny made our stay at their house very relaxing. From the order your own breakfast to lemonade in the fridge to the directions to the best place to eat in town, everything was A-1.


A fabulous home away from home!

5 sur septembre 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Prairie Home Manor. My grown daughter and I were on a Laura Ingalls Wilder tour. We had the Bird Song room. The room is compact but quite comfortable and the bathroom is so clean and spacious that I brought my yoga mat in and had a quiet workout. The beds were quite comfortable, the perfect balance of firmness. The enclosed veranda was a great gathering place where we enjoyed talking with other guests. Breakfast we delicious!!! My daughter had food allergies and they were very receptive to working with her to be sure she had what she needed, even making a special dessert and leaving packages out so she would be completely informed about the ingredients. I can't say enough positive about the place and the people and highly encourage anyone considering it to go right ahead and make arrangements.


What a Treasure!

5 sur septembre 13, 2012

We came to see the "Laura sites" during the "off-season" knowing De Smet was a small town without much to offer on a Sunday night. Imagine our surprise to find this up-scale yet homey hide-away tucked into Banker Ruth's house! Andy and Jenny were gracious hosts who provide service and convenience at the highest quality. They are both bright, knowledgeable and helpful while respecting their guests privacy and and providing all the amenities of home. -- Jenny's breakfast was beautifully prepared and presented in the sunny breakfast room complete with music played on Pa's fiddle in the background. The 1st floor Forever Blossoms room provided king bed comfort after a long drive and can sleep up to four persons with the convenience of a cleverly hidden Murphy bed. The room even has a jacuzzi on its private porch and an small in room fridge and microwave. If you arrive on a Sunday in the off-season be prepared for few choices for dinner in the area, but Jenny will graciously check to make sure what is open before you venture out and there is always Subway and Dairy Queen that will tide you over 'til morning. As Laura fans both old and new we will, I am sure, return with younger generations and Prairie House Manor will be our only choice for lodgings in De Smet.


Amazing!

4,8 sur septembre 12, 2012

From the minute we walked in the door and past the homemade peanut butter and strawberry cupcakes and fresh hand squeezed lemonade we were smitten! The room was spacious and had a refrigerator and microwave which was great because we were traveling with a little one (almost 2). The bed was by far the most comfortable I've slept in in a long time! I can't say enough great things about this place. The owners were so polite and friendly and really made you feel welcome and wanted. The first morning we had the blueberry cheesecake pancakes which were divine! The baby loved the little man pancake that they made for him. What a wonderful time we had at Prairie House Manor. We look forward to returning sometime soon!


Charming B&B

5 sur septembre 04, 2012

Very warm and friendly - everything you would expect from a bed and breakfast.


wonderful stay

5 sur septembre 02, 2012

I booked a two night stay with 4 people in the room. Jenny and Andy were so kind and helpful. They made you feel welcome like it was your home. But also gave you your privacy. The rooms were cozy and old fashionly decorated. I liked the fact that they gave you choices for your breakfast as I am a very picky eater. I travel alot and this is one of my favorite places to stay. Highly recommend.


A truly beautiful B & B

5 sur août 31, 2012

This is a beautiful old house. The hosts, Andy and Jenny Todd go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and that they are truly pleased to have you as their guest. We would recommend this B & B to evrybody passing trough \De Smet. We wish them the very best in their endeavours. Pat and Russell


A great place to stay for all things Laura

4,8 sur août 29, 2012

We stayed at The Prairie House Manor when we came to visit the Laura Ingalls Wilder sites. For breakfast my kids had the pancakes mentioned in her book, Todd had the passage about the pancakes marked for me to read to them while they ate. They food was wonderful, the home very cozy. There are six of us and they were able to accommodate us in a large room with plenty of room for all of us.


Fantastic place and people

4,6 sur août 28, 2012

Prairie House Manor was clean, well kept and tastefully furnished. Andy and Jenny were very nice people who obviously are doing this for the love of it. The food was great too.


De Smet Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 28, 2012

The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming! During the night I was not feeling well so we informed the owners that I would no longer be eating breakfast but when they heard I was not feeling well they still accommodated me by bringing me tea and toast which made me feel like I was at home with concerned family taking care of me! They are great people and De Smet was a great town to visit. Everything was clean and comfortable and I loved that they made tasty snacks for everyone to enjoy during the afternoon adding to the at-home feeling. I definitely recommend participating in the Laura Ingalls Wilder tour, it was entertaining and informative.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

4,4 sur août 23, 2012

The Prairie House Manor was an amazing experience. Andy and Jenny who own the Manor are amazing and very welcoming. We loved our stay, and wished we could have stayed for more than one night. If I am ever back in the area I would stay again. I just could never say enough great things about our experience.


Our stay at Prairie House Manor

3,8 sur août 22, 2012

Great location for Laura Ingalls Wilder attractions. Andy was knowledgeable about what was open and how long each place would take to see which helped us plan our stay. We felt comfortable and welcome and spent time in the front room reading and chatting.Our room was clean and comfortable. I have several food allergies and they were able to accomodate them extremely well. A great place for families, too!


Awesome stay!

5 sur août 20, 2012

We had an awesome first stay at a bed and breakfast! We would stay here again for sure! We recommend!


So right!

5 sur août 20, 2012

Andy and Jenny are welcoming hosts who make you feel as guests in their home. They were able to meet all our needs in excellent ways, food was best ever, and they were knowledgeable and enthusiastic about sharing their community


The Best Way to Experience De Smet

5 sur août 19, 2012

The Todd's have done everything possible to make this a great place to stay. We came with our kids (for the second time) and everyone had a wonderful stay. Little things, like plenty of books to read, toys to play with, delicious treats in the evening, top notch toiletries, passes to the local swimming pools and an elegant and scrumptious breakfast, all combined to make us feel spoiled and pampered. The location couldn't be better, either. It is literally two doors down from the Ingalls' home. I think we've become addicted because I can't imaging traveling through South Dakota again without making the extra trip up from 90 to go to De Smet and stay at the Prairie House Manor!


Enjoyable B&B

4,2 sur août 19, 2012

We had a very restful stay and enjoyed our time of relaxation in the Japanese Garden room. Thanks for the welcoming treats and informal atmosphere!


Lovely Prairie House Manor

5 sur août 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Prairie House Manor. The hosts are kind and thoughtful and the rooms very comfortable and nicely decorated. We especially appreciated the family-friendly nature of the establishment; not many bed and breakfasts can claim that. Breakfast was delicious and there were several choices each morning, also unexpected but delightful. Highly recommended!


SO PLEASED!!!

5 sur août 17, 2012

We stayed with Andy and Jenny for two evenings. While we were in DeSmet we also did the Little House siteseeing and while that was wonderful as well, I have to say the highlight of our weekend for me was staying at the Prairie House Manor. I have been thinking about it all week and actually miss it. :-) The Breakfasts were out of this world and Andy and Jenny are just the most kind, genuine people. I HIGHLY recommend staying with them while you are there. You will NOT be disappointed. Norma


Relaxing Get-Away

5 sur août 16, 2012

Andy & Jenny were superb hosts. Themed room and matching dining-ware was creative and charming. Breakfast selections varied enough to satisfy my family of 5 and were tasty too! I would recommend Prairie House Manor to any Wilder fan or to anyone who just wanted to get away and relax on the prarie.


GREAT place!!!

5 sur août 15, 2012

Andy & Jenny are both amazing people and very welcoming! Not only was the home gorgeous but the food was amazing as well. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone (whether a family outing or a romantic weekend away) and we also look forward to being able to go back!


One of our trip highlights

5 sur août 11, 2012

We recently stayed at Prairie House Manor during the Laura Ingalls pageant week. Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip. The owners Andy and Jenny were extremely friendly. Our room which accommodated all 5 of us was clean and roomy especially compared to the hotels we had been staying in! This was such a nice treat. The kids hung out in the living room to watch Disney channel and meet other kids who were also staying here. Andy and Jenny gave them cookies and lemonade. They were very kind to the kids. We attended the pageant that night as the owners daughter was in the play and our youngest got chosen to be part of the cast thru a drawing at the pageant. It was a great time. You place your breakfast order with Jenny the night before for each person. Our girls all had the "pancake man" which is in one of the Little House books. Great options for the adults too. Kids played trivia during our short wait for the food. Fresh fruit, coffee and juice was so nice to have after fast food meals on the road. If we ever come back to the area we will definately try to stay here again!


Nice Little Gem

4,2 sur août 11, 2012

This B&B was a nice surprise in such a small town. Owners were friendly, our room was comfortable, and breakfast was beyond excellent!


Homestead Hospitality Tops!

5 sur août 08, 2012

It had been 39 years in waiting for me to see Laura's De Smet. Staying at the Prairie House Manor made for an experience to rememberas it was beyond our expectations! Andy and Jenny gave us a welcome to match that of Ma and Pa's. Sweets for the kids upon arrival, a room fit for an Oleson, a breakfast to match one in the Surveyor's House, and hospitality that was heartfelt and genuine. Even for our two little boys (who are more interested in Star Wars' Jedis and Clonetroopers) they were taken back with having their own Pancake Man for breakfast and feeling it was okay to make a little noise and just be kids. We have stayed in a lot of hotels, motels, campgrounds, bed & breakfasts, and even a castle for me in Europe. However, nothing was as sweet, as friendly, as charming, and food as delicious as what we received at the Prairie House Manor!!


Prairie House Manor

4,8 sur août 01, 2012

When my daughter and I arrived we were greeted by Jenny. She was super friendly and told us to help ourselves to coffee or lemonade she had just made up. We stayed in the the birdsong room. It was way more than what we expected. My daughter was impressed on how large the bathroom was. I enjoyed relaxing on the porch. The daybeds in our room were super comfee and we had a great night sleep. The breakfast that Andy and Jenny served the next morning was awesome. The Little House trivia books at each of the tables was a nice added touch. Andy and Jenny made us feel right at home.


Highly Recommend

4,8 sur juillet 31, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners are wonderful, the room was excellent and breakfast was delicious. Because we were the last ones to eat that morning, the owners brought out an additional sampler platter of "extra" breakfast items they had cooked. Our family enjoyed attempting to answer the Little House trivia questions from the book on our table, while we dined. Would definitely stay there again.


You should go out of your way to stay at Prairie House Manor B&B

5 sur juillet 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Andy and Jenny were gracious hosts. Our bed was very comfortable. We had 4 different breakfast choices on a menu that we picked out the night before. They had lemonade and cookies for the guests to enjoy at night. If you are looking for a place for supper The Country Club had good food at a reasonable price. The attire is casual. Be sure to see the museum in town, but don't let the first room filled with clothes and shoes scare you off. There is a natural history building that children would like.


Charming place to stay

3,8 sur juillet 28, 2012

Friendly hosts, charming room, nice and clean, plenty to read or can play pool and a good breakfast made our one night stay comfy. Would recommend it to family and friends.


A lovely place, great for your Laura Ingalls tour

4,2 sur juillet 26, 2012

This was a wonderful B&B, very conviently located, the rooms were nice and breakfast was excellent. Just 3 doors down from the Ingalls house. The rooms were very nice and the hosts went out of their way to insure your comfort. Kids are welcome and enjoyed their stay too Highly recommended.


Family Friendly

3,6 sur juillet 24, 2012

It is rare to find a family friendly B&B, but this one actually had a room large enough for our family of seven. What the room lacks in comfort (luxury bath, thermostat control) it makes up for with an incredible breakfast, outstanding service and the character and charm that only a historic house can provide. It's the perfect place to stay when visiting De Smet and all the LIW sites.


Little House Vacation Complete

4,6 sur juillet 24, 2012

I would recommend the Prairie House Manor, especially if you are a fan of Laura's books. The B & B accomodates families and the innkeepers were very nice. We had a great stay. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars on the dining is because it would have been nice to have the cookies ready at check instead of late at night. However they were delicious!


Comfortable, Friendly, Convenient

4,8 sur juillet 18, 2012

We stayed at the Prairie House Manor with our 3 kids to enjoy the Little House attractions. The Manor is architecturally beautiful and is located just 3 doors down from the Ingalls family home where we ended our tour. Andy and Jenny were welcoming and friendly without being overbearing. They have 4 kids of their own (but we never saw them) so the place has a very family-friendly feel. The food was excellent and we were even greeted with warm crumb cake when we checked in at 4. Yum! We particularly enjoyed the Little House trivia book on every breakfast table. I would highly recommend the Prairie House Manor and would definitely stay there again.


Prairie House Manor B&B

4,4 sur juillet 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and would most certainly return to Prairie House Manor! Service and personal touches - superb!!


Little House Charm!

4,8 sur juillet 15, 2012

Jenny and Andy are great hosts, and Jenny's a fabulous cook! They've thought of everything -- from toys on the porch to keep the kids happy to cookies and lemonade upon your arrival, to Ma's special pancake men as a breakfast option. She even made special meals for my child with food allergies! They will go above and beyond to make your stay in the Little Town on the Prairie special!


Loved it here!

5 sur juillet 11, 2012

My daughter and I very much enjoyed our stay here. It beats any hotel or motel. We loved being able to relax on the beautiful front porch with cappucino and hot cocoa and a freshly baked cookie. We really appreciated a Christian atmosphere and Christian hosts. We got to choose what time we wanted breakfast and it was fresh and delicious. We hated to leave! We will definetely will be back. The Prairie House Manor will be our first choice for lodging when we come again to DeSmet. Thank you Andy and Jenny!


Fantastic Stay GREAT Inn Keepers

5 sur juillet 10, 2012

Andy and Jenny Todd are awesome! My wife and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary, and we were completely satisfied. The Todds were great at giving information about the area like where to eat and what to see, and they were so fun to just chat with and get to know. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone and everyone we know!!


Our De Smet trip 2012

4,6 sur juillet 10, 2012

Had a wonderful time. Our hosts were gracious and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again!


Beautiful, Comfortable Victorian

5 sur juillet 10, 2012

This is the first B&B we've stayed in and we were pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The rooms were clean, comfortable and inviting. The food was amazing! I would definitely recommend this B&B! Everything was perfect!


Wonderful Stay

4,0 sur juillet 07, 2012

Our family had a relaxing stay at the Prairie House Manor for two days. Our hosts were very gracious, and accommodating. They made us feel right at home, and it was a pleasure to visit with them. The breakfasts were prepared well, and enjoyable. I certainly recommend any nearby travelers to take the time to stay with the Todd family. Our thanks to Andy and Jenny for a wonderful stay at the Prairie House Manor! The Carter Family, KS


Great Hosts!

5 sur juillet 04, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this B&B after spending the day retracing the homestead of Laura Ingalls Wilder. The Todd family were excellent hosts and provided everything with love.


Excellent place

4,8 sur juin 28, 2012

We stayed here for a night. The experience was absolutely wonderful. The cherry on the top is the fact that the owners are fans of the Little House books and have quite a bit of reading (and photograph books) material available. I highly recommend this place to anybody passing through De Smet.


Great Place for Kids

4,8 sur juin 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. This was the first time we tried a bed and breakfast with our children and it couldn't have been better. The hospitality was great and our kids enjoyed a chance to just be kids. We will certainly stay here again if we are in De Smet.


Highly reccommend this Bed and Breakfast!!

5 sur juin 26, 2012

We spent one night with Andy and Jenny in the Forever Blossoms room. It was a wonderful and extremely comfortable stay! The Todds are friendly and the rooms are clean. On our arrival we were greeted with some homemade treats and the cook to order breakfast the next morning was mouth watering good. My 13 year old had never been in a bed and breakfast before and to be able to stay in the home of banker Ruth, who is mentioned in The Long Winter By Laura Ingalls Wilder. was a fun look back in history. A bonus is that the Ingalls home is just a couple doors down. Stay here if you come to DeSmet. You will not be disappointed!


A Grateful Guest

5 sur juin 25, 2012

I stayed with the Todds Monday night, June 18, 2012. The room was very welcoming and clean. I was comfortable. Both Andy and Jenny were friendly and kind. I slept well, and had a pleasant breakfast. I would love to stay here again if I get to De Smet, SD in the future. Thanks again, Andy and Jenny, for a wonderful visit.


wonderful b&b

5 sur juin 16, 2012

The family that runs this b&b were wonderful hosts for our stay. The rooms and the breakfast were great as well. This was our first b&b stay and we had a great time. We will probably be going there again sometime in the near future.


We didn't want to leave

5 sur juin 15, 2012

Jenny & Andy provided such a wonderful experience, my daughter and I didn't want to leave. The room was spacious, had a microwave, refrigerator and TV plus a private bath. We also had a jacuzzi (hot tub) which was wonderful during the evening. There was a common area with drinks including hot chocolate. And they had lots of toys for children, games, books and a pool table for your down time. Breakfast was fabulous and I really liked having a choice (one of three items) each day. There was always a delicious snack in the common area during the afternoon. What a sweet surprise! Andy & Jenny were easy to be with and very welcoming. I would highly recommend this B & B. In fact, my daughter and I are thinking about making this our yearly girls weekend destination. Cynthia & Heather


I .loved how they made the Little hous books come alive for my daughter.

5 sur juin 12, 2012

Food was awesome. The home was charming. The hosts were the Best!!!


A Perfect Stay

5 sur juin 02, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at The Prairie House Manor for two nights and thought everything about it was perfect. Andy and Jenny were so accommodating and welcoming! The furnishings were lovely and so comfortable, and the attention to detail in our Bird Song room was just beautiful. The breakfast was probably the best I have ever had at a B&B. Jenny offers a selection to choose from, and they were each delicious! We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to others.


GREAT PLACE TO STAY

5 sur mai 30, 2012

You could not ask for better hosts than Andy and Jenny. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. Awsome breakfast. Great Christian Hosts. You definately feel Gods love in this home. Would definately stay again. Thank you Andy and Jenny.


Great Weekend!

5 sur mai 24, 2012

Andy and Jenny were great hosts! The house was beautiful, the food was great. And anyone who is a Laura Ingalls Wilder fan or has ever read her books should visit here.


Awesome Stay!

4,0 sur février 16, 2012

We completely enjoyed our 2 night stay at this B&B, Jenny and Andy were so friendly and warm, they made us feel like we were at home. The breakfasts were awesome, Must try the Puff pancakes and Blueberry cheesecake pancakes! The rooms were very comfortable and the bed was better than home! They made our brief stay feel like we were with family. We will definelty be back.


Wonderful Girlfriends Getaway!

5 sur novembre 10, 2011

Our room was just right. The bathroom was very spacious nad had everything we needed. The hospitality was wonderful. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Will return soon! Kay from Rapid City SD


Could not have been better!

5 sur novembre 01, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Prairie House Manor. We were thrilled with our entire experience...It was awesome to find a B&B that actually caters to families and welcomes young children! Our room was perfect for a family of five...there was room for all of us which made it really special. And breakfast...well, since we were on a Little House excursion...listening to a CD of Pa's fiddle being played while eating "pancake people" just like Ma made for Laura and Mary and having the book on the table, marked where we could read about the pancakes made for a great introduction to our trip. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming and the house was just what we wanted. I would recommend this B&B to anyone thinking about an Ingalls excursion!


Our stay at The Prairie House Manor

4,8 sur octobre 25, 2011

Andy and Jenny Todd are wonderful people. From the moment we walked in we felt right at home. They were warm and friendly and our who experience was great. The breakfast was one of the best I've had at a bed and breakfast.


Relaxing low-cost midwest escape

4,6 sur octobre 18, 2011

Enjoyed a fine night with the lady at this well-run bed and breakfast. The room was more than well stocked with all amenities and entertainment materials we needed, and the jacuzzi was a wonderful touch after a long day of travel! The hosts greeted us with fresh baked treats and ensured everything was to our liking right away. Breakfast was prepared perfectly at the time we asked and was delicious! Overall I've no complaints about the stay and indeed had my expectations exceeded!


A wonderful treat for any Laura Ingalls Wilder Fan

5 sur octobre 15, 2011

Inn keepers, Andy and Jenny are the tops and their warm hospitality is excellent! My Mom and I stayed there in late September of this year and it was a royal treat! Everything from the room we stayed in (Forever Blossoms) to the relaxed sitting area where guests could treat themselves to home made cookies and muffins as well as hot and cold drinks to the breakfast they served and the attention they gave us for any need we might have made the whole experience staying there absolutely wonderful! Would highly recommend this B and B and certainly stay there on my next trip to the Laura Ingalls Wilder Country!


Nice place, would return

4,2 sur octobre 13, 2011

I really liked this B and B. It was clean and a neat house architecturally speaking. The innkeepers were very friendly, and breakfast was delicious. It seemed to be very family friendly. I do think if I stayed there again I would request a different room. We were staying in the Japanese room, which is a very nice room but is right off the main entrance and next to the porch area. So, the room was very loud and the lights from the porch in the evening were a bit obnoxious. Being a B and B in an older house, that's just the way it was, but I think I would request another room next time for more privacy. But, overall, a very nice place.


A lovely spot to experience Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little Town on the Prairie

3,4 sur septembre 28, 2011

Andy and Jenny Todd were wonderful hosts. When we arrived they had snacks and drinks available, including homemade cookies. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Although we only ordered oatmeal, it was very good. I marked the rooms, value, cleanliness and dining as meeting my expectations because they were represented well on all the websites I searched. My expectations were high, and they met those expectations.


Beautiful and Comfortable B & B

5 sur septembre 20, 2011

The hosts were very friendly. They made our stay in the town even more enjoyable. Marianna


A very pleasant stay

4,4 sur septembre 15, 2011

We enjoyed the Japanese room with the jacuzzi. Very pleasant hosts and a delicious breakfast. The brownies and lemon bars were a welcome treat the evening we arrived. They were willing to answer any questions. The eating places were in a notebook with menus making choices easy.


A fantastic place to stay!

4,8 sur septembre 09, 2011

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Prairie House! The owners are very personable and the breakfast was great. We would definitely stay here again!!


Outstanding in every way

5 sur septembre 05, 2011

My stay for one night in the Oriental Room was very pleasant and the decor was outstanding. Andy and Jen were very gracious host and hostess, served a delicious breakfast and even accomodated my daughter and two granddaughters for breakfast even tho they roughed it in a covered wagon at the Little House Homestead the night before. If I were in the neighborhood, I definitely would stay with them.


Great Inn in DeSmet,SD

4,6 sur août 29, 2011

Would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone,very lovely and wonderful owners of the inn. Really made us feel welcome. A great place to stay in" The Little Town on the Prairie"


Our first to stay at a Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 28, 2011

Very nice we enjoyed our stay and the Breakfast was excellent, Andy and Jenny were so very nice and welcoming would recommend it to anyone!!!


Quaint stay in the Little Town on the Prairie

5 sur août 21, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the inn. Jenny and Andy were wonderful, and very gracious to our family. We had plenty of playroom for the kids on their big porch and our room was cozy. The breakfast was excellent---best french toast we've ever had----and we ate until we were stuffed! Thanks again and hope to visit again soon. Guevara family


De Smet Plein Air

4,6 sur août 17, 2011

We felt welcome the whole time we stayed there. The breakfast menu was great!


I was very pleased with our stay!

5 sur août 17, 2011

this was my first time at a B&B and I couldn't have been happier


Picture perfect

5 sur août 16, 2011

Beautiful home, rooms are comfortable and clean. Andy and Jenny are the kindess people you will ever meet. Very good breakfast. Would love to stay again.


Prairie Manor House

4,2 sur août 15, 2011

The Prarie House Manor was a great place to stay. Andy and Jenny were so helpful and friendly.


Delightful

5 sur août 15, 2011

Our overnight stay was delightful. Andy and Jenny have a gift for hospitality and make you feel very comfortable. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer.


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 11, 2011

Everything was perfect. The room was excellent and spotless. The food was delicious and our hosts were the best! Can't wait to be able to go again!!


A good option...

2,8 sur août 09, 2011

...where the options are fairly limited. Pretty much if you're going to DeSmet, you're doing something related to Laura Ingalls Wilder. You'll be right at home, as the proprietors of this inn have relocated due to the love of all things Little House. I think they're still getting the hang of the B&B thing and the breakfast certainly isn't anything super high-quality. However, they're trying hard, and offerings like Pancake Men are nice touches. Certainly beats out the local motel and you get to be right in "downtown" DeSmet.


Prairie House Manor a winner!

5 sur août 09, 2011

My sister, cousin & I undertook a tour this summer of all the sites featured in the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. This B&B was 3 doors down from one of the Ingalls homes & is thus a prime location for Little House fans. It's a block from Calumet Avenue, the "main street" of 3 of the books. Furthermore, the innkeepers were beyond hospitable and went over & above what was necessary to ensure we had all we needed. Though we arrived after 9 PM, Andy greeted us to take our order for breakfast & let us know that homemade gingerbread & beverages were in the downstairs fridge. Because another family had cancelled, we were upgraded to a larger room with no further charge. It had a refrigerator, a plus for those traveling with picnic fixings. Breakfast was in an adjoining room with a table for each room. We were sorry to leave and would not hesitate to make a longer reservation in the future. I hope to take my daughters to visit the sites a few years down the road, and look forward to visiting the Prairie House Manor once again.


Our stay in Prairie Manor B&b

4,4 sur août 09, 2011

GREAT stay in the American Medley room for the five of us, very nice and so friendly people, simply gorgeous breakfast. We really felt like at home.


What a delight to stay at Prairie House Manor!

5 sur août 07, 2011

The innkeepers were very hospitable, greeting us with cookies and beverages. They made us feel very welcome. We had everything we needed in our room and private bath. There was a mini fridge and microwave in our room, too! The beds were very comfortable. We turned in our breakfast selections before we went to bed. In the morning, coffee was ready for us to help ourselves when we awoke. We relaxed with our children on the big enclosed porch, reading De Smet information and playing checkers, before breakfast. Breakfast was ready when we had requested it. Upon entering the dining room, we had a lovely fruit cup welcoming us to our table. Our table's dishes were the same theme as our room, Americana. I noticed another party's table matched their room's rose theme. Breakfast was delicious! We were even able to read some interesting trivia while we waited for our main course. Our children ordered a pancake man. The innkeepers had one of the Little House books available for me to read the selection to them about when Ma made a pancake man. What a wonderful touch! We arrived late the evening we stayed and left right after breakfast. I only wish we would have had more time there! I would have loved relaxing there longer. We enjoyed staying there!


Wonderful Family B&B

4,6 sur août 03, 2011

The owners were so accomodating and gracious, even though we arrived super-late. The breakfast was delightful, and they took special care to cater to the kids. We had the Americana room, and the five of us fit in there great. We even had a portable crib. I also loved the location - right down the street from the house built by Charles Ingalls. Loved it!


Prairie House Manor

5 sur juillet 31, 2011

Nice owners, beautiful home!


A home away from home

4,6 sur juillet 31, 2011

Our room was very tastefully decorated with much attention to detail. The innkeepers were very warm and friendly and service was excellent. Breakfast was delicious and very welcome after the many motel breakfasts we had been eating. I would highly recommend the Prairie House Manor.


Great fun at the Prairie House Manor B&B

4,2 sur juillet 31, 2011

Our two-night stay was perfect. As a long-time "Little House" fan, I was excited to visit De Smet and my daughter found this B&B online. We decided it would add a little atmosphere to our visit. The house is only a few doors down from the original Ingalls home "in town" and it's original owner is mentioned in one of the Little House books. The innkeepers are gracious and accommodating. It was our first time in a B&B with our kids, and even though the house is full of old, unusual items & furniture, it is very kid friendly. Our breakfasts were delicious -- this B&B offers guests 3-4 entree choices the night before to accommodate different tastes and preferences. Another reason it is an ideal place for a family to stay.


2 nights in Prairie House Manor

5 sur juillet 29, 2011

Lovely family room, very kind people, nvery nice place... Made our stay so wonderful there. We won't forget our 2 nights here... The breakfast is just gorgeous and prepared with much care...


Our first B & B!

4,4 sur juillet 29, 2011

I had never tried a B & B before because of a feeling of "intruding in someone's home". However that disappeared within minutes after arrival. Andy made us feel at home right away. Jenny's breakfasts were wonderful and we had a variety of choices. We stayed two nights and would do it again.


7/10/11

4,6 sur juillet 26, 2011

This was our first stay in a B & B and we were very pleased with it. I have already recommended it to a friend that is interested in visiting the area.


Prairie House Manor Early June 2011

3,4 sur juillet 25, 2011

The host was very nice. Never met the hostess. They are working hard on redecorating the house. Some of it is good, some not so good, but that's a matter of taste, I guess.


Great place to stay and see Laura sites!!

5 sur juillet 14, 2011

One of us stayed here in 2007 while in DeSmet on a business trip. This proved to be so pleasant that she recommended the B&B for a family outing. Our kids grew up with Laura books, and we really enjoyed the proximity to all of the sites. We stay at the B&B for a weekend in August EVERY YEAR for the last 5. Andy and Jenny are the perfect hosts. Their kids are around the house reading or watching TV, so we get to know the whole family better every year in August. We have stayed at maybe a dozen B&B's, and this in at or near the top of our list. If you are anywhere around DeSmet (anywhere from Huron to Brookings, SD) be sure to stay here! The breakfast is great. Homemade snacks and goodies appear in the afternoon as if by magic, and the coffee and other drinks are always available. You can't miss with Andy, Jenny and the kids as your hosts. Tell me, if you were near DeSmet, why would you stay anywhere else? I can't think of a good reason to pass up this great experience! Stay here, you are guaranteed to enjoy it.


from Kansas

4,8 sur juillet 13, 2011

Beautiful place to stay, accomodating, great food. We stayed several nights, and enjoyed the sunporch with family and friends.


Wonderful experience!

5 sur juillet 08, 2011

We recently stayed at the Prairie Manor Bed and Breakfast in De Smet, South Dakota for two nights. We were travelling with two young children. The owners were very friendly. The room was nice and spacious with room for all four of us. There were also videos provided for the children, which was a nice bonus. The food was wonderful. We heard very little noise from other guests. This was a great place to stay!


De Smet's Best Attraction!

4,8 sur juillet 05, 2011

The Laura sites may bring you to De Smet, but the Todd's B&B will keep you coming back! Andy and Jenny are terrific hosts and immediately make you feel very welcome. Jenny's breakfasts are a treat not to be missed, especially the french toast bakes. The Japanese Garden room was very relaxing, as is the enclosed front porch that just invites you to sit, feel the breeze, and read from the Todd's collection of books related to Ingalls Wilder and South Dakota. Downtown sites like the Loftus Store are within walking distance, and in fact, the house that Pa built is just two houses down the street from the Prairie Manor. We would highly recommend this B&B for an enjoyable stay in De Smet.


Very happy with our stay at Prairie Manor House!

5 sur juillet 02, 2011

Comfortable room. Variety of delicious breakfast choices. Easy to make a reservation by internet with quick and welcoming response from hosts. Really appreciated local advice and directions offered; especially reservation made for an oil change during our one day in De Smet. Would recommend Prairie House Manor to others.


Wonderful!

4,0 sur juin 30, 2011

We were on a cross-country road trip and wanted to visit DeSmet. The Prairie House Manor was the perfect place to stay! Our hosts were so friendly, helpful and knowledgable about things to do and places to eat in the area. Our room was lovely and roomy. We were traveling with small children and they were treated as welcomed guests -- there was even a little area on the porch with children's toys -- a much needed space to relax and play after many days in the car! I hope we can come back soon!!!!


Wonderful stay!

5 sur juin 21, 2011

We stayed one night in the Japanese Garden room (queen bed, private jacuzzi) the weekend of our anniversary. We had a great stay. Gorgeous room, welcoming hosts, excellent breakfast! Our first stay in a B & B and we would absolutely go back. The town has a rich history-- I recommend a visit to De Smet for any fans of the Little House books and/or the show... and if you do visit De Smet, The Prairie House Manor is the place to stay!!


A True Gem

4,8 sur juin 17, 2011

We were looking for a change of pace and definitely found a jewel of a spot to stay while following the Ingalls Family trail from Minnesota to South Dakota. Andy and Jen made us feel right at home with their hospitality and excellent breakfast. Definitely recommend this B&B to anyone traveling through this area.


This is like home away from home

5 sur juin 08, 2011

I've been to this bed and breakfast 3 times, and I wanna go back again. Andy & Jenny Todd & their family have become friends. My mom and I are Laura Ingalls Wilder fans, so we've been to DeSmet 2 summers in a row, and this year our main excitement was to come back to this bed and Breakfast, and to see Andy & Jenny again. This time we got more aquainted with their children, they are lovely too. You couldn't ask for better Inn keepers, and just wanted to let everyone know how special they are, and what a pleasure it is to stay with them. I live 7 1/2 to 8 hours away, and it's definitely worth the drive!! Wendy Gent South English, Iowa


Helmich Review

4,8 sur juin 06, 2011

Our stay was fabulous. It was a warm and friendly environment and we were made to feel like part of the family. I would highly recommend the Prairie Manor to any of my friends and family who might be travelling in the area and we will definitely stay there again ourselves should the occasion arise. Well done!! Bravo.


Kaiser visit

5 sur juin 05, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay; Andy and Jenny were the best! The room was great, the food superb, the entire stay was exceptional. Can't wait to come back with our grandkids for another visit.


Beautiful home on the prairie

5 sur juin 04, 2011

It is truly in the middle of a lot of prairie and country roads but it is a beautiful home and the owners were gracious and friendly. It is worth travelling to see. Comfortable, quiet room and delicious breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more.


Great B & B

5 sur mai 11, 2011

This is a great B & B, bed was super comfortable, food was great, and the hospitality was outstanding. Way better than a hotel, and I would stay again.


Great B&B

4,6 sur avril 02, 2011

Andy and Jenny are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. The house is beautiful, there is plenty of stuff for the kids to do (lots of toys out on the porch, although it was too cold in the morning for the kids to play out there). We even had treats in the evening! Breakfast in the morning--outstanding! THE best omelet I have ever had in my life.


Pheasant Hunter

5 sur décembre 19, 2010

The accommodations were excellent. Andy and Jen are more than accommodating to visitors and their dogs. I will be back to hunt here with my family. I highly recommend the Prairie House Manor.


Great B&B

4,8 sur décembre 19, 2010

The innkeepers really go out of their way to please the guests & the food is outstanding. The innkeepers treat you like part of their family and very accommodating. This is one of the best B&B inns I have stayed at.


A nice get away!

3,0 sur octobre 24, 2010

Unfortunately, very little to do/see after Ociober 1st...retailers weren't very friendly downtown.


Pleasant Stay at Prairie House Manor

4,4 sur octobre 12, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at the Prairie House Manor. The hosts were delightful and the breakfast delicious. We were pleasantly surprised by the delicious apple crisp that was prepared as an evening treat for us. We will certainly plan to stay again when passing through that area of South Dakota. Bob and Helen


Prairie House Manor is Great

4,4 sur septembre 08, 2010

We had a wonderful stay, and couldn't believe we were just steps from the house that Charles Ingalls built for Caroline. Very cool!


Outstanding B&B - Fantastic Innkeepers

5 sur juillet 28, 2010

We stayed here in July 2009 and must say, we were so impressed with the overall experience of staying at a Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were so pretty and clean. Andy and Jenny went way above and beyond to make our experience special and fun. The kids loved their "pan cake man" breakfasts like Ma Ingalls used to make and our breakfasts were out of this world. We can't wait to take another trip to DeSmet to not only see the sights again, but to stay with people that made us feel like friends from the moment we checked in. Kris L. Iowa


Review from a clean freak!

5 sur mai 20, 2009

What a wonderful experience! This was the first time I have ever gone on vacation where I didn't have to 'detox' the entire room/bathroom with Clorox wipes. Everything was perfect. Andy and Jenny are a fabulous couple and fantastic hosts! I highly recommend!


It is better than going home to Grandma's

5 sur avril 17, 2009

Not only was it beautiful outside it was beautiful inside all the rooms. Best food i have ever had! The loving family atmosphere and perfect hospitality made my stay perfect. They were extremely helpful in directions to sites. I loved the free cappuccino, too!


awesome stay

5 sur avril 16, 2009

We stayed for a week and had a great time! Andy and Jenny are exceptional hosts and we were very impressed with the B&B!


Restful, friendly, pleasant

5 sur avril 16, 2009

Room was comfortable, owners very friendly, helpful in viewing the area sites. Meals were outstanding and very organized served with care. We could sit in the family room and watch TV at nights.


Pleasant off-season stay

4,0 sur avril 10, 2009

We did not have reservations, but found the B&B and it's hosts to be ready and inviting to guests. The room was comfortable for our whole family, including our German exchange student who really liked her first time at a B&B!


Pheasant hunters DeSmet

4,6 sur novembre 21, 2008

Great service, friendly, helpful, accommodating.


FANTASTIC

5 sur novembre 17, 2008

Andy and Jenny are wonderful hosts! My room had so many comforting touches! I'll be back!


first visit to a B&B

4,0 sur novembre 14, 2008

wow- this was great


Lovely house on the Prairie

5 sur octobre 31, 2008

Three cousins from different parts of the country met to visit and explore some of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Sites. Staying at the Prairie House Manor was like getting to sleep overnight at Grandma's with all of the granddaughters! Delightful!


A little bit of home

3,2 sur octobre 23, 2008

A very nice family-oriented B&B. Friendly, peaceful, and relaxing. A little bit of home on the prairie!


Prairie house Manor

3,6 sur octobre 23, 2008

beautiful setting, great service


Prairie House Manor

5 sur octobre 01, 2008

I hope that the B&B becomes a diner someday because the food was amazing. It is a blessing to have a warm, home cooked meal on a long vacation.


Loved it! Would stay again.

4,2 sur juin 16, 2008

I stayed here with my family in Aug 2007 and we loved it. The decor is beautiful, and Connie was pleasant and flexible. I recall we may not have ever actually met them, due to some big family event they had to attend, so they were very trusting with guests in the house. We checked ourselves in and out, and I think she left breakfast for us in the kitchen. The room wasn't spacious and the price was what I'd expect to pay for lodging in the boondocks, but everything lived up to what's advertised on their website. My biggest praise is for Connie's willingness to work with my food allergies and cook breakfast for me using special food items that I'd brought along. I definitely recommend Prairie House Manor and would stay here again if I was in the area.


Prairie House Manor

4,2 sur septembre 28, 2007

This bed and breakfast was outstanding.


The Prairie House Manor

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $89 - $149
  • Avis (197) 4,7
  • Chambres 6
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6058549131
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8002972416

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut