Samuel Durfee House Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
100 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A fortunate choice

4,8 sur juin 19, 2014

We decided to revisit Newport to celebrate our 59th wedding anniversary and how fortunate we were to have selected the Samuel Durfee House. Accommodations were immaculate and comfortable. Somewhat unusual for a B&B, is their central climate control - no noisy air conditioners! Michael and Heather were gracious hosts, and the breakfasts were to die for. If we revisit Newport, the Samuel Durfee House will be our destination of choice. Wayne & Marie W.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are so glad that you chose the Samuel Durfee House to celebrate your anniversary and that you were so happy with our inn! Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers!


Trip Back in History

5 sur avril 16, 2014

The Samual Durfee House was a wonderful experience! The decor was authentic 1803 and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience in this Newport RI B&B. The hosts were charming and the breakfast exquisite. We would highly recommend this B&B for a memorable trip to Newport.


Excellent B&B experience in Newport RI

4,4 sur octobre 01, 2013

We do not normally stay in B&B accommodation when we travel but chose a couple on our latest trip which is to do a New England fall trip and NY visit at the end. Must say we were very pleased with our stay at Samuel Durfee House thanks to the efforts of Michael and Heather who are welcoming and customer focused which stands their establishment at the top of the B&B experience. The location is also excellent in central Newport town position. Can highly recommend this B&B.


Great weekend at Samuel Durfee House

4,0 sur septembre 08, 2013

My husband and I recently spent the weekend in Newport, staying at the Samuel Durfee House. Our room (Perry) was simple and cozy, and very clean. Heather was such a lovely host, and even baked gluten free cookies one day because I have a gluten allergy. Breakfasts were delicious too. The house is in a great location right by all the restaurants and shops, but on a quieter street. Highly recommend staying here for a relaxing weekend.


Very delightful!!

4,8 sur septembre 08, 2013

We stayed second half of Labor Day weekend through to Wed. Absolutely one of the very best B&B's we've stayed in. We were happy that despite the crowd on the weekend, it was peaceful in the inn. Very close to many attractions, shopping & restaurants that are within walking distance. The owners have maintained the historical ambiance of the house with modern eminities. Breakfast was wonderful & a treat to start the day. Heather was very helpful with "things to do & see" . Unfortunately, Michael was out of commission with a broken ankle, so we did not get to meet him. We will return for sure to use our restaurant gift certificate & try to take a sailing trip which was rained out.


Wonderful B&B - recommended

5 sur août 31, 2013

Our 2nd stay in as many yrs. We felt at home once again. recommend to anyone thinking of a stay in Newport RI. Heather and Michael are warm caring people who have created a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast is terrific and the suggestions - from site seeing to restaurants - is perfect. We will be back again.


Wonderful Newport, RI stay!

3,4 sur juin 16, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Samuel Durrfee House!!! Micheal and Heather, the owners were beyond gracious. They knowmuch about the area and are very willing to share to help make your time in Newport as good as it can be. Very comfortable rooms too! Definitely recommend staying at this B and B!!!


A Very Pleasant Experience

4,8 sur mai 20, 2013

Our trip to Newport was definitely enhanced by our stay at this Bed and Breakfast. The location was excellent, service efficient and friendly, very clean and tastefully decorated rooms, and the food was delicious with a wide range of offerings.


Wonderful Experience

5 sur avril 13, 2013

We had a lovely time at this Inn. Michael and Heather were terrific hosts, the room was impeccable and the breakfast was awesome.


Outstanding B&B

5 sur novembre 11, 2012

My husband & I have stayed in B&BOutstanding's wherever we have travelled, both in the U.S. & abroad. Samuel Durfee is at the top of our list. Not only was it an outstanding experience in every way, but the hosts went above & beyond to make our stay pleasurable. We highly recommend a visit.


Wonderful stay at the Samuel Durfee house

4,6 sur novembre 02, 2012

Our thanks to Michael and Heather for a wonderful stay at the Samuel Durfee house. Their house was warm and comfortable and situated in the heart of Newport with easy walking access to downtown. We plan to stay with Michael and Heather on our next trip to Newport and strongly recommend the Samuel Durfee house to anyone planning a vacation in Newport.


Couldn't have asked for a nicer time

4,6 sur octobre 08, 2012

I booked a weekend stay at the SDH for my husband's 50th birthday. I was anxious that everything be "right" since this was the first time in almost 10 years that we'd been away together. Heather & Michael were superlative hosts, answering our questions and adding extra special touches (birthday cupcakes!), but not hovering to the point of interfering. The location cannot be beat: one block off of Thames so you can walk to everything, but at night we never heard a thing, not even the other guests. It was truly a perfect stay.


Hey! Hey! for the Owners!

4,0 sur septembre 30, 2012

The Samuel Durfee House is an extraordinary B&B. What makes it particularly so are its owners, Michael and Heather. Whenever there was a need or a wont, Michael or Heather was there. It was almost as though they anticipated those needs, those wonts. They were particularly helpful in providing guidance to the many sites available in Newport. But there were a myriad of other areas of assistance...providing a recipe for a tasty breakfast...carrying the bags...etc., etc., etc.


Newport RI Vacation

4,2 sur septembre 11, 2012

Enjoyed our time in Newport and our stay at the Samuel Durfee House


Comfortable rooms and close to town

3,2 sur août 27, 2012

Clean rooms and appreciated that the innkeeper kept a Book of menus from local restaurants on hand . Thoughtful that fresh baked cookies were available each afternoon. Onsight parking is appreciateed and convenient during high traffic seasons. Innkeepers weren't particularly engaging. Probably won't return.


Convenient and quaint with excellent customer service

4,2 sur août 15, 2012

Heather and Michael are fantastic hosts! We enjoyed our stay and would stay with them again, and likely will.


Wonderful stay, but accidents do happen

4,0 sur août 13, 2012

Samuel Durfee House is a wonderful place to stay if you want a great location, walking distance to shopping and other attractions, and great accommodations. We were relieved to see that on site parking was no problem. We stayed in the Harrison Suite which included its own private patio area- a great escape from the hub bub of downtown Newport. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were accomodating to whatever our needs. However, I will mention that for one day of our three night stay, our room did not get cleaned. When we returned to the inn that night, I had to ask for clean towels and we emptied our own trash. It was disappointing and I feel the innkeepers should have offered us some consolation for this apparent mix up. It left a bit of a bad taste in our mouths, but the delicious waffles and fruit the next morning went a long way to replace that taste! Accidents do happen however and if I return to Newport, I would certainly want to stay at the Samuel Durfee House.


Fabulous All Around

4,8 sur août 09, 2012

Heather and Michael the owners are just wonderful innkeepers. Very concerned that their guests are happy. We stayed in the Doris Duke room and the king bed was amazing. Also great pillows (that never happens) Every morning breakfast was much better than expeted. I would highly recommend this B& B to anyone staying in Newport. Don't miss it!


Incredible Stay at the Samuel Durfee House!

5 sur août 09, 2012

The hospitality of Heather and Michael is second to none at the Samuel Durfee House! We were in Newport for the Jazz Festival weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. This B&B is convenient to downtown and is within walking distance of shopping, dining, and entertainment. Breakfast each day was a delight! We put a hold on our room for next summer for the Jazz Festival 2013 and cannot wait to stay at the Samuel Durfee House again!


A perfect Newport B&B

4,8 sur juillet 29, 2012

We have stayed in many places in Newport and just loved the Samuel Durfee house. Room was terrific, hosts were extremely nice and knowledgeable and the breakfasts were delicious. Will definitely be booking a return trip soon.


Pleasant Atmosphere and Accommodations

5 sur juillet 23, 2012

Proprietors are attentive, caring and always helpful to you in planning your daily activities.


Warm and Cozy B&B

4,8 sur juillet 13, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Samuel Durfee House. The managers gave us lots of good information to help us decide how to plan our day. Breakfast outside on the patio was fabulous! Our room was comfortable and charming. We will go back!


Newport Wedding

3,8 sur juillet 08, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted with much hospitality. We were welcomed in with an open door and given a full tour of the B and B. It was very nice. At this time we were given a nice map of the area and also some dining recommendation. The dining recommendations worked well. Michael did a great job with helping us find a cab on the night of the wedding we had to attend. He even offered to drive us if he had a car. The room was very nice and always kept cool for comfort. We also had a fan that helped to circulate the air at night. The meals were very good. The B and B was very quiet and it was perfect for relaxation. I would really enjoy return to stay with Heather and Michael. I will be saving the number too the Samuel Durfee House in my contacts!


Wonderful!

4,8 sur juillet 06, 2012

It was our very first time at a B&B and we were very pleased. Our hosts were welcoming and couldn`t do enough for us. Th food was outstanding as was everything else. Highly recommend even for those who are not B&B regulars!


Absolutely wonderful-- everything!

4,2 sur juin 19, 2012

The innkeepers were both absolutely wonderful-- kind, friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Michael made a delicious breakfast both mornings we were there-- better than anything you could get in a restaurant. The rooms are beautiful, well-kept, and comfortable. The house is extremely conveniently located to the main shops in Newport and also a walkable distance from the famous mansions and cliff walk. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone and everyone!


Wonderful Weekend

4,6 sur juin 13, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend in Newport and our stay at the Samuel Durfee House made it special. The house is very cozy and comfortable and beautifully decorated. The hosts, Michael and Heather, were the perfect blend of available when you need them, very friendly yet they allow you to have your privacy. The breakfasts were delcious and we received a great dinner recommendation from Michael. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Newport.


Excellent long weekend

5 sur juin 07, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed a long weekend recently. I found about SD house on tripadvisor and was impressed with the value and good reviews. It was an excellent weekend. Heather and Mike are wonderfully caring and knowledgeable people. They gave a lot of useful information about the area, places to go, restaurants to eat at. We loved it and will be back.


Perfect Newport Experience.

5 sur juin 04, 2012

Great food! Good people! Wonderful location! Thank you!


Perfect place to stay while in Newport

4,4 sur mai 27, 2012

B&B is my new favorite place to stay in. After reading reviews about SDH I had made my choice and have no regrets about it. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and charming. Peach/raspberry pancakes for breakfast were delicious. SHD is perfectly situated and we got to walk to all major attractions without taking our car from the parking lot,which is situated behind the house. Would stay there again.


Great B&B in great location

4,2 sur mai 25, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in Newport- and loved this B&B. The owners Heather & Michael were nice and helpful, and the breakfasts were just excellent! It's perfectly located and we were able to walk to a lot of the sites. We loved our stay- definitely one for the memory books!


Clean, convenient and hospitable B & B

4,6 sur mai 22, 2012

An exceptional location, with extremely hospitable accommodations. We would not hesitate to stay at the Samuel Durfee again.


Nice, pleasant stay

3,6 sur mai 14, 2012

Our 2-night stay at the Durfee House was comfortable and pleasant. Innkeepers Heather and Michael were welcoming hosts. The location is convenient for guests who enjoy strolling the town.


Excellent Stay!!

5 sur avril 23, 2012

Was very pleased with every aspect of our stay at Samuel Durfee house. Location, rooms, food & hosts were all wonderful. Thanks!


nice place, convenient location

4,0 sur avril 19, 2012

everything was great except i had booked the suite because the gas fireplace appealed to me. unfortunately, it had been disconnected because of the warmer weather. however, the evening we arrived it was cool & i would have used it. when i called i was told that. unbeknowst to me, the next day while we were out they reconnected it. unfortunately we didn't find that out until right before checkout so never had the chance to use it but the bedding was wonderful, the food was excellent, the location convenient & they allowed us to park our car there a few hours extra so we could enjoy more time in newport a very nice stay


Great stay

4,4 sur février 24, 2012

Awesome stay, Mike and Heather were so helpful with advice and great day ideas. Breakfast was AWESOME!!!


Perfect New Year's Getaway

4,2 sur janvier 16, 2012

The Samuel Durfee House is an ideally located beautiful B&B with very warm and informative innkeepers. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone planning a trip to Newport.


You must stay here!

5 sur janvier 08, 2012

Michael and Heather are the most delightful hosts and obviously enjoy what they do because their sincerity shines through. They were really helpful about plans and trips we wanted to do and very knowledgeable about their town and local area. The house is very homely and welcoming and nothing is a trouble. We will definitely stay here again. Howard and Margaret UK


New Years in Newport

5 sur janvier 05, 2012

This is only the second bed and breakfast I have stayed at in Newport and I won't look anywhere else. Heather and Michael were wonderful hosts and made our stay as enjoyable as possible. We stayed in the Ida Lewis room which was very nice, very clean and even had our own little outside balcony. The breakfasts were amazing and they are both very helpful at giving suggestions about what to do or see. I would highly recommend staying at the Samuel Durfee House and we will definitely be coming back.


Can't wait to return

4,8 sur novembre 24, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights early in the off season. Michael and Heather were more than hospitable, providing company, answering questions about Newport, and helping us sort through the numerous activities available. They were eager to suggest some fantastic restaurants for lunch and dinner, but our best meals were surely breakfasts at the house. The room was gorgeous, too; well maintained, well appointed, and spotless. We hope to return sometime soon.


Perfect Weekend Getaway

5 sur novembre 24, 2011

This place was the perfect weekend getaway. Micheal and Heather could not do enough to make us feel comfortable. The room was spotless and cozy. Breakfast was delicious and satisfying including the homemade cookies. This was our first bed and breakfast and would highly recommend this place and go back to it in the future. It felt like a home away from home. You can't go wrong staying here.


Perfect in every way!

5 sur novembre 13, 2011

We anticipated a great place to stay and found the bestest place to call home while you are traveling. Michael and Heather certainly exceeded all expectations. Their home immediately became ours with some amazing pampering that is always welcomed and appreciated. There is attention to detail from the aromas throughout the House to the conversation - a little or a lot, whichever you prefer. Our room was pleasant and welcoming and appropriately decorated befitting this Federal period B&B. The breakfasts were thoughtfully prepared, attractively presented and tasted delicious. Conversation with Michael and Heather was fun and easy but certainly not intrusive. An unexpected surprise awaited us on our first afternoon - decorated cupcakes congratulating us on our 35 wedding anniversary. The Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of all local attractions. The restaurants recommended did not disappoint. We eagerly anticipate our next stay at this B&B. Thanks for a memorable 3 day stay, Your guests from Niskayuna, NY


Nov 3-6 stay

4,0 sur novembre 11, 2011

My traveling companion and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Michael, Heather and Jaxson. They were most accommendating and had wonderful stories to tell us. We loved the breakfasts and Heather went the extra mile by furnishing us with a "sack breakfast" for our very early morning departure. We highly recommend this B & B. If we should venture back to Newport, we shall eager to stay here again.


wonderful weekend

5 sur novembre 06, 2011

I recently stayed at the Samuel Durfee House for a weekend with high school friends. It was the perfect place. Heather and Michael were wonderful hosts who offered great recommendations on restaurants and things to do. Breakfast each morning was delicious.I would definitely recommend the Durfee House to anyone visiting Newport and I am looking forward to a return trip.


A whistle stop tour of New England

3,8 sur novembre 03, 2011

We had been recommended to try this B & B by friends who had previously used it. Therefore we were not surprised or disappointed. We were made most welcome by Michael & Heather who run a charming Inn renovated and maintained in excellent taste. Our party of 5 all had charming, comfortable rooms. It was also very central for sightseeing in the area. We departed wishing we could have spent more time there. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.


Weekend away without the kids!

4,4 sur novembre 01, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary. The room was so comfortable, it was the perfect combination of cozy and romantic with modern amenities. We had a flat screen TV in out room and a beautiful deck out the side. The owners are so nice and the breakfast were amazing. This B&B is in the perfect location. You can walk to all of the major attractions and restaurants and they have a very nice lot for your car. Ours didn't move the entire weekend. I would absolutely stay here again on my next visit to Newport!


Great Place to Stay

5 sur octobre 19, 2011

Wonderful B&B. Very clean. Beautiful colonial home. They B&B owners are very friendly. They serve a good breakfast. Locate near downtown restaurants and bay as well as mansions.


Nice weekend getaway

4,0 sur octobre 19, 2011

We had a great stay at the Samuel Durfee House. The owners were warm and friendly. Breakfast was good both mornings. We have stayed at anothe B&B in Maine and the breakfast and afternoon snacks were "fancier". That being said the breakfast and afternoon baked goods at SDH were yummy. The rooms were very clean, as were the bathrooms. The bed was really firm, kind of too firm. Great location for walking to all the popular areas on Thames and down by the wharf. Off street parking was key!! Definitely recommend staying at the SDH, and will stay there again!


Enjoyed Our Stay

4,6 sur octobre 17, 2011

The innkeepers Michael and Heather were nice and very helpful. Stayed in the Harrison suite and it was charming. Very convienent location. Would certainly stay here again.


Mansions and more

5 sur octobre 12, 2011

Our visit to Newport and our stay at the Samuel Durfee House were just about perfect. Heather and Michael were gracious hosts. Their insider knowledge contributed much to our weekend of mansion tours.


Newport gem

4,2 sur octobre 09, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights in the Harrison Suite at the Inn and were delighted with the spaciousness of the room - also with our own private entrance. Michael and Heather are delightful hosts and both keen to share local knowledge etc


Wonderful Stay

5 sur octobre 07, 2011

We recently had a wonderful stay at the Samuel Durfee House. My husband and I loved the beautiful room we stayed in and felt very welcome in Michael and Heather's house. The breakfasts were delicious-and plentiful! I also shouldn't forget to mention the tasty snacks that were available every afternoon, they were very welcome after a long day out and about. I would highly recommend the Samuel Durfee house for it's cleanliness, period details, great food and warm and welcoming hosts! Danielle and Tucker Birkhead


all-around great stay

4,2 sur octobre 06, 2011

We couldn't have been more pleased with our B&B selection. Heather and Michael were wonderful, pleasant hosts, always ready with a recommendation and cooking up delightful breakfasts each morning. The location was extremely convenient, and from one of the back rooms (Jackie O) I had to strain to hear cars gliding by. Highly recommend.


Wonderfull two day stay at Samuel durfee House

5 sur octobre 02, 2011

We visited Newport and stayed two nights at the Samuel Dufee House. It was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and we enjoyed! We had great time . Heather & Michael are great host very warm and frendly. We felt like we were vising family. They were very informative and helpful with their suggestions of places to go or to eat. The room was spotless very elagantly and tastefull decorated and the location was perfect. The breakfasts were delightful. We definetely recommend.


Old, New and Just Right

4,6 sur septembre 29, 2011

You get to stay in an authentic 200+ year old house, but you have all the modern amenities. Michael is a talented chef - would love to try a dinner he makes if it's anything like his breakfasts. Durfree House is centrally located, but a block off the main drag. You get to park your car and walk everywhere in downtown Newport. Highly recommend it.


Weekend Getaway

4,8 sur septembre 21, 2011

Fantastic place to stay. The owners are wonderful. Location, location, location...Walking distance to everything. Off street parking with plenty of room...The breakfast was amazing. Rooms are VERY clean. Highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Newport. We had a great time, and will staying here again.


Very nice B&B

5 sur septembre 19, 2011

This is a very nice B&B with extremely nice Inn Keepers, next time we are in the area we will stay here again. Good job.....Karen and Bill.


Great Stay

5 sur septembre 15, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Samuel Durfee House, the Innkeepers, Michael & Heather, were very pleasant and very knowledgeable of the area and had great suggestions. I also enjoyed the option of having breakfast out on the patio or in the dining room - a great touch. The house is very centrally located so attractions were very walkable from the house, and they had ample parking which made things very convenient considering street parking is nill. The inn also offered beach chairs and towels for use which I also took advantage of, and they even let me leave my car for a short while after checkout which was nice. I didn't get a peek at any other rooms, but the room where I stayed, the Harrison Suite, was very nice, clean and comfortable. It has a little sitting area and a very nice bathroom and I even had a deck off my room which was very nice. I would stay at this Inn again. I couldn't have had a better time or stay; even the other guests were very gracious and welcoming.


Love Samuel Durfee House!!

5 sur septembre 14, 2011

Inn Keepers are awesome, very kind and accommodating. Outstanding breakfast and cute patio to eat outside. Inn is very close to everything. We will stay here again!!


Charming B&B

4,6 sur septembre 07, 2011

A charming B&B run by a charming couple. Beds were extremely comfortable and room was very pleasant. Although bath was somewhat small it was more than adequate. Breakfasts were delicious and eating on the back patio was very pleasant indeed. Would definitely return in the future.


Nice week in Newport

4,8 sur août 26, 2011

Great place to stay. Innkeepers were very nice and eager to answer any questions about the area. The breakfast served was very delicious. Great location as well. After visiting the mansions or the beach we would return and take a 5 minute walk into the heart of Newport for some food and shopping. Price is to be expected of the area, there was even a discount offered that increases from 3 days and up. Room was very clean and comfortable.


Satisfied, repeat guests

4,0 sur août 22, 2011

Michael, Heather and Jaxson are excellent hosts. We have stayed here several times over recent years. This is an excellent, comfortable inn in the heart of historic Newport. It is convenient to walk to restaurants, shops and other attractions like Bowens and Bannister Wharfs and the colonial center of town and a short drive to the Cliff Walk and Mansions. The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfasts are always excellent. In warmer weather, breakfast on the back patio is a perfect start to the day. The hosts are friendly and helpful in providing information and ideas on things to do. I highly recommend this inn for a great bed and breakfast experience.


Evans - Samuel Durfee

4,2 sur août 20, 2011

Great hosts, great food, very convenient to everything in Newport. Good off-street parking.


Newport Folk Festival Weekend

4,8 sur août 04, 2011

We love the Samuel Durfee House. This was our second visit, and we came back because everything was outstanding on our first visit, in July 2010, and remained so on this second one in July 2011. The breakfasts are truly something to be looked forward to; the maple pecan mini muffins and Portuguese French toast that Mike made our first day there were awesome-and I am still savoring them. As I am supposed to control my carbs, Mike and Heather were extremely accommodating when I mentioned it to them the next day, and they made me superb scrambled eggs: soft and served piping hot, not rubbery and cold as is so often the case. Although they don't normally keep whole milk at the inn, when my companion and I requested it, they went right out and got some. The rooms are charming and extremely clean, and are made up while you are having your breakfast. It is so nice to come back after breakfast and find the room already tidied and cleaned. You never have to be concerned that if you come back later in the day wanting to rest, that you will be disturbed because the room still had to be done! I can particularly recommend the Ida Lewis room-having the balcony to relax on and read and refresh yourself late in the day, or while reading your morning newspaper, is delightful. My only suggestion is that they include in the information packet in each room, a listing of which channel corresponds to which television station, so that guests don't have to guess as to what channel corresponds to the station they are looking for. I would highly recommend this inn, and am alreadying looking forward to our next visit there. Amy F and Jack R


Great experience

4,6 sur août 04, 2011

The Samuel Durfee House is a charming b&b filled with federalist furniture and a real sense of history. The breakfast is fantastic and varies every day. Our highest complements go to the innkeepers, Michael and Heather. They are friendly, helpful, flexible and a pleasure to deal with all around. The inn's location is just a block up from the Thames Street strip of downtown Newport, and that separation makes all the difference. Thames Street gets crowded and a bit noisy, but one block away the streets are quieter and more pleasant. We stayed in the doris duke room, which has two single beds. My only criticism is that this room was a bit small and the bathroom too cramped. I wouldn't mind, but for the $280/nt price point, it felt like a fair value but not a good one. The other rooms we saw in passing seemed larger. Overall, I would highly recommend this b&b.


Lovely Accommodations

4,6 sur août 04, 2011

This was our second stay at the Samuel Dufree Bed and Breakfast. We had enjoyed our stay there last year and arranged for the same suite this year. The Inn is still lovely and charming and welcoming. Unfortunately, this year, our car broke down in the Inn's parking lot. The Innkeepers, Heather and Michael, could not have been more helpful in trying to help us find a mechanic on a Sunday. They allowed our car to stay in their lot for two nights until we were able to get it towed. The only other unfortunate part was that we had a three night minimum and chose to leave one night early because we could get a ride home with relatives. So we lost the money for the third night. Still, we would definitely stay there again.


A wonderful stay

4,4 sur juillet 26, 2011

We highly recommend the Samuel Durfee House. Our 5-day stay in the Harrison room was great: super comfortable bed, quiet room, updated bathroom, separate entrance, and private courtyard. Our hosts were delightful, and the breakfast they prepared simply delicious.


Wonderful weekend in Newport

4,4 sur juillet 20, 2011

Our stay at the Samuel Durfee House was wonderful. Both Heather and Michael are knowledgable about Newport and were helpful directing us to various activities while we were there. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the inn was charming. Our stay in the Harrison Suite was quite comfortable. We were pleased that the suite and the bathroom were extremely clean. The Harrison Suite is tucked away towards the back of the inn, and has a lovely private porch outside which is perfect for relaxing after a long day of touring. We will absolutely stay at the Samuel Durfee House again the next time we go to Newport!


A wonderful weekend

5 sur juillet 01, 2011

We went to Newport for our 4th Anniversary. Michael and Heather could not have been more hospitable. In addition to feeding and housing you, they also are very knowledgeable about the area, and can help you plan your activities. The room was very comfortable, and the breakfasts were superb. We look forward to going back.


one night stay

4,4 sur juillet 01, 2011

Innkeepers were extremely gracious and helpful with sightseeing. The breakfast was exceptional!


Wonderful stay--wish I didn't have to leave!

4,2 sur juin 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Durfee house for four nights and from the moment we arrived we felt at home! The innkeepers, Michael and Heather, were friendly, helpful, accommodating, and just very down-to-earth folks who obviously enjoy what they do. Anytime we had questions about where to eat, where to catch a sailboat ride, rent bikes or head to a beach, they would explain to us is detail their suggestions. We stayed in the 'Jackie O' room which is located in back of the house. Others here have mentioned to ask for a room in back of the house because of noise on busy Spring street: Yes, this room was 100% quiet but I don't think the front rooms would be so noisy that it would be bothersome. The house is located a block up from Thames street where I'm sure noise can be an issue. Not on Spring street, although the traffic along it can get a bit busy--but it's 'Rhode Island busy' which is a whole different thing versus 'big city' traffic. No worries! The room itself was small and clean: Perfect for two people who want to be out and about. (My girlfriend and I were out the door early each morning to walk or bike--not hang out in the room). Breakfast was great: Coffee, juices, fresh baked muffins or bread, french toast (yes, it's as good as advertised!), waffles--something different everyday. (One morning, we ventured-out early to bike ride and Heather came out with a bag of her delicious pecan breakfast muffins!) Wondeful cookies or brownies at 3pm every afternoon as an added treat! As I already mentioned, the house is located on beautiful Spring street. It's close to everything and my girlfriend and I never once used our rental car to go anywhere! Now sure, we could have, but we really wanted to explore as much as possible on foot and bike. All said, it was a great stay with welcoming, pleasant, friendly hosts! I would stay there again without hesitation!


OUR STAY WAS WONDERFUL

4,0 sur juin 30, 2011

Took my mom to newport and stayed two nights at the Samuel Dufee House. It was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and WE LOVED IT!! We had a great time. Heather & Michael were wonderful!! They were very warm, welcoming and exceptionally nice. They were very informative and helpful with their suggestions of places to go or to eat. The home was very cozy & comfy and the location was perfect. The breakfasts were delightful. I look forward to a return visit.


Flower show weekend at the Samuel Durfee House

3,8 sur juin 30, 2011

House and room were spotless, bed was very comfortable, room was at the rear of the house and very quiet. Slept like a log! Met the couple who run the B&B - they were very nice and very accommadating. All in all, a very positive experience.


Anniversary Weekend

4,6 sur juin 12, 2011

We just have stayed at various B & B's and several in Newport. We think the location of the Sameul Durfee House to be the best. The innkeepers were helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make you feel at home. The afternoon baked goods were good and the second day we had fresh and still warm chocolate chip cookies. We have stayed at 4 other B & B's in Newport, and this was by far the best breakfast. When we return to Newport, this will be our first selection.


6 Days in Newport at a Historic Inn

4,8 sur juin 09, 2011

I must put it first: The breakfasts were extraordinary! Three courses, each day different, were delicious, fresh and home cooked. We were too full for lunch. The decor was true to the period and a huge plus over a hotel. The innkeepers were warm, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Along with the location one block off Thames, and with their guidance for food and sights, we had a great first time visit to Newport.


wonderful experience

4,6 sur juin 06, 2011

Location was fabulous- we walked everywhere. The breakfasts were sensational. Heather gave great advice about tourist attractions. Would highly recommend.


Samuel Durfee Visit

4,0 sur mai 13, 2011

Although the rooms were smaller than the pictures on the website might appear, they were lovely and clean. The best part of the inn are the proprieters, Michael and Heather. I truly felt like I was visiting family. They were able to answer every question and provide directions perfectly. We are glad we stayed at the Samuel Durfee.


Enjoyable Weekend

4,6 sur avril 13, 2011

Excellent accomodations, able to walk everywhere; a thoroughly enjoyable Inn with passionate hosts Heather & Michael; wonderful breakfasts and company;


Great off-season bargain

4,2 sur février 26, 2011

Heather and Mike were very friendly, helpful, and provided a special hospitality to us. Breakfasts and afternoon snacks were terrific. Location in Newport is very convenient.


A perfect getaway

5 sur février 26, 2011

The Harrison Suite was the perfect winter getaway (it would be perfect in summer too). The room is elegantly furnished and very comfortable. The sitting room is not an afterthought--it has a cozy sofa for reading or watching TV while being integrated into the overall space. The first floor location and the rear door through the sitting room make the suite feel very private--in summer the private patio out the rear door would be a delight! But the main areas of the house are equally inviting--the living room is the place for homemade afternoon snacks and wine and cheese, and the dining room is the setting for Michael's magnificent breakfasts. Perfect in every way!


Charming Federal Period Colonial-Great Location

4,2 sur décembre 18, 2010

Only had one night but was greeted with warm brownies and tea after a long drive. Michael, Heather and Jaxson were great hosts and have put a lot of thought into the decor and making their home welcoming.


A Great place to stay.

4,0 sur novembre 24, 2010

we enjoyed our stay at the Samuel Durfee House at Newport RI. This is a well run Bed and Breakfast by two people that clearly enjoy what they are doing. Heather and Michael were very hospitable,friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was scrumptous and the afternoon baked treats were delicious. The hosts are two very friendly , outgoing people who know the area well and care about the stay of their guests. Everything about our stay was positive !!


A Wonderful Time !!!!

5 sur novembre 21, 2010

Enjoyed a wonderfrul weekend in Newport, thanks to our B&B hosts, Michael, Heather, and son Jaxson. A beautiful family who shared stories of the region, recommendations for dining and local sites but most of all went out of their way to make a visit with strangers we had never met, feel like a family gathering. Michael's breakfasts were outstanding and Heather's pleasant charm made this a memorable stay.They are truly a family who work together to make you feel at home. We will definitely be back.


The perfect little getaway

4,8 sur novembre 17, 2010

we enjoyed our stay so very much and the room was perfect AND SO VERY CLEAN AND ROMANTIC comforts of home without the kids THANK YOU Dayna and Joe Schlichting


Really great visit

4,2 sur novembre 17, 2010

Innkeepers are wonderful fountain of local information, helpful and friendly. Food was delicious. Beautiful old home, convenient to everything Newport. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we extended our stay by a night. Would definitely recommend.


More visits are a must!

5 sur octobre 12, 2010

Our visit to Newport was a tremendous success due in no small way to our accommodations at the Samuel Durfee House. The Innkeepers are delightfully friendly and helpful and even provided one of our party with birthday cupcakes! The house itself is beautiful and extremely tastefully decorated and is very central to the town. Definitely on our list to visit again.


Great weekend in Newport, RI

3,6 sur octobre 07, 2010

We were quite satisfied with our stay at the Samuel Durfee House. The pictures on the internet were representative of the accomodations. The owners were very friendly and helpful as we planned our days in Newport.


Pleasant Stay

4,0 sur octobre 05, 2010

Quality inside and hospitality more than compensate for an exterior in need of updating. Great hosts, convenient location and parking, excellent breakfast, and very comfortable bedding, furnishings and bath - good lighting all around (we find too many b&bs with inadequate room lighting)


Excellent hosts and location

4,4 sur août 24, 2010

What a pleasure to be guests of Michael, Heather and Jackson! A friendly, warm and helpful family who gave us great service and ideas on what to see and do on our first trip to Newport. We stayed in the Ida Lewis room - roomy, comfortable bed with immaculate and lovely en suite bathroom. It's balcony is a plus! Breakfast was delicious each morning and served in a lovely indoor or outdoor setting. The location is excellent to all Newport has to offer, a two minute walk to Thames and all it's shops and restaurants. We will definitely stay at the Samuel Durfee House on our next trip to Newport.


My stay at the Durfee

4,8 sur juin 07, 2010

Michael and Heather are fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were divine and the room we have, the ground floor suite, was large and clean. The location was excellent, close to the downtown centre but not too close so it was noisy. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Samuel Durfee house to anybody wanting to stay in Newport.


A lovely valentine

4,0 sur février 17, 2010

We spent two nights at the Samuel Durfee House over valentine's weekend 2010. Picked it based on reviews from this site. The house is truly lovely, the innkeepers are very nice and knowledgeable about the area - they have painstakingly restored this federal period home. The house is nicely located in walking distance to the harbor. Rates were reasonable and the breakfast (and afternoon baked goods) are marvelous. We would absolutely return if we take another weekend in Newport.


Awesome B&B and Innkeepers

4,8 sur janvier 10, 2010

The suite in the Durfee House was wonderful, as were the innkeepers, Heather and Michael. We were there in January, 2010. The king bed felt brand new, the down comforter extremely warm. There is a widescreen tv in a separate sitting room so one person can watch the late show while the other sleeps. It can also be watched in bed. The full breakfast was delicious. Heather and Michael knew what was going on in town and were a delight to talk to. We hope to come back in the summer. -- Chris & Sharon


The Samuel Durfee House

4,0 sur septembre 04, 2009

The Samuel Durfee house was convenient to the shops and the mansions. Great central location with off-street parking which was perfect. Our hosts were wonderful and the room we had was fantastic. I would surely go back again. The Inn has lots of windows that make your rooms very welcoming.


The best B&B in Newport!

4,8 sur août 23, 2009

My wife and I visited Newport for the first time and had a great time staying here. We stayed 3 nights, and the Sam Durfee House was awesome! The owners Michael and Heather felt us feel right at home, and cooked tremendous full breakfasts for us each morning (our favorite was the Portuguese french toast). The location is key, with only a 5 minute walk to all the key spots on Thames St. Off street parking was helpful also. When we come back would only stay here!


Christmas trip 2008

5 sur décembre 24, 2008

A group of us booked the Samuel Durfee House for our annual group Christmas trip. To say it more than met our expectations is an understatement. Everything was 5 star, the rooms, the hosts, the breakfast, the convenient location, and their charming 7 yr old son who helped serve breakfast.


Delightful and delicious

4,0 sur novembre 17, 2008

Our stay at the Samuel Durfee House was absolutely delightful. The home and its furnishings are historic but it also offers all the modern comfort and conveniences that any traveler could want. The gourmet breakfast was delicious, and the owners were quick to make any changes that were required for dietary needs. Located just a few minutes from historic districts, it was a perfect place to stay and enjoy the beauty of Newport. Michael and Heather, the home’s proprietors, were knowledgeable about the area, which made touring easy and fun. If you like historic homes with modern conveniences and excellent food this is the place to stay.


Best B&B in Newport!

4,8 sur mai 06, 2008

Six years ago my wife and I were lucky enough to find the Samuel Durfee House and now look forward to coming back every year. Michael and Heather are the most welcoming innkeepers that never hesitate to ensure we have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Room rates are very reasonable regardless of when you stay. Amazing service...anything you need + their knowledge of all the local dining, shops, and site seeing trips just makes everything easier. Michael's delicious gourmet breakfast is a wonderful way to start a day in Newport. GREAT location between Thames Street's waterfront shopping and Bellevue Avenue's Tennis Hall of Fame and the mansion tours. The rooms are all elegantly decorated with some beautiful period features. We greatly appreciate all the amenities not often found in B&B's including central air, off street parking, and private baths. We won't stay anywhere else when visiting Newport.


Highly Recommended

4,2 sur avril 21, 2008

We were there off season so enjoyed the reduced price for that and also for mid-week. We were the only people there for two nights but the weekend, in early April, was full. Rooms are beautifully appointed, Heather and Michael couldn't be more helpful and accommodating, and the breakfasts are outstanding.


What A Special Place!

4,6 sur août 28, 2007

GREAT location ... one block from bustling Thames Street, with free parking. Personal Hospitality ... always attentive and helpful. Historic charm with modern conveniences. GREAT breakfast ... way beyond expectations.


Best B and B in Newport

5 sur août 28, 2007

I stayed at the Sam Durfee House in the Summer of 2005. My fiancee and I had a GREAT experience there. First of all the breakfast is amazing! Heather is a genuine, informative, and friendly hostess. The room was great and was equipped nicely. I had recommended the Durfee House to friends of mine and they stayed there the following summer. They were equally impressed. This past week my fiancee and I went to Cape Cod, MA, and stayed at the Captain's House Inn. It is a highly respected and reviewed establishment. It pales in comparison to the Durfee House, which is why I post the review nearly two years after my stay. It is easier for me to assume that nothing compares to the experience that we enjoyed at the Durfee House


Best hotel/B&B experience we've ever had!

5 sur juin 01, 2007

I cannot say enough good things about the Samuel Durfee House. Innkeeper Heather is very friendly and helpful and gave us great advice on restaurants and activities. The breakfasts are divine - the french toast is the greatest! We stayed in the Durfee room which faces the front of the house. The room was large with lots of space and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms are very nicely appointed with many thoughtful details including a vanity, a ringpost, bathrobes, beach towels and wineglasses, among others. A private parking lot next to the house is provided which is a big plus for this area. The inn is conveniently located within walking distance of many of the shops and restaurants on the Thames waterfront. All of the Bellevue mansions could be accessible by foot also, for the more seasoned walkers. We left before breakfast on our last day and we were provided by Heather with some fruit and muffins to go. I highly recommend this inn and will definitely return here should I ever be in the area again! P.S. If your vacation plans include a visit to the Doris Duke mansion, Rough Point, be sure to talk with Heather before going there.


Samuel Durfee House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $115 - $319
  • Avis (100) 4,5
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4018471652
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8776962374

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut