Kilburnie, the Inn at Craig Farm Avis

Ensemble
5,0

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    5
  • Services5
  • Qualité/Prix4,9
  • Propreté5
  • Repas5,0

Notation basée sur
20 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Wonderful B&B

5 sur novembre 13, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Kilburnie. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay- just what we were looking for. Very much enjoyed speaking with Johannes about the house history/restoration/etc. Extremely comfortable accommodations, not to mention a fabulous breakfast! Our compliments to the chef :) M and K Hall.


Notable B & B

5 sur août 30, 2014

My wife and I spent a night at Kilburnie in late August 2014 as part of a trip to the Charlotte area. The inn is located on a beautifully landscaped site on the Craig Farm, outside Lancaster, SC. It is an easy drive from Charlotte on US521, divided highway almost all the way. Built and restored in the Federal style, the house, tastefully elegant in its decorations, offers very comfortable bed and breakfast accommodations, supervised by a thoughtful host, owner Johannes Tromp. The main house, the oldest structure in Lancaster and threatened with demolition, was moved from a downtown site and restored through the careful and imaginative planning of Tromp with an eye for authenticity and for adapted details with an allegiance to comfort and meaningful connections with the local past. Tromp has worked with local artist Jim Shore and local artisans to create designs reminiscent of local history. Shore's work at Kilburnie includes portraits of Washington and Andrew Jackson, who was born nearby, and a scene of Washington's Southern tour visit to a local tavern that includes inventive inclusion of the artist, his son, and Tromp in the crowd. The two common rooms, the breakfast dining room and a common-room parlor, have ceilings ornamented with a frieze imaginatively designed by a local potter in collaboration with Tromp. The grounds include carefully positioned hedges and trees about the house and trails into a wood behind it that lead to a sylvan pond. On an early morning walk, I scared out a young deer by the pond. Tromp is a very welcome and helpful host, who gave us a tour of the house and told a very entertaining narrative of its restoration and special touches.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for the review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Kilburnie soon.


We were in town on a job interview

5 sur juin 22, 2013

We were in town for a job interview and the employer put us up here. I was skeptical when I heard we were staying in a B&B but...it was FABULOUS and I would definitely stay again. Johannes and his hospitality were great. The home is beautiful and amazing. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had (and I have travelled the world). The home was spotless and the rooms was marvelous. The towels, tub spa, water pressure, amenities, bed, view, etc... were all wonderful. I would highly recommend this B&B and will definitely stay there again if I am ever in town visiting. Don't miss it!!!!!


Couldn't ask for more'

5 sur avril 04, 2013

Love this bed and breakfast! Johannes is an incredible host. We loved hearing about his history as well as the history of this lovely home. My daughter and I were on a road trip to check out colleges and after a looooong day on the road, what a restful haven we found at Kilburnie!! Our third floor walk up suite was spacious, lovely and incredibly relaxing. The therapy bathtub was a godsend for our tired bodies and we slept like babies in the comfortable beds! Breakfast was a delish three course gourmet affair, yum! Should we make our way back to Lancaster, this is where we will stay!!!!

Réponse du propriétaire
I am delighted you found Kilburnie and your room so relaxing. Thank you for taking the time to write the review; it is much appreciated. Johannes


Fantastic Getaway!

5 sur août 27, 2012

Last week we stayed in the Walkup room at the top of the house. It was gorgeous and perfectly appointed. The house and the grounds are lovely. the hotelier is world class. It's really a must visit if you're anywhere near Charlotte.

Réponse du propriétaire
"World Class"! Thank you! You put a big smile on my face! I am looking forward to welcoming you back some day. Johannes


Wedding September 24, 2011

5 sur août 18, 2012

The minute we met Johannes, and toured the property we knew we were home for the wedding. Johannes was genuine, warm and kind...gently encouraging and guiding us along the path until my daughter's beautiful wedding day. From the bridal portraits to the day of the wedding, he was most accessible, compassionate, kind and extremely knowledgeable. This graceful man, along with a very talented florist and caterer, presented my daughter with the wedding of her dreams. The Inn was beyond amazing and the breakfast so deliciously prepared, set the day on a cheerful note. Can't thank him enough, and hope everyone can experience Kilburnie at least once in their lifetime. Well worth the trip and more. Connie Robinson


Highly Recommended! High-Brow European Hospitality in the South

5 sur avril 21, 2012

My wife Robyn and I stayed at Kilburnie for our 18th wedding anniversary. Johannes was OUTSTANDING! You could say he's a _master_ at providing hospitality. He went above and beyond to make our stay delicious and comfortable. You will not be disappointed with a stay at The Inn. He cares and you feel it. The house and grounds were lovely and the bed was uber-comfortable. Make sure you allow time to hike the trails--he's got lots of acreage. Don't hesitate... book a night at his lovely house and you won't regret it. Peter & Robyn Charlotte, NC

Réponse du propriétaire
Dear Peter & Robyn, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I rejoice knowing that your stay at Kilburnie inspired you to do so. Johannes


What a find!

4,8 sur juin 08, 2011

Liked it so much we went back again. Rooms are large, beautifully furnished with TV, gas fireplaces, and air tubs. Beds are very comfortable. Innkeeper makes sure you enjoy your stay and breakfasts are a definite cut above. This is probably the best B&B we have ever stayed at despite it's reasonable price. Well worth a stop when in the Charlotte area.


Exquisite

5 sur avril 27, 2010

We stayed overnight and wished it were forever. They mix antique and new furnishings with fabulous art in a down home manner -- no cutesy ceramic frogs or religious paraphernalia. Baked pears and blueberries started a breakfast of shirred eggs and a to-kill-for muffin. Craig farm history (from mid 1700s), renovation of Kilburnie house and back stories of art and furniture pieces are awesome. We stepped into history and experienced wonderful hospitality for sure. Best B&B ever, and we've been around.


Kilburnie

5 sur avril 18, 2009

My husband and I went to the inn for breakfast this morning. Kilburnie is lovely, and its inhabitants are even more appealing than the place itself.


An absolute gem

4,6 sur novembre 21, 2008

The innkeeper has rescued and move a beautiful old home from demolition. The results are incredible. It's beautiful and peaceful from the decor to the grounds. The rooms are well done with fireplaces, spa tubs, and Bose radios. There is not much to do in Lancaster but Charlotte and Columbia are about 45 mins away and this makes an excellent central point. We are going back soon.


Third visit to one of the very best!

5 sur octobre 31, 2008

After visiting many B & B's over many years, we rate Kilburnie one of the very best. We usually visit a B & B only once; our recent stay at Kilburnie was our THIRD!! And we plan future visits. The facilities(meticulously restored and expanded historic home, exquisitely furnished), the artwork, the amenities (fireplaces in every room, hydro massage tubs, etc.), the pastoral setting (pastures, cattle, woods, well-marked trails, ponds, flowers, wildlife), Johannes-the attentive and caring innkeeper, and the delicious gourmet breakfasts, all combine to make this an unforgettable B & B experience.


European Charm and Southern Hospitality

5 sur octobre 29, 2008

Discovering this wonderful historic inn in my childhood hometown was such a surprise! The restoration and detail are beyond expectations. Famous local artist Jim Shore has paintings hanging in the inn. He also helped to restore the intricate moldings in the public rooms. Johannes Tromp makes each guest feel as though he were the honored guest at a family reunion. Bose music systems in each room welcome you home at the end of the day.You won't be sorry that you stayed at this inn. It is everything that you expect and hope for, and more.


Gracious hospitality

5 sur octobre 05, 2008

No detail was left undone... this is a historical gem set in the fabulous Old English District of South Carolina. Our host was knowledgeable, attentive and became a friend by the end of the weekend. The architecture and furnishings are beautiful and the breakfast is grand! Johannes' personal tour by golf cart of the 400 acre farm was a real treat. We'll make this a regular getaway.


Back to Kilburnie

5 sur septembre 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Kilburnie in 2004 and promised each other that we would get there again - and we finally made it back. Everything was as we remembered - Johannes and his warm hospitality, squeaky clean and impeccably appointed guest rooms, an elegant breakfast - just total relaxation.


Outstanding Hospitality

5 sur mars 13, 2008

We found Kilburnie purely by chance and it turned out to be the best experience of our mini-vacation. I would reccommend Kilburnie to anyone without hesitation. We had a fireplace in both the bedroom and the bathroom, his and her pedestal sinks, whirlpool bath, exquisite linens and a very comfortable bed! Kilburnie is truly exceptional and the host, Johannes has unsurpassed hospitality skills. Well worth a visit!


The Perfect Place

5 sur mars 04, 2008

Kilburnie gets our vote for the most outstanding B&Bwe have stayed in! All future choices have a lot to live up to by comparison. Johannes is a great host who makes you feel relaxed and special from the moment of arrival. Delicious breakfasts, beautiful details, total comfort and very, very clean. We will recommend and we will return!


Heaven on earth!

5 sur février 12, 2008

Kilburnie is a beautiful old house situated in a relaxing and picturesque setting. The pictures on the website do not do justice to the property. It is by far the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in. I spent a relaxing weekend here with a group of friends and we were all really impressed with the quality of the accommodation. Johannes the manager is a wonderfully welcoming person and a great coo. He's full of local knowledge & only too happy to help. I wholeheartedly recommend a stay at Kilburnie to anyone who wants to experience Southern hospitality at its best!


An elegant experience from start to finish

5 sur août 22, 2007

I came across Kilburnie through this website and am still impressed at how excellent a choice I made through pure luck. Johannes is a consummate host and breakfast chef - one of the best breakfasts in my time in the US for sure. The accomodation is elegant and soooooo comfortable. I loved my early morning walk through the private wood, seeing the white tails of deer bounding away through the foliage. I recommend a stay at Kilburnie to anyone who is travelling anywhere near Lancaster - in fact, go out of your way to stay there.


The Best B&B

5 sur février 07, 2007

I've stayed in B&B's all over the county and in a number of international ones as well and Kilburnie is my favorite. I discovered it last year when arranging a trip to Charlotte and liked it so much I went back later in the year. Johannes is an excellent innkeeper (when you discover his background you'll know why). He made me feel very welcome. His advice convinced me to detour a bit through South Carolina and now I have new friends there. Kilburnie is in a gorgeous setting and has a wonderful history, as does Craig Farm. I highly recommend a stay at Kilburnie!


Kilburnie, the Inn at Craig Farm

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $169 - $219
  • Avis (20) 5,0
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8034168420
  • Fax 1-8034168429

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut