The Island Home Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,2

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,0
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,1
  • Propreté4,4
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
64 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Solitude

3,0 sur octobre 07, 2014

Our friendly very busy host Dave met our needs after a miscommunication through booking.com. He placed us in a smaller room and made up for it the next day. We had a room with a lovely view of the harbor and he let us stay beyond the usual checkout time. Breakfast was tasty with several choices, in the evening merlot and moscato with appetizer/ fresh cookies served at 5:30 P.M., grounds nice, fountain, flowers, seating, hammocks and funky art work. The Inn was quaint so don't expect anything beyond if you like plush. Music and scented candles greet you as you walk in the front door. Very steep stairs in the main house for Those who have walking issues so stay sober! It was a wonderful place for solitude to snuggle up and read a book or take a nap. Block Island is a nature lovers paradise. Hike or bike, bird watch, picture taking...it's the perfect island for leaving all the stressors behind.


Great, cute place to stay with excellent service.

4,6 sur septembre 29, 2014

The inn keeper is awesome and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.


great stay

4,6 sur septembre 28, 2014

Stayed with another couple and don't know if we could have had a better stay. Clean rooms, good food, and Dave and his staff were professional and yet made us feel right at home. Dave was more than willing to answer questions about the island and things we could do. We will be back. Bill and Alison


Very nice, quiet and clean.

3,2 sur septembre 15, 2014

Never staying at Block Island, we didn't know what to expect. Having stayed at other BnBs, we had some idea of what to expect. Our room was nice and quiet -- in the carriage house. The owner was very welcoming and explained the property and its amenities. The wine/cheese/guac time was nice and the front porch was very welcoming. The bathroom in our room was a bit tiny, but it was fine for our short stay. If we came back, we'd choose one with four even walls - no dormers. The location is about a mile from town and definitely walkable without suitcases. Rich's Ride helped us out a few times with our bags or if it was late at night.


Labor Day week

2,2 sur septembre 12, 2014

"fabulous views of the ocean and New Harbor" that's what they say on the website of the room I stayed, that's so not true. It's just a a far away view, you have to pay attention to see it. There are no wall hooks in the bedroom and in the closet I found 4 mismatched hangers, one from a dry clean store. It's overpriced, I stayed in better B&B, and less expensive, in Bar Harbor, Maine. I believe I forgot my phone charger at the bedroom, I emailed, I called a few times and nobody ever called me back or acknowledge my email. ps.: I had to enter a Dining score otherwise the program would not let me finish the review, but there was no Dining at this B&B.


Our new vacation home

4,8 sur septembre 09, 2014

What a wonderful stay we had. The hospitality was great, the location was perfect, and who doesn't love a homemade hot breakfast every morning. We have already booked our room for next year!!!!


Weekend Getaway

4,0 sur septembre 08, 2014

Must say the service and hospitality of the Inn keepers was excellent Also the the breakfasts were beyond expectation Never have I experienced anything like it before Homemade muffins fresh fruit daily and yogurt and granola And a hot entree to boot Examples during our stay included French toast ,pancakes ,eggs with sausage or bacon on the side Wow! Stayed in the carriage house liked the ability to Have a little more room as the rooms there have private decks We had a great time Thanks! We would love to come again


Charming, great location, friendly innkeeper-will return!

3,2 sur août 30, 2014

Girls trip. Ability for room to be made up with 2 twin beds was perfect. Location was perfect, within walking distance of both the Old and New Harbors. Dave was friendly and very welcoming. Nice breakfast in a quaint atmosphere.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast experience!!!

5 sur août 27, 2014

Fantastic bed and breakfast. Look forward to coming again!


August 18, 2014

3,0 sur août 24, 2014

Although everything met my expectation, I will never stay at this B&B again. Upon arrival I presented the Innkeeper a $200 gift certificate. He indicated that he will reduce the charge place on my charge card the same day. Prior to my department I remended him of the gift certificate and he once again indicated that he would take care of it immediately. Despite a phone message I left on their answering machine and a email, both not answered, he has still yet to applied the credit. My next step is to notify better business.


Home away from home!

4,8 sur août 18, 2014

Our stay at Island Home Inn for our 10year anniversary was fantastic. I don't know whether it was the delicious breakfast, the fine details and items of the home which transported us back to the days of old, or the laid back and approachable demeanor of the "Captain" [innkeeper]. We loved it and will be back for another pleasant getaway.


Best place to stay on Block Island

4,6 sur juillet 21, 2014

Excellent location. Clean, friendly, fun. It is like being at home. Breakfast is outstanding and afternoon snacks are delicious.


Enhances the Block Island Experience

4,6 sur juillet 14, 2014

The Island Home Inn is a special place that illuminates the ambience of Block Island. Dave is a special host who makes you feel part of his family and you feel like you are returning home when you go back to the B&B. Enjoy the summer, Coach Tony.


Will definitely stay here again

4,4 sur juillet 14, 2014

This was my first visit to Block Island and I was terribly anxious about the B&B. As soon as I saw the room all of my fears were gone. The room was so quaint and lovely and it had outstanding views of the gorgeous sunset! Breakfast was delicious. Dave was sweet and helpful. I don't even think I would conisder staying somewhere else.


We enjoyed our stay very much.

3,6 sur juillet 13, 2014

The owner, Dave, is a great guy, good cook & very knowledgeable about fishing. The location was perfect for us. We rented bikes & could get everywhere we needed to go.


a BI gem

4,8 sur juillet 07, 2014

A clean,friendly B&B that offers outstanding value on an expensive island.


Incredible Host....Amazing View....Delicious Breakfast!

4,6 sur juin 26, 2014

Dave (Inn Owner) was as kind,accommodating and welcoming as could be! The sunset view was so amazing that we could have remained on the deck the entire weekend.Breakfast was delicious and was made to be enjoyed in the dining room, landscaped patio area, or deck....wherever the guests desire. Hoping to return to the Island Home Inn soon!


Great atmosphere and location

4,6 sur juin 19, 2014

Staff is extremely nice and very helpful. Second time staying here. Would definitely stay again.


A great experience

5 sur juin 11, 2014

Dave was a great hostess !!! We had a wonderful time and he was full of very useful information!!! The grounds and breakfast were outstanding .. Looking forward to visiting again really soon..


Great experience!

5 sur juin 10, 2014

My husband and I visited the Island Home Inn early in the season (first weekend in June) and had a wonderful experience. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was updated. Dave, the innkeeper, was incredibly nice and thoughtful. And his breakfast was delicious! We were stranded by fog and rain for a few hours on the day we were to check out and he let us stay in the room as long as we wanted. He also offered us a ride to the airport as soon as he saw us walking down the driveway. Overall, we highly recommend this inn!


Nicest people

4,2 sur novembre 02, 2013

The best thing about The Island "Home" Inn was the owner and his sweet daughter! They make you feel so welcome, are SO nice and everything was neat and clean. Breakfast was delicious. The room comfortable. Will definitely stay there again.


Long weekend

4,0 sur octobre 19, 2013

Highly recommend this place. We will definitely stay here again.


Pleasant Stay at Island Home Inn

3,8 sur octobre 16, 2013

My Husband and I spent one overnight for our 7th wedding anniversary. The inn itself was a little bit older, but in good condition. The parlor was small but decorated lovely, and the innkeeper allowed us to keep our luggage there until our room was ready. We took part in the wine & cheese reception in the evening before heading to dinner. The rockers on the porch were lovely for this, we enjoyed them again with our coffee after breakfast. Breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, scrambled eggs, bagels and pastries. Not the best B&B breakfast we've had, but still nice. We stayed on the top floor of the carriage house, it was clean and spacious. It had a small bathroom with a shower. This unit does also has a private entrance, a private balcony & AC!! There was one gripe we had .....There is a shared Mini Kitchen and fridge off of the bedroom through a latched swing door. The only issue my husband and I had with this is that we could see and hear into the kitchen. While that normally may not be a problem. We were away for our anniversary, away from the kids and the door is right next to the bed. We were a little shy about our anniversary activities in fear that the "Neighbors" through the kitchen might see and hear us. My only suggestions would be to move the bed.... besides that, the Island Home Inn was really quite lovely. We would definitely stay again.


october weekend on block island

4,0 sur octobre 10, 2013

dave is the perfect host and a wonderful cook-provided a wonderful breakfast&great coffee. The location is perfect with wonderful views


A special place!

4,2 sur octobre 07, 2013

Stellar owner--the best!


Relaxing!

5 sur septembre 18, 2013

Very friendly and super clean B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!


Great B&B

4,8 sur septembre 14, 2013

Would definitely stay here again. The rooms are kept very clean. Our bed was very comfy with good linens. We stayed in Wild Violet. The bathroom was clean. Towels were thick. Breakfasts were delish with plenty to eat. Wine and cheese/ crackers and warm baked chocolate chip cookies in the evening. The owner Dave was friendly, informative and goes out of his way to make your stay perfect. The location worked out well too. You can not go wrong with this B&B!!!!!


Great Service, Good Location

3,0 sur septembre 06, 2013

Wen njoyed a 2-night stay at the Island Home Inn. The rooms haven't been updated in quite some time, but they were clean and comfortable. The innkeeper (Dave) is very friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The breakfasts are simple, but satisfactory, and the 5pm "happy hour" of complimentary wines and snacks are a nice touch. The location is solid, sandwiched between New and Old Harbors and well within walking distance. Like much of Block Island, the pricing is a bit steep. All in all, a good place to stay if yo udon't plan on spending the majority of your time in the room...


Dave's Island Home Inn

4,4 sur septembre 05, 2013

Dave's added touches to this home away from home made our stay worthwhile. We stayed in the Carriage house and it was very quaint and charming with beautiful views of the countryside and New Harbor in the distant. The dining room was lovely and the food was YUM! I would go back!


Welcoming, Friendly, Relaxing

4,4 sur août 30, 2013

We would definitely go back to "The Island Home Inn". It is in a great location and we felt right at home. Thanks Dave!


great service, beautiful views

4,4 sur août 29, 2013

Our host was fantastic. He was friendly, helpful, and very accommodating.


6 star breakfast

5 sur août 28, 2013

Comfortable rooms , great view easy access to everything around. Breakfast was the best! I would definitely recommend this place.


nice place to stay, beautiful island really the key

2,8 sur août 28, 2013

Island Rose Room: nice small room with stand-up shower in attached bathroom, with sink next to bed, TV no VCR/DVD, with slow wifi included. not very private even though it seemed like the house was mostly empty even though only 2 rms were listed as available. never met the owner but didn't go to the afternoon cocktails bc i was exploring. everyone staying seemed just happy to be on block island - it is a great place to visit. ample car parking and convenient location at intersection of beach and ocean ave. not marked well and google maps will take you to a different place a few doors down.


Great stay, but with other load guests

3,2 sur août 27, 2013

Only problem was a large group of people that was drinking outside on the patio was not asked to take it in there room and we were woken up at 130 am


Cute little B & B with separate carriage house with rooms

3,4 sur août 26, 2013

Cute small B & B. We stayed in the Sunset drop. Beautiful view with outdoor deck with wicker table & chairs. Breakfast was very good, with homemade french toast, sausage, fresh cut fruit, yogurt, freshly made small banana nut muffins with coffee. Freshly made cookies remain in the sitting room for guests.Late afternoon cheese/cracker snack. Great front porch with rocking chairs. Dining room very small, but very nicely done. My sister owned a B & B in Maine, and it reminded me of their place but on a smaller scale. The innkeeper was very helpful and pleasant. Only complaint is that the housekeeping could be better in the Sundrop room. Screens for the skylight were very dusty. Bed linens were wrinkled and small pillows. Minor details. Rated from 1 to 10, 1 being really bad, I would give it an 8.


great place

4,2 sur août 26, 2013

Captain Dave is awesome!


Highly recommended!

4,0 sur août 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night in the Island Rose Room. It's a beautiful inn, with a great location, Dave is amazing, and breakfast was delicious! I would definitely come back and recommend it to anyone :)


Great location on island

4,2 sur août 20, 2013

Island Home Inn located within walking distance to town and activities. Host Dave had great knowledge of Block Is. and willing to give advice and do what was necessary to make our stay pleasant. Would stay again if we returned to Block Island.


Lovely stay, will be back!

4,4 sur août 18, 2013

Dave was very friendly and helpful, the victorian inn is lovely and conveniently located to new harbor and crescent beach, and just a short distance to old harbor. Lots of conveniences for guests, an excellent experience overall.


Excellent!

5 sur août 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding and were glad that we did. The room was small, but cozy with a comfortable queen bed and private bathroom and air conditioning (I've heard the latter two are hard to come by on Block Island). The Innkeeper was super friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were both excellent--homemade pancakes the first day, and great bagels from a local bagel shop the next. Free WiFi, beach towels, and bottled water. Regrettably we weren't there for the wine and snacks hour so can't comment on that. Overall highly recommended.


Wonderful Stay!

5 sur août 15, 2013

After much research we decided on the Island Home Inn and we are so happy we did. I have to say we did look at other Inns while on the island and The Island Home Inn was by far our favorite. I stayed with my friend Dan for 3 nights and wish i had more time to stay longer! It was nicer than i imagined. The property is in a very quiet location which was key for us. We loved the property. We were surrounded by grass, trees and flowers. The front porch was protected with really high bushes which added privacy from cars driving by. Our host Dave is a special person and you can see he loves his business. He makes you feel welomed the minute you open the door. The propery is well maintained, comfortable, tasteful, clean, quiet and has everything you need such as; beach towels, bikes, beach chairs, BBQ grill, tables and chairs outside in the garden. The rooms are very spacious, fresh, clean and nicely decorated with A/C and TV. We stayed in the back carriage house and had a deck in the back facing a little pond. There is a nice courtyard between the 2 buildings and there is access to a guest refrigerator. The front porch is so comfy with rocking chairs and small tables. It is a nice place to have morning breakfast or just gather and chat with guests. Morning breakfast is a nice treat with hot and cold selections (blueberry pancakes my favorite) and the evening reception was great to have a glass of wine and snack before heading out to dinner. All of the guests were friendly. i highly recommend this as a great stay for couples and families alike. We loved the area it was far enough away from traffic, crowds and noise that we enjoyed privacy and a good night sleep. When we got tired of walking or needed to go to dinner we just called a taxi and they are there in less than 5 min. All vacations come to an end but i certainly hope to be back again, we loved our stay and had so much fun on Block Island. Thanks Dave see you again! Deb and Dan


Visit for weekend

4,4 sur août 12, 2013

Great place and Dave could not have been a better person. Very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Hope to stay here again.


Great location on Block Island

3,8 sur août 11, 2013

Great location within walking distance to everything. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the grounds were well kep with lots of different areas to sit and enjoy. Breakfast was good and afternoon wine and snacks were a treat. Enjoyed sitting on the rockers on the front porch! Dave was agreat host and we woulddefinitly return when we are staying on BI.


Corner of Paradise

4,6 sur août 06, 2013

Beautiful location, outstanding breakfasts, and helpful host --- suited well for rugged island charm,


Awesome stay!

4,8 sur août 04, 2013

We stayed at the Island Home Inn for 3 nights at the end of July. It was our first trip to Block Island and we chose this B&B based on reviews. The inn is clean and beautiful, and Dave the innkeeper is an awesome host. Our room was air conditioned, which I understand is rare on the Island, and we looked forward to the nice, cool room after a day at the beach. Breakfast included fresh cut-up fruit, yogurt, and granola, along with eggs and bacon or blueberry pancakes and sausage. One of the favorite parts of our stay was the "wine and...." which was served each evening (veggies and dip, cheese, crackers and fruit, and homemade cookies) and gave us a chance to unwind from our day on the porch or in the parlor and chat with the other guests staying at the Inn. My husband and I will be returning soon!


Quaint B&B

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2013

A friend and I spent the weekend in the Carriage House Cherry Blossom room. The room was spacious, very clean, and the view from the deck was awesome! The courtyard was lovely with a profusion of floral scents. The owner Dave was friendly and extremely accommodating. Because we were busy with family activities, we were unable to take full advantage of all the amenities, such as the hearty breakfasts and afternoon social but will certainly do so our next stay as they appeared both inviting and delicious. I highly recommend The Island Home Inn without reservation.


Fair value, friendly service

3,4 sur juillet 25, 2013

Good location and friendly staff. We appreciated the afternoon happy hour. It was nice to sit on the front porch.


Excellent

4,4 sur juillet 25, 2013

Excellent value and location. Comfortable rooms. Small amenities that make a big difference (like fresh beach towels). "Captain" Dave and Annette were great hosts; attentive without being intrusive. Great place, great time. Plan to return.


Weekend on the Block

4,2 sur juillet 25, 2013

I was very surprised,how lovely the room was and how much space we had for a family of four.the gentleman who ran the B&B had a great laid back personality.i would recommend family and friends to stay here.


A GREAT FRIEND

4,8 sur juillet 24, 2013

THIS WAS OUR FIRST STAY AT THE ISLAND HOME. TWO THUMBS UP FOR MY GOOD FRIEND DAVE. HE IS AS NICE ON THE ISLAND AS HE IS OFF THE ISLAND. THE ROOM WAS METICULUOS AND THE A/C WAS A HUGE PLUS AS WE HAD BEEN THERE DURING A MONSTER HEAT WAVE. THE BREAKFAST SAUSAGE WAS TO DIE FOR. ALL WE COULD SAY IS DAVE WE WILL SEE YOU NEXT YEAR. THANKS FOR THE HOSPITALITY. YOUR FRIEND FROM WHITES. WILL RECOMEND TO ALL LOOKING TO GO TO B. I.


Lovely Inn....Peaceful haven.

3,2 sur juillet 24, 2013

Beautiful grounds and perfect location for our first visit to Block Island - a magical place!


Just like being at home, but in block island

5 sur juillet 23, 2013

Loved staying here.Comfy bed, really clean, great food!


My Favorite B&B on Block Island!

3,8 sur juillet 22, 2013

Love The Island Home. Great to come down in the morning to have breakfast made for you right at the Inn. get to talk to all the people staying there or take it back to courtyard to eat outside. Also a grill to make dinner if you don't want to go out at night. Dave couldn't be nicer!!!! you can walk to town or the beach. Will stay here every time we go to Block


Enjoyable visit to BI

4,4 sur juillet 21, 2013

Island Home Inn - Great central location. Owner and staff very accomodating. Rooms on the small side, but quite clean. We were there during a heat wave, so we were delighted to have AC. It's not available at most locations on the Island. Also enjoyed the covered patio off our room with comfy chairs and table large enough for 4. Breakfast was dellicious and the afternoon appetizers and warm cookies were an unexpected treat. Also liked having access to a refrigerator. Thanks, Capt. Dave.


Dave, his family and staff are wonderful! We felt part of the Island Home family it was hard to leave! We will be back, definately!

4,8 sur juillet 20, 2013

Margaret McDuff Riverside RI


Our Island Home

5 sur juillet 18, 2013

We stayed at the Island Home 8 years ago. It is so hard to go back to a place that you stayed at so long ago but It hadn't changed at all! It was perfect just as we remembered it 8 years ago. Dave and Alex and staff make you feel like you are right at your island home. The rooms are clean and the air conditioning is a plus if it is really hot. The breakfasts are to die for! Plus the secret ingredient in the chocolate chips cookies is the best. A real bargain for the price of a room.Jim and Renee M.


Enjoyable stay

3,0 sur juillet 17, 2013

The Inn is a good value for the island. The Innkeeper is very pleasant and helpful.


We highly recommend it!

4,2 sur juin 19, 2013

Love this cozy inn, especially the private balcony. We were totally relax during the two night stay. Definitely will be back!


IslandHomeInnJune2013

5 sur juin 07, 2013

The Inn is very accessible to Old and New Harbor as well as affordable dining. Dave is very helpful in providing information and insights yet is neither intrusive nor verbose. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.


Our Get Away

3,6 sur mai 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Block Island and we had fun. We arrived early and Dave explained to us that there was a tremendous amount of work going on at the Inn being the first weekend they were open. He let us leave our bags in the parlor and then we were off exploring. The room was bright and airy and our deck was next to a wall full of Lilacs and the smell was phenomenal. I would love to stay at the inn in the future, but I would hesitant to make it on the first weekend they were open. With that said the smell of the lilacs alone would be worth it, and the island wasn’t that crowded yet being the weekend before Memorial Day. If I had one complaint it would be the coffee. Being retired military I consider sleeping in to be about 0600 and there wasn’t any coffee until 0730. Not much of a complaint, I guess more of a suggestion. Thanks Dave for making us feel so welcome, we had a tremendous time, and the coffee was fantastic. Thanks again. Bill A Hope Valley, RI


A Block Island Gem!

5 sur mai 24, 2013

My husband & I have stayed here numerous times! It was rec. to us by friends as a "must stay"! They home is charming & breakfast is delicious! Although it is typically just my husband, myself & our 2 small children, we have brought several others to The Island Home over the years & all have loved it! It is reasonably priced for the island and is close to downtown, beaches, restaurants, etc. It is walking distance, however, we usually bring/rent bikes to get around the island. Dave Chieffo is a wonderful, accommodating host! For one trip, The Island Home was booked so we stayed at one of the popular bed & breakfasts in town. Never again- it was ridiculously over-priced, nothing like the description, terrible customer service & a huge disappointment!


Awonderful place to stay.

5 sur août 26, 2012

I stayed at the inn this past month and can only say wonderful things. This is our second time here and it was even better than before. It looks like they are making changes to improve the overall apperance of the inn and absolutley trying to make the guests more comfortable. Our room was spotless (including the bathroom) and our linens were very freshly laundered, smelt and felt like they just came out of the dryer. Did I mention the air conditioning? "YES" we had our own in our room, great after a hot day at the beach. Breakfast was delightful, lots to choose from and snack time was satisfying enough to hold you over until it was time for dinner. Although our stay was a short one this time, we definitely were made to feel like we where home and will be returning again.


Can’t say enough about the Island Home

5 sur mai 01, 2012

We have been there twice now and can't wait to get back. The inn is beautiful, the setting is just right (less than a ten minute walk to either "town" or the beach, but in a quiet spot with a gorgeous view), and the innkeepers are super friendly. Breakfasts are hot, fresh and delicious, and there's wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. All rooms have AC. The prices are right too, much less expensive than many other B&B's on the island but better value all around. Go for one of the rooms on the top floor of the carriage house, you'll get a private deck with a beautiful view and use of a shared kitchenette. We also booked a fishing charter with our lodging package and had a blast!


Beautiful Victorian Bed and Breakfast

5 sur avril 30, 2012

My husband and I and out of town friends stayed here for several days, and we really loved it! The home is idyllic (but not fancy) with the front porch with rockers and cute and comfortable Victorian style rooms. They provide a substantial breakfast, which includes fruit, cereals, homemade coffee cake and special dishes everyday ranging from pancakes, scrambled eggs and texas style french toast. Around 5:30 in the afternoon they serve cheese and crackers, wine, lemonade and cookies to die for! You will meet other interesting travelers, if you wish. You are within walking distance of restaurants at both Old Harbor and New Harbor. I would definitely stay here again anytime that we wanted a place on Block Island. The Island. by the way, is wonderful in mid-September when we stayed there; prices are down, there are no crowds, and nature is still abundant.


The Island Home Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $295
  • Avis (64) 4,2
  • Chambres 10
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4014665944

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut