Cannonboro Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
45 Avis

Ecrire un avis

The weekend of March 14

4,8 sur avril 14, 2014

I and most of my family stayed here while attending my granddaughters wedding. We especially enjoyed the service of manager Lynn and her staff. Lynn made our stay at Cannonboro Inn outstanding.


charming, comfortable, and convenient

5 sur janvier 27, 2014

My husband and I had a relaxing and very enjoyable stay at Cannonboro Inn. Our room was lovely, charming, spacious and very comfortable. We had full breakfasts every morning which were the best meals we had during our vacation. The members of the staff were so friendly and helpful with whatever need we had. The inn was conveniently located within walking distance of the historic places in Charleston.


Great find. Hidden Gem.

5 sur novembre 19, 2013

Staff, place itself, and food was outstanding. Stay here.


Southern Hospitality at it's best

4,6 sur juillet 16, 2013

The staff were warm & friendly and the breakfasts were excellent not your typical continental boring meals at some B/D. This was a hot cooked to order southern dish and we were served a different dish every day of our 3 nights there. The rooms were comfortable & clean. Location was excellent located directly across the medical university and only a few blocks walking distance to the historic district on King & Market streets. The staff had accurate info on dining and activities. We enjoyed are stay at Cannonboro and would defiantly return again.


Awesome place to stay!

5 sur avril 13, 2013

I stayed here while in town for an interview at MUSC. Our room was clean and very homely. It reminded me of my grandmother's house. The breakfast was really good and the staff was very friendly. They serve afternoon wine and snacks which were good as well. I really don't have a negative thing to say about the place. We stayed there on a half off special that they offered in the tourism off season, I suggest that you take advantage of this if you are planning a trip to Charleston. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone that visits this great city!


Beautiful Southern Inn

4,6 sur avril 08, 2013

My husband and I are "seasoned" B n B'ers... We stayed at the Inn in September, for a short Vacation... The room was comfortable, large and lovely, hospitality of the staff was awesome, and the friendliness and knowledge of the Innkeeper as to the local Restaurants was outstanding. The breakfasts were "to die for"... definitely worth the stay! We would definitely stay there again!


It's Real!

5 sur janvier 10, 2013

A real B & B! Vintage house with easy walking distance to inner Charleston, and a hot breakfast. The wine and snacks in the evening were a real treat. My wife and I were there New Year's eve 2012, were warmly welcomed by the Inn Keeper and we really enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Try it.


Ron & Gail Oliver

5 sur novembre 07, 2012

Dear Friends at Cannonboro: We spent five nights at the Cannonboro in early June of this year. I am late in sending you our heartfelt thanks for a wonderful visit. We especially enjoyed our morning breakfasts on the veranda and how you all spoiled us rotten. Marie (our host) and Barry (the owner) made our visit so plesent with spectacular breakfasts and helpful and informative conversations with Barry in which he shared a weatlh of knowledge about the house and the town of Charleston. Several local eatery's were recomended and were awesome as well. We have been to Charleston many times and brought our 18 year old daughter and our best friends and thier 19 year old son. It was thier first time to Charleston (our daughter was three last time) and the stay at the Cannonboro made our return to Charleston after 15 years truly remarkable. We plan to return much sooner than 15 years and the Cannonboro will be our place to stay, Slightly North of Broad in a quite neighborhood, we would highly recomend a stay at the Cannonboro. Ron & Gail Oliver Corona, CA


Wonderful Getaway!

5 sur juillet 19, 2012

We needed a four day break and are so glad we chose the Cannonboro Inn B&B! My first contact was by phone with Marie. She made it easy to pick a room. Told us the scoop on each and though most were filled this weekend, offered to let us switch to another room as others opened Monday. So we got to experience two rooms in one stay! The beds were very comfortable in both. I have a bad back and am like the princess and the pea when it comes to beds. I slept like a rock in both quiet ornate rooms. When we checked in, she showed us the crackers and savory spread (which changed each day), great cran-raisin infused fudge, and two wine decanters to enjoy while she discussed restaurant plans for our evening. When it was time for Marie to leave, she informed us that Elaina, the second of four innkeepers we’d meet would arrive shortly. In the morning we met Susan speaking with Jan. Susan served our gourmet breakfasts each morning (each very different and delicious)! Trish (a housekeeper) helped serve the breakfasts with a big smile. Trish actually moved our heavy suitcase and belongings to the second room while we were out in Charleston having fun! She got a big tip from us. The Inn is well kept. There was a man outside preparing to paint the railings, calking, etc. and later I saw someone trimming the lower branches off a beautiful tall palm tree. Miss Jan (the head innkeeper) graciously walked with us a block to their sister Ashley Inn B&B to set us up with bicycles to roam the city for the afternoon. Every person went above and beyond our expectations. The Inns are convenient to everything. Directly across the street is MUSC and a few blocks away is C of C. Nearby is a free public trolley bus with multiple routes to the entire peninsula. We’ve used many historic B&B’s. None have treated us better.


Romantic weekend

5 sur février 20, 2012

At the last minute we found this B&B and are so very glad we did! Room was beautiful and very comfortable (Room #4). Afternoon tea was a terrific touch. Wait staff was friendly and the inn keeper was quite helpful. She even made reservations at the 11th hour for a romantic dinner at Lana's (would highly recommend the braised short ribs & parmesan rissoto). We used the inn's bicycles to ride down to Market Street (so you know it had to be close because we're not in the greatest shape!). Would highly recommend this B&B and will be going back ourselves!


We'll choose Cannonboro Inn again

4,6 sur septembre 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Cannonboro Inn recently and were very happy with the accomodations. We stayed in the suite which was spacious and clean. The breakfasts were outstanding and were such a treat in the morning. The hosts were gracious and friendly and were eager to answer questions and to offer help. When we return to Charleston, this is the place we will stay.


A great place to stay.

5 sur avril 29, 2011

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. When my mom and I decided to take an impromptu road trip up to Charleston from Atlanta, we chose the Cannonboro because of its affordability and special amenities (touring bicycles!). We had such a nice time at this inn. We stayed in room #2 of the guest house which was beautifully decorated and relaxing. The beds were very comfortable and we especially enjoyed being able to use the guest house kitchen. We also liked that this B & B is located in a quieter more residential part of the city, but still within walking distance of all the excitement. Upon arrival we were greeting by the very friendly and accommodating hostess. A few hours later we enjoyed wine and hors d’oeuvres on the beautiful Cannonboro porch. The next morning we had a fantastic sit down breakfast, chatted with other guests from all corners of the United States, and spent a very pleasant morning discussing Charleston history with Barry the owner of the Cannonboro and the Ashley Inn. Before departing, mom and I took the inn's bicycle for a spin around the city. This is a great place to stay, and we can't wait to return!


Excellent

5 sur mars 27, 2011

Very pleased with all aspects of stay -- excellent service, recommendations for restaurants were great, breakfast was incredible, and took advantage of free loaner bikes. Will return!


Thumbs up for Barry and Cannonboro Inn

4,4 sur mars 15, 2011

We loved our stay at the Cannonboro - spent 5 nights at the end of February into the first few days of March - Barry was a great and knowledgeable host and the staff made us New Yorkers right at home. They sent us to Lanas for the best meal we had in Charleston. They set up a sight seeing tour for our first morning in town and Barry reccommended some golf options we enjoyed. We had to leave before 7am and told them not to figure us into their breakfast planning that day - they packed us a portable breakfast that they left in the fridge for with a note wishing us a safe trip. Can't beat it with a stick. Pretty surroundings and captivating people at the Cannonboro. (The same can be said for the city of Charleston itself). Enjoy.


Elegant and Comfortable

5 sur février 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful southern Bed & Breakfast. The room was large and tastefully decorated. Charleston has many sights to offer and this Bed & Breakfast is located near a trolley to take you on a tour. Breakfast here is a reason to get up, although the bed is so comfortable you may want to linger. When you smell fresh coffee brewing and come down the staircase to the beautifully set table and a delicious gourmet breakfast you have been welcomed with the Southern style grace. The Innkeeper is just a delightful person and the owner, Barry takes his morning coffee with you and has some great stories to tell. This is truly a must if you like Charleston and Southern hospitality.


story-telling mecca

4,6 sur janvier 14, 2011

Even in freezing rain, the building was more beautiful than the photo here suggests. The staff is very helpful. The highlight is breakfast, where owner Barry Carroll holds court, spinning fascinating tales of Charleston's past. But I do wish they offered healthy alternatives at breakfast -- one day the only option was sausage gravy.


Lovely weekend

4,8 sur octobre 05, 2010

Stayed at the Cannonboro for a wedding in Charleston. Clean room and bathroom. Quiet area. Would highly recommend


RELAXING & CHARMING !

5 sur août 23, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 4 day stay at this beautiful and charming B&B. It was everything we expected and more....and the price was right! Barry and his staff were so welcoming and helpful. They arranged for tours and were very knowledgeable about Charleston and all there is to do and see. They have a wonderful book of restaurants that you can look at to see what fits your fancy. Our room was very spacious and clean and it had access to the beautiful second floor piazza which we used each day to have our afternoon wine and cheese that was provided by the Innkeeper. Breakfast was served each morning on the first floor piazza where we were seated with other guests and were entertained by Barry's wealth of knowledge about the history of the Inn and Charleston. Each morning we were treated to a different and delicious breakfast meal. Our stay was so enjoyable and we will definitely be back and recommend this B&B to others. Pat & Ed, Cincinnati, OH


WHAT A GREAT B & B

5 sur août 01, 2010

My wife and I just returned from spending 4 nights in Charleston at The Cannonboro Inn. Barry and his employees did everything possible to make our stay very enjoyable. The room with the King bed (#4) was perfect. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. Everyone at The Cannonboro Inn was very friendly. Their served breakfasts are delicious. The afternoon wine and cheese is much more than we expected. The staff arranged restaurants and tours for us on a daily basis and truly made our vacation in Charleston fantastic. We cannot say enough about how wonderful we were treated. We will be going back to Charleston and will stay at the Cannonboro Inn. Incidentally, we also toured their sister B&B The Ashley House and would also stay there. Jacquie and Bill Elliottsburg, PA


Charming B&B Experience

4,0 sur juin 23, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful, long weekend at the Cannonboro Inn. We enjoyed so much about this charming Inn, especially the lovely breakfasts on the porch, meeting the other guests and the innkeepers warm hospitality. We loved learning all about the house and its secrets and hearing the innkeepers' Charleston stories. What a wonderful way to begin the day! D Hoffman


One of the best places we have ever stayed- five star!

4,8 sur juin 06, 2010

We stayed at the Cannonboro Inn for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Charleston was the perfect setting & this was the perfect place. From the moment we walked in until the time we said goodbye, we had such a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Suite on the third flood, while not your typical B & B style room, we enjoyed the small kitchen & living room that the suite offered. We had the chance to peek in most of the rooms- beautiful. Our room including the beds, were very comfortable. The Inn had a lovely parlor & lobby, but our favorite place was the upper piazza. We enjoyed sitting on the piazza late afternoon after a day of touring & late in the evening after dinner. We enjoyed a glass of tea or wine & some of the yummy snacks that the Inn provided each day out on the piazza. The Inn is located about a mile from the center of town which we felt made it a little quieter than other places. So many of the B & Bs in Charleston offered only a continental breakfast which in our opinion takes out one of the most important qualities of a B & B which is the breakfast. We enjoyed a delicious gourmet breakfast each day. To say that the breakfasts were some of the best we ever had is not an exaggeration. The owner Barry was delightful. We enjoyed his company each morning as we dined on the lower piazza with white table clothes and a cool breeze. Barry was helpful in answering questions, making suggestions for things to do & he even made our dinner reservations once we decided on a restaurant. Barry shared many entertaining stories & was so pleasant that you felt so comfortable at the inn and with Barry. He had a very small wonderful staff. We cannot say enough good things about the Cannonboro Inn. If we had to say one bad thing it would be that we couldn’t stay longer. A most wonderful, relaxing, and enjoyable stay. We would highly recommend the Cannonboro Inn! Thank you Barry!!


A Great Night Rest

4,0 sur mai 19, 2010

My husband and I spent last Saturday night at Cannonboro Inn and had a great time. The breakfast on Sunday morning was fantastic. Barry Carroll was a great host.


Wonderful stay !

4,8 sur mai 03, 2010

The Cannonboro is a wonderful home and Barry and his staff do a great job of making your stay enjoyable! Great location for walking Charleston (About 1 to 1 1/2 miles to Battery Park) I can't recommend this B&B highly enough for a cozy, relaxing stay in the heart of Charleston


GIRLS WEEKEND AT THE INN

4,4 sur mars 14, 2010

My best childhood friend and I spent a long weekend at the Cannonboro Inn. The room was huge and had two beds, which is rare for a B&B. We met some wonderful folks over the full gourmet breakfasts and during afternoon wine and goodies. Coffee and tea was always available and I felt at home enough to pad downstairs in my pajamas for my first morning cup. Barry,the owner, was always there at breakfast telling stories of old Charleston and making sure we had everything we needed. Parking was tight but we never moved our cars. Everything was well within walking distance! The price was the same as the moderately priced hotels in the area. Great value! I would stay here again.


Cannonboro is tops!

4,6 sur mars 10, 2010

My mom made this reservation at The Cannnonboro Inn as a birthday gift for my husband and I. I wasn't sure what to expect as I had never been to Charleston before, nor had I really stayed at many B & B's before. As soon as we arrived in the early afternoon, we were met by Barry (the Cannonboro's owner) who was so nice and so relaxed during our stay, telling us stories about Charleston as well as the Inns he owns, that we felt instantly at ease. Once we got the baggage up to our room, we were excited to be able to relax with the iced tea, wine and snacks that had been put out downstairs, after our long drive (we're from Orlando, FL)! Our room was really nice (spacious and VERY clean) and it just felt like a 'home away from home' for us! (A hotel can seem so austere by comparison.) While we were enjoying the afternoon tea and wine, Barry told us about several area restaurants that we should check out as well as some local lore. The breakfasts were fantastic with quite out of the ordinary meals (orange glazed cinnamon french toast with walnuts, fresh apple slices and sausage links; scrambled eggs encapsulating scallions with a sausage croissant turnover smothered in what tasted like a yummy creamy sundried tomato infused gravy with a side of fresh orange slices)! Though I usually don't eat breakfast (I never take the time), it was definitely so awesome to have something made for me so that I could conveniently come down, eat it and go out to explore Charleston with my husband! Overall, I would highly recommend The Cannonboro Inn! Barry is such a great help, whether it be finding a place to eat or questions about Charleston's history (or The Cannonboro's) and the Inn is simply outstanding with all the staff helping to create a serene atmosphere to escape to!


Felt right at home

4,8 sur septembre 12, 2009

I am posting this review as our first day at the Cannonboro Inn comes to a close. We are both thrilled with our room (#2 on 2nd floor), the service, and the accommodations. We arrived late Friday night, and were unable to get up in time for breakfast today. We decided to use the bikes provided to take a tour of the town. These were available at the Ashley Inn, just down the street. There, we encountered Carol, who could not have been nicer and more helpful. She not only retrieved the bicycles from storage, but recognized that my wife needed a basket for her purse. She went out of her way to search storage for a basket, which made our biking around the city that much more convenient and enjoyable. Tonight, it's out on the town to Blossom Cafe, King Street Grille for the OSU-USC game, then Vendue Rooftop Bar. Looking forward to breakfast in the morning out on the porch, and some more shopping downtown at the market. I would recommend Cannonboro to anyone interested in staying at a cozy, charming B&B in Charleston.


We discovered treasure in Charleston!

5 sur août 10, 2009

Dr. Samuel Johnson (1709-1784) once wrote: "There is nothing which has yet been contrived by man, by which so much happiness is produced as by a good inn." The one thing that made our recent trip to Charleston, SC more enjoyable than any other was the Cannonboro Inn Bed and Breakfast. The city is wonderful, the restaurants are fabulous, and the shopping is marvelous - but at the end of the day you get to come home to this lovely house with its gracious staff and exquisite decor - and just relax with afternoon tea (or wine!). No matter where you dine that night, you know you will have something equally good for breakfast the next morning. And your innkeeper, Barry Carroll, will amaze you with his knowledge of Charleston history, tease you with his wry humor, and simply make you feel at home with his gracious style. We really did not want to leave to go back to our real home, and we are already looking forward to our next visit to this treasure in the Holy City. And the price is right, too! Five thumbs up!


Wonderful time

4,6 sur juin 01, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the inn. The breakfast was delicious! Will definitely stay there again and recommend to others.


great staff made our stay the best

5 sur mars 10, 2009

Very homey, comfortable, very good breakfasts--all for a good price. The friendly staff was genuinely interested in really helping. Go to Lana's restaurant around the corner.


Enjoyable stay at Cannonboro Inn

4,6 sur mars 08, 2009

My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Cannonboro Inn. Our room was clean and beautiful and breakfast each morning was delicious. Staff was helpful and very friendly. Also enjoyed the wine and snacks each afternoon. M&S from PA


Enjoyed our visit!

4,2 sur mars 02, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights At Cannonboro. We liked most everything about the Inn. The staff was great, the food was very good, the Inn is clean. The only downside was the one night we stayed in a room that fronts the street. There is a lot of traffic and it got pretty noisy starting around 4:30 in the morning. The second night we were on the side of the house and it was nice and quiet. I definitely recommend Cannonboro and hope to return. Be sure and walk to Hominey Grille while you are there.


Wonderful

5 sur décembre 10, 2008

We spent the weekend at the Cannonboro last weekend and had a wonderful time. The room was beautiful - the location was great - the food was amazing and the innkeepers Mark & Diane were very friendly and helpful. We will definately stay here again and have already recommended it to several friends.


Wonderful place to stay!

4,4 sur octobre 27, 2008

It was a great location, easy to get around from the highway and to historic Charleston, local eateries, and parks. I was in the guest house which was perfect for me it had a kitchen, a semi formal dining area with "public" phone and computer access, and off street parking. The breakfast was wonderful, and very filling. The staff was very helpful picking out dining options and had literature on a variety of venues, very helpful. I would recommend it to anyone!


A delightful Charleston b & b..

4,8 sur octobre 16, 2008

We stayed 3 nights for our first visit to Charleston.. a BEAUTIFUL and comfortable b&b. The two women who greeted and hosted the first couple of nights (Diane & Lisa) were delightful, and Pat, the housekeeper, was like a doting aunt fussing over us, tending to our comfort, preparing and serving scrumptious breakfasts. We walked to the historic district and everywhere we visited (granted, we are walkers.. might be a bit challenging for less fit folks). Loved meeting and conversing with the other guests over the delicious late-afternoon wine and appetizers, and while enjoying our gourmet breakfasts. Staff assisted in securing reservations for tours and at some outstanding neighborhood restaurants (don't miss Hominey Grill or Lana's). Other guests made cheerful use of the complimentary bicycles provided by the inn. We look forward to a return visit!


Could be better

3,6 sur octobre 01, 2008

Their website advertises fresh baked goodies. There are none. The staff said they were trying to get away from that. The bathrooms for rooms 1 and 3 are quite small. If you get a room facing the street, the traffic noise could wake you. It did not bother us, but it did bother another couple. There were smashed cracker crumbs on the carpet so apparently they missed vacuuming that area. The parking is very tight. On the plus side, the food is good and the staff is very friendly.


Great Vacation

4,8 sur septembre 23, 2008

The room, service, and cleanliness were very excellent. Very economical for the size of the room my wife and I had. The location is near the historic district of Charleston (within walking distance - about 7 blocks). I would recommend this spot when you plan a vacation to Charleston. Next time I plan a vacation to Charleston, I will definitely search for reservations at this Inn. Great place to stay!!!!


Enjoyed our stay

3,4 sur septembre 22, 2008

This was our first visit to Charleston and when we arrived at the Cannonboro Inn, we were greated like a family member coming home. The entire staff was very accomodating and helpful. We appreciated that there were only 8 rooms in the house and guests joined together at breakfast and for afternoon snacks. If you would like to get away from the anonymity of larger inns and hotels, then this is the place to come to. A special trademark of the inn is there daily changing breakfast menu, which is individually prepared and served with great pride.


Pleasant Stay

4,0 sur septembre 03, 2008

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the house. The breakfasts were delicious and there were great afternoon snacks to tide us over after exhausting sightseeing. Our room was very comfortable but the bathroom was small and the towel rod looked very wobbly. There was a great restaurant called The Hominy Grill within walking distance.


Our New Favorite Place To Stay In Charleston!

5 sur août 29, 2008

We visited Cannonboro Inn after learning an ancestor of mine built the house in 1853. The website itself is very inviting and the stay was delightful. Every room is beautifully decorated and ours was quiet and comfortable. We stayed four nights and each breakfast on the piazza was better than the morning before! We planned our days around the afternoon fudge and drinks and appreciated the attention of the most friendly and informative staff. Our new favorite place to stay! L&T Sarasota, Florida


Disappointed

2,4 sur juillet 22, 2008

The reason I rated the room and service low was because of one incident--the toilet in our bathroom wouldn't flush. When I spoke to the manager about this she said it was too late (it was only around 6:30pm) to get someone out there to fix it and we would have to use the public restroom. I paid $190/night for a room that doesn't have a working toilet and I'm expected to use a public bathroom? Also, I know a lot of people rave about the breakfast. You do get a full breakfast, but I wasn't really impressed with the food selection. All in all, the breakfast tasted fine. My girlfriend put it best when she said the owner is more concerned with the business side of the B&B than getting to know and catering to his guests like a B&B is supposed to do. I wouldn't recommend this B&B at all. Pay a little extra money and stay at a B&B that puts their guest needs before their bottom line.


A wonderful place for romance.

5 sur mai 17, 2008

Mark and Paula from Florida will never forget the hospitality, the charm and warmth of the Cannonboro B&B. Barry's insight of Charleston's history and places to visit was especially the "icing on the cake." Truly a romanic city, a wonderful B&B, and memories that will last a life time.


Impressive Visit!

5 sur décembre 21, 2007

You feel less like you are staying at a B & B and more like you are visiting a dear friend - who makes you feel right at home and makes the most delicious gourmet breakfast! Our room was beautifully done and the Inn had a welcoming feel to it. The Innkeeper was so helpful and informative. I can honestly say that her tips for where to go and what to see helped make it a favorite vacation. Will definitely go back!


Wonderful B&B in Charleston

5 sur avril 10, 2007

We had a wondeful stay at the Cannonboro. The hospitality was kind and inviting, the inn was beautiful and clean. We felt at peace in our room and slept like babies. The best sleep I have had away from home. The walk to King Street was about 1 mile but inviting as we saw it as a way to see the city and burn some calories. But there is so much parking in Charleston that the walk was not a concern. Loved our stay and will definitely go back to the Cannonboro Inn.


Disappointed in Charleston

2,0 sur mars 09, 2007

Unimpressed by the inn and the service. The breakfast, however, was delicious.


cannonboro stay

4,2 sur janvier 22, 2007

the hospitality was warm and the food was gourmet,but the home is a little run down and slightly north of the historic area.


Cannonboro Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $109 - $250
  • Avis (45) 4,6
  • Chambres 6

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8437238572
  • Fax 1-8437238007
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8002358039

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut